Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Not for faint of heart but big payoff
Pros: Fastest router I have ever owned. I have a large home (3400 sq feet) with a dedicated network closet, so we have three business class ceiling mounted PoE 802.11ac WiFi access points (Linksys LAPAC1750), gigabit switches in the closet for wired devices and a gigabit NAS drive. The Asus RT-AC66R we were running as a router, although competent, was the weak link in the chain, and we have no need of the expensive WiFi hardware in consumer grade routers given our separate WiFi access point setup. The performance boost of this router was immediate and noticeable - video streaming devices start instantly, and video previews in Facebook and other high-bandwidth activities do not seem to drag as they used to. The fanless design is a plus given how loud the rest of our network closet is already. Also has the ability to be configured with two load balanced WAN ports if you want to run two WAN connections (i.e. one Cable, one DSL simultaneously)
Cons: Did not ship with most recent firmware (1.6.0) which has been out since November 2014, despite unit having manufacture date of 1/11/2015. Port Forwarding should be able to be configured via hostname/MAC address and not just IP. Power cord could have been made a little longer.
Other Thoughts: Upgrading to the 1.6.0 Firmware is a MUST for SOHO users, as that is the firmware that has wizards to set up typical configurations. The Ubiquiti forums are active and very helpful in resolving advanced configuration needs. Definitely download the full user guide from Ubiquiti support as the quick start guide it ships with is a little thin.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/23/2015 6:04:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TW100-S4W1CA DSL/Cable Broadband Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Don't waste your time
Pros: Worked fine for about 4 months and was pretty fast for downloads while working. Trendnet tech support was pretty decent and went through the RMA process smoothly.

I'm giving the device an extra egg for working for a few months and for pretty decent RMA service with Trendnet.
Cons: After 4 months one morning could not get a WAN connection. Multiple resets, etc, etc. did nothing. A direct connection to modem and another router worked fine. I contacted Trendnet tech support, went through the RMA process, got a replacement and -- same thing right out of the box - NO WAN! And yet still able to get WAN direct to modem or through another router. What a waste of time and money.

Another thing to note if you actually buy one is that it appears to me that you have to use Internet Explorer (no Firefox, Chrome) to connect to the browser-based administrative interface. Also various items in the interface simply don't work such as getting a list of DHCP clients.
Other Thoughts: No. First and second unit - no WAN connectivity. While customer service was decent I'm wary of buying another Trendnet product. Of course, considering the price what should I expect?
Reviewed By:KIRK P.,4/9/2015 7:07:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-R470T+ Load Balance Broadband Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 1 x Fixed LAN, 3 x Changeable WAN/LAN LAN Ports

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good, but not great.
Pros: Load Balancing
Traffic Monitoring
Bandwidth Control; allows you to group IPs and limit the amount of bandwidth that group can consume.
Cons: I wish I could group by mac addresses instead of IPs. I can assign specific PCs a static IP but android devices can be a pain.
Every once in a while, I'll hit a random link that just smokes this unit and leaves it unresponsive. At that point, you have to pull the power cord.
Other Thoughts: The random lock-ups may not be as random as you think. I can cause this router to lock up on command by going to specific websites. I don't know what it is in the code or URL of that website but it's repeatable.
Reviewed By:Shadfly,4/1/2015 8:06:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Linksys > LINKSYS LRT214 Gigabit VPN Router 1 x 10/100/1000Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible Router
Pros: Technically it succeeds at routing bits across a network.

Admin interface is fast.
Cons: Terribly slow! When connected directly to modem I get about 60 down. When connected to router I could never get above 20.

Router has terrible subnet masks. Call C networks only so each network can only have 250ish IP addresses
Other Thoughts: I thought a lot of these bad reviews may have been from people that did not know how to setup a network.

I was wrong. Avoid this thing like the plague!
Reviewed By:joshpennington,3/31/2015 5:32:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Incredible value
Pros: I've been running my ERLITE for over a month now and I absolutely love it. As other reviewers have said, this is definitely a router that requires at least a basic understanding of networks and routing to configure properly. This is not a plug and play device. I highly recommend it for the home network enthusiast and IT professional alike. Enterprise class feature set at a mid-level consumer router price. ERLite supports OSFP, RIP, BGP, plus VLAN trunking, custom firewall & NAT rules, VPN and more. 3 ports might not seem like a lot for the price, but it more than meets my needs and I'm not even using the third port. I have all my internal VLANs trunked on one ethernet port (using sub-interfaces) to a desktop switch and the WAN connection on the other interface. The Web-UI is very responsive and fairly intuitive if you understand networking concepts.
Cons: I got a device with a plastic case, so they're still out there as of February 2015. A metal one would have been nice, but this is not a dealbreaker for me. The device functions incredibly well, so the plastic case is not worth deducting an egg in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: It has no wireless capability, so if you want wireless capability you'll need to convert an old wireless router to an access point, or buy an AP to complement this device. Not a con though, I was fully aware of that when I purchased it. Be sure to download the full user manual from Ubiquiti for a full overview of the feature set and config options, and if you're running into issues swing by their forums to find lots of useful information or post questions. They have quite an active and helpful community.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/27/2015 8:04:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV130-K9-NA VPN Router 1 x 10/100/1000Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Firewall with holes and buggy firmware
Pros: Fast
Cons: Dangerous ports will open after a while in the firewall for no apparent reason
If you enable one to one NAT, internet becomes unstable and port forwarding is disabled
The default service ports for one to one NAT are stupid (and dangerous) and cannot be modified
Port forwarding will randomly stop working (without 1to1 NAT)
Switching between Router and Gateway requires a reboot, but is not suggested
Cisco support does not have this device listed and good luck talking to someone without a support contract.
Other Thoughts: My lousy Netgear wireless router worked much more consistently than this.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/17/2015 11:14:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great boxes and very fast.
Pros: This is an Enterprise Class router with excellent performance. I have a 150/150 Mbit connection from FIOS and I love this thing.

The router is not for beginners and while they are making excellent progress on the gui you might have to get your hands dirty and dig in to the command line. Then again that is why most people come here for this router. The community is great so you will get help in the forums. I'm running V1.6 of the firmware.
Cons: there is a learning curve but for pros its not that difficult.
Other Thoughts: the reviewer who said you couldn't resolve dhcp devices is wrong.
You can do resolve IF your configure the domain name correctly... Its not a perfect solution by any means but its manageable if you configure the domain name you will be able to find your dhcp devices via DNS.. I love this router...
Reviewed By:N/A,3/12/2015 7:57:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV042 VPN Router 2 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Cisco - I like Linksys better
Pros: Lot's of features on these things. Point to Point VPN tunnels are solid.
Cons: I have purchased a dozen or more of these. I loved the original versions (pre-Cisco) and still have a few in use. These Cisco tagged ones setup the same way and when you get a good one, are solid and fast. However, in one installation, I have had 3 of these go bad in 1 year. They will all of a sudden reset on their own to factory defaults and won't hold their configs. Hopefully Linksys will get back to QC.
Other Thoughts: I have many of these and the RV082 in use. Overall, they are a very solid bunch of routers and for the price, very competitive. I think they just went through a period where the hardware was not up to snuff.
Reviewed By:BigD it IT,3/9/2015 7:26:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Heard good things but...
Pros: Very nice specs!!! But haven't gotten to try it yet (SEE BELOW)
Cons: Beware, these guys are still shifting out the older model with the plastic casing. I just contacted Ubiquti about it
Reviewed By:Mark,2/26/2015 5:04:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wired Routers > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV180-K9-NA RV180 VPN Router 1 x 10/100/1000Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid Router
Pros: Easily configurable with many features. VPN, SNMP
Cons: Some might say it has too many features compared to a D-Link or Linksys, but you get SNMP management capabilities which is nice.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/25/2015 6:16:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.