Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > KVM Switches > Lantronix > Lantronix SLS200USB0-01 SecureLinx Spider KVM over IP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Perfectly
Pros: It works, It can send an iso and mount it as a dvd drive. Bios Access.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,9/16/2014 9:22:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS62HU 2-Port HD Cable KVM Switch with Audio

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Subpar quality
Pros: I like the switch button. It's small and compact.
Cons: Overall: Cables are a bit short. Switching between devices is a bit slow.

Setup: The mouse and keyboard didn't work out of the box. You have to press a combination of keys to turn something off... it's in the instructions. Why isn't that default?

The main problem with the device is that it stops working every once in a while. You have to unplug everything, wait for a few minutes and plug everything back in and it'll work.

The sound stopped working 10 minutes after setup. Now it doesn't work at all. I would have returned it right there but I needed this for work and I figured I won't be listening to musing from my work laptop.
Other Thoughts: The device is cheaper then expected. I would like to have used my own cables and not be restricted by what they provide. I am using a USB extender for the mouse and it works. I didn't test HDMI extension.

When the device needs to be 'reset' you'll notice that the switch buttons stops working and the mouse only moves in a diagonal way. Since the unit doesn't have a power cable, you have to unplug everything and wait a few minutes, then plug it back in. If you just unplug the mouse and plug it back it, it won't work. Turning off the PC doesn't fix the problem either.

Worst part is that once you set this up, it's under your desk somewhere where it's not easy to get to. Unplugging and plugging everything back in is a pain. Last time this happened I swore that next time it happens, I'm trowing it away and buying something better from a different company.

Minus 1 star for it being cheap and short cables.
Minus 1 star for sound breaking 10 minutes in.
Minus 1 star because it get's 'confused' and needs to be reset.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for the inconvenience. To better service you and understand your set up, please feel to contact our customer support at 1-866-946-4327 or email us: support@iogear.com. The GCS62HU comes with mouse emulation set to on as a default for users that would like to switch ports using the mouse instead of keyboard commands. With the emulation on it can be picky with some mice. Disconnecting everything from the KVM and letting it sit will perform a reset however problems like described can be avoided with a simple boot with focus. Make sure everything is first connected directly to each PC and powered up then with each computer off connect the keyboard , mouse and monitor to the GCS62HU. Connect the GCS62HU to both computers with then powered off. Power up one computer only, after it fully boots do the same with the 2nd PC. Your comments will be forwarded to the product manager for review. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:N/A,9/15/2014 4:47:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TK-409K 4-Port USB KVM Switch Kit with Audio (Version v1.3R)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible KVM!
Pros: Pros? You can select specific inputs rather than a single button to cycle through inputs until you get to the desired input.
Cons: Plenty! It would only sporadically work on a PC running Server 2003 and generally not have issues with two different Win7 PC's until today. Today when switching back to one of the Win7 PC's the red indicator light just kept flashing instead of staying solid after a couple seconds. This is what it would frequently do when switching to the Server 2003 machine and then the mouse and keyboard would not function. I ended up powering all three pc's off (using the power button since mouse and keyboard would not work now on ANY of the PC's). I switched to input 2 on the KVM and powered on that PC. The red indicator light just kept flashing. When the PC fully booted the light was still flashing and then I received an error saying the USB device connected to the PC had failed. I connected the mouse and keyboard directly to the pc, bypassing the KVM switch, but leaving the monitor plugged in to the KVM and they still won't work. I finally ended up eliminating the KVM completely, going with a direct connect for the mouse, keyboard, and monitor and after powering down the PC using the power switch that PC is back up and running. Save yourself plenty of headaches and go with the iogear unit. I'm using one of those purchased from Newegg and have not had any problems with it. You can't select a specific port with it though. You have to cycle through them until you get to the input you want...but it works!
Reviewed By:cayman diver,9/14/2014 3:20:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS22u 2-Port USB KVM Switch w/built-in cables

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 PERFECT
Pros: Worked perfectly right out of the box. Used it to replace another brand, and none of the issues have returned.
Cons: none as of yet.
Reviewed By:clidewa,9/14/2014 1:50:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS62HU 2-Port HD Cable KVM Switch with Audio

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 avoid with macbook pro's
Pros: - easy to setup
- nice small switch easy to place on desk unnoticed
Cons: - mouse freezes which requires unplugging and plugging back in (generally multiple times)
- constantly disconnects from macbook HDMI
Other Thoughts: I've used this switch with to different mac book pros, a 2010 model and a new 2014 model -- both of them I have had issues with the HDMI connection and this switch. It seems no one makes good HDMI+USB switches by looking at all the reviews for various products... so were left with 'whats not the worst'. ugh.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for the inconvenience. To better service you and understand your set up, please feel to contact our customer support at 1-866-946-4327 or email us: support@iogear.com. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:mirswith,9/13/2014 10:19:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > Tonstep > 4 PORT KVM SWITCH + 4 SET 3-IN-1 PS/2 KVM CABLES FOR PC BRAND NEW

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 switch it
Pros: Works, ok quality cables, cheap
Cons: cheaply made, switch button has issues,
Other Thoughts: Everything works my unit had a switch issue when everything was connected. Moving the chasis about while pressing the switch will help to make it function.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/12/2014 6:52:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > Gefen > Gefen EXT-DVIKVM-ELR Extra Long Range KVM Extender for DVI and USB over one Cat-5 cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 DVI KVM Extender
Pros: It works at approximately 300 ft
No digital aberrations as with many of these devices
USB hub actually works
Cons: Pricey (but works better than some that are more expensive)
Other Thoughts: This extender works very well. Also works if hot swapping keyboard or mouse. USB works just like a normal hub for thumbdrives, etc.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/11/2014 8:41:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS632UW6 MiniView Micro USB PLUS 2-Port KVM Switch

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works ok
Pros: Price and audio support.
Cons: If I have the speaker volume moderately high and move the mouse around I can hear a faint hum as I move the mouse around through the speakers, very annoying.
Other Thoughts: If you have a specialized mouse you may have issues with this KVM (or all KVMs possibly), not deducting an egg for that.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/10/2014 12:58:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS982U 2-Port Dual-Link DVI Cable KVM with Audio

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great KVM
Pros: Integrated Sound and USB sharing work smoothly. I use a Logitech USB mouse that works great with this device. I am all using this with MS Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 and all of the extra controls work once the MS keyboard software is installed.
Cons: the only thing I can think of is the PC does not auto recognize the version of the Logitech Mouse.
Reviewed By:Picard,9/7/2014 1:45:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS62HU 2-Port HD Cable KVM Switch with Audio

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Cannot make this work
Pros: Price - for a non-working piece of equipment, it's at least in the cheap section.
Cons: I've built PC systems since 1989 - this is about the worst piece of equipment I've had to deal with. I unpacked it and at first tried to get it to work without reading the 5-page manual. Nothing from either of the two systems. So I read the manual, following the tortuous instructions (turn everything off, plug in the monitor, turn on the monitor, plug in keyboard / mouse, plug into computers, turn on computers). At best I was able to switch mouse and video - I was never able to get any keyboard (I tried 3) to work. I'd thrown out the box or I'd return it for a refund. I've given up trying to do HDMI KVM - it's not worth the hassle every time there is a power break.
Other Thoughts: I went for the IoGear as it's a more recognised brand than others that have seemingly had lots of problems. But that's not a help - it's basically pure luck if you can get it to work with your hardware or not.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for the inconvenience. To better service you and understand your set up, please feel to contact our customer support at 1-866-946-4327 or email us: support@iogear.com. Our KVM’s emulate a standard 102 key, keyboard and generic 2-button scroll wheel mouse. The reason for this emulation is to allow the hot key functions to operate. A side effect of the emulation is that in most cases the special key sequences required for gamming, and key programming will not translate correctly through the KVM, for gamming we recommend connecting directly to the computer.

Although our KVMs will work with most wireless keyboard mouse sets, we cannot promise an individual multimedia / programmable keyboard and mouse set will work through the KVM.

Due to the large number of manufacturer's and each manufacturer's wide range of models it is impossible to maintain any meaningful compatibility list.

Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:staffantj,9/5/2014 6:06:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau