Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > STARTECH > StarTech USB2HDCAP USB 2.0 HD PVR Gaming and Video Capture Device - 1080p HDMI / Component

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great HDMI capture
Pros: Do download latest driver and editing software from StarTech.com site. It works great for 1080i and 1080p capture and it writes M2TS files, which edit great in Adobe premiere and after effects.
Cons: You have to buy extra HDMI cable to using in pass through mode.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/20/2015 9:59:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SLING MEDIA > Slingbox 500 Media Player - Extend 1080 HD anywhere, Ethernet & Built-in WiFi, Mobile Device Compatible, HDMI / component / composite interface w/ Remote

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't waste your time
Pros: I can return it.
Cons: Can't handle HDMI with DirecTV due to copy protection. My television doesn't seem to have this problem. Would've been nice if it was clearer that the device could only use component or composite with satellite before I wasted my time trying it.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/20/2015 2:09:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SiliconDust > SiliconDust HDHR4-2US HDHomeRun Connect 2-Tuner ATSC DLNA/UPnP Compatible Streaming Media Player

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 loved and lost
Pros: awesome when it works
Cons: freezes up every two days. ignored by support
Other Thoughts: this was an amazing solution to my home theater system with plex media and chrome cast. I couldn't believe it worked so flawlessly, then 34 days in it froze up. I finally figured out that if I powered it down it would again be recognized by WMC. that got old quick. i tried a new bios, nada. I left an email in the support q but nothing from them in the last two weeks. SiliconDust, RMA me and I will change the rating...if the new unit works.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/19/2015 7:57:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Roku > Roku 2 Streaming Player (2720R)-Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Refurbished worked same as new
Pros: This refurbished unit worked as well as new units I have with out any issue. Except for limited video streaming support, all functions are faster and more responsive than WD Live and Chromecast. It has low power requirements and does not run as hot as other brands.
Cons: Roku mkv version support so limited it should not say it can accept mkv streams. This is indemic to all Roku players. If you need mkv support, try WD Live.
Reviewed By:PaulMx,5/19/2015 3:02:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Hauppauge > Hauppauge Colossus - Record your high definition video gameplay and TV programs by H.264 for resolution up to 1080i, PCI-Express x1 Interface

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works well enough but
Pros: The capture card itself works well enough and the software included with it is good enough to allow me to record tv programs.
Cons: The included component video and audio cable doesn't work at all. I had to buy another one from newegg to get the card working. The remote included with the product won't change channels on my cable set top box.
Other Thoughts: I should have waited another two weeks and got the Hauppauge 2
Reviewed By:Bud,5/19/2015 6:32:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Ceton > Ceton InfiniTV 6 ETH – Six-Tuner CableCARD Ethernet Network Tuner for Win7 and Win8 PC 5504-DCT06EX-ETH

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Better ones available
Pros: WHEN it works, very good picture quality
Cons: Takes some fiddling to get working
Other Thoughts: Those who have no problems with the InfiniTV series likely have turned off the network firewall or have no network firewall turned on. It didn't matter whether I used Norton 360 (with Ceton's recommendations set, yes) or just Windows Defender turned on, I had issues on a regular basis. Everything from "Setup the new tuner now" and "No tuners found" or "service unavailable" or "subscription required". I had a Silicondust HD Homerum Prime on the network at the same time and had very few issues with it since purchasing it in 2013. So this weekend, I connected a second HD Homerun Prime to my network and tossed mu Ceton. Yes, I lost 3 tuners overall. I also lost a major headache. Too much fuss when TV should be point-and-click.
Reviewed By:Lars,5/18/2015 4:40:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Ceton > Ceton InfiniTV 6 ETH – Six-Tuner CableCARD Ethernet Network Tuner for Win7 and Win8 PC 5504-DCT06EX-ETH

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 My Own DVR
Pros: Now you can break out of the cable company's DVR and expand your recording capacity to however much you want - with 6 tuners non-the-less.

I've got this as the only tuner in my house and use it between 2 PCs.

It works great I actually forgot what it looked like because I've got it in my data closet and I rarely open it.
Cons: It took a little finessing to get it working the way I like it. It initially appeared as a 6-tuner, then I set up a second PC to use it but then it said there weren't any available tuners for the first PC. I then removed and then re-added it to the first PC and it appeared as a 4-tuner. After cycling power/rebooting everything it got added correctly.
Other Thoughts: I've got a dedicated Win8 Pro system for my Media Center PC and a wired GBit network (with non-cheap hardware) in my home. I've got a SSD for my system drive, so I have a super-fast boot, and use a standard HDD for my recordings.

Every 3 months or so I will have to cycle power on the Ceton because my PC will say there were no tuners available. Everything in my house is on a UPS so there are no unexpected power cycles.

I also do not use the beta firmware, but make sure to update this device before you set anything else up - super easy using the Ceton Diagnostics software.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/18/2015 1:42:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SolidRun > SolidRun Video Device CuBox-i4 Pro. V2 1.2GHz Quad Core Android Media Player

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Much improved with new OS build.
Pros: This is an update to my earlier review.

After having basically given up on this device, I decided to try to most recent 5.95 OpenElec build on this unit. This build sports a the new Kodi 15 Isengard Beta1 and a 3.14.x Linux Kernel. The difference is night and day. Apparently, the new kernel build they are using actually have Vivante GPU support enable properly and much more work is being offloaded from the processor.

First, it now actually plays all my highest bitrate H264 videos without having the video start breaking up or losing lip sync. Additionally, it actually stayed no higher than 80C after watching an entire movie (before it was hitting 89C and crashing). I suspect the earlier builds I have used were trying to do almost everything in software and the GPU support wasn't optimal.

So, with this most recent build, the Cubox is actually now usable for what I was wanting it for initially.
Cons: First, it's still way to expensive when compared to an RPi2.

Second, although it's nice to have the built in IR receiver, when a high bitrate video is being played, the IR becomes VERY sluggish and unresposive (and it's not fantastic ever). After I disabled the onboard IR and hooked up an FLIRC, things were much more tolerable.

Fourth, although it now runs cool enough to not crash, this thing still runs HOT, especially when compared to an RPi2.

Third, although performance is much improved, the UI rendering is still sluggish when video playback is going on and, on a high bit rate video with subtitles enabled, if the main screen overlay is up, it still starts having the video lag the audio and break up (but it recovered and caught up once the menu went away). This does NOT happen with my RPi2.



Unlike what some others on here have mentioned, the uSD slot on my unit is definitely NOT spring loaded. So this may vary by lot number or manufacturing date.
Other Thoughts: In summary, it's much improved and at least now useful for its intended purpose.

That said, if you are buying a new one, an RPi2 is probably a better investment at this point.
Reviewed By:Michael B,5/18/2015 8:25:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Actiontec > Actiontec SBWD60A01 ScreenBeam Mini2 Wireless Display Receiver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 No more HDMI cables for me
Pros: Holds a connection* for more than 6 hours. I streamed two 3 hours + movies from my Samsung Tab 4 LTE using the 'Screen Mirroring' feature in the drop-down box. There was no artifacts, no dropped frames, no out of sync audio problems.... it was as if it was connected via a HDMI cable.
It supports both Miracast and (intel's) Wi-Di. (see CONs)
When I read a review about a competing Wireless HDMI dongle that could hardly maintain a connection at 15 feet, I was concerned that this Actiontec Screenbeam Mini 2 might fear the same however to my surprise and delight, I tested it at 15 feet, it passed, at 23 feet... it passed, at 27 feet... it passed so I went to 35 feet and it still maintain a connection. I believe that this thing may be able to operate successfully at even 50 feet.
Doesn't get very hot while operating for hours however, I don't think that I would want to make this a permanent connection (ie. replacing a HDMI cable). Excellent for presentations! No messy cables anymore.
Cons: Upon start up, it occasionally disconnects from my Samsung Tab 4 LTE for the first minute or two however it *maintains a strong stable connection for many hours after that.
Even though this claims to support Wi-Di, I have not been able to get it connected to my Asus T100 TA Tablet and my Intel NUC Mini Computer both run Windows 8.1 OS and which both sport Wi-Di 'capable' processors: Atom z3775 and i5 3427U respectively.
Other Thoughts: I am disappointed that I have not been able to get Wi-Di to work from my computers however I am very pleased with the wireless range seeing that I was researching a few Wireless HDMI Dongles that could do twice the range of the "Mini 2" but they cost between US$185 - 309.00. The Mini 2 does the job well, I am not sure how long it will last however I will update should I get it to work with any Wi-Di (Windows based) computer. Just ensure that you download the Screenbeam app from the Microsoft Store or from the Google Play Store in order to up-grade the firmware.
Reviewed By:Computerized Cobra,5/17/2015 10:03:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > AVerMedia > AVerMedia C027 AVerTV HD DVR

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does the Job
Pros: - Nice adapter for YUV / Component signal.
- Works very well without problem
- Take gorgeous video in 1080 HD
- No lag event if I play game on the PC while recording on the same pc
- The only thing I needed to buy is a dual HDMI splitter to do the job I needed.
- Great price for the card
- Works well almost straight of the box
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: I will update my review later on if something happen.
Reviewed By:Zonta,5/16/2015 10:12:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.