Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SurfBoard SB6141 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Modem
Pros: Great for use with Comcast.
Cons: Liked to be powercycled about 3 times a month
Reviewed By:Chris H.,2/4/2016 7:14:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SBG6580 SURFboard Wireless Cable Modem Gateway

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product! Easy to Setup and Use!
Pros: Compact and lightweight, with good performance. Glad this purchase.
Cons: No cons.
Other Thoughts: I recommend this product to others.
Reviewed By:Sergo G.,2/4/2016 6:42:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > TP-LINK > TP-Link Archer CR700 AC1750 Wireless Dual Band DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 TP-Link Archer Wireless Dual Band
Pros: Better feeling construction than most of the modems and routers I've used recently. Good weight and feels durable compared to most of the light-weight cheap plastic I encounter.
Cable modem router: combines a DOCSIS 3.0 cable modem and AC1750 wireless router in one device.
DOCSIS 3.0 and dual band capabilities that claim they reach up to 1300Mbps.
The GUI is pretty intuitive and offers detailed information to help users configure. Software includes a very detailed listing of all connected devices. Includes options for including parental controls on specific devices. Has a "guest" account option for users to connect without a password. Includes a decent firewall.
Unit has six internal antennas to help with connectivity range.
Cons: Another device with no wall mounting option. Unit is slim but is very tall and takes up a decent amount of space on a desk.
Lack of external antennas helps reduce space it takes up but also limits the range and strength of the wireless signal(s).
Offers speeds that can take advantage of USB 3.0 rates but only offers USB 2.0 ports.
No DD-WRT.
I, like many others reported, have had no luck with it's port forwarding feature. Whether it is a problem with the software or the device itself I can't tell.

Other Thoughts: I don't think it's worth $200 but comparing it to other models in that price range it offers about the average in functionality.
Reviewed By:Marcus A.,2/3/2016 5:23:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SurfBoard SB6141 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worth every penny!
Pros: Worked so great, I bought one and recommended one to a friend! Love the form factor. Looks good anywhere you put it.
Cons: If i had to pick one thing, I would say the LEDs are a bit to bright.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/3/2016 4:29:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > Netgear C3700 N600 WiFi Docsis 3.0 Cable Modem Router 2 In 1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice All-in-One, Small Footprint!
Pros: Nice all in one unit to simplify your setup and cut down on desktop clutter. This would be ideal for anyone who is primarily cordless throughout their home as it only offers two hardwire jacks.

No need to be a rocket scientist to setup this router! Once logged in through any browser, setup is simplified under the basic tab for those that prefer “one click” options. And if you are a more advanced user, under the advanced tab you will find more detailed information, and settings for tweaking it out to your networks specific needs.

A power switch on the backside allows you to shut it down at any time if need be. One touch buttons on the front offer control over turning on/off the WiFi portion of the router, and one touch WPS for paring up other WiFi devices without the need for typing in a password which simplifies things. With just a glance, the green LED’s on the front will inform you of your connection status to the internet, and also if the WiFi is on, as well as what band is currently turned on.

WiFi access list settings will give peace of mind to those who like to have total control over what devices are allowed to utilize the network. You can completely lock down the WiFi portion for your specific devices. Also has a guest network setting which is very useful to allow other devices to connect with limited speed, and not having to worry about them gaining full access.

With the USB plug on the back, you can connect a thumb drive, or portable drive and setup a simple media streaming server. This will also work great if you have DLNA capable devices like a TV or DVD player as you can place movie/music/photos on the drive to share across the network within your home and stream for viewing.

Parental control settings with the free app let you customize the parental control settings with easy to configure presets, category filters and custom lists. You can easily set up customized profiles that define content filters and time periods for website access for anyone in your household or set filtering level’s specific to the devices in your home. The Parental Controls are web-browser based, so you can manage your web access settings away from home (with Internet access), allowing you to quickly make exceptions if needed.

With eight bonded channels down, and four bonded channels up, you will always have the maximum speed your connection will offer. Also DOCSIS 3.0 ensures you have the most up to date modem and this modem is certified by all major cable ISPs.

I had no latency or drop out issues with this modem/router on my network. It worked with no problems for both gaming, and streaming! WiFi also worked for me with no issues.
Cons: I could not find anything worth mentioning, it worked as it should.
Other Thoughts: As with any wireless router, location is very important to ensure a signal throughout your home. Middle of the house is always the best, and sometimes by placing it on a shelf above a desktop will help give it a little more range. Always make sure it is not boxed in as airflow is also important to keeping it cool so it runs at max performance!

If your home or area you plan to cover is very large, you could add a Wi-Fi Range Extender to boost the signal where it is needed!

If you’re renting a modem from your provider, purchasing this all in one unit will end up saving you money in the long run due to the monthly rental fees. So depending on what you pay to rent, this will pay for itself in the long run!
Reviewed By:Robert D.,2/2/2016 1:32:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SurfBoard SB6183 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem – 600 MHz Dual-Thread Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 FAST FAST And did I mention Fast
Pros: Fast
Easy to setup
Cons: I wish the lights weren't so bright. other then when i set it up or need to trouble shoot do i even care, why be so blinding with the flashing. I put it in a cabinet problem solved.
Other Thoughts: Comcast FAST!
Reviewed By:Jeremiah J.,2/2/2016 11:37:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TC-7610 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 I'm sure it works well, but not supported by CableOne
Pros: Good stats, aesthetically great, small size, doesn't feel cheap
Cons: CableOne doesn't support this model. I'm sure it would work fine, but they won't connect it just because it's not on the "Supported Model" list.
Reviewed By:Eric C.,2/2/2016 7:21:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-816DRM AC750 Wireless VDSL2/ADSL2+ Modem Router

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 century link compatible vdsl2
Pros: - remote logging of dsl and intrusion events
- dynamic-dns services
- low power use
Cons: - mediocre wifi range
- unclear documentation about local ssh access
- inability to tune logging severity
Reviewed By:david u.,1/31/2016 5:26:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > Netgear C6300 AC1750 Wi-Fi DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Router 2 in 1

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Worked great for the first couple of months.
Pros: - Best looking modem/router I've seen
- When it works, it works great.
- Interface has plenty of options and settings
- Super easy to setup
Cons: - Restarting takes a good 5 minutes
- Often drops all my devices from the network (for about a minute or so)
- Interface is very slow and clunky
Manufacturer Response:Hey Brayden,

We are sorry to hear that your C6300 is dropping all of the devices on your network, and we want to help you get it fixed right away. As soon as you have any trouble like this please email us at netgearteam@netgear.com - we are always standing by. For assistance simply email us with a copy and paste of this review and the current firmware/software that you have running on your unit.

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Reviewed By:Brayden L.,1/30/2016 12:27:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SurfBoard SB6141 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great modem
Pros: Although this modem is a little on the older side now, it is worlds better than that piece of junk all in one router/modem that I was renting from Time Warner Cable. Never again. Setup was easy. just had to make a quick call to TWC so they could activate this and I was flying after that.
Cons: None really. The only con I can think of is the lights are too bright and that is a personal preference. But that can be easily remedied by placing it where you wont see it such as in a cabinet or under your bed. This does not need to be out in the open, whereas your wireless router should.
Other Thoughts: As of January 2016. renting an all in one router/modem from TWC is $10/month. Wish I had switched over to this years ago...
Reviewed By:Eli O.,1/30/2016 9:12:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.