Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > VANTEC NST-266S3-SV Aluminum / Plastic 2.5" Silver SATA I/II/III USB 3.0 External Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 USB Connection is not very solid... until it broke
Pros: It worked pretty good at first. Speeds were decent
Cons: From the beginning, the USB 3.0 connection to the device was not solid. But it worked. Well, it finally died (The HDD is still operational). Towards the end, I had to wiggle the usb connection to get it to function. (The connection to the external enclosure, not the connection towards the computer)
Other Thoughts: I don't know if the connection has anything to do with it dying so quickly. But I would avoid and get another unit that has a more solid connection. I've owned different brands, thought perhaps Vantec would make a decent quality external enclosure, but this died.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/23/2015 1:01:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX35-AT-SU SLV Aluminum 3.5" Silver SATA USB 2.0 External Enclosure

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Don't get too frustrated
Pros: Still upset about the screw holes
Cons: I am a retired contractor so mechanical assembly is common to me. I bought two of these units.
YOU CANNOT GET BOTH BLACK SCREWS IN THEIR HOLES AT THE BACK.
Why? Because obviously, they must not line up enough.
I assembled the first one a week ago and became very frustrated over this so I was very careful assembling the second one this morning. I out the screw in one side and it worked but when I tried putting the screw in the other side, it wouldn't go. So, I switched the screws around and the screw went in the opposite side but not the original side. I had to see if it was me or the product. What gives with this kind of engineering Rosewill????
Reviewed By:N/A,1/23/2015 10:48:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO 6629US3-C USB 3.0 Dual Bay 2.5-inch and 3.5-inch SATA Hard Drive Docking Station with Stand Alone Clone Function

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 BROKEN DOA DONT BUY!!!!!!
Pros: Terrible product
Cons: Terrible Product
Other Thoughts: Absolutely disgusting quality control, look at the other reviews before buying!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reviewed By:gadget,1/23/2015 8:26:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > STARTECH > StarTech SATADOCK22UE eSATA USB to SATA External HDD Dock for Dual 2.5 or 3.5in Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simple & works well
Pros: Easy access to two 3.5" or 2.5" SATA disks without opening the case. Makes room for a 3.5" disk by folding down a flap with a 2.5" cutout in it - better than my old dock which had a piece that had to be removed.
Cons: None for me. Other reviewers complain about needing two eSATA cables, and I can see how that's inconvenient, but enough controllers don't support port multipliers that I like not having to worry about compatibility.
Other Thoughts: Didn't try the USB interface. Requires two eSATA ports on your computer.
Reviewed By:Polyergic,1/22/2015 8:27:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO 2588US3 Tool-Free USB 3.0 2.5-inch SATA External Hard Drive Enclosure Adapter Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simple & works
Pros: Great simple toolfree design
Cons: Drive is a tight fit (can be difficult to get the case closed), very short cable
Reviewed By:Polyergic,1/22/2015 8:14:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HF2-SU3S2 3.5" Black SATA I/II/III USB3.0 & eSATA 4 Bay External Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome litttle enclosure
Pros: Its size is amazingly small for being able to hold 4 HDDs. there is also very good drive cooling, and the USB 3.0 threw put is very good. I have all 4 slots filled up and have made transfers from each drive simultaneously, each drive will achieve around 50MBs give or take depending on the size of the files; a lot of very small files will transfer slower than one really big one. I am really impressed. One last thing, the enclosure supports ESATA which is rather uncommon.
Cons: There is one kind of a big problem i found almost right away. If you are planning on using ESATA (I was) you need to make sure that the SATA port you are going to plug the enclosure into supports what is called Port Replication. Hint.... if you plan on using a ESATA port that is controlled by your Intel chipset your gonna have a bad day. Thankfully USB 3.0 is pretty fast. however Win 7 will not let you create a dynamic volume on a USB storage device. This means all the drives installed into the enclosure will be seen as seperate HDDs. You cannot create a spanned volume and make one massive HDD. Sata will allow for this
Other Thoughts: One side note, you do not need to fill all the drive bays to use the enclosure. you can just get 2 and then upgrade later.
Reviewed By:Big Mike,1/22/2015 12:01:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > INLAND > inland 08415 Plastic 2.5" Black SATA USB 3.0 USB 3.0 Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing
Pros: Its not plastic
sleek
never a complaint
runs OS perfectly
easy install
good read/write speeds I get about 25-50MBps which is pretty much the limit for the HDD I enclosed
Cons: too expensive
Other Thoughts: I guess it was worth 36.18 dollars, but I wouldn't buy this for the current price. Great product though. Maybe I would buy it again?
Reviewed By:N/A,1/22/2015 10:51:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 2.5" & 3.5" Dual bay Black SATA III, HDD Docking Station for Easy Clone and Backup, CL-ENC50060

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 ...it works!
Pros: I am surprised to say this device works. No messing with software, just a one-button process to copy a drive. I even did a traditional drive to SSD without issue.
Cons: FYI there is one thing to note, and it is with copying a Samsung SSD to another Samsung SSD. The USB controller and related devices do not transfer onto the copy, leaving you unable to use thumb-drive, etc. This is not so much a problem with the device as it is with Windows, as the problem can be experienced with other software-based copies as well.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/22/2015 8:12:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX35-AT-SU SLV Aluminum 3.5" Silver SATA USB 2.0 External Enclosure

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: Inexpensive and well built.
Cons: If you put your hard drive in this enclosure it a death sentence it will get hot fast. Over 55C while paying Mario Kart 8 in just ten minutes.

I would recommend buying it if your going to use this enclosure temporary and get something better before your hard drive dies.
Reviewed By:Zet,1/22/2015 4:08:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX25-AT-SC-BLK Aluminum & plastic 2.5" Black SATA USB2.0 & eSATA External Enclosure

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works Well
Pros: DId the job, a little hassle getting separate power in order to use the e-SATA, but great fro the price. No separate power needed when using usb
Cons: None
Reviewed By:ChrisH,1/21/2015 8:30:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.