Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Omni Surround 5.1 USB Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Integrated Microphone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Sound!
Pros: Very crisp sound! No static or interference of any kind. The software for this is easy to use as well. I recommend buying actual surround sound speakers (5.1). That is what this is meant for.
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/19/2015 7:24:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar Essence STX Virtual 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface 124 dB SNR / Headphone AMP Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dont Believe the Hype
Pros: -Eye candy inside case
-Built in amp
Cons: The drivers were a pain to use. Each output does not show up in the Sound section of the control panel as I expected but rather its one output and you have to use their proprietary software that looks like its a decade old. There were some issues with my mic in some games where people were just unable to hear me but with onboard audio everything worked fine. My other issue is that the drivers seemed to alter the sound too much. I get that they were trying to make the sound specifically for games better but it is poorly implemented.

-Needs separate molex power connector
-Drivers are down right awful
Other Thoughts: I am a big believer in ASUS products but the fact that they thought this product was ready to be put on sale baffles me. If you want audiophile sound, do yourself a favor and get an external DAC/Headphone Amp combo instead. I am much happier with that set up

Newegg was awesome and refunded all my money and even paid for return shipping. I will continue to come here first for my various computer part needs.
Reviewed By:Steve,4/19/2015 5:39:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not Worth It Over Decent OnBoard - Horrible Drivers
Pros: Sound Quality
Cons: Horrible Drivers, Control Panel Takes Forever to load with Win8.1, Gimmicky Features no-one needs, PCIE slot, bad too low input/mic level with some microphones
Other Thoughts: I got this expecting a significant upgrade to my onboard RealTek ALC1150 on my Asus Z87 Pro. In particular I expected a decent microphone input with good microphone volume levels, similar as I had with my very old Audigy 2 sound card. I am using speech recognition for work, this is why a good microphone input and mic preamp is important to me.

Let's start with the horrible drivers which result in the Control Panel taking forever to load on Windows8.1. Even after reinstalling, driver cleaning, disabling the onboard etc. the SB Control Panel still lags extremely and is pretty much unusable.

All the features of the card, whatever they call them in the Control Panel I consider useless *except* the equalizer. This can really help to turn "flat" sound into a really good, powerful experience with deep bass and clear treble. From that point of view I cannot complain about the card's sound quality.

BUT: I can do the same with my RealTek. This too has an equalizer where I can set sufficient bass and treble, depending on my headphones and speaker setup. While I am not using the SBZ on a "high-end" speaker system, subjectively I can not hear a difference in sound quality with the SBZ and the RealTek. From that point of view, the SBZ is entirely pointless.

I was hugely disappointed by the SBZ's mic input. It is not better than the RealTek and with dynamic microphones the mic level is far too low. If you increase mic boost, it introduces noise, indication of a low quality ADC/mic amp which is not better than OnBoard.

It's ironic I hadn't ANY problem with my very old Audigy 2 card and Daniel K drivers on my old system. Very good sound and also decent microphone levels.

Too bad that my new board has no PCI slots anymore otherwise I would continue to use the old Audigy 2 and be entirely happy with it.

THIS card I consider overpriced and pointless and this doesn't even include the driver/control panel problems with Win8.1

I can only recommend this if you have a really, really bad onboard sound...but I think those don't really exist anymore since onboard has come a long ways in the last few years. This is not 1995 any more where a dedicated sound card made a huge difference to onboard.
Reviewed By:SBZ,4/17/2015 6:30:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z 70SB150200000 5.1 Channels 24-bit PCI Express (x1, x4 or x16) Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 OutThere
Pros: Very small and works in my PCi express x16 slot. Sounds are more crisp and clear and louder then on-board. Same look but less expensive to buy and use. Less distortion from the sounds.
Cons: Con if you plug into your x16 slot make sure there is enough power in your system to work. I found that out my board told me to add more power to run the PCi 2nd x16 slot. Once I did that it powered up with no problems. This is for some board that have the extra power adapter for their 2nd GPU x16 slot like mine. Get a good pair of head phone and quality 5.1 speakers.
Other Thoughts: One thing I did notice my old 5.1 setup had a odd buzz in them but not in the headphone plugs. It could be related to my 5.1 age of the hardware. But my cheap headphone can't handle the output so I had to turn it down or risk destroying the cheap headphone. My Sony works fine but it's a Sony. Also on my system UEFI/Legacy I did have to turn my on-board sound setting to "Auto" so that it would recognize the sound card automatically so I didn't have to disable it in the UEFI which is a big plus if I have to do any kinda warranty on the board if it should have problems I don't have to mess with the UEFI bios for the sound settings. I will have to use it more to find where that hum is coming from but I suspect it has something to do with the age of my 5.1 speakers are from 2009. I installed everything default and it could be a setting that I need to make to stop the humming. Will report back and update experience in the future how it goes. I will give it 5 stars for now for the quality of the product but because I have had prior experiences with Sound Blaster products working good in Gaming.
Reviewed By:OutThere,4/17/2015 1:54:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Zx 116dB PCIe Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Desktop Audio Control Module

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Outstanding Soundcard
Pros: This is quite possibly the best soundcard I have ever owned to date. I absolutely love the sound quality that you get from using this card. I'm so glad that I no longer have to do with the intermittent crackling and popping sounds associated with creative's last flagship soundcard. The audio control module is very useful with not only 3 1/2 inch headphone and microphone jacks but also quarter inch.
Cons: The LED light on the card is a nice touch and even though I had read about how bright it was you really can't comprehend it until you own it. Thankfully I do not leave my computer on 24 seven anymore and it isn't a problem for me but if you're the kind of person that leaves you system running 24 seven you might want to try to think of a way to cover up the light


Not really a con but when I was first thinking about buying this card I was disappointed to see that a front panel bay was not included. My sadness however vanished when I saw that creatively included an HD audio header for front panel connections on the card
Other Thoughts: I bought the soundcard to replace my six-year-old creative X FI titanium champion series card because the software kept crashing when I tried to use Windows 8 and with Windows 10 looming I figured it was time to finally upgrade. Every time creative releases a new card they seem to outdo themselves and as long as you have a good set of speakers and a pair of headphones you can definitely reap the benefits
Reviewed By:N/A,4/16/2015 7:05:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS XONAR_DG 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Gaming Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great value
Pros: came is a brown box, not retail. had all of the markings (serial,product,etc.) on the box. You can even register with asus for the 3 month warranty. Came with all accessories (manuals, driver dvd, low profile bracket, screws). Works on windows 8.1 64 bit just fine.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: make sure you get the uni xonar driver (search in your favorite search engine "uni xonar driver") from maxxtech. They are basically the danielK drivers for asus cards. DanielK does modded drivers for the creative sound card lineup.
Reviewed By:wheeljack12,4/14/2015 3:45:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 A Piece of Junk
Pros: Sounds great, if it ever worked.
Cons: I have had nothing but trouble with this card since the moment I got it. I purchased the Astro A50 headset to use with this card. The problem is the sound only works through the USB of the headset most the time. I have it connected using a TOSLINK (fiber optic cable). But no sound comes digitally. Only stereo. I believe I did have 5.1 going once or twice. But being forced to listen to terrible 2.0 audio is infuriating.
Other Thoughts: I think I'm done purchasing from Creative. Hell, I'm done with Astro too.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/13/2015 2:32:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster ZxR PCIe 124dB SNR Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Desktop Audio Control Module

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: Sounds good when it works
Cons: Causes crashes at random even while just moving the mouse. Also prevents CROSSFIRE X from working. Had to remove this audio card in order to restore crossfire.At first I thought it was the graphics cards ,but they both worked individually just not in crossfire. Am highly disappointed in CREATIVE TECHNOLOGY.I never had issues with there products in the past.
Other Thoughts: Seems like there would be a software fix for this issue.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/11/2015 12:26:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-701 - 5.1-Channel Sound Card with PCI-Interface

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 doesn't support w8.1 or win server 2012 r2
Pros: easy to install
Cons: Absolutely useless on my windows server 2012R2. when you try to install a driver, it will say that the system is not supported. Moreover, the link on their website is broken, so I had to download it from somewhere else.
Other Thoughts: don't buy it or make sure your system supports it.
Reviewed By:kily,4/11/2015 10:22:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Works very well as an amp and 5.1 virtualizer for video games.
The crystalizer works surprisingly well on music, as well as the bass booster. Very clear sounds for music with out dampening or distorting any sounds.
Cons: In settings, make sure to manually turn on the surround sound and set the 5.1 up to 100%. I have no idea why you would want surround to be less than 100%.
Other Thoughts: Great card and amp
Reviewed By:Chris Moore,4/10/2015 12:55:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.