Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO ALPHA LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 So overly disappointed!!!!
Pros: Pretty, plenty of room for expansion items.
Cons: I've been an ASUS customer for years and spent thousands with their company for my business and personal use. This has been the worst customer service experience I have ever had with anything period!! The motherboard went out with a error code 04 so I call and they send me a label to have it RMA'd. I express to them I need this back right away because this downtime is effecting my livelihood. So I expedite it to them and receive it back in roughly a 3 week turn around. At this point, I'm happy just to get it back because I've lost thousands already. Install the board and bammmmmm same freaking problem error code 04!!!! So I call them upset and set I need a motherboard immediately and talked to a supervisor. They told me they would send a label and as soon as it's ship call them back with the tracking number and they would ship out a replacement right away express. Needless to say that was now 4 days ago and it still hasn't been shipped out. Meanwhile my business is being effected and they tell me it will be at least 5-7 days now before they can ship one out if they are able. So having been a life long ASUS supporter I doubt I will ever use them again because of this experience. They customer support use to be so good and that along with the quality is why I always came back...I don't know what has changed or why....but it has. RMA:USPC690481 and RMA:USPC692218 On a side note....I even filed a complaint with Corporate office and no response.
Other Thoughts: Very leary now about purchasing any ASUS products because of this.
Reviewed By:Julie B.,9/23/2016 4:05:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE G1 Gaming GA-Z170X-Gaming 7 (rev. 1.0) LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Motherboard Has what I needed
Pros: The colors on this board are really nicely done match very good with all the other parts in the System. Like must Gigabyte boards i really like the Bios. It easy to move around and set things up for OC. The board it self feels really good, not cheaply made like some boards I have had in the past. I was happy with this boards layout of slots and ports for everything. I also was surprised to find out that there are LED on this board that you can change colors of to match the rest of the system or turn them off if you don't want them.
This board has a killer lan chip that has been great for gaming. It also has some software to help optimizes your internet settings. Over all really like this board would highly recommend.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Peter N.,9/23/2016 3:15:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI Z170-A PRO LGA 1151 Intel Z170 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy install, Amazing Price
Pros: Posted and Flashed 1st try
Easy Install
Cheap Z170 Board from a well known company.
Cons: a little small, large video cards may block a few SATA ports , doesn't matter unless you have 4+ SATA devices.
Other Thoughts: 10/10 would recommend.
Reviewed By:KYLE M.,9/23/2016 12:42:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI X99A SLI PLUS LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 LOVE this motherboard!
Pros: Purchased this MB back in Feb as part of a combo deal (Intel Core i7-5820K 3.3 GHz combo). First time I've built a PC in a few years and this motherboard has been great. Easy to install and get up and running, overclocking features are very nice!
Cons: I've been running this board since February 2016 and I have no complaints.
Reviewed By:Robert M.,9/23/2016 11:37:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI X99S SLI Plus LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Board. Super Stable.
Pros: Excellent board has been one of the most stable boards I have had. I love MSI support they seem to always keep the board updated. All the options you really need without the overkill of some of these other X99 boards.
Cons: No problems so far except for a few user errors.
Reviewed By:Kevin W.,9/23/2016 9:25:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI X99A GAMING PRO CARBON LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Motherboards - Intel

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Problems with USB. MSI suppot is really bad.
Pros: -Good looking board
-Future proof
-Nice and easy overclocking
Cons: -USB problems with first batch of the board (and MSI is not taking it seriously. they even block the forum on their website which complains this issue https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=272653.0).
-when contact the support, not only they don't even fully read my message, they just sent me the driver link to ask me to update the usb driver... what a waste of time.
-to MSI, this is the thicket number if you want to look: TS091616037639
Other Thoughts: This is the first time I use MSI board and I think it's going to be the last.
I want to keep the board, but with the annoying USB issue, I have to change other board.
Reviewed By:Meng C.,9/23/2016 8:20:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z170 PRO GAMING LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Solid board, but has some issues.
Pros: - great features
-usb type c
- some solid hardware
-great bios
-ddr4 support
Cons: -XMP doesn't work at all
-can't overclock
Other Thoughts: Everything worked right out of the box, and was really easy to install. The main drawback of the board is for whatever reason it won't overclock anything. XMP won't work and there's a lot of complaints on this issue. If you don't want to overclock and don't feel the need to get extra ram speeds get this board, but if you want to overclock and want that extra ram speed stay clear away from this board. I personally would get this if you want a solid board with no overclocking features(until fixed) I would stay clear if you plan on overclocking anything. Otherwise it is a pretty solid board with solid features.
Manufacturer Response:Greetings Nathanael,

Thank you for sharing your ASUS product review. I'm sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience and please accept our apologies for any inconvenience. For the latest CPU microde and improved memory profiles, flash your BIOS firmware to UEFI Version (1904). Download UEFI version 1904 and extract the file to a fat formatted usb stick. Then navigate in bios to the tools menu and use the EZflash utility to do the flash. Let your system update the firmware as needed. Do not power down even if your system sits with a blank screen for 10 minutes or so. When updating your UEFI please make sure to wait for the firmware to update after the board restarts following the flash. This can take a couple of minutes after the board restarts. The board should be left alone during this process. If you need further technical information, feel free to contact me at cl-nestor@asus.com.

Thank you for choosing ASUS!

Best Regards,

-Nestor

ASUS Customer Loyalty – US Support

Reviewed By:nathanael j.,9/23/2016 7:30:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > EVGA > EVGA Z170 Stinger 111-SS-E172-KR LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Mini ITX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 WoW build
Pros: -easy to install
-perfect layout to pair with EVGA Hadron Case
-bios tuning was a breeze
Cons: -none
Other Thoughts: running this Mobo with a i3-6320 and 8gb ddr4 3200. can handle 1080p easily w/ no vid card
Reviewed By:Daniel E.,9/23/2016 7:17:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming Fatal1ty Z97 Killer LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Super Fast Shipping
Pros: First of all, I have not installed this into a computer yet, I still have to buy other parts. Other than that I was very impressed by how fast this was shipped to me. I selected the 3-4 day shipping, and it arrived in 2 days. The picture does not do this mother board justice, it is even sexier.
Cons: None currently, hopefully never.
Other Thoughts: Once installed I will write an update.
Reviewed By:Spencer C.,9/22/2016 8:07:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Intel Motherboards > MSI > MSI Z170A Krait Gaming 3X LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Intel Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very nice board
Pros: +Easy to set up
+Good features
+Nice color scheme
Cons: -Awkward lack of mounting holes on one third of the board. Made plugging in SATAs and other IO components a little more involved, but still extremely doable
-Strangely placed port for case hookups. Most of them I was able to manage just fine, but the front sound hookup I was not able to successfully cable manage, so I had to stretch that over the motherboard to get it to plug in. Might just be that the case's cords were just too short, so I don't have this hinder my outlook on this motherboard.
Other Thoughts: I've owned this motherboard for a little over a week now. As a first time builder I feel I didn't go wrong with this motherboard. The color is nice and compliments the inside of my case very well. It was easy to set up and worked very well out of the box. I thought the IO shield back plate was weirdly cut out, but that is just my lack of experience with IO back plates. Another thing I thought was a little weird is how the motherboard's splash screen is laid behind the Windows 10 startup circle upon starting up the computer. It doesn't contrast all too well but I wouldn't take any points away from it for that, as that is extremely minimal.

I haven't messed with any of the overclocking features to overclock my i5 6600K quite yet, but from what I hear it shouldn't be difficult at all. This motherboard is certainly equipped with the ability to.

Another thing, I am not totally sure if the sound on my motherboard works. I use a USB headset, so I never use the on-board sound, so this isn't the worst thing for me. I will have to reinstall the drivers and see if I can get that to work. I haven't investigated too far into it yet.

I would definitely recommend this motherboard to others. If I could change anything about the motherboard, I'd maybe add more mounting holds on the SATA side of the motherboard, just to make plugging those in a little safer. Other than that, this motherboard is perfect to me so far.

Specs:
Intel i5 6600K 3.5ghz
CoolerMaster Hyper 212 EVO CPU Cooler
MSI Z170A Krait Gaming 3X LGA 1151 Motherboard (The product this review is for)
16GB G.Skill 2400 DDR4 RAM
MSI GAMING X AMD Radeon RX 480 Graphics card (haven't purchased yet)
500gb Samsung Evo 850 SSD
Western Digital Black 1TB Performance HDD (haven't purchased yet)
Rosewill TYRFING Case
Reviewed By:Travis D.,9/22/2016 7:46:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.