Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV1108IPEXT 1 Port USB PS/2 Server Remote Control IP KVM Switch with Virtual Media

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Capable product with poor software
Pros: Very configurable. The stated video resolution and gigabit network capability is nice.
Cons: I purchased because of the high video resolution capability. I am using on a 16 port Swann NVR. It works, but at all resolutions except the lowest (1024x768) the mouse pointer does not track. It is completely unuseable with no mouse tracking. I followed all troubleshooting instructions. All mouse acceleration is off on both the host and the client. It just doesn't work. I believe this could be addressed in the client, but the latest version of the client software was released in 2013.
Other Thoughts: If the price was under $100 I'd probably give 5 stars. But for this price I'd expect a more mature viewer client.
Reviewed By:Jarod T.,4/28/2016 1:07:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > LINKSKEY > LINKSKEY LKU-S02ASK Slim Palmtop USB Audio & Mic KVM Switch w/ Cables

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Linkskey LKU-S02ASK 2-Port USB KVM Switch
Pros: The switch and its cables appear to be solid quality material.
The switching buttons and keyboard combinations work fine and allow me to switch from one desktop to the other.
Cons: This was my first attempt at setting up 2 desktops with a single monitor/keyboard/mouse, so I didn't know how easy or difficult it would be.
It would've saved me a lot of time and frustration if the setup/install printed instructions had been more detailed and clearer. I discovered that both the 15-pin VGA connector and the USB connector have to be connected to the rear panel of each desktop in order for the monitor to work.

Both of my desktops are fortunately only 4' apart, or else all of the cables would've been too short. Longer cables would've been nice.
Other Thoughts: This switch sold for a good price, so I bought 2 of them so I have one for a spare. Hopefully, the first one will be reliable and won't need replacing with the spare for a long time.
Reviewed By:Frank L.,4/28/2016 8:39:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS1644 4-Port Dual View Dual-Link DVI KVMP Switch with Audio

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as advertised
Pros: Solid build quality and does the job; this is not a flimsy plastic box. All needed cables except for monitor connection are provided. Press of switch results in audible chirp and LEDs are lit for all connections that are powered so you know which systems are live.
Cons: Steep entry point.
Other Thoughts: Shipped in factory box (not double boxed); unit survived FedEx manhandling OK but this should have been double boxed give the cost of this component.
My days of switching monitor input are finally over! Two computers and a work laptop are now happy sharing a double monitor setup. I should not have waited this long to get one of these.
Reviewed By:Alec B.,4/22/2016 12:44:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCE500U USB VGA KVM Console Extender

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Almost happy
Pros: So far, reliably performs after one month. Image quality (business applications, no heavy graphics) is good, keyboard & mouse are responsive, all over a single 150+ ft strand of Cat5e. Small device is easy to mount out of the way. The "local" side also has connections for a local console in addition to the remote end, but that leads into the cons...
Cons: The devices didn't link up when I first connected everything. I tinkered a while before calling tech support, who told me I HAD to plug a monitor and kb/m into the local side. I have no use for a local console, but the remote end did work once I set it up. On the bright side, it kept working after I removed the local monitor, but I'm not sure what will happen if there's a power failure or some other interruption.
Other Thoughts: It works as promised, so I do recommend it, but with the caveat about it requiring a local console. That's a waste of a monitor in my situation, but it might be a benefit to you.
Reviewed By:CHIP S.,4/20/2016 12:36:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > ATEN > ATEN CS782DP 2-Port UHD 4K USB DisplayPort KVM Switch - allows to access two 4K-enabled computers from a single USB keyboard, USB mouse, and DisplayPort video console

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Feeding to Apple LED Cinema Display, works well for attached MacBook Pro, fails after 15 minutes for attached Digital Audio G4
Pros: PC1 on the CS782DP is connected to an Early 2011 MacBook Pro; the MBP's output shows fine at 2560 x 1440 on the Cinema Display whenever PC1 is activated via the CS782DP's remote Port Selection Pushbutton.
Cons: Gefen GTV-DVIDL-2-MDP Dual Link DVI to Mini DisplayPort Converter loses Sync after 15 minutes connected as PC2 through ATEN CS782DP KVM switch,but doesn’t lose Sync if connected directly to monitor. Apple 2001 Digital Audio G4 Radeon DVI output is the input to the Gefen GTV-DVIDL-2-MDP; the G4's output disappears from the Cinema Display when the Gefen's Sync LED goes out. Note that, because CS782DP's PC ports are DisplayPort but G4's Radeon output is DVI (also has VGA output, but this didn't work when tried—before CS782DP arrived—directly connected to Cinema Display through converters), a DVI-to-DisplayPort converter such as the Gefen—plus a Mini-DisplayPort-to-DisplayPort adapter for the Gefen's output to the CS782DP—is needed.
Other Thoughts: ATEN Tech Support helpful, has hypothesis that there is a subtle incompatibility between DisplayPort and Mini DisplayPort, which shows up when I use an adapter to go between the Gefen's MiniDisplayPort output and the CS782DP's DisplayPort input, and then use another adapter to go between the CS782DP's DisplayPort output and the Cinema Display's Mini DisplayPort input. I replied that I have no problem if I go from the MacBook Pro's Mini DisplayPort output into the CS782DP's DisplayPort input, and then use another adapter to go between the CS782DP's DisplayPort output and the Cinema Display's Mini DisplayPort input.
Reviewed By:David H.,4/17/2016 4:17:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS634U MiniView USB KVM Switch with audio and cables

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Locked up, all 4 lights are lit.
Pros: Worked for a couple of weeks, sort of. It frequently lost connection with my Supermicro workstation.
Cons: Then one day it completely locked up, no input on any computer, and all 4 lights were lit up. I completely disconnected everything and reconnected everything THREE TIMES. Error is the same each time. As far as I can tell the unit is completely unresponsive to anything. Don't bother calling technical support, they just refer you to the online documentation, which tells you nothing about this error. I recorded my phone call, I was supposedly #2 in line for support, and after just a minute I was sent to voicemail. This is very unprofessional. I have other Iogear products I've recently purchased, I'll probably RMA them all in light of this lack of support after the sale. I can't have my customers going through that same experience.
Other Thoughts: I've been in the I.T. business for 15 years. I've never had a complete failure on a KVM in this short of a time.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for the inconvenience. The GCS634U is a plug and play device so troubleshooting is very limited. The Type of problem described is most likely a failure of the KVM. The product should not behave as you described. Since the unit is backed by IOGEAR's 3 year warranty feel free to contact our customer support at 1-866-946-4327 or email us: support@iogear.com. Again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/14/2016 4:02:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV211DPUA 2 Port USB DisplayPort Cable KVM Switch w/ Audio and Remote Switch - USB Powered

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Functional entry-level switch
Pros: - Does what it is supposed to, with one caveat - see cons
- Comes with all cables integrated
- Has dedicated physical button on a long wire in addition to keyboard shortcut
Cons: - Loud high pitch noise via the audio output
Other Thoughts: I ended up bypassing this switch for audio, and connecting the speakers directly to one of the two PCs instead. If routed via the switch, audio has loud high pitch noise which is pretty annoying. Luckily for me, I only really needed DP and USB switching. Other than that, works well. Having a dedicated hard button for switching in addition to keyboard shortcut is really convenient.
Reviewed By:Igor Z.,4/14/2016 10:47:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS24U 4-Port USB Cable KVM Switch

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Perfect for combined keyboard and mouse.
Pros: USB ports are a direct passthrough, so they work with pretty much anything. I have a rack mount monitor with the keyboard and trackpad on one usb, and regular usb kvm's that use scroll lock or other key combinations won't pass through a mouse signal.

This also passes through flash drives just as easily, though if you change computer with it running, windows asks to scan it for errors when you reconnect.

The little remote is also very nice, would be nicer if it had a light to indicate which computer it was on, but not a deal breaker.
Cons: Cables are molded in, I prefer ones that are separate, but it's easy enough to set it up, though in a dark space, with no markings on them, it might be harder to set up.

Only indication of what computer you are on is on the main body, so if it's mounted in a place you can't see (like behind a desk, or on the side in my server rack), you can't quickly tell which computer you are on, though it's not that big of a deal.

Remote cable seems like it could rip/get pinched through fairly easily since it is very thin, but this also means that it won't get pulled off of a desk by the weight.

Other Thoughts: The cables could be longer for a desktop situation, but for a server rack they are a great length, they could even be shorter and I wouldn't mind actually.

No mounting holes for screws, so double sided tape is a must.
Reviewed By:Jesse L.,4/11/2016 5:55:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > Rosewill > Rosewill RKV-2UC 2-Port USB KVM Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good basic KVM
Pros: -Price
-(wired) Remote Control length
Cons: -Short wires from KVM base to computer
-Needing 2 USB connections per computer (one for mouse, one for keyboard)
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/7/2016 7:16:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TK-1603R 16-Port USB + PS/2 Rack Mount KVM Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Reliable Workhorse
Pros: Simple setup
Reliable
Inexpensive
usable with older tech
and newer tech with adapters
Stout metal casing
Cons: doesn't cascade...but for the price and reliability, who cares?
Other Thoughts: For compatibility with older tech alone this can be a godsend.
Otherwise this machine has performed wonderfully.

Purchased over 7yrs ago when business was new and $$$ tight. Replaced it with "better quality, named brand" KVMs when business was more profitable. The "better" machines have died and this was recently pulled back into regular duty from the low-end bench and is working like a champ.

Honestly considering buying a few more since these guys have been such stellar performers for so very long. Has outlasted and outperformed "high-end" devices 2, 3 even 5 times the price. Been through power surges, wrong power supplies (comes with 9v1A and one dufus put a 12v2.1A PS on it. Smelled funny but still worked/works.) heat, dust, wet, dropped and blunt force trauma of sorts (don't ask) and still working. Just think the whole "licking & ticking" thing.

As amazing as this thing has been I can't see the ones we bought being the only ones out there made to last.
Please DO NOT listen to the Nay Sayers.
Reviewed By:Fred B.,4/7/2016 4:35:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.