Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Power Supplies > APEVIA CORP. > APEVIA ATX-AP900W 900W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI CrossFire Power Supply

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed the moment I tryed powering my PC.
Pros: Cost.
Cons: This power supply failed the exact moment I tried to power on my PC with a Asus Rampage Extreme with a Power Cooler R9 280 card. $70 for a 900W power supply may be to go to be true and trust me, it is.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/30/2014 3:08:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Power Supplies > SeaSonic USA > SeaSonic SS-750KM3 750W ATX12V V2.3/EPS 12V V2.91 SLI Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular Active PFC Power Supply New 4th Gen CPU Certified Haswell Ready

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 If you want to gamble, buy this PSU. Difficulties installing.
Pros: Looks sweet. Nice bag of cords. Nice cords. Tight sockets/plugs. Matte finish.
Cons: I have had a number of small issues with this PSU, but I have come to the conclusion that I'm ultimately having issues with the sockets or plugs. I can get it working, but I have to plug and unplug and screw with it for hours to get it to turn on. And then once it is, if I move it, it stops working again (won't turn on). This is so frustrating that I could care less how good it is when it's actually IS on. (yes, I have tried another older PSU, which DID work fine). This PSU has turned my tower into a miserable place. I fear moving my computer. I no longer wish to stress my finger tips against the plugs and sockets for strenuous intervals of time. I curse this PSU now as I walk by it. I have been mocking it. Whispering how I will replace it at any cost. I can't wait to have a fully operational PC again.
Reviewed By:JesseD,9/30/2014 11:12:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Power Supplies > Corsair > CORSAIR HX Series HX850 850W ATX12V 2.3 / EPS12V 2.91 SLI CrossFire 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply New 4th Gen CPU Certified Haswell Ready

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Corsair go BOOM
Pros: Worked well for about 6 months then...
Cons: BOOM! Yesterday the unit blew up, shotgun style. Hit the power switch and a very loud bang. Now, this is the 2nd unit that I've had that's had issues.

The first one was RMA'd do to having a high pitch squeal. The replacement seemed to work fine without issues until it suddenly went bang.

It even took out the surge protector it was connected through.
Other Thoughts: I don't know what else to say. This product was reviewed well by many sites. Guess it could be really bad luck to have 2 units bad, and 1 of them blow up. I have never had this happen before.

Needless to say, I'm going to have to contact Corsair and RMA this unit. In the meantime I have installed a temporary PSU and luckily it seems the unit at least did one thing right, it's safety features appear to have worked and kept the rest of the computer intact.

The PC seems to be running fine with a new PSU installed.

I'm concerned that QA might be letting a few stinkers through considering the 12+ years I've worked with computers and never had an issue like this with a single product. Sure, I've had a few DOA items, but the replacements always worked. This is the first time I've had to go for a 3rd product.

My faith in Corsair is wavering at this point. I'm almost tempted to not RMA the unit because, what if this 3rd one decides to be a dud, then blow up, but this time taking out over 1k in hardware?

Invested in a 'good' PSU so I don't have to deal with the garbage PSU units and it seems right now that this unit is not all it's cracked up to be.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/30/2014 8:51:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Power Supplies > Raidmax > RAIDMAX HYBRID 2 RX-530SS 530W ATX12V V2.2/ EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Modular Power Supply, New Version with Build-in LED Fan On/Off Switch

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 OK power supply so far but has loud fan.
Pros: Seems to have OK power output and function well enough for a low power demand build.
Cons: Has what I could easily call the most annoying fan ever put in a PSU. Not only does it have a very nerve-racking low tone hum, but also a vibration that seems to be amplified once screws hold the PSU firmly on the case.

BTW my system is quiet now otherwise, and I can confirm it is the PSU making the noise. I find it amazing that in this modern era, anyone could mess up building such a simple thing as a cooling fan.
Other Thoughts: If you are trying to build a quiet system, I would avoid this one to be safe. Seems good enough if you don't care about the noise. (maybe you'll get lucky and have a quiet/different brand of fan in the unit)

This thing is not worth the bother to RMA and I will be replacing it with another brand at some point. Then it shall sit in a closet as an emergency backup or bench test supply only.
Reviewed By:ThyPentacle,9/30/2014 6:47:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Power Supplies > Rosewill > Rosewill CAPSTONE-750 750W Continuous @ 50°C, Intel Haswell Ready, 80 PLUS GOLD, ATX12V v2.31 & EPS12V v2.92, SLI/CrossFire Ready, Active PFC Power Supply

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Rosewill DOA in box
Pros: Looked great - nice set of mounting screws and full set of cables for SLI, Newegg was Johnny on the spot with the automated RMA, but I kind of wish they had warned me before spending all this time installing this inert piece of metal.
Cons: Despite being wrapped in cellophane and everything in plastic - with an inspection number - this puppy was DOA. My bad for decising to replace the old CoolerMaster 700W tank with this pig and investing 3 hours in unclipping the tie wrap connections - re threading the lines before turning it on to find ... bupkiss. Deader than a bill in Congress.
Other Thoughts: Who verifies these things. I went ahead and bought this one as it had fewer DOA comments than the allegedly newer one - but I am now in a quandry over what to get.
Reviewed By:Gigabob,9/29/2014 9:05:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Power Supplies > CoolMax > COOLMAX CA-400 400W ATX v2.01 Power Supply

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 weighs about 2 ounces
Pros: It moves air and runs cool. I've tried other top brands which are quieter and more wires , more expensive and run warm but this one you can hear see and feel the fan moving good amounts of air and the case and components stay cool. Powers everything and PCI card no problem.
Cons: None yet.
Other Thoughts: It is very light weight and I don't know how long it will last? The fan sounds like a fan , little higher rpm's than most I think , but I still can't hear it over my R7 260X. Keeps everything cool , I like it.
Reviewed By:EM 50,9/29/2014 8:54:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Power Supplies > Cooler Master > Cooler Master Silent Pro M2 - 850W Power Supply with 80 PLUS Silver Certification and Semi-Modular Cables

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 RMA rate of DOA 65%
Pros: Sounds great in theoretical specifications
Cons: The product is sold under the coolermaster name in rhetoric. Lists of RMA from this brand all over newegg, the quality of the product has surely diminished in past years.
Other Thoughts: These PSU's should be factory tested and then individually tested by newegg before shipping. Ridiculous rate of DOA! what about the live use failure rate? Designed to fail?
Manufacturer Response:Good Afternoon Janice,

I apologize your Silent Pro M2 850 Watt is not working correctly as you can apply for an RMA Request through our CM Fanzone along with your New Egg purchase invoice and serial number at the link below. I'm curious where the DOA 65% came from as there is no source for this information.

I look forward to your response.

Regards,
Felinni M.
CMUSA Support
1-888-624-5099 M-F (9AM - 5PM PST)

Reviewed By:winex,9/29/2014 7:35:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Power Supplies > Raidmax > RAIDMAX RX-1000AE 1000W ATX12V v2.3 / EPS12V SLI CrossFire 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Does the job
Pros: So far it does the job. Been in 2 builds so far and hasn't hiccuped once. I like it.
Cons: Raidmax has a bad rep for failing power supplys. I'm a bit worried that if it fails, it'll take a component out with it, but it hasn't yet. And if it does fail, I lost my receipt and proof of purchase for my warranty on it.
Other Thoughts: At this price, it's a decent power supply. Would I buy another Raidmax? Maybe, depending if this one fails, or short circuits something. I mean if it fails, it fails, anything mechanical are subject to faiure, but Raidmax has a bigger history than any other brand.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/29/2014 7:16:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Power Supplies > EVGA > EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2 220-G2-0750-XR 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular Power Supply Intel 4th Gen CPU Compatible 10 Year Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Great PSU, easy to install, modular PSU is the way to go
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,9/29/2014 6:36:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Power Supplies > FirePower Technology, Inc. > FirePower Fatal1ty 550W 80Plus Semi-Modular Gaming ATX PC Power Supply 550FTY, formerly PC Power & Cooling

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dead after 3.5 years
Pros: Great for a short period of time.
Cons: I have owned and built many computers over 20 years. Maybe I am just lucky but I have never had to replace a power supply especially in 3.5 years. Oh and the warranty is only for 3 years! Bummer. I am using a 350 W PS that I found in the garage. Works! Probably 10 years old!
Other Thoughts: Did I remember to turn off the iron?
Reviewed By:N/A,9/29/2014 6:05:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau