Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Graphics Cards > MSI > MSI GeForce GTX 750Ti GAMING DirectX 12 N750Ti TF 2GD5/OC 2GB 128-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Great for budget builds, quiet fans, can play most newers games on medium-high settings, still running strong after 2 years of use
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,8/29/2016 3:33:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Graphics Cards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE Radeon R9 380 DirectX 12 GV-R938G1 GAMING-4GD 4GB 256-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 HDCP Ready ATX Video Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love it!!
Pros: I really like the lights that say silent/stop
Cons: none so far as I just put this into a build I just did today. Well it has been 6 months and the screws that hold the fans to the heatsink we they have came out I was playing a game and I heard this messed up noise from the fan on the card so I opened it up to see that the fans have detach from the heat sink from what I can tell it looks like they where over tightened from the manufacturer and it was only a matter of time from the heat to allow the aluminum to expand thus having the screws loose the ability to stay tightened down. I need a new heat sink for this card.
Other Thoughts: I will update my review if something else happens.
Reviewed By:andrew l.,8/29/2016 3:25:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Graphics Cards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GeForce GTX 1060 WINDFORCE GV-N1060D5-6GD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Card, Excellent Performance
Pros: -Performance
-Cost
-Backplate
-RGB
-low temperatures (never goes above 66 C)
Cons: -Gigabytes software isn't the best out there but it does its job
Other Thoughts: Card performs outstanding on 1080p, huge upgrade from a gtx 760
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/29/2016 3:01:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Graphics Cards > EVGA > EVGA GeForce GTX 950 02G-P4-2956-RX 2GB SC+ GAMING, Silent Cooling Gaming Graphics Card - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good for pickling
Pros: good bang for the buck, was able to make a decent console killer for $375

excellent packaging for my card, anti static bag, bubblewrap, box, bubblewrap, box, bubblewrap, box...
Cons: not nearly as powerful as I'd like, but my buddy's happy with it.
Reviewed By:Mike,8/29/2016 2:55:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Graphics Cards > ZOTAC > ZOTAC GeForce GTX 1060 Mini, ZT-P10600A-10L, 6GB GDDR5 Super Compact

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 What happened to the price? Glad I got mine when I did.
Pros: -Compact
-At 254$, great price to performance ratio - NOT at 300!
Cons: -Dont buy this at 300$! It's not worth it!
Other Thoughts: I now own both the 1060 and the RX480. While I dislike Nvidia as a company, this is a product that I (so far) have no reason to not like. It is tiny - and I mean tiny. The entire length of the card is just as long as my hand with fingers fully stretched out. It is perfect for a mini-itx build.

The idle temperature of this GPU is a consistent low 30 on a typical 23c degree day. On load, it will certainly shoot up all the way up to a expected mid 70C. Obviously it is caused by the diminutive heat sink and fan, but this problem is largely resolved if the frame rate was locked. In the game I tested, BFBC2 (Not a demanding title, by today's standard) the highest temperature could go from 75 at no limit, to a cool mid 50, with V-sync.

Since it is an Nvidia GPU, it benefits from many titles that are under Nvidia's gamework. While I personally don't have many games with that utility, I see this as a pro - as long as it doesn't damage competition's performance (which is actually does, but I digress).

The card makes minimal noise when idle. This is typical for many modern cards, as to reduce energy usage and noise level. On load, it is still very quiet, despite being 70 degree.

I'm sure there is a utility for fan profiles and such out there, but as someone who only play games casually it is not an issue for me to just go with the default setting. It works well enough for my purposes.

Overall a solid 8/10 purchase, BUT only because I spent 250$! The increased price would have turned me away from this card, because as good as it was I would NOT pay over 300 dollars for this! Even the Sapphire Nitro RX480, which has 8 gigs of VRAM and almost identical performance, is less than that.
Reviewed By:Wei T.,8/29/2016 2:45:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Graphics Cards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE Radeon R9 380X DirectX 12 GV-R938XG1 GAMING-4GD 4GB 256-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 ATX Video Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great card for the price
Pros: great card. no issues what so ever . runs cool . i only run games at 1080p so this card fits my needs , a real improvement over my 6970 saphirre card. i like the blue led windforce and silent stop lights. with a slight oc temps never seem to get above 55c. i would recommend this video card to anyone looking for a good mid level card
Cons: not really a con but the ability to change the led color would be nice
Reviewed By:David M.,8/29/2016 2:32:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Graphics Cards > EVGA > EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0, 08G-P4-6276-KR, 8GB GDDR5, RGB LED, 10CM FAN, 10 Power Phases, Double BIOS, DX12 OSD Support (PXOC)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing power at a good price
Pros: Upgrading from a 660, this thing is awesome. Runs any game I want at max settings and can handle 4k quite well.
The LEDs are pretty cool. Still figuring out how to adjust them, but it's a feature I enjoy.
Stays cool and is quiet. Fans don't run unless they need to.
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:Dylan M.,8/29/2016 2:30:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Graphics Cards > Sapphire Tech > SAPPHIRE NITRO+ Radeon RX 480 100406NT+8GOCL 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 You get what you paid for, and a little more.
Pros: -Good Price to performance ratio
-Well designed, with LED and backplate
Cons: - Idle temperature loses out to the 1060's passive cooling (could be easily adjusted, however, with Wattman)
- Suffers if paired with previous gen CPU in more CPU intensive games
- Could be loud during intense sessions
Other Thoughts: This is a strong contender for one of the most valuable GPU in recent years. For about 250$ you will be able to enjoy most games in high or max setting in 1080p, which is reasonable for a card of this price range.

The RX480 typically sits around the low 40 on idle, on a cool day. It is nothing exceptional, but since that is passive cooling, it is forgivable. Wattman, AMD's software for video card configuration, can be adjusted to have a target temperature, as well as having a certain fan RPM, so in this part, for me, the level of customization beats out the ZOTAC 1060 mini.

On load, without V-sync, the card easily enters the high 60's to mid 70's. Wattman could be set so that the fan kicks into high gear when this occurs, which, while lowering the temperature, could be somewhat loud. For me it wasn't a problem, but for some it might be an issue. Regardless, it is about the same temperature as the ZOTAC mini 1060, so it neither won nor lost, in terms of temperature.


I found that, particularly, in games like dark souls 3 (due to its CPU intensive nature, possibly because it does not utilize multiple cores) microstutter will become a greater issue.

Bare in mind my CPU is an aged, i5 2400 that cannot be OC'd. I suspect this is less of a problem for newer generation of CPU, but in my case it has a massive effect on the fluidity and immersion of the gameplay.

Outside in other games, however, this problem is, if not present, negligible.

The card performs well in DOOM 2016 with VULKAN. Nvidia cards typically do not benefit well above 1080p compared to AMD cards, at least not to the same level as many reviews have pointed out. In the most demanding scenario, the FPS will still hold above 50 or so, given that V-Sync is off. Oddly enough, DOOM's adaptive V-sync does not cap at 60 fps on the RX480, whereas it does for the 1060. I typically leave V-sync on because I enjoy having a cooler system, but because of that odd reason I simply turned V-sync off and dealt with the warmth, seeing how the V-sync damages performance.

One thing about the Sapphire's rendition that struck me as strange was that the CD it came with only has the installation for Windows 10 driver. I had to find the driver online instead, which is in the AMD Radeon website.

Overall, for my system, I chose the 1060 as my main. Shamefully I could not return the RX480 for a refund, but I might end up either keeping both, sell the 480, or build another newer system.

Still, it was a solid 7.5/10 purchase. Don't let old hardware gimp out on you. It is very capable of gaming, but you should not expect it to beat out anything like the previous gen's top flagship cards. It will NOT be an upgrade for you, if you own a 390 or 290, performance wise.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/29/2016 1:27:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Graphics Cards > EVGA > EVGA GeForce GTX 960 DirectX 12 02G-P4-2968-RX 2GB 128-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support FTW ACX 2.0+ Video Card - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect for budget gaming pc
Pros: -Low price
-Good brand
-Solid graphical power
Cons: -Can't play newest games on high settings (however, the price is definitely low enough to forgive this)
-Large card. Make sure there's space in the case and it won't cover any mobo ports.
Other Thoughts: It was a refurb, but it looked factory new to me. If you're looking for a budget gaming GPU, I definitely recommended this one.
Reviewed By:Cameron E.,8/29/2016 1:14:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Graphics Cards > ASUS > ASUS ROG GeForce GTX 1070 STRIX-GTX1070-O8G-GAMING 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 HDCP Ready Video Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 S W E E T
Pros: Straight out of the box running Witcher 3 on Ultra preset (HairWorks off) 1080p 60fps. Frames dropping a bit during some cutscenes, but perfectly stable 60 during gameplay. After a 5 hour session temp hovering around 65-70c, never went over 70c. This is my first "high end" gaming PC, and the performance and quality really blew me away. I had high expectations and they were all surpassed. 5 stars, 2 thumbs up and a high five.
Cons: Fans were loud after messing with the speed profiles in afterburner, so I just set them back to default (silent apparently) since my temps were fine anyway.
Other Thoughts: I was planning on learning about overclocking and try to squeeze as much as I could out of this thing, but as it's already blowing my mind straight out of the box I'll just leave it be.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/29/2016 12:21:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.