Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > TP-Link > TP-LINK TC-7610-E DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem (Easy-open package)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: - Compatible with Comcast/xfinity, TimeWarner
- Docsis 3.0 (8xfaster downloads than 2.0)
- IPv6 (latest internet standard)
- Download speed up to 343 Mbps
- Easy setup (I mean, a modem is a so very simple piece of equipment...)
- Gigabit Ethernet Port
- You need a router to use the modem over wi-fi
Cons: - So basically the performance is a dream, but the physical engineering leaves something to be desired. Seriously TP link could have added a few weights to help it hold in place and it would be perfect, but I guess that the price of trying to undercut the more expensive 6141, it is often 10-15 dollars cheaper.
- Cheap plastic case is very warm to the touch. It gets significantly warmer than my previous modem (SB 6120)
Other Thoughts: - If you are still paying Comcast to rent a modem, don't...buy one and buy this one - use it and save the rental fees...it will pay for itself in a year.
- This modem is NOT for those of you that have VOICE service from Comcast...it is for INTERNET only. Third, definitely try to activate it on your own so that technical support does not tell you it is not in their database. The modem is running as we speak and I will update my review if something goes wrong. For now, I am attaching an image showing my speedtest...
Reviewed By:Craig B.,8/23/2016 3:29:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > TP-Link > TP-Link TC-7610 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simple and Effective 3.0 Modem
Pros: Plug n Play in 5 minutes with Time Warner Cable
LEDs give you all the info you need without being annoying and excessively bright
No heating/temp issues
No disconnects or ping/lag issues
Reasonably small size
Cons: Nothing to report here.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid no frills offering from TPLINK and I have had no issues running 60/6MBit cable internet from Time Warner with this device for the last month. Decent price, performance expectation met, reliability and small package makes this a keeper. No issues with setup with Time Warner service, no issues with my TrendNet or Zyxel routers either. Easy recommendation.
Reviewed By:Christoph S.,8/23/2016 10:45:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Linksys > Linksys CM3024 DOCSIS 3.0 (24 x 8) Cable Modem

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Bad luck but.
Pros: Sturdy, nice stand and not ugly, nice upload speed of 23mbps
Cons: Mine could never went over 7mbps download
Other Thoughts: This get's a 3 egg because anyone can get a bad unit and I can do a full review when new one arrives and the customer support was second to none with real people and they determined quickly I had a bad unit and offered a replacement.
Instead of having newegg replace it as they do w/o a hitch anytime I decided I would pay for a swap just to see how efficient they were and offered advanced replacement held on my credit card until old one is received.
Based on new one and it's arrival time and so on I can do another review to increase it's eggs keep the same or downgrade.
Based on how friendly the people were at Linksys I am betting it will be a 5 egg review.
Customer service is as important as the part because I have seen and reviewed bad service before and if a company does not stand behind their products properly they lose in the end.
Service after the sale is key to all electronics.
Reviewed By:Dean g.,8/22/2016 1:41:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > TP-Link > TP-LINK TC-7610-E DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem (Easy-open package)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unreliable
Pros: Was nice while it lasted.
Cons: Worked fine until the 90 day warranty period ran out. A couple weeks after that, it started dropping out several times a week.
Reviewed By:Gregory B.,8/22/2016 10:22:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SURFboard SBG6700AC DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem & AC1600 Dual Band Gigabit Wireless Router

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Needs alot of improving
Pros: When it works it is fast
Easy to Configure
Cons: Keeps dropping connection, even through ethernet.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend anyone to purchase this. I am an IT professional and this blows my mind. Tried Factory default on it to try and see if the connection dropping would stop and still did not fix the issue. Went through the steps with Arris support and none of that worked either. Had Comcast re-provision the device to see if that would work as well but that did not work. Would expect this with a device that costed $20 but this costing me $140 isn't acceptable. I urge everyone to steer away from this device.
Reviewed By:Nicko G.,8/22/2016 10:03:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > TP-Link > TP-LINK TC-7610-E DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem (Easy-open package)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Affordable alternative to a Comcast modem
Pros: Easy setup
Affordable
Cheaper than renting a modem from your ISP
Cons: No telephone port, so won't work with the Comcast "Triple Play"
Bring your own wireless router
Other Thoughts: I set this up as a replacement for the Comcast cable modem I've been renting from them, and the process was a breeze. I just followed the included Quickguide, installed the hardware (easy-peasy, everything is included in the box) and made a quick call to Comcast to get it initialized. It's working great.
It's important to note, though, that this modem will not work if you have their "triple play" bundle with phone, cable TV, and internet, because this device does not have a telephone line port. Also, the modem I replaced had built-in wireless, which this device lacks. That was not an issue for me because I had a dual band gigabit wireless router available that I could press into service. Finally, some modems have a built in battery to power the modem in the event of a power dip, but the TP-Link does not. In other words, this cable modem is reasonably priced for a reason, it lacks some of the bells and whistles you'd find on the higher priced models.
Having said all that, though, I don't think you can go wrong with this modem if you're looking for a simple, straightforward, and affordable device to replace the one you've been renting from your ISP, and for that reason I'm giving it five eggs.
Reviewed By:Cecil S.,8/21/2016 8:35:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > TP-Link > TP-LINK TC-7610-E DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem (Easy-open package)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Easy to Setup Disappointing Performance
Pros: Setup was 10 minutes (including unboxing)
Speeds were consistent
No drops or issues with heat etc
Cons: Slower than my older moto modem
has a web interface which cannot be disabled, Isn't available on the WAN, though.
Web interface won't accept complex passwords
Other Thoughts: I accepted this unit as a device to test. On the whole the performance of the device was great. It never once let me down or made me question its reliability. I could not achieve the same speeds with this unit as I can with my older SurfBoard unit. My 100/10 service is limited to 30/10 with this unit. I called Comcast and they validated that everything was working fine and that they were seeing all channels as being available and communicating properly. Not sure what the issue was but as it is a closed unit with no settings there was little I could do.
There's also a web interface that runs on this box that can't be disabled. Not thrilled about that but it's not available from the outside world so it's not to terrible. It runs on port 80 and doesn't allow complex passwords. Scary if you ask me.
Reviewed By:Christopher H.,8/21/2016 7:29:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SURFboard SBG6900-AC DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem & AC1900 Dual Band Gigabit Wireless Router

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Faulty power source connection inside modem
Pros: nice and fast when it works.
Cons: Broken already from sitting. I would expect this to happen if I plugged and unplugged the device a hundred times a day since I bought it.
Other Thoughts: Get purchase protection!
Reviewed By:richard p.,8/19/2016 12:09:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Linksys > Linksys CM3024 DOCSIS 3.0 (24 x 8) Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent solution for plans up to 240 Mbps
Pros: I'll start with my first impression - opening the box. The Linksys CM304 is not a futuristic-looking device shouting "look at me!" as do some of the competing modems from D-Link. The unit is attractive and the faceted side panels conceal an impressive amount of ventilation. This gives hope that overheating won't be as much of a concern as with some other DOCSIS 3.0 modems. The status lights are readily visible from the front, ports on the back are arranged well.

I evaluated the modem's performance in a home having Comcast/Xfinity 150 Mbps service and in our office using a fiber to cable adapter to probe the limits of what the CM3024 could provide. Setup on Comcast was easier than one might expect. No phone calls to Comcastic service required. Spend 5 minutes going through Comcast's online registration and the modem was up and running. Achieving a minimum 33% increase in download speed for the price of a year's modem rental is a good deal.

The SURFboard modem supplied by Comcast gave actual download bandwidth of 110 Mbps on a single connection. When multiple devices were connected or more than 10 download streams active, overall throughput dropped precipitously. The Linksys CM3024 was an immediate improvement. Download speed rose to 147 Mbps and remained there even when running 20 simultaneous streams.

In our office I could connect to our 10GigE network. A short length of coax can pass well over 1Gbps. The best throughput the CM3024 achieved was 920 Mbps down/235 up. Rates did not degrade at all with 10 concurrent connections, with gradual falloff to 20% lower speeds with 20 streams. As one would expect, performance dropped noticeably when more than 24 download channels were active.

I felt the modem box during the torture testing described above. It was warm to the touch remained far cooler than the Comcast-supplied modem.
Cons: This is not the modem to buy if you plan on upgrading to service with upload speeds faster than 230-240 Mbps. There are other options in this price range that offer more throughput (32 download channels vs. 24 for the CM3024).

Finally, the Linksys modem is only a modem - no included WiFi. Whether this is a con for you depends on your preferences. No WiFi means another piece of equipment to purchase, configure, and maintain. On the other hand, you can buy a dedicated WiFi access point with range and performance superior to any comparable integrated WiFi modem for about the same total cost.
Other Thoughts: The Linksys CM3024 definitely should be on your short list if you are renting a modem from your cable provider and have a service plan with download speeds over 100 Mbps and uploads less than 230 Mbps. It is a capable performer, easily handling multiple devices and download streams.
Reviewed By:Ethan H.,8/19/2016 9:57:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > TP-Link > TP-Link Archer CR700 AC1750 Wireless Dual Band DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Piece of junk
Pros: - Looks ok ...
Cons: - Had constant problems with it dropping internet connection
- Went back to my old setup and decided to use this one as a secondary router to wifi range and you can't even do that with the current firmware. Connected (wired) the router to my primary and now the wired clients can access the internet but wireless ones can't
- TP-LINK support is clueless, forums are empty
Other Thoughts: - Wish I didn't take so long to try the router, now it's outside of the return window. Never buying another TP-LINK product again.
Reviewed By:Vladimir P.,8/19/2016 2:06:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.