Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wired Routers > D-Link > D-Link EBR-2310 Ethernet Broadband Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Easy to configure and stable. Interface is straight forward and flexible - no need to look at the manual if you know anything about networking at all. Does what it says on the tin.
Cons: only has 10/100 ports. Enabling features like QoS may drastically reduce total throughput.
Other Thoughts: I'm using this in a home network where the approved modem was not playing nicely with my LAN (cable - about 125Mbps down, 12 up). I'm getting about 95Mbps down and 12 up through the EBR-2310 (but that drops to ~65 down and 1 up if you leave the QoS engine turned on). It has allowed me to configure my LAN the way I like. If it only had 10/100/1000 ports it would be perfect.
Reviewed By:TexaCali,1/23/2015 10:19:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Linksys > LINKSYS LRT214 Gigabit VPN Router 1 x 10/100/1000Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dead after first day
Pros: Price isn't bad if functional.
Has easy to use web interface
Cons: Dead after 1 day of use in a 3 PC office.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this router or similar products by linksys or cisco small business, this last year there quality of routers have just gone down hill.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/21/2015 2:45:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV180-K9-NA RV180 VPN Router 1 x 10/100/1000Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 GOOD BUSINESS UNIT
Pros: I manage a U.S. Car Club Website and block all non-US IP addresses. This unit allows 100 entries in it's firewall access list. This unit is fast, low power, and WORKS! Makes a good firewall for a small website. I purchased a second one.
Cons: SLOW to boot up, but rarely needs to. Most all entries do not require a reboot.
LOGGING: I need help, or a special utility to read the LOG.
Reviewed By:MICK THE ROCKETMAN,1/11/2015 6:23:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-R860 8-Port Cable/DSL Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 8 x 10/100Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Slow
Pros: Easy web interface.
Cons: Chokes my internet service. I have 100mbps download, and even with the firewall turned off the download speed dropped to under 50mb once this router was put in place. I sent an email to TP-Link support and got no response. I will be returning this device.
Reviewed By:Draino1,1/8/2015 8:44:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-R860 8-Port Cable/DSL Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 8 x 10/100Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good, but it limits your speed
Pros: This device has a clean, simple interface. It gives you good basic information. The port forwarding function works well and is very intuitive.
Cons: I ran several tests with and without this unit and it consistently slowed my connection by at least 15 Mbps.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/7/2015 5:30:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing Router
Pros: Small
Lower power usage

1.6 firmware upgrade is pretty good. I was able to get the router working in about 30 minutes and fully configured in about an hour.
Cons: The GUI interface still has a few limitations.
The addition of the config tree really helps though.
Other Thoughts: I switched over to this from PFSense on a 1u supermicro atom machine that I have been using for a couple years.
Reviewed By:Wurger,1/6/2015 6:36:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > D-Link > D-Link EBR-2310 Ethernet Broadband Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good for light internet usage.
Pros: Easy to set up, and brainless to just leave up and running. I would surmise that it would be reliable for most people in a small home network.
Cons: Very limited, I have a Rev b1, so it is on the older side, and use it as an emergency firewall (things happen, like a firewall failing, which happened to me recently). Since I was last forced to use it (A certain computer store was still in business last time I needed to use it), my network has grown, with more than 30 devices connecting to the network this little guy just cannot keep up. It seems to be maxing out at 361 sessions, and throwing error messages about not being able to create any new sessions. Resulting in poor internet service and an unhappy household.
Other Thoughts: This would be great in a less demanding environment, but it not up to snuff for what I would consider a standard household (4 phones, 2-4 tablets, 4-8 lap tops, 2-4 internet connected gaming systems, 2-4 set top boxes, 1-2 smart TVs) I have a bit more than this. I would not hesitate to install this in my grandmothers house, but may be detrimental to the modern family.
Reviewed By:tc3driver@gmail.com,12/29/2014 3:34:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV180-K9-NA RV180 VPN Router 1 x 10/100/1000Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very disappointed
Pros: Looks pretty
Cons: Refuses to do 1-to-1 NAT at all. Anything outside of putting an IP in the DMZ gives "Connection Refused". ZERO support from Cisco, had a question in the "Cisco Support Forums" for over five months ZERO response. The logging function doesn't work either.
Other Thoughts: If I had known all this before hand I wouldn't ever have bought this. It's been a waste of time and a headache trying to get it to route my external IP's. IPCop on a PIII worked better than this. I work in a NOC for HP monitoring huge networks, the firewall team tells me "well, that's not really a Cisco product" but a re-branded Linksys.

I'll probably build a PC firewall and sell this online somewhere since it just won't work and Cisco seems to be unreachable. GOOD JOB CISCO.
Reviewed By:ITSM4HP,12/23/2014 8:41:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Cisco Systems, Inc. > CISCO 1900 CISCO1921/K9 1921 Multi Service Router - 2 Port - 2 2 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Managed Router
Pros: Awesome features. #1: Gigabit ports! And who doesn't like Gigabit?! VLAN, Trunking, security with encryption, the ability to Use Access Control Lists to shape traffic and block ports, ability to integrate a T1 line, Cable, or other WIC cards makes space savings pretty nice as well. If you're looking for a great Multi Service router, this one is pretty awesome.
I use one at home (yeah, overkill), and have deployed many others in small to medium businesses and they all preform as expected=AWESOME!
Some things not mentioned in the features, you'll need a Cisco Serial to RJ-45 cable, and a USB to Serial cable if your computer doesn't have a Serial connector on it. Oh yeah, and Putty, or some kind of terminal window (yes Mac will work).
Cons: Cisco doesn't seem to pack every box with a Console Cable, so you have to buy them separate in most cases.
Other Thoughts: There's no manual included because Cisco figures if you're buying their products you know that to program their products you have to go into the Command Line Interface (CLI), and if you're going into the CLI, then they figure you have some experience as a CCNA--or some kind of CCNA training. There are books online that you can get to help you configure the router, but you do need to know a fair amount about the Cisco CLI in order to program the enterprise class Routers and Switches--even with the manuals.
Reviewed By:RCSGJ,12/22/2014 3:32:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV042 VPN Router 2 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Low Quality Hardware
Pros: Cheap
Lots of functions
Highly Configurable
Cons: Low Quality Hardware
A few bugs in the software
Reviewed By:N/A,12/20/2014 10:52:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.