Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX-358 U3C SLV Aluminum / Plastic 3.5" Silver USB3.0 & eSATA External Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good value
Pros: Good quality and nice looking for a fair price. Quiet and effective fan. Use with eSATA or USB 3.0 and all cables are included.
Cons: The blue LEDs are insanely bright. Others have mentioned it but you have no idea until you see them in a dark room. They really need to tone these down, I almost took an egg off for it. Some kind of base would be nice when standing them edge-wise.
Other Thoughts: I bought two of these and run one each on USB 3.0 and eSATA, both of which work fine with 3TB HDDs. Would have preferred black, but the silvers were $10 a pop cheaper.

Installation or removal of a drive involves 10 (yes, TEN) screws. Not a big deal, but you won't be using these for quick-swap applications.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/18/2014 9:21:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Cavalry Storage Inc. > Cavalry EN-CAHDD-U3 2.5" & 3.5" Black USB 3.0 2-Bay Hard Drive Dock

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Calvary HD Dock x2 SATA USB3
Pros: Fast transfer rates, easy to use, came with USB3 cord.
Cons: died just past warranty,
Other Thoughts: fills with dust if left out without HD in both bays, power fluctuations may contribute to failure, live in Florida where power is very dirty.
Reviewed By:compubert,4/18/2014 8:31:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX-DU300 2.5" & 3.5" USB 3.0 Hard Drive Docking

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not compatible with 3TB drives
Pros: Relatively fast USB 3 connection. Works with drives smaller than 3TB.
Cons: The dock is not compatible with 3TB hard drives. It will not recognize drives formatted using other connections (e.g. internal sata), and a drive formatted in this dock will not work in any other system unless you use the same model of dock.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/18/2014 6:47:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK Blizzard MB080U3S-1SB ABS shell with metal frame 3.5" Black USB3.0 & eSATA External Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great External Enclosure
Pros: My old computer, several years old running Vista suddenly stopped with no power. It had two 500 Gig hard drives that I needed the data off of, this was a spare computer but still had needed data. My new computer is an Apple that is running Parallels software and Windows 7. The ICY DOCK Blizzard connected with no problems and changing the hard drives is very easy with no screws to remove. The hard drives are recognized on both the Apple and Windows operating systems. This is a great enclosure costing more than some but well worth the extra cost.
Cons: No cons at all, this is a great product.
Other Thoughts: Highly recommended
Reviewed By:Bluecoat,4/17/2014 8:10:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX81U-ES-25B 2.5" IDE to USB 2.0 External Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works well
Pros: I bought this to wipe, and possible reuse, a harddrive from an old laptop. It works well, out of the box, no hacking, no installation of drivers. It is eminently portable, meaning it fits easily in some little space in my briefcase.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: As others have remarked, the enclosure is all plastic, unlike the Rosewill RX-358 V2 SLV, which is all Aluminum. But once you put the clamshell back together it is really quite sturdy. And, unlike the RX-358, it fits in my briefcase.

Note that both USB plugs need to be plugged in. No issues with over-current on my box. Note also that the interface IS USB, not eSATA, data transfers are a little slow.

i7-3770K
ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Fedora 20 Linux
Reviewed By:LinuxMagic,4/17/2014 6:35:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Thermaltake > Thermaltake BlacX N0028USU External Hard Drive SATA Enclosure Docking Station 2.5" & 3.5" USB 2.0

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 do not buy, unless you like to handle bare harddrives wit hno protection.
Pros: Easy to switch
Cons: No storage place to put bare hard drives or there is not a protection sheath included either.
Other Thoughts: burned my hard drive IC chip, made it smoke really bad and melted it. I was always storing it in electrostatic proof bags but even then it still managed to get zapped. I dont reccommend any swap device that isnt enclosed due to accidents, im out 300 gb of blue ray!!!
Reviewed By:Sensi,4/17/2014 11:21:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Thermaltake > Thermaltake BlacX 5G ST0019U ABS Plastic 2.5" & 3.5" Black SATA I/II/III USB 3.0 Docking Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good USB3 Disk Dock
Pros: Works out of the box as intended. Low cost, better construction / operation than competitors for better price point. Comes with everything needed to operate right in box.
Cons: None yet with unit, used on 12 SATA drives to sanitize data before return to recycle plant. Has worked as specified every time.

I question the rubber sleeves sent with the boxed unit, have not seen reason to use as of yet. Nice touch with power button on top where you can easily reach it.
Other Thoughts: If you are having issues with drives not being recognized, check to make sure you are using USB3 rated cables, USB3 connection / port on computer. To resolve vibration issues get a cheap neoprene mouse pad to sit it on, usually find them for a couple of bucks if not free...

If your computer supports "hot swap" drives it will remove read / write delay from SATA and USB connected units Sill a good idea to "eject" the drive before removing from dock.
Reviewed By:CBHedricks,4/17/2014 8:45:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > Vantec NexStar NST-DP100S3 standalone SATA 2.5” & 3.5” Hard Drive Duplicator Dock with USB 3.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Questionable
Pros: Price easy access
Cons: Function
I tried this item to copy two raid drives that were over 1 year old and I was going to replace the drives with new ones anyway. I removed one raid drive and placed it in the device and added a new drive to the device. Then I turned it on a VERY VERY long time later the 1T drive was finished being copied, I placed the "NEW" drive into the machine to replace the old drive, and the computer said.... Unknown drive IE it did NOT copy data sector by sector as it should have and it even states that it would copy raid id's it does NOT. I then had the drive rebuild from the raid controller and it worked flawlessly. I then took out the other original drive and tried it with another new drive same results. LOTS and LOTS of time ZERO results.
I have no idea if this will work on normal drives in a normal computer but I would assume it will have issues as well, as raid drives are no different.

Just to be extra special sure, I took BOTH drives out of the machine and copied BOTH raid drives (mirror) raid 1 and then replaced the entire raid unit with the two drives I copied most of a day to do, and again it failed. it will NOT copy raid drives that I can tell, which is a total waste of this device.
Reviewed By:Ghod,4/17/2014 6:43:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK MB662U3-2S Aluminum 3.5" White USB 3.0 External Enclosure

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Stopped working after a month
Pros: Slim, fast, quiet
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Bought it a month ago. Stopped working after a month of use. I do have to say that their customer service is excellent. Will get a refund through NewEgg and get another one because it is faster.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/16/2014 1:17:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX-DU101 Plastic 2.5" & 3.5" Black USB 2.0 Docking Station

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Broken on arival
Pros: This would have been great if it actually worked.
Cons: I have a jingle, something is loose inside. Also the connectors dont poke out far enough to connect the drives. Also claims 2 hard drives down work, when they work on other systems, may have something to do with connectors. Stopped working altogether after swapping out drives a couple of times, Again may have to do with connecters being pressed further into case from each swap.
Other Thoughts: I wish it came with tools, both would be easy fixes.

I read previously that other users experienced the same issue, the weights come lose and jingle inside the case.

Hoping the next one works out of the box, fingers crossed.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you very much for purchasing this unit.
We strive to provide the most reliable and highest quality products to our customers.

Please contact our support team to assist you with warranty options.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com

We look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

Reviewed By:N/A,4/16/2014 12:56:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau