Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > MSI > MSI 760GMA-P34 (FX) AM3+ AMD 760G SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not again
Pros: it worked great at first then I had a hard time installing windows through the bios.
Cons: I had it for over a month and it started to load extremely slow, won't load windows,wont detect my mouse or keyboard and got a bit hot!
Reviewed By:N/A,6/28/2016 1:31:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > Biostar > BIOSTAR AM1MHP AM1 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does the job for DVR
Pros: Small, cheap, low power

CPU & Fan fits where old Athlon CPU & Fan did
Cons: None for my application. Could do with digital audio out.
Other Thoughts: I bought this to replace a dead motherboard/CPU from my MSI Media Live DVR. This lacks many of the connectors but met my minimum requirements which are 1)HDMI 2)PCI slot 3)Onboard graphics. Other requirements are fairly standard things. I was a little worried that the APU processor would be underpowered but it has been performing fine so far. This interface (MythTV) does seem a tad more sluggish (Though I had to upgrade a couple of versions so it's not apples to apples) but video plays no problem.

The board does not have an IDE connector which would be required for the slot-loading low-profile CD drive in the MSI case but that was a low quality drive and only rarely used in any case.

Some users might lament the lack of S/PDIF but it was not needed for my use case.

My MythTV install worked with minimal fuss. No problems with the HD driver. Had to uninstall the NVidia driver and install the ATI (I went with the ones in the repo). Then I had to change the audio device in the interface. Also took the opportunity to upgrade the OS a couple of versions.

Update: approx 18 months on and the motherboard appears to be dead/dying. POST is giving three beeps followed by three beeps. This appears to be undocumented anywhere which is a HUGE black mark. Is it the motherboard or is it the CPU? I guess I have to roll the dice. I will be buying a replacement board of the same model just to make the swap easy but this deficit of documentation will steer me away from Biostar going forward.
Reviewed By:Richard T.,6/28/2016 1:26:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > MSI > MSI 970A-G43 AM3+ AMD 970 + SB950 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Super excited for this!
Pros: A lot of my friends use this it is super easy to use and fit and is versatile with a range of components and an awesome price so can't complain here!
Cons: For what you may it is perfect, can't find a con!
Reviewed By:Ashley w.,6/27/2016 8:31:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS 970 PRO GAMING/AURA AM3+ AMD 970 + SB 950 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Ordered Sunday, arrived Tues, I have a bootable system Wed. 6/27/2016 I have a working system.
Pros: Physical layout is good, board is solid, enough SATA ports for me. Once set up the bios were very easy to manipulate. My issue for the length of this install really is due to Windows 8.1 and a bad WD 1 TB Hard Drive.
Cons: Tried 2 good hard drives. One has my prior system with Vista, the other a clean install of Windows 8. Can't get either to load, memory errors and boot record errors. Tried to repair from disk / Start from disk on the Windows 8 drive without luck. I know it will work, I've always been an ASUS fan, my MOBO, Video card, DVD drives are all Asus but this is frustrating.
Update-I flashed the bios with the newest version from Asus and everything fell into place!
Other Thoughts: The layout of the SATA ports on the board are tight to the hard drive enclosures on my case. If I were to do it over I would have plugged in the SATA cables on the board before I placed it in the case.

Mobo =- Asus 970 Pro Gaming
CPU = AMD FX 8350 Black
Video = Asus GForce GTX 950 STRIX

Don't start the project until you have the updated bios on a flash drive, After that - no problems.
Reviewed By:Charles B.,6/27/2016 7:06:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > MSI > MSI 970A-G43 Plus AM3+/AM3 AMD 970 & SB950 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Caught fire the first time I powered it on
Pros: Didn't burn my house down
Cons: Caught fire within 30 seconds of being powered on the first time
Destroyed the CPU due to catching fire
Other Thoughts: I would probably recommend this product if it hadn't caught fire and bricked the motherboard and CPU, as I've been using MSI for the last 7 years for my various parts. Since it did though, I can't really say I've had a great experience.
Reviewed By:Chris B.,6/27/2016 6:19:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > MSI > MSI 970A-G43 Plus AM3+/AM3 AMD 970 & SB950 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Starter Board
Pros: Great board for the mid lvl.. I got this board for a budget gaming computer for my brother. Had no issues with it.. Powered on and so far so good
Cons: The usb and sata connections are in a bad spot for the build I was doing... Just make sure you pick a case that will work for the layout of the board
Reviewed By:Justin H.,6/27/2016 4:54:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock A88M-G/3.1 FM2+ / FM2 A88X (Bolton D4) Micro ATX Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Buying a mobo is always a dice roll.
Pros: Sometimes the dice come up in your favor...

Fired right up and worked with Athlon X4 845. Win10 worked on second try (see other).
Cons: None so far. It's still working after 2 months of use.
Other Thoughts: To Swawn E.: I had problems also the first time with Win10. Well, assuming your upgrading from win 7+(and not
fresh install), I discovered turning off anti-virus- plus just shutting all non needed programs in task manager off worked just fine.
Never mind the fact I rolled back to win7 because I feel win10 isn't ready for prime time... lots to like but still a few things not
to my liking. But, that's another story.
Reviewed By:robert f.,6/27/2016 2:26:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > MSI > MSI 970A SLI Krait Edition AM3+ AMD 970 & SB950 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died...
Pros: - Good for a few months.
- Cheap
Cons: Completely died in the middle of gaming. I first thought my video card died. This was not the case... the motherboard completely died. Waiting for new MB/CPU in hopes that maybe it just fried the MB.
Other Thoughts: Only buy this MB if you like to gamble.
Reviewed By:Randy H.,6/27/2016 1:33:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-970-Gaming SLI (rev. 1.0) AM3+/AM3 AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great board for the price!
Pros: This is a very good board for the price. It is well constructed, and I didn’t notice the board flexing at all when I picked it up, like many of the less expensive ones do. The package contains everything you’ll need to set up your PC, although without the extras the some of the more expensive ones include. The upside of that is that it doesn’t unnecessarily drive up the price with stuff you’ll never use. Also, if you’re into that kind of thing, the board looks pretty nice.
The layout is fairly standard. I haven’t tried it SLI yet, but I didn’t have any trouble connecting everything. The PCI-E slots have metal supports around them. I’m not sure how much this actually helps, but it seems like a good idea. The caps also appear to be higher end ones.
You can cram 64GB of RAM into this board, which is great. I intend to use mine to run a few game servers, so I can never have too much RAM. It has a front USB 3.0 header, which is something a lot of boards don’t include for some reason. It also has three USB 2 headers. I’d rather see another 3, but I’m glad it has one at all. The onboard sound is pretty standard, and it has plenty of USB rear connectors. Overall, it’s unlikely you’re going to need much that this board doesn’t have. If you do, you’re probably looking at ones that cost twice the price.
Cons: Be aware that this board does not support the 9000 series FX CPUs. I’m not sure if this is something that can be added in a BIOS update, but as of now you’re stuck not being able to use the latest (and greatest?) AMD CPUs. It also only supports PCI-E 2.0.
There aren’t many negatives I could find in this board. So far everything lives up to the expectations of a sub-$100 motherboard.
Reviewed By:Michael M.,6/27/2016 5:43:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-970A-UD3P (rev. 2.0) AM3+/AM3 AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Not sure why people are having problems
Pros: - Looks amazing
- Works as intended
- Audio sounds great
- Amazing upgrade for crossfire support
Cons: - The second PCI-E port is only 4x as stated on the specifications
Other Thoughts: Perfect for people planning on crossfiring on a budget!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/26/2016 8:33:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.