Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Update software first, try default wizards before getting into the details
Pros: Does not auto update online (more secure)
Plenty powerful for home internet, unless you somehow have a 1 gbit internet connection and use VPN features...
Wizards did 95% of what I wanted to setup. So I left them at the defaults, easy maintenance.
Can do packet inspection and keep track of internet usage, or for more advanced QoS needs
Cons: old software installed that was not user friendly at all, but much better after updating. Still a bit rough around the edges, but no more or worse than most routers.
Other Thoughts: If you want a reliable setup get this, add a gigabit switch and a WiFi AP and you should be set for most SOHO needs.
Reviewed By:Jeffrey O.,6/22/2016 5:08:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco Small Business RVS4000-RF Gigabit Security Router with VPN 1 x RJ45 WAN Ports 4 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't Buy
Pros: Good management interface
Cons: Built in backdoor! Never fully fixed and patched by Cisco.
Reviewed By:John M.,5/31/2016 5:27:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-ER5120 Gigabit Load Balance Broadband Router 1 x 10/100/1000Mbps WAN Ports 3 x Changeable Gigabit WAN/LAN + 1 x Fixed Gigabit LAN/DMZ Port LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product
Pros: ALL GOOD
Well built
Good Documentation
Lots of options
Cons: None as yet
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/26/2016 8:56:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy setup, but use the wizards if you aren't a...dare I say...wizard.
Pros: - VERY easy to setup using the wizard, plug and play for myself. I set up LAN, WAN and PPPOE with no problem. I have my wireless network (Ubiquiti AP AC-LITE) in one port, and my LAN (Netgear switches) in another port. Very simple to use!
Cons: newegg is forcing me to type something here. I guess this router doesn't cook dinner - so that's a con.
Reviewed By:Joshua G.,5/22/2016 6:38:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great vyatta router product for the price!
Pros: I replaced a cisco 5505 that was showing its age with this and it can more than handle a ton of traffic. I originally bought one to use at work for our guest network and was so impressed I bought one for myself. It has a "cisco-like" command line interface where you can copy /paste commands in to bulk configure it. The webUI is nice, and it has nice traffic tracking features. It is also silent and low power, only about 7 watts. And it has a serial console!

Support is also good, there is a large community of users that post on the ubiquity forum and often answer a question within hours.
Cons: The vpn throughput is less than what I'd hope for, but maybe they will fix that in a future release. You can choose from a number of different vpn protocols to uses on it. Other reviews are right, this is not for the faint of heart but the WebUI makes it pretty easy to walk through. Its a good learning experience if you're getting into networking.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you turn on the offload features - you can only do it via the cli. Without it the throughput was only about 110 mb/sec.
set system offload ipsec enable
set system offload ipv4 forwarding enable
set system offload ipv4 vlan enable
set system offload ipv6 forwarding enable
set system offload ipv6 vlan enable
Reviewed By:Michael C.,5/20/2016 6:25:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ER-X EdgeRouter X 5-Port Broadband Router w/ 1x Passive PoE Port

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little router and basic firewall. Nothing fancy. Works.
Pros: Easy to configure. Works well. Nothing fancy.
Cons: Always out of stock.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/17/2016 6:04:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ER-X EdgeRouter X 5-Port Broadband Router w/ 1x Passive PoE Port

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great business grade Router for Upgrading your home's Network
Pros: Easy to set up 5 port gigabit router. The basic setup took me about 30 minutes to get everything set the way I wanted with static IPs and a DHCP block. However, it also has plenty of much more advanced settings in case you want to do things for a business. The device also runs off of Passive PoE and has a outgoing Passive PoE port. I purchased this with Ubiquiti UAP-AC-LR and was able to power both off the PoE injector provided with the access point.
Cons: The included power supply with this device does not provide enough power to power the Passive PoE according to the manual. This seemed kinda silly to me but since the AP's PoE injector powered both devices it meant I was still only using one power plug.
Other Thoughts: If you aren't familiar with actually going in and setting up a router then this is not for you. This is not plug and play you have to do some work first.
Reviewed By:Alexander A.,5/15/2016 6:27:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti EdgeRouter ER-8 Router 1 x RJ45 WAN Ports 8 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect small business or SOHO router
Pros: I purchased this router to use at home. Both my wife and I spend all too many evenings and weekends working on projects requiring significant bandwidth and multiple VOIP and video streams. Pair this with kids and their phones, computers, and who knows what else, Netflix, <large South American jungle river> streaming, etc. and standard routers simply could not keep up with the full bandwidth from our fiber connection.

I first considered bringing home an older Cisco router but came to my senses after recalling too many hours spent swearing at Cisco's obscure commands and realizing that I'd need to pay maintenance contracts for too many services to be worth it.

Ubiquiti's EdgeRouter can best be described as enterprise-lite. It offers spectacular value for the money. From a features perspective, Ubiquiti provides essentially everything that you find in a Cisco or Juniper router costing 10x the price. Better still, everything is included - no added licensing fees to get full functionality. While far superior to anything in the home market, the hardware is not as powerful as that found in enterprise or fancier SMB products.

As far as performance goes, the EdgeRouter happily managed a full 1 Gbps internet connection. I played around with creating numerous virtual clients and even with 200 connections, the router did not slow down. Adding VPN support was easy as was configuring multiple VLANs and firewall rules.

A common complaint I have read for the Ubiquiti EdgeRouter family is that diving into the CLI (text console to issue Vyatta commands) is required. My first thought was to use the CLI, as setting up ipchains firewall rules, etc. is easy this way. I decided, however, to attempt everything from the web GUI instead. Ubiquiti's most recent firmware allows configuring almost every option through the point-and-click web interface rather than using the command console. A veteran Linux/Vyatta won't find the GUI as efficient but I'm happy to report that I could set up everything I needed via the GUI. This included several complex routing rules, dual VPNs, etc.
Cons: The fans are noisy. Too much so for use in an office space. If you are mounting the router in a server rack this would not be a concern. I swapped the fans in the router with a pair of Noctua NF-A4x10 40mm fans. The router runs cool, so I could even add Noctua's low-noise adapters and still maintain temperatures equal to what the noisy OEM fans produced. Problem solved.

As I mentioned above, although Ubiquiti provides features equivalent to high-end SMB routers, the hardware is limited. I found that adding too many firewall rules quickly pegged the CPU which in turn slowed routing performance. I suggest ordering ipchains rules carefully so the majority of your traffic is passed through quickly.

The EdgeRouter ER-8 has eight ports. Useful, but probably overkill. When I had 500 virtual clients accessing the network transferring 10K files both upload and download performance began to fade. At 1000 clients it slowed to a crawl. Not a concern for SOHO work, but certainly a consideration if you are thinking of using this router in a medium-sized office.

By default, none of the eight ports can see each other. There is no internal switch hardware inside the ER-8 so if you need the ports to be connected, the EdgeRouter emulates a switch in hardware. This creates a definite performance hit - I saw ~30% reduction in speed when bridging ports.
Other Thoughts: The ER-8 is unmatched in bang-for-the buck. If you have fast (50Mbps or above) internet service and more than a dozen internet-connected devices, the EdgeRouter is perfect for you. SOHO work is certainly well-supported by the EdgeRouter. You get all the functionality of a near-enterprise router without the price or configuration nightmares.

Ubiquiti appears to be typical for a agile/lean development outfit: Feature-rich, frequent updates, lousy documentation. The GUI is well organized, however, and there is a vibrant online community of Ubiquiti and Vyatta users. In the rare cases where Googling does not reveal the answers you need, there are numerous Ubiquiti forum devotees willing and happy to help.
Reviewed By:Ethan H.,5/6/2016 1:09:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ER-X EdgeRouter X 5-Port Broadband Router w/ 1x Passive PoE Port

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So many features
Pros: Features, very cool.
Cons: Doesn't come with a power supply big enough to run the POE port.
Other Thoughts: Okay, this is the first router I've bought where I haven't been able to set it up without help. Seriously, a little daunting. Luckily the newer 1.8 firmware introduces some better wizards that it didn't have included with the stock firmware.

And to the person complaining about support? Are you kidding me? Unless you paid an enterprise level price for your enterprise level product, don't expect enterprise level support. ROFL.
Reviewed By:NATHAN P.,5/3/2016 12:52:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ER-X EdgeRouter X 5-Port Broadband Router w/ 1x Passive PoE Port

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works, But slow
Pros: - Smallest basic, non wireless router I can find.
- Works well with lots of configuration options.
- Stable
Cons: - Don't seem to be able route / switch at full Gigabit throughput though. Practical throughput is about 500Mbps.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/2/2016 2:56:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.