Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill Armer RX308 USB 3.0 Full Aluminum 25mm 3.5" Enclosure with LED indication

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A simple and great looking enclosure
Pros: Very easy to install with all the necessary hardware. Even comes with a screwdriver.
Front power button eliminates having to reach to the back to switch on/off on some enclosures
USB 3.0 for fast transfers
Stand feels stable but will not handle a hard bump. If you tend to knock a lot of things over it would be best to lay it flat.
Cons: -No fan
-USB cable could be a little longer
-Blue light a little too bright
Other Thoughts: Got it on sale for about $20. It's a great enclosure but I wouldn't pay any more than that for it.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/23/2016 10:31:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Sabrent > SABRENT SBT-ESU25 Aluminum 2.5" IDE USB 2.0 External Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Great price, easy assembly, good aesthetics, easy plug-n-play
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Good product, no rattling that other customers mentioned
Reviewed By:Max S.,8/23/2016 10:18:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX100-PU3-25B - Armer External 2.5" Hard Drive Enclosure - 9.5 mm HDDs Up to 1 TB, USB 3.0, SATA I / II, White LED Indicator, 100% Screw-Less

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good performance weak USB Connector
Pros: Works great
Cons: The USB connector is a bit weak, mine broke loose after a few month of normal use, making the enclosure useless.
Reviewed By:Kevin W.,8/22/2016 12:23:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HF2-SU3S2 3.5" Black SATA I/II/III USB 3.0 & eSATA 4 Bay External Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 JBOD Media Tank
Pros: Neat little box, easy to understand controls on the front. Good positive engagement with drives and the retaining plate at the front ensures good physical restraint for the drives.
Cons: None really, a little quibble about the power socket being on the side of the box when it really should have been placed on the rear. Oh and the fan can be a bit loud, fortunately this is hidden in my basement connected to my HTPC so I don't hear it in the living room.
Other Thoughts: I have half populated this with 2x4TB drives, the other two slots will be filled later this week. Copied about 6 TB of data spread over the two drives in the last couple of days, throughout the file transfer the USB speeds peaked at 145MB/s and troughed at about 90MB/s. This was with a mixed batch of circa 120,000 files including jpg, mp3, avi, rmvb and mkv files ranging from tens of kilobytes in size through to a few that were tens of gigabytes. A 2.5 TB (53,000 files) transfer took 5 hours and 26 minutes to complete, averaging out at circa 129 MB/s, no dropouts and no issues. I'm not using any eSATA features or any RAID setup just JBOD. I use FreeFileSync to carry out mirrored backups.
Reviewed By:Robbin N.,8/21/2016 12:16:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill Armer RX304-APU3-35B - External 3.5" SATA III 6 Gb/s Hard Drive Enclosure - USB 3.0 & eSATA Connection, Aluminum Body, 80 mm Variable Speed Fan with On / Off Switch, LED Display Panel

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Enclosure. Byte the Bullet, Spend the Money and get something you can keep.
Pros: Very solid while transferring files over USB 3.0. much faster than eSata BTW. It runs around 50-80MB/sec stable but I have seen 300+MB/sec.
Cons: No known issues yet but if there are any, You can bet I will let the world know.
Other Thoughts: This will make about my 15th enclosure I have owned since the dawn of time. Everyone of them has failed me in some way, sometimes catastrophically losing Gigs or Terabytes of data. I would rather get beat up than lose that much information at once. I did have to reformat my HD once I got it installed. It was only a month old but already had 1.3TB on it. I know I would have to anyway so I backed it up on other HD docks (very slow). I knew I had a problem with the old one so this time I was prepared. I only turn it on when I need to backup files, I do NOT leave it running. This is not NAS and will not function as such, bare that in mind.
Reviewed By:Robert N.,8/20/2016 5:39:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Syba > SYBA CL-ENC25034 Aluminum 2.5" Blue SATA III USB 3.0 External Enclosure for Hard Disk and SSD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 its ok not too bad
Pros: it works thats about it
Cons: the screws are super small and it is lose
Other Thoughts: if you got the money for something else go for it this thing is cheap and it feels that way
Reviewed By:Katelynn C.,8/20/2016 2:14:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > Vantec NexStar CX 3.5" SATA to USB 2.0 & eSATA External Hard Drive Enclosure - Model NST-300SU-BK

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 A disappointment
Pros: Low price the eSATA was perfect for fast transfer rates and it still had the USB to fall back on.
Cons: Stopped working
Other Thoughts: I purchased this unit for myself as a Christmas gift. I recdived the product and mounted a 2TB drive into it. Worked perfect and I was very pleased. I was not ready to use this unit so I put it back into the box and stored it with the 2TB inside. So now its 18-Aug-2016 19 months later and I'm ready to use it. I pull it out hook it up and it's perfect. I ran diagnostics on it everything passed. About an hour later while I was working I looked down and the it went dark. No matter what I tried it could not get it to come on again. This unit had less than 20 hours on it and it's dead!! Really??
Reviewed By:James F.,8/19/2016 5:11:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > STARTECH > StarTech.com USB 3.0 Dual 3.5-Inch SATA III Hard Drive RAID Enclosure with Fast Charge USB Hub and UASP (S352BU33HR)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice Enclosure
Pros: It has many nice features and is very easy to setup. Windows auto configures it for you.
The two USB3 ports are a real nice feature.
Cons: Slower than I expected. With Windows 7 and a 2TB SATA III drive it has about one fourth the transfer rate of an internal drive. It works well for my purposes as a system backup.
Other Thoughts: I agree the LED is unnecessarily bright. They should have designed with a ambient light sensor so it would dim in a low light level room.
I did try updating my drivers but that did not improve performance.
Reviewed By:Michael M.,8/18/2016 4:46:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK MB174U3S-4SB Metal body with partial plastic 3.5" Black SATA I/II/III USB 3.0 & eSATA Black Vortex 4 Bay USB 3.0 & eSATA External HDD Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Almost lost years of files
Pros: Easy to use
Looks nice
Feels sturdy
Cons: Insanely slow. 60MB/s is the best I could hope for.
FIrst one drive lost it's partition information. I figured it was the drive so I started working on recovering it only to have the other 3 drives do the same thing.
Other Thoughts: My brand new motherboard also fried in the middle of this so maybe it was to blame. However reading other reviews makes this unit sound really hit or miss.
Reviewed By:Chris M.,8/18/2016 8:04:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX-358 U3C BLK – External 3.5" Hard Drive Enclosure – Aluminum & Plastic, Black, SATA I / II, USB 3.0 & eSATA

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 doesn't work
Pros: The external design is largely similar to my old reliable Rosewill RX-358 V2, and the fan keeps the disk cool.
Cons: eSata doesn't work: I get the Windows 7 "Safely Remove Hardware and Eject Media" icon, but the filesystem never appears in Windows Explorer.

USB3 only works for a brief moment: the filesystem mounts and I can see my files for a few seconds in Windows Explorer, but then the filesystem abruptly unmounts itself and disappears from Windows Explorer.

Of course when I plug the disk directly into a motherboard Sata port it works fine. Just not via this external enclosure.
Other Thoughts: I got this because I have been so happy with my old Rosewill RX-358 V2 from 7/2012, so it seemed like a good reason to stick with this product line. But for me (and several of the other reviewers) this new model simply doesn't work. (I saw the Rosewill reply to another review that mentioned that it may be necessary to set ACHI mode in the motherboard BIOS; my BIOS was already set that way.)
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

We apologize for the inconvenience you are experiencing with our product.
We will gladly assist you with a resolution to your issue based on our RMA policy.
Please contact us so we may assist you as soon as possible.


If you have any further questions or concerns, please let us know.
Thank you for choosing Rosewill.

Sincerely,
Rosewill Support

Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2:techsupport@rosewill.com
Call Center 1-800-575-9885
Monday - Friday 8AM - 5PM PST

Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/17/2016 10:17:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.