Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock 970 EXTREME3 AM3+ AMD 970 + SB950 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great board for the money
Pros: board worked perfect for just over 4.5 years of heavy daily uses with a amd 8 core processor. saturday puter just shut down. when finally got it to restart nadda but cooling fans ran. yesterday i ordered a new one, for 65 bucks after rebate will be happy to get another 4.5 years out of te new one
Cons: had to leave side off puter with a big fan blowing air into it to keep 8 core processor under 180 degrees...but that mostly my fualt as i run 3 browser with multiple games running at same time.

as others have said, putting in the memory is tricky as it is very tight and takes alot of pressure to get it to lock
Reviewed By:scott b.,1/16/2017 12:25:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-970A-D3P AM3+/AM3 AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does what i need and more
Pros: Good priced motherboard for one. Like previous users stated easiest setup in the world everything is labeled on the mobo and the manuals are super simple. I havent tried to overclock yet i have a amd six core processor running 3.5 GHz OPC to 4.1 and 8 gigs 1600 ram i think. But i am gonna look at it this weekend.
Cons: I dont really have any honestly.
Reviewed By:Andrew V.,1/16/2017 11:40:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS M5A78L-M PLUS/USB3 AM3+ AMD 760G (780L) / SB710 USB 3.0 HDMI Micro ATX Motherboards - AMD

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great
Pros: -Has USB 3.0, AM3+ socket. Runs very well, I would recommend this board to budgeters looking for a decent gaming rig. That being said, I wouldn't attempt any overclocking on this board as the bios menu is wonky and also it tends to run hot.

-This board has supported 3 GPU's for me: ASUS GTX 660 OC Edition, Gigabyte G1 Gaming R9 390, and Sapphire NITRO RX 480
-Great board for the price (cept no sata 6/gbs
Cons: -Ran Hot
-Wonky Bios
-Cheap I/O Shield
-ONLY SATA 3/gb's!!!!!!!!!!!
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this board to budgeters and theres not much else to say besides that it can run hot
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/16/2017 9:19:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-F2A88XM-D3H FM2+ / FM2 AMD A88X (Bolton D4) SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible return time on RMA
Pros: None - Did not work brand new.
Cons: Had to send board in as soon as i got it. Bad Memory slot. - took six weeks
Upgraded to more memory and board completely quit - Still has not returned from RMA after 8 weeks
Other Thoughts: Board works as expected when it works.
WIll probably never buy anohter Gigabyte board.
Highly recommend a different brand!
Reviewed By:John S.,1/16/2017 7:40:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS M5A97 LE R2.0 AM3+ AMD 970 + SB950 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 3 years going.
Pros: Solid mobo
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I've gotten my monies worth.
Reviewed By:Gerard F Vitale,1/16/2017 7:35:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > MSI > MSI MSI Gaming 970 Gaming AM3+/AM3 AMD 970 and SB950 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great MOBO! Needs a big case though
Pros: -Lots of potential for for upgrades
-Looks good in case
-Easy to install with lots of add-ons
Cons: -None
Other Thoughts: Love this MOBO for my first build! Works great and has lots of add on options that can be helpful for OC'ing and upgrading in the future. Would highly recommend!
Reviewed By:Brandon S.,1/16/2017 5:57:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS 970 PRO GAMING/AURA AM3+ AMD 970 + SB 950 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 good board with sub par lighting effects/leds
Pros: 1. cost
2. good style/looks
3. solid construction
4. supremefx audio really makes a difference
Cons: aura rgb lighting. the light itself is fine and so are the colors you can choose from. you can even dim the light as well. BUT the strobe is slow. like every 2 seconds. also the music effect sucks. it likes to stay on Orange and red or yellow and it's very hard to see it changing colors. very rarely does it change to any other color on music effect for some reason. also it doesn't move to the music like one would hope. the speed is way to slow. if you closely watch it you can see it going to the music on point, but the light changing colors and brightening or dimming is crap. I've yet to find any music that it works well with and I've tried everything from dubstep, drum and bass, rock, rap, country, scat, pop, dance, trance, pretty much anything there is. about the only think that looks good is the rainbow cycle and the static effect.

that being said of all the colors you can choose in reality it's not billions of colors like they advertise, as its hard to even see the shade differences. blue red yellow and green and pink purple orange and cyan green/blue, neon green, are the only real colors you can choose from. of those listed the yellow orange cyan blue/green, neon green purple and pink all suck imho. only the red and the blue look good.

also the pinstripe lighting along the back side of the board is only red and you can't change it.

other then the rgb lighting being crap the board itself is good.
Other Thoughts: none.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/15/2017 8:34:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-970A-UD3P (rev. 2.0) AM3+/AM3 AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great for a Year,
Pros: -Lasted Over a year
-Nice Placements
-Worked
-Looks Decent Enough
Cons: -Failed After a Little Over a Year (Bought autumn 2015 failed Around January 2017)
Other Thoughts: Ultra Durable? More like Ultra.... not durable? Wow I'm not funny.
Reviewed By:Larry J.,1/15/2017 11:25:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS ROG CROSSBLADE RANGER FM2+ AMD A88X (Bolton D4) SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI ATX AMD Gaming Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 LOVE this MOBO!
Pros: It's worth the money folks! The tweaking options in the BIOS are well beyond anything I've ever seen before!!
Cons: The only thing I don't like about this MOBO is the horizontal facing SATA slots. Once the board is installed, it's difficult to get the SATA cables plugged in, especially if you have big hands. Other than that, it's a GREAT motherboard.
Other Thoughts: This is DEFINITELY a board designed by/for gamers and power users.
Reviewed By:S R.,1/15/2017 5:26:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > MSI > MSI 970A GAMING PRO CARBON AM3+/AM3 AMD 970 & SB950 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Motherboards - AMD

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Sexy MOBO. LEDs are a nice touch
Pros: Works great other than a few minor hiccups. Lots of awesome features including an LED diagnotics on the MOBO.
Didn't know I would appreciate the RBG LEDs as much as I do. Looks beautiful but not overbearing in my windowed case.
Overclocks like a champ! Bios works pretty well other than a couple of minor bugs that I go over below.
My FX-8300 reached 5.0 Ghz @ 1.55v and I was successfully able to run a few benches, although my Hyper 212 evo was not really up to the task of cooling the cpu at that voltage and frequency so I dropped it back down to 4.7 and its been stable for a few days. Once I get a liquid cooler I'll be excited to see how much further I can get with decent temps.
Also, the IO shield is really impressive. Looks super clean, I've never realized that an IO shield can look this good...
Cons: Had some trouble on first set-up. DRAM light was lit up and wouldn't boot. Confused me for a bit, and I eventually had to just reset the CMOS and it started right up. Idk if there was something wrong with the factory BIOS settings or what...

Also having a problem where the motherboard really does NOT like my mouse. I was getting frequent hang up and failed boots and I figured out everytime I unplugged my mouse during boot up it works fine. No idea whats up with that, I've sent a ticket in to see what MSI has to say about it but after figuring that out its worked like a charm!
Other Thoughts: -Very impressed with the overclockability
-BIOS looks and performs well
-I/O shield looks styling
-LEDs are a nice touch, although you have to download MSI Gaming App to customize them and I don't like how the app messes with the BIOS. Luckily, the settings stay so I never have to open the App again :D
-Some unfortunate small bugs that I've had to work out, but it could just be me. Still, gotta knock an egg for it.

Overall I would definitely recommend it for a FX series user who wants to get the most performance out of their chip at an okay price and still look pretty.
Reviewed By:Jaron C.,1/14/2017 10:53:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.