Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > PC Game Controllers > SteelSeries > SteelSeries 69041 Sentry Gaming Eye Tracker

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A tool, not a toy!
Pros: Cool little gadget, and has a lot of potential. Once you figure out the Engine 3 and get all the software installed, the setup and calibration is easy enough as long as you don't rush into it. You want to start the setup process before you stick the magnets to your laptop or screen. Lucky for me, I wanted to test this on a few setups, so I didn't make the mistake of just trying to center it to my monitor and see during setup where you calibrate where the sensor needs to be placed.

Most enjoyment is in Son of Nor where this works extremely well with your mouse. Your eyes will control your desired attack while you are running where you want with the mouse. It was fun to try, but it is not for everyone. ADD or ADHD type people who tend to look around allot may find it very annoying! It is difficult to concentrate on one spot in a game and refrain from peaking at what is in the horizon. Instead of being able to look around and take in the environment, you need to make sure your goal is finished first.

The little black box with the two white dots letting you know it see's your eyes was pretty cool. (It sits at the bottom of your screen (and is moveable) and looks a lot like the pull down box on Apple devices but instead of lines, it's two black dots.
Cons: The 27" monitor restriction in a day and age where large screens are so cheap. That was a disappointment. The computer requirements are rather high and makes most consumer laptops unable to get the best performance from this. Most hard core gamers tend to use multiple monitors and again will not like the 27" restriction.

The location and stationary requirements are gruesome. Move closer, Lean back... I got a headache during the calibration process even if it was easy to understand the needed steps. For laptop use, this is dreadful as you need to find a nice table and chair where you are eye level with the center of your screen. A computer chair with height adjustment is highly recommended! You need to be sensitive of the environment around you. A lamp behind you hinders the sensors performance and I didn't bother to test if it worked better with CF light over my LED. I don't think many people will like having to cater their environment to a new toy.

Learning to use your computer with your eyes after using a mouse for decades is a learning curve that probably gave me the headache. You have to train your eyes NOT to go looking for the cursor where you last seen it and accept it will be where you are looking. There is too much instinct with your hand on the mouse that interferes with trying to enjoy using the eye tracker. (The main one is shaking the mouse to determine where the cursor is located and your eyes conflicts with that and it can give you a headache!)
Other Thoughts: This is a fancy idea and I really thought I was going to enjoy giving this item a go. I thought it would help save battery life on my mouse just using my eyes to move the cursor, but the good thing about a mouse is you can stop with it. Having the cursor follow your eyes while you are trying to do ANYTHING on the computer is highly annoying. That's why they offered a setting where it only moves when you move your mouse toward wherever you are looking. (Nice try, but the whole transporting mouse jump wasn't really much better. I reckon after training yourself for a period of time, you may get to enjoying it.)
In all honesty, I wouldn't pay fifty bucks for this after learning how much there is to learn just to use this. It will take time to really enjoy it and train yourself to use your eyes for the tasks this was designed for. This explains to me 100% why it is being marketed for gamers to profile their activities in games for training purposes and analysis. For that alone, this is a perfect tool providing you can limit your setup to just one monitor and keep it under 27". I was in hopes to find the wonderful uses for everyday use for everyone else to get excited about this. I FAILED miserably! I do not see this going mainstream with the way technology is advancing.

While I did not enjoy using this, I am rating the product for its marketed use. It works very well in the required environment for the recommended purpose. The docked star is for the lack of instructions and when you get the Engine 3 installed, look for the tiny words saying critical update. I'm not sure if they were there from the get go, but after closing it and opening it back up, I did manage to find where it said it and the rest of the software and drivers were installed after I clicked it. Probably not an issue for those already familiar with SteelSeries Engine 3 software.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2015 1:12:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > PC Game Controllers > Thrustmaster > THRUSTMASTER T.Flight Hotas X Joystick

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Throttle needs work
Pros: The joystick has almost no wiggle and adjustable resistance which leaves nothing much to be desired.
Cons: The throttle feels very low quality with no resistance and a lot of wiggle.
Other Thoughts: Nice ergonomic design, being detachable is a big plus. Buttons work well for the low price point.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2015 8:12:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > PC Game Controllers > Logitech > Logitech F310 Gamepad with broad game support and customizable buttons

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Arrived in excellent condition - exterior was clean and without scuffs, nothing rattling inside. It's pretty sturdy and worked for all the Steam games I tried it on without needing to hunt down any drivers or change settings in-game.
Cons: Arrived with the input mode switch on the bottom set to "D" instead of "X" - so it seemed to work only partially, with misarranged buttons, until I looked at the Logitech website. The thumbsticks were slightly frustrating to use for precise movement.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2015 11:05:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > PC Game Controllers > SteelSeries > SteelSeries 69001 3G Game Controller

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 not compatable
Pros: very ecconomical
Cons: Formatting does not work with most Steam games ie Payday2, Long Dark, State of Decay, SubNautica, Ect. No real way to remap button configuration
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2015 4:12:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > PC Game Controllers > Microsoft > Microsoft Xbox One Controller + Cable for Windows

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 XBone 1 PC Controller
Pros: Works! Quick, easy and perfectly once installed on both of my desktop and laptop with automatic updates on, running with windows 7 & 8.1 for me. Does not really requier batteries to work since it came with a usb connector.
Cons: Just my oppinions: The controller feels like it's made out of cheap material as if it could break if it dropped from 2-3 feet off the floor. Analong sticks feels the same way "cheap n flimsy" that could break if used a lot. D-Pads clicks too loud and the LTrigger and RTrigger does not feel noticable while concentrated gamming as in does not feel like triggers.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2015 12:34:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > PC Game Controllers > Microsoft > Microsoft 52A-00004 Xbox 360 Controller for Windows

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: Only pro is it seems to be easy to return/refund.
Cons: Straight out of the box - I ordered 3 - the first the D-Pad and lower right trigger didn't function/register well. The lower right trigger button acts like there is something logged behind it. I opened the second, and third - both D-Pads were junk. I read reviews that the D-Pads weren't good, but all 3 controllers' D-Pads only register 50% of the key presses, if you intend to use the D-Pads whatsoever, find a different one.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/25/2015 3:43:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > PC Game Controllers > Logitech > Logitech 963290-0403 Extreme 3D Pro USB Joystick

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works well with Elite: Dangerous game
Pros: Works great with Elite: Dangerous, but you do need to set small "dead zones", otherwise your ship drifts slightly while simply holding the joystick comfortably. That's not a big deal, most games have adjustable dead zones.
Cons: It would be nice if there was a some sort of tactile feedback when the throttle is at 50%, which is dead-stop (acceleration = 0). I set a somewhat larger dead zone for the throttle to compensate. Elite has a lot of commands; I wish there were more buttons. I fixed that by mapping commands to Ctrl and Shift+Joystick buttons. I also bought a FS3-P USB Triple Foot Switch Pedal Control, so I don't need to use the keyboard for standard actions in Elite. This combo works well for me.
Other Thoughts: I've had it about 6 weeks now and haven't run into any problems. This joystick is a good value, compared to other more expensive controllers.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/24/2015 5:30:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > PC Game Controllers > Logitech > Logitech F710 (940-000117) Wireless Gamepad

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works great
Pros: windows 7 32 bit pro no issues worked with out thought.
Cons: manually update driver to Xbox 360
Other Thoughts: a bit of a walk thought i just typed up to install on my windows 10x64 pro

I had a issue with windows 10 x64, I just fixed it by going into "Devices and Printers"...
clicking on the "wireless Gamepad F710" and going into the Properties. (go to the hardware tab) ...
in the properties you need to manually update the driver...
click on the "Properties" in the Device Function Summary...
you start under the General tab...
click on change settings...
you are back in a new General tab, go to the driver tab click on the update driver...
you want to Browse my computer for driver software...
this could be the right path you need C:\Windows\INF

Good Luck
Reviewed By:N/A,8/23/2015 5:11:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > PC Game Controllers > Microsoft > Microsoft 52A-00004 Xbox 360 Controller for Windows

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good quality
Pros: There's not much to say about it. It's a wired xbox 360 controller. It works flawlessly without any additional configuration on Windows 7, 8, and 10. It makes gaming on a PC with traditionally console games (like Skyrim and Saint Row) comfortable and enjoyable. The build quality is good. Microsoft knows how their gamers like to abuse devices. I bought the 3 year accidental protection anyway, but I've had one for a few years now that still works great despite travelling all over the world map with me. I bought this one to keep on my desktop at home.
Cons: I really can't think of any. If you like the Xbox style controller, then this is the one you want.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/20/2015 6:56:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > PC Game Controllers > Logitech > Logitech G27 (941-000045) Racing Wheel

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great Wheel
Pros: Great wheel, the Force Feedback fells good.

It's not as noisy as I was expecting.

My desk is nearly 2 inches thick and it mounts fine.

Lots of buttons in an easy to use layout.

Pedals feel great, the accelerator is easy, the brake is stiff, and clutch is somewhere in between. Great attention to detail.

I love the stainless steel, gives it a good weight and makes the wheel, paddles, and pedals feel substantial.

The pedal base has a retractable catch for carpets, it works amazingly and they haven't budged. Guitar Hero drum pedals had me worried about this.
Cons: The front of the wheel's base looks like a mustang, I'm more of a Chevy guy.

I wish there was a horn button in the center.

The shifter diagram doesn't match up with actual use, pet peeve haha.
Other Thoughts: The reason, and only reason this wheel got 3 stars instead of 5 is because of Logitech Support. I have had problems with multiple peripherals over the past 4-5 months and the support with every one of them has been terrible. If I thought any other wheel in this price range would measure up, I would have chosen a different company. Hopefully it never needs an RMA.

In case Logitech replies to this, it's a facade, don't buy whatever they say. I have had 2 keyboards go out, and now a mouse. 3 different cases, 3 different agents, and every single time it was long periods of waiting on generic replies where it's obvious they didn't even read what I was saying. This happens multiple times until you reply enough they finally read it. The first keyboard was a cheap $25 keyboard. It took them 3 months to replace it, after a LOT of headache over such a low sum of money.

My current case is my gaming mouse, it still isn't resolved with just over a month worth of time since the ticket was made. It randomly clicks itself hundreds of times with no one near it. They are trying their best to blame it on me, but It's less than 3 months old and lightly used thanks to my job. I still have the box it came in. This wheel was the last Logitech purchase I will make. If customer service is important to you, I'd avoid Logitech products.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/18/2015 1:29:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.