Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC66U Dual-Band Wireless-AC1750 Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Router
Pros: Great Range
Great Features
Easy Interface
Cons: None yet
Other Thoughts: Love this router. It has increased the range in my house. I have not experienced dropped connections since using this. The interface is easy to use and has great instructions. Love the AiCloud software.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/18/2014 7:45:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R6100-100PAS AC1200 Dual Band R6100 Wi-Fi Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Very lacking
Pros: Mostly easy to configure the router for basic home use.
Has not died yet (we might consider this a con...)
Cons: We purchased this router to replace an earlier Netgear Wireless N router that was awesome. The old one died from one of the main chips frying, melted in a nasty way after 3 years.
This router wireless has major problems dropping clients, clients can connect once then not connect again.
WAN settings keep getting reset if the WAN connection does down. We have a static IP and every time the WAN goes down, the settings lose the WAN setup and revert to DHCP. Being a business this is killer for our public hosted services. Having to reset the WAN setup gets old fast.
To take advantage of the Wireless Guest features, the router has to be the DHCP server. Using a DHCP server from inside the network nullifies the routers Guest network security features. While the guest can get an IP, it cannot communicate with the DNS server to resolve addresses. This means no internet service for guests.
VPN probems. The old Netgear VPN pass through was great. We opened the ports and connections simply worked. With this router, VPN clients are hit and miss. Most clients get errors connecting, Those that do connect, most of them can only stay connected for a few seconds before the router resets their connections. Very few clients can connect and remain connected long enough to get some work done. No changes have been made to the VPN server or clients. Simply replaced the router with the same ports opened on the new as the old and MTU settings.
We have had to revert to RDP for these remote workers. Not anywhere as secure as the VPN tunnel this claims to allow.
Other Thoughts: Unless you are going to buy this, plug it in with zero configuration changes, stay away. It lacks in every category compared to nearly all comparable routers. Older Netgear routers have been good to us. This new one has changed our brand.
We are replacing with a different brand router that we have already tested and proven to work as a modern router should.
Reviewed By:Ben,9/18/2014 7:28:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR Nighthawk AC1900 Dual Band Wireless Gigabit Router (R7000)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 NETGEAR Nighthawk AC1900 Dual Band Wireless Gigabit Router (R7000)
Pros: Top of the line 1GHz dual core processor router with great speed and range. Very easy to setup. Able to connect and start using the router in minutes. The dashboard is very useful. Upgrading the firmware was seamless. Has programmable QoS (Quality Of Service) settings to prioritize my applications like Skype, XBOX, Netflix, etc. USB3.0 is a great addition to attach external HDD as a shared drive. Definitely more powerful than the router I had few years back.
Cons: Large foot print but other than that none for me right now. Will post update when necessary.
Other Thoughts: Overall, the router has fast wi-fi speeds, good range. If you are a gamer, video streamer, transfer lots of files, you will definitely appreciate this top of the line router with all the features.
Reviewed By:cbnjr,9/17/2014 10:40:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys EA3500 App Enabled N750 Dual-Band Wireless Router with Gigabit and USB

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Largely Incompatible with iOS
Pros: Reliable router that I'm not sure I've ever had to reset (rare!). Lots of silly little tools in the interface that are simple to understand even if you don't know much about networking. High efficiency in that it only loses about 1 Mbps from direct cable connection to running through the router and on to a PC.
Cons: Can't maintain a download rate more than 0.16 Mbps on any iOS devices - two iPhones and two iPads. Works fine on PC laptops and of course wired desktops (30-50 Mbps). I've tried turning on and off 5MHz signal, device prioritization, etc, updated firmware. Since the iOS devices make up half of my usage, I would throw this thing away if I hadn't overpaid so gratuitously for it.

Zero assistance from Linksys' website. Another company whose products just can't be trusted - great. I'm a shareholder too - how embarrassing!
Other Thoughts: Furious that I paid almost two hundred dollars for this science fair project. My five year old Netgear outperforms it in every way, so I may daisy chain it on just for my Apple devices. Would LOVE to hear from Linksys and get it working, but my two emails to technical support must have disappeared into the ether or much more likely were deemed either unimportant or too difficult by the recipient.

Buy a different router fellas. There are hundreds of them out there. The cheaper and simpler, the better in my experience. My two $50 routers are still at my fingertips and my two $150+ routers are in or on their way to the landfill.
Reviewed By:Architecture Builds,9/17/2014 9:56:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR Nighthawk AC1900 Dual Band Wireless Gigabit Router (R7000)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome router
Pros: I had a comcast modem/router combo before purchasing this router as my desktop in my apartment had issues with reaching out to websites on wifi that was in my office. I decided to get a new router as it was frustrating me that I had to be in really one spot to get a solid signal for anything wireless.

Installation of the router was easy as I did it on my mac with no issues. After installing the router and combining it with a Motorola Surfboard modem, I was amazed at not only how fast my downloads became but how fast web pages appeared on my tower. I was even more impressed that my other wifi devices were able to go into the office with no issues (it was the dead zone in my apartment).

I have my custom built PC, Macbook, 2 tablets (original nexus 7 and original surface), my smartphone and a laser printer all connected wirelessly to the router with 3 consoles hard wired into the router. It is nice to have peace of mind with network connectivity. I am looking to add network storage to the router next with the 2 USB ports that is has.
Cons: Aside from being a bit bigger than hoping for, I only had one issue which went away and havent had to deal with since. One of the benefits of this router is that you can connect to either the 2.4 GHz or the 5GHz connection. I only have my desktop connected to the 5GHz connection. It was initially having issues getting connected to the 5GHz connection but after a couple of days, it connected automatically with no issues and haven't had to worry about it since then.
Other Thoughts: Definitely recommend getting this router if you have a lot of stuff connecting to it and need the network speed
Reviewed By:bigdogice,9/17/2014 7:10:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > D-Link > D-Link Xtreme Gigabit Router (DIR-655) Wireless N300, USB SharePort, Gigabit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Tech Support
Pros: Great common router, with good support, and good options. Main pro, though, was calling the tech support line, when I got stuck on trying to get my new WAN to connect to it properly. The tech support (his number at the tech support center was AR4631), was knowledgeable, but more importantly, he walked me through a fix without making me feel stupid about not thinking of it myself. He was pretty simple to follow, and didn't rush. So, the product is good, but the tech support raised it up enough so that I'd actually write a small review.
Cons: Doesn't support high-transfer volumes, in case you were looking to upgrade to a higher speed service in the future.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/17/2014 4:18:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys WRT54GL Wireless Broadband Router 802.11b/g up to 54Mbps/ Compatible with Open Source DD-WRT (not pre-load)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DO NOT BUY!
Pros: Was only $50
Cons: Wifi drops in and out, so you'll have to reset often.
After tech support (during first 90 days) failed twice to help, customer service would replace your product, but you'll have to pay shipping.
You have to repeat your personal information, even though you've registered the product.
Reviewed By:Albert W from NYC,9/17/2014 3:33:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N66U Dual-Band Wireless-N900 Gigabit Router, DD-WRT Open Source support, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Wifi stops responding after 1 day
Pros: speedy when able to connect, which isn't for long.
Cons: Wifi stops working after ~1 day. I can still login via hardware, but wifi doesn't work. Have to reboot. Same behavior with vendor firmware (updated to latest) or TomatoUSB Shibby

It feels very hot, maybe overheating? I've placed it in an open area with the accompanying stand. doesn't matter.
Other Thoughts: unfortunately it did this since i bought it, but I didn't do anything about it in enough time for NewEgg's replacement warranty. Hopefully the vendor will honor their warranty.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/17/2014 1:18:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > D-Link > D-Link DIR-850L Wireless AC1200 Dual Band Gigabit Cloud Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DIR-850L
Pros: Works Great out of the box, an for awhile I've. had this DIR850L Router about six months and Then your on barrowed time until you have to start baby sitting the thing it degrades your internet signal strength over time and or drops it all together. then you misteriously I have bought a lot of computer equipment from newegg and I will continue to do so its a great place to find what you need . this is vendor issue (it's on you D-LINK)
Cons: Works Great out of the box, and for a while I've. Had this DIR850L Router about six months and then you’re on borrowed time until you have to start babysitting the thing it degrades your internet signal strength over time and or drops it all together. Then you mysteriously start losing other connections on your network I could go on and on but I defiantly don’t recommend buying one of these it’s a waste of money
Reviewed By:Dan MI.,9/17/2014 10:51:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-751DR N600 Dual Band Wireless Router IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very powerful router
Pros: This router cured my wireless issues. I have had other routers and they did not have the ability to reach to the other end of my house from my computer room downstairs. This solved my issue. Easy setup and great bandwidth with many options.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I have purchased other routers in the past to solve this issue. I have purchased a wireless extender, and powerline adapters. None of them worked as good as this router. This router seems to work as I had expected and I haven't had any issues with it yet.
Reviewed By:Rudy,9/17/2014 10:44:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau