Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop NAS > Lenovo > Lenovo 70A29001NA 2TB Iomega EZ Media & Back-up Center

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor quality control
Pros: Inexpensive.
Cons: First two failed.
Other Thoughts: I purchased this drive in April, 2013. In May, it failed and Lenovo replaced it with a refurbished model under warranty. It failed again only 14 months later. Thankfully, it has a 3 year warranty. The drive gets very warm during operation and appears to have only passive cooling.

Ordinarily, a disk failure wouldn't necessarily merit a 1-star review, but this is a non-RAID device designed for personal and home office backup, thus, a user is "naked" if it fails. If the drive dies, the user has no backup until it's replaced.

Other than that, the drive's performance is decent.
Reviewed By:NC,7/24/2014 2:21:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO LinkStation Pro Duo 2-Bay Diskless Enclosure High Performance Network Attached Storage (NAS) - LS-WVL/E

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Affordable DIY NAS Solution
Pros: It's inexpensive, fast and easy to setup and use. Setup for email notifications was fairly simple. Administration and other aspects are simple and self explanatory, but it maybe little challenging for a novice user.
Cons: None that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: My devices came with the latest firmware, version 1.68, which could be why I haven't had any issues. I have RAID 0 running on one unit and RAID 1 running second unit.
Reviewed By:Mr. Gomdori,7/24/2014 2:02:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO LinkStation Pro Duo 2-Bay Diskless Enclosure High Performance Network Attached Storage (NAS) - LS-WVL/E

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Works as it should, and has plenty of functions that makes it fun to figure out and use. The hard part was finding the owners manual from their website, but it was straightforward setting up the device after that. Just have patience with it and it will work fine without any problems.
Cons: Finding the owners manual on BUFFALO's website to use the devices functions.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/24/2014 8:34:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS213j Network Storage

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Seems like a good NAS
Pros: Easy setup.
Reasonable price.
Cons: Documentation leaves a lot to be desired.
Other Thoughts: Performs adequately, but I'm not impressed with the DS213j. This is my first NAS, so I had no idea what to expect. I know its not a high performance model, but its kind of disappointing to see the CPU utilization go up to 99% frequently on just a 1 user file transfer. LAN speed was all over the place, from less than 10MBps to over 70MBps, don't know why.

Really annoyed that the documentation seems to assume the user knows all about NAS, not much explanation for many things that I'm not familiar with. There is no explanation of the LED meanings in the DSM user guide; instead its at the end of the installation guide.

No details in the user guide for the browser widgets. For example, after initial setup, the Storage widget shows "Re-Synchronizing". There is no explanation of this term in any doc. Doing a search on the Synology forum site says that "Re-Synchronizing" is too common of a word to search on. Grrr. Never found a answer to that.

The browser utility is poorly written (IMO). If I click on the "help" icon, I get an error that says there is no internet connection, and it switches to a lame offline help subset. Yet if I check for updates, it happily searches the internet and tells me an update is available for download.

At times, the NAS will shut off all the LEDs except for the blue power LED. This condition is not found in the table of LED states in the install guide. And of course there is no mention in the user guide. I'm guessing this LED state is due to going into hibernation. But guess what... if I search for "hibernation" in the docs, no mention whatsoever, even though this is a setup parameter.

Just pitiful and frustating user info, so I'm deducting 2 eggs. Fortunately, the NAS itself seems to be working well, as long as I dont hit it with too much traffic.
Reviewed By:cosmicvoid,7/23/2014 6:36:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-421 Diskless System Network Storage

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 questionable pt 2
Pros: Seems that the failure of the networking on my last set was due to the first NAS 1/2 formatting the drives partially before it claimed a bay was bad. Seems I need to start it with all drives out of device, let it attach to network then reinitiallize everything. Fun Fun. Bright side, it isn't hardware failures for both NAS's, just a failure to properly attach to network (and constant rebooting) if the drives are not right.
Cons: No manual with the device to tell me such wonderful setup problems, requires a call to QNAp, who actually have fairly good hours and polite assistance.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/23/2014 6:23:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Western Digital > WD WDBZVM0040JWT-NESN 4TB 2-Bay My Cloud Mirror Personal Cloud Storage

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 So far- performance is disturbing
Pros: ease of setup
Cons: so far slow.
Other Thoughts: Main concern for me is some processes that are running on the device which are hogging CPU usage. Despite all my cloud and sharing services turned off (this nas is for data and to work directly off of), there is a wdphotodbmerger process that is consuming 50% of the cpu or more whenever I seem to need to work on things. I have owned a 3tb and 2tb my book live prior and performance allowed me to rename files and save small documents lickety split. At first I thought this was due to the raid mirror setup. But after seeing the processes running and their cpu usage and doing some online research, this is a known issue and a very debilitating one considering performance is tantamount for me.

Let me turn off this service, or make it not run when I have sharing disabled. Supposedly its generating thumbnails for teh wd2go/cloud apps. Which I don't intend to use.

Maybe I am wrong though, maybe its the NAS mirroring causing this slowdown? But its much slower than the my book live I was working off of before and performance was acceptable. I upgraded to this reading that performance was the same but this offered the data protection of raid. WD if you are reading this, please help.
Manufacturer Response:Greetings Clarke,
Thank you for your feedback on the My Cloud Mirror. We recently released a new firmware update for your device and would like for you to verify if this update has been applied yet, as this could assist in addressing your concerns.
“How to manually or automatically update the firmware on a WD My Cloud, Mirror, EX2 or WD My Cloud EX4 Personal Cloud drive”: http://wdc.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/10440

If after you have verified and/or update your firmware and the issue should persist, please contact our support team by email or phone below and reference this Newegg review.
http://support.wdc.com/contact/contact.asp?lang=en&ct=personalcloud
(855) 556-5117

Reviewed By:Scapegoat,7/23/2014 3:49:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Seagate > Seagate Central STCG4000100 4TB Cloud Storage System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Stable, great drive!
Pros: I have this drive hooked up to my private network, I can ssh over to the static ip as root no password. This drive has been working non-stop for a year now.
I use Seagate Dashboard to manage my backups, drive seems fast for reads and writes.
I can access it over Linux and windows.
4TB share over the network it's no bad it all from such a small device.
Price tag for a 4TB NAS device it's really nice!
Cons: It has been very stable for over a year, no problems.
Other Thoughts: I recomend this drive, it works and it works good! it's work horse!
I can access it from my Fedora Linux, CentOS server and windows machines.
Seagate Dashboard is a plus for this drive, besides creating backup plans from weekly, daily, constant backups you can backup your online social media from facebook.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/23/2014 3:48:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle KD20 Network Storage

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 KD20 NAS
Pros: I've now owned the KD20 for over a year with the 2 same 4TB Seagate drives in JBOD. I was concerned about data loss and had backed up everything I put on this NAS, but - so far so good. It still works fine and I can see it and use it from my TV's and media players.
Cons: Still slow write speeds 15-20MBs on a Gigabit connection, that's why It lost an egg. Don't advertise 55MBs write speeds unless you tell us how you made it happen.
Other Thoughts: I think if they gave us a couple of ram slots to fill, they could seriously increase the write speed. Maybe even get it up to the advertised 55MBs speed. I really only use the KD20 as a backup device, media server (not Itunes or Twonky) and print server, so I still haven't used the other bells and whistles. It doesn't turn back on after power loss, but where I live we can lose power several times an hour during a storm so I don't mind that.
Reviewed By:Klodnito,7/23/2014 8:33:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO LS-QVLE Diskless System LinkStation Pro Quad Network Storage

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Read on...
Pros: Well Built
Cons: Unusable documentation.
Other Thoughts: Really, the documents that ship with this incredible-seeming product are laughable. It doesn't tell you what to do first, what might go wrong, or ways to start over. I expect it will work out fine... someday soon, and I'll update this review.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2014 12:12:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Western Digital > WD 4TB My Cloud Personal Cloud Storage - Retail

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Does not work
Pros: None. Device did not function as promised.
Cons: Constantly dropped off of network despite many calls and suggestions by WD tech support. Would only be "seen" on the network after a full reboot of device, and then only for a couple of hours.
Other Thoughts: To be fair, WD tech support was courteous and patient, and tried their best to walk me through several suggestions to rectify the problem. Also, after a week of "negotiations," Western Digital agreed to a full refund of the device since I was passed the return time for Newegg.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Richard,
We appreciate you following up with us in your review of the My Cloud device. It is unfortunate that the device was not able to work within your environment, and we appreciate you working with us to provide you with a positive outcome to your overall experience. If there is anything we can do to further assist you with your WD devices, please contact us via email or phone and reference this Newegg review along with your previous case number, and we will connect you with the appropriate team member.
http://support.wdc.com/contact/contact.asp?lang=en&ct=personalcloud
(855) 556-5117

Reviewed By:Computer Tech,7/22/2014 10:57:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau