Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Roku > Roku 1 Digital HD Streaming Media Player - Hulu, Netflix, Youtube, Pandora

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wow so nice!! Awesome!!
Pros: Very good quality
Cons: Not good as roku 2 or 3
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/28/2016 11:08:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Apple > Apple TV (32GB, 4th Generation)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product
Pros: Fast shipping
Cons: Fast shipping
Other Thoughts: Fast shipping
Reviewed By:Nicholas W.,9/28/2016 9:51:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Roku > Roku 2 Streaming Media Player 4210XB Faster Processor - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very easy to install and use
Pros: The 'Home' screen is nicely uncluttered (take a hint Netflix)
Really love the ability to search for a show or movie and it will tell me what app it's available on.
Cons: Really *don't* like the media player for videos.

Incredibly, it doesn't support "avi" format videos at all. Plus it shows all my stored (mp4 only) videos in one lonnngg alphabetic list. Really?? Ever hear of sorting by folder?
Other Thoughts: I would recommend it highly for online streaming. Not so much for watching NAS (network access storage) stored videos.
Reviewed By:Dean W.,9/25/2016 7:58:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Tablo > Tablo SPVR2-01-NA Digital Video Recorder

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worst product I've ever purchased
Pros: Small box
Cons: Everything you might expect and that Tablo claims it does - it doesn't. Simply does not work correctly.
Other Thoughts: Sounds good, just doesn't work correctly. Pauses constantly on recordings and live TV. I use the AppleTV app and it is terrible. I purchased lifetime guide - guess what? - that's only 1 week into the future so you can't schedule recordings beyond that. Unbelievable. Don't buy it. I'm getting an RMA now to send it back.
Reviewed By:Robert L.,9/24/2016 2:03:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > ASUS > ASUS - MOTHERBOARDS 2-WAY SLI BRIDGE 2-WAY SLI BRIDGE COMPATIBLE

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ASUS - MOTHERBOARDS 2-WAY SLI BRIDGE 2-WAY SLI BRIDGE COMPATIBLE
Pros: Nice brushed aluminum finish with illuminated ROG logo

2 Way-S 2 Way-M support is nice
Cons: Nothing
Other Thoughts: If you have 2 cards in SLI This will cover you as it supports 2Way-S and -M all that means is if your cards are sitting together or theirs a space between -[[- or -[-[-.
Reviewed By:Jessy N.,9/19/2016 10:50:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > DVDO, Inc. > DVDO DVDO G3-PRO Air3C-Pro Professional Wireless HD Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Well!
Pros: They work well over the short distance across my living room. Maybe 15 feet? I have not tried them at a longer distance. As long as someone doesn't stand directly in front of the transmitter or receiver then I have absolutely zero issues. HD Video and Voice looks as good as it would through am HDMI cable.
Cons: The receiver and transmitter need to be facing towards each other. They do seem to work as long as the are facing in the general direction of one another.
Other Thoughts: Yes
Reviewed By:Kevin T.,9/19/2016 8:35:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Hauppauge > Hauppauge WinTV (HVR-1265) Hybrid TV Tuner w/ Video Recorder PCI-E x 1

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Its decent when it works
Pros: - has a remote
- easy to install
Cons: - when you change the channel it takes about 15 seconds (on average) for it to start playing....if it doesn't just crash
- crashes, hangs or just stops working
Other Thoughts: honestly I am not sure if there are really good tv cards out there. This one wasn't really worth the money. I would do more in-depth research and find one that is better.
Reviewed By:carey s.,9/18/2016 6:15:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Google > Google Chromecast Streaming Media Player (2nd Gen) GA3A00093-A14Z01

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product, Usefull.
Pros: Make your dumb tv, smart and easy to use.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Samuel S.,9/17/2016 8:25:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Google > Google Chromecast Streaming Media Player (2nd Gen) GA3A00093-A14Z01

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Faster than the V1 Chromecast and supports 5GHz wifi... but still has its limitations.
Pros: Steams everything smoothly (All Google Apps and Netflix)

- Small size

-Affordable

- This model has a bendy HDMI extension from the "puck like" body... good for getting to those hard to reach HDMI ports.
Cons: While not as terrible as the Chromecast V1... the V2 still buffers and stutters when trying to use Sling TV. Was banging my head against the wall trying to figure out who was at fault for the constant buffering and stuttering. Checked our internet speed with our ISP... 150 Mbps; not a problem. Checked our router... not an issue. Tried casting Sling TV from several different devices (My wife has a Nexus 5X... I have a Galaxy S7... we also have an iPad mini)... nope, same buffering on every single device.

Was finally at the end of my rope and was either just going to put up with the horrible Sling TV streaming or cancel it and sadly go back to the cable company... UNTIL I BOUGHT A ROKU 3. The difference is night and day... the Roku 3 is so much faster at doing everything and Sling TV is now as smooth as watching cable TV. If you are having streaming / connection issues when using Sling TV on a v1 or v2 Chromecast... DITCH IT AND GET A ROKU 3!!!
Other Thoughts: I still like all of my Chromecasts (two v1's and two v2's and one audio)... they are super affordable and do what you want MOST OF THE TIME, however they just stink when trying to use Sling TV. Get a Roku 3 if you plan on cutting the cord and using Sling TV to replace your cable channels.
Reviewed By:Sean B.,9/16/2016 8:33:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Google > Google Chromecast HDMI Streaming Media Player (H2G2-42)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great streaming device... that won't play nice with Sling TV.
Pros: - Steams everything smoothly (All Google Apps and Netflix)

- Small size

-Affordable
Cons: Just flat out AWFUL when trying to use Sling TV. Was banging my head against the wall trying to figure out who was at fault for the constant buffering and stuttering. Checked our internet speed with our ISP... 150 Mbps; not a problem. Checked our router... not an issue. Bought and installed the wired ethernet adapter for the Chromecast to rule out wifi issues... nope, still stuttering. Tried casting Sling TV from several different devices (My wife has a Nexus 5X... I have a Galaxy S7... we also have an iPad mini)... nope, same buffering on every single device.

Was finally at the end of my rope and was either just going to put up with the horrible Sling TV streaming or cancel it and sadly go back to the cable company... UNTIL I BOUGHT A ROKU 3. The difference is night and day... the Roku 3 is so much faster at doing everything and Sling TV is now as smooth as watching cable TV. If you are having streaming / connection issues when using Sling TV on a v1 Chromecast... DITCH IT AND GET A ROKU 3!!!
Other Thoughts: I still like all of my Chromecasts (two v1's and two v2's and one audio)... they are super affordable and do what you want MOST OF THE TIME, however they just stink when trying to use Sling TV. Get a Roku 3 if you plan on cutting the cord and using Sling TV to replace your cable channels.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/15/2016 11:06:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.