Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Motherboard Accessories > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE Model GC-WB867D-I (ver. 2) Bluetooth 4.0/WiFi Expansion Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 2nd one and it works perfect
Pros: I've had one of these in my pc for a year now. Connects to my router at 5G. So I bought one for my daughter's pc and it works perfect too.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: 5 bars connection status all the time. Love it!
Reviewed By:N/A,6/28/2015 9:03:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Motherboard Accessories > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE Model GC-WB867D-I (ver. 2) Bluetooth 4.0/WiFi Expansion Card

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 good price
Pros: great wifi card,not bad price for laptop card +adapter
Cons: Bluetooth chip doesn't work period.installed drivers from both online site and CD to no use at all tried both USB connections thinking mebe a loose solder..not worth the hassle to rma
Reviewed By:N/A,6/28/2015 12:24:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Motherboard Accessories > ASRock > ASRock Model USB 3.1/A+C Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 AsRock USB 3.1 add on card A+C
Pros: I've noticed a boost in my external devices moving data from one to another and no lag from the bus means you can run multiple operations simultaneously on external drives. Great for when you need to move data between drives on external docks. You just need a decent USB 3.0 hub.
Cons: Limited products available supporting the full usb 3.1 gen2 specs but they are sure to come. Even when they do arrive they will only be able to use a portion of the bandwidth this card supplies as single hard drives or even SSDs have a max throughput of 6gb/s and that's theoretical. in actual you would need 4 drives in a raid config to come close to saturating the bus.
Other Thoughts: If you want to get a jump on the usb 3.1 gen2 this is a great card for that because it offers the ports that allow you to utilize any standard usb 3.0 stuff plus the type C connector that will be utilized on the new tablets and phones to come. For now though startech is taking preorders on some external 3.1 gen2 drive docks.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/22/2015 10:05:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Motherboard Accessories > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE Model GC-WB867D-I (ver. 2) Bluetooth 4.0/WiFi Expansion Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Outstanding Product
Pros: -Incredible signal speed
-Automatic driver install, plug and play once it's in the PCI slot
-WiFi starts at the same speed as windows, no waiting for connectivity
-Bluetooth is great for things like dualshock 4
-Small, magnetic antenna that sticks to your case for a low profile without clutter
-Price!
Cons: -Needs to be installed on the motherboard, so get ready to open your case
-Exterior antenna isn't COMPLETELY streamlined or invisible
Other Thoughts: Bought this to replace a WiFi USB dongle and a Bluetooth USB dongle. Now my box is streamlined again, and I'm happy. Speeds are nuts, they blow the USB WiFi out of the water - games download off of Steam at 7 Mbps, up from 2-3 on USB. A cinch to install - there is a disc included but I never used it. Just pop it in the PCI slot, start your PC, and then connect to your network.

Great product if you're looking to cut cords and free some USB slots.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/19/2015 5:54:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Motherboard Accessories > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE Model GC-WB867D-I (ver. 2) Bluetooth 4.0/WiFi Expansion Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 This is only 802.11ac, Newegg this is on you
Pros: Out of all of the components I've purchased with Newegg for my build, none of them were DoA, and this wifi card appears to be working fine. Which in all regards would merit a much higher rating if it weren't for the cons.
Cons: The webpage states that this model is 802.11d and 802.11e, when it patently does not. This model goes as high as 802.11ac, so either the page should be updated to reflect that or they sent me the wrong product.

As a friend told me, the more letters you get behind the '802.11' part the better, and this page advertises a lot more letters than the actual product offers.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/11/2015 7:47:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Motherboard Accessories > ASRock > ASRock Model USB 3.1/A+C Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy Install
Pros: I wanted to build a new system but didn't want to wait for USB 3.1 to hit mainstream so I purchased this card for my Asus X99E WS board. Easy install and no problems installing the drivers which came with the disk. I haven't used the USB C port yet, but I have used the A port with no issues.
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:N/A,6/9/2015 8:11:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Motherboard Accessories > ASUS > ASUS Model Hyper Kit Expansion Card M.2 TO MINI SAS HD ADAPTER

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works but awkward
Pros: Allows you to connect an Intel 750 SSD 2.5" without installing an expansion card that would block airflow to a video card in a SLI setup.
Cons: It's somewhat bonkers that after its installed the receiving connector points towards the motherboard when the Hyper Kit is installed vertically as it is in a ASUS X99 Deluxe. I would have preferred the reverse orientation so that I could unplug the cable easily should I need to.
Other Thoughts: FYI, the Intel 750 2.5" SSD is extra tall (15mm), and would not fit into the behind the motherboard tray mounts on my Corsair 750D. I needed to adapt it to a 3.5" bay in the end to install it.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/7/2015 6:55:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Motherboard Accessories > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE Model GC-WB867D-I (ver. 2) Bluetooth 4.0/WiFi Expansion Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Exceptional Performance and Value
Pros: The 2.4 GHz / 5 GHz / BT combo is great to keep things simple

Wired antenna means you can place it where it gets the best reception

Magnetic antenna base makes it easy to mount where you need it

PCIe adapter card means I can swap out the mini PCIe to upgrade in the future

I got the rev 2.0 with the extra internal USB port
Cons: Bluetooth module needs an internal USB 2.0 header on the motherboard. Cable for this is a little short, though I had no problems.
Other Thoughts: A lot of people complaining about wireless networking components don't seem to actually know much about them. Wireless can be very finicky if you don't know what you're doing. 5 GHz is great for the extra speed, but it doesn't cover as well as 2.4 GHz does. Also, check what channels your neighbors use around you and set yours to one that allows the least interference. Even doing this, without a quality router, your network speed will be dismal.

As for this device, I don't have a single complaint about it in my personal case. I get sustained speeds of 60 Mbps which translates to 7 MB/s ( as in megaBYTES! ) I downloaded the entire Tomb Raider GotY over Steam ( over 10 GB, ) in under 30 minutes. This is also a floor down from the router and the other side of the house.

As others say, you do need to connect the card to an open USB 2.0 header on your motherboard if you want the Bluetooth module to work. The cable they give for this isn't terribly long. Most people will use the top PCIe x1 slot above their graphics card, where the cable might not reach. Instead, look at the bottom PCIe slot. Even if it's a x16 length slot, chances are it's wired for four lanes or less and runs off your motherboard chipset, not your CPU, so it won't steal bandwidth from your graphics card. It's also much closer to your USB headers. If you're worried about losing the header, I got the 2.0 revision card which has another USB port on it. You can use this to connect a USB device inside your case, like maybe a wireless mouse or something.

the key to this card is the antenna. A lot of wireless adapter cards have fixed antennas that sit in the back of your case, where reception may not be very good. This external antenna can be moved wherever it gets the best signal. The magnetic base makes it easy to mount to the top or side of your case without worry it can get knocked off. The antenna also pivots on the base.

Finally, this is technically a mini PCIe card in a PCIe adapter. That means you can keep the adapter and just replace the mini card when you want to upgrade wireless protocols. Considering good mini PCIe cards only run about $20, that's not a bad way to go.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/28/2015 8:21:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Motherboard Accessories > ASRock > ASRock Model USB 3.1/A+C Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome Superspeed USB 3.1 add-on
Pros: Very easy install, drivers can be installed after the card is placed. Then do a driver update, and Win 7, 8, or 10 will update to new driver for 3.1 superspeed. Bus shows up in Device manager as AsMedia USB connection.
Cons: None that I can think of. Price may be a consideration when other vendors come on-line with their products. AsMedia makes the main chip, so this is a good manufacturer of USB chips.
Other Thoughts: Has backwards compatible standard USB Type A input, and also a USB mini type, which the plug can be inserted either way, without a problem.
Reviewed By:OlyGark,5/27/2015 4:35:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Motherboard Accessories > ASRock > ASRock Model USB 3.1/A+C Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DO NOT BUY
Pros: never work
Cons: Burn my USB 3.1 mSATA enclosure
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued ASRock Customer

Sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
This symptom should not be occurred on this card.
Please provide us with detail information below:

1. Which USB3.1 mSATA device installed on this USB 3.1 card?
Please provide the detailed model name.
2. How you perform test and get this symptom?
Please provide the test process in detail.
3. Motherboard manufacturer and model (BIOS version) using with this card?

Please contact us at: http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp. We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock Support
Tech Support Email: http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp

Reviewed By:meni,5/25/2015 9:33:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.