Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N66U Dual-Band Wireless-N900 Gigabit Router, DD-WRT Open Source support, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very good design
Pros: 2nd and 3rd party firmware available
More than enough processing power, ram and rom in design.
Good signal strength
Upgradable External antennas.
USB ports for Print server, file server, and other uses.
More than enough Wifi bandwidth for my use.
Solid design from a reliable company
Cons: Ethernet Jacks may have issues with some low-quality plugs. Get new cables or learn to crimp your own ends. (Considering that the later is needed for long runs, I highly recommend it.)

It only selects signal autodetect from channels 1, 6 and 11 in the US. This is industry standard, but it doesn't make it a good idea.
It works exceptionally well until there are over 6-9 high-strength networks in the area, so 1, 6 and 11 should be first choice until that level of spectrum density is reached.
Other Thoughts: If you need more bandwidth you should probably consider the model with 802.11ac support. However, for standard gaming and video streaming of two users, this seems to be a good fit for me.

Additionally, you may want to consider forcing devices to use the 5G band. A lot of them only read signal level, not signal to noise and don't realize that if there are tons of other 2G band networks in your area, 5G band will provide more reliable signals.
Reviewed By:Robert Wm "Ruedii",4/17/2015 4:56:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > On Networks > On Networks N150 Wireless Router- N150R

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 absolute garbage
Pros: it is light
Cons: It is light. it is absolutely garbage. No wonder why it is free. Actually it is expensive even though it is free because I went through setting it up just to find out that it is a garbage. It can’t even keep up with one laptop connected to it. The signal keeps fluctuating so laptop keeps connecting and disconnecting. I also tried connecting my iphone. Same thing.
My advice, don’t bother setting it up. When you get it as a free gift just toss it in the garbage when you receive it.
Reviewed By:sondro,4/17/2015 10:10:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR WNDR4000-100NAR N750 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab Manufacturer Recertified

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good router
Pros: Very reliable, good speed. Interface is pretty good.
Cons: Range is ok, no great.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/17/2015 9:34:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys EA6900 AC1900 Dual Band SMART Wi-Fi Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Follow up: ~1.5 years and counting
Pros: I noticed there are quite a few 1 egg reviews for this router. Two of those written by the same person on the same day, and half of the two reviews are exactly the same, and those are the person's ONLY Newegg reviews.

So I'd like to confirm that this router does NOT disappoint. I'm still using it on my home network, which has a multitude of gaming PCs, gaming consoles, and people who stream online movies every day of every week every year.

Three of us are online gamers (serious online, FPS and RPGs, farmville doesn't count... network speed and latency isn't a priority with that type of online game.) This router EASILY handles SIMULTANEOUS netflix streaming, music streaming, 3 SEPARATE games of Battlefield (I prefer vehicle maps, one of my kids prefers smaller more infantry favored maps, and my other son plays it on his PS4, not a PC). We have NO problems. The laptops and smartphones also have no issues save the average wireless connectivity issues relative to a wired connection.

WIRELESS is NOT a guaranteed connection. It's WIRELESS! Although it's usually very good, causing annoying lack of connection problems on rare occasions, but usually for only very short duration. (minutes, not hours or days.).
Cons: There was ONE firmware release that caused the router to lose connection due to a DNS resolution error. A simple google search explained what was causing the problem I did experience for a couple days. I would STILL be experiencing it if I simply did NOT try to find out what the problem was and just left it alone to constantly repeat that error.
Other Thoughts: When I reverted the firmware back to the old version that was WORKING well, I also DISABLED the auto update option for the firmware. One should NEVER auto update firmware/bios! I didn't even think to check for that option on this router until I had an issue. I haven't had a problem since, I'm using that same firmware I had before the issue, and I didn't have any problems before the firmware issue. 2-3 days of random, limited internet access due to DNS being 'broken'. That's it. for ~ a year and a half.
Reviewed By:Circlestrafe,4/17/2015 8:47:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WR841N Wireless N300 Home Router, 300Mbps, IP QoS, WPS Button

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wireless, Could say WireLOW price
Pros: Does what it says on the box! I have my gaming PC and laptop hardwired. It gives me solid connection. The wireless i use for tablets, phones and the girlfriends laptop. It works great. Speed test show low lag on the wireless and still gives me the 50mbps that my hardlined PC gets. I live in a 800sf 1bed apt so i dont need HUGE coverage.
Cons: After disconnect the unit or turning it off it takes 2 on/off cycles to get it to connect to then internet. After that its solid and doesnt drop anything.
Other Thoughts: If you need some simple wireless connection for handheld devices and do not have to much area to cover, for the price you cant beat this unit
Reviewed By:Marty McWireless,4/17/2015 8:24:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Archer C8 AC1750 Dual Band Wireless AC Gigabit Router, 2.4GHz 450Mbps+5Ghz 1350Mbps, 1 USB 2.0 Port & 1 USB 3.0 Port, IPv6, Guest Network

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 They listen!
Pros: A follow up on my previous review of the Archer C8....

The Team at TP-Link has listened..or they meant to add this feature all along..either way..it's a win for all of the owners of this product.

Firmware has been issued that adds ExFat Support for the shared disk function!

It's 3.16.30 Build 20150316 Rel.41221n and available for download.
Cons: Other routers can check for updates and download ..maybe next time around. In the world of change, perhaps we all better start checking vendor sites for updates as another popular vendor changed their setup so an old version of firmware was shown as "current" in the router hosted update utility
Other Thoughts: It's a smoking deal right now, it's well worth the price even if all you do with it is share a disk and printer/scanner
Reviewed By:Peter P.,4/17/2015 6:24:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys WRT54GL Wireless Broadband Router 802.11b/g up to 54Mbps/ Compatible with Open Source DD-WRT (not pre-load)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Runs cool and never quits.
Pros: I've been using one of these routers for years. It gives coverage to devices in an 1800 square foot house. It has never dropped a connection once. I'm glad Cisco kept this baby on the market after they bought out Link Sys. Good move on their part.
Cons: There are no 'cons.'
Other Thoughts: The complaints I see about this router are most likely the result of faulty installation by the user.
Reviewed By:Sapphire,4/16/2015 11:22:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys WRT1900AC Wireless AC Dual Band Router AC1900, Open Source ready, eSATA/ USB 3.0 Ports

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Linksys WRT1900AC Router
Pros: WIFI coverage is outstanding. Had issues in the basement receiving a signal from my old router and with this one it doesn't miss a beat. I had "dead" zones that most devices would just lag. This is the closest I've been to my Linksys WRT54G, that was my original, most trustworthy router. That thing was perfect, except that it just got a little old in technology. It never failed, though. The 1900AC seems to be there, although I haven't had it for more than a few days, so time will tell. No dropped signals or reboots required yet, which is a good sign. WIFI is definitely boosted. All throughout the house it is stronger. The extra ports (USB and eSATA) are great to have too, although I haven't used them yet.
Cons: It is large, if that can be a con. You need to have space for it to sit flat for the antennas to project as they should. I've seen where others have said that it quit working or had problems after a few weeks or months of use. I will update my review if that becomes the case for me. So far, no issues in drops or complete failure to work. I will note that I am using cable, and not satellite or DSL signal, so I can't offer any insight on how it works with them. Maybe other who are having issues is a firmware problem? Not sure...
Other Thoughts: I think routers are hit and miss on how they perform in each household. I don't know how to confirm that, but I've had the same router that performed perfectly in one place and then horribly in another place. Not sure how that happens.
Reviewed By:EJS,4/16/2015 7:15:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys WRT1900AC Wireless AC Dual Band Router AC1900, Open Source ready, eSATA/ USB 3.0 Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Total Failure at 1 year
Pros: Good while it lasted!
Cons: I am very disappointed with Linksys and their support group!

I purchased this WIFI router from the Linksys store on April 11, 2014 for $250 and received it on the 17th. On April 13, 2015 the router failed to connect to the internet and my wired and WIFI devices did not have internet access. I was having periodic failures for about 1 month and a reboot would solve the problem. I knew my router or modem was about to fail, but I did not know which one. On April 13th, I tried several reboots of everything and could not get an internet connection on my WIFI or wired devices (internet light was blinking white). When I disconnected the router and connected my desktop PC directly to the cable modem using a LAN cable, I had a reliable strong connection. There were no problems with my cable modem. The Linksys router worked flawlessly until this time.

On April 14, 2015, I called Linksys technical support. The call was immediately answered by Bryan from their tier 1 support group. Bryan remotely connected to my desktop PC, but he could not establish a connection to the router. He looked at the event log and msconfig on my desktop PC and said the problem with my router was because my desktop PC had major problems. I asked him several question. He was rude, hateful, and condescending. He told me I knew nothing about computers or networking and that I must follow his directions. He said he would transfer me to a tier 2 support person and he would fix my desktop and the router would then start working. I asked him how the desktop is preventing my ipad and iphone from connecting to the internet. He raised his voice and said there were no problems with the router and I needed to pay $49.99 for the tier 2 person to repair my PC. I asked him to tell me how to correct the router problems and he refused. I asked him about my warranty and he said there was nothing wrong with the router and all problems were caused by my desktop PC! He would not honor the warranty! I am shocked at how he treated me and how he would not tell me how to correct the problem.

Byran was crazy to think that I know nothing about computers. I build computers as a hobby and I run a lab with 10 custom computers, which control millions of dollars in analytical instruments. I did not argue because I knew it was useless.

I realized from looking at Linksys’ support page the product is only supported for 90 days, which means the 1 year warranty is useless. They are not going to provide troubleshooting for their products past the support date without a fee. If you have problems past the 90 days you will need to solve it yourself or purchase a new router.
Other Thoughts: When you purchase this router you are NOT getting the same technical support and product reliability as seen with the original Linksys WRT54. The company was purchased by Cisco, cannibalized, and then purchased by Belkin. The original technical leaders are probably long gone. The WRT1900AC is not going to match the reliability and ease of use found in the WRT54. That being said, the WRT1900AC is great idea and leading technology. Too bad Linksys does not have a good support system and warranty coverage for hardware and software problems.
Reviewed By:Green1,4/16/2015 6:39:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR N900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router R4500-Factory Refurbished

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Firmware corrupt
Pros: Powerful router for the money. Refurbished but I opened the box and it still had the protective sticky paper like a new one. Cords were all wrapped like it was new. Probably got 5 stars if it had worked out of the box.
Cons: Firmware was corrupt. The green power light keeps blinking. I got ready to send it back and decided to Google the problem. Thanks to MyOpenRouter I reflashed the firmware and had it working. Then turned it into a WNDR4500 and updated to the latest firmware.
Reviewed By:Lelyn,4/16/2015 6:27:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.