Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Red Pro 6TB NAS Hard Disk Drive - 7200 RPM Class SATA 6Gb/s 128MB Cache 3.5 Inch - WD6002FFWX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very fast & high capacity platters
Pros: 1.2 TB platters
Read speed at 0/25/50/75/100% position of the drive: 225/210/189/155/108 MB/sec
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I've been upgrading the Seagate 4TB drives in my UNRAID NAS with the WD Red Pro drives and I am nothing but satisfied with their speed & performance.
Reviewed By:Mr. B.,7/27/2016 3:11:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Red 5TB NAS Hard Disk Drive - 5400 RPM Class SATA 6Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch - WD50EFRX

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 4 months old. HDD disappeared from system.
Pros: ADV explained this is a good choice for the long term heavy duty like security cam recording.
Cons: 4 months old. HDD disappeared from system. Re-appeared after system restarted. The trust is breaking now.
Other Thoughts: I will update for any further situation.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/27/2016 12:06:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black 1TB Performance Desktop Hard Disk Drive - 7200 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch - WD1003FZEX

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 DOA
Pros: nope
Cons: It arrived DOA had to go to a computer shop and grab another hard drive. once I installed it my motherboard reconized it right away. I trouble shooted this for an hour. im alittle upset but it happens. the only thing is the same thing happened to my friend. this is alittle alarming.
Reviewed By:Nicholas K.,7/27/2016 10:00:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Deskstar NAS H3IKNAS40003272SN (0S03664) 4TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" High-Performance Hard Drive for Desktop NAS Systems Retail Kit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Concur With Jason V above re: Seagate
Pros: I've actually had good luck with Deskstar--from back when they were IBM & then Hitachi. They're now Western Digital which STILL keeps them OUT of Seagate's domain (they own Maxtor and most of the other HDD companies of yore). And my positive past experience has been 500Gig Deskstars. Seagate has had a lot of issues with their drives >1.5TB. They dump them on the markets (AmZon, Newegg, TigerD, etc at low prices but not much of a savings to buy a 2TB drive for $129 bucks if it crashes, taking your 2TB of data with it, in a matter of months.
Cons: I do see that Deskstar (moniker Deathstar) by some, has it's own bad reputation AND a class action Law for not honoring it's warranty. Apparently they've made some corrections to their design (Head doesn't hover over the same spot forever, eventually crashing....Seagate's original issue was that to develop GREEN high capacity drives they timed-out the heads after a period of inactivity, and they didn't park them safely---and without that airflow they tended to make contact with the platter--just another kind of crash.
Other Thoughts: So I'm going to give these a try. I had excellent experience with Western Digital until 4 Mybook, 3TB externals died after about 2.5 years. ALL of them. Western Digital RMA'ed them but frankly 12Terabytes of lost data can't really be remedied by replacement drives---AND when you're up to 25 or 30TB of secondary storage you need ANOTHER 25TB to back them up! The 3 Eggs at this point is just a vote of confidence to TRY this Deskstar NAS.

ALL these high capacity/high density SPINNING HDD's are relatively delicate--And ALL the companies have BETA'ed them on their Consumers while they figure out how to approach reliability. RAID of course--but I've had friends with 4 seagates in a Raid array--all go south at once.
Reviewed By:Paul B.,7/27/2016 1:37:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black 6TB Performance Desktop Hard Disk Drive - 7200 RPM SATA 6Gb/s 128MB Cache 3.5 Inch - WD6001FZWX

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Two drives failed in a row because of the same defect.
Pros: Easy to RMA!
Cons: This is the 6TB flagship harddrive from Western Digital. Its dual processing, it has 'StableTrac Technology'. Its 'For Gamers'. Read all about how great they are, because this is the document that sold me on them. http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/library/SpecSheet/ENG/2879-771434.pdf

None of that's true, in my case. And its enough to suspect that what I got were refurbished drives being sold as new.

First drive had immediate head failure. It clicked, it ground, it was dead. Second drive (which Newegg kindly packed as if they were shipping an armed, live nuclear warhead) is now stutter crashing. This is an interesting phenomena when the drive crashes during a file being loaded and the computer hardlocks in a millisecond loop. This is hard on your speakers. Really, really hard on them.

The drive is also slow. Incredibly, incredibly slow. I use it for my steam games and loading is all-around awful. Load screens are tragic, and textures take extra time to buffer from the low resolution placeholders to the real deal. Here's CrystalMark5 trying to assess it (image externally hosted on imgur.com) http://i.imgur.com/J7jkF8F.png Do you see anything wrong with those numbers? Because I sure do. Its screams "defective drive."

It also grinds relentlessly. These drives? Even the one that worked before it head crashed? They're noisy. Bad-1990s-loud-head-chatter noisy.

So what am I out? Two harddrives, shipping for each, and a lot of time and data lost. I'm going to RMA this drive again and again... and constantly get hit for shipping each time. I know its not the board, its not the port, its not the cable. I've tested each of them relentlessly to the point of staying up all night reading everything I could get my hands on because I assumed I was in the wrong. I've tested ports, configurations, BIOS settings, cables. I've tested everything against other, older drives from various manufacturers as a comparison. No, the two drives I've gotten were just trash. And now? I'm going to have to get a THIRD drive that I can move the contents of this drive to before I RMA it so that I don't lose everything again because of this. And pay shipping on the RMA again.

I wish I could just refund the whole thing, shipping costs and all and never buy this drive again. I'm tired. I built a new rig so I could retire my aging box into a SteamOS console for the living room. I wanted it to be one and done. I sweated and poured love and care and attention into this. Every wire is in place and it looks like I built it for a show competition. I know what I'm doing. I did computer repair professionally for years. So to have all this knowledge, experience and time and effort thrown out the window because I got trash drives is a wholly frustrating experience. All of that is undone because of bad parts. I could run this box without the WD powered and it flies. Its amazing. I'm pleased as punch with it... but these drives? Man, they're bad.

But what can I do? I got this drive for some 300USD. If I keep having to shell out shipping I'll hit that mark again. So do I sacrifice the 300 and just manage until I can buy something else and chalk it up to a loss? Do I keep sending these drives back until I've racked up enough extra costs in RMAs that I could have just bought a second drive? I wanted this over with a long time ago. The fact I'm still having to mess with it and do work is, in my opinion, a black mark on the Black series.
Reviewed By:Jon W.,7/26/2016 9:53:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Caviar WD800BB 80GB 7200 RPM 2MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100 / ATA-6 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 EOL TECH, INC. Is an awesome and excellent company.
Pros: I am very happy with the product and the timely shipping i received.
Cons: I am very happy with the product i have no bad comments about it.
Other Thoughts: For sure i wouldn't mind passing the good words about EOL Tech, INC. To the people i know to purchase computer hardware from these guys. the best service and products i have had in the online shopping.
Reviewed By:Lucia C.,7/26/2016 8:51:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > HGST > HGST/Hitachi Ultrastar 7K3000 HUA723020ALA641 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Running fine
Pros: All 4 worked fresh from the bubble-wrap..
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: All 4 have between 20,000 - 30,000 power-on hours. Sounds like a lot, but the power-cycle counts are < 50. Translation: enterprise-installed drives from a large data center.. For comparison, I have a good dozen Hitachi 500GB drives with < 20 power-on cycles and 70,000 + hours (yes, 7+ years continuous power-on) also running fine on various systems in several locations.

Truth is, if it came from a well-cared-for data-center environment, and it lights up fine, it might just outlast a new retail-grade drive. YMMV -- I had a new 3TB drive fall over completely in less than 6 months.

Two caveats: I do run RAID mirrored pairs and hotspares-- everything dies eventually. And second, as enterprise drives, these run very warm. I would not run mine in a non-fan-cooled sata-to-usb enclosure, or an HTPC with a quiet (aka wimpy) fan, or anywhere without decent airflow. And if not RAIDed, I'd be very diligent about backups. But then not having backups is asking for trouble anyway.
Reviewed By:James Z.,7/26/2016 6:40:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Red Pro 6TB NAS Hard Disk Drive - 7200 RPM Class SATA 6Gb/s 128MB Cache 3.5 Inch - WD6002FFWX

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A little hot. But amazing performance.
Pros: - fast for a 7200rpm drive.
- its not as loud as people claim it to be. Rather quiet actually for a NAS drive.
Cons: - it runs hot - Im hitting temps up to 51c with fans turned down low in a corsair 540 case.
Other Thoughts: - Would totally recommend this product.
Reviewed By:Miko T.,7/26/2016 5:18:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Pipeline HD ST3500312CS 500GB 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great!
Pros: It arrived fast, it passed all scans including surface, and it was cheap.
Cons: The only down side is that it's a little slow on transfer rate which I knew when I bought it.
Other Thoughts: I purchased this as a back up drive and for restore images of windows. So far, no issues at all.
Reviewed By:Mary O.,7/26/2016 7:34:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Toshiba > Toshiba MG03ACA MG03ACA200 2 TB 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Toshiba MG03ACA
Pros: it's a decent size Hard Drive for the price with a decent warranty.
Cons: It's loud AF errrrk rrrrrrrr ... it sounds like a more quiet version of dial up speed internet signing on. Is this normal?
Reviewed By:Michael C.,7/25/2016 11:49:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.