Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 SAVE your Money
Pros: None that are any different from the Audigy card I replaced
Cons: No 2.1 configuration ( I was told there would be by support)
no volume control in program? have to manually crank down the Volume using knob on speaker?
In program like online video its either Full blast or no sound at all. ( never had this issue with the Audigy?)
Other Thoughts: The red Led is a stupid idea and does nothing for the Performance of the Sound Card!
If ya keep putting out cards like this Ill go elsewhere for my Soundcard needs.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/26/2015 10:48:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > RAZER > RAZER Barracuda AC-1 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic Card
Pros: I have used this card with XP, XP-64 bit, Vista, Windows 7, and outside of some minor digging for drivers (google this card and it shares similar processing to another card (UNi Xonar)) everything has been working fine for years. Paired with a Z-5500 system everything sounds amazing.
Cons: Slight quirkiness getting drivers, haven't spent more than an hour googling to solve.
Other Thoughts: Please don't slam a card if you can't find drivers for it, the Razer website usually had coverage for the drivers, and a quick Google search helped fill in the blanks for special instances.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/24/2015 6:51:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Blew me away!
Pros: KILLER sound. I had a pretty high end set of computer speakers and I was blown away at how much raw power was harnessed from them with the Soundblaster Z then with the default audio card. I know a lot of people think that sound cards are kind of a placebo but this is definitely progress that you can HEAR!
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2015 4:06:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster ZxR PCIe 124dB SNR Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Desktop Audio Control Module

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 It works great when it works
Pros: Sounds great when you use 600 ohm headphones and you can really tell the difference between it and onboard sound.
Cons: This sound card has a nasty habit of not being recognized. When you attempt to install it, the drivers won't recognize it is in the machine. When you put the PC to sleep, the soundcard magically disappears itself and the computer can't find the product.

This is a known issue and you may be unlucky and experience what I had to for the last 2 years where I had to wrestle with my pc to get it to not do that. It was frequent enough that it made me come here and post this review.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/20/2015 6:37:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > PowerColor > PowerColor DEVIL HDX 7.1 Channels PCI Express x1 44.1K/48K/88.2K/96K/192KHz @ 16bit/24bit Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 PowerColor 7.1 Channels sound card
Pros: Wow, just wow
Cons: None, well, I wish it was cheaper.
Other Thoughts: I had no idea what a headphone amp would do. I have V-Moda M100 headphones, and had a Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD, which I thought was great. I like bass, at least to know the bass player is there, but I'm not a basshead. I always had to boost it a bit. With this card and using the headphone amp, playing with eq flat is the way to go. I hear things in music I never new was there. Same with games, it's a whole new world. I would recomend this card to anybody.

What I'm listening to:
Lindsey Stirling-Shatter Me
E.S.Posthums-Cartogtrapher
Queen-Forever
Beth Hart
Anthony Gomes

All in FLAC
Reviewed By:N/A,7/20/2015 2:59:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Sound Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 A mistake to purchase
Pros: Fantastic word of mouth? Heard its praises at many a review site.
Cons: It gave me no end of problems from beginning to end. It attaches with both a flimsy and problematic to connect molex to floppy peripheral connector and the one included gripped poorly and basically had me getting regular power notices when I tried to install. Replaced it with one from my power supply, and then also had to deal with it not sitting right in either PCI x1 or x16 slots, if bolted in. It needed to be left unscrewed to fit properly in the slot.

Once on, it was dropping 80 percent of the right channel. Something seemingly that hits a fair bit of their customers with no solve. I tried updating drivers, investigating firmware, scanning through forums, updating to the unified drivers (latest and stable)...which didn't solve the problem through many many reboots for driver installs(Really? My video card didn't even need a reboot, and I generally had to do 2 per driver update).

Overall an unpleasant experience and since its a pain to get those molex connectors disconnected, I'm just cutting my losses and leaving it in the case. A complete loss of over a day dickering with it.
Other Thoughts: I really couldn't even tell the difference between the quality coming out of the left and my onboard stuff. They both were able to handle 5.1 24-bit 48k and the on board didn't have me jumping though a single hoop to just plug in and have my entire logitech speaker system working again.

I may have gotten a defective one, but their Asus Xonar DX forum had quite a number of threads of others having the same problem, without any resolution or much notice by the ASUS staff.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Philip,

I want to thank you for posting this review and I understand that you have an issue with the sound card. We apologize for the inconvenience this issue has caused you but let me go ahead and further assist you. Let me assist you, have you tried using the sound card to another computer to check if the issue will still exist? and may I know the version of the driver that is currently installed to your sound card?

For further technical assistance or if you want to discuss this matter with me, please email me at customerloyalty@asus.com and put case #N150755856 in the subject line for a reference. I'm here to help you and all others with these issues, as our customer loyalty department dedicated to bringing a resolution to all issues related to our products.

Thank you for choosing ASUS.

Best regards,
Jerry
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:N/A,7/19/2015 6:06:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ICUSBAUDIO7D 7.1 Channels 16-bit 48KHz USB Interface Audio Adapter External Sound Card

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Strange Recording Problem
Pros: Mostly worked as promised. Connected very easily, does NOT need to be reconnected after laptop standby.
Cons: I bought this specifically for a laptop that is more or less permanently connected to my stereo. The output was fine, though I used the stereo out only. But I needed this to be able to record, since the laptop did not have a stereo input. I would guess that I had ripped from vinyl about 16 hours of music. I started to notice about 4 months after purchase that some of the tracks had significant noise in the middle of the song. Not every song, and not every album, but still there, for perhaps 10 seconds or more at random.

So now I am in the process of reviewing every second that was recorded, and I am re-ripping using a Behringer device, which has no problems.

I cannot recommend this device for anyone who wants to record.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/15/2015 6:42:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great, Mic doesnt buzz anymore!
Pros: - Fixed my mic buzzing
- Can drive my speakers louder then my onboard
- Dolby surround is pretty cool and works decently
- Easy to switch from front panel headset to rear panel speakers

Overall an upgrade from my motherboards audio. Though I do have one of the cheapest boards out there (MSI A55M-E33) so if you have a high end board you may not notice a perceivable difference in sound quality. I did though as compared to the terrible onboard I had.

Not only that but the features it has are almost enough to justify the cost of the product altogether.
Cons: - Drivers are a pain to install, took over an hour to get them working correctly, the card wasn't being detected by the install manager.
Other Thoughts: The box is different then the one on the website, it's now more in line with ASUS's gaming products with a matte red design and says "Gaming Series" on the top. Card seems the same as before though.
Reviewed By:Brady,7/15/2015 1:49:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Omni Surround 5.1 USB Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Integrated Microphone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Impressed!!
Pros: So first off give this unit a chance!!.. When I first had this I was kinda disappointed.. and put them to the side and then I decided to experiment with them a little further. I have been trying to find a wireless solution to getting surround sound with my pc. I wanted to set up my Turtle beach xrays to work but could not find a sound card that would be both Pc and mac compatible, until i found these. Now I get surround sound hooked via aux cable to my rf receiver. The surround sound in this is amazing!!! Its better than my razer kraken 7.1 chromas. And actually i dare say it, then the native surround i get using the xrays on my PS3 its really cool... I was sooo suprized. Keep in mind, to do this you have to use the front headphone out and not the optical output. if you want to use any wireless turtle beach headphones. the Optical cable just lacks alot of bass and sounds like I get a slight delay... So keep that in mind. This unit will basically make any stereo headset 5.1. Which is awesome!! But also note that the better the Stereo headset the better 5.1 you will have. There was a slight difference in quality using my Turtle beach xrays verse some other standard headphones. The other standard music headphones where not as good for gaming audio as my Turtle beach xrays....
Cons: I wish the optical out would sound as good as the front headset out. And I might be wrong but the optical out had a slight audio delay.. kinda a bummer...
Other Thoughts: Probably the best solution to getting surround sound on any mac or pc...
Reviewed By:N/A,7/14/2015 9:54:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > HT Omega > HT | OMEGA FENIX 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Sound Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Card Bad Software
Pros: - Great Sound Quality
- Easy Installation
- Simple To Configure
Cons: - SOFTWARE
- Aesthetics (How it looks)
Other Thoughts: The card itself is great. You get what you pay for. The software that comes with it (I downloaded it from the website, but either way is the same) is horrible. It might be user error, but it did not do the job. I have a Razer Tiamat headset, so I just downloaded the Razer audio software and it works like a charm. If you get this card, make sure you have a different software you can use. It might just be user error, but now that I am using different software I am having a much better experience.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/13/2015 12:32:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.