Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Add-On Cards > Syba > SYBA Firewire PCIe x1, 3-port 1394a, Rev 1.1, include Full & Low Profile brackets, SI-PEX30017

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy
Pros: Everything fit perfectly, no drivers were needed at all and it worked perfectly.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,2/26/2015 4:30:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Syba > SYBA PCI USB 2.0 4+1 shared port controller card Model SD-VIA-5U

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No drivers!
Pros: None
Cons: No drivers for anything newer than Windows 98/ME.
Other Thoughts: I searched everywhere for a driver to get this card working in my Windows 2008 x64 server and found nothing, not even on the VIA website. Waste of money! and it will cost more to ship back than I paid for the stupid thing, so I am out $8.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We apologize for the issues you have experienced with this Controller Card.

Our tech support team is more than happy to provide any information you may need when determining the compatibility and specification of a device.

Our tech support team may also assist you with installing and configuring this device for your system.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST 02272015

Reviewed By:N/A,2/26/2015 1:29:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-103 - 4 + 1 USB 2.0 PCI Adapter (Four External + One Internal Ports)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Well
Pros: Works Great. I plugged it in and my pc read it on the first try. Connected multiple different accessories and they all worked fine. I even used the internal usb to connect a flash drive as sort of an added storage device.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: It worked great and see a long future of use for it.
Reviewed By:Brandon J,2/25/2015 9:01:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > STARTECH > StarTech 4-Port PCI-Express SATA III 6Gbps RAID Controller Card Model PEXSAT34RH

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Could I use this for a Home Hybrid SSD/RAID Boot Drive
Pros: Homemade Hybrid Drive Setup SSD/RAID Boot drive?

Not sure if this is impossible or practical. I know this isn't really the appropriate venue and would be better suited as a forum question. But while researching this, I saw that this card my hold the answer I'm looking for. So if NewEgg would bear with me, this could answer questionsquestions for those with similar delimas.


I have a question and/or challenge for my fellow geeks out there.

I recently purchased my first SSD drive, got a Crucial MX100 512Gb. Plan to update my current rig so I also got some other unrelated hardware goodies that aren't related to this question.

I'm have currently running 4 X 1Tb Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm 64Mb cache, These are standard mechanical hard drives that'll be referred to as HHDs. The 4 HHDs are setup and running in a RAID 10 Array.
While researching and shopping for my SSD I read a bit on Hybrid drives and there are simply a mechanical hard drives with a small integrated SSD

Here is what I want to do:
Install my SSD as a boot drive, install OS ect.., and then add my RAID 10 setup to it but I'd like the SSD to work as a boot/caching drive and operate just like a Hybrid drive works. negative to a Hybrid drive is it is limited to the smaller SSD drive and once that gets full then it is forced to revert back to the mech HHD. With the setup I'm proposing I would have all the SSD size to work with so slowing the write or access bake and forth to the mech HDD would have little to no impact on performance at all.

The hardware card would also elevate my current problem of having 8 drives to connect and only 6+1 ports (have 5 HDDs + 2 optical + 1 ext SATA)

I don't no if this is possible yet but some sort of a hardware card to manage the caching of that much data would likely perform better, similar to a dedicated RAID card, But it would seem that it could be managed by some sort of driver or other software program, and should be cost effective.
One could also consider using this along with some sort of a Ramdisk option in there to elevate any slowdowns, especially if an additional hardware card is needed.

I may be embarrassing myself because I'm not sure if this or a similar solution is already out there. I did read something similar to my idea in an SSD PCI-E X2 setup.
Cons: Hybrid drives are limited to 8gb or so...whywhy????

Should be able to use the same technology as a hybrid drive on a larger scale.
Could be software based but for best performance seems like a hardwarehardware based solution would be best via controller card.Same as a dedicated RAID card.
Other Thoughts: Any one considered this?
Reviewed By:TerryD,2/25/2015 10:08:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Syba > SYBA Combo USB 3.0 + SATA III 6Gbps, v2.0 PCI Express, x4 Slot Controller Card Model SD-PEX50055

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not worth a dime
Pros: Inexpensive. Somewhat faster than SATA II speeds on sequential read & write, but not near SATA III speeds.
Cons: Random write speed 32% SLOWER than native SATA II speed.
Other Thoughts: Advertised as being bootable. I could not get system to boot from drive attached to card or load an OS on a drive attached to card. From what I can tell, it looks like the bootable drive has to be GPT format which requires a UEFI motherboard. Mine was not UEFI. If I had a UEFI MB, it probably already had SATA III support and I wouldn't need the card.

One SATA port was dead. Never tried USB. Decided to RMA and not waste anymore time on this card.

Performance was poor. Tested it with a Samsung 850 EVO. Performance was about 35% improved over native SATA II performance for sequential reads & writes but nowhere near the native SATA III speeds I get with this drive on a SATA III MB. Random reads were 11% faster than SATA II speeds. Random writes were 32% SLOWER THAN SATA II on the same machine.

Since most disk use is random reads and writes, this card was less than useless for me even if it both SATA ports worked and I could boot from it.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We apologize for the issues you are experiencing with this controller.

Please note that you will have to reinstall/repair the OS to ensure that this card can boot to a connected drive.

Our tech support team is more than happy to provide any information you may need when determining the compatibility and specification of a device.

Our tech support team may also assist you with installing and configuring this device for your system.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST 02272015

Reviewed By:Fred,2/24/2015 6:15:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Vantec > VANTEC 4-Port SuperSpeed USB 3.0 PCIe Host Card w/ Internal 20-Pin Connector Model UGT-PC345

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works with Linux (see cons)
Pros: Is recognized and works in Ubuntu 10.04 (lucid). I have read that this chip works starting from Ubuntu 9.10.
Cons: There's a linux kernel bug which prevents suspend/hibernate. If there is a workaround I haven't found it yet. If I remember right it didn't get fixed until after Ubuntu 12.04. Can't remember which kernel that used. It is fixed if you use a modern kernel.
Other Thoughts: I'm still using 10.04 b/c I prefer gnome 2 and MATE isn't quite working with 14.04 yet (pops up endless error messages). So for now my HTPC is just on 24x7. If you are doing the same as me, you'll have a choice to make.
Reviewed By:macdogdaddy,2/22/2015 2:43:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 PCI-e x1 2.0 Card with 2 External ports and internal 19 Pin USB 3.0 HeadModel SD-PEX20139

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as intended
Pros: Plugged it into an old pre-USB-3.0 computer, and it works perfectly with no drama.
Cons: Only 2 USB 3.0 ports.
Internal port is a header for front panel ports.
Reviewed By:RickD,2/20/2015 10:38:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Silverstone > Silverstone PCI Express Card w/ USB 3.0 Internal Connector and USB3.0 Front IO ports - BlackModel SST-EC03B-P

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Bargain
Pros: Performs as stated. No issues. Very easy to use
Cons: None
Reviewed By:dudescorner,2/19/2015 9:37:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Vantec > VANTEC 2 Channel 4-Port SATA 6 Gb/s PCIe Host Card Model UGT-ST622

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Don't Forget your 6GB Cables!
Pros: Looks like a nice card. Haven't powered it up yet.
Cons: Comes with Sata 3.0 Gb/sec cables. Jumper connections in 2015.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure what Vantec was thinking, but they ship Sata 3.0GB/Sec cables with this 6GB/sec controller. So, if your expecting full speed out of your 6gb/sec drives - you won't ever achieve it with the cables supplied. 6GB/Sec cables are Different as they have higher data transfer capabilities. Sure a standard SATA cable will work, but it's pointless to buy a 6GB controller and use 3gb cables.
Reviewed By:CG,2/18/2015 6:52:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-505 - 2-Port USB 3.0 PCI Express Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works
Pros: Bought this when I needed an USB3 connection for an external backup drive. It worked well. I then upgraded my mobo to one that had USB 3 and didn't install this device. After a bit I noticed that my external drive would be disconnected and I would have to manually reconnect it. After messing with power settings, drivers, etc. I reinstalled this PCI device and I haven't had any issues since. USB 3 tends to shut down devices when their not in use and that's not the case with this card.
Cons: Could be a problem if you don't want your USB 3 devices on all the time
Reviewed By:N/A,2/18/2015 12:27:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.