Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys MAX-STREAM AC1900 Next Gen MU-MIMO Dual-Band Smart Wi-Fi Gigabit Router with Seamless Roaming (EA7500)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice router
Pros: Wifi actually works in the entire house. Way way better coverage than the comcast thing I had before. Nice admin UI with many useful features. Fast, reliable. Very happy with it so far.
Cons: - none yet
Reviewed By:Eugene S.,9/27/2016 11:31:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys EA6500 V2 AC1750 Wi-Fi Wireless Dual-Band+ Router with Gigabit, Smart Wi-Fi App Enabled, Open Source supported

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great router if downgraded
Pros: Good signal in 2.4 and 5 GHz
Strong steady connection
Had to be Rebooted once in 4 years
Cons: Belkin now owns Linksys
They forced a firmware update
Linksys Smart-WiFi useless if you actually configure your router
Forced to use Smart-WiFi unless downgraded
Other Thoughts: I have owned this for a while with no issues I finally started getting a little drag as more and more devices got added so I went to get in the configuration menu and it went to Linksys Smart-WiFi tried to log in locally instead of setting up a username and password and my password was changed to the default. Get in the config menu and it is still Smart-WiFi and my guest account has been turned on. Smart-WiFi is Belkins form of Cloud Connect that they moved Linksys to when they bought the name. The difference is Cisco allowed you to use the Advanced Setup and Belkin forced the cloud software to get rid of it it has to be downgraded and auto updates turned off. Where Smart-WiFi is good for the average user who just wants to plug in and go the advanced user is left out. I pushed DD-WRT onto it instead. Belkin has ruined the Linksys name.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/27/2016 10:13:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys E1200-RM Wireless-N Router IEEE 802.3/3u, IEEE 802.11b/g/n

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Purchased to replace the TP Link Router in the future. will stay in box until til the time comes
Pros: Purchased this ahead of time, will stay in box for later on
Cons: None :)
Other Thoughts: Its better to purchase ahead of time, preplan for the worst case scenario. confident it will work out of box.
Reviewed By:Phillip T.,9/27/2016 6:42:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC3200 Tri-Band AC3200 Wireless Gigabit Router AiProtection with Trend Micro for Complete Network Security

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Remarkably Effective Router
Pros: Easy to setup with a rich feature set. The original firmware was a little shaky but once it was up to date and in place things worked beautifully. It has no problem getting wi-fi through our entire house and the QoS works like a dream. I have been very impressed with the firewall and browsing safety features as well amazingly enough as most of the time those features are rather poor on a consumer grade router.
Cons: Out of the box firmware was a little sketchy and the update process was a little difficult but not unmanageable.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend this router to anyone with a larger home or with a lot of devices. It's beefy enough to provide wi-fi through an entire neighborhood let alone a house and handles large numbers of devices like a champ.
Reviewed By:Richard E.,9/26/2016 9:51:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R7800 Nighthawk X4S AC2600 Smart WiFi MU-MIMO Gigabit Router

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great Wifi, not so great when wired
Pros: The WiFi speed and connection are great around 10% to 20% better than asus RT-N66U.
Easy to setup and use with and smartphone.
Cons: When connected to a 16 port Gigabit switch some times is will not recognize all connected devices
Also when trying to configure wired through a wired network it will refresh slower that when connected by WiFi
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a small wireless network, you can't go wrong with this router. Other wise I would search other products.
Manufacturer Response:Hi,

We are so sorry that you are having issues when wired. We'd like to see why that is and get you the optimal performance that you are looking for. As soon as you get a chance please email us at netgearteam@netgear.com with a copy and paste of this review with any other details, the firmware that is running, and the serial number on your R7800. Also, let us know more about the issue you are having when you connect to the 16 port Gigabit switch.

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/25/2016 1:22:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-Link > TP-Link TL-WR940N_RE Wireless N Router IEEE 802.11b/g/n

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Cheap but good
Pros: Used it to throttle my internet in Call Of Duty a few times and it did the job. Works well with Verizon Fios, didn't have any issues.
Cons: No ipv6
Other Thoughts: Recommended
Reviewed By:RICHARD S.,9/24/2016 4:49:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-WR841N Wireless N300 Home Router, 300Mbps, IP QoS, WPS Button

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Solid, cheap router. 3.5/5
Pros: - Definitely cheap, and quality for a relatively long
- Solid starter router
- UI is simple, comprehensive, and ugly. Just how I like it.
- I'm typing this review using it! It most certainly delivers internet, as advertised.
Cons: - I've owned this router for almost three years; it's not so consistent after this amount of time. It was great when I first bought it, it was great when I lived in my first apartment. Now, I'm rebooting this router at *least* twice per week because it's simply stopped responding. Sometimes I have to reboot twice in a row to get it resolving the address my ISP has given me.
- Building off of the first point: I like to allocate a static IP address for my printer, and home server. When the router decides to "showing its age", starting a machine that uses the static IP address causes the router to crash.

** PLEASE NOTE THAT THE ABOVE ARE COMMENTS AFTER 3 YEARS OF CONSISTENT USE. YOUR RESULTS MAY VARY. **
Other Thoughts: All in all, if you're working on a budget and you don't have intense network operations, *absolutely BUY THIS ROUTER*. Just understand that after a couple of years, it starts to show signs of age and doesn't work as well as it used to.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/24/2016 4:27:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-WR841N Wireless N300 Home Router, 300Mbps, IP QoS, WPS Button

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to setup...works brilliantly!
Pros: No issues to be honest.
Inexpensive
Great Signal
Cons: None that I've come across.
Other Thoughts: No-brainer buy. Seriously.
Reviewed By:Randy P.,9/24/2016 10:29:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R6400-100NAS AC1750 Smart Wi-Fi Dual Band Gigabit Router

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 bad tech support
Pros: looks nice
Cons: the worst tech support ever had the router for less than 30 days cant get the ports to open called tech support and the indian tech support wants to charge me 120 dollars to fix the problem on a new router. never had a problem with linksys. the last netgear device i buy.
Other Thoughts: should have stuck with a linksys
Manufacturer Response:Hey Marc,

We are sorry to hear that you ha trouble getting help from support. Can you please email us at netgearteam@netgear.com with the case numbers you received so we can investigate? You should also include the serial number of the R6400 and a copy and paste of this review so we can help you.

Any time support is unable to help you for whatever reason please let us know by emailing!

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Reviewed By:marc d.,9/24/2016 8:55:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-Link > TP-LINK Archer C8 AC1750 Dual Band Wireless AC Gigabit Router, 2.4GHz 450Mbps+5Ghz 1350Mbps, 1 USB 2.0 Port & 1 USB 3.0 Port, IPv6, Guest Network

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Fast...When it has connection
Pros: Fast network speed
Easy setup
Good set of features and configuration options
USB 2.0 and 3.0
Cons: Limited parental controls - Not an issue for me as I control this on sophos firewall.
I had to take this router out of my network. Connection to internet would intermittently drop for no apparent reason. Would often times have to restart some devices in order to get them to connect again after rebooting router to regain internet. This does not happen with the router that is built into my modem or with the Linksys and Netgear routers this was purchased to replace. Issue is isolated to this router and has not reoccurred since I powered it down and went back to previous setup.

Other Thoughts: I really wanted to like this router. It has some good features for the price. Unfortunately it seems the adage "You get what you pay for" rings true in this case. Not able to recommend based on my experience thus far.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Terry,

Thank you for taking the time to provide detailed feedback regarding your recent experience with our Archer C8 Router.

Based on the symptoms described, our Support Team would greatly appreciate the opportunity to follow up with you in order to address this concern.

At your earliest convenience, please send an e-mail including your contact details to our Support Team at the address below so we may have a Support Agent follow up with you for assistance.

Please reference case number 160927-032622.

We thank you again for your feedback and certainly hope this experience will not discourage you from checking out more of our great networking products in the future.

Best Regards,

TP-Link Support Team
(866) 225-8139
ussupportteam@tp-link.com

Reviewed By:Terry P.,9/23/2016 10:52:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.