Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV231DDVDUA 2 Port DVI VGA Dual Monitor KVM Switch USB with Audio & USB 2.0 Hub

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Frustrating
Pros: It has VGA & DVI, and the tech support is knowledgeable and dedicated.
Cons: This does NOT work consistently. For 11 months, I have used it with a Dell XPS 410, and a docking station for a Thinkpad T430S. When switching, there is a couple second delay for the displays to come back (if they do). The Dell connection generally works, but the docking station USB and VGA does not (though they do if i take this KVM switch out of the equation). Whenever I'm about to test it one last time before resolving to get a replacement, it will work --- after restarting everything and following the "simple procedure" of unpowering and unplugging everything (see response from manufacturer in the review).
Other Thoughts: Unplugging, unpowering, replugging and repowering everything is not an acceptable solution for how to get this switch to work. It's OK if you have to do this once a month, but not if it's once a day. It takes a long time to unplug, unpower, replug and re-power. I do admire the tech support person for being knowledgeable and walking me through the procedure and having the tenacity to stay on this issue until it was working. However, it's a major waste of time to have to reset the switch. The idea of how to use the switch should be simple, click the button on the front to switch between computers and it should just work. I have wasted much time on this switch, I'd have been better off if it hadn't worked at all.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2015 7:41:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > Lantronix > Lantronix SLS200USB0-01 SecureLinx Spider KVM over IP

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not very useful on older PCs
Pros: Small and does KVM on any old PC via network
Cons: Virtual Media booting doesn't seem to work on any of our older PCs like Dell Optiplex 790s (these support Windows 7). I've tried every combination of mounting and BIOS settings with no luck, so as a remote administration tool this device isn't at all helpful for reinstalling an operating system. It also seems to disconnect at random (even when I'm not rebooting the remote machines).
Reviewed By:N/A,8/27/2015 7:16:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > Rosewill > Rosewill RKV-2UC 2-Port USB KVM Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect KVM for Working from Home
Pros: This KVM allows me to use the same keyboard, mouse, and monitor, and easily switch between my work laptop & home desktop with the touch of a button, while listening to a steady stream of music from my home desktop. It is fully compatibly with my Logitech wireless keyboard & mouse which both share a single USB receiver.

As far as KVMs go, this one is inexpensive. The main point that set it apart for me when compared to other brands in this price range is the button controller switch. I kept reading in reviews for those other products that those keyboard command-driven KVMs sometimes have issues with keyboard/mouse compatibility or for wireless keyboards & mice sharing the same USB receiver, presumably because the keyboard has to be emulated to receive commands.

Upon plugging everything in, this KVM worked perfectly. There's only a 2 second delay or so when switching.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,8/27/2015 2:12:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV211DPUA 2 Port USB DisplayPort Cable KVM Switch w/ Audio and Remote Switch - USB Powered

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 A Waste of Money
Pros: Supposedly supports display port.
Cons: - routinely have to power down the device by unplugging all USB cables and letting the LED go out, before the KVM switch will work.
- has SERIOUS issues working with a Dell M3800 laptop using Intel HD 4600 GPU. Plugging in through the KVM will often not sync the display. The display will try to resync over and over and often result in a blue screen of death. My guess here is that the KVM switch is not obeying the Displayport spec and the intel HD driver has a bug that causes it to eventually BSOD when trying to sync to the KVM.
- This also had issues syncing with my 2014 Macbook Pro, but it didn't cause a bluescreen, it's just really hit or miss.
- I have a Startech DVI KVM switch that had similar USB issues, so I don't believe this is a fluke. Startech's hardware just doesn't work right and makes the KVM frustrating to use.
Other Thoughts: I bought two of these, one for work and one for home. One seems a little better at syncing, so maybe the other is just broken, but considering the fact that both often have issues with USB where I have to power down the entire KVM to get it working, these were a complete waste of money.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/24/2015 2:01:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS632U 2-Port USB PLUS KVM Switch with Built-in KVM Cables and Audio Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The Only One I Use
Pros: I have several of these in my shop for the repair bench and in my office for the graphics design department in my shop.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I use these exclusively because they're very high quality and cost effective. I repair computers and do graphics design with workstations. These KVM switches are more than adequate for my needs and highly recommend them.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/22/2015 8:11:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet RB-TK-200K 2-Port PS/2 KVM Switch Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great
Pros: Still works
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Don't run with sissors!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/20/2015 9:57:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV1641HDIE 16 Port Rack Mount USB PS/2 Digital IP KVM Switch

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Complete junk does not work
Pros: If it worked as advertised this IP KVM would be very useful to remotely access devices using VNC.
Cons: The firmware hasn't been updated since 2008, if memory servers, and since we got this KVM it has been unreliable in displaying and remotely controlling the servers/computers connected to it. Sometimes even a normal resolution screen just won't display. To make it worse, once in a while it just gets stuck on a port and won't change to another port. You have to disconnect the active computers VGA and USB, and then unplug the unit and plug it back it. This is great for an IP based remote control KVM let me tell you.

Basically, this KVM has been completely useless to us for doing what it is intended to do and Starttech has done nothing to fix these issues. When we contacted them it was very disappointing.

No fixes or updates but they still sell the unit.
Other Thoughts: I'd look at any other vendors IP KVM solutions and we still use Startech for a lot of their other products successfully so I have nothing against them. In the case of this product, I'd steer way clear.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/18/2015 12:53:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > ATEN > ATEN CS84U 4-Port PS/2-USB KVM Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ATEN CS84U 4-Port PS/2-USB KVM Switch
Pros: I"m impressed with this switch. for the money it works well. I've used much more expensive KVM's that were no better. It comes with 4 cables, uses USB or PS2 connectors.
Cons: none at this time
Other Thoughts: I have it in a server closet on three servers and a work station. very hand tool
Reviewed By:N/A,8/17/2015 5:31:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > ATEN > ATEN CE100 Cat5 USB KVM Mini Console Extender - up to 320 ft

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 KVM
Pros: Simple to install
Cons: I bought 3 of these, one died the first week. I am still waiting on Newegg to replace it.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/17/2015 8:33:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TK-207K 2-Port USB KVM Switch

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works as stated
Pros: It works as stated, it's very cost effective way to control two PCs with one set of monitor, keyboard, and mice.
Cons: Additional USB port is needed for each monitor connection.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/14/2015 12:44:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.