Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite USB 3.0 SuperSpeed External 2.5" SATA III Hard Drive Enclosure with Built-in Cable (U357-025-R)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Handy, Useful
Pros: Easy to open and close, easy to access drive and ensure it is properly connected. The permanently attached wire is a big win, both because it makes it hihgly portable, and because it doesn't fall out, a problem I have with other USB3 enclosures.
Cons: The plastic tabs that hold it together look fragile. The attached wire is great for laptops, but it too short to use comfortably with an iMac. I'm going to try to velcro the unit to the back of the iMac, that might be a good work around. (With an SSD in it, it weighs very little.)
Reviewed By:N/A,8/3/2015 2:03:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > Vantec NexStar CX 3.5" SATA to USB 2.0 External Hard Drive Enclosure - Model NST-300S2-BK

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Use another cable
Pros: Sturdy, Well built. I installed a Seagate 2TB HDD & it works fine.
Cons: The cable that came with it fit very loose in the back of the enclosure. The drive would drop out, then reappear. Replaced it with one I had & it fit snugly in the enclosure.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/3/2015 12:16:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > BYTECC INC > BYTECC T-305 2.5" & 3.5" Black SATA III USB3.0 & eSATA Super Speed USB 3.0 & Esata to Dual SATA III Docking with Stand Alone Duplicator For 2.5" / 3.5" SSD

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 So far so good.
Pros: Self duplication for small time system builders. USB and ESata. Hot swap! Good price. I used it too duplicate a drive with media on it and then set it to run in pc mode so that both drives can be used. I have software that makes regular back ups from the source drive to the destination drive. This ensures that I always have a working drive and can just dup to a new one.
Cons: Its not really attractive for all applications. Thats not a big deal. Its just not something I like out in the open next to my media center.
Other Thoughts: I used this unit with Two 750gb drives of the same type connected through USB to a laptop that would loose connection to the unit during playback of movies from it. might be my underpowered laptop though. It has never dropped on my larger and more capable media center pc.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/3/2015 8:13:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > INSTEN > Insten 1042813 Aluminum 2.5" Blue SATA USB 2.0 SATA External Enclosure Version 2

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SSD External Drive Case
Pros: Very happy with the overall quality of the item. The price is the best online.
Cons: No Con's
Reviewed By:N/A,8/3/2015 8:07:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Nippon Labs > Nippon Labs NL-JT08U3 2.5" & 3.5" SATA I/II USB 3.0 Hard Drive Docking Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works good
Pros: Decent, functional, affordable bit of kit. Does the job. Not fancy, but well built.
Cons: My error. Did not register that 'SATA' referred to interface rather than bus controller. Had to buy add'l components to interface some old IDE drives I needed to access.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/2/2015 9:47:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > Orico 6619US3-BK 5Gbps Super Speed USB3.0 to 2.5" & 3.5" SATA Hard Drive SSD / HDD Docking Station (Black)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Failed after 1.5 Years Light Use
Pros: -When it worked it was great
-2.5" and 3.5" drive compatibility
Cons: Died after a year. "A device has malfunctioned" message everytime it is plugged into a computer.
Other Thoughts: I havent used this in several months and I decided to turn it on and give it a try just to discover that when I needed it, the device has failed me. Im not sure if this is Orico's quality, but I would think a device like this should last a little more than a year and a half
Reviewed By:N/A,8/1/2015 8:07:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX25-AT-SC-BLK - External Hard Drive Enclosure - Aluminum & Plastic, 2.5", Black, SATA USB 2.0 & eSATA

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 usb 2.0 yes, esata no
Pros: Aesthetics as expected. In the event that a external power supply with the correct specifications is found, the product will likely work as expected.
Cons: esata does not work out of the box, returned and received same. notes on requiring external power resonate
Other Thoughts: Expected newegg to preserve the Rosewill name. Hoping for an esata external product that only needs the esata cable.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/1/2015 4:04:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > SIIG, Inc > SIIG JU-SA0912-S1 2.5" Silver SATA USB 3.0 SuperSpeed USB 3.0 to SATA 2.5" Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Great transfer speed, great build quality, good-looking, very good airflow
Cons: 8 screws to put together is a bit excessive, and on my particular enclosure the top panel jiggles around a little if the screws are all the way tightened.
Other Thoughts: It does the job perfectly fine. I can take advantage of the full speeds of my 1TB external hard drive, and the vent on the back and clearance above the drive provides good airflow so the drive doesn't overheat as with some enclosures. The drive is also very secure in the enclosure. That brings me to my next point: the screws. There's four to mount the drive inside, and four to attach the top and bottom panels to the enclosure. If you plan on swapping drives in this thing often, then it is not for you. Putting in a drive can be a pain. If you're just using this for your day-to-day storage drive, then this is excellent. Takes drives up to 3TB according to the specs.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2015 6:10:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HF2-SU3S2 3.5" Black SATA I/II/III USB3.0 & eSATA 4 Bay External Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Moronic design, non-functional eSATA
Pros: Design for physical installation of disks is actually pretty nice, easily attached the handles, slid 4 drives into the bays, closed the case and connected it to my eSATA port. Power uses simple 3-prong plug instead of wall wart.
Cons: Well, everything else. I connected power and eSATA, turned it on, lights come on, I hear some drives spinning up, then it just shuts off.

I repeated this a few times, thought I might have a drive that is loosely connected, but reseating each did nothing, nor did removing a couple until there were just 2 drives.
All 4 drives are known good, were working in other external enclosures this morning. Also eSATA port supports Port Multiplier, was using it with Thermaltake BlacX 2-drive enclosure this morning (and switched back to it during troubleshooting).

Switched to USB cable and it worked immediately, but when only eSATA is connected the device powers up and then shuts down after a few seconds.

This is the moronic part - there is a button to switch interface from USB to eSATA, but from the indicator lights it defaults to USB and powers itself off before you have a chance to switch it to eSATA. Possibly it's not detecting the eSATA cable,
but I've tried 2 cables, and reconnected the BlacX, so I know both cables are good, the eSATA port is good and supports Port Multiplier, and the only problem is this enclosure.
Other Thoughts: I hate devices (or software) that fail silently with no indication of the problem and no way to troubleshoot. I'm guessing that it's not detecting the eSATA port - maybe it's eSATA interface is bad? - but I can't troubleshoot it at all to confirm.
So about an hour of my time wasted, I'll be requesting a return.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2015 9:24:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK MB662U3-2S Dual Bay SuperSpeed USB 3.0 RAID Enclosure

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 better than the others
Pros: Excellent build quality.
High quality, quiet fan with manual speed adjustment.
Good transfer speeds.
Stays cool under load.
Looks stylish.
Cons: The glued on plastic feet seem inconsistent with the otherwise high build quality.
There is a warning label affixed to the top of the unit with permanent adhesive. It's a pain to remove. A minor annoyance but why permanent adhesive?? (One star off for the cheap feet and annoying sticker.)
Other Thoughts: I tried an Orico two bay setup and returned it because it had a very annoyingly loud fan that wasn't adjustable. The Icy Dock is a little more expensive than the others but it's definitely worth it. It's more stylish looking too.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 9:34:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.