Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wired Routers > ZyXEL > Zyxel P-660R-F1 ADSL2+ Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good modem
Pros: Initially I purchased the $100 CenturyLink C1000A wireless router with DSL modem sold at BB in an attempt to improve my 6Mbps DSL service to something closer to the 10Mbps that I signed up for. It helped improve speed but I returned that product because I was disappointed with the limited range. This modem is also approved for use with CenturyLink service and it costs a lot less. It replaces a previous model of the 660R that I used for many years. The old modem still works, but my Speedtest results increased substantially with this new modem. I use the modem with a Cisco Linksys WRT160N router which is still working well and has no problems with range in a large house. I also replaced the old phone line and Ethernet cable and that resulted in a very minor improvement in speed. I am delighted to have a better Speedtest result than I did with the CenturyLink C1000A for a fraction of the cost.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: The modem heats up. I do not know whether this caused the old modem to degrade over time, or whether the new modem simply has better performance than the old one. In any event, the new modem solved my speed issue.
Reviewed By:Caroline,7/26/2014 11:13:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-R470T+ Load Balance Broadband Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 1 x Fixed LAN, 3 x Changeable WAN/LAN LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Great price for what you get. Options galore compared to my old linksys 4 port switch. Get it, you'll be happy.
Cons: none, could be cheaper?
Other Thoughts: My old linksys 4 port router, befsr41 ver4.3 has been flaking out for 2 years at least, it needed to reset every so often because it would choke up and kill my internet speeds. I finally got tired of messing with it, as using any kind of bandwidth intensive software would cause it to choke up. I wanted something that could load balance and wasn't expensive. this tp link router fit the bill. hopefully it lasts as long as my old linksys, without the degradation i see the linksys has pretty low reviews now, it didn't when i purchased mine way way back. .
Reviewed By:KR,7/26/2014 4:44:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV042G-K9-NA Dual Gigabit WAN VPN Router 2 x 10/100/1000Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Price
Pros: Works perfectly in Active - Passive mode when having a WAN outage.
Cons: DHCP functionality is limited to a small number of nodes.
Other Thoughts: We own 2 of them and they work just fine for what we do with them.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/24/2014 2:38:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > HooToo > HooToo HT-TM02 TripMate Nano Wireless N150 Portable Travel Router - USB Storage Media Sharing, Access Point, Wi-Fi Router and Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for connecting while on the road
Pros: I use a Roku stick when I traveling with my kids so that they access movies on **** Prime and Netflix while staying at hotels. An issue that is becoming more frequent is the inability of the Roku stick to log on to the WiFi network in hotels that require a browser-based authentication (login + password). The kids were not happy! I acquired the HooToo Tripmate Nano Wireless N Pocket Travel Router with the hope that it could circumvent the hotel authentication issue with my Roku stick. The HooToo Tripmate Nano router is slightly larger than a credit card and can be used in 3 modes: WAP mode (for wired to wireless access), router mode and bridge mode. The "bridge" mode allows to use an existing Wifi network and re-broadcast using a network name (SSID) and login/password. In addition it has a USB port which allows you to share files/media from an external HD over a secure network. The big question is whether it would by pass the hotel wifi authentication issue. I'm very happy report that it works likes like a charm! I was able to use it in "bridge" mode to login to the hotel wifi and then to create a new wifi network/login/password that my Roku stick could connect to. Range is about 30-40 feet. So problem solved!
Cons: I would give the device 5 stars but I'm taking off a 1/2 star because I was a little thrown off by the included instructions. I think the instructions on "how to configure the router" should come before the instructions on how to access the USB storage drive.
Other Thoughts: The tech staff was very helpful.I'm looking forward to trying the router to create secure mini-networks when accessing free wifi networks.on business trips Europe and Africa.
Reviewed By:colesjhsph,7/24/2014 9:10:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > HooToo > HooToo HT-TM02 TripMate Nano Wireless N150 Portable Travel Router - USB Storage Media Sharing, Access Point, Wi-Fi Router and Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Must have electronic for Traveling With Great Expectation
Pros: The product is welled built, very small and portable easy access for traveling to location without a Wifi.
Package content
USb 18 inches long
User manual
Wired Connection: Set up your TripMate as a Media-sharing device, AP Router, Bridge
Wireless connection: Set up your TripMate as a Media-sharing device, Bridge

Information for the router Password and login located in the manual for full instruction and the back of the router for quick and easy access.
On the bottom face of the TripMate has the following information:
HooToo TripMate Nano Travel Route
SSID: TripMateNano-XXXX
Password: 11111111
Admin Steup Page: 10.10.10.254
Username: admin(NO password)
Specifications:
* CPU model/frequency: Ralink RT5350/MIPS245KEc 360MHz
* Wi-Fi: 802.11b/g/n, 2.4GHz
* Speed: 720Mbps for 20MHz, 150Mbps for 40MHz
* WAN port: RJ45 Ethernet, 100Mbps
* WAN LED indicator:
Blue: Internet connection is ready.
Off: No Internet connection.
* Wi-Fi indicator&
a) Flashing Green: System is loading
b) Solid Green: Ready for media sharing
* Switch button: Switch between wired and wireless connection modes
* Reset button
* Antenna: 2dB (Wi-Fi component), 14dBi (main chip)
* Operating/Storage temp.: 41° - 104° / 32° - 140°
* Operating/Storage humidity: 5% - 90% (non-condensing)
* Dimension: 50mm (L) x 56mm (W) x 16mm (H)
* Certificate: CE, RoHS, FCC

Small light weighted, Does the job
Cons: I had a little trouble on setting it up first, I had to plug in directly from the cable so the device can be recognize in menu option, After that it is easy.
Due to limitation, the device can’t be used for a wifi repeated. The signal pick up was strong, but it decreased my internet speed dramatically.
Other Thoughts: Hopefully you will come out with the version that is capable of doing a repeater mode in this size.
Reviewed By:mytechblogreview@gma,7/24/2014 2:13:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TW100-S4W1CA DSL/Cable Broadband Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Netflix kept skipping being wireless so I decided to hard wire. Works great now.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:iyo,7/22/2014 9:48:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-R402M 4-Port Cable/DSL Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 works fine for the money
Pros: cheap, once it's locked and rocking it's solid.
Cons: Often, if the router is connected to a machine before the router is started I may have to renew the address of the router to connect through to the modem.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2014 11:17:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV180-K9-NA RV180 VPN Router 1 x 10/100/1000Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Rock solid device
Pros: -Intuitive, easy to use interface (as someone else noted, same as the SG300 series)
-Very configurable.
-Reliable
-VPN Passthrough
-One-to-one NAT
-Gigabit interfaces
Cons: -Ok, so the interface is a tad slow.
-Extremely long reboot time (~5 minutes).
-No ability to turn firewall completely off (only found this out after last-resort testing).
-When configuring access rules, you'll find yourself jumping around a lot. The "custom services" screen which one uses to pick non-standard services to forward is different than the access rules screen.
-No ability to define a custom service with a number of ports/services. You have to add a rule for every single custom service/built-in service in the access rules page.
-The access rules page isn't helpful in trying to determine which rule you might want to edit. The only column which gives any insight into what device you might be working with is the "Service" column, but if you've got 3 servers which you're forwarding HTTP traffic to you end up with 3 rules that from the access rules page look identical so you end up having to trial and error into each one until you find the one with the correct destination IP. I really don't understand why they didn't add a "Destination IP" column in addition to the service column, that would have made thing a lot easier.
Other Thoughts: I don't usually feel compelled to write reviews, but for this device I do. After researching the right device for a client of mine I eventually settled on this despite the bad reviews.

First things first, for as much as you will read about the slow management interface, it's really not that slow. The client I was working for had a modem which was an order of magnitude slower than this, so I'm not sure what "slow" is for those who have mentioned it. Besides this, even if it is slow, who cares? In theory you're going to spend the bulk of your time setting it up and maybe log in sporadically to make some changes. It's not like you have to log into it every day.

Second, I'm not experiencing any of the other issues which have been mentioned by other reviewers. For one, VPN passthrough works great. This particular client I do a lot of work via the VPN and I have held connections for well over 10 hours with no problems. Before going any further it's worth mentioning the first thing I did was update the firmware to the latest version (at the time of writing this, 1.0.4.14).

Overall, I have found this box (especially considering the price) to be very worth of the Cisco name. Every feature that is on the spec sheet works as described. As for the speeds, I haven't noticed any degradation of service either internal or external as a result of adding this box to the network.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/21/2014 11:09:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV180-K9-NA RV180 VPN Router 1 x 10/100/1000Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 If you have PLEX or media servers - avoid like the plague
Pros: size factor, stability, all great - looks nice, clean, once you get the hang of the GUI it is reasonably sensible. Throughput is as advertised
Cons: If you want to connect media, PLEX or XBMC and use it on a highspeed LAN in your own building, home, etc. do not buy this. I went from an EA4500 to this hoping to increase speed and response. with the new router, i can't even see the media server. On the phone with SBSC, for 2 hours, and they want a packet trace. I bet the problem is NAT. Interwebs are full of warnings about this device. I would not recommend it, and will likely be returning for one that works
Reviewed By:dlloyd9999,7/17/2014 5:20:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK SafeStream TL-ER6020 Gigabit Dual-WAN VPN Router 2 x 10/100/1000Mbps WAN Ports 2 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Web interface is horrible
Pros: Decent price and feature set
Cons: The web interface is just broken. It takes several minutes to load a single page. Effectively, I can't even configure this router. Of course, I ordered it a couple weeks before I actually needed it, so now that I'm trying to set it up, I've already missed newegg's return window.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/12/2014 12:13:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau