Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Controller Panels > NZXT > NZXT AC-GRIDP-M1 GRID+ Digital Fan Controller

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Serves my needs well and has potential.
Pros: The main things about the product that appeal to me are the fact that I can hide it behind the optical disk drive trays in the Corsair 350D, and, not have to play with any knobs or touchscreens. The brushed aluminum front of the 350D is totally ruined once you start putting 5.25" bays/devices in because to the left and the right of the bay is just plastic that isn't flush with the i/o and front aluminum plate that covers the fans. So, with this I can keep the aluminum drive plates in place and keep the nice, sleek brushed aluminum front.

The second thing is that since the cpu fan automatically ramps up from value to value with no interim that when I launch a game or anything cpu intensive that I can be sure the fans will ramp up to the speed i need them. and then vice versa; when I walk away or alt-f4 out of a game and leave and lock my pc I can be sure that they'll just go back down to 40%. As I said, no playing with knobs or touch screens.
Cons: Even those this product is compact it's really not THAT easily concealed or managed in a case like the Corsair 350D which already suffers from an easily suffocated cable management area behind the motherboard tray. Luckily I can just stuff it behind the optical drive bays as mentioned.

I do wish that the fan curve could be tweaked to something more akin like MSI Afterburner. It'll do for now.
Other Thoughts: I agree that the software is limiting what could be a great product. 5 watts per channel is sufficient for my build; the Aerocool Shark 120 and 140mm fans both top out at 5 watts for max speed and my cpu fans are plugged into the pwm headers so that's just what i need.

I don't see how this couldn't have enough power to push fans at 100%, however, keep in mind that the capability will depend on the fans you're running. If it doesn't then that's your own novice fault for not reading the specs on the fans you own before purchasing this. My Sharks all run at 100% for the reasons mentioned above.

I dont really have the option to use my mobo headers because I only have 2 free and they only output 5 watts per channel, so, if I use those i still need to come up with some kind of controller for the other 3 fans. I don't like having fans plugged into molex running at full power, besides, who does that anymore these days.

As for the software, I haven't had any issues with spiking CPU or RAM usage, or spiking GPU usage, everything works fine and it's a nice interface. I don't really like that I have to login or be logged in to use it but I can understand the direction they're trying to take the product.

As I'm typing this I become more and more pleased with the idea of having the back and forth automatic fan control between 40 and 100. 40 is quiet enough for my uses, and, it keeps my rig slightly lit up, and 100 is exactly what i want when im gaming. So, from my perspective, I don't really need anything else. I can also manually set the fan's to 40% and 100% when needed and have them stay there. So I really like that.

5 stars from me for my uses. It beats having to order one of Lamptron's overpriced fan controllers.

here's the bottom line: is it worth 30 bucks right now for most people? It'd probably be a hard sell and you should only buy it after you've really assessed your use case and figured out what's important to you.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/19/2014 7:49:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controller Panels > NZXT > NZXT SEN-MIX2 Sentry Mix 2 Fan Controller

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 fan controller
Pros: construction is pretty good. solid. sliders have a little rotational play but I'm ocd so not really a problem. works well. unless you want to spend more money it's just a simple turn up and down for speed. you can not monitor fan speed or turn them off completely.
Cons: can not turn off fans completely but I knew this. I wanted a quiet solution. I have 9 fans in my case and it wasn't super loud but you could still hear it. with the fans turned down completely and the 2nd set of fans on my push pull for my radiator set to kick on at 45c I have yet to hear them or see them turn on unless I run p95. playing d3 or bf3 or 4 not one hick up. case temp stays below 40c even with fans turned doen
Reviewed By:N/A,9/18/2014 7:56:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controller Panels > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC PRO-LCD Media Center Programmable LCD

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 small blur of light - disapointed
Pros: installed as expected. mounted OK. software and drivers loaded OK. no problems with install.
Cons: A display you can not read is useless.
stand more than 6 feet away and all you see is a blue blur. software is very hard to figure out and not for beginners. Took a lot of time to set up. Hard to display info you would like to display.
Other Thoughts: Tried for a basic clock after playing with it for a week and I am still disappointed. can not read the clock unless you are standing right on top of it.
Reviewed By:tpcbear,9/16/2014 1:43:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controller Panels > NZXT > NZXT AC-GRIDP-M1 GRID+ Digital Fan Controller

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not ready for prime time
Pros: Works well as a power grid. Compact and easy to place and hide wires.
Cons: CAM software is glitchy as H@LL and they know it. If this was the late 90s or early 2000's, I could understand putting a product like this on the market. BUT NOT 2014! Read the forums. LOTS, AND LOTS of issues. Mine worked once, then blue screened my PC. When I rebooted, the usb port on it was dead. Won't even mention the hassle I had to go thru with Newegg for advanced replacement.
Other Thoughts: No individual fan control, all or none. Does not have enough watts to power all fans at 100%. If the software was working properly, and my usb port hadn't died, I would be a happy camper. But that is a lot of 'IF'S' and no right answers.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/14/2014 12:49:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controller Panels > AeroCool > AeroCool Touch 2100 Touch control 5 sets of Fan/Temp. Up to 25W per fan channel, USB3.0, Audio/Mic, LCD Display

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good fan control, annoying features
Pros: 5 channels of fan control
5 temperature sensors
Set a target speed rather than %
Screen can change colors
Alarm feature
Cons: Beeping can't be turned off
Can only turn outputs down to 50%, after that it goes to 0.
Included adhesive tape for temperature sensors is pretty bad.
Other Thoughts: There's a delay between turning a fan down and the fan actually slowing down. I initially thought that it simply wasn't working, but it's just slow. Turning fans up seems to be instant.

The way it seems to work is it figures out what the max RPM of each fan is, and then allows you to set a target RPM in increments of 100.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/13/2014 1:37:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controller Panels > NZXT > NZXT Sentry-2 5.25" Touch Screen Fan Controller

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 disappointed
Pros: Screen looks cool and does turn fans on
Cons: Cant switch it to manual. says you can but it doesnt work. so my fans stay at 60% no matter what. Living in fl that doesnt work well. Need 100% gaming and most can be off while just watching movies.
Other Thoughts: if it worked it would be great.
Reviewed By:Greg,9/12/2014 1:12:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controller Panels > Syba > SYBA CL-HUB20113 2-Port USB 3.0 3.5" Front Panel w/ Built-in 20-pin Header Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works as expected
Pros: works perfectly in a mid tower case. USB 3.0 speeds. Stable transfers. Easy install. Internal connector allows a front connector panel for up to four USB 3.0 slots.
Cons: cable may be a bit short on full tower cases.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to set the motherboard's BIOS to allow this card to get the bandwidth it needs from the PCI express slot. If you are running dual graphics cards you may not have any bandwidth to spare. Don't forget to install the drivers.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/11/2014 5:59:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controller Panels > AeroCool > AeroCool CoolTouch-R Black Touch control 4 fan speed controller with System Temperature monitoring

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice looking!
Pros: Work right out of the box with Win8.1. No need to install additional drivers. The USB and card readers work and respond fast. The different color schemes is a plus.
Cons: Too many cables. I wish the molex adaptors would be removable. I'm a neat freak and dont quite like it. However this is more of a aesthetic issue for my self and does not interfere with the functionality of this product.
Reviewed By:Hans,9/9/2014 11:20:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controller Panels > NZXT > NZXT AC-SEN-3-B1 Sentry 3 5.4'' Touch Screen Fan Controller

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 DOA
Pros: Awesome control for my fans, ONLY get this on sale, for 40$ its not worth it. Its a fan controller what can i say?
Cons: DOA, but newegg quickly replaced the first unit. Would not recommend because there are better fan controllers for the price. The touch screen can sometimes get hot/not work depending on my room temperature.
Other Thoughts: I am disappointed with NZXT, as they seriously need some quality control on theses units. Go look for a different brand.
Reviewed By:Alex,9/9/2014 10:17:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controller Panels > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Black Aluminum Panel PRO-LCD-B Media Center Programmable LCD

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: Works
Cons: I thought all this device would need is a driver, but it also requires a control program to be running. Then, if you want it to display fan speeds or temperatures you have to download a third party program called Speed Fan. I downloaded Speedfan from the recommended link in the manual. During installation my malware program warned of potentially unwanted programs included. During installation of Speedfan I had to CAREFULLY read and uncheck several options to install other programs such as 'Secure Search' and other unwanted programs. Apparently something managed to slip through because after reboot my browser would not load any web pages. Something changed my browser options to requiring a proxy server. I fixed that and scanned my computer with my malware program which found 15 potentially unwanted programs. Also, did a virus scan and now everything seems OK. Speedfan has to be running for the device to monitor fan speeds and temperatures.

I finished setting up the device. The manual says the driver is newly compatible with Windows 8. Apparently the control program is not quite compatible since the display could not identify my operating system (Windows 8.1) as it was supposed to.

Took the device back out of my machine and got an RMA to send it back.

I believe this device is more trouble than it is worth.
Other Thoughts: The manual directed me to download Speedfan from a site which installed unwanted malware on my computer. This was not appreciated and I will make sure that I never purchase any product made by that company again.
Reviewed By:Readydude,9/8/2014 6:35:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau