Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS213j Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product and support with limits
Pros: I've had this for about 8 months and love it. Bought it primarily for centralized data backup (have 2 laptops, a desktop, 2 phones, and a tablet and we use them all). I have two identical hard disks - RAID 1. Its turned out to be way more useful though. Speaking of apps, there's a ton. I currently use it for several purposes...centralized torrenting, the surveillance app (have some old IP babycams that i've turned into security cams), iTunes server, antivirus, USB backup, the native cloud app and Mumble - a chat server for the kids and cousins. I also have XBMC mapped to it for movies. Even though I have RAID1, I decided to do an external backup once a monthish due to all the recent news. I had a problem with backing up data to a USB drive the first time i tried (see Cons) and the tech support was great - had a response within a couple hours and had the problem resolved within 24 hours. In all, i had 3 emails from their tech support within 24 hours -- very responsive in my opinion. I like the power-saving features too...I have it set to be on during the evenings and weekends.
Cons: Con1- The cloud feature is great although it is limited to file size (I think 100MB) and file type (its basically limited to the more common file types). This is with the native cloud app, not the community ones so its probably not even really a problem if I experimented with the other cloud apps. Also, this is only a restriction within the native cloud app. I can still go through the network the old fashion way with windows explorer (or whatever it is called in Ubuntu) and everything is like a regular drive (so no file size limits or extension limits). I'm still rating it a 5 as this is the low-end version and in my opinion, the limits come with the price-tag....although I did read a note somewhere where they're working on this for a later version of DSM.
Con2- the native backup utility is restricted in the number of files you can backup, regardless of how big they are. My backup choked on 40,000 files...but it had no problem with 20,000 files....again, still rating this as a 5 as the problem comes with the low-end pricetag.
Other Thoughts: even considering the two cons, the pros keep it at a solid 5...after about 8 months of usage.
Reviewed By:heath,8/20/2014 7:25:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-451-US 4-Bay Personal Cloud NAS with HDMI output, DLNA, AirPlay and PLEX Support

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Excellent storage with quirks
Pros: Fast, easy Initial setup. The device auto selected Raid 5 based on the number of drives I had (which is what I wanted). And setting up the ~12TB raid was fast. I started it when I went to bed and it was done before I woke up the next morning. My previous NAS took 3x that long to do ~4TB

It runs quiet, even with high CPU load and long data transfers it is easy to ignore.

The interface is clean and easy to understand, even for my non-technical users. Setting up accounts and getting the NAS connected to the dozen or so devices on my network that will look for it was done before I had finished playing with all the options.

Most devices can find the Twonky/DLNA servers immediately upon activation. My Samsung TV found the NAS and my video files in a heartbeat.

Reboots cause less than 5 mins of downtime even at 50% capacity.

Cloud setup is a breeze, so is getting things to stream to mobile devices.

Gives many options for NAS to NAS transfer. FTP transfer speeds are good and (when it works) USB transfer speed can max out the channel. Its child play to get team the two Ethernet ports together and get improved transfers.

Updates are quick and painless. I've had 3 (one to the OS and two to the apps) so far and I don't recall any real downtime.
Cons: USB transfer died about halfway through copying 1 TB of data from an external hard drive and none of the USB ports have worked since.

I turned on Transcoding on an empty directory, stuck a file video file in there and CPU spiked at 99%. I've since turned it off and emptied the directory CPU seems to hang around 80-90% even when most of the devices on the network connected to it are in sleep mode. It is persistent even after a reboot. Luckily it is in a very cool location so no worries about overheating.

If the video stream has subtitles that aren't embedded in the image use a 3rd party player and don't bother with mobile, you'll never see them.

The players included with the NAS can't handle odd-ball encoding, so stick with mainstream video encoding or use 3rd party players on your device.

When transferring data from my old NAS it took a few tries to figure out which protocol is most compatible, my first few tries ended up with transfers aborting and no real info given.

Not all of the Apps available from the OS are compatible for this NAS but I'm sure that will
Other Thoughts: Still trying to figure out the whole HD station thing. It seems more like setup, but I can't seem to get the Video station to work consistently. And there seem to be two programs that are both labeled Video station but with different icons.

Darn WD came out with the 6TB NAS drives after I got everything setup and working nice...grrr if only I had waited a month
Reviewed By:Keltic,8/19/2014 5:29:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Seagate > Seagate STDE16000100 16TB NAS Pro 4-Bay Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Seagate 16TB NAS
Pros: - Simple installation process
- 16TB of space (4 x 4TB). This unit was preconfigured for SimplyRaid (12TB for storage, 4TB for parity – protects against a single drive failure). Other RAID options are available.
- Amazingly small footprint (8.5in x 6.75in x 7in)
- Low power consumption (120W). Supports scheduled power on/off, wake on lan, etc.
- Whisper quiet
- Nice-looking device with LED screen
- 2 x USB 3.0, 1 x USB 2.0, 2 x Gigabit Ethernet ports.
- Solid performance with its dual-core Intel CPU and 2GB DDR3 RAM
- MUCH easier to setup and manage than the WHS server box I built myself.

I was stunned at how small and quiet the NAS is compared to my WHS box. It was a cinch to install. It was so easy, I questioned whether or not I was truly done. Here is the setup process:
- Plug in power and network.
- Turn it on and wait for solid light.
- Browse to NAS with your browser (via a Seagate URL).
- Download any firmware updates (automatically). Downloaded version 4.0.9.2 dated July 7, 2014 (took 10 minutes to DL and install).
- Choose admin username and pw.
- Total installation time: 20 minutes.

From there you will want to set up users, groups, and shares, set up a backup plan, and perform other administrative setup tasks, so that will take more time.

Performance is superb. I was averaging over 110MB/sec reading AND writing a large 4.3GB folder back and forth from my PC to the NAS and vice-versa. This was on wired CAT6 segments with both devices on the same gigabit switch.

The OS is very clean and easy to use. See other thoughts.
Cons: - HD cages do not lock
- Documentation could be better
- Wish there were more apps in Application Manager
Other Thoughts: The NAS comes with an embedded Linux-based OS called Seagate NAS OS4. The OS has 5 main screens: Device manager, File Browser, Download Manager, Backup Manager, and App Manager. The menus within each main screen are listed on the left, with the main content for the selected subcategory displayed on the right. The screens load quickly and are laid out nicely.

Device Manager is where you can get a snapshot overall server conditions (health, CPU / RAM usage, # of shares, users, and groups, and so forth). You can also manage shares, users, and groups, manage server settings, services, configure the storage, etc.

File Manager is a browser-based file explorer where you can set up folders, set permissions on folders, and upload data.

Download Manager manages downloads to the device. To use this function, you must enable a service called Download Machine. This service will allow you to use the server for torrents, among other things.

App Manager lets you install and manage apps on the server. At the time of this writing, there were only 5 apps for download. One was an antivirus. I was able to download and install that with one click. The only other intriguing one to me was WordPress. There are other apps for use with IP cameras (Surveillance Manager), ownCloud, and BitTorrent Sync. There is also a manual installation mode that lets you install apps that are not listed in the app manager, but I could not find any detailed documentation about that feature in the online manual.

Backup Manager is just what it sounds like. It lets you manage backups and restores for the data. It’s very easy to set up a backup job. You simply specify the source folders you want to back up, and you specify a destination. You can back up to local hard drives, cloud services, or other devices that support Rsync, FTP, SMB, NFS, or WebDav.

There are a lot of other settings that you can meddle with in addition to the ones mentioned above. Your best bet is to go to Seagate’s web site and view the manual online.

Overall I am very impressed with this NAS. It looks great on my desk and takes up very little space. With its great performance and abundance of storage, it should last for many years.
Reviewed By:MWall23,8/18/2014 8:47:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Seagate > Seagate STBN6000100 6TB Business Storage 2-Bay NAS

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Seagate - Business Storage 6TB 2-Bay Network-Attached Storage
Pros: Works well, when/if it works
Cons: This is a follow-up review. One year to the date of purchase (8/14/2013 died 8/14/2014) this unit died and is non-recoverable. Dual LAN setup does not work correctly and is probably a contributing factor to the failure of the device.
Transfer speeds either wireless or wired are slow.
DNLA streaming in-house is ok, but sometimes glitchy.
Power button does not power off device, reset button does not reset. Only way to boot device is pull the plug.
I hope the RMA Seagate is sending will work better that the one I had.
Needing a Linux OS to read drive to recover is an definite egg minus.
Other Thoughts: I must admit, phone service to Seagate was fast and friendly. They issued my RMA and I was done in about 20 min. Will wait until I have the "new" NAS installed and working and re-visit this review. Should be shipped tomorrow and arrive by Friday (2 day service).
Reviewed By:Bearshaka,8/18/2014 1:04:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Seagate > Seagate STDE20000100 20TB NAS Pro 4-Bay Network Storage

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Huge capacity NAS with room to improve
Pros: -Speed. I tested with the drives configured for SimplyRAID, RAID5, and RAID10 and all configurations were able to perform read and write operations consistently over 100MB/s, clearly being bottlenecked by Gbit Ethernet.

-The NAS looks very streamlined and professional. It would almost be a shame to be hidden away in some IT closet.

-The web interface is beautiful and intuitive. Advanced options are made available while keeping an easy-going simplistic appearance.

-Hardware monitoring includes temps for CPU, casing, and HDD's, in addition to CPU, RAM, and network utilization. There are even some simplistic looking graphs showing utilization over time.

-The external PSU has a dedicated ground and a power LED to let you know the PSU is receiving power and functioning.

-The fan is plenty quiet and effective. During heavy I/O traffic from multiple users for hours I saw CPU, Casing, and HDD temps peak around 50C.

-The front panel indicators are attractive and effective. They are all white, not overly bright, and each indicator has a distinct shape so it's easy to see what is being indicated from across the room.

-The file system is incredibly responsive. I have a media folder containing around 600 HD video files and when I change sort options it updates the order instantly.

-Dual gigabit Ethernet can be used for network redundancy or increased performance.

-I don't have any cameras to network with this yet, but I am very excited to try out the Surveillance Manager app. This has the potential to bring home/small business surveillance to a whole new level of simplicity.

-The sdrive app for android is an extremely easy method of backing up photos and video. It has integrated into my gallery app so that if I select photos or folders I am now given the option of sending the selection to the NAS via local network or internet.

-Time Machine Support for MAC users out there.

-2x USB3.0 and 1x USB2.0. You know.. just in case 20TB isn't enough.
Cons: -There seems to be no dedicated PC backup software designed for this. I enjoy using Seagate Dashboard backup features with some of their other products but this NAS doesn't seem to be compatible with it. Seagate SDrive for windows connects to the NAS just fine, but there are no features for scheduling backups. For any scheduled backups to the NAS you will rely on third party software.

-At the time of writing, the App Manager has very limited support with only 5 apps available. The platform is brand new so I'm hoping more will become available soon.

-Included documentation is next to useless. It consists of a single sheet with 4 steps to setting up your NAS. Step 1: plug it in. Step 2: Install hard drives (skip unless you have the diskless model). Step 3: wait for power LED to turn solid. Step 4: connect to the NAS via web interface. Basically, if you don't have to install disks this whole setup is only 2 steps which seems easy enough. However, step 3 left me with questions while I was waiting. How long is it supposed to take? Is it normal for some of these lights to be blinking red? Is it supposed to turn on automatically? Mine did NOT turn on automatically, I had to manually press the power button (after waiting a few minutes wondering). At one point all of the HDD LED's blinked red for a while. The entire initial startup took about 10 minutes. It would be nice if the documentation informed the user of what to expect for step 3. As soon as you get to step 4 you can access the full user manual via the NAS web interface.

-Indication of specific drive activity in the browser interface would be nice. I use a 3Ware 9650SE RAID controller and it indicates if the drives are rebuilding or verifying and gives percentages along with that information. That information would be nice, in addition to indexing operations. As it stands, the only way I have to see drive activity is the blinking LED's on the unit itself which don't tell you much.

-The drive 1 LED never shows any indication of activity, regardless of RAID mode. Not sure if this is a limitation by design or a problem with my specific unit.

-The drives are noisy under heavy activity. Any drive activity is clearly audible if you share a room with the NAS.

-Basically the whole unit is plastic, including the drive trays. It LOOKS great, but feels a little flimsy.

-I noticed that after linking the two Ethernet connections the LCD no longer displays the network connection properly. It simply says 'Network 3' 'down'. There are clearly only 2 Ethernet ports available and they are both working fine. Perhaps a software update will allow this to display properly for linked ports.

-No eSATA, which seems to be a common inclusion with other NAS solutions.
Other Thoughts: For RAID options Seagate's SimplyRAID seems like the best choice here. While on paper it isn't quite as fast as RAID 5 and not nearly as fast as RAID 10, gigabit Ethernet don't allow either of those options to perform to their potential. In reality, Ethernet will bottleneck any RAID option you use here so performance differences between them are a moot point. SimplyRAID features better scalability (in the off chance you move these 4 drives into a larger Seagate NAS) and is preconfigured so no work is required for you to set anything up. RAID 5 on the other hand took the NAS about 14 hours to perform the initial synchronization and RAID 10 only gives you 2 drives worth of storage instead of 3.

The front panel LCD is read only. There is also no information in the documentation about how to use it, although it's simple enough to figure out. Use the arrows to navigate and long press either of the arrows to enter/exit sub menus. Information provided includes whether or not the network is connected, percentage of used storage, alerts, temps, fan speed, date and time (including up-time), and software version.

For the price of this NAS, you could obtain 4x 5TB HDD's and build a small PC around them to create your own DIY NAS. However, you would be hard pressed to create an experience as streamlined, feature rich, easy to use, power efficient, and compact as this. Those aspects, on top of the great hardware, make this NAS a bargain in my mind.

This unit being brand new, I can't criticize the limited apps selection too much. The hardware platform and software interface are solid. As long as Seagate gives this unit the attention it deserves it will be very exciting to see what it will be capable of in the future.
Reviewed By:Matthew H,8/18/2014 10:42:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DiskStation DS214se Diskless System Network Storage - Retail

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 My second DiskStation
Pros: Basic setup is very quick and easy. Reliable and quiet. Excellent support for TimeMachine. Mobile apps (DSAudio, DSPhoto) work well.
Cons: Technical support info on the web is scattered and, as a result, the learning curve can be steep. Getting everything (which is a lot!) out of the unit takes a lot of work.
Other Thoughts: This is my second Synology DiskStation. I've owned a DS-212J for over a year. I have two locations, and this DS214SE is for my home use. The primary use is for backup of our MacBooks. Secondary uses include media storage (audio) and personal cloud usage. Future usage includes web server and web services and possible home automation and monitoring.

The latest version of DiskStation (V5) is a big improvement. The EZ-Internet works very well, providing your router and ISP don't present roadblocks. For this installation, I have an AirPort Extreme and a cable modem and the automated setup worked flawlessly. At my other location, I have a flaky ISP (their DNS is so bad I have to use the Google DNS) and use a Belkin router and I have yet to troubleshoot the connection issues.

One word of advice: it take a while to configure a second disk, it's much faster to do an initial installation of two disks.

In general, setting up connectivity can be tricky. I've yet to be able to make the web server accessible from the outside world. Ideally, I want my own web server, mail server and DNS. Getting all these to work takes a lot of detective work. This product would benefit greatly from a comprehensive guide to setting this up. As it is, there are bits and pieces of instruction in various KB articles and forum postings and it can feel a bit like chasing one's tail.

Having said all that, the automated backup and media storage alone make this a worthwhile investment. My wife's MacBook crashed during an OSX update and it was very easy to restore from TimeMachine.
Reviewed By:Bunkie,8/18/2014 7:18:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Seagate > Seagate STDE20000100 20TB NAS Pro 4-Bay Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Robust & Flexible!
Pros: - Ease of setup
- Storage space
- Flexibility
- Small to medium workgroup
- Apps and multiple services
Cons: - Price
- Inability to change RAID operation, if desired
Other Thoughts: This toaster-sized NAS has 2 Ethernet and 3 USB (2.0 and 3.0) ports and a hard reset button. There is a large external adapter that gets warm, but the quietly fan-cooled box stays cool. When warmed up, the drives run about 50∘C. Each drive lights a front panel number when being accessed. There is also a text display panel which shows the status. That’s generally off unless booting or error.

Although containing 3.5" desktop drives, you get a packet of 2.5" drive screws for future drive replacement. The 20TB system uses Seagate’s high reliability 5TB disk drives (with 5 yr warranty when bought separately). They have a huge 128MB cache. A 1.70GHz dual-core Intel processor, with 2GB of RAM, provides up to 200MB/s of file transfer.

Hit the front power button, open your web browser to Http://discover.seagate.com and the NAS is found and initialized in 2 minutes, reporting the IP and MAC numbers. After a firmware update and two automatic restarts, the drive went online in 18 min. (If no firmware update is needed, the setup is extremely fast for an array.) There are a myriad of services available, including Time Machine and iTunes service and USB printer share. The drive does not default to a recoverable recycle bin, but you can change that easily through the services (“Network Recycle Bin”). The 2 Ethernet ports can be used to make certain services available to one network, but not the other. Secure FTP is one. After initial setup, you use the IP web GUI to manage.

Over 1300 files (11.1 GB) dragged across the network stored in about 15 minutes. This was noticeably faster than an older Buffalo RAID 1 system.

How the device works is somewhat mysterious; there is no documentation included other than warranty and quick setup guides. Seagate uses proprietary “SimplyRAID,” which reports 14.9 TB for storage and 5 TB for “Protection.” I contacted support who said the NAS allows drives of mixed capacities. But data cannot surpass the storage capacity of the smaller disk in a two-drive system. I think this might be some RAID 5 variant. No data will be lost in a one-drive failure and you hotswap the failing drive. Each account has another curiosity; a folder named “.lacie” that must stay, perhaps for storing the “overhead” information. I suspect Seagate had some help with the firmware.

The NAS is well suited for workgroup backup needs– up to 50 users. It would also be a good choice to record IP camera surveillance using the Seagate app “Surveillance Manager” to handle this (licensing required). There is a free antivirus app available to scan the drive. It is unintrusive. I also found WordPress and BitTorrent sync apps. Browsing with smartphones and tablets through Sdrive app makes the device flexible for in-the-field use too.

A 3-year warranty covers replacement with another unit, but of course, not the data.

This is a robust NAS solution that can be as easy or flexible as your workgroup needs.
Reviewed By:SciTeach,8/17/2014 9:22:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Seagate > Seagate STDE16000100 16TB NAS Pro 4-Bay Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Update
Pros: 102 MB/s !
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Just a quick update to my review below. Today I copied a large (~60 GB) batch of media files to the Seagate NAS Pro, all of them sized about 0.6 GB each. The Windows copy operation started at 95 MB/s, then quickly climbed to 102, and stayed there. That's 816 Mbps through a 1Gbps network with other stuff going on, and with a switch, router, and another switch in between the PC and the NAS.

One other note: Seagate does indeed have a downloadable utility for finding their NAS on the local LAN. It's called Seagate Network Assistant. It took me a while to find: first initialize the NAS, then go into the web interface, click on help and user manual. Under the Software chapter, you'll find a link to a separate NAS 4.0 OS manual. Deep down in that, you'll find a link to the Network Assistant. Seagate, this could be a little more straightforward, don't you think?
Reviewed By:BMan,8/17/2014 9:33:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Seagate > Seagate STCU16000100 16TB NAS 4-Bay Network Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Professional Class Product
Pros: I have the 16TB version, which amounts to 11.9TB usable, after both formatting and Raid 5 configuration.

The setup was easy, and took only a minute or two. The standard configuration is very acceptable for your average home user, but there are many settings in various areas of the OS that allow you to customize and personalize it to your needs. This is the kind of product that can grow with you as the level of electronics you own continues to modernize and evolve.

It's hard to directly reference the pro's of this product. Even in it's most basic form, it works exactly as you would expect. Better even, since it actually does most of the work for you. You can use it as a simple back up, or you could just as easily set it up as a home network hub, and give every PC/Tablet/Smartphone/Smart TV on your network the ability to pull media from it with ease. You could even set it up as a personal cloud and pull media from it from practically anywhere, at any time. The possibilities are a little hard to wrap your head around at first. It's amazing.
Cons: There is very little in the way of instructions. Admittedly, the OS is highly intuitive to anyone with a fair knowledge of networking and it's capabilities, but it could be overwhelming to anyone who recognizes a need for a NAS, but doesn't know much about the implementation of one. That being said, the standard setup is easy to accomplish, and good enough for basic backup and network storage.

I'm also not a fan of the fact that you have to be connected to the internet to complete the initial setup. The OS is essentially pre-configured, all you need to know is the IP address of the NAS and setup the admin password to get access to the GUI. It seems like this could've been done just as easily with a small piece of software set on the NAS itself, much like the OS, or maybe with a separate disc for people not connected to the internet. This could cause issues for people who don't have an internet connection, but DO want a NAS for their home network.
Other Thoughts: The enclosure is quite a bit smaller than I expected it to be. It's literally not much larger than the drives and fan it contains, maybe a few millimeters.Seagate technically doesn't consider this Business class since they have a separate line for that, but I disagree. Everything I've touched so far screams quality.

One thing I do want to point out is that I went into this thinking I'd have to setup the raid myself, but the OS uses SimplyRaid, which optimizes the drives available to automatically use the best version of raid available. I was planning to use Raid 2 and drop the system to 8 TB to achieve redundancy, but it chose Raid 5, which offered closer to 12TB but still had redundancy. I was very happy to discover this.

This is a fantastic product, and I'm thoroughly impressed with every aspect of it. Considering that the elegantly designed enclosure and highly stylish and intuitive OS are the real stars of this product, I'd recommend at least the diskless system to absolutely anyone, including those with a preference for other HDD manufacturers. This product is just that good. For Seagate fans, you need look nowhere else.
Reviewed By:Incoherent Drivel,8/16/2014 11:51:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop NAS > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR RND2110-100NAS 1TB ReadyNAS Duo 2-bay Network Storage (NAS)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice unobtrusive nas
Pros: Easy to use; replaced drives with 2TB Seagate ones, now three years in and no problems at all. Device monitors itself, emails me if it ever has a hiccup, cough or tummyache. Gives off no heat, usb ports easy to use to transfer files from thumbdrives. Good support on netgear forums.
Cons: Older versions MUST have their firmware updated, and you must update your raidar and radiator versions as well, or nothing will work correctly. Once done, everything works seamlessly and you have multi TB capacity. Netgear official support sucks. However, they have reps who monitor the support forums, and it seems that there are lots of other users out there who are IT professionals who know what they are doing, so it's easy to get information.
Other Thoughts: I own two of these, purchase the second after having the first for two years with no problems. If you want to use these as backups, just buy extra drives identical to the ones in the nas and switch out the drive on the right hand side of the device. The nas will format it and copy everything from the left side drive onto the new one during normal use, you'll never even know it's busy other than the little flashing light indicator. Terrific product.
Reviewed By:Nightfly,8/15/2014 5:39:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau