Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > Netgear C6300 AC1750 Wi-Fi DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router 2 in 1

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not as good as I hoped
Pros: Fast
Cons: The USB port is USB 2.0 not 3. So attaching a hard drive is out of the question.
The modem has to be reset often.
Time Warner reset my local node because of my dropouts. It helped but upload still drops out.
Netgear genie crashes a lot. Had to delete it.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/3/2016 3:26:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SURFboard SB6141 8x4 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Unit No Worries
Pros: After owning this unit for a few months I can now comment that it works very well, holds its connection fine and delivers very good speed. I bought this modem for its reputation and it has not disappointed me. I get almost 30Mbps down on a 25Mbps connection so thats a nice little extra bonus I certainly appreciate. With Moto quality I feel confident that this modem will last a long time.
Cons: As everyone says, the LEDs on the front of the unit are SO BRIGHT its truly painful. Had to put a piece of black electrical tape over them and I can still see them fine from the side bleed over illumination. New Egg should sell semi-clear LED blocking shields for these and really clean up,
Other Thoughts: This modem gets my highest recommendation and its the only one I recommend to friends and family. Great unit at a great price, don't hesitate at all to purchase and then proceed to just forget about it being there.
Reviewed By:Michael M.,5/3/2016 5:41:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR C6250-100NAS AC1600 WiFi DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router Up to 680 Mbps Ethernet Port

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Hassel free setup, excellent upgrade.
Pros: This product is great; fast Ethernet and WiFi speeds, easy setup; just plug in the cable from the outlet and call you Internet service provider providing them with the make, model, serial no. and MAC address on the bottom of the base, or packaging.
This unit was up and running in minutes; default WiFi password, I would presume is good enough; further expediting the setup process. Good WiFi range though I live in a home with 3 floors and a rooftop deck, I inhately have a need for a range extender as the homes primary coax is located in the garage on the first floor. It's great that the unit is DLNA enabled andlook forward to testing out that feature as soon as I get a NAS.
Cons: The availability of only 2 Ethernet ports was a bit disappointing, but I will overcome the minor drawback by purchasing a 5-port managed switch from Netgear. Also no option to wall mount the unit, as it lacks the ability to remove the base/stand and the correlated notches, as my previous CG3000Dv2 did; only reasons I rated this unit 4 out of 5 Eggs
Other Thoughts: I received this product for testing and review from Netgear.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/2/2016 3:44:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR C6250-100NAS AC1600 WiFi DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router Up to 680 Mbps Ethernet Port

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great replacement Modem/Router for Comcast/Time Warner etc.
Pros: I've recently been experiencing continuous service issues with my Comcast Business class provided modem. After struggling with constant technicians etc to come 'diagnose' my issue, I decided to configure this modem which was provided to me for free by Netgear. I had been putting it off, assuming that setting up the router would be difficult. This could not have been farther from the truth. The unit was incredibly easy to self install using the comcast process via phone, took less than 5 minutes and was working on my home network. I immediately noticed an increase and bandwidth and a decrease in ping on my network. Issues that I had previously with comcast provided modems such as drops in multiplayer games like Halo 5 were gone. Specifics were:

Pre Netgear Modem: 19-25.2 Mbps down/3-6 Mbps up
Post Netgear Modem: 35.5 Mbps down consistently (my cap)/8-9Mbps up (My cap is 10)

Also, the stock software provided to configure the modem/router itself is much more intuitive than your normal modem, and allowed me to set up my ports/forwarding with ease.

While this unit is a little pricey, I definitely feel like the 680Mbps bandwidth for the DoCSIS cable standard is valid, and max bandwidth is something I'm willing to pay for.

The WiFi router included has solid signal, and has been more powerful than my previous unit which was an Airport Extreme.
Cons: There are really only 2 things i'd change about the product:

Design: The design of the unit causes it to stand rather than lay flat, as its a router as well. This may pose some issues for those of you that had a modem in a discreet location.
Ports: There are only two LAN ports on this device, which definitely required some finagling on my end to set up my network (I had to get a switch to support my other hard wired devices (PS4/OTA TV Antenna setup).
Reviewed By:Michael G.,5/2/2016 3:39:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > Netgear C3700 N600 WiFi Docsis 3.0 Cable Modem Router 2 In 1

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do not buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It dead only after one month
Pros: It works well when you just get it.
Cons: I got it 30 days ago. It drops every one hour, I restart it, but It still doesn't work. you cannot connect internet during the drop(about two minutes)
Other Thoughts: Please do not but it, really disappointment
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/2/2016 3:30:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SBG6580 SURFboard Wireless Cable Modem Gateway

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good device
Pros: Easy to use web interface and the basic features I'd expect for a home network are available here. Fast speeds. Running strong for five months now.
Cons: WiFi signal is on the weaker side, not the device for a large home
Reviewed By:Mark L.,5/2/2016 3:28:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR C6250-100NAS AC1600 WiFi DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router Up to 680 Mbps Ethernet Port

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing upgrade
Pros: Switched my old router out and increased my internet speed from 15mbps to 66mbps.
Sleek design and looks great.
Super east set up. (I just plugged in and called charter for them to activate it).
Crazy fast speeds.
Dual band wifi makes it easy to not clog up the faster speed network.
Cons: Only 2 Ethernet cable ports.
Difficult to take Ethernet cables out.
Other Thoughts: If was looking at purchasing a new router and modem for my house, this is what I would get. It absolutely met and exceeded my expectations. I would recommend it to all family and friends looking to upgrade.

DISCLAIMER: This product was given to me by NETGEAR in exchange for an honest review.
Reviewed By:markus r.,5/2/2016 8:21:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > Netgear C6300 AC1750 Wi-Fi DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router 2 in 1

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't buy or you will be sorry
Pros: No pros this gateway has been a headache since I bought
Cons: Have to reset 2-3 times a day netgear hung up on me after on wait for 10 minutes. They say it's a Comcast problem I talked with level 3 support at Comcast they say everything is working perfect on their end its the modem that keeps crashing. Buy Motorola or Cisco stay away from netgear products.
Other Thoughts: Will never buy netgear products again. Worked good for 2 weeks.
Manufacturer Response:Hi there,

We apologize for the trouble you've had so far, and we'd like to help get to the bottom of what's causing the issue. Please email us at netgearteam@netgear.com -- we'll give you some very easy instructions on how to send the diagnostic logs for the modem to us. Our engineers will review the logs to determine what's causing the problem, and we'll get you a warranty replacement if the problem is with the hardware. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Reviewed By:Boraboy,5/1/2016 7:55:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > D-Link > D-Link DCM-301 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Bad unit
Pros: No drop in Internet connection
Easy setup
Price
Cons: Unit worked just fine (roughly 5 months) until I upgraded my internet connection to 200 Mbps. That's when I realized the max speed. I was getting with cevice was well below 25mbps
Other Thoughts: Contacted d-link tech support and they verified that it's a bad unit and provided an RMA. Sent it in (paid 15$ in shipping cost) and in 10 days I received the replacement. The new one works fine and gives over 150 Mbps which is fine. I had purchased this to avoid paying the cable modem rent and I have to say I already used my savings towards the shipping cost in excercising the warranty. It will take more than a year for me to recuperate the cost of the modem now (provided it works without any complaints for so long :)). I feel it's not worth the hassle to buy a low end product like this and go thru what I had to go thru. Better to buy some higher end models that has both modem and router
Reviewed By:Rajmohan N.,5/1/2016 9:38:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SURFboard SB6183 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem - 600 MHz Dual-Thread Processor - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product that will pay for itself in 8 months time.
Pros: I bought this modem for two reasons. First, Time Warner hiked the modem monthly lease fee from $3 to $10 a month in my area. Second, they are upgrading my service from 50.0 to 300.0 on May 19th. My current modem doesn't support 300.0 and I had to either get a new through the cable company or purchase my own. I've owned this modem for two days and I can already tell a difference in overall speed and stability. It will pay for itself in 8 months and now I have no TW equipment in my house.
Cons: None that I can think off. Might have to upgrade to a new router soon. I'm currently using a NetGear R6300 which has been a great router, but it's over 3 years old.
Other Thoughts: I will give credit where credit is due. I was on the phone with Time Warner for about 15 minutes and the modem was up and ready for use. I was on hold for close to 6 minutes waiting on an available technician. I didn't say anything about the wait time and the tech said she was sorry for the wait and gave me a $10 credit towards my next bill.

Although this is a refurbished product, it looks like brand new and was packed nicely for a refurbished product.

Due yourself a favor and quit leasing a modem from your isp and purchase this modem. You won't regret it!
Reviewed By:Richard P.,4/29/2016 9:40:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.