Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Modems / Gateways > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TD-W8970 300Mbps Wireless N Gigabit ADSL2+ Modem Router 4 10/100/1000Mbps RJ45 Ports 2 USB 2.0 Ports ADSL/ADSL2/ADSL2+, IEEE 802.11b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great so far..
Pros: -Easy setup
-Sleek Design
-Good range
-Runs at a reasonable temperate
Cons: -Dull interface
Other Thoughts: So far, this modem/router combo has been a breeze to use. Setup is easy, range is great, and it doesn't run too hot. TP-Link usually has great networking products, so I would recommend this product to just about anyone.
Reviewed By:Tyler,7/8/2014 6:55:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ZyXEL > ZyXEL DOCSIS 3.0 Residential Cable Modem Compatible with Comcast Network (BRG35503)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Modem for Comcast
Pros: Rock stable, works great.
Cons: It took an hour and a half on the phone with three different Comcast reps to get it provisioned, but that's not the modems fault.
Other Thoughts: I got tired of paying Comcast $8 a month for their gateway which didn't work well anyway so when I saw this on sale I ordered it. I paired it with a Rosewill RNX-N300RT router and a Rosewill RC-410LX Gigabit switch. This setup works MUCH better than either the Arris TG862G or SMC SMCD3GNV Comcast had rented me. I'm on the Performance (25/5) tier and consistently get 27/6.
Reviewed By:RobWilJas,7/8/2014 4:55:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > MOTOROLA SB6141 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem 10/100/1000Base-T Ethernet (RJ-45)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Huge speed increase
Pros: I replaced my comcast supplied modem/router with this unit. Comcast self-activation worked without a hitch and my download speeds went from 15-20Mbps to just shy of 120Mbps!
Cons: none as of yet, but will update if i come across any
Other Thoughts: i bought this via another website as a refurb unit and had no problem with activating with comcast
Reviewed By:N/A,7/8/2014 2:53:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > MOTOROLA SB6141 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem 10/100/1000Base-T Ethernet (RJ-45)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Defective Product + Slow Cust Service = Bad Formula
Pros: N/A
Cons: Received a defective product that has cost our business with time! We tested it thoroughly with 3 wifi routers including a the Nighthawk it came bundled with. Every other Router worked with it. Newegg's customer service could only furnish an RMA# that takes even longer to get a replacement. its 2014 and still have to validate our claims? Good thing I purchased thru AMEX and I can just outright void the transaction.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/7/2014 3:57:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > Netgear C3700 N600 WiFi Docsis 3.0 Cable Modem Router 2 In 1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Combo Modem Router
Pros: 1. Easy Setup Speeds are almost the same as the old router but Comcast throttles them to be at a constant speed so I didn’t expect them to be a lot higher.
2. Another plus is once you buy this and turn in your rental that will lower your monthly bill. In my case I save $8.00 a month.
3. You can access all of these features via Netgear's excellent Genie interface. It is also on the Comcast recommended modems.
4. Up To 600Mbps Wireless, DOCSIS 3.0 Technology, Simultaneous Dual Band, Share With USB, 1Gbps Cabled Ethernet Ports, Secure Wi-Fi, DLNA
Share media over your games consoles or TV’s using DLNA, WPS – Push N Connect, Parental Control, and Wi-Fi Button
Cons: 1. There are only 2 Ethernet ports. If you need more than that you will need a switch or an old router.
2. As stated in the name of the product this device only supports N wireless networks. AC is not provided.
3. USB port is 2.0
4. The only dynamic DNS provider that the router has set up is DynDNS which no longer offers free accounts.
5. Since the device is a combo unit the end user cannot update the router firmware or install a third-party firmware like DD-WRT.
6. The C3700 does not support telephone, so if you want to keep your phone line through Comcast.
Other Thoughts: Thoughts
In my tests C3700's wireless performance was good for the 2.4GHz band for an 802.11n wireless router of its specs. Performance at 5GHz was excellent—in the triple digits, and among the highest of routers with similar hardware. For example, one of my highest-rated 600Mbps router is the Cisco Linksys E3000. The E3000 managed 118Mbps of wireless throughput at the 5GHz band, testing with a wireless client at a distance of 10 to 15 feet. The C3700 wasn't far behind on the same test, scoring an impressive 111Mbps.
Reviewed By:Mr.S,7/7/2014 1:08:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > Netgear C3700 N600 WiFi Docsis 3.0 Cable Modem Router 2 In 1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great performing 2 in 1
Pros: + Combination Modem and Router
+ DOCSIS 3.0
+ Dual Band
+ Great 5Ghz througput
+ Compatible with Comcast
+ Parental Controls
+ DNLA
Cons: - USB 2.0 instead of 3.0
- No wireless AC
- Only 2 Gigabit network ports
Other Thoughts: Setup:
The C3700 is relatively small, similar in size to my old Netgear WNDR3700, so it easily found a place on my desk. Setup was easy and only a call to Comcast was required to have them configure the MAC address. If you are familiar with Netgear interfaces, the C3700 is easy to configure and navigate. Setting up security, options and parental controls is painless and quick.

Range and Performance:
The C3700 has decent range, with improvements in 5Ghz range compared to my old WNDR3700, but not as good as my Netgear Nighthawk. My home is 3 story and about 2400 sq/ft with a concrete foundation. With the C3700 placed on my first floor in my office, throughput to the second floor on the 5Ghz band was quite good. My HTPC which is about a floor and a couple walls away maintained a solid 9 MB/s pushing files from across my network. This is a good result. The third floor was a bit more spotty, but to be honest few wireless routers outside my Nighthawk and Asus AC66U have excelled at this distance. I wager for an apartment or smaller home, the C3700 offers plenty of range on both bands. Stability was good during my testing period with no drops or issues requiring a reboot.

On the modem side of things, I have the Comcast 50/10 package. The fact that the modem is DOCSIS 3.0 means that it can theoretically handle about 4 times these speeds. I had no issues maxing out the bandwidth offered by my package and there was no perceivable speed difference between the C3700 and my Motorola SB6121

Observations:
Considering the modest price of a this combination device, I have few complaints. One however is that it only offers 2 Gigabit ports. Most routers offer at least 4, however considering the duality of this device, it may have been required limitation. Second complaint is that the USB is 2.0 instead of 3.0. This fact could limit the usefulness of Readyshare. .

Conclusion:
Overall the C3700 is a solid buy. It is a solid performing modem and router with a small footprint. The range is pretty good, price is reasonable and offers a quality interface that is easy to navigate. For a small home that does not require wireless AC speeds or multiple physically connected devices, the C3700 is a good choice.
Reviewed By:jhatfie,7/7/2014 11:35:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > US Robotics > U.S. Robotics USR5638 V.92 Faxmodem 56Kbps PCI Express Data: V.92, V.90, V.34, V.32bis, V.32 Data Error Control/Compression: V.44/V.42/V42bis and MNP5 Fax: EIA 578 (Class 1) with V.17, V.29, V.27ter, V.21, Group 3 V.80 video conferenc

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: Took 10 minutes to install and works perfectly
Cons: None
Reviewed By:k1cker,7/6/2014 7:55:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > MOTOROLA SB6141 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem 10/100/1000Base-T Ethernet (RJ-45)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Never dark in my basement
Pros: white, works as intended, and its hasnt given any technical problems. it doubles as a nightlight.
Cons: blue leds are brighter than a Flaming Super Nova (maybe thats a good thing)
Reviewed By:N/A,7/6/2014 5:31:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > Netgear N450-100NAS N450 Wireless Gigabit Router + High Speed Cable Modem – DOCSIS 3.0

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Where is the client access table??
Pros: easy installation, 4 port router, good Wifi range.
Cons: Nothing in the firmware to show who is connected, the lower model N300 has this and every router I've had has this feature. Also not a real big deal but it would have been nice if the manual told you how to wall mount.
Reviewed By:compbob,7/6/2014 3:52:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > FreedomPop > FreedomPop FPBURSTBLK 4G Home Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy Internet
Pros: Cost, Portable, Price
Cons: Limited data
Other Thoughts: I have had one for about a year now and I think it's great. I live in Los Angeles so the reception is good. I do not like having contracts with comapnies like att or comcast or any of those nasty monopoly corporations so this is the perfect alternative. I just bought a 2nd one for more data. The price is ok, you can take it anywhere, providing you have power, and no dealing with the devil.
Reviewed By:toothneck,7/6/2014 5:39:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau