Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Switches > Hewlett-Packard > HP 1810-8G v2 8-port Gigabit Smart Desktop Switch (J9802A#ABA)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The Perfect Switch
Pros: Lifetime warranty
Fanless
Cool to the touch
Low Power options
Fast
Easy
Managed
Non-Blocking Backplane
Wall mountable three ways
Under desk mountable
Cons: None yet
Other Thoughts: I have both the 8 port and the 24 port, both are awesome. GigE all over the house, low latency, high throughput, reliable, easily configurable.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/30/2015 2:38:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > TP-LINK > TL-LINK TL-SG2008 8-Port Gigabit Smart Switch,Advanced QoS,Layer 2 andEnterprise Level Management Features

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Trunking on Win 8 to Win 8 No Go
Pros: Good price and feature set for a consumer managed switch.
Cons: Port aggregation worked, sort of for me, but not in the way I expected.
Other Thoughts: If you buy this to trunk or port aggregate ports to go from 1GBs to 2GBs ethernet speeds, given dual 1GBs NICs at both ends, forget it with Windows 8 systems. Port trunking is not supported unless using a server OS like 2012 or a Linux version. Not a fault of the switch, just Windows 8 and a crippled feature set. You will only get 1GBs maximum but with the marginal benefit of fail-over.
Reviewed By:OlDawgEE,1/29/2015 10:49:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > ZyXEL > ZyXEL GS1100-16 Unmanaged 16 Port Unmanaged Gigabit Rackmount Switch

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 own two, bad ports on both
Pros: No issues with ports that work.
Cons: Some ports do not function.
Other Thoughts: Purchased two of these about a month apart. I have experienced issues with both where I plug a device into one and get no connection, then chose another port and the device works fine. Oddly, the ports that do not function on both units are on the right half. We will see how reliable the device remains overall. One purchases a device with 16 ports expecting all 16 to work, and this does not appear to be the case with this model, which is very unfortunate. No issues with the ports that work. I have not had issues with other ZyXEL products in the past.
Reviewed By:Frank A.,1/29/2015 7:44:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-SG105E 5-Port Gigabit Easy Smart Switch with 5 10/100/1000 Mbps RJ45 Ports, MTU/Port/Tag-Based VLAN, QoS and IGMP

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 TERRIBLE
Pros: Metal case, low price
Cons: Purchased TWO of these devices, and BOTH were bad out of the box. The first one failed instantly, only passing packets through to some devices connected to it. The second one failed less than 24 hours later.

The "managment" software (No web based managment) said that I could not log in to manage the switch because I was not on the same subnet, even though I was.
Other Thoughts: Do not get these. Terrible. Spend the extra $10 on a Cisco SB or Netgear Pro Safe.
Reviewed By:Augustus,1/29/2015 7:28:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > D-Link > D-Link GO-SW-8G Unmanaged Gigabit Desktop Switch

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Much Better
Pros: Update:

RMAed unit received new unit in 5 days, Works fine.
This unit is runs cooler compared to returned item.
Now that this is operating as it should be, I give it a 4 instead of a 5 because of its size.
Transfered 95 gigs of data, no problem.
Cons: I had to pay return shipping $5.50
Other Thoughts: The Rma process was quick and trouble free, reached tech support within a minute received new unit within a week.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/28/2015 12:11:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR Prosafe 8-port 10 Gigabit Unmanaged Plus Switch (XS708E)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 XS708E -vs- XS712T Review
Pros: Our Company owns both this XS708E ( 8-port) and it's larger cousin the XS712T (12 Port)

if your looking for a low cost 10GB switch ... to connect a few servers to some backup NAS Devices (Netgear RN716X) This is the switch to buy....

it is also a "Smart Switch" meaning it does offer some basic things over a truly "unmanaged switch" like Link Aggeration to bond several 10GB ports together to get a bigger pipe (for example to a server with an Intel X540-T2 Dual port 10GB network card)
Cons: it has a very basic Web interface... you do lose some features over the XS712T model (for example it does NOT support 802.3ad LAG/ Link aggregation but the more basic adaptive (active/active active/standby) - check the specs on both switches carefully & pick the one that is best for you
Other Thoughts: Regarding the "NOISE" - the switch is not "Silent" but I would *NOT* Say it was LOUD... I think it would be acceptable in an office ... obviously not a library...

the XS712T is a LOUD Switch..
Reviewed By:N/A,1/27/2015 6:16:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > Netgear 12-Port ProSafe 10 Gigabit Smart Switch XS712T

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fast Switch but has some drawbacks
Pros: We have several of these Switches in our company.. on the positive side ... it supports many advanced features link LAG /Link Aggregation including 802.3ad ) to bond several 10GB Ports together into a bigger pipe ( For example if your Server was running an Intel X540-T2 Dual Port Network card - you could get 20GB)

it has the most "bang for the Buck" in 10GB switches .. the only similar switches I could find were the Cisco SG500XG at 2 Times the prices (it has more Fiber ports) and the Cheaper Netgear XS708E - See below for details
Cons: This Switch is **VERY LOUD** to the point that it's really not acceptable for use in a small office, (even hidden under a desk etc) really designed for a Server room or wire closet..
Other Thoughts: If you only need 8 10GB ports or Less & want a much something not as Loud as this ... I would Recommend the Netgear XS708E - It does Lack some of the features like (802.3ad ) But still supports Link aggregation through (adaptive load balancing active/active active/standby etc)

also the management software on the XS708E -vs- XS712T is very basic web interface... but if all you need is 8 ports or less of 10GB for Server to NAS Backup - it can't be beat.. for "Top of the Rack" or small office deployment
Reviewed By:N/A,1/27/2015 6:02:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR 24 Port Gigabit Business-Class Rackmount Switch - Lifetime Warranty (JGS524)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 A real problem
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Unbelievably glitchy piece of equipment. After installing this switch we observed serious degradation of network throughput and traced it to this unit. As far as I'm concerned it is broken, seriously broken.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/27/2015 4:40:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > D-Link > D-Link DGS-1008G Gigabit Desktop Switch - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Reliable Switch
Pros: Good connectivity,
Low profile
Front link lights.
Good Tech support
Cons: Price
Other Thoughts: I have had this switch for over 2 years and it has been rock solid. I recently had some connectivity issues for which I contacted D link support. Tech support agent Hazel (AR004636) walked me through a few steps that eventually resolved my problems. The switch is back working as it has for the last 2 years.
Reviewed By:Madmax11,1/27/2015 2:16:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEG-S50G Unmanaged Gigabit GREENnet Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Plugged in, works, never goes down
Pros: It's seamless and utterly reliable. It's never gone down, and never requires a reboot.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,1/27/2015 9:20:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.