Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > Vantec NexStar TX 2.5" SATA to USB 2.0 External Hard Drive/SSD Enclosure - Model NST-210S2-BK

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 for limited use
Pros: Low Price
Cons: Flimsy build quality
Other Thoughts: I picked this up to do a HDD to SSD swap on my wife's laptop. It worked, but I am glad my intent was not for a portable storage or frequent disk swap application. It felt like it was going to break both times I attached a drive to the SATA connection. The aluminum box is pretty good, but the rest of the kit doesn't inspire confidence. I don't know if it is the USB 2.0 or the old HDD being 5400 RPM, but the cloning of a half full 640G HDD to a 480G SSD took over an hour and a half. It works, but for how long?
Reviewed By:Javious,3/31/2015 9:20:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX100-PU3-25B – Armer External 2.5" Hard Drive Enclosure – 9.5 mm HDDs Up to 1 TB, USB 3.0, SATA I / II, White LED Indicator, 100% Screw-Less

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 decent
Pros: Easy to set up
Can swap drives easily
Cons: The cable doesn't make a very secure connection, transferring large files (or in my case, sometimes large filesystems) can require multiple tries to get it complete. This is a pretty big issue, considering I use this to store movies, which in my case are ~7 GB each.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/31/2015 8:54:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK ICYCube MB561U3S-4S 4 Bay USB 3.0 & eSATA(PM) Hot Swap 2.5"/3.5" SATA HDD/SSD External Enclosure - White

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A Great Choice
Pros: Very good design and build quality
Cons: none as of yet
Other Thoughts: What makes this a great product is how IcyDock stands behind it.

The first device i received had defective door handles. IcyDock took it back to study the defects and crossed shipped me a new one to save time, which NewEgg doesn't do. There were a few other odd issues with the backup, that was not their fault, but the company was right there to help even with that.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/30/2015 12:54:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX305 4B - SATA III-to-USB 3.0 & eSATA 4-Bay 2.5” or 3.5” Hard Drive Enclosure - Full Aluminum Case with Removable Fan, Supports Up to 20 TB Capacity (4 x 5 TB)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I love this unit
Pros: - Worked perfect out of the box - always a pro
- This thing has some weight to it, and the housing feels solidly built.
- Aluminum housing which aids in dissipating heat
- Capable of 20TB max - though I haven't tested that.
- Very reliable so far.
- The actual sleds are metal, except the plastic doors \ clasps
- The sleds will accommodate both 3.5" and 2.5" drives
- Temps on mine are good, so the fan rarely kicks in - when it does it's very quiet on lowest speed.
- Sleep mode works exactly as intended
- Price point for what you get is OK by me; It's in the ballpark of other similar systems
- Came really well packaged from Newegg, and shipped from CA, US to a remote address in Canada in only 3 days on regular ground shipping.
Cons: - The bottom drive sled on mine is a poor fit and it catches and sticks once slid in. The only way to free it is by reaching inside from the above bay to wiggle it free.
- Only a one year warranty; that kind of makes me nervous
Other Thoughts: I've had mine a couple weeks now and despite some aforementioned limitations I absolutely love this enclosure. This is not a RAID box. This isn't ideal for constantly accessing or streaming data because of the sleep mode, but the sleep mode is a feature I wanted and it's a +1 for my needs. This is really designed for backups and that's why I got it. I want my drives to spin down except when backing up.

Regarding the sleep mode: After 10 minutes of no access it powers down into sleep mode. Then after clicking on my drive in Windows to access, it takes mine 15 seconds b4 it is able to access the 3TB drive (I timed it). This is OK by me as I want to save wear on my drives that are only accessed for backups. I've tried this with my AllwaySync backup program and it works flawlessly. It comes on only when my backup program accesses it (this happens automatically at scheduled times), then powers down afterward and I don't have to think about the whole process. Piece of mind for me.

I installed only one 3TB 7200rpm HDD that was already previously initialized GPT, formatted NTFS, and had about 1.5TB of data on it. Windows 7 recognized it all correctly inside this enclosure from first usage. No probs there. I'll add more drives for backups as I need.

To transfer 55 GB between my computers internal 7200rpm HDD, and the 7200rpm HDD I put in this Rosewill box, it took just under 6 minutes on the USB 3 connection. Fast enough for my needs. I don't have eSATA on my mobo so I couldn't test that.

I tried to stress this to the point of greater heating by transferring 150GB, to get the fan to kick in higher, but I couldn't get it to heat up. Possibly because I only have one drive installed, and possibly because my apartment is at a constant 22 C (70 F). The fan also completely powers off when in sleep mode.

As far as hot swapping goes I haven't tried it. I've never understood the need actually. Power down, remove, power up. A little patience ensures stability and reliability.

I love this little unit, I'm glad I bought it. Longevity will be the key though, and I'll post another review if I have issues. I'd buy one again. If you know what your needs are, and this fits the bill, I'd recommend it.
Reviewed By:Teemo,3/29/2015 11:49:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Thermaltake > Thermaltake BlacX Duet (ST0014U) ABS Plastic 2.5" & 3.5" Black SATA I/II/III USB2.0 & eSATA Dual Hard Drives Docking Station

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Corrupts Drives, Use if You Dare...
Pros: Does What it Says...
Cons: Does more than it claims like repeatedly corrupting drives.
Had to use Data Recovery Program after formating drive so OS would recognize drive again.

BEWARE, Use if You Dare...
Other Thoughts: $50.00 got me 1 month of data transfer and in 1 second flat data was gone and drive was corrupted.
Recommend to your enemies maybe...
Reviewed By:Dirty Shizno,3/29/2015 4:13:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > Vantec NexStar TX 2.5" SATA to USB 2.0 External Hard Drive/SSD Enclosure - Model NST-210S2-BK

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Inexpensive and Works
Pros: Nothing fancy, but it works and does the job I wanted it too. I put a 3.5" Western Digital 500 GB hard drive in it to do backups for my Window 7 machine. Haven't checked out the transfer rates but it work with Windows Backup and have not had any problems with it. Case is not warm when I touch it. Couldn't ask for more at this price.
Cons: Mine just sits on top of the tower but if you are using to take along in your laptop case be aware that the hard drive is not really held secure in the case and could bounce around a little.
Other Thoughts: I was kind of hesitant after reading some of the other reviews but have not experienced any problems with it at this time. Note, I have a 500GB HD installed and 750 GB is suppose to be the limit.
Reviewed By:Bob K,3/29/2015 2:23:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > Vantec NexStar 3 3.5" IDE to USB 2.0 External Hard Drive Enclosure (Brilliant Red) - Model NST-360U2-RD

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Works great!
Cons: Minor: The power connector on the enclosure itself does not feel super solid when plugging the cord in.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/28/2015 3:42:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > MASSCOOL > MASSCOOL UE211 Aluminum 2.5" IDE USB 2.0 External Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Many Years of Use
Pros: I bought this enclosure back in 2006, and since then it has had many drives in it. I've used it on and off throughout the years (I try to be easy on tech stuff), and I've never had a huge problem. From data recovery to just porting around a lot of files, this enclosure has been worth many times what I paid for it.

I've had drives anywhere from 20-80gb in it and they've all done equally well, USB 2.0 will max out at 20-30mbps and most notebook drives are at least that fast so speed doesn't vary much.

Some people are saying this drive doesn't work with Windows 7, that is absolutely wrong. This drive works fine with Windows 7, I'm currently using it every single day at work with many Windows 7 computers. I suspect that these people have no idea how to initialize a drive. When you put a drive in, if there's no partition table, you need to go into Administrative Tools -> Computer Management -> Disk Management, then create and format a partition. If you put an uninitialized drive or one with a strange format (i.e. ext2/3 reiserFS, ZFS), Windows can't 'see' it. The drive is installed and functioning properly, you just won't see it under 'Computer' until you actually format it with something Windows can use.
Cons: It's best to have a drive insulator. IBM laptops all come with a wax-paper covered metal grid that can be easily attached. I've accumulated many of these over the years and so I just put that on the drive before putting it in this case. Otherwise, the drive electronics can touch the inside of the case. Not a likely issue as the inside is painted, but it's just good practice. If you're never going to use the drive for anything else again, Kapton tape works equally well.

Sometimes the drive will lock up during certain transfers. Unplugging the drive and plugging it back in fixes this. I always format it again to make sure there isn't any corrupt data on it. This is pretty rare but precludes using this enclosure for anything critical.
Other Thoughts: If I had a need for another one of these, I wouldn't hesitate to pick another one up. It works very well and it's super cheap. This enclosure has been very reliable and shows no signs of quitting any time soon.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/28/2015 2:56:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HF2-SU3S2 3.5" Black SATA I/II/III USB3.0 & eSATA 4 Bay External Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice 4 Drive Box
Pros: Works well, 105 Mb/s write speeds with USB 3
Cons: Fan can be noisy, tools needed to change drives.
Other Thoughts: Fan has been noisy for few months, contacted Mediasonic today with complaint. They mailed me new fan out the same day. Better than expected response from manufacturer.
Reviewed By:valentine,3/27/2015 11:43:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX301-PU3-35B - 2.5" & 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Docking Station - USB 3.0 Connection

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 cheap quality, but works well
Pros: Does exactly what it was made to do. Ease of use. USB 3.0. Good sale price.
Cons: 5 seconds after I took it out of the box, the hinge on the trap door broke. lol! luckily was able to repair it by drilling a hole for the broken peg to go into.
Other Thoughts: Always been leery of Rosewill products. Not many years ago it seemed all their products had bad reviews and that scared me away. But this thing... Well, the HDD dock is great! Its durable and sturdy. The rest of the device is cheap though. After opening it to replace the trap door, it is just a PCB with a SATA slot and basic power/USB connections. This is sitting inside a flimsy easy to take apart plastic shell with a metal weight at the bottom. Contrary to all the bad things I've said so far, performance is where things count and that's why I'm giving this dock 4 eggs.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/26/2015 11:28:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.