Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Routers > Buffalo Technology > Buffalo WSR-600DD AirStation N600 DD-WRT NXT Pre-Installed Wireless Router

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 caveat emptor
Pros: DD-WRT routers are very powerful/flexible routers.

For the 3.5 days that it worked, it was awesome.
Cons: It bricked itself 4 days into me having it when I un-plugged it and plugged back in. I did NO firmware updates, did not tinker with it, simply moved the wall wart into a different AC power strip.

You don't buy a DD-WRT router for grandma (or yourself unless you have a clue). Most of the configuration had to be done via the command line (e.g. change the DHCP pool size). The web GUI is pretty worthless.

DD-WRT NXT has almost ZERO documentation, the wiki is very sparce and there's no indication as to how much of the 'regular' DD-WRT stuff applies to the NXT. Which is bad because this doesn't come with a manual.
Other Thoughts: If you have simple router needs, DON'T GET A WRT! These are made for people who know a bit of Linux.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/3/2015 1:30:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR N900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router R4500-Factory Refurbished

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: I bought this one in April, when it works, it is really good. But after three month it is dead and completely stop working.
Cons: do not waste money on this.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/3/2015 1:10:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-812DRU V2 AC1750 Dual Band Wireless Router - 4 Gigabit port, DD-WRT Open Source support

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 TrendNet TEW-812RDU
Pros: Easy to connect and power up. Has excellent range and speed. I'm very impressed with it's performance.
Cons: Online software is somewhat confusing. Must reset to factory defaults if you don't make changes in proper order, but that order is not discussed.
Other Thoughts: The problem with the software is that when you change the default IP address along with other changes, you can't log back in after the reset. You need to change the address ONLY, reset the router, THEN make other changes. I had to reset to factory defaults 3 time before I discovered this glitch.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/3/2015 12:52:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-817DTR AC750 Wireless Travel Router

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Review for TEW-817DTR AC750 Wireless Travel Router
Pros: -Portable, small footprint, looks like a larger power adapter on the wall when plugged in
-Comes with its own network cable
-Comes with various power adapters for overseas travel
-There is a button on the back to press to switch out the various power adapters, good design on that
-Supports WiFi "N" and "AC" protocols
-Supports 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz channels
-There is a switch on the bottom to switch OFF - WISP - WIFI
-This unit comes with pre-set SSID for WiFi, pre-set WiFi password and management login - great because I don't have to set those up and can simply use their settings to start
-built in WPS button for easy wireless connectivity
-Illuminating "blue" LED for power is not too bright, even at night..which is good for sleeping
-Trendnet offers 24/7 technical support
Cons: -Admin software is clunky and slow
-Could NOT get into management software via Android phone, had to use laptop (luckily I brought it) to get into admin settings to change wifi passwords, etc.
-using WISP feature is a nightmare. It took forever to log on to the hotel's network and the speeds after connecting was terrible.
-I know the reset button is a security feature, but when you cannot find a pin to reset it because you've forgotten the custom password..it gets tough!
-the speeds do not match those at my house whether it's on "N" or "AC", or either 2.4Ghz vs 5Ghz...does not get 433Mbps on "AC" or 300 Mbps with "N"
-I noticed a huge lag when 3 or more devices were connected to it, even if only 1 device was surfing the internet while the other 2 devices were not doing anything
-NOT really a con but could be useful if it came with at least a USB 2.0 port so I can plug a portable HDD into it for sharing movies.
Other Thoughts: Luckily, when I got this unit...we were planning a family vacation to Pismo too. Anyways, there was a lot to like about this unit but it did give me some trouble in the beginning and while using it.
We stayed at a hotel where there was an ethernet plug in the room so I was able to utilize the ethernet connection and use this unit as a router just like home.
I had to allow my kids to bring their electronics so we can test this unit out (2 Android tablets, 3 Android smart phones and a laptop).
The hotel's WiFi was pretty good already with most devices getting 3 bars of WiFi throughout the room but I didn't test how fast it was (didn't think about it until after we got home). After plugging this TEW-817DTR AC750 Wireless Travel Router, the WiFi signals went to full bars, except the only problem was that internet was super slow. The hotel's WiFi speed wasn't much better but when I had my laptop, my smart phone and my son's tablet connected, only the tablet was able to surf the internet with decent speed. When he played a YouTube video, my internet on the laptop was struggling and pages were not being loaded at all, even simple pages like Google.com were not loading.
At the end of the day, I connected only 2 devices (Android Tablet and Android Phone) for my kids to watch YouTube while the rest of the devices connected to the hotel's WiFi. The Android tablet and Android phone (Note 3) had decent speeds while the rest of the devices struggled with the hotel's slow WiFi connection.
Overall, a good experience. At least my son and my daughter had their YouTube fix for the time we spent inside the hotel room. My oldest son (using the tablet) couldn't get YouTube to stop stuttering so he just played games instead on it.
The unit did help out in this case because the wired connection from the room to TEW-817DTR AC750 Wireless Travel Router was much faster than the hotel's own WiFi connection. I didn't get to use the other country's adapters but I'm sure they work fine.
I'd recommend it to those that will use maybe 3 or less devices connected at the same time. Just make sure the hotel room where you'll be staying at has a connected ethernet port to use because the WISP feature was just terrible and it depended on the hotel's WiFi speed and signal strength.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/3/2015 12:38:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-751DR N600 Dual Band Wireless Router IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad Router
Pros: Cheap
Cons: bad router, First time it works fine but as I change the settings like SSID and PIN it never worked so finally purchased different router from FRY and setup just took me 5 mins

for this router I spent almost 4-5 hours and it never worked
Reviewed By:N/A,8/3/2015 10:47:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys WRT1900AC Wireless AC Dual Band Router AC1900, Open Source ready, eSATA/ USB 3.0 Ports

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Potentially great
Pros: It's flexible with great features and performance. Open source potential. Guest network is potentially useful
Cons: Open source firmwares not really in existence yet; drops connections every day or so; have not tried more yet; guest network is not able to be limited by bandwidth, credentials, sites, etc. Really not useful as implemented at this time.
Other Thoughts: I'm going to use this with an eSata storage array and USB 3 drive but just for wireless it's super fast throughput and really low latency. I've not yet encountered stability issues in the router itself, but am not pleased that my one connected device (Dell laptop with Intel wireless N) will drop once a day. It reconnects in about a minute when I retry. It's my hope that this get ironed out quickly. Such a vanilla configuration (FIOS on the WAN side) should be rock solid. I've never had this with another router. Unacceptable as I work from home.

This is a premium router and as such should at least perform stably.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/3/2015 5:50:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys WRT1900AC Wireless AC Dual Band Router AC1900, Open Source ready, eSATA/ USB 3.0 Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best router I've ever had
Pros: easy setup, excellent range, amazing speed
Cons: none
Reviewed By:DW,8/2/2015 11:10:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Archer C7 Wireless AC1750 Dual Band Gigabit Router, 450Mbps on 2.4GHz + 1300Mbps on 5Ghz, 2 USB Ports, IPv6, Guest Network

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Exactly what I expected
Pros: -2.4 ghz range is nice
-fair price
-dual band
-on/off button
Cons: -5 ghz range
Reviewed By:N/A,8/2/2015 10:04:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Archer C9 Wireless AC1900 Dual Band Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great
Pros: works as advetised.
Cons: lulz, price. I bought it the other day for 149.99 now its listed here for 129.99 for the performance though cant complain.
Other Thoughts: got this cause I got 100mb fios and the p-os zyx-tel they gave me wouldnt hold a connection worth anything... not to mentioned locked to the point couldnt even set fragmentation threshold. isp router is pure garbage. this archer c9 is worth its weight in gold for how nicely it handles my internet, and better still no greyed out settings !!! I can tune my network exactly as I need it.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/2/2015 6:54:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC68R Wireless-AC1900 Dual-band Gigabit Router Factory Refurbished

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very used router
Pros: Nice GUI interface with easy setup. Easy to upgrade firmware.
Cons: Doesn't work well. It half way works with only one band 2.4 Ghz; other than that I don't know I didn't test the cloud function and other USB capabilities.
Other Thoughts: Out of the box it looked like it was used. It appeared dusty and someone has quickly dusted it off and packaged it. I bet the original problem was overheating and the 5 Ghz transmitter would stop working. This what I have going on now. Usually when I buy refurbished it looks brand new. I will probably ask for my money back. I don't think I can trust the brand any longer. It appears to be a failed unit that was just repackaged.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/2/2015 6:11:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.