Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > Biostar > BIOSTAR TA970 Plus AM3+ AMD 970 / SB950 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Motherboards - AMD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far so good
Pros: - Inexpensive
- Works
- Nice little white and red lights on the board
- Better than an ASUS M5A97 for the following reasons:
- mPCIe port on board
- USB 3 header on board
- UEFI implementation not broken beyond repair

Other than that, there is not much to say, as it is a pretty basic board.
Cons: - Despite the claims of "hifi audio", there is audible "CPU" noise when using low impedance headphones. When plugged into an amplifier, you need to turn up the volume really high to hear it.
Other Thoughts: I had an ASUS M5A97 before, which worked fine for a while then completely crapped out. The board would not pick up some hard drives if I did not plug them in specific drive/port combinations, and lately, the computer would shut down randomly. At first I suspected the power supply, but after trying a different power supply, shutdowns were less frequent. I figured the problem might be with the board so I changed it and now I have this fine motherboard.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/27/2016 2:25:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-970-Gaming SLI (rev. 1.0) AM3+/AM3 AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Motherboard at a great price!
Pros: Clearly marked ports
Easy to set up
Sturdy Construction
Ambient LED is muted and not distracting,
Cons: Not enough 3 Pin connections for case fans.
That's it. That is the only bad thing I have to say about this motherboard.
Other Thoughts: Highly recommend to anyone wanting to build an affordable gaming rig.
Reviewed By:Tristan L.,9/27/2016 2:16:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 Ultra (rev. 1.0) AM3+/AM3 AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Motherboards - AMD

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great board
Pros: Everything it tells you in the description.

It looks pretty nice once everything is set up and running. And the BIOS is nice.
Cons: The motherboard I first received was bent on the top left corner and as a result couldn't use the top two USB ports.

EDIT: RMA was fast and the second MOBO I received worked perfectly.
Other Thoughts: Arrival - no box damage or anything like that. I took a look at it and everything inside but I didn't take the mobo out of the protective plastic it was in. I had a shop install the motherboard in my case and when I got it home the ports weren't lining up with the holes in the back plate. It works fine.. I'm using it now.. but the thing is bent and I can't use the top two USB ports because of it! I'm in the middle of the RMA so I will update it as needed.

EDIT: I sent in the bent MOBO in the RMA process, quick processing and return of my product. I've been using it for a few weeks now and everything works perfectly. Stay classy Newegg.
Reviewed By:STEVEN D.,9/27/2016 12:27:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > MSI > MSI A68HI AC FM2+ AMD A68H SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI Mini ITX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 BIOS
Pros: - Works well so far.
- Good price
- A lot features in a small MB.
Cons: - Do not flash BIOS from windows. I have attempted twice. Afterwards I am unable to enter BIOS. Reset CMOS and everything is fine.
- Even though I like the MB the design makes cable management difficult.
Other Thoughts: - I bought this MB from another retailer. Happy so far. I also agree that an additional system fan header would have been nice. Also I would have liked it if a CMOS jumper or switch had been included.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/27/2016 11:16:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock 970A-G/3.1 AM3+/AM3 AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Motherboard
Pros: M.2 Slot
USB Type C
USB 3.1
Stunning look
Good Price Point
Easy Overclocking
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: A lot better then MSI. Asrock is a great competitor. I got what I wanted plus more so yea. Still like ASUS and Gigbyte but Asrock has made my list to buy again from and I trust them
Reviewed By:Riley F,9/27/2016 9:35:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > MSI > MSI MSI Gaming 970 Gaming AM3+/AM3 AMD 970 and SB950 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Garbage
Pros: Can't think of any positives
Cons: In less than two years (first install date was Jan 2015), this board has been defective, including the replacement. I left a negative review for the first board and deleted it when it went back for the RMA. MSI's rep on this board provides a toll free number that does not work for motherboard RMAs. If you used a rebate that required you to send in the serial number off the box, you should have made a photocopy of the documents because there is no serial number sticker on the board anywhere (both on the original and the replacement), fortunately, I did make a photocopy. The first board had dead USB ports, sound problems and then failed - leaking from the VRMs on the backplane after extreme overheating. The returned motherboard (repaired? a new one? who knows) repeatedly overheated, shut down (with no BSOD), and finally died. It was running hot and throttled before it died. Do not buy this board or its newer cousin, research I've done reports that MSI used very cheap mofsets.
Other Thoughts: Do not buy this board, it is nothing but headaches, you will spend time disassembling your computer, downtime while in transit for the RMA, and no guarantee that the board you receive in return will work.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/27/2016 6:56:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > MSI > MSI 970A-G43 Plus AM3+/AM3 AMD 970 & SB950 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 HUge step up from 760G board
Pros: Compared to gigabyte's GA-78LMT-USB3 this is awesome.
SATA3
good chipset
USB3.1
Cons: none, breeze to install and set up
Reviewed By:Gurtaj C.,9/26/2016 3:32:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > MSI > MSI MSI Gaming 990FXA-GAMING AM3+/ AM3 AMD 990FX & SB950 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Best for the Price
Pros: -fast
-supports higher speeds of RAM
-easy tweaking of most hardware settings in BIOS
Cons: -raid options suck, I kept loosing data on startup with raid 0 and could only get raid in legacy mode
Other Thoughts: - I would recommend this product if youre looking to get the most out of an AMD build
Reviewed By:martin m.,9/26/2016 1:18:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS M5A97 LE R2.0 AM3+ AMD 970 + SB950 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ASUS M5A97 LE R2.0 AM3+ AMD 970 + SB950 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard with UEFI BIOS
Pros: Works as expected, for the options and price point it's a great high quality built board. Asus FTW, they are best. year later no issues at all
Cons: None
Reviewed By:CHRISTOPHER K.,9/26/2016 11:32:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > MSI > MSI A68HI AC FM2+ AMD A68H SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI Mini ITX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Does what it claims, great budget board for Mini-itx onboard Wifi build
Pros: - BIOS is user friendly and comes with a Overclock Genie built in that works great with almost all A10 APU models. (Personally use it with an A10-7860K).
- Can support 4.2 GHz overclock on the A10-7860K APU with stable power
- Compact, simple, and built relatively sturdy
- Supports 2133 RAM models
- Built in wifi works like a charm, with or without included antenna connectors
- Heat data is more than reasonable under load with overclocked items
Cons: - The two RAM slots are considerably close to the CPU dock, you will have difficulty finding a compatible after market cooler
- Basically, from experience trying multiple coolers, and installing this Mobo in about 7 different builds, the Corsair H60 works well.
- Wiring across the board is loose and insecure in some locations.
- Only two fan headers, therefore an after market fan hub is required.
- Locations of the USB 3.0, SATA, etc. is a little poor. Cable management can be a challenge
Other Thoughts: This motherboard does exactly what it says. Solid, inexpensive, reliable and user friendly products. Only a loss in stars for the limited fan headers, poor spacing of connection ports (USB, SATA, etc.), and limited support of aftermarket coolers due to compact layout.

Plainly, if you plan on running a Mini-itx build with an A10 APU series model, this is your beast of burden. Runs great on my set-ups.

My typical Mini-itx APU portable gaming rig, made to sell:
- A10-7860K
- MSI A68HI
- GTX 960 4GB
- 120GB SSD
- 500GB WD Black 2.5"
- Corsair H60
- Corsair Vengeance 2133 (16GB) (8x2)
- Corsair 750w Gold
- Thermaltake Commander F5 Fan Hub
- Fans and Case vary on customer choices
Reviewed By:Blu D.,9/26/2016 11:01:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.