Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK MB324SP-B ExpressCage 4x2.5" SAS/SATA HDD Hot Swap Mobile Rack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great
Pros: This was exactly what I wanted as a someone looking to neatly fit my drives into my consumer-grade server

* Cheap
* Swappable fan
* Single SATA power source
* Screwless trays (w/ 2 screw holes available if you desire) which works great for me

Far more convenient than HP's 'hard drive enablement kit' required in some of their cheaper models to fit more than 1 drive.
Cons: Other IcyDock drive trays appear to be metal, while these are plastic. I am guessing this is either because of the screwless design (which seems to require a little bit of flexing), or just to keep costs down. The outer 5.25" bay itself is still metal. Not a big deal for me.
Other Thoughts: I've been eyeing IcyDock's previous 4 tray consumer offerings for a while and the impression that I got from reviews was they they were:
* Too expensive
* (some models) required light soldering to remove their noisy fans
* (some models) required molex connectors to power when many modern power supplies don't offer them (the server I bought this for falls under that category).

This model seems to be a direct response to those complaints and is exactly what I wanted.


Side note: One of my 9.5mm drives has a 2.5mm spacer attached (don't ask), and I didn't have to remove it to fit it inside. I believe that a standard 12.5" drive would fit fine, but I can't say for sure.
Reviewed By:notnarb,5/22/2015 2:37:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > Rosewill > Rosewill RDRD-11004 2.5" SSD / HDD Mounting Kit for 3.5" Drive Bay

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy
Pros: Easy to install. Quality part for what it is. Plenty of mounting options.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,5/22/2015 7:14:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK MB882SP-1S-3B EZConvert Lite Light Weight Open Air 2.5” to 3.5” SATA Hard Drive or SSD Converter / Mounting Kit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Interesting but needs more thought
Pros: Newegg web page information was complete including nice instruction video. Professional delivery and packaging as expected. Unit is made of plastic with a shape that pleases the eye. Nicely matches a black (charcoal) computer case. Fits 2.5 inch drives of different sizes.
Cons: As a housing for a removable ssd in the front of a pc case it is not so practical because of the location of the sata adapter. In my device, it was about 1 mm off when ssd was normally inserted. Consequently, there was no electrical or digital connection. Some wiggling made it connect. In my opinion, the unit is impractical for a front-loading use of swappable ssd, which is what I bought it for. Yes, the ssd must be inserted from the front side after cover has been removed. However, once it is installed, you cannot pull the ssd out from the front side. In order to get to the ssd, you need to pull the entire Icy Dock unit out of the computer case. Only then can you reach the ssd inside, which kind of defeats the purpose of front (un)loading.
Other Thoughts: In order to get this device to work in the front side of a PC case, you need to buy in addition a suitable 5.25 inch tray unit with a 3.5 inch opening allowing the user to easily slide in and pull out the ICY-DOCK adapter. The tray in turn would require a sata power / data part compatible with the sata power / data connection of the ICY DOCK unit.
Reviewed By:Jan P,5/22/2015 2:05:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > Enermax > Enermax Mobile Rack EMK5402 - 5.25" drive bay designed for 4 x 2.5" HDD or SSD. Support RAID 0/1/5/6/10/JBOD/NOR mode for high speed, back up and high capacity. SATA 6.0G (SATA III) hard drives compat

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Like this tray-less design
Pros: Trayless design, just slide your 2.5" HDD and lock the door.
Cons: The doors/lock a bit flimsy, need attention closing door lock. Two little fans sometimes make noise
Other Thoughts: I like this mobile rack. Had to use two IcyDocks before and had a lot of speed degradation when fans were on (electric noise from fans affects HDD speed because of stupid IcyDock design). Enermax rack doesn't have this proble, will stick with this brand.
Reviewed By:Equinox,5/21/2015 9:11:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK EZ-Fit Lite MB290SP-B 2 x 2.5” to 3.5” Drive Bay SATA/IDE SSD/HDD Mounting Kit / Bracket / Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works like advertised, but some cables wont work with this design.
Pros: Lets you put 2 SSD sized drives in a spot meant for 1 HDD
Cons: After placing both 2.5'' drives into it, the ports (sata/power) are so close to each other that its NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE to hook up both cables to both drives.

My power supply is modular and i have many different types of power cables, but keep in mind that NOT all power supply cables will be able to attach to both drives. You'll be able to attach power to 1 drive but not be able to attach sata to the other and the power cable will interfere with the sata port on the other drive.
Other Thoughts: Very good concept and really does work but not all cables will work with it without butting unnecessary stress on the ports on your 2.5'' drives
Reviewed By:Daniel Fitts,5/21/2015 12:00:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > Rosewill > Rosewill RDRD-11004 2.5" SSD / HDD Mounting Kit for 3.5" Drive Bay

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great part for the price
Pros: - Came with screws
- Easy install
- Came with screws!!!
- Supports two SSD mounting
- CAME WITH SCREWS!!!
Cons: - None really. It came with the screws.
Other Thoughts: All jokes aside, this is yet another quality piece of Rosewill hardware that won't break the bank. It is metal and manufactured very well. Easy to install in my Antec case and everything fit perfectly. And it came with screws.
Reviewed By:Ryan,5/21/2015 7:32:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK FLEX-FIT Trio MB343SP 2 x 2.5” HDD/SSD to 5.25” Adapter/Bracket with 1 x 3.5” Device/Drive Bay

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 great idea, bad execution
Pros: The idea of this device is great. It enabled me to remove my entire harddrive cage so that I would get more airflow to the GPU.
Cons: Icydock did not think this product through, nor is it compatible with all HDD. I slipped my HDD in the rails and the pins were too big for the mounting holes. In order to stabilize the drive, I had to drill new holes in the plastic for 2 extra mounting screws.
SSD and HDD are now installed.
Now about the power and data. Unless you have straight through (no elbow sata or daisy chained power), you will probably break one of your drives because of the stress from having a cable protruding on either side of a power plug. it's just not a good design based on the types of cable that come most PSU.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/20/2015 9:20:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > Rosewill > Rosewill RDRD-11003 2.5" SSD / HDD Mounting Kit for 3.5" Drive Bay with 60 mm Fan

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Be mindful of the details
Pros: Quiet fan, good price - I purchased at $5, which was roundabout the going price of caddies that didn't have a fan.
Cons: Be aware of how your hard drive rails mount. My case (an ancient Apevia) uses sliding drive trays; the trays span 2/3rds of the bottom of the drive, blocking airflow to the fan.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/20/2015 8:16:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK MB882SP-1S-3B EZConvert Lite Light Weight Open Air 2.5” to 3.5” SATA Hard Drive or SSD Converter / Mounting Kit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Non standard mounting holes
Pros: The open design gives me clear view of the drive inside. No more doubts if the drive is fully inserted or not.
Cons: There is a big one, at least for me. The mounting holes for the enclosure are not standard 6-32. This makes this enclosure unusable for me. I hope they fix this problem in next version because I really like this design. Until then I have to revert to the older version :(
Reviewed By:N/A,5/20/2015 2:01:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK FLEX-FIT Trio MB343SP 2 x 2.5” HDD/SSD to 5.25” Adapter/Bracket with 1 x 3.5” Device/Drive Bay

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as Advertised
Pros: -Excellent fit for a 3.5" card reader
-Super easy & tool-less installation of 3.5" card reader
-Textured front panel looks nice when installed with 3.5" card reader
Cons: -none
Other Thoughts: I ordered this so that I could install a 3.5" multi-card reader in one of the 5.25" front panels of my system. The installation was as simple as sliding the device in and it clicked in place. Done. It secured easily into my tool-less drive bay as well. I can't speak to how well it works for 2.5" hard drives.
Reviewed By:Jimmy,5/20/2015 9:28:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.