Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SURFboard SB6141 8x4 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works like a charm
Pros: Works with Comcast
More than a year later and no problem
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Had to have Comcast ping it, but once that was done, I was up and running. The directions were very clear and the system was easy to set up.
Reviewed By:Jason G.,9/29/2016 3:45:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > Netgear C3700 N600 WiFi Docsis 3.0 Cable Modem Router 2 In 1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Easy Setup, Use, and is Great Product so far!
Pros: Have had the product for about a month and everything is going well so far. Not sure why all the negative reviews on here.
- brought it home and easily connected it to my Comcast XFINITY service. Was easily getting over 170 mbps down with a wired connection
- WiFi is great in close range
- settings online are easy to use and configure (passwords, channels, etc.)
- the thing is so small compared to the big clunky router/modem combos from Comcast
Cons: the only thing I can think of is that the WiFi range isn't as powerful as I had hoped. Our apartment is 1300 square feet, and it has a little trouble transmitting into the farthest room in the apartment. That said, it's through multiple concrete walls.
Reviewed By:Derek W.,9/29/2016 11:04:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > US Robotics > U.S. Robotics USR5686G V.92 Serial Controller Faxmodem 56Kbps RS-232 (Serial Port) V.92, V.90, V.34+, V.34, V.32bis, V.32, V.22bis, V.22, V.23, V.21, Bell 103, and Bell 212A V.42/MNP 2-4 error correction, V.44 & V.42 bis/MNP 5 compression

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Enjoy the internet at blazing 1999 dialup speeds
Pros: A 56kbps dialup connection will have your web pages loading with lighting speed. Now enjoy your fax modem in stylish black.
Cons: Only has an RS-232 interface.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/29/2016 8:54:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SURFboard SB6183 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem - 600 MHz Dual-Thread Processor - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Finally replaced my 10 year old modem.
Pros: Everything works as it should.
Cons: Bright blue LEDS are a pain to cover up.
Reviewed By:Travis G.,9/28/2016 7:33:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > Netgear C6300 AC1750 Wi-Fi DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router 2 in 1

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DON'T BUY NETGEAR C6300 AC1750
Pros: Easy to install.
Cons: Bought this modem in December of 2015. Unit stopped functioning yesterday. Spent almost 3 hours with very helpful people at Time Warner who confirmed that internet signal was good, but not reaching my PC or wireless devices. Hooked up the internet to my phone modem and internet worked again. This confirmed that the NETGEAR AC1750 was not functioning properly. Still well within the 1 year "warranty", so I called NETGEAR "customer service". Hooked up the unit to my PC for the NETGEAR techie and replicated that I could not get internet. After about an hour of connecting/disconnecting the unit, the "service consultant" simply stated that he determined my NETGEAR hardware was fine, but there was a problem with my internet service provider. He was not interested to hear that the internet connection worked fine via my phone modem. Really, really sorry customer service. If you buy a NETGEAR wifi router, be sure buy the extened warrany from Best Buy or the like. Better yet, consider not buying NETGEAR products at all. Sadly, NETGEAR warranies and customer service are simply worthless.
Reviewed By:Michael H.,9/28/2016 1:39:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR C6250-100NAS AC1600 WiFi DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router Up to 680 Mbps Ethernet Port

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast and Easy to Setup. Highly Recommend!
Pros: Setup was a breeze and the range was excellent. It was much better than the router that came with Cox. I felt like the coverage was much better and when streaming, I had a lot less buffering.

The router looks much better and cleaner than what is typically out there. I love the integrated antennas.
Cons: No complaints at all.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely purchase this again and would highly recommend it to others.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/26/2016 1:56:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > Motorola MG7310 8x4 343 Mbps DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Plus N300 Wireless Gigabit Router Certified by Comcast XFINITY, Time Warner and More

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far so good
Pros: - Internet is fast and hasnt dropped out.
Cons: -None
Other Thoughts: I have internet through optimum cable and this thing works great with that so far.
Reviewed By:Patrick D.,9/23/2016 1:35:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > D-Link > D-Link DCM-301 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast. Easy to set up.
Pros: Lightning fast performance.
VERY reliable.
Easy to install.
Green lights aren't nearly as annoyingly bright as blue LEDs.
Cons: Doesn't install itself.
Other Thoughts: This modem has been in service since August 15, 2015. It's been rock solid reliable and has only needed to be restarted once. Yes, you read that right: ONCE. It's VERY fast, FAR faster than the throughput on my previous Motorola DOCSIS 2.0 modem and then some. I don't get people who replace their modems, don't bother to call their ISPs AND then complain when their new modem is behaving erratically or has failed. First of all, call your ISP to have them run a status check on the new modem. Most reliability and performance issues reported by the other reviewers are easily avoidable. For example, when setting up this modem, the Xfinity tech told me that my new modem was reporting that the Xfinity line signal was too strong. Leave it that way and the modem will eventually start behaving erratically and then die. I found this out the hard way years ago. The solution was to simply install a coaxial line signal attenuator between the modem and the incoming coax cable to lower the broadband signal strength from the ISP to within an acceptable operating range for the modem. Yes, that's all it takes. Coax line attenuators are pretty darn cheap and easy to obtain from online retailers or your internet service provider. The attenuators commonly come in three levels of signal reduction, Buy one of each. Don't EVER convince yourself that cable modems are universally plug and play for any and all internet service providers. They are NOT. Even when the modem is listed as compatible by either ISP or manufacturer, those compatibility guidelines DO NOT take into account incoming signal strength. More often than not, you need to make sure the incoming signal is not slowly frying the input section of your new modem. Almost all cable internet providers run their line signal strength well above spec to make sure all their customers receive a strong signal. So simplify your life and take the little time and effort it takes to call your particular internet service provider's tech support department to make sure your modem is installed correctly and is compatible with your incoming broadband line signal strength. You'll find that the payoffs of blazing speed, reliability and not having to endure all the malfunctioning equipment drama is soooo worth it. Happy computing, everyone!
Reviewed By:Craig S.,9/21/2016 1:53:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SURFboard SB6183 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem - 600 MHz Dual-Thread Processor - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Wall-Wort Died in 4 Days!
Pros: Easy install and setup, though it required a support call to Cox. Speeds the same as my 7 year old Motorola/Arris DOCSIS 2.0 modem, but my connection is capped at 15Mbps because I'm cheap, so I wasn't expecting any increase in speeds.
Cons: Wall-wort Died in 4 Days! It claimed it was 12V/1A output but the thing was light as a feather - I really doubt it could provide that output. I probably should have boxed the whole thing back up and returned to Newegg at their expense, but I really didn't feel like going through everything all over again. I re-used the old wall-wort from my last modem - 12V/0.75A but it's working fine so far (it's also heavier than the supposed 1A one supplied with the refurb Arris).
Other Thoughts: Being a refurb it's hit or miss on functionality. Save your box in case you have a problem!
Reviewed By:Michael O.,9/21/2016 11:50:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SURFboard SB6183 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem - 600 MHz Dual-Thread Processor - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works like a charm, easy setup, fool proof money saver
Pros: fast delivery, easy setup, one call to my provider, reported the new MAC address, restart, boom, stable and fast connections. Absolute no brainer money safer, basically pays for itself within 6 months
Cons: none that I can think of
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/19/2016 1:54:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.