Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Add-On Cards > Orico > ORICO PVU3-502I Monster USB3.0 PCI - Express Card with 5 Rear USB3.0 Ports and 1x Internal USB3.0 20PIN Connector Controller Adapter Card

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Engineering Blunder
Pros: Hmmm
Cons: The card is to short from the X4 motherboard connector to the back of the case. In order to seat in the X4 slot this card has to sit back inside from the rear of the case a full 1/4".
That's a rookie, "we didn't pay for quality engineering mistake". Do Not Buy This card!
Other Thoughts: 1/4 " inch to short.
Manufacturer Response:Hi Dear Valuable Client ,

Thank you so much for choosing ORICO as your preferred choice.I am Lor from ORICO.I have just received your product reviews about the product you purchased.
And I have read your reviews detailly,there must be misunderstanding on us production.This item is with PCI-E x1 Interface.However it fit both PCI-E x1,x4,x8 and x16 slot.
If you have any problem about install it or other questions,Please feel free to contacting me.
It will be great if you can offer our Customer Care Team an opportunity to correct this issue and our team members will be more than happy to help.
I am sincerely looking forward to your fair review.
Thank you again for purchase ORICO Products.
Wish you a great day!

Best Regards,
Lor

Reviewed By:Daboomer,4/16/2015 10:54:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > SUNIX > SUNIX USB3.1 Enhanced SuperSpeed Dual ports PCI Express Host Card with Type-A ReceptacleModel USB2312

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sunix usb2312
Pros: Sunix usb2312 worked exactly as advertised and win-8.1 loaded the drivers automatically out of the box
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Plugged the usb2312 card into a spare pci-E x4 slot in a 2009-Lenovo D20 that has legacy bios, sata-II, usb-2.0 mother board. The reason I added this Sunix usb-3.1 card is that the native usb-2.0 on the workstation was to slow when connecting to usb-3.0 capable external-HDDs (wd-myPassport and wd-MyBook 4TB). Previously, I have upgraded the D20 to win-8.1 and added an intel-730 480GB SSD. I have no way to test the full capability of the usb2312 card but after moving around 3TB of data, using external HDDs, the Win-8.1 copy window lists peak rate of approx. 123MB/s for large sequential image files and drops to between 43-60 MB/s for random files. These rates are close to HDD max transfer rates that have been documented in online-test reports. This setup used the MyBook connected directly to the usb2312 card and the MyPassport drive connected to a usb-3.0 hub (built into a Dell-U2413 monitor) that had its hub-source connected to the usb2312 card. Additionally, I had to disable McAfee Auto-scan since it caused the estimated rate to be cut in half. One other note on reported data-rate is that it appears win-8.1 spawns a "COM Surrogate" task to handle the copy through the usb-card. Using task manager the Com-Surrogate task reported a rate the was double (peaked to about 240MB/s) compared to the windows copy pop-up estimate. The box included one extra small bracket and a cd with drivers. I did not need to use the provided drivers since win-8.1 finds the correct driver (eXtensible Host Controller) for the Asmedia ASM1142. From the literature if you run Win-7 you will need to use the drivers provided on the cd. The main selling point for me was it used two pci-E channels (x2) and future compatiblity with Win-10. Very pleased with my purchase.
Reviewed By:JJose,4/16/2015 10:42:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Buffalo Technology > Buffalo USB 3.0 PCI-Express Interface Board with 2 ports Model IFC-PCIE2U3S2

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: Works when it wants too.
Cons: Do not buy. Waste of money. Warranty Support is horrible. Works fine until restart, after that good luck.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/15/2015 6:51:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > HooToo > HooToo HT-PC002 SuperSpeed USB 3.0 2-Port PCI-E Add-On Expansion Card with Internal USB 3.0 19-Pin Motherboard Male Header & 5V 4-Pin Molex Power Connector (VIA VL800 Chipset, Solid Capacitors)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 USB3
Pros: Gives 2 additional rear USB3 ports
Gives additional USB3 header
Has MOLEX power port
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I broke 2 of the pins on my motherboard's USB3 header by accident, but this card gave me an additional header to use. I love it!
Reviewed By:Raj,4/15/2015 9:56:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Syba > SYBA 2 Serial (RS-232, DB9) Ports PCI Controller Card, Full & Low Profile Brackets, WCH351 Chipset Model SD-PCI15039

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Super fast card
Pros: Great little guy super great value and very useful.
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: Would buy again and recomend
Reviewed By:jpmorgan34,4/13/2015 11:52:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Vantec > Vantec 4 Channel 6-Port SATA 6 Gb/s PCIe RAID Host Card Model UGT-ST644R with HyperDuo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Card is solid, Hyperduo not so impressive
Pros: ARM processor - Hardware RAID

low cost RAID solution to breathe new life into an older Core2 system

Hyperduo works, interesting novelty.
Cons: problems getting into RAID config. Had to boot off a windows drive and install the localhost web configurator in order to set hyperduo. Tricky.
Hyperduo is a novelty. Still lots of room for improvement. I wasn't so impressed. Not docking an egg for hyperduo, I'm docking an egg for Marvell's chipset not playing nice with my Intel board. Since Intel and Marvell have a close relationship, I was hoping it would play nicer than it did.
Other Thoughts: I installed this with a Seagate 2TB SSHD and a OCZ Vertex 460A 480GB SSD, after wanting to try Hyperduo for years. Hyperduo will bump your reads up, but writes will still be bottlenecked down to your mechanical drive. After giving it 2 weeks, I gave up on hyperduo, broke the config and cloned from SSHD to SSD. After seeing the difference, I will not be going back to Hyperduo. Still, as a bootable SATA 6Gbs controller, this card is pretty nice!

The problems getting into the card's RAID config were on an Intel DP45SG motherboard with ICH10R. Please note that this card did NOT interfere with the mobo's existing RAID1 volume, yet, I couldn't get into the bios/bootup menu no matter how many times I tried. Afer scratching my my head for about an hour, I succeeded by booting up from my original drive, installing driver and web-based interface, and viola, I was able to configure hyperduo.

I gave it 2 weeks, and decided that it was limiting my SSD too much. So what if it extends the life of SSD? I paid for the speed and I couldn't sacrifice my IOPS and write speeds.
Reviewed By:jcheney,4/11/2015 2:59:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Vantec > VANTEC 4 Channel, 2 mSATA + 2 SATA 6Gb/s PCIe RAID Card with HyperDuo Model UGT-MST644R

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 What an amazing RAID controller
Pros: SSD speed on a HDD!!!

I paired this device with 2, 1 TB WD Reds and 2, 60GB mSATA Kingston drives. I setup 2 individual RAID arrays that show up as two drives in the O/S.

I ran atto and I reached 450MB and 510MB write. Never even touched the HDD as I have a 60GB Cache Buffer more or less.
Cons: Only con is that you can't use 2 mSata and 2 HDD's to make 1 array.

1 mSATA and 1 HDD per array if you're using Hyperdou.
Other Thoughts: IN other thoughts, HyperDuo is a lot like Intel Rapid storage technology.... Or maybe a better analogy is like a RAM drive using mSATA instead of RAM.
Reviewed By:dmartin95,4/10/2015 11:39:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > STARTECH > StarTech DB-25 to IDC Header Slot Plate Model PLATE25F16

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Works like it should. Not much else to say.
Cons: No indications as to which way to plug it in. Have to guess, or look up pin configuration in your motherboard manual.
Other Thoughts: Own 7 of them (each in a different computer), all used with ASUS P8H61-M LE/CSM R2.0 motherboards and running Windows XP.
Reviewed By:Drew Chapin,4/10/2015 7:43:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > SIIG, Inc > SIIG 4-Port USB 3.0 PCIe Model JU-P40412-S1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Enough ports, fast and reliable
Pros: Works perfectly out of the box with Ubuntu 14.04 including UAS (USB attached SCSI). Easily sustains max mechanical drive write speeds.

Works with Win7 x64 as well though I had to download the drivers from the SIIG website otherwise no issues, didn't even have to reboot. Note that Win7 does not support UAS (Win8 does) so the card is faster with Ubuntu than Win7.

Unlike other relatively inexpensive PCIe cards, this one fits the PCIe slot perfectly without bracket tinkering.

Having four ports is nice since it might eliminate the need for a USB3 hub. Supports USB 2.0 devices such as keyboards, mice, disks, web cams etc. It seems to be able to charge mobile devices well.
Cons: I prefer that the internal power connector be BERG style rather than SATA. YMMV.
Other Thoughts: It's easy to use has enough ports and so far is very reliable. If you use it with a USB3 hub you may want to be sure that the hub supports UAS if you are going to attach USB disks to the hub and you want to use the UAS capabilities of the card. Buy it on sale if you can.
Reviewed By:Hill Country Rider,4/4/2015 9:59:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > BYTECC INC > BYTECC PCIe NEC Chipset 2 Ports USB 3.0 Card Model BT-PEU310

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Cheap, fast and reliable
Pros: Very inexpensive card especially for the performance and reliability.

I have used this card in several Linux and Win7 64 bit systems without issue. Ubuntu 12.04 and 14.04 recognize the card immediately. Windows 7 does not recognize the card (surprise, surprise) but the Win7 drivers from the BYTECC site installed easily. Not completely sure why other people had installation/usage issues but see my speculations in the cons though.

The card works perfectly well with USB 2.0 devices (Mice, keyboards, thumb drives, web cams etc.).
Cons: While in my experience the card works fine there are caveats.

The main problem is that there is a slight mechanical design/build issue with the card, it does not seat well in some mother boards (it is not so unusual for low rent PCIe cards to not fit perfectly). I found it necessary to bend the card bracket slightly to get a truly secure seating (i.e., with card tabs fully seated in PCIe slot). It's really no big deal but improper seating could cause installation/usage issues since the card may not work well if it is not completely seated. You can't completely avoid this kind of problem if you are aiming for inexpensive...

The card does not seem to support UAS (neither does Win7 though!) so it will not be as fast with a disk as a card that does support UAS.

Finally, it has only two ports so depending on your system requirements you might need a USB3 HUB. The hub will not be free and works to raise the effective price. If you need four ports there are better choices. Such as the SIIG 4-Port USB 3.0 PCIe Model JU-P40412-S1.
Other Thoughts: It would be nice if the card supported UAS (USB attached SCSI) but I am still able to get about 100MBs write speed on Ubuntu 14.04. It seems fast on Win7 also but I have not timed it. I was lucky and got the card very inexpensively.
Reviewed By:Hill Country Rider,4/4/2015 9:30:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.