Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Power for proper headphones!
Pros: I've always used a headphone amp to power my cans, and ever some buds. It fills out the sound giving you that richness that can be otherwise lacking. They pair great with my Razer Orcas!
Cons: None so far really. Perhaps it being an old school PCI card instead of a fancy new PCIe card. The Xonar Audio Center sometimes fails to auto-switch between speakers and headphone, but it's easy enough to fix manually via the system tray controls.
Other Thoughts: The headphone amp also works with front panel connectors, and can be switched off if it ever causes issues.
Reviewed By:PongoXBongo,8/19/2014 4:45:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar D1 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great mainstream soundcard!
Pros: Excellent sound reproduction. Also boosts the sound, a feature which many people who say you don't need a soundcard are missing. I love that you can still get a PCI card that has updated drivers that work in W8.1!
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Make sure to pick up the drivers off the ASUS website. Nothing else works. Take the time to do it right and you'll have great sound, hassle free.
Reviewed By:RTWjunkie,8/19/2014 8:09:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster E1 (70SB160000000) 48KHz USB Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Creative Sound Blaster E1!
Pros: Great little device, functions perfectly as intended.

Pros: Great battery life, charges quick, great sound quality, connects to everything super easy!
Cons: None!
Other Thoughts: Other Comments: I bought this to connect my headset to iphone with a better mic and actually found it does a lot more. It's a great hands free thats wired since most bluetooth solutions are still pretty meh. Creative does have the E3 which does support bluetooth for a little more money as an alternative though. Bang for buck though, this is a great device and it's attached to me 24/7 now!
Reviewed By:Brian J.,8/18/2014 8:33:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z Series ZXR (70SB151000000) PCI Express x1 Interface Sound Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Awesome Sound Card!
Pros: -Amazing surround sound.
-Feels high build quality.
-Good sound quality.
-Very stable software.
Cons: -None (Maybe! see other thoughts).
Other Thoughts: I purchased this sound card along with 780 Ti, Corsair Platinum RAM, Crucial 500GB SSD, and an I5 3570K.

Sometimes my PC freeze randomly, I don't know if it's because of the sound card or something else.

It doesn't happen very often though so it's not a huge problem.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/17/2014 1:44:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme 7.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice sound
Pros: Well packaged. Driver disk has newer drivers and apps than Creative site. For a low priced card works amazingly
well. Well worth the price.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I have bought a lot of refurb items over the years. Pleasantly surprised at quality of packaging and usable driver disk. You will not be disappointed.
Reviewed By:Oldsailor,8/15/2014 11:36:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z 70SB150000000 5.1 Channels 24-bit PCI Express (x1, x4 or x16) Interface Sound Card

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 A little disappointed
Pros: I've been a Sound Blaster happy customer for 20+ years since I had the Sound Blaster AWE32, Live!, Live! 24-Bit, Audigy 2, Auzentech X-Fi Prelude and now the Sound Blaster Z.

The Sound Blaster Z has a great quality and excellent OpenAL hardware acceleration on games, I see the Sound Core3D processor does a good job. SBX Pro Studio is excellent for a home theater PC, the crystalizer and the SBX surround gives life to your speakers, comparing to the internal Realtek sound card from the motherboard. Plus it has Dolby Digital Live and DTS Neo.
Cons: Creative, what happened to you in these last years?

There is a known issue with the Sound Blaster Z and MSI motherboards when you use UEFI boot. I read on forums that happens as well on ASUS motherboards. The card sometimes isnt detected at every boot, even on legacy mode. I have to reseat the card everytime this happens. I tried to contact Creative customer support. No answer, awful service recently.

I would go back to my X-Fi card, but its PCI and I dont have any PCI slot on my new motherboard. Please check with your UEFI motherboard brand first if there is known issues with the Sound Blaster Z before buying it.
Reviewed By:codewarriorFX,8/15/2014 8:54:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Affordable awesome upgrade
Pros: This card is definitely one of the best value card and most affordable upgradable to your average motherboard sound. Why? 105db snr, dolby headphones (powered by hardware dsp), standard front panel 3.5 mm connector and builtin headphone amplifier. 105db snr might not sound attractive to some people because motherboard sound has improved during recent years. Still a separate card should provide advantages over motherboard because of separate dsp chip and helping elimination of noise.

In present era, when creative eax is no more used by game developers, this card can be a perfect candidate for gaming along with music and movies. If you like to play older eax titles very often like me then I will recommend you to buy a creative card instead (preferably sb z). Please do not compare eax performance of this card to creative since this card only tries to emulate that which is not really accurate and well appealing.

This card performs exceptionally great for music and movies and on board audio does not even come close. Dolby headphones will really make you feel as of watching movie in theater. Once again, this is only about positional audio preference. Some people like creative cmss more but I prefer dolby headphones. If you buy this card, you have to play with these options to discover this cards true potential.

10 band equalizer is available along along with its software and is very responsive and accurate. You hear almost every missing tone from your previous listening experience. I also own essence stx and pair of hd600. I must admit this card justifies its price very well and somewhat beyond expectations.

Environmental presets however (hall, room, theater etc) are not as good as on creative.

Sound quality wise, this card will make your cheap speakers and headphones sing. Obviously it is recommended to use high quality speakers and headphones to see its true capability.

If you never had a chance to upgrade motherboard audio or you are still owning x-Fi or older cards and looking for a cheap upgrade, please try this. Be patient after installing and the card will show its quality after it will have its burnin done which may take a while. Initially after installing, it might sound somewhat terrible but with time it will give clean and louder sound.
Cons: Asus provides GX for emulating eax but it is not reliable and can cause glitches, sound loops or even game/system crashes. If you play old eax title, they will sound flat but still headphone amp and dolby headphone compliments it to some point. Creative has been the ultimate choice for more immersive gaming experience but sadly developers are not so much interested in hardware audio as much. New creative cards now offer a great value still because they have updated specs but they cost quite more than this card.
Other Thoughts: So make your choice

Cheap and value genral purpose card: Asus Xonar DG
game oriented: Sound blaster z (better music and movies than xonar dg)
Music and movies: Asus Xonar DX (superior sound quality)

Please note that above suggestions are value oriented since there are higher end and expansive cards out there.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/14/2014 9:27:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DSX 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Audio Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent upgrade
Pros: Highly recommend this sound card! Best card for it's price range. Took my sound quality to a whole new level. Hearing audio I've never heard from tracks I've listened to many times over. If you care about audio quality and don't have a lot to spend, you can't get anything better than this!
Cons: Sound levels with head phones limited without tweaking
Other Thoughts: Best buy for the price range!
Reviewed By:oconnect,8/13/2014 7:08:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z 70SB150000000 5.1 Channels 24-bit PCI Express (x1, x4 or x16) Interface Sound Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Sound Blaster Z
Pros: Nice sound and good looks.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Installation was simple and software seems pretty smooth with good features.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/12/2014 3:34:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z 5.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 sigh....
Pros: good quiet[no hiss] amp, good software compatibility
Cons: its just a soundcard...
Other Thoughts: i am soooo tired of people saying soundcards are worthless because onboard audio is just as good, if you in any way think that try skyrim with a realtek chip and then try it with this, oh and having a really really great headphone amp is awesome.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/12/2014 2:32:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau