Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Ubiquiti Edgerouter Lite isn't perfect, but it is an excellent product.
Pros: Way better than mainstream home routers.
Cons: There is a learning curve.
Other Thoughts: The Ubiquiti Edgerouter Lite (ERL) has been our primary router/firewall for two months. It's too soon to tell about long-term reliability, but it is an excellent product.

It's mounted on a plywood panel with other equipment; not particularly cool, but the silent fanless operation is appreciated.

I believe the two most serious issues reported for the ERL were with the earlier plastic-case model: USB flash, and DDR memory. I did buy a USB flash stick that fits, and I plan to back up my ERL, now that the configuration has settled down.

I'm old, and I've worked with Unix and Linux for a long time, so my opinions on the GUI and CLI don't really matter. I don't use either. I did use the GUI to flash the latest firmware. 1.8 was just out, when I bought it. I used the CLI to play with the router in a sandbox network, but haven't used it since. I edit the /config/config.boot file, and keep it under source control, elsewhere.

I disabled all the GUI daemons on the ERL, and don't miss them, sorry. I disabled sshd on the ERL, and use a serial port console instead.

I use only a fraction of this device's capabilities -- just the one WAN interface and two LAN (guest and private, which are firewalled from each other); no VLANs. No VPN, not even IPv6, at least not yet.

The serial console is great, by the way, because that's the only way you can see some of the warning messages during boot. I recommend it, and not just for security.

So... the reason I bought this box was price-performance. I replaced a Cisco "small business" router, and an old Linksys WRT54GL running OpenWRT. Neither one could keep up with my internet connection when it finally went to 150 Mbps. The ERL can clearly handle a much faster connection than that.

I know people complain about the Ubiquiti support model, but I like it. Posting a question on their forums gets a quick and informed answer, often from UBNT employees. The signal-to-noise ratio on those forums is pretty good. I didn't hit any showstopper problems, so I don't know what would have happened if I did.

Here's the elephant in the room. The state of the home-router market is really bad. Most router firmware is riddled with facepalm-quality misfeatures and bugs. Consider CVE-2014-0683 on my old Cisco, which cost about the same as my new ERL. Password disclosure on the WAN interface! Unbelievable. At least Cisco fixed it. Good luck getting fixes for cheap routers.

I appreciate that UBNT takes this stuff seriously, and I'm willing to study up to learn how to configure it for my purposes. There was a learning curve. I think the result is vastly better than the dreck that dominates this market. Your mileage may vary.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/29/2016 7:45:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ER-X EdgeRouter X 5-Port Broadband Router w/ 1x Passive PoE Port

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome little router
Pros: I must say, this is a pretty slick device. For the price I'm not sure if it can be beat. Hooked up a tp-link router as an access point, and everything is working fine.
Cons: None, I had a rough idea what I was getting for the price.
Other Thoughts: I haven't really dug into some of the more detailed parts of the router, nor the CLI. I have a pretty simple SOHO setup, with only one wireless device. Eventually will be adding a NAS, but until then I am set. I don't work in IT, but the bare bones setup was easy with a bit of googling through-out the week while I waited for stocks to be replenished. The unit shipped with the 1.7.1 firmware, which includes the wizard for setup.
Reviewed By:Nicholas A.,4/23/2016 6:08:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco Small Business RV130-K9-NA VPN Router 1 x 10/100/1000Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Almost garbage.
Pros: It works sometimes.
Cons: So inconsistent and unreliable.
Other Thoughts: Fought with this for an employer for weeks. I TOLD them it was faulty, they didn't believe me. Sometimes it took ten or twenty minutes to boot.
Reviewed By:Andrew W.,4/7/2016 3:17:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK SafeStream TL-ER6020 Gigabit Dual-WAN VPN Router 2 x 10/100/1000Mbps WAN Ports 2 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 TP-LINK SafeStream TL-ER6020
Pros: Price, features. Ease of IPSEC setup
Cons: VPN client access by computer name. One egg knocked off, netbios name resolution would be nice. The router should be able to help the VPN client locate a computer "in the office" by name and not only by IP address.
Other Thoughts: Bought this router to setup for a small business as the default gateway and IPSEC VPN endpoint for client access. TP-Link VPN documentation for the initial setup definitely works, but I recommend some minor tweaks to improve security. Once a VPN client is connected, it will be unable to locate say a Windows server or host by computer name. Setup in a very small environment so I was able to edit the hosts file of each client. Not sure I'd use this router in a large scale deployment, but so far it has worked well. As with other TP-Link routers I have used, reboots are rare and internet bandwidth utilization is good. Using Shrew soft VPN client. Known issue with some Widows 8 clients where Microsoft Virtual adapter has to be disabled. Apparently newest Shrew Soft client has addressed this, have not tested yet
Reviewed By:Francis M.,4/7/2016 10:37:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco Small Business RV130-K9-NA VPN Router 1 x 10/100/1000Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Woe onto whomever owns this firewall
Pros: It's a breeze to setup, it offers advanced firewall settings with an interface most users will be familiar with.
It handles multiple IP addresses, dynanmic DNS and VPN easily.
Cons: Oh gee, where to start?
- It randomly stops allowing things through - you can get things setup perfectly but after a while it'll just stop functioning requiring a reboot.
- Cisco doesn't support it - their advice is to upgrade to a business class firewall.
- I had a working config for months and when it suddenly STOPPED. No amount of tweaking, resetting or prodding would get it to work. Garbage!
- The rules don't make consistent sense:
"Allow these specific things, block everything else" = All Blocked
"Block everything except these specific things" = All Blocked"
"Allow these specific things, no all block rule" = Everything allowed
"Disallow these specific things, no all block rule" = Everything allowed except specific things.

The settings were 1/2 on and off too, for the different IP addresses. Things for their server were setup under access rules, things for port forwarding, only setup under port forwarding.
Other Thoughts: Research any cisco device you purchase for stories like these.

I'm sad to say that I was asked to buy an RV320 as a replacement for this RV130 - the price point was what the customer wanted to pay.

Hopefully the 320 is 2 generations newer and these problems have been phased out.
Reviewed By:Oliver S.,4/4/2016 11:01:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TW100-S4W1CA DSL/Cable Broadband Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Drops Connection / Doesn't Work
Pros: Small and great if you only have 2 devices that need to get online like a PC and a gaming console.
Cons: After about a month or so of having it hooked up, my Internet kept dropping out. Losing connection or just moved way too slow.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend buying this. i am out 20 bucks and back to switching out my network cable on my modem so I can use each device. Has been a big headache only after a couple months. Waste of money and time.
Manufacturer Response:Hello,

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing an issue with your 4-Port Broadband Router, TW100-S4W1CA. Please check for firmware updates on our website. After the firmware update, perform a factory reset on the TW100-S4W1CA and reconfigure it. If you require assistance or the issues persist, please contact adrian@trendnet.com and we will have a support representative contact you. Please include a link to this review.


Regards,

Adrian
TRENDnet Support
http://www.trendnet.com/support

Reviewed By:Danny C.,3/24/2016 9:47:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERPOE-5 EdgeRouter PoE Advanced 5-Port Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great router for a great price
Pros: Fast -- 1Gpps for 64k packets
PoE -- you can power an UniFi access point.
Powerful -- you get both GUI and CLI access
Cons: Takes a bit to configure, but is worth the time invested.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/17/2016 2:42:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-R470T+ Load Balance Broadband Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 1 x Fixed LAN, 3 x Changeable WAN/LAN LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy set up
Pros: Connection is very smooth
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Cristal R.,3/10/2016 11:53:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco Small Business RV042G-K9-NA Dual Gigabit WAN VPN Router 2 x 10/100/1000Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Paperweight
Pros: None yet
Cons: Was able to access the web setup interface briefly. Came back a day later and could not access. Tried resetting multiple times, but still could not access settings or gain a connection through the router. Getting ready to ship back for RMA replacement. Hopefully #2 will work as advertised.
Other Thoughts: Had higher expectations from a Cisco product. Maybe next time I should buy a TrendNet or Rosewill...
Reviewed By:William H.,3/8/2016 6:12:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Powerful features and high performance
Pros: Finally, a real router in the house! Was used to replace a 2nd gen 802.11n Airport Extreme base station as the main router. Hooked up to an Arris 820a Docsis 3.0 cable modem with 200Mbit service. Connections are much more consistent and reliable now. Latency in online games is down and video streaming is much more responsive. No issues registering on my ISP's network or any other tomfoolery with compatibility with any other devices on my network. Traffic anaylsis is a plus, as are the multitude of available features. The latest Wizards from Ubiquiti make getting this up and running for web browsing a relatively smooth experience. Responsible for connecting 20+ devices to the Internet and it does so without issue. UPnP functions well, and also has Port Forwarding and NAT capabilities that will allow you to do whatever it is you might need to access wise. Setup is accessible via ethernet and a web browser via HTTPS, so no funky controller software needed or dependency on other connection types. Most configuration changes DO NOT require a reboot, which is awesome!

At the $100 price point you're going to be hard pressed to find something better. This is my first Ubiquiti product and so far I'm quite happy with it.
Cons: Requires an immediate firmware update to become the router you want it to be. QoS features are lacking in the GUI. Setup will be very confusing for anybody coming from a 'normal' home or small office style router. Available documentation is out of date and you'll either A) Need to know how to configure this before installing it, or B) Have another means of accessing the web as you are installing it.
Other Thoughts: There is a larger, PoE version of this router. If you're installing one of these alongside Ubiquiti's UniFi AP's, you'll want to buy that one instead or pair this with one of their PoE switches. This has enough horsepower to handle 1000Mbps ISP connections, but comes with a learning curve. Enabling this to also act as a switch via bridging the LAN side ethernet ports does eat up some CPU, so if you're using this to create an unsegmented LAN and need both ports for it, expect slightly less performance at peak. Reboot times are LONG, so if it appears to be non-functional after a reset or reboot, just wait another couple of minutes and it will come back up.

Latest product download page is here: https://www.ubnt.com/download/edgemax/edgerouter-lite
Reviewed By:Dana W.,3/3/2016 10:36:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.