Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV231DPU3A 2 Port SuperSpeed USB 3.0 DisplayPort KVM Switch with Audio and Cables

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Avoid -- seriously flawed design.
Pros: Well packaged, reasonable form factor, provides all needed cables, supports USB 3.0 and is easy to switch between systems. The cons very greatly out weigh these few pros.
Cons: By far the most serious flaw of this KVM is that it does not support a useful range of refresh rates. In particular this KVM will not work with an Asus Swift ROG PG278Q unless the refresh rate of said monitor is *severely* dialed back. But the high refresh rate is a significant reason that one would want the PG278Q monitor.

The second serious flaw is that this KVM does not support monitor emulation. In practical terms this means that when the display is switch from one system to the other, the system that is switched away from thinks it no longer has a monitor. In the case of Windows, this results in the desktop icons being rearranged. This is very annoying.

Another problem that I would have been willing to live with had the KVM proven otherwise satisfactory is that the lights on the KVM are distractingly bright and often times flash.

Prior to purchasing the KVM, I diligently contacted StarTech support who assured me that this KVM would support the PG278Q. But it does not and because of this misinformation, I wasted time/money trying this KVM.

Not recommended at all. Avoid.
Other Thoughts: This is not a negative reflection on Newegg. Newegg has always treated me more than fairly. Newegg will certainly continue to my go-to purveyor of electronics related goods.
Reviewed By:Hill Country Rider,1/23/2015 7:30:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS22u 2-Port USB KVM Switch w/built-in cables

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't work
Pros: Very easy setup
Cons: Doesn't work. When switching PCs, screen resolution can get lost and cannot be restored (to external monitor). The mouse on the PC that is not currently "active" can get lost offscreen...as though it still thinks it is connected to the external monitor
Other Thoughts: Tried to file an RMA for this item, but the return shipping costs more than the part itself.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for the inconvenience. To better service you and understand your set up, please feel to contact our customer support at 1-866-946-4327 or email us: support@iogear.com. The GCS22U is a very basic non emulated KVM. If you follow a boot with focus when connecting the KVM you should not have any of the problems described. For more information on boot with focus contact support or browse the knowledge base at IOGEAR.com Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:N/A,1/23/2015 8:22:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS22u 2-Port USB KVM Switch w/built-in cables

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent KVM
Pros: Needed to connect work laptop to two external screens as well as switch to home desktop on one of the screens. Plugged right in w/ no problems. Quick switch between systems. Didn't work with my wireless kbd/mouse but no big deal.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Outstanding value for the price. Don't do gaming or high end stuff. Werks fer my needs!!
Reviewed By:azscarecrow,1/21/2015 4:18:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > Syba > SYBA SY-KVM20075 2-port KVM Switch (DVI/USB/Audio) Perfect for Windows and Mac Systems

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fine Product
Pros: Good KVM. Easy cable management. USB. High Resolutions
Cons: Minor issues w/ keybinding video switching. Just doesn't always work. Sometimes if the primary machine is off it won't work at all. But not always haha.
Reviewed By:chaddubya,1/21/2015 3:55:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS1722 2 Port VGA KVM Switch w/ PS2 & USB

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worth the $$.
Pros: One of the better KVMs I've had. Ever boot a computer when the KVM wasn't switched to it and ended up in a low-res display? This unit doesn't have that problem. YAY!
Cons: None. No negative issues encountered.
Reviewed By:MrAverage,1/20/2015 11:17:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech NOTECONS02 onsole to Laptop USB 2.0 Portable Crash Cart Adapter with File Transfer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Must have tool for headless installs
Pros: Works with every system I've tried.
Hasn't dropped a connection yet.
Works with BIOS/POST screens.
Far more convenient than lugging around a console.
Cons: None yet.
Other Thoughts: This has proven invaluable for dealing with some of my headless systems. I used to lug around a spare monitor, keyboard, and mouse for servicing the systems in the field. Now I just carry my laptop and this device.
Reviewed By:p,1/20/2015 12:34:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > Syba > SYBA SY-KVM20107 4-Port USB VGA KVM Switch with Speaker, Microphone, Printer and Thumb Drive Supp

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Eh...
Pros: 4 LCD monitors, 1 panel.
Cons: Died shortly after a year, be careful with your AC adapter. RDP is more effective.
Other Thoughts: If you must buy one, go for it; but if you'd rather use RDP and save the money, do that instead.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We apologize for your dissatisfaction with the quality of this KVM.

We are more than happy to provide all of our customers with a prompt exchange whenever a product becomes defective.

SYBA offers an online RMA form, the user can easily fill out the form and submit it for a quick RMA return and exchange. It is SYBA's policy to answer all customer inquiries within 24 hours (M-F)

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST 01232015

Reviewed By:N/A,1/18/2015 11:07:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > ATEN > ATEN CS682 2 Port DVI-D KVM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product
Pros: Received on time, easy install & set-up. Works as advertised right out of the box. Good quality design and workmanship. Excellent manufacture instructions.
Cons: No real cons.
Other Thoughts: Would be even greater if it included a USB port for switching a webcam as well.
Reviewed By:lugene777,1/14/2015 5:51:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TK-207K 2-Port USB KVM Switch

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Spoiled by a better one
Pros: Low price
Cons: Absurdly short cords
Gives monitor green tint
No audio connection
Other Thoughts: My previous KVM switch had one set of cords die, so could only use with one PC. I thought I'd save money and replace with this one. You always get what you pay for. The cords on the TrendNet are so short as to be unusable, there's no audio connection (which I had on the old one and assumed came standard), and my monitor turned a sickly green on hookup. I returned it immediately and just re-ordered from the site I used previously, and couldn't be happier.
Manufacturer Response:Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. If you were getting a green tint on both PC’s connected to the KVM it most likely was a hardware issue with the KVM. The KVM has 4 ft. cables and does not support audio. We try to list these within the device specifications to prevent any confusion. We do carry models with audio support, TK-209K for example. There is no standard feature set but we do carry a variety of models to fit most needs. We will look into improving the specifications to avoid any future confusion regarding cable lengths and feature set.


Thank you,

Adrian
TRENDnet Support
http://www.trendnet.com/support

Reviewed By:grrgoyl,1/13/2015 11:55:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS1104 4-Port USB DVI KVMP Switch with Audio and Cables

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 So far, so good
Pros: My new employer uses Macs so my old PS2/VGA KVM solution between my old work PC and my personal PC wasn't going to cut it. I decided to cut the cord and move to a USB/DVI solution to get something that worked for my new Mac and my home PC (Win 7).

Unlike my old bus-powered KVM, this one has an external power adapter and is built very well. I had to construct a small shelf under my desk to put the KVM on it. I also went with the 4port model since I might be moving my Linux box from the basement up to my office. The price difference between the 2port and the 4port wasn't huge.

I hooked up my standard PC keyboard and my Logitech USB wheel mouse and after a few driver updates in Windows, I was off and running. Worked great. I then hooked up my Mac with a Thunderbolt to HDMI & HDMI to DVI adapters (yes, I know I can get a single adapter but this is what I have). That worked great. The wheel mouse worked great (I think the KVM is emulating it but I'm not sure). I'll miss a few things about my Apple MagicMouse, but no big deal. I'll keep it for when I'm on the road.
Cons: It is hard to tell which firmware version you have. The 'list out current settings' function (HSM + [F4]) does not show that. They should have that output list the model # and the installed firmware version. I was finally able to determine that IOGEAR encodes the version in the USB device name. I had '113'. The latest on the website is '117'. The release notes for '117' simply list the changes since the last version. I couldn't figure out the set of changes between '113' and '117'. I contacted support and they said the prior versions where to deal with bugs with certain keyboards and mice and if it was working for me, then I should not update. Really? How do I know that? For all I know the bugs fixed were dealing with timing issues or random hangs, etc that I might have have seen yet (I'm only just a few days into my usage). So I went again and updated to '117' with no problem following the instructions in the manual. Version '117' did add power-on detection but the release notes didn't really explain it. I found the same feature in other IOGEAR KVM manuals. They should go back and update the manual.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/12/2015 1:38:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.