Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS22U 2-Port USB KVM Switch with Cables and Remote

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: I'm switching a DualHead2Go with two 22" 1900x1080 monitors with a powered USB hub plugged into one of the ports. Keyboard, mouse, monitors all switch with no issue. Each computer has full Matrox settings available. It's incredible.
Cons: No mounting holes? That's probably a little picky.
Other Thoughts: Third KVM I've tried on this setup. First one to work.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/27/2016 4:58:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS632U 2-Port USB PLUS KVM Switch with Built-in KVM Cables and Audio Support

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 would be perfect if it had a manual switch.
Pros: mostly very useful product when it switches correctly. I really like that the sound from both machines are connected.
Cons: There is no way to manually activate the switch. occasionally the left side of the switch will activate even if I boot the right side computer. When this happens, I have to disconnect the left side computer from the switch to get the right side machine to activate and then I have to reconnect the left side unit.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for the inconvenience. IOGEAR make a KVM to suite almost all needs from low end to high end. The GCS632U is an entry level emulated KVM with no manual buttons. You must have a wired 104 key keyboard connected for the hot key switching to work correctly. No guarantee with any other type of keyboard unless it is an IOGEAR brand.The GCS22U has a manual button only and the GCS1732 has hot key switching as well as front panel buttons To better service you and understand your set up, please feel to contact our customer support at 1-866-946-4327 or email us: support@iogear.com. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/24/2016 9:35:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS932UB 2-Port USB DVI KVM with Audio and Mic.

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 First unit defective
Pros: EDID/DDC or whatever keeps Windows 7 from moving windows and icons around when switching between computers.
I love the hardware button--much better than having to constantly toggle scroll lock.
Price is the cheapest I've seen for this type of KVM with EDID/DDC feature.
Cons: First unit is defective. For one of the computer connections, color is too blue or green (?), and has artifacts and lines on the display.
Cables are very short. Even the USB cable barely reaches the USB port when DVI is plugged in.
Other Thoughts: I suspected I would have issues with this product, given the 3 egg rating, but decided to give it a shot anyway. I just hope the next unit I get works.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for the inconvenience. The GCS932UB is a very high selling low failure DVI KVM solution. Most of the failures reported by customers for this KVM are related to the use of 3rd party video adapters. The product should not behave as you described. Since the unit is backed by IOGEAR's 3 year warranty feel free to contact our customer support at 1-866-946-4327 or email us: support@iogear.com. Again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:Douglas M.,9/19/2016 6:38:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > Coboc > Coboc KVM-2DVIUA 2-Ports 4K2K USB/DVI-D KVM Switch Kit w/ Audio &Mic - Dual-Link DVI 3840 x 2160

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Buy a different KVM box
Pros: Relatively inexpensive
Cons: Will not recognize a Microsoft mouse. When a computer goes to sleep the video signal dies in the KVM switch. And I have found no way to get it back other than to boot the machine.
Other Thoughts: Look for a better quality KVM switch.
Reviewed By:Donald M.,9/18/2016 6:34:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > D-Link > D-Link DKVM-4U 4-Port USB KVM Switch

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works great... but...
Pros: Works great. Sever rack with KVM console.
Cons: States it includes two 6 foot KVM cables. Item shipped with 4 foot cables instead. I believe this was a D-Link issue though.
Other Thoughts: Trying to work out resolution. (bought 2)

UPDATE Sept 10 2016:
Mfg was only able to provide 1 (one) correct 6 foot cable.
Mfg and Newegg state the correct cables (6 ft.) are discontinued and are not available.
Will have to use KVM's as is, though cables are taut in my server rack.
Upgrade rating to 3 stars due to wrong (short) cables in box, though KVM itself works fine.
Reviewed By:Darrin S.,9/12/2016 7:25:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV831DUSBUK 8 Port 1U Rack Mount USB KVM Switch Kit with OSD and Cables

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 What a group of stupid pics
Pros: One pic of the front of the unit
Cons: No pics of the back of the unit! Who cares about a pic of the side of the unit. How can an assessment of this unit be made without at least a pic of the back of the unit. And, I found out it seems to be common throughout other model detail pages.
Manufacturer Response:Hi Terry,

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. Hopefully we can you out.

By the sounds of your review, you do not yet own the product. The reviews themselves are typically used for customer who own the product, allowing them to share their use of the product. Regardless through we appreciate the feedback, both pre and post sale.

Regarding the concern of missing images. The image you mentioned, of the back of the unit, is actually available by clicking the ellipses to expand the full image gallery.

I have attached screen captures of these to assist in clarifying that for you.

If you need anything further, please contact our technical advisors team via the link below this message.

Thank You,

Barry
Customer Support
http://www.startech.com/support
Related File(s):
jpgextraimgs
jpgimg-rear

Reviewed By:Terry P.,9/9/2016 1:11:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > Coboc > Coboc KVM-4DVIUA 4-Ports 4K2K USB/DVI-D KVM Switch Kit w/ Audio &Mic -Dual-Link DVI 3840 x 2160

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Dual-Link DVI KVM Cheap, but there is a price.
Pros: 1. A Dual-Link KVM for under $100 is unheard of.
2. It works from the push buttons.
3. I did get a good laugh from the manual. Near the end it says the switch has a "mental case".
Cons: 1. Would not work with my wireless keyboard. I was told that the USB is not fully USB 2.0 compliant and won't work with some devices.
2. No manual included. (Newegg tech support finally got me a manual PDF but it didn't answer any of my question)
3. Tech support couldn't tell me what the hot keys are to switch inputs. Neither did the manual. I still don't know.
4. This thing is downright ugly sitting on your desktop, and it slides all over the place.
Other Thoughts: My monitor won't handle resolutions that would require Dual-Link. I got this because it was one of the cheapest DVI KVM switches I could find. If you don't need dual-link I would spend a few more dollars and get something from a better known manufacturer.
Reviewed By:Terrill S.,9/4/2016 8:42:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS1104 4-Port USB DVI KVMP Switch with Audio and Cables

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Most complicated
Pros: None that I can see as it does not work out of the box like the old KVM did.
Cons: Upgraded from an older Iogear that worked for over 10 years and still works, but wanted sound and USB ports for mouse and keyboard as new PCs have done away with PS2 ports. The GSC1104 has no video and will not switch to other ports. Very complicated on updating the firmware. still can't get it updated. Hot key does not work and can't change it. only thing that works are the mouse, keyboard and sound. No video and no switching using hotkey. Instructions are lacking and difficult to follow. Have only been able to switch ports using the switch on front of device. Only get video by running it directly from PC to monitor.
Other Thoughts: No I would not recommend this device as it is to difficult to get running using the instructions provided. Limited video resolution not like the old box I used.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for the inconvenience. The GCS1104 is a very high selling plug, low failure and play KVM. Upgrading the firmware is done though USB. Since the GCS1104 is an emulated KVM there is no guarantee with any keyboard other than a basic 104 key wired keyboard unless it is an IOGEAR brand. The GCS1104 supports resolutions up to 1920x 1280 (Single link DVI) To better service you and understand your set up, please feel to contact our customer support at 1-866-946-4327 or email us: support@iogear.com. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:Frederick K.,8/27/2016 11:25:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > ATEN > ATEN CS782DP 2-Port UHD 4K USB DisplayPort KVM Switch - allows to access two 4K-enabled computers from a single USB keyboard, USB mouse, and DisplayPort video console

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Feeding to Apple LED Cinema Display, works well for attached MacBook Pro and attached Digital Audio G4
Pros: PC1 on the CS782DP is connected to an Early 2011 MacBook Pro; the MBP's output shows fine at 2560 x 1440 on the Cinema Display whenever PC1 is activated via the CS782DP's remote Port Selection Pushbutton. PC2 is connected to a 2001 Mac Digital Audio G4 via a Gefen GTV-DVIDL-2-MDP Dual Link DVI to Mini DisplayPort Converter; the G4's output shows fine at 1280 x 720 (the CS782-compatible limit for the G4's graphics hardware/driver) whenever PC2 is activated via the CS782DP's remote Port Selection Pushbutton.
Cons: If I put the MBP to sleep while it is connected through the CS782DP to my 27-inch Apple LED Cinema Display, the display goes into deep sleep mode and won't wake up when I switch the CS782DP to connect it with the G4. (In the previous version of this review, I reported that the Gefen GTV-DVIDL-2-MDP Dual Link DVI to Mini DisplayPort Converter lost Sync after 15 minutes connected as PC2 through ATEN CS782DP KVM switch. That eventually turned out to be caused by a forgotten default System Preferences setting in Mac OS X 10.3.9 on the G4.)
Other Thoughts: There is a workaround for the above Cons problem, which works only because my MBP is USB-cabled to the CS782DP via an external keyboard rather than the laptop itself. The workaround—suggested by a second-level Apple Support person—is to _first_ activate PC2 via the CS782DP's remote Port Selection Pushbutton, and _then_ to put the MBP to sleep via Ctrl-Shift-MediaEject or Ctrl-Shift-Power entered on the _laptop_ keyboard. Also note that, because CS782DP's PC ports are DisplayPort but G4's Radeon output is DVI (also has VGA output, but this didn't work when tried—before CS782DP arrived—directly connected to Cinema Display through converters), a DVI-to-DisplayPort converter such as the Gefen—plus a Mini-DisplayPort-to-DisplayPort adapter for the Gefen's output to the CS782DP—is needed.
Reviewed By:David H.,8/24/2016 7:46:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > APC > APC AP5808 Rackmount LCD Console with Integrated KVM Switch

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good product, doesn't ship with actual items needed
Pros: - Easy to install
- Compatible with everything
- Expansion port for additional management on one unit
Cons: - Only comes with ONE (x1) vga/usb cable and ONE (x1) vga/ps2 cable. Really??? Come on APC...

By the way, the box and contents legit say you get only one. This is a unit NOT ready for use out of the box. You have to be prepared to buy more proprietary cables from APC.
Other Thoughts: I'd recommended it if you get this on a good deal to offset the additional cost of 7 more of theri proprietary vga/usb cabling.
Reviewed By:Will H.,8/24/2016 2:27:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.