Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Floppy Drives > BYTECC INC > BYTECC Black 1.44MB Internal Floppy Drive Model BT-145

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I still use these
Pros: Believe it or not I still use a floppy drive even though it's out date process.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,5/20/2015 1:08:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Floppy Drives > BYTECC INC > BYTECC Black 1.44/1.25 MB 3.5" External USB Floppy Drive Model BT-144

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Last one you will see.
Pros: Works exactly as described.
Probably the last one you will see.
{ Seriously }
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Probably the last one you will see.
{ Seriously }
Reviewed By:Z28Tempest,5/1/2015 5:37:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Floppy Drives > BYTECC INC > BYTECC Black 1.44MB Internal Floppy Drive Model BT-145

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Wow, is this thing a piece of junk!
Pros: Heavy enough to make decent paperweight
Cons: Useless for anything else
Other Thoughts: Bought two of these; one does not work AT ALL. The other will read/write/format up to about 85% pf the floppy's capacity. It will then just grind the head's position back and forth attempting to read (or write or faormat) until it either gets it (30-60 seconds later) or you give up out of frustration and cancel the operation.
I've never bought two identical independent products and had BOTH be defective at once! Bytecc has set a new standard for lack of QC.
I'd much rather get a Sony or Mitsumi, both of which I've had much better luck with, but don't sell retail boxed versions of their floppy any more — (I believe they're both OEM only now).
Reviewed By:Digitrax,3/23/2015 1:38:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Floppy Drives > Sabrent > SABRENT Black 1.44MB External USB Floppy Drive Model SBT-UFDB

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: None
Cons: DOA -- similar bytecc unit (BT-144) also dead after a couple uses, both bytecc and sabrent units appear to be sourced from same OEM
Other Thoughts: look elsewhere for your legacy computing needs ...
Reviewed By:N/A,3/3/2015 3:06:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Floppy Drives > BYTECC INC > BYTECC Black 1.44/1.25 MB 3.5" External USB Floppy Drive Model BT-144

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dead on arrival
Pros: Shows up as a device on multiple computers.
Cons: Doesn't read or write on any of the multiple floppies I tried, old ones and new ones. Won’t format either. The light comes on and it makes a noise. It might intrigue a cat for a little bit but even a cat would render it useless.
Other Thoughts: I wonder if a museum would want it. Probably not. It may not be old enough technology yet. It should be though. This technology hasn’t changed for years. No reason why a manufacturer shouldn’t have this mastered and have it so it would work for a long time.
Reviewed By:Not a happy camper,1/7/2015 1:05:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Floppy Drives > BYTECC INC > BYTECC Black 1.44/1.25 MB 3.5" External USB Floppy Drive Model BT-144

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dead on arrival
Pros: None, did not work.
Cons: I tested the drive with multiple disk from multiple computers and it would not read any of them. It claimed the disks needed formatted. I tried to format a few of the disks and it failed. I hooked up an old internal floppy drive and tested the same disks and they worked fine. After confirming the disks worked I tried them again and it still failed.
Other Thoughts: Not worth buying even with Newegg return policy. It is almost $10 to ship the drive back. Waste of time and money.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/29/2014 5:19:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Floppy Drives > BYTECC INC > BYTECC Black 1.44MB Internal Floppy Drive Model BT-145

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Three popular bezel colors. Direct plug-n-play internal floppy drive.
Cons: Does not come with cable.
Reviewed By:Chrisbot,11/18/2014 6:08:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Floppy Drives > BYTECC INC > BYTECC Black 1.44/1.25 MB 3.5" External USB Floppy Drive Model BT-144

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Are you still using a floppy disk??
Pros: Windows 7 saw the drive and I was able to access "old" files from the 1990's with no problems. USB cable length is perfect to sit the drive on top of the case and plug it into the front computer case USB ports.
Cons: None for this drive. It works perfectly.
Other Thoughts: Makes a 5400 rpm IDE HDD look fast. Bought this for someone else to use for transfering data to "older windows machines". Godspeed.
Reviewed By:mosestech,10/28/2014 9:51:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Floppy Drives > BYTECC INC > BYTECC Black 1.44/1.25 MB 3.5" External USB Floppy Drive Model BT-144

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not satisfied at all.
Pros: N/A
Cons: N/A
Other Thoughts: I can't really say if this product is good or bad.

But I can say that I ordered the first one. It was destroyed when I opened it from the retail packaging. MIssing the front door, it would not accept any disk at all.

I took the time to RMA through Newegg which cost me $10 return shipping. Which was roughly half the cost of the drive its self. But to help me recover some old family photo's it was a little price to pay. When I recieved the RMA Replacment today. I immediately installed the drive again and went about taking the task of trying to read my disks. Much to my suprise the drive would not read my disks. I thought maybe it was just one or two but after about 10 disks later It still would not read any of them. A friend of mine in the process took one of the disks over to his house to read them on his Vista Computer. He had no problems.

So I guess I'm stuck with drive now. It doesn't work, and its not worth it to send it back. If I did it would cost me another $10. I just can't rationalize $20 shipping on the cost of the drive itself. Bytecc has lost my business forever. Not to mention I pretty sure this drive corrupted 2 of my disks.

Buyer beware, I hope others have better luck than I did.
Reviewed By:Chris,10/24/2014 12:43:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Floppy Drives > BYTECC INC > BYTECC Black 1.44MB Internal Floppy Drive Model BT-145

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A Functional Floppy Disk Drive
Pros: This is a functional floppy disk drive with a conventional 34-pin data/control interface and a conventional 4-pin power input interface.

The legacy (ISA/LPC/Super I/O) floppy disk controller protocol has been thoroughly well-established for a very long time now. In fact, the technology is obsolescent. So, in my view, in order to get 5 stars, all the thing needs to do is work as described. This unit does work as described.

The dimensions of the drive are stable: it fit smoothly into the floppy drive slot in my case, all pin connectors fit smoothly ,and the mounting screw hole locations are where they should be. The bezels are easy to snap on and off, and fit snugly. The operation of the disk-grabbing mechanism and eject button is smooth and solid.

The drive successfully reads, writes and formats disks with no problem. The write-protect functionality works as designed. The indicator LED lights up appropriately when the drive is busy.

All in all, a functional floppy disk drive unit.
Cons: Slight residue and light dust on some internal surfaces of the unit.
Other Thoughts: Based on previous reviews, and considering the obsolescent nature of the technology, I had some concern that I might get a used or re-branded drive, but this appears to be a new or like-new unit. As described, it comes with three different bezels and matching eject buttons (black, neutral, silver). It also comes with four mounting screws.

As far as I can tell, this is the only current-manufacture floppy disk drive left on the market. The classic industry-standard Sony MPF-920 hasn't been manufactured for some time, and prices for new models of that drive are getting into vintage territory.

I'm grateful that Bytecc is carrying the torch for this legacy product. It's a relief and pleasure to see that they've created a successful, function version of the product.
Reviewed By:Ben M,9/19/2014 12:38:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.