Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TL-LINK TL-PA210KIT HomePlug AV 200Mbps Mini Powerline Adapter Starter Kit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Worked but died after year
Pros: Plug and Play. No brainer. Just recently ordered TP Link switch, worked well with this.
Cons: It just died. after an year. Now what do I do with the other piece? Hope the Manufacturer would help but the product is discontinued now. Dont know what to do.
Reviewed By:shiva,7/30/2014 8:10:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA4010KIT High-speed AV 500Mbps Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 The work
Pros: They have worked consistently so far. Decent, but not advertised speed. I get about 200+Mbps, nowhere near 500, but better than wireless for sure.
Cons: Out of the box I had some connectivity issues. Ended up flashing the firmware and that seemed to resolve the issues.
Other Thoughts: I got them on sale for a good price. They are definitely faster than wireless and I dont have to run long ethernet cords around. Overall easy to set up and use. This is my first powerline kit, so I dont know if there is better out there, but Im satisfied.
Reviewed By:ACF,7/29/2014 11:11:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA4010KIT High-speed AV 500Mbps Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 File transfer speed is a huge disappointment
Pros: Easy setup
Cons: Low File Transfer Speed
Other Thoughts: I live in a newer home built in 2006 so I thought the wiring should be good enough to give me some good file transfer speeds with this powerline kit but I was horribly wrong...

The two adapters are plugged directly into wall sockets and are literally 12 feet apart with one up in the bedroom next to the cable modem and the other one directly below it in the living room next to a media center PC. The setup took less than a minute and that is the best part of this kit but once that was done I tried copying a number of files from one computer to another and the top speed I was able to reach was barely 3 MB/s whereas my Wireless-N router provides sustained transfer speed of 11 MB/s.

I also tried installing (on the computer connected directly to one of the adapters) the latest version of TP-LINK "Powerline Utility" downloaded from their website to see if there are any settings that could speed up the connection but I kept getting "The local device hasn't been connected" error message even though the devices were connected and I was able to transfer the files and access internet.

All in all this was a total waste of money in my case and I would not recommend this kit to a friend.

I understand that the transfer speeds could depend on wiring and other factors but as I mentioned this is a newer home so if you already have a Wireless-N or AC and getting speeds over 5 MB/s your are most likely not going to gain anything by buying these.

Note:
All speeds I mention here are in Megabytes per second MB/s, not megabits per second.
Reviewed By:Dean K.,7/28/2014 9:11:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA4010KIT High-speed AV 500Mbps Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Reliable, fast link speed
Pros: Easy to pair; fast data transmission rate (can't remember measurement results, but faster than my Wi-Fi link).
Cons: Can't think of any. Oh, right, it occupies a power outlet.
Other Thoughts: I am using this adapter to connect a bunch of non-Wi-Fi enabled devices via a switch to a router in another room. It does what it is supposed to, running 24/7 without a glitch.
Reviewed By:IZ,7/27/2014 8:30:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA4010KIT High-speed AV 500Mbps Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great fast power line adapter
Pros: I highly recommend this device the TP-LINK TL-PA4010KIT. I was having range issues with my Wi-Fi to a guesthouse on the back of my property. The guesthouse is on the same electricity as the main house and ever thing worked out great. My Internet speed is 25mb the same as my speed directly form the router. The file transfer speed between devices is about 8.9MB so its work better than Wi-Fi also.
Cons: none for the price
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2014 8:39:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA211KIT AV 200Mbps Mini Multi-Streaming Powerline Adapter Starter Kit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Garbage
Pros: Fast when working.
Cons: 2 different sets died within 2 years. The 2nd set was just after the warranty expired.
Other Thoughts: Choose a reputable brand like Netgear or Dlink. I will never purchase or recommend this brand again to anyone.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/26/2014 7:35:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > Rosewill > Rosewill RPLC-200PKIT Premium 200Mbps Powerline AV+ Pass-Through Adapter (Starter Kit - 2 Units)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great in my double wide. Faster than Wifi
Pros: Easy to install. Faster than Wifi. Price. Pass-through.
Cons: Hard to give a con because these a such a great price. Only 2 I could think of is that the case is big and takes up almost both plugs. Not encrypted out of the box.
Other Thoughts: Someone else mention that they get hot? I did not see this with the ones I got. I like these so much that I bought another pair the next day.
Reviewed By:King27021,7/26/2014 3:59:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > ZyXEL > ZyXEL PLA4211 500 Mbps Mini Powerline Pass-Thru Ethernet Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great!
Pros: Plug-N-Play
Fast connection speed
No lag, skips or hops sharing video over network with Media Center.
Cons: A tad bulky, makes the plug above it useless. Hard to hide behind furniture if that is your plan. But if you don't need to hide it behind a dresser, it is great!
Other Thoughts: Last week I purchased the starter kit that included two of these. One hooked up to my router, one all the way on the other side of the house in my living room. They worked great. So much faster than wireless. Not dropping off like a small number of reviewers experience. Once I was convinced it would work, I ordered this one so I could add another computer to the electrical wired network. Plugged it in, it instantly found the others. Same great connection and speeds. Could not be happier...unless they made a thinner model that leave you access to the plug above it. These might be the mini version, but they are hard to conceal behind furniture that would normally be flat against the wall, such as a dresser. Other than that they are perfect. Very glad I won't be trying to run Cat5e through the small space above my vaulted ceilings!
Reviewed By:Tacticalcity,7/25/2014 3:44:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA2010KIT AV 200Mbps Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Great device. Plug and play, had it up and running within 2 minutes. No drivers to install - Perfect for people who aren't tech savvy.
Cons: None so far. If you need to do a lot of video and large file sharing, you might need something with a bit more line speed, but for everyday internet use, this works great.
Other Thoughts: Bought this for someone with a malfunctioning wireless adapter who also had signal issues for several years. Plugged this in, no more problems. I can't speak to the thoroughput since I have no need to push this device to it's limits, but if you need to extend your signal somewhere in your house and wireless is an issue, this is all you need.

Of note: This will likely not work unless plugged directly into a wall socket. The documentation warns you of this. I tried it anyway just to check and got no power out of my surge protector. Keep that in mind if that's an issue for you.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2014 11:44:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > Actiontec > Actiontec PWR511K01 500Mbps Powerline Network Adapter Kit Up to 500Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect solution to extend an Ethernet network
Pros: Easy set up - plug into the wall and connect the WAP or other device and up in running less than 5 minutes. Receiving almost the same performance on the WAP that is connected to the Actiontec as I do on the direct broadband connection. Had one of the devices fail after 6 months and was quickly replaced by Actiontec.
Cons: Haven't found any to date
Other Thoughts: This is a great alternative to running Ethernet cable. Usually less expensive and provides a lot of flexibility on locating you end devices. Quality solution.
Reviewed By:David H,7/23/2014 11:00:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau