Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > AMD Motherboards > MSI > MSI 970 Gaming AM3+ AMD 970 6 x SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Deal
Pros: What can I say? I have owned this motherboard for almost 9 months now and I think I can safely say that it was a great buy. Not only does it do its job well, but it looks great too! I also found the OC feature worked better than most others and I would definitely suggest it to those who don't want to mess around too much with the BIOS settings!
Cons: - BIOS occasionally freezes forcing you to restart the system (this issue resolved itself after I used it for as bit)
- The Killer Ethernet app didn't work properly for me (again not a big deal as I can't think of many instances where it would ACTUALLY be useful)
Other Thoughts: All-in-all, I'm very satisfied with the board. It was easy to set up, the manuals were readable, and it really compliments my case (AZZA CZAZ XT-1 B).

NOTE: I am currently running it with an AMD FX 8320 @ 4.2 GHz
Reviewed By:Quarrow,9/1/2015 10:34:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock 980DE3/U3S3 AM3+ AMD RX881/760G 2 x SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Stable mixture of New and Legacy
Pros: -Stable
-Supports Legacy FDD/PATA-IDE.
-Supports SATA 3 - 6GB/s & USB 3.0
-PCIE- 2.0 + FX Cpu Support
I needed a motherboard that could handle the latest FX lineup and support IDE/PATA + new tech like USB 3 and SATA 3. After reading many of the reviews here, I was hesitant about buying this but because of lack for better alternative I chanced it. I couldn't be happier. The build I did consists of an AMD FX-4350, 8GB DDR3, GTX 660 + 4 HDDs. It is stable. I've stressed test it (non OC) using OCCT & Prime95 and after hours upon hours of constant strain the VRMs actually held. No throttling/down-clocking. That said, you'll need sufficient airflow (I have 5 case fans + an after-market cpu cooler setup) to properly maintain cooling since there aren't any heat-sinks covering this boards VRMs'. A top-down fan config for the CPU isn't required if the CPU and case have sufficient air flow/cooling/reasonable temps. ASRock recommends it however. That said it's been stable, has handled heavy stress testing, and hasn't shown any sign of throttling due to excess heat (which this board will do as it supports fail safes in place to protect the VRMs from frying basically). It's a good board. If you had a negative experience with it, you need to RMA for another or you simply don't know what you're doing and aren't doing something correct. For example, no heatsinks on the VRMs, pretty much means, don't buy this board for overclocking! If you do and it fries, you've only yourself to blame and shouldn't be overclocking with it to begin with. Thanks for reading.
Cons: -No Heat-sinks on the VRMs. Would be nice, would make the board a candidate for overclocking imo.
-FDD at bottom left of the board. Had to buy a longer FDD cable that would reach, not a big deal but it would have made more sense to pair the FDD right next to the IDE/PATA connector like most other boards do.
-Onboard Chassis Fan Connector is right next to the PCI-E port, means you have to literally scrunch the plug right under your video card ( I installed a GTX 660 ) . Little annoying and bad placement.
Other Thoughts: If you're budget conscious and need a board to support the latest while maintaining some legacy facets and being stable, then this is the board for you!
Reviewed By:N/A,9/1/2015 10:22:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock 970M Pro3 AM3+/AM3 AMD 970 + AMD SB950 6 x SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 D.O.A.
Pros: Looks like a motherboard.
Cons: Dead on Arrival.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued ASRock Customer

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Please trouble shoot the mainboard whether the issue is resolved.

• Clear the CMOS.
• Reseat the CPU and heatsink fan.
• Test with single memory module.
• Reseat video card firmly and 6+6 PCIE power (if applied).
• Connect the monitor.
• Plug the 24 + 8 or 4 pins ATX power and try.

If you have any technical support inquiry, please contact us at http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp
We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock Support
Tech Support Email: http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp

Reviewed By:N/A,9/1/2015 9:55:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-970A-UD3P AM3+ AMD 970 6 x SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 First time choosing Gigabyte, no mi gusta.
Pros: Great features, not a bad price.
Besides the random USB port and driver issues, everything else works fine.
Cons: Have lots of issues with the USB ports. The 3.0 ports work sporadically. Sometimes they work, other times they don't... I've even tried a separate 3.5 inch USB 3.0 bay to see if it was just the cables I was using from the Case or the Motherboard. Had the same problem, so definitely the motherboard's issue.

I've also noticed some of the ports on the back will also stop working randomly, but not quite as sporadic as the USB 3.0 ports.

Some of the AMD drivers for the chipset are awful. The catalyst chipset installs some USB filter software which totally breaks the USB 3.0 ports to the point where the OS can't recognize them anymore. Possibly the USB 3.0 drivers may be bad as well, considering all the issues I'm having with them.
Other Thoughts: After googling this motherboard I found many forums with people complaining of the same USB issues and also after reading some reviews on Newegg you'll find the same as well.

Not sure how I'm going to tell my client that their brand new PC has USB port wonkiness....

I feel at a loss here, last time I tried to RMA a motherboard to Newegg they made some excuse to not refund me whatsoever... I argued and only made out with a $20 gift card... estimated ~$80 loss... :(
Reviewed By:N/A,9/1/2015 7:37:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 6 x SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 VRM is WAY, WAY too hot!!
Pros: None yet.
Cons: This board gets WAY, WAY, WAY too hot! It will overheat and shutdown! Read the articles about this board before you get it (ALL REVISIONS). I NEVER would have bought this board had I seen others comments first about the heat problems on the VRM... I am really ticked off about this one.

I'm hesitant to even leave a review yet until I get this resolved because it may get worse than this.

The UEFI bios is painfully slow.... Why even put a mouse in there if it's going to move 1 inch per 1 foot of physical mouse movement.

I'm very unhappy with this. Far too much time has been put into just trying to make this thing run, and thus far it DOES NOT PROPERLY!
Other Thoughts: Don't get this board unless you want to take a MAJOR chance that it's going to be TOTALLY USELESS. Read the articles about the VRM issues. It is NOT resolved with version 4 despite a lot of articles saying contrary!
Reviewed By:N/A,9/1/2015 7:19:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 AM3+ AMD 990FX + SB950 8 x SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome and still going strong
Pros: I bought this board in Oct 2013 with an AMD FX4350 Vishera CPU and it's been awesome from day 1. I started with Windows 7 64 and it's just upgraded itself to Windows 10 and is still running like a dream - I also got over 20 Gigs back off my 120 Gig SSD C: drive.
Cons: At first I fitted a Corsair Enthusiast PSU but it a) made noises and b) failed after 9 months. It was replaced by a SeaSonic M12II SS-750 AM2 PSU and that has been problem free ever since.
Other Thoughts: Cooler Master HAF 932 Case
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 Motherboard
AMD FX4350 Vishera 4.2 GHz CPU
Sapphire 100364L Radeon R9 270X 2GB GPU
Corsair Vengeance 2x4 GB CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9R PC1600 DDR3
Samsung 840 EVO 120 GB SSD
WD Black WD5003AZEX HDD
Samsung SH-224DB SATA DVD Burner
Windows 7 Pro 64 Bit OS
Corsair TX750M Modular PSU (failed)
SeaSonic M12II 750 SS-750AM2 750W ATX12V / EPS12V (replacement = AWESOME)

www.mbelectronicdesign.com
Reviewed By:N/A,9/1/2015 5:42:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-F2A88X-UP4 FM2+ / FM2 AMD A88X (Bolton D4) 7 x SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 It has nice looks..but not much substance
Pros: It looks good and is a quality build.
Cons: Not windows 10 ready and no drivers and utilities work.The 7870k I installed said it worked with the latest bios but ran incredibly hot and was throttled..poor bios..it's weak.ram was not stable besides 1600 MHz.Avoid.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 5:26:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock N68C-GS4 FX 95W Socket AM3+ / AM3 / AM2+ / AM2 processors NVIDIA GeForce 7025 / nForce 630a Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Working Fine
Pros: Allows me to get the last bit of life out of a x4 9600 cpu for a NAS project.
Cons: None really, just what you would expect for an am2 era board.
Other Thoughts: cheap to make use of parts you already have around.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 8:33:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > MSI > MSI A88XM GAMING FM2+ / FM2 AMD A88X 8 x SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice so far
Pros: -Feature packed, well designed out UEFI (for the most part)
-Great overclocking potential
-All devices installed in Win7 (eventually)
-Great looking PCB
-2x USB 2.0 ports (Win7 installs)
Cons: -Mushkin Redline DDR3-2133 not recognized correctly @ DDR3-2133, has to be manually set to that speed any time an APU setting is tweaked because the UEFI reverts to that speed after changes.
-Some settings in UEFI don't have drop down menus, use -/+ keys, which doesn't seem particularly intuitive
-One of the USB 3.0 roots didn't install correctly with supplied drivers. I think it was the on the extra VIA controller.
-Programs like CPU-Z and the supplied Command Center don't report Turbo Core speeds correctly
-Programs like Real Temp don't report core temps correctly
-Overclocking AMD processors requires much more fiddling for maximum performance, and the right balance of clock speed and power consumption (both idle and load) compared to Intel K series processors.
Other Thoughts: Some of the cons are more AMD's fault than MSI's for sure, but I felt they should be noted.

One major issue I had with the board right out the gate was using dual monitors with the DVI and HDMI port. I was using the HDMI port with an HDMI to DVI adapter that didn't plug in all the way because the I/O shield is foam padded, which left a gap. As such, the bulky adapter caused the cable to sag and not fully plug in.

This caused the monitor plugged into the HDMI port to not function correctly. The Win7 desktop manager service crashed on login, and the monitor plugged into that port to did not function correctly. Based on previous experience with a much older AMD APU setup (A4-3400), I thought boy, another board that claims dual monitor output, but not really. After replacing the cable with one that had an HDMI and DVI end that didn't sag, the problems stopped, and dual monitor output functions as expected though.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 6:32:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > AMD Motherboards > MSI > MSI 760GMA-P34(FX) AM3+ AMD 760G 2 SATA 6Gb/s (7~8) ports by ASMEDIA 1061 Supports storage and data transfers at up to 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good, buuuut...
Pros: Good tough motherboard...I may have nicked it on the sides, but still worked fine. Lots of stuff for a cheaper mobo.
Cons: Not all of the sata show up in the bios, only the sata 3gbs. I just might be looking in the wrong place...but whenever I look for my hard drive, I cannot find it. I dunno, It works fine so that's all I care about :)
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 6:24:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.