Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX307-PU3-35B - 3.5" Hard Drive Enclosure - SATA III, USB 3.0, Energy Saving, UASP, Black Aluminum & ABS Plastic

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works with raspberry pi
Pros: Works out of the box with raspberry pi
solid construction
works flawlessly with cheap 2.5 inch HDD caddy: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16817994172
Cons: you have to screw in some screws, wow its so difficult. JK its quite easy.
Reviewed By:FOREST J.,9/28/2016 7:53:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO 3.5-inch SATA External Hard Drive Enclosure, USB 3.0 SuperSpeed, Tool Free Enclosure for 3.5" SATA HDD and SSD (3588US3)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Designed well, easy to open/close, works as expected, fast
Pros: - Does everything it's supposed to do.
- Good design.
Cons: - Doesn't do anything it's not supposed to do.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/28/2016 10:03:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > VANTEC NST-266S3-BK 2.5-Inch SATA 6Gb/s to USB 3.0 HDD/SSD Aluminum Enclosure, Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Out of FOUR different HDD/SSD enclosures I purchased, THIS IS MY FAVORITE!!!
Pros: FAST transfer times!

Very Sturdy Construction! (Aluminum and plastic.)

Housing is aluminum.
Cons: The LED light is pretty bright. I have to give the other reviewers that one.

Boxy design.
Other Thoughts: I purchased FOUR different USB 3.0 HDD/SSD enclosures (Sabrent EC-UK30, Sabrent EC-RDBL, Rosewill RX203, and this VANTEC model) at the same time and ALL of them were priced under $17. For the price and the rugged design, THIS ONE is my favorite.

All of them perform similarly speed-wise. The Sabrent RDBL is my favorite for looks; it's blue and has the smallest footprint of all.

This VANTEC has one feature which I really love! The PC board (with the included screws) can be attached to the HDD/SSD!!! No more wondering if something has come loose with the connection from the PCB to the HDD/SSD.

I should mention that the HDD/SSD sits in a tray with the PCB. The tray is made of plastic. The aluminum DOES dissipate heat very well in spite of this design.

With ALL of the screws included and in place, you should not have to be concerned about vibrations from the actual HDD itself.

I recommend this enclosure for people who want a ruggedly constructed HDD/SSD enclosure that dissipates heat very well and leaves very little room if ANY for disconnects.

BTW I have read in these reviews and other places that people have had issues with enclosures "disconnecting" during a transfer or during regular use. Since the reviews lack info on the actual HDDs themselves, it should be pointed out that HDDs that run with more than 5400 rpm REQUIRE more power. Most motherboards and all non-powered USB hubs DO NOT supply enough amps to run these high rpm drives. By the reviewer's accounts, the problems that they encountered with the drive "disconnecting" is exactly what happens with an underpowered HDD. (I encountered the SAME problems many years ago under USB 2.0.) The fix is to buy a POWERED USB 3.0 HUB to provide enough amperes for the high spinning drives. These drives will still spin when underpowered, but they will not provide data throughput. That is often the confusing part.
Reviewed By:Mark H.,9/27/2016 6:30:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill Armer RX202 USB 3.0 Full Aluminum 7mm 9.5mm 12.5mm 2.5" Enclosure - Retail

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not Worth It
Pros: USB3.0
Cons: Bought two units. One DOA the other one died after a few weeks.
When used with a small disk, such as a 7mm SSD, it does not offer enough support so your SSD will dangle inside.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

We apologize for the inconvenience. Please contact our customer service team to start RMA, you may get refund or replacement based on our RMA policy. Thank you very much for your business.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com
Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

Reviewed By:Florin M.,9/27/2016 12:32:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO 4 Bay USB3.0 SATA Hard Drive Docking Station/Duplicator, 1 to 3 Clone for 2.5 & 3.5 inch HDD - Black(6648US3-C)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Happy with it.
Pros: Easy set up and use;
Cons: need to know that there is a setting for duplication and for use as a multiple HDD dock
Reviewed By:James K.,9/26/2016 9:22:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > [ Support UASP and 8TB Drives ] ORICO Tool Free USB 3.0 to SATA External Hard Drive Enclosure case for 3.5inch SATA HDD and SSD -Black (3588US3)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Cheap and convenient but not for everyone.
Pros: Inexpensive, light weight, very easy to install and remove the drive.
Cons: Drive runs much hotter when it's in this enclosure than when it is inside a normal PC case. Maybe a metal enclosure or one with a fan would provide better heat transfer.
The USB connection draws a lot of current, especially when the enclosure is switched off, for whatever reason. On two of my PCs, connecting this enclosure causes all of my other USB devices to stop working (keyboard, mouse, thumb drive).
Enclosure provides no padding or shock protection for the drive.
Nothing really holds the drive in place inside the enclosure, and the cover can come off accidentally.
Other Thoughts: This is best used in situations where the external drive will be stationary. In my opinion it's not a good choice if you intend to move the drive around.

This is basically a USB to SATA adapter with a plastic dust cover for the drive. That may be all you need (it's all I was looking for; that and a low price).

I ending up putting a powered USB hub between this drive enclosure and my PC. That isolates the enclosure from my PC's motherboard and lets my other USB devices continue to work. If you factor in the cost of a USB hub this isn't an economical purchase after all. I wouldn't use it without the USB hub.
Reviewed By:Richard P.,9/26/2016 7:39:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HF2-SU3S2 3.5" Black SATA I/II/III USB 3.0 & eSATA 4 Bay External Enclosure

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It's OK
Pros: Smaller than I expected.
Looks nice.
Fairly quiet even with four drives.
Seems to work so far (about a year).
Cons: Drives don't have much space inside for ventilation.
The front "door" is kind of pointless, it just pops off basically so you can access the drives.
Not the fastest transfer rates I've seen...I haven't tested it, but the same hard drives in my desktop are noticeably faster.
Other Thoughts: Over the years I've found that I don't like having hard drives crammed into any case where if the fan goes out there is no ventilation. I wasn't expecting the drives to be so close together in this enclosure. I suspect if the fan died and I didn't notice right away it wouldn't be long before the drives overheated.
Reviewed By:ROBERT A.,9/25/2016 11:01:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill 2.5" SATA III Stylish and Screwless HDD / SSD Enclosure RX203

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 "Stylish" and they mean it!
Pros: Lightweight!

Elegant! (Okay, Stylish)

Shiny! (NOT a matte finish.)

Works right out of the box on a Dell Studio 1537 (Win 10) and an HP 8470p (Win 7)!
Cons: At this point, I haven't found any.
Other Thoughts: The speed is what is to be expected for USB 3.0 with whatever limitations are inherently built into the respective HDDs I own.

It IS a plastic case. This is my first venture into this area. Normally, I prefer aluminum housings for the heat dissipation, but I haven't had any issue with this yet. No melting whatsoever.

This item HAS a power switch! There are pros and cons BOTH with an external power switch, but the cons tend to be the fact that I have not acclimated to having an ON/OFF switch. Once you ask yourself about 2-5 times, "why am I not seeing the drive in Windows?" You realize that you forgot there IS a power switch and it needs to be turned ON before you see it in Windows.

Honestly, I like the fact that this model HAS a power switch. I do NOT have to disconnect the drive every time I no longer wish to use the drive. I just do the normal EJECT function for USB items and then power it off. IN the end, this will save my drive in "total hours ON". It should extend the life of my HDD. "SHOULD"!

I recommend this housing for someone who is looking for an inexpensive sleek, stylish, and elegant looking HDD enclosure. The only reason for 4 instead of 5 stars is that it IS plastic.
Reviewed By:Mark H.,9/24/2016 7:15:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK MB174U3S-4SB Metal body with partial plastic 3.5" Black SATA I/II/III USB 3.0 & eSATA Black Vortex 4 Bay USB 3.0 & eSATA External HDD Enclosure

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 follow up
Pros: 4 bay. looks nice. cools good.
Cons: no raid. using Windows storage spaces as raid 1 substitute. drops connection now almost everyday. have to turn it on and off again to reconnect.
Other Thoughts: don't trust this with important data.
Reviewed By:jabba,9/24/2016 5:17:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Plugable Technologies > Plugable USB 3.0 SuperSpeed SATA III Lay-Flat Hard Drive Docking Station (ASMedia ASM1053E SATA III to USB Chipset, UASP and 6TB+ Drive Support)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love it.
Pros: Works extremely well with my Qnap TS-453A NAS for copying data to a 3.5" 1.5TB drive to take off site. I simply slide the drive into the Plugable dock, plug the USB 3.0 cable into the front of my Qnap NAS, then press the power button on the Plugable dock. The Qnap automatically detects the device, syncs an internal NAS drive to the external drive, then automatically disconnects the external drive when the sync completes. I press the button on the Plugable dock to power it off, slide the drive out of the dock and, and put it in safe storage. Couldn't be simpler. I was able to transfer 860GB of data on the NAS to the drive in the Plugable in 157.7 minutes which translates to 0.73 Gbps transfer rate. I'm extremely happy with the speed.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Before I purchased the Plugable dock, I used a SATA2 to USB 2.0 adapter cable for 2.5" SSD's but I couldn't use it for 3.5" drives because USB ports didn't provide enough power for the 3.5" spindle drive. For 3.5" drives, I used a cumbersome power brick with a IDE/SATA2/USB 2.0 adapter that looked like a rats nest of wiring. Also, I hated searching for a safe area with a non-conductive surface to lay the drive on when copying. That problem is resolved with the Plugable dock and the Plugable dock transfers MUCH faster with its USB 3.0 port. I put a Linux Mint 18 SSD in it and booted a computer with it. I can't tell the speed difference between booting from the Plugable dock and booting with the SSD plugged into the computer's SATA3 port.
Reviewed By:Alan C.,9/24/2016 12:14:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.