Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > Netgear C6300 AC1750 Wi-Fi DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router 2 in 1

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Port Forwarding / DMZ not reliable
Pros: Easy to start up and got advertised speeds
Cons: -- DMZ/Port Forwarding/Port Triggering not reliable and doesn't work.

Example - I have port forwarding set up for SIP 5060 to an LAN IP, so I change it to another IP (new Asterisk Server) and it keeps directing traffic to old IP even though it states the new one. Set up DMZ to new server (or a couple different PCs) and find that it doesn't work at all. If it's set on initial setup, it works - then if you reset it, it will work again; but after you can't modify settings without resetting it and setting up everything all over again.

-- Had problems with box routing traffic on reboot. Could ping internet IPs from router, but it would not route traffic (ICMP or anything) from LAN to WAN until router is completely factory reset. Sometimes the box would come up working - but this was rare unless it had the default settings. I had changed LAN IPs, some port forwarding/triggering, WiFi settings, etc from the default
Other Thoughts: Would never buy again - especially as it was higher priced and rated higher. Probably if I never changed from the default settings, it would have been fine. Going to throw this one in the trash...
Reviewed By:Brian,5/22/2015 1:56:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Linksys > LINKSYS CM100-RM Cable Modem with USB and Ethernet Connections Ethernet Port DOCSIS 1.0, DOCSIS 1.1 Certified, DOCSIS 2.0 Certified, IEEE 802.3, IEEE 802.3u, USB1.1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Strong after 5 years
Pros: This refurbished modem is running strong with Comcast for more than 5 years. All most full download speed is achieved though Comcast calls me several time to ask me to upgrade to DOCSIS 3.0.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/22/2015 8:09:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > ARRIS / Motorola SurfBoard SB6121 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good, with a possible caveat
Pros: Easy to install, fast and knowledgeable customer service.
Cons: Possible bad firmware, leading to problems with connection speeds.

I activated the modem with my service provider (Cox), but was only seeing ~30Mbps down with a 50/5 connection service. After several service calls and a tech visit, my provider determined the gateway was the problem. I contacted ARRIS support and we found that I was only getting a single channel connection, where I should have been getting four.

I then had to re-contact my service provider to have them re-provision the modem. The level two tech that assisted me said that this was actually an issue with the ARRIS firmware, and it was only allowing them to lock a single channel. She updated the modem using their Cox firmware and was able to resolve the issue.

TL;DR: Getting the connection at the right speed may take additional time and effort.
Other Thoughts: Regardless of whether this was a Cox issue or a gateway issue, I'm giving this three eggs. It's a good product, but getting it working correctly may not be as easy as advertised.
Reviewed By:Joe,5/21/2015 2:43:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR CM500-100NAS DOCSIS 3.0 High Speed Cable Modem Certified for Comcast XFINITY and Time Warner Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing
Pros: Does exactly what its made to do. Never cuts out, internet never slows down. Actually get high speeds and it stays high
Cons: nothing.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/20/2015 10:05:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > MOTOROLA SBG6580 SURFboard Wireless Cable Modem Gateway RJ-45 DOCSIS 3.0, 2.0 and 1.0, Euro-DOCSIS 3.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Firmware is garbage, ruins product
Pros: Works well as a cable modem.
Cons: Wifi is extremely unreliable.
Other Thoughts: Yet another nice piece of hardware brought down by awful software. This device worked great for a month or two. Then my cable company pushed a firmware update, and wifi started dropping out every few minutes. Over a year later, it's still not fixed. Cox blames Motorola, Motorola blames Cox, and the consumer is left holding the bag.

I will never buy another all-in-one device. There's a single firmware for modem and wifi, and giving up control of my wifi firmware is obviously a terrible idea.
Reviewed By:Kevin,5/20/2015 7:56:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > ARRIS / Motorola SurfBoard SB6141 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Doesn't do over 100Mbps w TWC
Pros: what's well for what it is
Cons: Specs say it does over 300Mbps but due to a contract agreement with time warner, it isn't allowed to do more than 100 down.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/19/2015 10:56:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > Netgear C3700 N600 WiFi Docsis 3.0 Cable Modem Router 2 In 1

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 very disapointed
Pros: modem/router combo
Cons: --traffic tool is not supported in the current firmware if you are a able user and no information on when they are planning on supporting it.
-Randomly resets it self
-randomly drops connection
Other Thoughts: II am trying to return this router now and buy different brand.
Manufacturer Response:Hi Sergey,

We want to help fix the connection problems you are having with the C3700 and get you 100% satisfied. Simply email us at newegg@netgear.com whenever you get a chance-- just include the serial number of your modem/router and a copy and paste of your review.

We apologize for the trouble-- if you need anything else please feel free to use our forums.
forum1.netgear.com

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Reviewed By:Serge,5/19/2015 12:23:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > Netgear C3700 N600 WiFi Docsis 3.0 Cable Modem Router 2 In 1

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Disappointed
Pros: Nice design, looks good next to my PS3 and HD television
Cons: Unreliable performance. Speed tests will jump from 100mbps to 5mbps on 5G. WiFi signal strength is poor. I live in a tiny railroad in Brooklyn and just stepping 10 feet away makes the reception on my iPhone 6 drop a bar. 5 more feet away and I'm at 1 bar. Awful! Also, 2G is basically useless no matter what distance, you'll get 1-3mbps, even though your service plan is 200mbps!!!
Manufacturer Response:Hi Dwayne,

We are sorry to hear that you aren't getting the performance you should with your C3700. Our experts would like to help you right away! When you get a chance email them with the serial number of your unit and a copy and paste of your review.
Email: newegg@netgear.com

If you need anything else please let us know. You can always use our forums.
forum1.netgear.com

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Reviewed By:dwayno,5/18/2015 5:11:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ZyXEL > ZyXEL BRG35503 DOCSIS 3.0 Residential Cable Modem Up To 160 Mbps Down and 120 Mbps Up RJ-45, Gigabit Ethernet DOCSIS 3.0, 2.0 and 1.1, Euro-DOCSIS 3.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't bother
Pros: Worked for 6 mos
Cons: Worked for ONLY 6 mos.
Other Thoughts: Cheap. It worked fine with Comcast but died 6 mos in. Three attempts with Comcast tech support, including a home visit, were unsuccessful. Comcast's assessment was that the modem failed. Other troubleshooting sequences were unsuccessful. Unable to ip in after failure. As others have indicated: its junk, don't bother
Reviewed By:N/A,5/18/2015 9:43:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ZyXEL > ZyXEL BRG35503 DOCSIS 3.0 Residential Cable Modem Up To 160 Mbps Down and 120 Mbps Up RJ-45, Gigabit Ethernet DOCSIS 3.0, 2.0 and 1.1, Euro-DOCSIS 3.0

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 UPDATE
Pros: Update---- turned out to be a Comcast problem that they finally fixed.Modem has been working good since comcast repaired line
Cons: Hard to find support but once you do they are good
Reviewed By:michaelf,5/18/2015 8:20:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.