Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Switches > D-Link > D-Link 16-Port Unmanaged Gigabit Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good switch for SMB Office environments
Pros: Good switch for SMB Office environments
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2014 9:09:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > ZyXEL > ZyXEL GS1100-16 Unmanaged 16 Port Unmanaged Gigabit Rackmount Switch

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Does what it needs to do
Pros: PRICE, small size, Quiet no fan
Cons: Instructions/documentation tell you nothing. Lights do not show link speed. What exactly does the power saver ieee switch do? No light to show if the switch is on.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2014 5:38:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ProSAFE 48-port Gigabit Smart Switch with PoE and 4 SFP Ports - 2nd generation (GS752TP)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 GUI issues
Pros: Unknown
Cons: Unfortunately, these switches appear to have serious GUI problems. Among current versions of Chrome, Firefox, and IE, only IE11 in compatibility mode will allow you to log in. From there, you can *mostly* configure these switches. If you want to work with LAG Membership or the system monitoring, forget it. With Java installed and using Firefox 6 or 8 you can configure membership for 1 of 8 of the LAG groups. Netgear attempts to address this issue for other switches here:

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/23841

These browsers do not work for this switch. Similar issues are reported here:

http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=87318
http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=89674
Other Thoughts: Netgear equipment is generally good for "bargain" equipment. To be fair, I only kept these switches for a day, but I went through over 20 different releases of web browsers without finding a clear winner. I did not fully give Netgear support the opportunity to work through these issues. I am however, running current firmware and they could not name a "known good" browser for these switches.
Reviewed By:WVBass,7/22/2014 5:26:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Cisco Small Business > Cisco SG300-10 (SRW2008-K9-NA) 10-port Gigabit Managed Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great switch
Pros: Reliability
Reliability
Reliability

Did I mention reliability?
Cons: Immediate buyer's remorse... because I could have used more than 10 ports. Oops.

Even with rack-ears, the size is a little too small for server racks.
Other Thoughts: This is a great switch. I've used regular brand switches (D-Link, Netgear, Trendnet, etc.) before upgrading to a Cisco SG300 series, and boy the difference in reliability/capability is like day and night. If Cisco's "prosumer/small business" lines are this good, Their 2900/3500 switches are definitely in my future must-have list. (for my house)
Reviewed By:N/A,7/20/2014 8:11:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TPE-1020WS 10-Port Gigabit Web Smart PoE+ Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works...
Pros: Powers 7 1080p PoE cameras on up to 250' cat5 runs at 25 fps. Used in conjunction with NAS to record and stream. Has individual wattage adjustment per port for those longer runs. Does what it is supposed to do. Have not had any lag streaming all cameras at once, nor power fluctuations.
Cons: None so far, though it has only been up for 3 weeks.
Other Thoughts: I have minimal networking experience. It was easy enough of an interface for adjustments, there were also plenty of other options on it that are out of my league.
Reviewed By:Verbitski,7/20/2014 11:16:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR 8 Port Gigabit Business-Class Desktop Switch - Lifetime Warranty (GS108)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great home router
Pros: Metal casing, mounting screw cutouts, 8 available ports great. I use several of these at work and have had no issues at all.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Gregory,7/20/2014 10:38:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius 5-Port Gigabit Home Entertainment Switch AV Gaming HD Streaming, Plug-n-play Pod Design

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 WORKS AS ADVERTIZED
Pros: This router works like it should. Installed in worst case scenario - router in basement at one end of large house and PC 2 floors and 3 walls up at opposite end of house. 80% signal strength. Works well. Customer is very happy. I have used EnGenius products for quite awhile-no problems. I use them in my own network. I have been in the PC repair business for 26 years and really like these.routers.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Buy them you will like them.
Reviewed By:cmptrguy,7/20/2014 7:29:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-409LX Unmanaged 10/100/1000Mbps 5-Port Gigabit Switch with 2-Year Warranty

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Switch for Home Use
Pros: Plug and play install - works great for connecting computers at home - no technical knowledge needed.
Cons: If a con is necessary - I would say the plastic case for the product. It is a bit light weight, but that doesn't take from the performance or ease of use.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/19/2014 9:16:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > D-Link > D-Link GO-SW-8G Unmanaged Unmanaged Gigabit Desktop Switch

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good basic switch.
Pros: * Fairly small footprint at L)3-1/4” x W)5-1/8” x H)7/8” It has a clean look to it.

* The LED lights on the front are bright enough to be seen clearly in full sunlight but not so bright that they light up your room when it’s dark at night. They display green colors when connected to a 1Gbs connection or amber colors when connected to a 100Mbps or less. The active port(s) blink when transferring data.

* Over a weeks’ time it seemed stable and transferred data reliably with no random disconnects or pauses.

* D-Link Green Technology. “D-Link Green Technology implements special power-saving features that detect cable length and link status and adjust power usage accordingly.” If there is no link on a port (no connection or the device connected is turned off) the port(s) will enter a “sleep mode” which reduces the power used. It also adjusts power usage according to connected cable length. Using full power is only needed for 100m and longer cables. This all translates to you spending less money on electricity, and that’s always a good pro.

* It worked great with my Linksys and Trendnet routers using Windows 7 64bit.

* It doesn’t matter what LAN port you plug your device cables in vs. your internet (modem) cable. It auto detects and adjusts accordingly.

* It is covered in D-Link’s generic 3 year warranty.

* The switch never got hot during heavy usage.

* The price of this switch is below average compared to other switches of its kind.

* It is an 8 port switch, and it does what it’s supposed to do fairly well. Dlink is a pretty big company with a large assortment of networking hardware on the market. This is usually good for compatibility and customer support issues.
Cons: * The LAN receptacles are numbered on the back but the numbers are very hard to see. There are no rear side LEDs for each port like on some switches.

* No, there are no mounting holes that you can use to stick this on a pair of screws sticking out of your wall. I mount everything to the wall of my desk’s hutch. It saves so much room and looks much more organized and neat. I do mention below that I have a Velcro solution, and while it works great, I do risk some minor wife rage when I raid her craft room, so this remains as a minor con. It’s something that D-Link should have just added to the design.

* The quick install guide that is specific to this model switch says “Do not cover the ventilation holes on the sides of the Switch”. Aaaah! There are no ventilation holes on the sides of the switch! No need to panic though, it never got too warm. Little mistakes like this make me question the quality assurance department though.

* Power plug input is on the left side towards the front of the unit. This means nothing to me because it doesn’t get in the way of anything where I’m using it, but it’s unusual that it isn’t in the back and this could be inconvenient in some cases.

* Power cord length is only 4 feet. Standard length or not, 4 feet is too short and limits where you can mount a device. I would be much happier with 6 or even 7 feet. The adapter is also a brick style on the cord and not built into the switch. It’s a pretty small brick though.
Other Thoughts: BENCHMARK TIME!
I used a program called AIDA32 that has a built in network bench mark utility. You install it onto two PC’s and it sends data from one to the other and measures how fast it can do it. All cables are CAT 7 Ethernet cables and both PCs are Windows 7 64-bit. I first measured the speed of data transfer directly through my Linksys EA6900 gigabit router to use as a base. I then benchmarked this D-Link switch and also tested a TP-Link gigabit switch to compare it to. These are the results:

Router (base speed):
Min- 58,978 KB/s
Max- 92,810 KB/s
Avg- 74,549 KB/s

D-Link GO-SW-8G switch:
Min- 56,741 KB/s
Max- 90,104 KB/s
Avg- 67,140 KB/s

TP-Link TL-SG105 switch:
Min- 60,851 KB/s
Max- 79,689 KB/s
Avg- 69,943 KB/s

Now you may notice that these speeds are just over one half of one gigabit. These are real world speed tests and you never get full advertised speeds that aren’t in a controlled environment utilizing methods to achieve the fastest theoretical speeds possible. These benchmarks really just help you to compare speeds between devices in your specific computing environment. That being said, you can see that the D-Link switch was a little slower than the TP-Link switch in its average transfer rate, but held a higher maximum transfer but slower minimum transfer.
What does this mean for you? Nothing really. These differences won’t be noticeable in gaming or file sharing. The gigabit speeds these switches are capable of are limited not by themselves, but by everything else on the road to and from them. Just because a racetrack allows your car to go 200 miles per hour doesn’t mean you can drive 200 MPH to get to the racetrack all while ignoring stop lights and other traffic on the road. The only thing benchmarking these switches reveals would be if one had a very significantly lower result. The benchmarks actually test the speed of the entire network, not just the switches themselves.

Would I recommend this switch to a friend? While I believe this switch is a good value and it does a good job at what it’s supposed to do, I would not. Newegg has a plethora of choices to choose from and there are a few that suit my expectations just a little better, but it could be the perfect switch for you.
Reviewed By:mccarlson,7/18/2014 10:03:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Switches > Hewlett-Packard > HP J9561A#ABA Smart Gigabit Ethernet Switch 1410-24G

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Switch
Pros: Fanless, quite. Small. Got to replace my cisco switch that was causing network issue with x-box and PS3 connection time. This little guy solved my issue and i didn't ave to do anything, plug and go! With a lifetime warranty (we use at work and its true) can't go wrong...and was $100 cheaper than my Cisco switch.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,7/17/2014 2:50:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau