Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR GS305-100PAS 5 Port Gigabit Switch Metal

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid construction
Pros: - Solid build quality. I don't feel like this will ever break.
- Ready to use right away. No frills.
Cons: - None whatsoever.
Other Thoughts: - Excellent for gigabit switching in a home network.
Reviewed By:Brandon P.,4/17/2015 2:47:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > ZyXEL > ZyXEL 1100 Series GS1100-8HP-240W Unmanaged 8-port Gigabit 240W PoE+ Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far so good
Pros: Lots of power. Powerful fan. Solid build. Able to operate in high temps.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: We have installed this into a large warehouse to handle the access control and camera system. Since this switch has 8 ports, 7 of them will be usable, powered ports, and 1 port will be the uplink. This switch has up to ~35W per port available.

Our switch is powering 4 Axis A1001 access controllers and one Axis P1427-E outdoor rated, 5MP camera. We will likely be adding a couple of more cameras to it before too long. The access controllers use ~12W, and the camera is using ~5W. So we don't need nearly as much as this unit can handle.

The number one feature of this unit for us is the environmental operating temp. Others have mentioned how loud the fan is. With that loudness comes cool running hardware which is what we needed. This switch is sitting on a shelf about 15ft above the floor, and about 2 feet from the warehouse ceiling. And we're also in Texas. The operating spec on this unit is 131 degrees F. I am anticipating that it may get into the 120's in the building up near the ceiling by the time summer rolls around. We haven't used it through the summer yet, so I can't yet attest to whether it will continue to perform well. If we have any issues, I will come back and update this later.

This unit is metal and feels very solid. I was impressed by the construction.

As a final comment, the Ethernet run from this unit to the camera is about 350ft. They say you should not run Ethernet longer than 300ft. But we are getting full bandwidth and full power to our camera from this switch.
Reviewed By:jwatts1980,4/17/2015 8:25:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-SF1005D 10/100Mbps 5-Port Unmanaged Desktop Switch, Power-Saving

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does exactly what I needed
Pros: Cheap, I got this for $10.

-Plug and Play
-No speed decrease
Cons: None that I can see.
Other Thoughts: I bought this to connect to a Netgear 200 mpbs Powerline adapter, so i wouldn't have to constantly unplug the ethernet to swap between the PS4 and PC.

With this switch I can play both simultaneously, and my ping and download/upload speeds have remained as consistent as they were when plugged directly into the powerline adapter.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/17/2015 6:06:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-410LX - Unmanaged 10 / 100 / 1000 Mbps 8-Port Gigabit Switch with 2-Year Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Switch
Pros: 1000 speed, stays cool desktop or wall mount.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Been running for about 6 months no issues.
Reviewed By:tngsg1a,4/16/2015 5:08:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-FS405X – 10 / 100Mbps 5-Port Unmanaged Power-Saving Desktop Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 it works
Pros: less than 10 dollars to get one, that's good price
Cons: No
Reviewed By:N/A,4/13/2015 11:05:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-SG1008D 10/100/1000Mbps Unmanaged 8-Port Gigabit Desktop Switch, Power-Saving

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 TL-SG1008D
Pros: Works fantastically! It does everything a switch should do. No problems at all. Highly commend.
Cons: None at all.
Other Thoughts: It's smarter than I thought it would be.
Reviewed By:phlibby,4/13/2015 10:07:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-SF1005D 10/100Mbps 5-Port Unmanaged Desktop Switch, Power-Saving

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect for the Price I paid!
Pros: Small
Reliable
Fast enough for my needs
Was really a steal of a price when I got it.
I am a currently a college student and in my dorm I only have two Ethernet ports available to me. This is a problem when I have my desktop my laptop my tv my gfs laptop and other things I like to hook up to Ethernet when I am working on them. I also frequently attend lan parties and college wifi is pretty inconsistent when it comes to gaming/streaming/downloading. This thing is nice and portable for such occasions.
Cons: If any exist it might be that it is limited to 100mbps so if you are lucky enough to have gigabit connection speeds you might want to look elsewhere.
Other Thoughts: When you are looking at switches the two big questions I think you need to ask yourself is how many devices will I be using, and how badly/if at all do I need 1000mbps speeds. I got this little guy for ten smackaroones and I couldn't be happier. Downloaded 7.5 gigs in 22 minutes through this little guy just last night while 3 other buddies were playing league and watching netflix. 100mbps is not slow lol. 10/10 would buy again.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/11/2015 7:08:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > ZyXEL > ZyXEL GS1100-16 Unmanaged 16 Port Unmanaged Gigabit Rackmount Switch

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good router while it lasted
Pros: Worked nicely while it lasted
Cons: Had to replace the router twice in the past 2 years. First time was under warranty, second one was not
Reviewed By:Mike,4/11/2015 5:28:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Rosewill > Rosewill RGS-108P - Two (2) or Four (4) Port Ethernet Desktop Gigabit POE Switch with Metal Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No Issues
Pros: Front Facing Ports
No config, auto detects just fine
PoE worked
Steel Case
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I am posting this because this seems a solid switch after some use. I bought a switch with PoE so I could carry my IP phone from work to home and just plug in one cable and it works flawlessly. I personally also chose this switch because it has the ethernet ports on the front panel.
Reviewed By:Greg Pgh,4/10/2015 5:08:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Linksys > LINKSYS EZXS88W Smart Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 What happened to the price???
Pros: Awesome switch by an awesome company. Works great, like all Cisco products. However...see cons!
Cons: Word on the street is that Cisco sold Linksys off to Belkin, and now this switch has skyrocketed in price! Bought this item a year ago for $60, bought another one for a client a month ago for $90, and now it's a staggering $139.95?? Typical Belkin way of doing things. I'm sure the quality will soon follow the low price point--right down the toilet.
Reviewed By:Mikey D,4/10/2015 3:45:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.