Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco SG300-10PP 10-port Gigabit PoE+ Managed Switch

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works as described
Pros: great features. POE+, VLAN tagging, L3 and port security. I use it to power a Cisco 2702AP and Cisco AP1810W, no problems. great for small business, or home office/lab. provides network segmentation and some Enterprise features (with SMB implmentation). I had SG300-10P switches and needed the extra POE power. Fanless design - so quiet in homeoffice or on the desktop
Cons: Admin console can be a big laggy.
switching between L2 (default) and L3 mode causes the switch to revert to Factory defaults - so make sure you do that first!
Other Thoughts: Not a bad buy when NewEgg has it on sale. otherwise pretty pricy but - it does have the "Cisco" sticker on it.
End o fthe day it gets the job done. No problems
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/28/2016 6:09:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEG-S5G, 5-Port Unmanaged Gigabit GREENnet Desktop Plastic Housing Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Item is exactly as described
Pros: -Cheap, but reliable
-Green Ethernet
-Plug and Play
Cons: N/A
Other Thoughts: Bought two of these and they work like a charm. Would recommend if you're looking for an Unmanaged Gigabit switch.
Reviewed By:Ben N.,9/28/2016 10:22:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-SG1024 10/100/1000Mbps Unmanaged 24-Port Gigabit rackmountable Switch, Metal Case, Power-Saving

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Perfectly Out of the Box
Pros: The switch worked as advertised. It's plug and play, very fast, and does everything I could ask.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:William C.,9/27/2016 8:15:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-SG108 Unmanaged 10/100/1000Mbps 8-Port Gigabit Desktop Switch, Metal Case, Power-Saving

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Really easy to use.
Pros: Easy to set up.
Inexpensive
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: I am a network novice. I have a 4-port router and a Wifi network with port forwarding configured, but that's about the end of my network knowledge. I have an Ubuntu machine that we use as a media center for my children, and it was connecting via Wifi. The result was periodic halting of videos and annoyed children.

This afternoon this switch arrived, and while my kids were watching a show

1) I put the switch in place
2) connected the power adapter (Lights came on.)
3) Disconnected one ethernet cable from my router and connected it to the switch.
4) Using the empty router port I then ran a cable from the router to an empty port on the switch.
5) Finally I ran a cable from the switch to the media center box.

Everything came up running as it had on Wifi (except without the halting), and I now have five unused ethernet ports. The kids never even noticed a change.
Reviewed By:Regmar H.,9/26/2016 7:59:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-SG108 Unmanaged 10/100/1000Mbps 8-Port Gigabit Desktop Switch, Metal Case, Power-Saving

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 TP-LINK TL-SG108 Unmanaged 10/100/1000Mbps 8-Port Gigabit Desktop Switch, Metal Case
Pros: simple, plug and play, no issue at all.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Aleksey A.,9/25/2016 7:05:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > Netgear GS308-100PAS Ethernet Switch, 8 Ports - 10/100/1000Base-T - 2 Layer Supported - Desktop

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect size for Home network.
Pros: Price. Paid $17.99 with free shipping. No problems it just works
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Expanding home network and moved away from using ISP provided WiFi router. Custom built Pfsense firewall, NAS, HTPC's, Workstations, power line adapters etc etc. Perfect size 8 ports think I have a couple to spare. Use this for my LAN where everything is wired. Have a separate subnet for WiFi traffic on PfSense using a Ubiquiti UAP-AC-LR for my AP.
Reviewed By:Kyle M.,9/25/2016 12:11:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > D-Link > D-Link DGS-1008G/RE 8-Port Gigabit Desktop Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great!
Pros: Reliable
Cons: Not free
Other Thoughts: Absolutely recommend this switch.
Reviewed By:Kristina K.,9/24/2016 4:40:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > Rosewill > Rosewill RGS-108P - Two (2) or Four (4) Port Ethernet Desktop Gigabit POE Switch with Metal Enclosure

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great while working; I have had longevity problems
Pros: PoE, PoE+, and Gigabit speeds all according to spec
Flexible PoE budget
Price
Cons: I have replaced it twice due to PoE failure
Other Thoughts: I might simply have bad luck - I am now on my third unit. Both of the previous failed with the same symptom: on reconnection of the single PoE device I regularly use, which had been working fine, all PoE ports fail.

Failure has occurred only on connection, which suggests an inrush problem. Either way, it's been trouble for me, as I have to disconnect my device frequently. In a more stable installation there may be no observable problem.

I must say support and return have been as easy as possible, which keeps me from dropping below three eggs. I can tolerate a brief outage. If your application is mission critical or in a hard to reach location, I cannot recommend this switch.
Reviewed By:Patrick S.,9/24/2016 7:31:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-SG108PE 8-Port Gigabit Easy Smart Switch with 4-Port PoE

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Pinch me I'm dreaming right??? I get all this for that price???
Pros: WHAT!!! All this for $88. Honestly many of the features are found on thousand dollar business grade networking equipment, but this is available at a price we can all afford. It brings private or small business network control into an affordable package. I absolutely love it and am shocked at what I have the ability to do with this. It feels like its cheating.
Cons: My only gripe with this is the web interface, it’s just flat out awful to me. Not quite as intuitive as I would have liked it. Very plain and basic. This is the only real area that I feel needs improvement on this product. But in no way does it discourage me from using or recommending it. It’s a small price to pay for what you can do with this. But it would be nice to see a better GUI.
Other Thoughts: I have used TP-Link unmanaged switches for a long time, and loved every minute of it. (But really all I needed was more ports, so if it worked- it worked). This is a stand out product. Not only does it have a metal case and does not feel cheap, but it’s packed with features for cheap. How much better can it get!
First thing I did was just plug it straight into my home network. It didn’t work. Like not at all. Lights came on but no one was home. I got to thinking and remembered that it was a managed switch and that it had an IP address. Opened up the manual to find it…. And it just so happened to be the same IP as my default gateway of my home router. Instant conflict and no-workie. Once I loaded the provided software on my laptop and changed the IP, everything went smooth. So just a heads up if you use this at your house, change the IP first to make sure there won’t be a conflict on your network.

Here is my honest take on this device. I you don’t know what Port Mirroring is, or bandwidth control, QOS, VLAN, Loopback prevention or any of the other stuff is, then this might not be the best choice for you. If you still need this for POE, then it’s still a great choice at this price. What I mean by this is that if you are just looking at this because it turns one port into 7 more, then you can get that from TP-Link for far cheaper than this and it’s still a great product. If you need this for POE cameras, it’s a great choice at the price. But if you have POE needs and want to VLAN some cameras off into their own private network, want to limit that pesky ROKU in your kids room to 5mbps to keep it from taking too much bandwidth, use a legacy device that only works on 10kbps, or trunk some ports, then you have hit the jackpot. Just the ability to port-mirror kills me, I have never seen this feature on a consumer device for under $100, much less all the other stuff.

My final thought is that this is a great device if you need it. If you don’t then just get an unmanaged switch and save your money. But this switch and its features make for just a flat out incredible value matched with a great quality product. This is almost identical in shape and feel to the other unmanaged TP-LINK switches I’ve used, but the features, ohh the features. If you know you need it, then get it.
Reviewed By:Brian D.,9/23/2016 9:24:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Switches > D-Link > D-Link 8-Port EasySmart Gigabit Ethernet Switch - Lifetime Warranty (DGS-1100-08)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Basic Managed Switch
Pros: - Properly tags VLANs unlike some other cheap smart switches
- Performance is excellent, able to push gig through multiple ports simultaneously
- Doesn't require you to use the management desktop application, has a web ui that's accessible right away at 10.90.90.90, which is excellent
Cons: - It does randomly lose it's configuration randomly, despite saving the configuration to NV_RAM as others have suggested, so make backups of your configuration after they're completed through Tools -> Configuration Backup and Restore
Other Thoughts: Would be mixed as to recommend this to people due to the configuration dropping issue. Likely would end up recommending it but would also give a warning that this does happen from time to time.
Reviewed By:Daniel N.,9/22/2016 9:05:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.