Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop NAS > Western Digital > WD EX2100 (WDBWAZ0120JBK-NESN) My Cloud™ Expert Series 2-Bay Pre-configured 12 TB NAS with dual-core processor

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Storage powerhouse smaller than a toaster
Pros: -Compact design
-Simple setup (provided you know what configuration you want)
-Straightforward browser-based interface
-Simple HD swap, when needed
-Ridiculous number of options (SAMBA, FTP, DLNA, Cloud, etc.)
-Detailed, well-written user manual
Cons: -Not so much a con as something to be aware of: If you have ever have to return it to factory settings, make sure you allow for ~16 hours. At least, that is how long mine took.
-Minor Con: When I plugged in my Seagate Backup Plus Fast 4TB Portable HDD, it didn’t recognize it, even though it is in a standard format (NTFS). The Seagate is, is essence, a portable RAID device and isn’t recognized by all PCs/devices, so it may be an issue that will be ironed out in a future firmware update. It sure would have been handy to transfer the data from it as opposed to transfer via LAN.
Other Thoughts: It was a fun ride getting this device set up to see how much load it could, in theory, take off of my main Windows-based server. My current server is a Windows 7 Pro computer which I use as a media server for 4 media PCs, DLNA server, a web server for 2 websites, print server, FTP server, and, at times, an HFS server for browser-based file access. If you are already aware of what the Western Digital EX2100 can do, then you would know that it can take care of 4 out of 6 of those features. I currently have a little over 4TB of data and so I decided to configure it as RAID 1, to see how it performed in mirroring mode and have been pleasantly surprised in the areas of ease of setup and performance. My main usage on my home network has been to access the audio & video files via SAMBA mount. I have a robust Gigabit home network and regularly test my local LAN speeds to my media server using Network Speed Test, which averages speeds in the 750-850Mbps range. For the purposes as described, this device performed fairly well. But, it is not going to replace my Media Server in any real way. I’m sure there are exceptions, but I have always perceived NAS devices as an “Average Consumer” device and I cannot see myself using one on a full-time basis in the near future. I can see the draw from the standpoint of a user who wants a feature-filled device that they can load & configure without much in the way of time commitment. I probably like configuring tech more than most, so that isn’t a selling point for me. As far as anything approaching a value, I am not seeing it at the current price of $750. The current price of two 6TB NAS Hard Drives is $540, so I would be paying a little over $200 for what amounts to a microcomputer that performs a few specific tasks, albeit fairly well. The device does what it is supposed to do and does it well, but my egg rating is still 4 stars because the value isn’t there, to me. This is mainly because I am not personally interested in this type of device, a reason for which I don’t typically ding a product for, but I did here.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/26/2015 4:49:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-870 Pro Diskless System 8-bay Home & SOHO NAS For Personal Cloud And Multimedia Experience

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love it
Pros: Fast, reliable, expandable, easy to use from dummies to power users, flexible
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: The perfect all in one unit that will grow with you.
Extremely flexible: from dummy users (initial setup is literally a 1-page manual, my Mom could do it and it works out of the box) to power users (ultimately you get a Linux under the hood, and you can even modify hardware to some extent).

Want lots of storage for all the content you create, in a safe RAID configuration that will help prevent data loss? Check.
Want all that data available on your very own personal cloud, without monthly $$$ fees for several terabytes of cloud storage? Check.
Want that cloud to also be a media center or a surveillance center? Check.
You happen to start a small business at home and need a starter server with basic services (email, ftp, file server etc)? Check.
You happen to be a developer and need a development server (sql server, version control server etc)? Check.
Want to add functionality to your NAS by writing your own apps for it? Check.
Want to tinker with the OS which is a Linux under covers? Check.
Want to add more RAM to your NAS? Check.

I don't write reviews often, but I've had this guy for about 6 months and couldn't be happier with this product.
Reviewed By:agaace,5/25/2015 9:32:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS115j Diskless System 1-Bay (Diskless) Network Attached Storage (No HDD included)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 DS115j
Pros: This thing is great. Small footprint, runs cool, keeps my cloud accounts up to date instantly when ever any changes are made to them. Stuck a 3TB WD Red in it and its been running 24/7 for about 6 mos now. never an issue. xfer speeds are roughly 70MB/s writes and 110MB/s reads with jumbo frames. Also have the DS215j which is also great.
Cons: Synology products are a little pricey but as the saying goes "you get what you pay for". For Synology, that is indeed true and well worth every penny.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend this. It works great. As said, I also have the DS215j (didn't buy from NE) and it is equally nice but with 2 bays. My next NAS solution will also be Synology.
Reviewed By:MyDog8em,5/23/2015 7:59:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO LinkStation 410 2 TB High Performance NAS Personal Cloud Storage and Media Server - LS410D0201

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very unreliable, nearly daily freeze-ups/hangs
Pros: one of the few 1-bay 4tb NAS's available
Cons: Needs a hard reboot every couple of days, just hangs and becomes unresponsive. Problem has been getting worse over time. No firmware updates have been available since I bought it nor are any available now. Entire purchase price wasted, am throwing this unit away.
Other Thoughts: STAY AWAY FROM AT ALL COSTS
Reviewed By:RALPH E.,5/22/2015 8:20:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Cirago > Cirago NUS1000 Network USB Storage Link

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 not good
Pros: none
Cons: I have this on a Win 7 LAN.
I reformatted my NTFS drive to accommodate the mfgr.
I can see it in my network.
But is shows as a computer and not a media device.
I bought it so I could use it to access my passport drive which contains my music and photo files.
It shows sometimes and other times does not.
From windows media player, you get the message : "The remote media library did not allow the connection."
It does not work as a DLNA server as advertised
Reviewed By:mariner133,5/19/2015 10:15:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Western Digital > WD My Cloud EX4 16TB: 4-Bay Personal Cloud Storage WDBWWD0160KBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Nice Concept, but Crashes Explorer Win 7 x64
Pros: Good connectivity, storage, fairly easy to use and administer, etc.
Cons: Very quirky and buggy software. Since I purchased and installed, my PC has ongoing issues on every session that the MyCloud Desktop Software has been run. Rebooting the machine resolves the issues until the software is run again. After searching the internet, this appears to be an ongoing issue and may be related to Win 7 x64. From what I've read, WD does not recognize the issue nor has come across a fix for it.

Also, 2 our of 10 machines this was installed on would not function properly. I got an error message to contact WD Support. After they called and went through the issue, they hung up on me (by accident I believe), and they closed the case.
Other Thoughts: What a waste! It's a great product if it works properly. In theory, I like it but it is just not reliable and the folks at WD have been no help.
Manufacturer Response:Greetings Ryan,
Your feedback on the My Cloud EX4 is appreciated and we apologize for the inconvenience experienced thus far.
The information from your review has been forwarded to our My Cloud Support Team and we will be in touch with you soon to assist you with this directly and work to resolve your concerns. If you prefer to contact us prior to this be sure to mention this Newegg review and your precious case number with our staff so we can provide assistance from a product specialist.

Need Help? Please visit the link below for further assistance or contact us at 1(855) 556-5117
https://wdsupport.wdc.com/sfdc/case.aspx

Reviewed By:rjp280,5/17/2015 3:58:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-451-US Diskless System 4-Bay Personal Cloud NAS with HDMI output, DLNA, AirPlay and PLEX Support

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: - Price!
- Easy setup and management
- Pretty solid firmware
Cons: - Inadequate processor for media server
- Slow performance
- Some native software is a bit buggy
Other Thoughts: The TS-451 is billed as a media server solution, which is exactly what I purchased it to do. I have a large media library consisting of HD video and lossless music content and the TS-451 was meant to be a single location to store and serve up these files, locally and remotely, via the pre-installed Plex Media Server and a couple of the native Qnap apps. It serves files ok on my LAN, although a bit choppy, but the Celeron processor is not powerful enough to transcode and serve HD files remotely. It chokes and stutters constantly and is unwatchable. I have ample upload bandwidth available and upgrading to 8GB of RAM (as I did) does nothing to aid in transcoding, as this is a processor intensive task.

This NAS will probably work fine strictly as a storage solution, but I cannot recommend it at all as a media server and Qnap shouldn't be advertising it as such, not with such a low-end processor.
Reviewed By:DG,5/17/2015 3:37:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-469L-US Diskless System High-performance 4-bay NAS Server for SMBs

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Steller Perfomance
Pros: Fast. Easy interphase. Regular software update
Cons: Would like more android apps to tranfer folders from me phone to the NAS. The app available transfer individual files and not folders.
Reviewed By:fa,5/16/2015 8:49:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO TeraStation 5800 8-Bay 24 TB (8 x 3 TB) RAID NAS & iSCSI Unified Storage - TS5800D2408

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Look Elsewhere - Consumer Grade At Best
Pros: Big, economical
Cons: Slow, fragile, and seems "not quite done" as most functions only partially work.
Other Thoughts: Buffalo advertises a 3 year warranty on this device. Mine threw three drives in that timeframe. Their policy seems to be to try to "wait you out" with byzantine "diagnostics" procedures designed to waste your time not identify an issue. So it's a 3 year warranty in name only.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/16/2015 6:36:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Drobo > Drobo 5N 5-bay NAS Storage Array, Gigabit Ethernet

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Update - Rebuild Experience
Pros: Easy to use. Can use varying drive types and sizes. Many different apps available. Compact. Quiet. Large capacity. Fast enough for HD media serving. Friendly rebuild process.
Cons: Not really for full time business use, with multiple users read/write simultaneously. Proprietary RAID system. Not as fast as it probably could be, considering the Gigabit LAN and SSD feature. Software is very basic. Can be confusing to update firmware. Use the CAT6 cable it ships with! (wasted a lot of time with my own bad cable)
Other Thoughts: Update from previous review:
I've had my Drobo 5N for 18 months now, with 5 x 4TB Seagate 5900RPM desktop drives (ST4000DM000). After about 2 weeks, the bottom drive started displaying a "Warning" in the software, but things seemed to work fine. Onboard diagnostics identified a few bad blocks on the drive and the RAID software mapped around them. I continued to use the Drobo, filling it up with over 9TB of data. The average speed for large file xfers is about 80MB/s, up & down.
NewEgg recently had the ST4000DM000 drives on sale, so I finally bought a replacement for the "Warning" drive. I backed up EVERYTHING to single volume drives, powered down, cleaned the unit out, replaced the drive and powered up. It took about 15 HOURS to rebuild (which was completely expected), and all the data was available during that time. When I started the unit, the Drobo service on my PC notified me about the rebuild process. When it finished, a similar prompt appeared.
You could build a faster and more sophisticated NAS yourself if you want, and that makes sense for a business, but for simple large scale personal backup, the Drobo 5N is a great solution.
Reviewed By:Trevor T.,5/14/2015 3:30:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.