Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Constellation ES.2 ST32000646NS 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works just fine - great price
Pros: Works perfectly fine out the box. Good read write speeds. Purchased this to serve as a second hard drive to my SSD. As with all hard drives you rarely have a complaint until it fails. Hopefully I'll get 7 to 10 years out of this one.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:kenneth p.,6/28/2016 9:24:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drive ST1000DX001 1TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 3.5" Desktop SSHD

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Crashed After 5 Months
Pros: Nice Concept
Cons: Crashed after 5 months. Data not even recognized when attached with external HD Dock
Reviewed By:N/A,6/28/2016 9:20:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black 5TB Performance Desktop Hard Disk Drive - 7200 RPM SATA 6Gb/s 128MB Cache 3.5 Inch - WD5001FZWX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Huge and Fast
Pros: Size, obviously. Speed. My benchmarks (Linux hdparm)
163.70 MB/sec read vs 146.84 MB/sec for a WD2001FASS (Black 2TB) and 193.33 MB/sec for a WD2500HHTZ (250G Velociraptor). Huge cache, good for video playback. An incredible 1943.18 MB/sec read rate from cache. five year warranty.
Cons: Had a little trouble registering the warranty. Had to go to customer support, apparently they haven't updated their web site with the new serial numbers.
Other Thoughts: At Newegg's incredible CyberMonday price, I was afraid this was a refurbished drive. WD assured me it was new. Refurbished drives are supposed to be noted on the sticker.

Still wondering if this is a 6TB that failed at final test or a different design. WD isn't giving out the platter layout on either drive.

UPDATE: Owned for seven months now. Drive has been running near continuously. I use it primarily for on-line video storage. Formatted with ext4. NO NOISE. Do people put their ear next to the drive? My keyboard makes much more noise. Wish I could buy another for my XP system, but it's too big for XP.
Reviewed By:Anthony S.,6/28/2016 8:04:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA DT01ACA100 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just needed the board for a 6 year old drive
Pros: I just needed the board. My wife killed her 6 year old computer, the infamouse December 2015 WIN 10 Update which crashed your OS, and while I was working on it the board got toasted because she had the thing set to wake up each day at 5 AM. Big surprise!!!! OOPS !!! My thanks for the Mfg making it easy to fix.
Cons: I had to buy another one but I will transfer over to it later
Reviewed By:DANIEL Z.,6/27/2016 3:23:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA P300 HDWD120XZSTA 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Desktop Internal Hard Drive Retail Kit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible drive, terrible support
Pros: 2TB.
Cons: I had this drive for about a month and it started developing slow sectors. Not just a few, but about 1% of the sectors spread evenly throughout the entire drive, like there's a physical deformity down the radius of the platters. This makes both random and continuous access slow to a crawl.

When I contacted Toshiba about getting a replacement, they told me they had no cross-ship option. What kind of hard drive manufacturer doesn't have cross-shipping? Other manufacturers understand that it's much easier to clone the dying drive directly to the replacement. I'm shocked to see that a large, developed company like Toshiba is so far behind in their support processes.
Other Thoughts: Warranty is 1 year according to Toshiba's site, not 2 as it's listed here. But that's Newegg's fault.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/27/2016 2:56:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Barracuda Green ST1000DL002 1TB 5900 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Bare Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Three years later as good as new
Pros: Fast read/write. Never had any problems.
Cons: Mechanical hard drives are ugly? Lol I got nothin.
Reviewed By:Jessica B.,6/27/2016 11:50:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Desktop HDD ST1000DM003 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not bad
Pros: This HD was used in my first Computer build one year ago and it was
-fast
-Easy To install
-Cheap
-Forgave Drops (woops)
-And never once failed on me
Cons: However with all Hard Drives over time it became:
-Slow
-Harder to Optimize
-And Filled up quick after installing my games and apps
Other Thoughts: As a First Build Always go cheap and over time when you get the money you can buy better products and upgrade your PC so its faster and smoother. Although I regret that I now must find a faster, bigger, and more of a performance driven Hard Drive I will keep this one as a Backup so when my future Driver dies I can always go to 'Old Faithful' to get my stuff back.
Reviewed By:Paul G.,6/26/2016 10:14:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital AV WD3200AVBS 320GB 7200 RPM 2MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal AV Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 dead in 4 months
Pros: cheap
Cons: only lasted 4 months
Reviewed By:Don,6/26/2016 8:28:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Blue 1TB Desktop Hard Disk Drive - 7200 RPM SATA 6Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch - WD10EZEX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good 1TB hardrive to keep extra files
Pros: Best 1TB you can prob get.
Cons: none.
Reviewed By:Sharon F.,6/26/2016 7:45:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Desktop HDD ST2000DM001 2TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 1yrs later unfortunately died
Pros: worked ok till it's died.
Cons: died after 1yr of purchase & use as time machine back up body.
Other Thoughts: Purchased in June 26th 2015, at the beginning ofr JUne in 2016, this harddrive died unfortunately. It could be bad ones. I've been using Seagate for a long time, but barracuda> This was the very first "desktop" series, which I don't know that actually matter or not, but I'd never had drive died in 1yr before. But as you know, it could be bad body, who knows.. Just heads up.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/26/2016 6:30:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.