Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Western Digital > Western Digital WDBHG70000NBK-HESN 1080p WD TV Live Streaming Media Player with Wi-Fi (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't Bother
Pros: When it did work, it streamed all formats that were on my external hard drive or laptop.
Cons: Piece of Junk - don't bother buying. Maybe some of the boxes out there actually work, but this was "Refurbished" which I'm starting to think it was returned because it didn't work, so they plug it in and "Tested" it and re-sold as refurbished... Constant lock-ups, could not reliably watch a movie with it.
Other Thoughts: At least Newegg attempts to stand behind their products. Being a refurb, they would not give money back but would exchange it for another refurb. I guess either they were out of them or couldn't find one that worked better so they did refund my money. Unfortunately I have yet to find a device that will stream my personal collection. As soon as I find one I'll buy on Newegg.
Reviewed By:deac99,1/28/2015 12:50:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Kaser Corporation. > Kaser YF828-8G Net'sTV Android box for TV

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 What a Great Device !
Pros: Turned my bedroom T.V. into a multi media entertainment powerhouse for starters then 2 clicks with my T.v. remote control and my T.V. turns into my Android Phone and the convienience to e-mail on my flat screen t.v. to me is priceless. But this device does so much more, but I must get too work now. so I will add to this review soon with more info.
Cons: You need to buy Bluetooth dongle if you want to connect bluetooth keyboard or bluetooth your music but that only cost me $18.00 (that includes shipping) for bluetooth dongle.
Other Thoughts: I love this device, i just got it a little over a week ago and i'm blown away with what i can do with my bedroom T.V. (wish i had one for my living room T.V.). i'll add more as i use device and let you know what i learn.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/28/2015 7:05:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SiliconDust > SiliconDust HDTC-2US HDHomeRun Extend 2-Tuner ATSC DLNA/UPnP HD Compatible Streaming Media Player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Great tuner. Am using it with Mythtv on opensuse Linux. For Linux there is an application to download from the web and compile. This allows you to query the device from command line and with a GUI. From the GUI you can watch TV using VLC.
Cons: The unit I received was initially DOA - would get no network address. A few days later it then started working for a week and then failed again. Submitted a ticket with Silicondust and they RMA the return and sent me a new one. From reading the reviews this seems to common an occurrance.

The fan on both units is excessively noisy compared to all the other computer equipment I have. Definately something that needs located where away from where you sit.
Other Thoughts: With a quiet fan and an initial working unit, this would get 5 eggs.
Reviewed By:Mike S.,1/27/2015 1:03:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > AVerMedia > AVerMedia C027 AVerTV HD DVR

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A-OK
Pros: No lag from my PS3/PS4 to my computer, so I can play full 1080p live-time.
1080p Recording on my PS4 (YOU NEED TO DISABLE HDCP ON THE PS4 VIA SETTINGS).
Cons: The only thing that REALLY REALLY BUGS THE HELL OUT OF ME is that the software included does not support external microphone or webcam recording support while you record the video input's audio.
Also, you need the software edition that comes with the box. A newer edition downloaded off their website seems to not work with the playstations.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/27/2015 10:24:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > ASUS > Google Nexus Player

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 bought from Play Store, returned a week later.
Pros: sleek black and unobtrusive. nice packaging, and simple picture based instructions for hookup. easy to configure.

console build quality of the sold separate gamepad. (see other thoughts)
Cons: AS OF JAN 27 2015
no power button and no way via system software to reboot the device.

no forward or back seek buttons on the remote and as far as i can tell the 5 way pad only functions as seek for native apps, not for casted apps.

doesn't wake properly causing hdmi video output to display 'no signal' until you manually switch input away from and back to nexus player, or reboot the device.

googlecast (chromecast) functionality doesn't work as well on this device as with the chromecast. (watch espn app works great with chromecast but nexus player has issues reporting correctly to the host casting device)

wifi not quite as reliable as the chromecast - buffers, while chromecast plays smoothly (from the same location, connected to the same tv, on the same network, playing from the same source app).

audio only through HDMI. can't connect and stream audio via bluetooth speaker for audio output.

extremely limited functionality despite running android 5.0
Other Thoughts: TL:DR
in the end, there are software issues with this device worth cutting google some slack as i'm sure they'll get fixed and the selection of apps will inevitably grow but the issues with the hardware design are a significant disappointment. i really wanted to like this product. i really looked forward to this product. unfortunately, it didn't deliver.

GAMERS SEE LAST NOTE:

at this point, google play music and pandora native apps are worse user experience with less functionality than the phone/tablet apps and casting to the device.

no native hbogo or espn app and 'special' play store with very few apps.

GAMERS - sadly with the gamepad, google a critical design error. it looks like a standard gamepad layout, but forget using it as a standard gamepad because the select and start buttons are the android back and home buttons.

this means if you have years of experience hitting the start button on an xbox or playstation controller to get a main menu, you're going to find yourself at the home screen and out of your game with frustrating regularity.
worse than that, this means any implementation for a standard gamepad layout as known by developers and gamers worldwide would have to be modified to work correctly with this layout as by comparison, it's actually missing a button from the standard layout (select).
this means if you wanted to do in home streaming of your pc games to the nexus player, xbox controller layouts don't work despite the limelight app working well on the nexus player.
is there's really not ONE gamer at google who had hands on with this thing?

look closely at the razer forge tv gamepad controller pictures and you will see razer did not make the same mistake.
Reviewed By:fid,1/27/2015 6:03:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Roku > Roku 3500R Streaming Stick (HDMI) with Remote Control

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 What for?
Pros: None for me
Cons: The only thing these devices are good for is to spend money on PAID streaming video. There's no way to display a web page, play ordinary streaming video, or play any of your own video. These sticks do not turn your TV into a video player, which was what I hoped for.
Reviewed By:tgdf,1/25/2015 1:12:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SiliconDust > SiliconDust HDHR4-2US HDHomeRun Connect 2-Tuner ATSC DLNA/UPnP Compatible Streaming Media Player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 HDHR4 -
Pros: HDHomeRun working as stated. This replaced an older but still working HDHR 1st generation. Big improvement over 1st gen, but that should be expected.
HDHR Seen by Windows Media Center versions for Windows 7 and 8.1 Pro. Sorry, Have not run it on the MYTHTV side but it should work.

This model HDHR4-2US runs cooler when both tuners are operational.
Cons: The new HDHomeRun View software causes high CPU utilization on order PCs. Try to use VLC, Media Center or something else.
Other Thoughts: Owning the 1st, 3rd and now the 4th generation of the HD HomeRun it is performing as expected. Not like the 1st and 3rd generations of the product, this one has the basic ability to stream video by TV channels to devices on the local network.

Only device having a issue was a XBOX One. When viewing videos/channels the XBOX will freeze. This is a issue with the XBOX because all other devices like a Smart TV, tablets (using a good video app) and PCs work.

What was ordered was the HDHomeRun CONNECT and what was received was the HDHomeRun DUEL. This is from the label on the box. But I did get it for half the list price. Would have given it 5 eggs if it was what I ordered/expected.

Time will tell if this device will be as reliable as the HDHR Gen 1 was (still is).
Reviewed By:Holodeck,1/25/2015 10:27:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > AVerMedia > AVerMedia C985 Live Gamer HD - Capture & Share Your PC Game Footages

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Does its job with minor annoyances.
Pros: Records footage on the same computer with 0 performance hit and small file size.

Can record high quality video up to 60mbps once firmware is flashed.

Can record windows sound as well as hdmi input sound.

Contrary to what other reviewers have said my card didn't brick itself when I updated the firmware, I read some people do have the problem but was able to search online for a way to fix it, apparently a device driver issue in windows more than a hardware problem.

Updating the firmware fixed several issues and unlocked bitrates above 20mbps (up to 60mbps).
Cons: Main Con: Lack of ability to record 1080@60 FPS - I knew this before getting the card however so not taking an egg for that.

Other Cons - Lots of little annoying things:

Card does not like soft reboots, has problems after a computer restart that isnt a full power off + turn back on cycle. Causes weird issues with record button not working or monitors flashing etc.

Blows out blacks on hdmi pass through without firmware update and their "0-255" color setting which i have had reset on me a few times even though saving it as the default option. This takes 5 sec on reboot to fix however so not a major issue just annoying.

Software seems kinda buggy but works overall, haven't had too many issues except when I tried to use it to stream directly to twitch for a test. (Crashed when I started the stream up.) I have not tried since after firmware update however, I usually just use OBS for streaming anyways.

The complaint other users have had about windows/mic audio desyncing after an hour or so I did experience, the firmware update claims to fix it but I haven't tested yet.
Other Thoughts: Received card for christmas.

I wanted this card because I do not have one of the newer model GPU's with a built in MPEG compressor in it, and taking a giant FPS hit in video games while recording was getting annoying. For recording purposes I really have little complaints about the card, it does its job.

It has a lot of little quirks though that have to be compensated for, less experienced users may have issues working around these things and think the card isnt functioning, the software works but is a little bit on the buggy side.

I knew the card wasn't going to record 1080@60 before buying it but with a certain video site's recent change to 60 fps videos, having 1080@60 fps would be a great thing to have. I have settled for recording at 720@60 just because 60 fps on games looks so much nicer.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/25/2015 3:38:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Roku > Roku 3 Digital HD Streaming Media Player w/ Headphones Game Remote and HDMI Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 refurbished; Roku 3
Pros: Refurbished. I think I paid 64.99. Remote didn't work. Most likely the reason it was returned. I googled "roku 3 remote doesn't work" found the easy fix. Push button under battery cover and pair remote. Worked on the first try and it's been flawless ever since. Headphone jack and earbud headphones that plug into remote. It is awesome for nighttime viewing. Plex app makes the Roku into a multi media center for all of your digital media. The free HDMI cable doesn't come with roku 3. Best device for TV since the DVR. Network remote (don't have to aim at device. Device is about 5"x5" and 1" tall. Only buy the Roku 3, due to better hardware to prevent lag. Unless, you only have RCA connections on your TV. Then get the Roku 2 (roku 2 does not have earphone jack on remote). I spent $65 for a $99 device.
Cons: You have to have a cable subscription for the apps like espn, foxnow, etc to watch most of the content from those channels/ apps.
No local channels and very little live TV, but nothing a simple antennae won't take of. Espn and Cspn are the only live apps that I can think of, I am sure there are a few more but not many if so.
No DVR. BUt isn't really need because most content can be played at anytime.
Other Thoughts: The cons are not enough to deduct an egg.
Reviewed By:Spanky110668,1/25/2015 2:00:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SiliconDust > SiliconDust HDHR4-2US HDHomeRun Connect 2-Tuner ATSC DLNA/UPnP Compatible Streaming Media Player

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great concept, not debugged yet.
Pros: 1. Convenience of having two tuners available anywhere on your network.

2. Picks up weak stations as well as other TVs on the same antenna.
Cons: 1. Quite often picture breaks up and or cuts out and sound drops, sometimes accompanied by a decoder error message while other TVs on the same antenna continue to have constant clear reception. This is not from weak signal as the signal strength shows as maximum or near to it.

2. The included software appears more like a beta demo than a finished product, with many quarks and issues.
Other Thoughts: This would be an exceptional product if and when they iron out the decoder problems and refine the included software. There are several third party software players available, but they can not fix the decoding problems that are in the unit's firmware.
Reviewed By:PG,1/24/2015 11:52:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.