Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop NAS > Western Digital > WD WDBZVM0080JWT-NESN 8TB 2-Bay My Cloud Mirror Personal Cloud Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 JUNK DONY BUY
Pros: AUTO BACK UP CELL PHONE PICTURES
Cons: WILL NOT AUTO BACK UP, OVER INTERNET - AS TECH SUPPORT SAID IT IS A IN HOME CLOUD AND NOT A INTERNET CLOUD. It basically is a waist of money. You can BUY a dropbox account and backup your dropbox stuff. Which makes no sense since dropbox does live updates. It runs very slow and is unduer powered
Other Thoughts: This all flash an no go.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/2/2015 1:57:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Seagate > Seagate STBP100 Diskless System Business Storage 4-Bay NAS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Huge amounts of unknown disk space being used - Seagate staff unhelpful
Pros: Does as advertised but...see below for the reason why I am writing this.
Cons: I'm writing this because I am very dissatisfied with one huge aspect of this device- every time I format it and map it as a network drive, I have an enormous amount of space already used and I don't know where it's going or how to delete it. Of the total 12TB drive, windirstat shows I have a whopping 651.3GB <unknown> file (this is 6.5% of the drive's total useable space) sitting on the drive while the NAS OS/Web Interface states I have 100% available space.

I have spoken to 2 Seagate representatives and all they want me to do is reformat the entire thing and reseat the drives (I have done this 3 times already and each time it takes more than 1 week to complete a full backup). One gentleman on the phone told me it was just a display error due to the NAS OS being written in Linux (????).

I have no clue what is going on here but that 600GB+ chunk of nothing persists throughout every single reformat and after a year of owning this thing and $800 down the drain on it, I do not know what to do anymore especially now that I have hit those last 600GB of space and need it for my backups.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/30/2015 6:39:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-853 Pro 8-Bay Pro-Grade NAS with Intel 2.0GHz Quad Core CPU and Media Transcoding, Virtual Station

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 The most useful purchase I made in a long time
Pros: I filled mine with 8x 4TB drives and setup a RAID5 set for a total of 25TB and upgraded to 8GM RAM.

Really, really quiet. Beautiful, easy to use web-based interface with a nice Linux core underneath where you can remote in with SSH or Telnet to install packages and services.

With the HDMI port and Kodi installed directly on the machine it makes for a good TV-PC. It essentially replaced my file server and my HTPC.

You can install VMs directly in it and view their console in the browser with HTML5 which is great.

You can bind two to four of the ethernet ports to do load balancing and get multiple times the bandwidth.

There are so many options, a lot of them I don't use and I have to admit a couple I don't know what to do with...

I love it!
Cons: The web interface is somewhat a little limited in terms of fine tuning for advanced users but with the access to the Linux shell and the ability to install some packages to complete the deal it's a pretty flexible box.

It's rather expensive, yet for me, totally worth it.
Other Thoughts: I could have built a computer with a nice raid controller and much more RAM and CPU power but I like the "all-in-one" kind of deal. I just left for a friend's house this week-end with a mobile 25TB TV-BOX with on-board VMs.
Reviewed By:loz,6/28/2015 7:43:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP TVS-EC1080-E3-8G-US 10-bay, 10GbE-ready high performance Edge Cloud Turbo vNAS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 What a difference vs. a DIY NAS
Pros: * 10 bays allows me to run two 5 drive raid-6 volumes in one unit.
* mSATA SSD cache speeds up reads on a volume significantly.
* Creating a virtual machine is as easy as pointing to an ISO and indicating how many resources to use. Installed Ubuntu Server 15.04 and then got rid of a physical machine as a result.
* Can upgrade to 32GB of ram. Installed ECC ram, and it worked fine. 2x CT2KIT102472BD160B.
* The Xeon in this unit has the highest TDP (sustained performance) out of any NAS available w/o purchasing specialty equipment. Plex transcoding is a non-issue.
Cons: * Case screws are small and easily lost. Be careful.
* The drive caddies are somewhat cheap and not toolless.
* Ram is behind a motherboard power cable that's really snug. I installed ram without pulling the power cable since I would have had to exert too much force to be comfortable with it.
* Boot time is significant. For 24/7 operation it doesn't matter that much, but why?
* Creates forced share points that you can't delete. Web and Public in particular.
* No documented method for getting data off an encrypted backup without purchasing another QNAP.
Other Thoughts: * ~200W when full and mostly idle.

I'm really wondering how good QNAP support is if the entire unit fails. Let's hope I don't have to find out the answer to this.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/27/2015 9:54:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR ReadyNAS 104 (RN10400-100NAS) Diskless System Network Storage

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 To echo the most helpful reviews
Pros: Definitely read all the most helpful reviews. Good information from users and Netgear.

Simple, well rounded NAS device with good web based interface, helpful support forums, and simply does what it is designed to do - quietly and efficiently store and serve data.
Cons: None really. As mentioned elsewhere, the drive trays are somewhat annoying and difficult but you (hopefully) will only need to deal with them 2-4 times ever...
Other Thoughts: After posting a couple of questions on the Netgear forums and getting well thought out answers from their experts I waited until this device was on sale and purchased. I originally had 2x2TB WD Reds and now running 3x3TB Seagates. Swapping drives and adding 3rd was simple, no issues. Use CIFS, NFS, and RSYNC without issue. Backup to external USB3 daily and weekly, no issues. It simply works.

As the helpful reviews mention, keep your expectations reasonable. This is a NAS. Even though the software is available it is not an all-in-one server. If you expect it to download torrents while re-encoding Plex streams while hosting your cat video collection to the Internet and play Call of Duty you will probably be terribly disappointed. But, if you want an inexpensive (on sale) NAS to be a NAS then I recommend this.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/27/2015 10:35:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-431 4-Bay Personal Cloud NAS Diskless System with DLNA, PLEX Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 MC
Pros: I was skeptical about the performance and usability of this unit. luckily, my friend owns one. so I borrow it and test it out myself before I purchase it. Overall, for simple data storage, this unit is good for the task. However, if the CPU can be faster. it will be a even better deal.

For my usage and need, this is a great buy.
Cons: N/A
Reviewed By:N/A,6/26/2015 11:24:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Western Digital > WD Sentinel DX4000 16TB (4 x 4TB) Small Business Storage Server NAS WDBLGT0160KBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Total failure
Pros: relatively fast
Cons: I have two of these units. Drives failed in both and both failed to rebuild. All data was lost. These units are pointless. Who cares if WD sends you a brand new replacement on a product you cannot trust at all
Reviewed By:N/A,6/25/2015 8:41:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Drobo > Drobo 5N 5-bay NAS Storage Array, Gigabit Ethernet

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Completely unreliable
Pros: Plug n play
Cons: This thing reboots all the time when you transfer large loads of data. Oh, did they tell you that the data on the disk is in a proprietary format. That's right, when your Drobo dies, you MUST buy another Drobo to get your data!!!
Reviewed By:N/A,6/25/2015 3:20:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Seagate > Seagate Central STCG4000100 4TB Cloud Storage System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great nas
Pros: got a referb from here. love it. no problems had it over 2 yrs now. from others reviews sounds like i lucked out. love it tho i got the 2 tb and wish i had got a bigger one. i have torrents download to it and then stream from it.
Cons: only con is size and wish it had more ports (usb and Ethernet) still lobe tho
Reviewed By:Justin,6/25/2015 8:11:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Toshiba > TOSHIBA HDNB130XKEK1 3TB Canvio Home Backup & Share Network Storage

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not what I expected.
Pros: It was very nice looking, and easy to install and setup.
Cons: I bought this for file storage and backup. I also wanted to have files available across the network. This device is more of a media (pictures, video, ...) sharing. The software for the Canvio is rigid. I wanted to saved one of my partitions to the Canvio and it decided where the files went (docs, pics, music, ..) in their existing folders. You can not make a directory structure at all (No sub-folders). You can not delete files easily. I could find no way to delete files except individually. Maybe I just didn't look far enough, but I was so frustrated by everything above...
Reviewed By:N/A,6/24/2015 4:51:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.