Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SurfBoard SB6183 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem – 600 MHz Dual-Thread Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Off the charts
Pros: Supports maximum speeds Time Warner Cable currently offer in my area. I am on the Ultimate Maxx plan with 300Mbps down, 20Mpbs up - there is nothing faster. This modem exceeds both rated speed caps consistently day or evening. It is super small in size and has a cleanly designed admin webpage built-in. Works just fine with my D-Link DIR-880L router.
Cons: LEDs are on the bright side once they turn blue.
Other Thoughts: I ditched the TWC modem to stop paying the $8 month lease fee they started, should have done it along time ago but I was using an Arris TG852 MTA modem for the phone circuitry. With this Arris SB6183 modem upgrade I switched my phone service to Vonage and upgraded from Extreme to Ultimate with money saved to spare, very satisfied with both moves.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/3/2015 3:45:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ZyXEL > ZyXEL BRG35503 DOCSIS 3.0 Residential Cable Modem Up To 160 Mbps Down and 120 Mbps Up RJ-45, Gigabit Ethernet DOCSIS 3.0, 2.0 and 1.1, Euro-DOCSIS 3.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died in 1.5 years
Pros: Worked out of the box with xfinity/Comcast
Cons: Purchased 3/30/2014. Unit died 9/1/2015. Would no longer detect signal from Cocmast. Replaced with Motorola Surfboard modem, signal detected immediately.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/2/2015 11:22:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SurfBoard SB6141 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 poorly manufactured modem
Pros: Worked moderately well when it was functioning.* Supposedly good channel bonding and download capabilities.
Cons: NOT durable, NOT reliable, NOT a 5000 series workhorse. Failed within 9 months of ownership. Finicky about signal quality with Internet-only service, no couplings, no splitters, and no adjacent sources of inductive line noise.
Other Thoughts: I formerly had a SB5120 (Texas Instruments chipset) and SB5105 (Broadcom chipset) since 2005. They still function properly and receive download speeds on a single channel of up to 48Mbps (contrary to misinformation provided by Comcast) but do not have multiple channels for bonding (line/load leveling to benefit the ISP).

Last November, my ISP (Comcast) wrote me a series of letters advising me that service for the DOCSIS 2x series of Surfboards would be discontinued and that I had to procure a new 3x modem to continue service. Several phone calls to "customer service" verified this. My SB6141 was purchased in 12/05/2014 and failed on 8/27/2015.

When I started service at my current apartment (12/2013), the Comcast installer advised that my signal was so noise-saturated and over-attenuated that I could not run the modem through a surge suppressor. This was verified after multiple instances of tech diagnostic testing and visits to the modem's internal status page (192.168.100.0 I think). On a side note, it was verified that we were never able to get the 50Mbps we were paying for because the line topped out in the 18-24 range. Joy.

Meanwhile, being that we have substantial afternoon storms in North Florida, I suspect that the modem took an indirect hit through the coax cable line. Nothing else on the surge suppressor (or in the entire apartment) was damaged. After a phone call a field technician visited, assessed the line, determined that there was signal, and offered to SELL me a modem. Comcast has essentially refused to replace my modem that their lines likely damaged and I must now cancel all of their services and navigate the warranty repair process. Other than that, life is good.

* With properly sized cable and properly managed ISP
Reviewed By:N/A,9/2/2015 8:29:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ZyXEL > ZyXEL BRG35503 DOCSIS 3.0 Residential Cable Modem Up To 160 Mbps Down and 120 Mbps Up RJ-45, Gigabit Ethernet DOCSIS 3.0, 2.0 and 1.1, Euro-DOCSIS 3.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Low Quality Crud
Pros: After I initially installed this modem, I was not unhappy. It worked and the Cable Company, although at first unable to recognize it as a supported modem, eventually admitted it was. However, what I did not notice was a rating by the Cable Company regarding problems with supported Modems, and this got one star out of three.

I didn't notice the one star rating until the Modem stopped working about two months later. I had repeatedly noticed it ran very hot, and that the unit seemed particularly cheap and flimsy.

After it failed, I wasted several hours troubleshooting to identify the likely culprit. Everything I did pointed at the new modem, but I did not want to admit it to myself. I purchased it to save on a $10 a month rental, and it was not even close to having paid for the investment.

I called tech support, and everything else was fine, bill paid, etc. Two different support techs stated the modem was identified on their end, but it could not connect to the network.

Next came the dreaded commitment to pay for a service call. I isolated everything so the modem was directly connected to the pole and was still not working. The tech arrived with a two year old test unit that had an internal 8 year old modem, and that worked fine.

I ordered a new Modem with a 3 star support rating and immediately upon installation everything began to work again.

In the process, I confronted a problem when I tried to remove the coax cable. It would not come off because the connection on the unit was spinning with the cable. Took me a while, and I finally had to open the unit. What I discovered is that it is made with nearly no consideration that quality or durability would matter.

The connector was directly soldered to a minimal metal part on the circuit board. Nothing was provided to prevent stress from attaching a coax connector from applying stress to the solder joints.

It was similar to very cheap headphones that break at the connector because they are made with low quality solder joints that fail within a very short time, but that work at the time they are first purchased.

The problem is specifically bad because you do not have time to file any warranty service request. You need your service. A very low quality modem is not justified by a $10 or $20 savings if it is going to fail in a month or two and leave you to purchase another of wait months to get a replacement.

Do not buy this. It is junk. There are many well made units, and there is no reason to economize on a piece of junk.
Cons: Everything
Other Thoughts: None, just plain junk.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/1/2015 6:49:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SurfBoard SB6183 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem – 600 MHz Dual-Thread Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great 16 Channel Modem
Pros: This is a great cable modem with the ability to bond multiple channel to enable full utilization of the Docsis 3.0 specification to maximize throughput. The Arris/Motorola lineup of modems is the de facto standard and are compatible with most all cable vendor's equipment. This costs more than a 4 or 8 channel model, but the difference is that you will get the full speed you are paying for and for the time being it is "future proof" though that is a moving target with a fairly short interval before newer technology surpasses it.
Cons: None, wish it cost less but it is a high demand item so they don't need to lower the price now.
Other Thoughts: Works very well with my Cox cable service and all I had to do was register the device with Cox and they provisioned it and it was up and running without needing anything else.

As with most modems it does run on the warm but not quite hot side which is always a bit troublesome from a longevity standpoint so I hooked up a very small USB fan off my PC and it is enough to keep it nice and cool to the touch. Wonder why they didn't build it with a small laptop fan to help with circulation.

Buy this with confidence that it will work correctly as the cable company sells this same model as their recommended high end modem for their fastest service plans.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 12:33:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SurfBoard SB6183 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem – 600 MHz Dual-Thread Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Does everything it say it'll do.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 11:35:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SurfBoard SB6121 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SB6121 modem
Pros: Very useful and money saving for Time Warner Cable.
Cons: mac address not automatically placed in a new router setting.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/29/2015 1:03:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SurfBoard SB6141 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product
Pros: I have had this modem for a few months, and so far so good. I have had no hiccups at all since owning this. I attached my wireless router to it, and it worked first try.
Cons: its not faster than 300 Mbps
Other Thoughts: When setting this up, remember to call your internet provider, as most of the time they will need to turn it on for your new modem.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/27/2015 4:20:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS TG862G-CT DOCSIS 3.0 Residential Cable Modem & N300 Gigabit Wireless Router/ 2-Voice Lines for Comcast Xfinity

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Wireless SUCKS
Pros: Well works good when Hard wired
Cons: I have had like 7 of these and my download speeds are all over the place . Wireless connection is intermediate , Some times i get only 5.09 and the highest i get is 22.06 when my internet speed is suppost to be 75 mbps .. I would NOT buy this if you intend to use it for the wireless ..
Other Thoughts: My computer is like 18 ft from this router but still cant get a good wireless connection ..I hooked up 4 different ARRIS modems and NONE of them go me over 22mbps
Reviewed By:N/A,8/27/2015 6:55:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SurfBoard SB6121 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great, Comcast still sucks
Pros: Just as fast as the rental modem
Doesn't cost $10/month
Cons: Had to call to have it set up
Other Thoughts: Bought this because we were tired of paying the $10/month for a modem rental through Comcast - especially since the wireless modem they sent us liked to drop the wireless signal at random intervals, which required disabling and enabling wireless on our devices in order to reconnect.

When I set it up, though, I couldn't access the Comcast activation page - or any pages - and wound up having to spend over an hour on the phone with them to get it taken care of.

It was worth it, though - I'm downloading at 90Mbps, when we're paying for 75. (Even with an older, cheap router.) Very happy with this purchase. Not so much with the ISP.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2015 8:40:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.