Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS22u 2-Port USB KVM Switch w/built-in cables

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 You'd think it would work better
Pros: It sort of worked for a year or so ... sort of.
Cons: I do computer repairs, so I need this sort of product.

THIS one produces and has produced scan lines and noise on all computers connected to and through it, regardless of how the cabling is run from day one. I even tried running the cabling through a steel tube to isolate it from other power sources. No dice. NOISE. Bypass the switch and connect directly and it's fine.

Thumb switch is a nice idea with an A/B switch. Face it, you're either on one machine or the other. It works...sort of. From day one, you might need to depress it two, three and even four times to get it to the next system. Click...the screen flashes and you're back where you started. Click...and nothing. Click...and you finally got theres...maybe. I can just imagine how frustrating it would be if it were a 4-PORT. You wouldn't know where the heck you were after the first click!

After a year, one of the video outputs is BLUE. It's like i turned down the red and green outputs on my colour control. No matter how I drive the colour balance, it's BLUE. No way will i get another one of these. Now if I can just find a product that's worth the investment and frustration. Judging by what I see here, unless i want to spend a fortune, I'll be stuck with the same sort of garbage.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/18/2014 9:12:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS72U 2-Port USB Cable KVM Switch with Audio

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works 99% of the time
Pros: - Easy to use/simple.
- I prefer the hardware switch that this has vs. pure software switch.
- Works well between a Win 7 PC and an older Mac
Cons: On a couple of occasions the mouse just stopped responding. After a reboot, it started working again.
Reviewed By:8bitgamer,8/16/2014 4:02:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV565UTPU USB VGA KVM Console Extender over CAT5 UTP (500 ft)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 very happy works the way it should
Pros: NewEgg- perfect :-) ordered it one day had it the next,how do they do that?
UNIT-more features and options than I expected
log in to a remote computer and share or control the machine just like you were sitting there. The operator at the other station has no idea you have logged in.
Contacted tech support by "chat" instant and very helpful.
Works with wireless keyboard and mouse on both ends just plug in the dongle and away you go.
1920 X 1080 means no resolution loss on either end very nice I would defiantly buy another one of these units.
Cons: Manual is a little confusing, all of the information is there but decoding it is a bit tricky (that's ok, teck support knows the product)
only comes with one 9 vcd wall wart ? says you might not need one at both ends, I tried 4 different computers and needed one at both ends.
Other Thoughts: status of the device is hard to determine , but once it is setup and working properly I'm not sure you would ever look at it again, kind of like a router or a modem adding a graphical interface or being able to login through an IP would be nice but probably add $$$ IMHO
Reviewed By:Bike Bandit,8/16/2014 1:49:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS1104 4-Port USB DVI KVMP Switch with Audio and Cables

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Buy with Caution
Pros: Reliable. excellent cables, reliable hot keys
Cons: Does not work with all motherboards during BIOS post. This means that you will not be able to get into the BIOS on certain systems. My MSI motherboards seen to work well, but not my Biostar or Gigabyte systems. The only workaround that I have found is to plug a KB and mouse directly into the motherboard (bypassing the KVM). Once Widows loads all works well.
Other Thoughts: I chatted with the manufacturer's technician and he said the the problem was with the motherboard (BIOS) and not with the KVM. No remedy offered.
Reviewed By:drjrose,8/15/2014 12:31:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > Rosewill > Rosewill RKV-2UC 2-Port USB KVM Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little device
Pros: This switch does everything it's supposed to do well. It is about the most inexpensive switch of its type available, yet it works flawlessly.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This review is posted mainly to counter the several reviews I've read posted by cranks complaining about the thin cable to the control button. The cable is deliberately made thin because the control button is mounted on your desk, and a thick stiff cable would be more obtrusive than necessary. It's sturdy enough for normal use, and if you don't try to tow a car with it, it should last as long as you need it to. I'm always amazed at the geniuses who feel compelled to write misspelled comments about things they know naught. It's like the boss who is an ogre at work to compensate for the fact that his wife henpecks him at home. These people must have a need to write reviews because no one listens to what the say (for good reason) in their daily lives.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/14/2014 6:12:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > Belkin > BELKIN F1DN102C Secure OmniView KVM Switch

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 picture of back unclear
Pros: not sure
Cons: picture of back of item is blurry, unclear what some of the connectors are
Reviewed By:N/A,8/13/2014 8:17:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS634U MiniView USB KVM Switch with audio and cables

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Noise in audio, No Monitor info
Pros: Has usb and audio connections for 4 computers.
Hot key strokes to change systems.
Cons: No monitor information is relayed or passed to the computer. So with auto detect in windows 7 you have to use a generic monitor and enter the correct resolution.
The audio introduces noise that is heard depending on the what is being displayed.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/13/2014 8:21:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TK-207K 2-Port USB KVM Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Exceed expectation
Pros: USB ports, cheap, cables included
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This is the second one I purchase for home use after testing the first one at the office. Works with Logitech unifying receiver for mouse/keyboard combo. You can plug the receiver into either one of the usb ports and it will detect both the keyboard and mouse.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/6/2014 7:35:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS24U 4-Port USB Cable KVM Switch

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Works ok
Pros: I ordered this so that I could use my Mac, Linux, and Windows box on the same KVM. It worked fine for Mac and Windows, but it wouldn't regain the keyboard and mouse when going back to Linux (Ubuntu).
Cons: It wouldn't regain the keyboard and mouse when going back to Linux (Ubuntu).
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't recommend this to someone using Ubuntu. I'm not sure if all distro's would act the same way. My experience was not great. I switched back to a IOGear 2 port USB KVM that I was using before. It works fine.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for your experience. Linux will sometimes require additional drivers for your keyboard, mouse or video connection. The GCS22U is compatible with Linux. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:reddog,8/5/2014 11:01:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV231QDVIUA 2 Port Quad Monitor Dual-Link DVI USB KVM Switch with Audio & Hub

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible
Pros: 4 Monitors (DVI) with 3MP resolution Capabilities one of the only KVM Switchs with high resolution and Quad Monitor support.
Cons: We have had nothing but problems, We originally purchased 6 of these due to the ability to use up to 4 3MP monitors. On 5/6 of these the usb hub, keyboard/mouse fails to recognize 1 or more devices everytime you switch. Every time you switch, it is a roll of the dice whether the Resolution will be detected. You must also boot the computer up with the KVM Switch active to that computer. This is very common with KVM switches however the problem is, when you switch back to the other computer after boot you will probably not have the same settings.
Other Thoughts: OS Tested on:

XP
Windows 7
Ubuntu 10.4 - 14.04

Would suggest finding another solution.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/1/2014 12:01:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau