Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > BYTECC INC > BYTECC KVM-2UHM 2X1 USB HDMI KVM Switch

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Less than impressed, 40% Effective.
Pros: Works on my Win 7 machine flawlessly
Cons: Barely functions on my Win 10 machine
Other Thoughts: Bought this because I was looking for a relatively easy way to put my "new" and "old" machine on the same KVM combo. On the old machine everything works flawlessly. On my new machine the keyboard and mouse barely work, forget about audio, and don't even bother looking for help or updated drivers from the OEM. Will be replacing as soon as I find a more reliable product.
Reviewed By:JESSE P.,7/24/2016 12:35:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR Z-GHDSW3 - 3-Port HDMI Switch w/ Remote

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works great
Pros: Easy set up
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Carl K.,7/24/2016 5:47:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV231DDVDUA 2 Port DVI VGA Dual Monitor KVM Switch USB with Audio & USB 2.0 Hub

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Returned for a refund
Pros: Allows both DVI and VGA inputs.
Cons: Can't count the number of times I had to power it off/on due to no signal when switching between computers. Constantly have to disconnect / reconnect ALL the cables & power off, otherwise it doesn't reset properly. Didn't buy from Newegg but wanted to warn those in the market for a KVM switch. Disconnecting one computer & moving cables to the other is actually easier than using this switch since you end up disconnecting everything on the switch anyway. Put in a tech support request w/StarTech but never got a reply.
Other Thoughts: I would never recommend this product to anyone. This was the first and last StarTech device I'll ever purchase.
Reviewed By:Mr. Y.,7/22/2016 5:32:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > ATEN > ATEN CS782DP 2-Port UHD 4K USB DisplayPort KVM Switch - allows to access two 4K-enabled computers from a single USB keyboard, USB mouse, and DisplayPort video console

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Supports 4K, G-Sync works, finicky with older DisplayPort GPUs, no USB 3.0, never allows monitor to deep-sleep
Pros: Working at 4K @ 60Hz w/ G-Sync (Acer Predator XB321HK w/ GTX 1080)
USB pass-through on one USB port, works connected to USB hub
Cons: Monitor deep-sleep not working when connected. Caused a constant current draw of around 20W
No USB 3.0. Would be nice to have to support the normal USB 3 lifestyle these days.
Does not seem to work with older DisplayPort specification (>DP 1.2)
Other Thoughts: Maybe I'm being critical because I'm using this KVM outside of it's recommended purpose. I have two computers, my work laptop, and my gaming desktop, but want them to share the same keyboard, mouse, and USB headset. Because it's a gaming desktop, all my peripherals are gaming style (Logitech G15 keyboard, Razer DeathAdder mouse, Logitech G933 headset). There is only one USB port that supports true pass-through support, so I have to attach a hub. I was worried about bandwidth with the USB headset sharing the keyboard and mouse, but luckily the keyboard and mouse are fairly low bandwidth and work.

The only real complain that I have about this KVM is that it keeps my monitor from deep-sleeping, where it would consume roughly 0.5W. Without deep-sleep, when the monitor is off, it consumes about 20W. Maybe a firmware update can fix this.
Reviewed By:Ryan N.,7/21/2016 8:15:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > Syba > SYBA SY-KVM22004 2-Port PS/2 KVM Switch Supports Audio with Built-in Cables

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good enough.
Pros: It does what it's supposed to do, it does it fast, its plug and play. I definitely consider it well built and at a good price.
Cons: There is no switch only the ctl+ctl function to change monitors. Without an actual switch button there is no way to put your first computer to sleep and then switch to your other computer. So I set this up where both computers will automatically sleep after 15 minutes. Problem here has been that twice since I bought this a month ago when both computers were asleep I came back to find a flashing KVM switch and I can't wake either computer, only hard shutdown and reboot both computers.

I also have faint but noticeable "buzz" in my audio. Although this might be caused by the switch sitting near the monitor.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We thank you for your interest in our products. Unfortunately we do not have a fix for two computers being asleep at the same time.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.
- Regards, SYBA CST 2016722

Reviewed By:Andy B.,7/20/2016 3:28:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV5USBM USB Server Interface Module for Enterprise Series IP KVM

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not an IP KVM
Pros: Not a thing.
Cons: If you read closely enough, you'll see that this is *NOT* an IP KVM but is instead just meant to connect a system to an IP KVM device. If you don't have their proprietary device, this will be useless to you.
Other Thoughts: I miss the days when newegg let you return things without hassle. Now I'm stuck with this thing.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/19/2016 12:52:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > Rosewill > Rosewill RKV-2UC 2-Port USB KVM Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A real space saver
Pros: - Eliminated a monitor, keyboard, and mouse.
- Touch monitor still works with computer that was originally setup for.
- Setup was easy.
- Just click small switch to change monitor, keyboard, and mouse from one computer to the other.
Cons: - Change from one system to the other can be slow.
Other Thoughts: The switch is really slick. Worked as advertised.
Reviewed By:Joseph G.,7/18/2016 3:08:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech.com 2 Port Triple Monitor DVI USB KVM Switch with Audio & USB 2.0 Hub

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Works with my 2 24 and 1 22 inch (all Dell) monitors.
Both the mouse and keyboard and USB audio all work.
Connecting 2 windows systems.
Cons: When I first just moved connections over, I had a VGA end that I put a VGA to DVI adapter on. When that monitor did not work and I looked at the back of the system, seeing I had a DVI to VGA adapter there.... It worked great after I replaced the cable, and adapters, with just a DVI cable. So not sure it is a con, but DVI adapter to VGA cable to VGA to DVI adapter does not work, but why would you.
My HDMI cable (out of a docking station) into a HDMI to DVI adapter (then into the KVM) is working fine.

Right now all the USB devices are using the "secondary" USB ports, so the hotkeys don't work. I may swap the keyboard over to the dedicated port later.
EDIT --- I did move the keyboard to the dedicated port, and hotkeys started working right away.---
Other Thoughts: I plan to add/replace the connection from one PC to using a Display Port. I have a DP to DVI adapter that I'll be trying out of the PC side. If I can, and remember, I'll come update when I do that.

EDIT ---
Got all my connections done.
DP to DVI adapter to DVI cable to KVM works fine.
HDMI to DVI cable works fine.
---
Reviewed By:Henry S.,7/16/2016 9:54:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS24U 4-Port USB Cable KVM Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works with Logitech wireless
Pros: I specifically bought this to use my Logitech unifying receiver, paired with my Logitech m705 mouse & k750 keyboard and it works reliably without any glitches at all. Awesome! It only works on one of the USB inputs though...I think the one that DOESN'T have the keyboard icon next to it oddly enough.
Cons: Switching can't be done with keyboard shortcuts or the hardware hub. It has to be done with the wired remote which is unfortunate for convenience and worrying because if the thinly wired remote stops working the unit can't function.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/15/2016 12:55:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS62HU 2-Port HD Cable KVM Switch with Audio

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Works intermittently
Pros: When it works it is really handy
Cons: Doesn't always work. Tech support sucks.
Other Thoughts: I've had this for a few years. If it is used on two old Win7, machines it will work OK. However, it has intermittent problems with audio, mouse and keyboard working when you switch. I finally gave up on Iogear tech support. I wouldn't buy it again. In fact, I am looking for a replacement.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for your experience. The problems you are describing in most cases can related to your setup and equipment used. This is a very high selling low failure KVM. There are settings through the KVM that can be changed to help with problems like you are describing including turning off the mouse emulation and using a powered hub in the mouse port. Since the GCS62HU is an emulated KVM, There is no guarantee with anything other than a basic wired keyboard and mouse unless it is an IOGEAR brand. Our KVM’s emulate a standard 102 key, keyboard and generic 2-button scroll wheel mouse. The reason for this emulation is to allow the hot key functions to operate. A side effect of the emulation is that in most cases the special key sequences required for gamming, and key programming will not translate correctly through the KVM, for gamming we recommend connecting directly to the computer.

Although our KVMs will work with most wireless keyboard mouse sets, we cannot promise an individual multimedia / programmable keyboard and mouse set will work through the KVM.

Due to the large number of manufacturer's and each manufacturer's wide range of models it is impossible to maintain any meaningful compatibility list.
Thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:James W.,7/14/2016 7:45:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.