Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV431DUSBU 4 Port 1U Rack Mount USB KVM Switch with OSD

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice simple KVM
Pros: Works well, very straightforward usage. Lightweight but solid enclosure.
Cons: A product with the term "rack mount" in the title should come with rack mount hardware. This KVM is "rack mount" in the sense that it has screw holes on its flat sides, but it does not include the "ears" that attach to these screw holes to allow it to be mounted in a rack.
Reviewed By:Daniel B.,6/26/2016 10:54:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > ATEN > ATEN CS782DP 2-Port UHD 4K USB DisplayPort KVM Switch - allows to access two 4K-enabled computers from a single USB keyboard, USB mouse, and DisplayPort video console

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works with Asus ROG Swift Monitor and G-Sync @ 144 Hz
Pros: I purchased this switch to connect a work laptop to my ASUS ROG Swift monitor which only has a single displayport input. I can confirm that my monitor was still able to support 2560x1440 @ 144 Hz. Also, G-Sync was detected as well. In addition the keyboard hotkey works perfectly (default is Scroll lock 2x then Enter, I changed to Ctrl 2x then Enter per the user manual).
Cons: I connected a wireless logitech keyboard / mouse using a single receiver. While the basic functions work the logitech software does not recognize them and so some of the extra keys no longer work (such as the sleep button).
Reviewed By:William B.,6/24/2016 7:31:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS1644 4-Port Dual View Dual-Link DVI KVMP Switch with Audio

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Almost functional (but not willingly) KVM for dual DL-DVI-D and USB, but poor warranty process
Pros: Supports dual-link DVD digital, so up to 2560*1600 24bpp at 60Hz on up to two displays.
Can select which PC has focus for KVM, peripherals, audio separately or together.
Self-powered (has AC adapter) so does not strain the PCs to which it is connected.
Has microphone, headphone, peripheral USB ports on front and back.
Feels well built -- metal case designed for rack mounting but useable on a desk.
Cons: Not particularly compatible; some machines do not get along with it during boot (see other).
Started to be flaky after a year (see other).
Has continued to get more flaky since (see other).
Finish on the control panel on the device is hard to keep clean and shows fingerprints very easily.
IOGear has no advance-replace RMA process (so on failure, down for two weeks; see other).
Other Thoughts: This worked for me for about a year and a half. It didn't work willingly, though; I had to coerce it a lot.

During the boot process, some systems don't like it at all. For systems such as Lenovo ThinkPad W700 and P70, I have needed to run its USB connection through a switch -- in one position, it is connected to the PC directly, in the other position, it feeds the 'keyboard' side of a USB keyboard to PS/2 system device, which feeds into the keyboard side of a PS/2 keyboard+mouse to USB system device. This is the only way the keyboard will work during the boot process. Once the OS takes over, it's fine. The need for this bizarre contrivance (and the fact that it added more than two hundred dollars to the cost of using this KVM) was enough to cost it a star in my rating. A similar but less consistent problem has an ASRock system board touchy about using it; sometimes need to power cycle the machine three or more times before the keyboard or mouse is visible through the KVM.

The second star came off when, after about a year, it would occasionally act flaky. Sometimes the keyboard or mouse did not respond even when the OS was running or when the systems that need it had the USB->PS/2->USB contrivance in place. Actually, it seemed to drop power to the keyboard and/or mouse entirely -- both have LEDs and the LEDs on one or both would go out. Switching from the panel often did nothing; I would have to power everything down (without the keyboard and mouse!) then cut power to the KVM switch, then restore power to the KVM switch and boot everything back up again. Usually it would work after that, but sometimes I had to leave everything off for a while. If I unplugged the keyboard and mouse from the KVM switch and plugged them into a PC, they worked fine. Plugging them back into the KVM switch usually had the come on momentarily and then go back off. The inconvenience from this was almost worth another star, but it got worse.

After another six months, the keyboard and mouse occasionally go off, and maybe come back on on their own. When it starts doing this, a full shutdown of everything is required to get it back to normal again, and sometimes it will not go a full day from that point until it starts again, though sometimes it goes a few days before it flakes out again. Even when it has not dropped the keyboard or mouse completely, but it sometimes misses events -- it will drop a mouse-up or key-down or something else randomly -- and this usually occurs in bunches (mouse tracking and buttons get touchy for a while or it starts missing key-up or key-down events from the keyboard) then gets back to normal. Again, plugging the keyboard and mouse directly to the PC eliminates the problem. Sometimes (if the keyboard is working) asking it to do a reset or toggling emulation helps (but sometimes makes it worse). There's the rest of that second star, definitely.

I called IOGear to ask about getting a replacement. They offered no problems as far as I got in the process, but they have no 'advance replacement' option -- I even offered to do something like buy a new one if they would refund it upon receipt of the failing one, but they refused. This means that I will be without a KVM switch for probably at least two weeks -- long enough to ship my unit to them, for them to evaluate my unit, process the return, pull a new/refurbished one, pack it up, and finally ship it to me. One more star lost.

I use this for work. I can't afford to be down for two weeks (or even one). I admit I could afford to buy another one, but I'm not going to. I'll look for a similar product from a company who offers professional level support and can do advance-replacement when things go wrong. I don't expect the new unit without some security, but I do need a process where I can get it quickly.

It mostly worked for a year (with some contrivances), and IOGear looks like they are willing to replace it if I'm willing and able to wait. Once I buy a replacement from someone else, I will send this one in for replacement. Maybe after I get the replacement, I will sell it to someone who I know does not need it for work. If they honour the warranty (still has 18 months coverage) without too much trouble, this stays at two stars. If that process becomes a pain, it drops to one star.
Reviewed By:Zac S.,6/23/2016 4:48:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > BYTECC INC > BYTECC KVM-2UHM 2X1 USB HDMI KVM Switch

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 I guess it works
Pros: The video seems to work pretty reliably.
Cons: The USB switching is sluggish and sometimes fails. It didn't like my NKRO keyboard until I changed modes.

The 8.5" x 11" documentation sheet says there is a hotkey, but it doesn't say what the mystery hotkey is. Probably someday I'll find it by accident while gaming.

Other Thoughts: Thank the MPAA for this not being a $25 device. Also it seems to work without power, and I didn't figure out what you have to lose, there. Probably just depends on whether your USB devices need more power.
The additional information on byteccusa.com is in flash so it's google-proofed, but I was able to find the hotkey is allegedly

caps lock + caps lock + 1
caps lock + caps lock + 2

personally i could call that a hot sequence not a hot key, but that's probably fine. There is no switch to disable the hotkey.

The hotkey sequence to lock mouse input is capslock, capslock. If you don't want one of those (haha) then you should probably forget about the hotkeys and switch the keyboard with one of the other USB ports.
Reviewed By:Jack E.,6/20/2016 7:24:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GUB431 4-Port USB 2.0 Automatic Printer Switch

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 IOGEAR GUB431 4-Port USB 2.0 Automatic Printer Switch
Pros: None
Cons: Bought the 4 port GUB431 to replace the 2 port GUB211 which worked well in the hopes of sharing a printer with 3 machines.
After numerous installs couldn't get it to work on any machine. All printer driver/ports were removed prior to install, and it was also tested on a clean machine. The software would create the Virtual USB port and the correct printer driver would install. However, any attempt to print would cause the application to hang, even when using the 'Print Test Page' from 'Printers Properties' dialog Windows Explorer would hang.
Also tried to print in manual mode without the Auto-switching driver installed. After printing one job, the manual buttons cease functioning, requiring a hard disconnect to restore. So it's effectively useless as a manual switch.
Other Thoughts: Wasted a lot of time testing this device, not to mention 30 minutes on hold with IOGear Tech support before I was finally directed to voicemail. A big fail to IOGear on this one
Reviewed By:John P.,6/19/2016 7:28:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TK-207K 2-Port USB KVM Switch

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 multi tasking
Pros: easy to set up and use
Cons: the product went bad in less than 6 months. If you buy this product don't blame your graphics card before you troubleshoot the device itself. You get what you pay for so don't be cheap and spend a little extra and get a good reliable KVM switch.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't recommend this product for anyone that needs reliability.
Manufacturer Response:Hello,

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing an issue with the 2-Port USB KVM Switch Kit, TK-207K. If your mouse and keyboard are showing up as an unknown device please power cycle the TK-207K by disconnecting both sets of KVM cables simultaneously and then reconnect them. If this does not recover the TK-207K please email me at adrian@trendnet.com and we will have a support representative assist you with warranty services. Please include a link to this review.


Regards,

Adrian
TRENDnet Support
http://www.trendnet.com/support

Reviewed By:keith y.,6/17/2016 10:19:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > Tripp Lite > TRIPP LITE B004-DPUA2-K 2-Port DisplayPort KVM Switch w/Audio, Cables and USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Hub

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Full of bugs
Pros: It works sometimes
Cons: LED lights are way too bright! Absolutely stupid.
The blinking white led is completely annoying and totally unnecessary.
Looses connection to the monitors and either the monitor or the KVM needs to be powered off and on to reconnect.
Screws up the resolution in windows that affects remote connection. Because the unit looses connection for whatever reason, the windows display resolution changes to 800x600 and when you remote in you have to fool around to get the proper resolution to display in your remote secession window. E.G. team viewer. However, RDP connections are not affected by this.
Other Thoughts: The bottom line is it works, but needs several improvements in its design.
Manufacturer Response:We apologize for the issues you are experiencing with the B004-DPUA2-K. We will need more information to determine what is causing these issues. Please reach out to our Chicago-based Tech Support Team at 773-869-1234 (M-F 7AM-6PM Central) so we can assist you.

Reviewed By:Tom E.,6/7/2016 7:31:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TK-209K 2-Port USB KVM Switch Kit w/ Audio (Includes 2x KVM Cables)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works good
Pros: Works good
Cons: I was hoping to find inexpensive usb/hdmi switcher, but this was the closest I could find.
Reviewed By:Daniel H.,6/6/2016 6:59:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS1808 8-Port USB PS/2 Combo KVMP Switch

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Overall a good KVM
Pros: Usable GUI to switch between servers. Ports can be labeled on screen. I don't use the buttons so can't comment on those.
Cons: VGA switching makes picture a little fuzzy sometimes but usually straightens out. Might be my monitor not sure.
Other Thoughts: I have had this for a couple of months so far so good.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/3/2016 3:42:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > Tripp Lite > TRIPP LITE B021-000-17 1U Rackmount Console w/ 19" LCD

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk.
Pros: Compact. Other than that, none.
Cons: Failed in less than a year and Tripplite was very difficult to work with on getting an RMA. Finally got that and instead of repairing ours or sending us a new one, we got a used one in return that was scratched, dented and missing parts. No response from Tripplite when we complained about it. Not happy about any of it.
Other Thoughts: I realize this is a niche product but I'd find another way to implement rack based consoles than this.
Reviewed By:CJ H.,6/1/2016 12:41:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.