Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Graphics Cards > ASUS > ASUS ROG GeForce GTX 1080 STRIX-GTX1080-A8G-GAMING 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5X PCI Express 3.0 HDCP Ready Video Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very happy with my purchase. Excellent early impressions.
Pros: I have been very happy with my 980Ti, but was a little disappointed with my performance at 1440p. I am still running a 2500k and need to brute force my way to higher framerates. The Asus Strix 1080 gives me the added bump to my FPS. Running Heaven benchmark the card maxes out at 64 Degrees Celsius when on OC mode, and idles at 28 Degrees when on desktop (fans running). The card also boosts up to 2.012GHz boost clock.
Cons: I did have some issues when installing the card. I did not uninstall my previous driver, so it took a while to get my two monitors working at the proper resolution.
The red LED is also either a little pink or a little orange. It was very hard to get a nice red to match the LED on my ASUS motherboard.
There is a tiny bit of coil whine when on menus with high frame rates, but it goes away after a few seconds, and has not been happening while gaming or idle.
Other Thoughts: I decided to buy the new card instead of a 6700k and new motherboard/ram. I am happy with my decision, but keep thinking about how much extra performance I would have if I had a more modern setup.
I ordered from another retailer, but wanted to share my experience.
Reviewed By:Nicholas H.,9/30/2016 5:01:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Graphics Cards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1060 DirectX 12 GV-N1060G1GAMING-6GD 6GB 192-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 ATX Video Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 good quality
Pros: never exceed 70C, can reach ~2100mhz oc easily
Cons: could be 10-20$ cheaper
update:mine can reach 2050 very easily, but very hard to get it stable at 2100Mhz. I though it will easily reach 2100Mhz when I first wrote the review. I'm also hearing hissing sound under high load.
Reviewed By:LONG L.,9/30/2016 4:42:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Graphics Cards > Sapphire Tech > SAPPHIRE NITRO+ Radeon RX 480 100406NT+8GL 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 HDCP Ready Video Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 As Expected.....UPDATE!! 9-30-16
Pros: Update:
-Setting the acoustic limit MHz is REALLY useful since my case lets any noise out
-Haven't had any major crashes, except when I first tried using wattman.....didn't read anything about it first like a moron
-Power draw is REALLY low
-My room is no longer a hot box
-Did a burnin and so far the temps haven't crested above 75 degrees since my first 3DMark testing no matter what I throw at it

-Sturdy
-Great looking
-Runs easily at stated clock speeds
-Overclocking (on my card) has been easy
-Currently using the new AMD Driver 16.9.1
-I use earbuds and I can't hear this card while gaming
-Maxed out Witcher 3 ultra with Nvidia hairworks off and get 60+ fps
-Maxed out War Thunder
-Streaming with this card is a breeze and ACE H.264 is better than X264 so far using Xsplit Premium 1080p60fps
-LEDs are easy to adjust
-Doesn't run nearly as hot, in total, as the 750Ti that was previously in my system and my room's ambient temp is pretty warm all the time
-Highest temp reached was during Fire Strike and Time Spy at 78C
-Gaming temps run no higher than 65C
Cons: Update:
-This so far is the only con and it's the first fan nearest to the IO makes an electrical noise that's very noticeable when the fan starts running over 900 RPM, but it doesn't happen all the time since mostly the fans don't spin up. I know it's that fan because I stopped it with my finger to make sure I knew which one it was. The other fan runs smooth as silk.

None for me so far. I will gladly update once I find something.
Other Thoughts: Update:
So far I've figured what this card can and cannot do and I think I've gotten a really good card and really good silicon. I've got this card to an east overclock of 10% on GPU and 2200 MHz on memory and I didn't have to over volt at all like I've read on some reviews from big sites. Also it doesn't drink anywhere near the amount of power that a lot of review sites stated......even though I'm not a fan of the phase design of the aftermarket cards. I think they could've made it more granular for better efficiency, but it is what it is. Temps wise I've read that Glofo 14nm process nodes are sensitive to heat which is why the temps tend to rise and fall quickly instead of being more of a steady curve up and down. I do plan to take the heatsink off and check the thermal grease to see what's being used by Sapphire. If it voids my warranty, I'm ok with that as long as what's being used is good quality. I've done this with every card whether it be AMD or NVidia. I do want to watercool this thing in the very near future, but I have to pray that aftermarket cards get some type of love from waterblock makers. I know they're new to the overall market which is why there aren't any blocks, but I do hope they release some. I plan, also, on purchasing another card in the near future. Probably in the next 1-2 months.

Before installing this card I read the previous reviews across all the cards and it seemed that using the Driver CD is a mistake so I didn't use it. I downloaded the Drivers from AMD directly days before I even got the card. Once I received the card I installed drivers, rebooted and there was an update to 16.9.1. Update went without a hitch. No black screens, no artifacting, no sudden shut downs or restarts. Fans spin up only when needed and Wattman was easy to find in the global graphics settings. Power draw is within safe limits from what I've been able to measure. When I ran the benchmarks the card ran literally at the stated clock speeds which was nice. Did some simple Overclocks and tried to bench again, but Futuremark doesn't recognize the 16.9.1 Driver yet, but that's not a con to AMD so I didn't place it in the cons section. My time Spy score I think was over 4400 and my Fire Strike score was 11,200 and that was on stock speed and stock clocks on my CPU also. I'm totally happy with this card and I do recommend this card to anyone else who wants great performance for the price.
Reviewed By:Brian R.,9/30/2016 4:31:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Graphics Cards > PNY Technologies, Inc. > PNY GeForce GTX 1080 DirectX 12 VCGGTX10808XGPB-OC 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5X PCI Express 3.0 x16 XLR8 Gaming OC Edition Video Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 High quality card, missing one thing though.......
Pros: Pros:

-If you need a weapon if an intruder breaks into your house, you can use this card and knock at least one of them out with it.
-If you are looking for a card that has bright red LED lighting, this card is the one you are wanting.
-Stable card so far, only really had it for a few days.
-Runs cool, well I mean with the 3 fans shouldn't it though?
Cons: Cons:

-Kind of wondered about not having two ports for power, seeing many high end cards come with two.
-No DVI to VGA adapter included. I mean for $650 you think that $0.50 adapter would come included in this.
Other Thoughts: Really matches a red build well with the bright LED. Might want invest in a GPU support. Graphics card is really heavy towards the end of the card.
Reviewed By:Barry S.,9/30/2016 4:16:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Graphics Cards > EVGA > EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0, 08G-P4-6286-KR, 8GB GDDR5X, RGB LED, 10CM FAN, 10 Power Phases, Double BIOS, DX12 OSD Support (PXOC)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 GTX 1080 FTW best GPU i've used to date!
Pros: This GTX 1080 FTW replaced a GTX 670 4gb sli setup that was working well to date but this is another world and another class altogether. Roughly twice the performance of my previous setup and on a single card with less power draw unbelievable is all I can say. EVGA has become my go to for GPUs and power supplies over the years also EVGA being the best RMA process i've ever dealt with makes this an easy choice for me. Love the fact that it idles with zero fan needed helps with audio production and by idle I say everything but gaming or a very very poorly ventilated case in a hot environment. Supercharged my PC EVGA and Nvidia hit a homerun!
Cons: After a month of 24/7 use not a single issue even better no coil whine detected to this point.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely recommend to someone that needs super performance, features and a premium build quality.
Reviewed By:Aaron M.,9/30/2016 12:34:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Graphics Cards > PNY Technologies, Inc. > PNY GT 700 GeForce GT 730 DirectX 12 (feature 11_0) VCGGT7301D5LXPB 1GB 64-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready Video Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Didn't work for me
Pros: Easy installation, inexpensive
Cons: While watching tv in WMC, caused missing frames and stuttering.
Reviewed By:Bert S.,9/30/2016 12:18:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Graphics Cards > EVGA > EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0, 08G-P4-6286-KR, 8GB GDDR5X, RGB LED, 10CM FAN, 10 Power Phases, Double BIOS, DX12 OSD Support (PXOC)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 eVGA Quality!
Pros: - Standard eVGA Quailty
- Blazing fast Geforce 1080 chipset
- Fans are decently quiet, not silent but not annoying
- LEDs if you like that sort of thing [I turned them off]
- Card runs nice and cool stock even during heavy use
- Proper MSRP price from Newegg vs the $100-200+ fleecing on "that other vendor site" at time of this review
Cons: - "1080 Tax" aka it's still a bit expensive to jump on now but it's also bleeding edge so not unexpected
- No bundled games! [ok not a con really but I like free stuff!]
- LEDs are worthless if you don't have a case window but they turn off easily enough in Geforce Experience
Other Thoughts: I've run eVGA cards for many, many years and this one is par for the course on eVGA build quality and cooling. To be honest, it looks almost identical to my Geforce 770 FTW 4gb card that it replaced as far as cooling/fans/radiators goes, which isn't a bad thing.

One oddball about the card that threw me for a loop until I got past that derp moment... eVGA is kind enough to ship you PCIe power splitter cables to use with this card which is great, but not needed [most of the time]. I glanced through the quickstart to make sure I wasn't missing anything special and plugged the cables in and then blankly stared at them and at my PSU for a few minutes trying to figure out what plugs in to the two Y cables. I thumbed through the *full* manual and saw the note to ignore the cables they provide unless your PSU doesn't have you covered... promptly ditched said cables and hooked up my PCIe cords from the PSU and I was in business. It's not a big deal but if you're assembling a PC tired it can trip you up. ;)
Reviewed By:Jeremy D.,9/30/2016 12:08:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Graphics Cards > ZOTAC > ZOTAC GeForce GTX 1070 AMP! Edition, ZT-P10700C-10P, 8GB GDDR5 IceStorm Cooling, Metal Wraparound Carbon ExoArmor exterior, Ultra-wide 100mm Fans, Spectra Lighting, PowerBoost, FREEZE fan stop

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 All show, no go
Pros: It works as advertised.
Cons: Extremely loud cooler, will run at 85% fan speed and 2000rpm just to keep temps @ 82c which is unacceptable for such a beefy looking cooler. They spent more money on the hydro dipped fake carbon fiber shroud & RGB LED lighting than on the actual heatsink. My previous GB GTX 970 G1 was much quieter and ran under 70c in the same case.

Overclocking was also disappointing as it is limited to around 2050Mhz core before artifacts show up and any higher than 9Ghz on the vram will cause instant system lockup when firing up a benchmark. Top end cards will do over 2.1Ghz on the core & 9.3Ghz on vram.
Other Thoughts: I really regret this purchase, unfortunately newegg.ca won't accept refunds on this item, only replacements. I wish I had spent an extra $50 on a good triple fan video card.

If you don't mind loud fans when gaming or medicore overclocking then this card is for you.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/30/2016 10:52:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Graphics Cards > MSI > MSI GeForce GTX 980 Ti GAMING 6G

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very Good
Pros: It's a very nice card.
Cons: I found a card almost the same for a but less after i had bought this one, but that doesn't matter too much to me.
Reviewed By:George L.,9/30/2016 8:54:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Graphics Cards > MSI > MSI Radeon RX 470 DirectX 12 RX 470 GAMING X 4G 4GB 256-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support ATX Video Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Every feature worked as advertized
Pros: I have a Kaveri apu and it was nice to go to 1080p from 720 with all the settings on max on the one game I like to play (mechwarrioronline). The price to performance ratio on this vcard is unmatched. The frame rates are the same as a GTX 370 that I had on loan from a friend that was twice as much money. Lots of hook up options for your monitor. Card is very quite
Cons: None. The manual was brief to the point of "why put it in the box". The install was so easy it would have been a waste of time to have read it.
Other Thoughts: I am team red on all my major hardware, amd apu, msi mother board and video card. I am old and cautious and I like to keep everything in the same family. The negative reviews might come down to two things, bad power delivery on a older mother board and corrupt driver installs. I see no reason as to why this card would not work well with any newer combo of parts. If Future proofing is possible at all with pc parts, this card, being a new gen should provide that. If I need more power down the road I will cross fire when the price drops and I can afford to have two. This part has lived through its burn period, I have found it be reliable and quit. I bought a 28 inch samsung monitor to go with it and now look at things in 4k and play games at 2k. If you look at the system wide savings this combo provided, I was able to get a bluray player and stay on budget, you would agree, if you can move past fanboism, that you can build a more capable system with AMD parts depending on what you want to do.
Reviewed By:Daniel d.,9/30/2016 8:37:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.