Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 It's great, but one major issue...
Pros: -Great sound
-Accepts spidf in
-Great mic
-Program works well
Cons: Sometimes, about 20-50% of boots, there's no sound. At all. No matter what program I open or how high the system's volume is, nothing will make sound. Not even with my speakers properly plugged in and at full volume. This is very frustrating, and requires me to restart the PC entirely to get sound. I'm quite confident it's the card's fault, because sound will play if I use my motherboard's audio.
Reviewed By:Eric P.,7/26/2016 4:43:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS XONAR DSX 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Audio Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ASUS XONAR DSX 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Audio Card
Pros: Sound quality is great. Been using it everyday since April of this year and have had zero problems as of yet. Using it for a 5.1 speaker set up.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Benjamin B.,7/26/2016 3:47:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Doesn't sit well in PCI.
Pros: Gets the job done.
Interface that helps with a lot of sound problems.
Cons: Doesn't sit in the PCI slot efficiently. If I plug anything into the audio or mic ports directly, the card moves out of the slot. Will not work when I screw in the card. I have to sit it diagonal in the PCI, and leave it alone. 2 weeks so far without touching it and I have had no problems.
Other Thoughts: Had a cloud II headset that was being complicated, and the 5.1 sound wasn't working. I had to enable the type of sound my headset was supposed to be in the asus xonar settings for the card to adjust to my headset properly.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

Hello, I would like to thank you for taking your time in writing this review. We certainly value your feedback. Sorry to hear that your audio card does not sit well in your PCI slot. Your card still moves out of a slot even when your screws are screwed tightly? Please make sure the screws aren't loose. I am glad that you figured out your issues with your headset. If you have any further questions or concerns, feel free to contact me at cl-justin@asus.com and I will help you to the best of my abilities. I'm here to assist our customers with our products and dedicated in bringing a resolution to all issues that they may come across. Your case for reference is N160777511

Thanks for choosing ASUS

Regards,
Justin
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/25/2016 8:58:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster ZxR PCIe 124dB SNR Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Desktop Audio Control Module

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Sound quality great, but ASIO not working when recording
Pros: It sounds better than my SB ReCon 3D. Everything is much clearer. 5 stars for music quality. Set up was easy and the Desktop Audio Controller is great since I don't have to use any computer volume controls.
Cons: Gave it 4 stars due to following problem. Advertised recording with ASIO drivers not working in my Adobe Audition CS6 software. I record albums for my hobby/business and the reason I bought this card was it's supposed to record using ASIO for the studio quality recordings. I even downloaded ASIOALL and it doesn't work very well at either. Got it to record, but can't monitor what I'm recording. It won't record at 96hz as it defaults at 44.1hz and can't be changed. Wrote to Creative, but no answer back yet. Tried Audcity with no better results. Wrote Adobe forum and they recommended getting a USB audio interface. Hmm. Let's see, spend more money to get the recordings I want or get someone to fix this issue? I really love the sound of this card over my ReCon 3D, but... One other issue I found is that when I record the input recording level is weak and I have it maxed and it falls 5 to 6 dBs below the max level. This causes me to amplify the recording, which is not the correct way to record. I had read several reviews of people having driver issues and not being recognized, but I'm not having those issues. Spent good money on Audition and this card and it doesn't do as advertised?? Looking at a audio hub that would be an interface between my preamp and the card. Don't want to give up this card as I do still have time to return it.
Reviewed By:George C.,7/25/2016 5:36:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE 7.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Will never buy from this retainer "My Goods" again.
Pros: none
Cons: The sound card was shipped in a plastic bag only, without the original manufacturer's box. The circuit board arrived broken. Yeah, it was a padded bag; but, that helps not at all when the bag gets bent and the circuit board snaps.
Other Thoughts: It was not that expensive of a part and is not worth the hassle of dealing with a return at a retailer who clearly cares little for what they send out the door. I would leave zero eggs if that was possible.
Reviewed By:John K.,7/23/2016 5:40:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum Pro 70SB036000000 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 12 years later...
Pros: Still works perfectly. Sounds great.
Cons: Creative doesn't make quality sound cards anymore and they can't write drivers to save their lives.
Other Thoughts: I found just this card in a box of discarded junk many years ago.
It worked great and still does. It sounds amazing.
Recently a good friend of mine happened to have the break-out-box and cable, but no card. So he gave me them, and everything works great for a 12 year old sound card.

If you use Windows, use the Support Pack drivers from the creative forums or the drivers on github.
If you use Linux, you can get amazing sound by using the P16V output. (format: S24_LE; Samplerate: 96000KHz)
Reviewed By:Nik H.,7/22/2016 11:02:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Audigy FX 5.1 PCIe Sound Card with 600 ohm Headphone Amp

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very disappointed
Pros: Years ago I bought a Windows XP computer and put a Create Audigy soundcard in it. It sounded and still sounds great. I wanted that same great sound in my new Windows 10 computer so I chose what I hoped would be the closest thing, the Creative Audigy FX soundcard. Read on.....
Cons: The surround channels sound terrible, echo and lack bass. After any quiet passage of audio the surround channels mute for 3 or 4 seconds. I found this out when I had the front speakers shut off and I wasn't getting any email audio alerts. Turns out by the time this mute on the surround speakers can kick out, I've already missed any audio email alerts.

Between Windows 10, my motherboard and this soundcard there is no way to record "what u hear" or a "sound mixer input". Its been left out. So, I can't record any streaming audio. Researching this and not fully understanding what I'm doing, your supposed to be able to download a generic ASIO driver. I fouled with it for hours and never could get it to work. The only work around I've found for being able to record "what u hear" audio is to use a 3.5mm splitter on the soundcard's front output speakers and split that to the same soundcards line input. Testing this showed a loss of volume of about 12-15% and doing a white noise test surprisingly didn't show any fidelity loss. Its a usable workaround but I'm also tying up my line input jack.

Other Thoughts: The Windows 10 software for this soundcard has to be downloaded from the Creative website. Basically its just an equalizer and not worth the trouble.
Reviewed By:Andy B.,7/20/2016 3:52:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 It Depends on the Setup
Pros: -Good sound quality
-Usable EQ
-Will driver larger headphones
Cons: -Only one audio stream (continue reading)
-Obnoxious red LED that can't be turned off
-Software suite is clunky and slow
Other Thoughts: I was super excited about getting this card, I thought it was going to be the answer to all my issues. Let me start by saying if you are looking to drive your headphones/headset only, then this card IS for you. Its affordable and does sound pretty good after playing with the EQ a bit.

The reason this card doesn't work for me and the reason it will probably be going back is that there is no way to have separate audio streams going on it. This means that I can't use VoIP and have a game's audio coming through my headset while playing music on my nice speakers. This is a HUGE deal breaker for me. I thought that since it offered the front audio connector I would be able to run it just like I did with my on board audio, this is not the case.

If you have one device you want to use headset or speakers then this will serve you well from what I have seen. However, if you setup is similar to what I like to do, then I would keep looking.
Reviewed By:Cary R.,7/19/2016 9:04:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Sound Card

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good but dont use the drivers that are provided with the card
Pros: Sounds good, 7.1 works like a charm with the right drivers!
Cons: The driver that came with it is bogus and does not work.
Google around for "UNI" audio driver for this card
Reviewed By:Young C.,7/18/2016 4:11:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster ZxR PCIe 124dB SNR Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Desktop Audio Control Module

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Buyer beware: Creative does not care about this product
Pros: Sounds great when it works.
Cons: This card will fail to initialize due to it repeatedly changing hardware IDs upon boot. Creative has expressed no interest in supporting this product, instead opting to tell users to try doing things such as adding extra items to the boot order, which will never fix this issue at all.
Other Thoughts: Creative Labs has long since fallen from the MS-DOS days. They sell products and have no interest in supporting them when they stop working. Look elsewhere.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/17/2016 10:46:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.