Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS416j Network Storage

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great product
Pros: -Easy to use/quick set-p
-Lots of great supported features/apps
Cons: Hard drives are mounted into plastic trays that are mounted into the metal rack (it would be nice to see metal trays)
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/8/2016 11:59:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Western Digital > WD My Cloud 3TB Personal Cloud Storage WDBCTL0030HWT-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to use, one place storage, simple setup
Pros: Recently I purchased a Western Digital MyCloud for our house to help with data storage. Since we have gotten it, I have uploaded nearly 2TB worth of data and freed up 2 drives in my computer. The setup of the cloud was easy and painless and the interface(while could use a little tweaking) is simple and user friendly. I strongly encourage you that if you have a storage problem or just want a place to keep all your files in once place, to pick one up. The speeds of which uploads and downloads happen are fantastic. I can easily be uploading something to the cloud and have something playing off the cloud without any notice of lag or traffic problems
Cons: It's white where all my other stuff is black. :)

Seriously though, I see no cons, its a great device
Other Thoughts: Get this product if you want all your files in one place!
Reviewed By:Marcus C.,2/7/2016 3:58:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-451-US Diskless System 4-Bay Personal Cloud NAS with HDMI output, DLNA, AirPlay and PLEX Support

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not ready for prime time
Pros: good price, ease of setup
Cons: buggy software, excessive updates, unnecessary redundant options
Poor USB audio compatibility
Other Thoughts: I decided to change from Synology to QNAP for my latest NAS. Others stated that QNAP had come a long way. Well, they still have a long way to go to reach the robust execution and compatibility of my 5 year old Synology NAS. So many issues I tried to deal with. Worst of all, I let the 30 day period go by , so I am stuck with this turkey!
Reviewed By:Roland M.,2/7/2016 2:08:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-451-US Diskless System 4-Bay Personal Cloud NAS with HDMI output, DLNA, AirPlay and PLEX Support

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great product
Pros: Easy setup
Easy Management
Hardware is superior to "other" options
Cons: Software is not as mature or friendly as synology
Why did it have to be white - HATE the color
Too many models with identical descriptions, though I was buying the 4GB version ... ended up with the 1GB.
Other Thoughts: I work with NETAPP, IBM and EMC storage so I found this to be fairly easy to configure and use.
New users may not find it so easy. I would not recommend this to anyone who did not understand what a RAID was or what the different RAID levels are and how they perform.
I am not using PLEX on the NAS, but have my media on an iSCSI LUN which my PLEX server connects to. No issues at all.
When transferring files I commonly see transfer rates around 90MB/s on this.
My synology 214 would top out around 60.
Not much more to say ... if you know what you are doing this is a great unit buy it.
If you are new to networked storage you will have a bit of a learning curve, but should be OK as long as you can google.
OH ... put NAS drives in it ... if you put cheap green drives in a NAS you should not own a NAS.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/6/2016 1:54:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Western Digital > WD 4TB My Cloud Personal Cloud Storage - Retail

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Use the right tool for the job
Pros: easy to setup and get going.
Cons: Kind of slow, gets warm. It does lockup occasionally. Removed an egg for locking-up (that's not good WD).
USB port works, but causes lockups if using an external HDD (for me anyway). Probably better suited for a flash drive.
Other Thoughts: At first i got this device i hated it. it was to slow to transfer large files, do large backups quickly, or even use the dashboard efficiently.

But then i stopped using it as a NAS. While technically speaking it IS a NAS, it's not a great one. it will work for doing photo backups, and moving the occasional file to it, but not as a dedicated NAS for even 5+ people

This is more for backing up your days photos off your phone, or using another PC or smart TV to view the occasional video. also if you think to yourself "hey i might need this file at work today, but i can't find my phone cable". Drop the file in here and it'll be there waiting in the "cloud" for you when you get to work and you DO need it.

If you are looking to stream movies, or backup large amounts of data, DO NOT BUY THIS. You can EASILY build a home NAS 100X better than this with stuff you might already have.

A $40 PC off of craigslist (Or one of your old ones. does NOT need be high-end. a 2.4Ghz, 512MB RAM, 10/100 LAN will work great), a couple 2TB hard drives (2x WD RED for $180. Doesn't need to be WD, but i'm being nice here) and FreeNAS (Linux OS made to be dedicated NAS). Its really easy to setup. Lots of easy to follow, straight to the point guides online on how to do it.

I work in IT, i have my own home server with 2x quad core Xeon processors, 32GB RAM, and 20TB+ of disk space, I know how this should work (and i lowered my expectations A LOT).

This does get about 100 MB/s (good), transfer for files 500MB+ dwindles to a max of 20MB/s (expected), Does get hot, like 109*F just at idle (bad), does lock-up (bad), is easy to access from outside your house (good), seems reasonably secure (also good).

Use this as a link between your home and your phone, For that it works great. DO not use as a home media server, It's simply not powerful enough.

I am using Firmware 2.11.113 (just because)
Reviewed By:Matthew E.,2/6/2016 10:14:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DiskStation DS214 High-Performance 2-Bay NAS Server for SMB & SOHO

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 fantastic
Pros: fast: reliable 60 megabytes/sec with raid 1
can read and write simultaneously with no perceptible performance loss
easy to use
real, useful features that work
quiet
seamless mac and windows compatibility
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: running raid 1 on this box. next time i build a server i will get the 4 bay and run raid 5. so so impressed with fit, finish, and functionality. synology, you have a customer for life.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/6/2016 2:02:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > Qnap TS-531P-2G-US 5 Bay SATA 6 Gb/s NAS, Quad-core 1.4 GHz Cortex-A15 CPU, 2 GB RAM, 4 Gigabit Ethernet

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Welcome to the Future
Pros: The quantity and functionality of the applications I can run on this thing are excellent.
The performance is excellent
The power usage is excellent
The admin web console is superior
LACP options are excellent
The backup station methods for moving data around is awesome
Super quiet variable speed fan.
Cons: Some of the initial setup tasks like creating and deleting shares took a few minutes and was not as intuitive as I would have liked.
The SSD caching capability took a little work to find the appropriate documentation as to what this box is capable of doing.
I prefer an external power supply for easier replacement
Other Thoughts: This is my third SOHO NAS. I wish I hadn't waited so many years to purchase a QNAP.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/5/2016 10:30:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Lenovo > Lenovo 70A69003NA Diskless System Iomega ix2 Network Storage 2-bay

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't waste your Money
Pros: Seemed to work for the first month
Cons: First off I had a pair of Seagate ST3000DM001 3TB, which are listed as compatible drives, and the ix2 device would not use them. I looked up compatible drives on the Lenovo Website and saw these Seagate drives were listed as compatible so I did a factory reset and got the same result. I had another use fo these drives so I ordered a pair of Hitachi HDS5C3020ALA632 drives, I did a factory reset and every thing worked for about 6 months and the ix2 reported on of the drives had failed. I downloaded the Hitachi diagnostic software and ran on the failed drive. Everything tested good. Tested the other drive thinking the ix2 maybe reported the wrong drive, everything tested good. Could not return the HDS5C3020ALA632 drives since they pass all the diagnostics. Got a pair of WD Red 2TB (WD20EFRX) NAS drives, I did a factory reset and ix2 still reports a drive failure.
Other Thoughts: Would never order another Lenovo NAS of any type. My research indicated this may be an Iomega product. Never had good luck with Iomega products, so that would explain it all.
Reviewed By:Dennis K.,2/5/2016 5:13:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO LinkStation 441e (LS441DE) Diskless System Diskless Enclosure High Performance RAID NAS Personal Cloud Storage and Media Server

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great if you like to pull your hair out
Pros: - nice feature list
- drives easily plug in and out
- worked great with 2 drives
Cons: - instructions are not very clear when you want to change drive configurations without losing data
- it took many attempts to get it to recognize a 3rd drive
- it never recognized a perfectly working 4th drive
- no way to get status while the system is booting up, if like me your system will not recognize a drive the boot light will flash indefinitely.. mines been flashing for over a week.
- customer support is horrible. I was working with them, going back and forth as I was trying to get the 4th drive to be recognized - they requested some tests to be done with the drive to make sure it was good. I finally did these and sent screenshots showing the drive was in fact good then they never responded.
- during this process my 2 good drives that had about 5TB worth of data became unrecognized by the system. I ended up purchasing UFS Explorer which was able to find the lost partitions and let me access my drive. With that this data would have been completely lost by the Buffalo system. The buffalo never could restore the partitions, I had to reformat the drives to get them to work again.
Other Thoughts: I will not buy a Buffalo NAS ever again, its unfortunate because for the price their product looks to be superior; however through a frustrating experience with the device and with their customer support I will not be coming around for seconds. This product is junk.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/5/2016 8:38:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP TVS-671-PT-4G-US Diskless System High-performance Turbo vNAS with 4K video playback and transcoding

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome sauce
Pros: Before i write out my list if Pros regarding this NAS, i want to provide an overview of how i am using my QNAP TVS-671.
My NAS has taken over the following tasks:
1.) VM Host server: Ubuntu desktop (mainly used for browsing internet & office productivity) b. Windows 7 dedktop (used as my daily desktop for work)
2.) Home Ldap\domain server
3.) File server (dlna, nfs, and SMB shares used)
4.) Plex server ( two connections performing on demand hardware transcoding and batch offline conversion of videos to lower resolution)

This NAS has one of the fastest smb read & write throughput (check smallnetbuilder website for in-depth review of Qnap TVS-x71), user-friendly software & support provided by manufacturer, very active & useful community forum, manufacturer releases updates to fix and add new functionality on a monthly basis, you definitely get what you pay for, ability to upgrade the CPU\RAM, qnap's virtualization station is rock solid, i have actually saved money buying this NAS because it replaced many of my old devices.
Cons: Initial sticker shock compared to other NAS devices that have the same or better hardware specs
Reviewed By:N/A,2/5/2016 6:10:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.