Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR 8 Port Gigabit Business-Class Desktop Switch - Lifetime Warranty (GS108)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Rock solid switch
Pros: This switch is rock solid, I have never had any problems with it. I have never had to reset it because it locked up. The physical construction is solid and won't break easily of something falls on it.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: It's a simple switch, the only requirements I have are that it doesn't lock up constantly. This unit has not doe so yet, and the last one I had lasted about 6 years before it had at done it once.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/25/2015 7:48:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > Netgear ProSAFE GS110TP-200NAS (GS110TPv2) 8 Port PoE Smart Switch with 2 Gigabit Fiber SFP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great 8 port PoE switch
Pros: This is a great switch.

8 port 802.3af PoE with total 46 watt PoE budget.
2 SFP ports.
Jumbo frame support.
VLAN support.
Fanless.
Cons: It is not rackmountable, even though it would be possible to create a shelf that scres onto the bottom of the switch.
Other Thoughts: Anyone who needs an 8-port PoE switch, or an 8-port switch with SFP ports, should consider this model.
Reviewed By:SOREN S.,3/24/2015 6:15:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > ASUS > ASUS GX1005B V5 Unmanaged 5-Port 10/100 Desktop Switch with Green Network

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Switch
Pros: It does exactly what its supposed to do. I've had zero hiccups so far. The LED lights are smoked a little so they aren't as bright. It has a VIP port which will take top priority over the others if its in use. It also has 5 regular 10/100 ports. Size is about 6 in wide, 4 in deep, and 1.5 in tall. It does have mounts on the bottom for the wall. Doesn't get hot at all.
Cons: none so far
Reviewed By:Posiris,3/24/2015 7:31:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > TP-LINK > TP-LINK JetStream TL-SG3216 Managed 16-Port Gigabit L2 Lite Managed Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome Switch
Pros: Quiet, No Fans,
Cheap
Supports Business Grade features like LAG/LACP which is the main reason I bought it since it was affordable since I'm using it for personal use. Have it hooked up to my NAS with LAG on 4 ports and 2 ports for each of my desktops. Throughput is much higher and have not had an issue with it yet. I also got it so I can learn some new things for IT.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: My friend said I'd have to use the console cable to set it up, but I was able to set it up through the web interface right out of the box. So I was happy about that.
Reviewed By:Kush,3/23/2015 9:28:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR GS305-100PAS 5 Port Gigabit Switch Metal

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Netgear GS305
Pros: Solid construction... Can't say this enough. This is solidly constructed.
Plug and play out of the box.
Have been monitoring the device. No lost/dropped packets.

This is, by far, the best 5 port switch I have ever bought.
Cons: none.. or perhaps I could have got it in Red, to match my stapler.
Reviewed By:Daryl,3/23/2015 6:25:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-SF1005D 10/100Mbps 5-Port Unmanaged Desktop Switch, Power-Saving

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 TP-LINK TL-SF1005D 10/100Mbps 5-Port Unmanaged Desktop Switch
Pros: Reasonable price. Fast shipping. Worked as described. I have two computers using single Ethernet port with good speed on both at the same time.
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:PC Doctor,3/22/2015 3:52:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-SG105E 5-Port Gigabit Easy Smart Switch with 5 10/100/1000 Mbps RJ45 Ports, MTU/Port/Tag-Based VLAN, QoS and IGMP

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Just Short of Great
Pros: Recyclable packaging
• Clear and simple installation instructions provided on paper
• Mounting holes on unit
• Clearly labeled ports, power, reset button, etc.
• Power brick is correctly oriented to save space on a power strip and cord is generously long.
• Gigabit speed
• Reliable. I never had to reset the unit in my month of testing.
• 5 year warranty is great.
• Support was responsive
Cons: Power, reset and cable lock (anti-theft) ports are placed on one side of unit and Ethernet ports are on the other, which makes the design awkward if you have the unit on a desktop. When all ports are plugged in, you cannot easily stand the unit up or place it without it taking up a large amount of space. Not practical.
Other Thoughts: • Packaging was good – some wasted space and not made of recycled material, but mostly cardboard can be recycled. Plastic clearly labeled and recyclable.
• Upon opening the package, there is a small resource CD, an installation guide and the unit with a bold sticker “Please first Install Utility in CD To Manage Your Device”. Apparently, the switch can only be configured with the utility. Fair enough.
• Unit has a nice weight to it – feels like it is truly made of durable metal.
• Configuration:
o After installing the utility, plug in the unit to the power brick, and then connect to your network. Open the network utility, which should locate the device on the network.
o Now, this is where it got tricky for me. The device assign itself an ip address of 192.168.0.1, which is the same as my router. The router assigned the switch an ip address which I had to change the device to. Got an error: “Host IP address and switch IP address must be on the same subnet!” Could not resolve, so I went to the forums, which were a PIA for various reasons.
• The unit is small, but with wires coming out of two sides, it doesn’t help with saving space. This was disappointing and the only con that took one egg off the review
Reviewed By:Tim In PA,3/22/2015 8:32:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-SG105E 5-Port Gigabit Easy Smart Switch with 5 10/100/1000 Mbps RJ45 Ports, MTU/Port/Tag-Based VLAN, QoS and IGMP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little switch at a great price
Pros: Competitive price
Solid construction
Good performance
Easy set up
Simple interface
Clean looking
Great advanced functionality
Plug and play
5 year warranty
Cons: I can not think of a con... It's a inexpensive and runs great
Other Thoughts: So I initially just plugged this thing in and didn't log into it just to see if it was plug and play(you may have to change the default IP address 192.168.0.1 if your router has the same IP). It worked simply plugging it in with no set up. So if there are people scared off by the "managed" part of it, don't be because it will work right out of the box like any other switch. After I hooked it up I kind of forgot about it for about a month until I had to transfer a bunch of stuff from my storage server. Transfer rates were great for an inexpensive gigabit switch. I couldn't fully max out the gigabit speeds of the switch because of my slower hard drives on my server but it was as fast as they could send the files. When I finally decided to start setting this thing up I had to download the software from TP-Link's website because the disc wouldn't install on my Win8 PC as one other reviewer had stated. The software interface is pretty clean and easy to navigate through. I work for an WISP(wireless internet service provider) so I was able to set up a VLAN from my house all the way back to my office which was fairly simple but I have worked with VLANs for about a decade now. It pretty much has everything you would ask for a small office/ home managed switch.
Bottom line... For 32 bucks you get a clean looking, solid constructed 5 port managed switch that is easy to set up. Nuff said!
Reviewed By:Tbolo,3/22/2015 7:02:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Linksys > LINKSYS LGS116P 16-Port Gigabit PoE Switch

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Only 8 PoE Ports
Pros: So far, it works. I have it powering six VoIP phones without any problem.
Cons: Only 8 PoE ports ? This is partially my fault because I should have read the specifications more carefully, but I think NewEgg ought to change the title to "Linksys LGS116P 16-Port Gigabit Switch with 8 PoE Ports" because the product title is misleading.

One of the two low-quality pot metal mounting screws sheared apart when I ran it into plywood by hand with a screwdriver. If I had been using a drill, I'm certain the other one would have sheared too.
Reviewed By:ihatehardware,3/21/2015 7:20:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > D-Link > D-Link GO-SW-8GE Smart 8-Port Gigabit Metal Desktop Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good SOHO switch
Pros: 8 gigabit ports for a ridiculously low price, small form factor
Cons: Side mounted power adapter.... really?
Reviewed By:Wiired,3/21/2015 8:20:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.