Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Thermaltake > Thermaltake BlacX ST0005U External Hard Drive SATA Enclosure Docking Station 2.5" & 3.5" USB 2.0 & eSATA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best External Drive Docking Station EVER!
Pros: Works flawlessly, TURNS the drive OFF when not used *** only one I have that does this. Very Best performance with eSATA. My 750G WD Black drive is stone cold most of the time and only barely warm when used hard. Heat is the biggest factor that shortens the life of quality hard drives and this product minimizes heat. It's operation minimizes heat! I could not give it a better compliment. Wish I had bought the USB3 when I got it but eSATA works so good is not an issue except when using it with my cloud router that has a USB3 port.Of course the transformer for the power supply runs stone cold! Overall a really great product.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this product to any discerning user and the absolute novice.
Reviewed By:LARRY W.,2/8/2016 11:37:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO 2588US3-BK Tool Free USB 3.0 External Hard Drive Enclosure for 2.5" SATA HDD and SSD – Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 perfect
Pros: easy install.
works.
fast.
nuff said.
Cons: nun.
Reviewed By:shannon n.,2/8/2016 9:48:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 / USB 3.1 Type-C Dock for 3.5" or 2.5" SATA III Hard Disk / SSD

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works as it's supposed to...
Pros: Wouldn't show up on my screen in the drives; downloaded the driver file zip on the site and it's doing it's job after several days.
Cons: Need to warn about possible driver download and include a link to the Zip file.
Reviewed By:greg m.,2/8/2016 9:12:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > STARTECH > StarTech S2510BPU33 Plastic 2.5" Black SATA III USB 3.0 External Hard Drive Enclosure with UASP

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: Nice Look! Simple, but sleek design.
Cons: Came to me DOA. Plugged it in...Nothing...
Other Thoughts: I'm sure it's a nice product when it works. I would buy one again, but at half the price I paid. Thank you, Newegg for the refund.
Reviewed By:David R.,2/8/2016 8:35:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX35-AT-IU BLK - Aluminum 3.5" Black IDE USB 2.0 External Enclosure

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 One worked fine, one didn't... well sort of.
Pros: Easy to put together. Seems well made, nice fit and finish. Nice and small for holding a 3.5" drive.
Cons: I got (2) of these. One of the drives (WD) was very tight when putting it together. The IDE cable was folded very tight. It worked fine, but seems tighter than it should be.

The second one wouldn't boot with the HDD. The HDD was a 320GB Maxtor ATA133. The drive would make this high-pitched whining noise, kind of like it was trying to spin up but couldn't. I tried the drive on another interface I had and it worked fine, so it wasn't the drive. I tested the enclosure with another drive so the enclosure was fine. After digging through some other comments, this appears not to be an isolated case. The enclosure doesn't appear to have enough power available to spin the Maxtor drive. After doing a little swap-tronics with another enclosure, I was able to get it to work. I pulled swapped HDDs with another enclosure and everything was fine.

Other Thoughts: In the end, both worked. Can't explain why the 320GB Maxtor drive didn't work. I tried two other smaller Maxtor drives and both of them worked fine. I gave it 3/5 due to this. Kind of a pain not knowing if the drive will work with the enclosure or not.
Reviewed By:George S.,2/8/2016 4:44:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > Vantec NexStar TX 2.5" SATA to USB 2.0 External Hard Drive / SSD Enclosure - Model NST-210S2-BK

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Useful and inexpensive--great for leftover mechanical notebook HDDs after SSD upgrades
Pros: - Inexpensive--but not cheap! (There is a difference!)
- Connecting wire comes with two USB heads for extra power (though should not be necessary for modern computers
- Comes with screw driver and carrying slip
- Aluminum casing helps dissipate heat
Cons: - Square edges of plastic may leave some to be desired
- Not necessarily the nicest looking of these types of things (the Rosewill competing product--if available--has much more beauty appeal)
Other Thoughts: Bought 3 of these things for family after upgrading their laptops to SSD drives. I used the woefully slow 5400 RPM mech HDDs I pulled as Windows 7 and Lenovo backup and repair drives. This way, they can have the tools and images needed to fix their own computers if they jack them up. These enclosures need not cost more than $10 US if needed and this is by far their best use as slow HHDs are great for non-critical and non-time sensitive needs. These little Vantecs are great for overnight backups.
Reviewed By:Antoine J.,2/7/2016 1:48:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX-358 U3C BLK – External 3.5" Hard Drive Enclosure – Aluminum & Plastic, Black, SATA I / II, USB 3.0 & eSATA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Inexpensive but not cheap, what Rosewill does well
Pros: - USB 3.0 Speed
- Cooling fan connected to switch, can be turned on and off as needed
- Above said, Al sidewalls and mesh front construction keep this box relatively cool
- Two Blue LEDs not obnoxious-one led for power, one for read/write
-No internal HDD spool-down or power save features--this is a good thing-see below
Cons: - Depending on install location, included USB 3.0 cable is a bit short. Also, compared to the *jungle-named web store* Basics cable I used as a longer replacement, the Rosewill cable has a poor fit at the B (square) end.
Other Thoughts: Most modern SATA drives meant for storage applications (like NAS-labeled drives) have power management features build into their firmware. As such, it is no longer necessary for enclosures to have this technology. What this means is that if you end up with a poorly-working NAS drive like the WD Red that had the bad firmware, you can rule out the enclosure. This Rosewill enclosure too the drive and did its job to interface with it. Now that the WD Red is working properly (following a firmware update), I can appreciate the efficiency of the RX-358. Would recommend to anyone looking for an external desktop backup unit or a basic NAS extension for the current crop of smart routers on the market.
Reviewed By:Antoine J.,2/7/2016 1:17:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO 3559SUSJ3 -BK Full Aluminum Tool Free 5 - Bay USB 3.0 & eSATA 3.5 " SATA Hard Drive HDD Enclosure (Without RAID)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Everything I needed in a nice small package
Pros: Quiet, fast, efficient, no need for any setup. Not too large for a 5 bay external.
Cons: There isn't anything I could say is wrong with the product, but my computer shows that 2 of the drives are network locations and have a red x over them and they are called "memorycard", they also don't show the drive space underneath as the rest do. I can read and write to them though. Just strange.
Other Thoughts: I have a slight drive issue on my computer. It shows that 2 of the drives are network locations and have a red x over them and they are called "memorycard", they also don't show the drive space underneath as the rest do. I can read and write to them though. Just strange.
Reviewed By:Matthew C.,2/7/2016 10:18:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Kingwin Inc. > KINGWIN PD-2537U3 Aluminum / Plastic 2.5" & 3.5" Black SATA USB 3.0 Dual-Bay 2.5”/3.5” SATA Hard Drive (HDD) & Solid State Drive (SSD) Docking Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Dual-Bay 2.5”/3.5” SATA Hard Drive (HDD) & Solid State Drive (SSD) Docking Station
Pros: Tis dock works great I put in a 1tb and a 320gb old sata drive that I took out of an old computer that died on me and was able to access the drives and all the information on them. I like the red and blue LED's on the front of this device showing you that you have the unit on and that the 2 ports has a HD installed in it.
Cons: Would of been nice if it had IDE capability.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this to anyone that needs to check out a HD and who doesn't want to have to take the cover off of their computer to connect it internally.
Reviewed By:Landon K.,2/7/2016 10:01:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill Armer RX202 USB 3.0 Full Aluminum 7mm 9.5mm 12.5mm 2.5” Enclosure - Retail

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Poor Construction
Pros: This does work with Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa.. The plug fits reasonably well. The extruded aluminum case is attractive. Newegg's service is great as always.
Cons: The ends do not fit well. They fit poorly. They are flimsy and cheaply made. I can not recommend this product. May wind up sending it back to Newegg.
Other Thoughts: I have now ordered 3 different USB Enclosures and not been happy with any of them. Maybe I'm just a cranky old man but I would like one that works and is of good construction.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/6/2016 4:32:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.