Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Tek Republic > Tek Republic TUE-300 Aluminum Brash 2.5" Black USB 3.0 Hard Drive External Enclosure for 9.5mm 7mm HDD and SSD (Optimized for SSD, Support UASP)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No way to remove drive without damaging case
Pros: It's a pretty sleek looking drive and I liked it at first.
Cons: Didn't work with my 64GB SSD so when I went to remove it I discovered it was impossible to do so without destroying the case. I was gently working my spudger along the edges and even with that all the tabs that lock into place snapped off which makes it impossible to put another drive in without the sides falling off the cheap plastic bezel.
Other Thoughts: Only buy if you're sure that the drive works in this case and only if you never want to remove it afterward.
Reviewed By:Paul,11/20/2014 7:18:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RDDO-13001 Rigid aluminum casing and internal plastic shield 2.5" & 3.5" Black SATA USB3.0 & eSATA Dual Bay Docking Station

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very slick device
Pros: The speed is amazing. I am able to plug 2 hard drives in and see them separately. Drives stay cool.
Cons: Every now and then, the USB will drop out and windows has to find the drives again which is the reason i gave it 4 stars. More of just a temp pain. nothing major.
Reviewed By:cfaulkner,11/20/2014 7:15:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Thermaltake > Thermaltake BlacX ST0005U External Hard Drive SATA Enclosure Docking Station 2.5" & 3.5" USB 2.0 & eSATA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Can't believe how easy this was to work. the most difficult thing was figuring out where the power on button is. Highly recommend.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,11/20/2014 2:31:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > Vantec NexStar CX SuperSpeed 2.5" SATA to USB 3.0 External Hard Drive/SSD Enclosure (Supports 7mm, 9.5mm, 12.5mm HDD/SSD) - Model NST-200S3-BK

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Shows SMART data
Cons: Hard to open
Reviewed By:Arnold,11/20/2014 2:24:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK EZ-Dock MB981U3-1S 2.5" & 3.5" SATA USB 3.0 Hard Drive & SSD Docking Station

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Shows SMART data
Cons: 2.5 drive a tight fit
Reviewed By:Arnold,11/20/2014 2:23:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Syba > SYBA SI-ENC25032 Plastic 2.5" Snow White SATA III USB 3.0 USB 3.0 Tool-Free 2.5" HDD Enclosure, Works With All Standard SATA III 2.5' HDD and SDD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to use
Pros: Drive drops in easy to change
Cons: Does not show SMART info
Reviewed By:Arnold,11/20/2014 2:20:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > STARTECH > StarTech InfoSafe SAT3510U2V Aluminum 3.5" Silver USB 2.0 to SATA External Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 work but very slow transfer
Pros: Work with no problem.
I use my old computer internal hard disk
very easy to put de hard disk in the box.
Cons: I don't know is it is normal but the transfer speed is 23mb/s.
So it is very slow.
My hard disk is a Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 250 GB,Internal,7200 RPM,3.5" (ST3250823AS) Hard Drive
It's really a pain to transfer
Reviewed By:culturelles,11/20/2014 12:17:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > INSTEN > Insten 1042814 Aluminum 2.5" Silver SATA USB 2.0 SATA External Enclosure Version 2

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works on Windows 8
Pros: So simple, plug in SATA drive, plug in USB cable. The nice aluminum makes it seem more expensive than it is. Why pay more? Also includes a nice enough carrying case "sleeve".
Cons: The tiny screws (which you really should install to keep things from working loose inside) are hard to install with the included screwdriver. I used a normal small screwdriver and the screws drove in easily. Be careful not to over tighten. These two small screws firm things up and take out the "flimsiness".
Other Thoughts: You should NOT need a driver for this drive! I plugged it in on an XP PC, a Windows 7 PC, and a Windows 8.1 PC and it was immediately recognized by all. Because my hard drive was already formatted and had content on it, I was immediately able to see and use the drive. (If your drive is new "blank" you'll need to go into Disk Management and format the drive before it will show up with a drive letter under Computer.)

To the reviewer who said it wasn't working with Windows 8, I would suggest that is possibly a USB 3.0 vs. USB 2.0 issue. Try plugging into a dedicated USB 2.0 port. No driver needed, this is a standard USB hard drive device! Even though USB 3.0 is supposed to be backwards compatible, I have seen devices that don't work when plugged into a USB 3.0 port. FYI, if you HAVE a USB 3.0 port (usually colored blue) then you really should be buying a USB 3.0 external enclosure anyway. (This one is USB 2.0, thus the low price).

Also, make sure you connect BOTH ends of the split USB cable to USB ports (one draws power, the other is for data!) While the drive may power on (LED light on) if you are only using one port you it may not work properly.

If you connect and use the device properly, it should work on any modern version of Windows no problem.
Reviewed By:pcguy555,11/19/2014 3:53:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Syba > SYBA CL-ENC25029 2.5" Black SATA III USB 3.0 USB 3.0 SATA III 6Gbps External Enclosure for 2.5" Hard Disk Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Enclosure
Pros: This worked great to connect my new Crucial SSD to my computer. The case was easy to put together and install the SSD. The drive I transfered data from kept falling asleep or would error out and restart the computer.
Cons: No cons for the enclosure or the SSD. I will probably purchase another SSD in the near future and re-use this enclosure again.
Other Thoughts: With the cost for all of the transfering equipment to perform a drive 'cloning' on my own (which failed), it would have saved myself about a hundred dollars to just have the local tech guys complete the cloning.
Reviewed By:Benny,11/19/2014 7:44:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill Hard Drive Enclosure for 2.5" SATA SSD/HDD. USB 3.0 Connection, 100% Screw-less, Aluminum Body External Enclosure, Model: Armer RX200-APU3-25B

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid
Pros: Flawless at its job.
Very solid build, not flimsy or bendable.
USB3.
Cons: Attached, very short cable. The benefit of using your own cable is of course that if the one on this enclosure breaks, you're out of luck, which is a big enough downside with how short the cable is anyways.

Removing a drive is kind of clumsy.
Other Thoughts: Perfect little 2.5" enclosure. I get the impression the SATA connector won't break off on this, unlike the last enclosure I had. (This one prides itself enough that it's labeled with a brand name.)

Plug-and-play, mounted itself as a local drive right away, not even as a USB device.
Reviewed By:superkabii,11/18/2014 1:25:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.