Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: Matched my MSI components well in color. Fit well in my case.
Cons: Didn't work at all, clearly defective. All fans powered on, some case lights did not work, no post. Replaced with a Gigabyte Z97X-UD3H-BK and it worked right away.
Other Thoughts: I've rarely spent over $100 on a motherboard, as I'd generally rather just build a new computer than overclock, but I like to have the options there. MSI has generally been pretty good to me and everyone gets a dud once in a while, but regardless I will be returning this board right away.
Reviewed By:CSanti,4/17/2015 4:02:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock X99 Extreme4 LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 ASRock X99 Fails
Pros: Price. Easy to install.
Cons: Not reliable. Minor problems from the start. Possibly related to BIOS.
Cannot get the 2600 to recognize only 2300.
Other Thoughts: I have had this MB for slightly less than 3 months and I have had problems on and off. Would not post and had to try again. Boot info would change and drop the SSD. A week ago it would post up to the logo then stop. I got a new video card, still same problem. Switched to BIOS B after removing all drives. System started. Copied B to A. Posted OK. Added 1 HDD. No post. Crashed the SSD.
Tried three times with the same results.
Switched back to BIOS B. Restored SSD from BU SDD. No problem posting. Added HDD. Still running with BIOS B. Wish I had purchased the ASUS MB instead. Note that I did not overclock the MB. Will contact ASRock.
Reviewed By:chris,4/17/2015 3:01:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS RAMPAGE V EXTREME/U3.1 LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 Extended ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Mess
Pros: Great while it worked.
Cons: I purchased the Rampage IV 2 years ago for a very expensive build. Three weeks ago it just died, no warning just done. I sent it back to ASUS and their repair unit said there were "Bent Pins" and that it wouldn't be covered under warranty. I had taken pictures of the board before sending it to them and there were NO bent pins. Well, rather than argue the point with them I gave them $180.00 to repair it over 2 weeks ago and not only has it not been repaired but I can't even get them to communicate with me on the phone or at ASUS RMA website about its' progress.

Needless to say, I will not include ASUS in any more of my builds due to their extremely poor customer service.
Other Thoughts: You'd think they could train their people to be professional when it comes to customer complaints.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/17/2015 2:24:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
0 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS MAXIMUS VII HERO/ACU LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA MOBO
Pros: Board looks nice, and feel well built but that all I can say as of now.
Cons: Just got the board today for a new build, spent the day putting the now board together and when I went to boot for the first time, q-code 00, board would not even boot to bios. Spoke with asus customer support and tired to flash bios update and still nothing, called newegg and RMA the board, the new board is supposed to be next day shipping so I am happy for that. Will update review after I get the new board installed if all goes well.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/17/2015 1:31:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS MAXIMUS VII HERO/ACU LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA MOBO
Pros: The board looks cool that's about all I can say as of right now.
Cons: Board was DOA right out of the box, I am using this board in a brand new build spent the day getting everything installed and cables ran the way I want them looking all nice but when I went to boot up to install the OS nothing. I was getting the 00 q-code error, did some research online and called asus customer service to trouble shoot after about an hour or trying to flash a new bios asus told me the board was no good and to RMA it. Called newegg customer service and they are supposed to be next day shipping me a new board ill update the review after I get the new board installed but as of now this board gets one egg, would give it none if I could.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/17/2015 1:15:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > EVGA > EVGA Z97 FTW (142-HR-E977-KR) LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Underwhelming and poorly laid out
Pros: Fairly cheap and can run 2600 RAM

They finally started putting the LED and on board boot/reboot and BIODS reset buttons in logical places, this is the only positive that has to do with board layout.
Cons: No DVI connector built in so you will likely need to buy an adapter if you aren't going to run dedicated graphics. HDMI is worthless unless you have a monitor with sound and actually use the speakers.

The built in sound is terrible. Cheaper boards have much better sound built in.

There are so many capacitors built in tight against slots that you better be very careful. This is a brittle board, one slip and you destroyed it.

The RAM slots are so close to the CPU that the stock heatsink of my i5 4690 nearly covers the first RAM slot and would actually touch and put some amount of force on the RAM stick. Luckily I only have two sticks which work in slots 2 & 4. Consider this a 3 slot board.

On the opposite side of the CPU the capacitors and ugly CPU VRM heat sink get close to banging up against the stock CPU heatsink.

Do not buy a large aftermarket CPU heatsink it won't fit and will likely damage the board.

Unless you buy a water cooling system forget about overclocking with this board.

Do not buy this board along with case with bottom mounting PSU if you intend to run SLI. The supplemental PCI-E 6 pin connector actually faces down! Who thought that was a good idea? Internal connectors face out from the mobo, why is this so hard to figure out?

The SATA slots face to the right and are inconvenient but unless you are using a very small case this shouldn't be too big of a deal.

Again, Connectors need to face out from the mobo, why is this so hard to figure out?

It is almost amazing that the external connectors face out, that is how poorly thought out this board is.

The manual sucks and is completely worthless, but this is a failing of every mobo I have ever bought.

EVGA engineers must have been drunk when they laid out this board. There really is no other explanation for the poor layout.

EVGA used to mean quality. I bought this board, an EVGA PSU and video card for my latest build and I will never buy EVGA again. All three items were of low quality.
Other Thoughts: Should be renamed Z97 FTL.

Other than the massive number of cons it does run everything fairly well and doesn't seem to get too hot since it has no onboard fans.

It hangs on boot emitting a totally worthless code but it is very rare. B4 memory training, gee that is helpful. My memory is fine, running memtest on them all night on this board and another produced zero errors.
Reviewed By:AC,4/17/2015 12:52:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-Z97-D3H LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as Intended
Pros: What I needed
Everything Worked Just Fine
Cheap
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Dank,4/17/2015 12:48:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock Fatal1ty X99M Killer LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best motherboard I've ever owned!
Pros: Awesome bios, amazing power, built in M.2 slot... it's a fragging rock star!
Cons: None!
Other Thoughts: You won't be disappointed with this motherboard!
Reviewed By:Wetjet,4/17/2015 12:19:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS X99-DELUXE LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Early Review and Initial Thoughts
Pros: This is a very well-designed board, with just tons of "forward looking" features which, hopefully, will keep this board in play for quite a few years to come for me. It has so many on-board features that it's a lot less expensive than it might seem... since you can eliminate quite a few add-on boards (most notably wireless lan) TECHNICALLY, all you need on this is a CPU (and fan), some memory, some sort of storage device(s), and a video card. Anything else is just "gravy"
Cons: This is less of a con than a "be aware" note. The BIOS is not the old-fashioned, conventional BIOS you may be familiar with. In fact, it's a pretty high-resolution, modern display, with animation, color schemes, and looks very "pretty." The problem with this is that it REQUIRES the boot monitor to be high-definition-capable as well, or the system simply cannot boot at all.

I found this out because I have a nice, but slightly older, home theater PC which comes with a front-panel touchpanel display. This connects to the system through both USB (for the controller) and VGA... yes, I'll say that again, VGA... for the image on-screen.

Few video cards these days allow you to CHOOSE which port is the first to initialize (if you have multiple display outputs). (A jumper or switch on-board would sure be nice, video-card-makers!) And if the first display (such as my limited-to-1024x768 front-panel) is initialized as the first monitor... the "BIOS" of this motherboard will not be able to activate and output to that display... resulting in a "legacy mode" error (error code 62 on my board).

I had attempted to update my older GTX 460 video card to a newer GTX 650... the last series with built-in VGA ports, as far as I can tell. It had an HDMI, a DVI-I (dual) and a VGA. I wanted the HDMI to be #1, the DVI-I to be #2, and the VGA to be LAST.

But it would not do that. And because the BIOS display on this board is in "HD," using that card made my system unbootable.

SO, back in went the older, far less capable card.

I'm preparing to try a much newer card... a 960 from EVGA. This card has three displayport ports, a single HDMI, and a single DVI-I (dual). I've also obtained a pair of adapters... from "displayport" to HDMI and "displayport" to VGA. It's my HOPE that i can pick which display initializes first by just plugging into the various displayport positions in different physical orders.

It's not REALLY a "con" but it's a pitfall... if your boot screen can't display a high-definition image, the system will fail to boot. And there's no way to choose which monitor initializes first.
Other Thoughts: So far I'm quite happy with this. It's gone into my living room Home Theater PC, which will now become very capable of transcoding audio and video files very, very quickly, as well as playing games from my couch or recliner, should I choose to do so.

The on-board wireless works very nicely, but realize, it uses the very small wireless antenna ports, not the ones most typically available for external antennas. So, you're stuck with the provided antenna, with few options unless you really want to go "hardcore" in rewiring things. The GOOD thing is that the wireless-AC networking, even with this tiny little antenna, seems to work as well as my older wireless-N connection, and perhaps a LITTLE bit better, though not as much as AC ought to bring to the table.

I'm using the sound output through my video card's HDMI... so I'm not really seeing the benefits of the onboard sound. The thing is, the on-video-card nVidia sound seems more than adequate through my 7.1 pioneer amplifier and Klipsche speaker system. Still, I'm probalby going to bypass the HDMI sound output and go to the direct-optical-output from the motherboard's sound system at some point in the future, just to eliminate the occasional "lag in activation" I get from HDMI-based sound.

My own application is atypical. For the typical desktop user, I can endorse this card unconditionally. For those who are more casual, or who have special needs (like the output-sequence issues I mention above) you may be happier with something else.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/17/2015 11:44:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS MAXIMUS VII IMPACT LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Mini ITX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Neat form-factor... not for faint at heart
Pros: Loads of features/small form-factor
Cons: QC concerns/daughter card screws loose/motherboard stand-off issues
Ran flawlessly for less than 2 months, then random shutdowns began to occur... Q-code errors. Now, the rig doesn't boot up at all or give any posting beeps.
Other Thoughts: In hindsight, will not go smaller than mATX for a gaming rig. A sour taste in my mouth for Asus motherboards at the moment, but it could be just this particular purchase.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/17/2015 11:06:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.