Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > Netgear Inc. > Netgear PLP1200-100PAS HomePlug AV2 MIMO AV1200 Powerline Gigabit Ethernet Adapter Kit with Pass-Thru, up to 1200Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Didn't work for me either
Pros: Looked snazzy
Cons: For one computer, at one outlet I got about 80Mb/sec, which is less than 1/10th the advertised speed. For another computer, on another outlet I couldn't get a connection at all.
Other Thoughts: The instructions indicate things like vacuum cleaners and surge protectors can interfere with the connection! Who doesn't use a surge protector with their computer?

Presumably these will work under pristine conditions. Whatever those are.
Reviewed By:Charles G.,5/3/2016 4:49:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR PLW1010 AV2 1000 Mbps Powerline with N300 Wireless Range Extender Kit, Powerline up to 1000 Mbps + Wireless speed up to 300 Mbps

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works well, but not as quick as advertised.
Pros: - Easy setup, mostly plug and play
- Decent speed to areas that had no coverage / game system / Roku
- Best speed when on the same circuit
Cons: - Can only be purchased in pairs
- Don't get the gigabit speeds advertised - probably only under ideal conditions
Other Thoughts: - Can be used to extend existing home wireless network (change to match SSID)
- Don't forget to change default passwords

I ended up purchasing two sets, though I only needed three units. I used the extra as a plain network adapter.
Reviewed By:Thomas B.,5/1/2016 8:23:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > D-Link > D-Link DHP-701AV HomePlug AV2 AV2000 MIMO Gigabit Powerline Starter Kit, up to 2000Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 1 unit keeps restarting
Pros: None
Cons: Not sure what to say here. 3 bad units is a sign of poor engineering or poor quality control or both.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to add to my earlier review that I submitted today. I went back and tried the pair again (the refurbished pair that I received after I RMA'd the new pair I bought) and found that 1 unit is definitely bad. It won't stay connected to the power line network. It keeps restarting over and over.

I'm definitely calling them for another RMA or demand a different model.
Reviewed By:Alex F.,4/30/2016 8:30:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA8010P KIT HomePlug AV2 MIMO AV1200 Gigabit Pass-through Powerline Starter Kit, up to 1200Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Exellent choice to extend your wireless network.
Pros: This power-line kit was definitely an upgrade over the previous one I haved owned Netgear AV500. It is much faster inside the walls and out plus it allows me to connect other devices without rendering the wall socket usless. The main pros of this unit for me are.
-offers fasters speeds, in my case arround 600mbps compared to the 350mbps from my netgear
- does work with other brands of power-line connection units due to being HomePlug compliant
- very good for streaming and 4k
- eliminates use of extra wires and extends network to areas where cable or wifi might be problematic
-convenient to move around from socket to socket as needed
-gigabit port
Cons: This units technology supports 2x2 MIMO which makes use of all three of the neutral, ground and live wires to offer faster speeds and more stable connections. Unfortunately the wiring in my home is not all that modern so thats a limiting factor for me.
- speeds dependent on in-home wiring
-unit is rather bulky, I would prefer it to be much smaller, may cause issues with your walls backboards if your sockets are too low
- gigabit port placed on bottom of unit, I think a side port would be more economical
-1200mbps not attainable in my environment 600mbps ish max
Other Thoughts: This unit is definitely an improvement over what I had before and would definitely recommend it. It is adequate for 4k, streaming and gaming that should be enough for any hardcore techie. Theres much less setup involved with extending a network using this system than there is with routers, cables and wireless adapters so that is a big plus. For me the biggest plus is the ability to move it around the house with ease.
Reviewed By:Dariusz T.,4/30/2016 11:21:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA2010KIT AV200 Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit, up to 200Mbps

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Terrible connection consistency
Pros: It is the only alternative to terrible wi-fi signals and when it works, it's as fast as my Ethernet. I can't use Ethernet unless I drill a hole to the level below me where the router is to connect it. Which is a lot more work than I'm willing to do.
Cons: This thing is absolutely awful. It intermittently will just stop it's connection to it's partner and I'll have to go all the way downstairs and unplug it (I know, first world problems right?). You will have to do this at least twice for 6 hour sessions even if you're away from your computer, so interrupted downloads are common. It's possible my product was defective and I got unlucky but I don't know. I do know that I'm extremely dissatisfied and discouraged since the only alternative is reducing my home's value just for better internet connection.
Other Thoughts: You're probably better off making a connection through Ethernet. Much more reliable.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We thank you for your review and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused by our product.

We wish our support team had the opportunity to troubleshoot our powerline product while these issues were occurring, however, we understand your frustration and sincerely hope you have been able to find a more suitable solution.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding our products in the future, please feel free to contact our support team at the number and/or email provided for you below and an available technician will be happy to assist you.

Best Regards!
TP-LINK Support Team
866) 225-8139
ussupportteam@tp-link.com

Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/29/2016 1:53:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA4010KIT High-speed AV500 Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit, up to 500Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product,easy setup.
Pros: These are very easy to setup.Plug them in and pair them up and you are good to go.I have four set up and with no problems on any of them.Nice thing is,no more wires running through the house.
Cons: Don't really have any cons.They do what they say they will do.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend these for anyone with more than one computer in the house or game consoles,smart tv's or whatever your using that needs internet access.
Reviewed By:David S.,4/29/2016 4:08:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA4010KIT High-speed AV500 Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit, up to 500Mbps

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works ok, but not 500Mbps
Pros: They're small and work well.
Cons: The advertised speed is 500Mbps, but the port negotiation speed is only 100Mbps at the most.
Other Thoughts: I currently use the adapter kit to provide internet to one of my Raspberry Pis being used as a smart table. This allows me to eliminate an Ethernet cord leaving the table. Speeds and stability are as-expected (no connection or packet loss).
Reviewed By:Sean R.,4/28/2016 2:02:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > D-Link > D-Link DHP-701AV HomePlug AV2 AV2000 MIMO Gigabit Powerline Starter Kit, up to 2000Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome product
Pros: Crazy easy to install
Set and Forget
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I've been using this item for several months now and have had absolutely no issue with it. I haven't even looked at the product since it was installed. That's the way you want a product like this to work. Bandwidth is pretty good. I would definitely recommend this product for people who need a 'bridge' between two zones and can't run cable.
Reviewed By:Christopher M.,4/26/2016 8:42:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA4010KIT High-speed AV500 Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit, up to 500Mbps

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: - Incredibly easy to setup. If it takes you more than a minute to unpack these adapters and get them plugged in, there's a problem!
- Depending on where I tested them I saw speeds ranging between 42-81Mbps. (42 being the furthest I could run the adapters and 81Mbps one room over.)
- 2 solid weeks of testing and streaming hd movies over Netflix with all but a minor hiccup or two in the form of a brief disconnect.

I want to note that I got to test a different pair of power line adapters a few years ago and the reliability of the connection is definitely improved with this model.
Cons: - While these do say “up to 500Mbps” in the description, if you read the specifications tab you'll see that the adapters come with 10/100 ports. This means the best speed you'll see is 100Mbps. I find this misleading enough to deduct half an egg.

Other Thoughts: There really isn't a lot to say about a product like this. They're far more convenient than running cat-5 through your house to a non-wifi device. In my case my media player was wireless capable however it's at the furthest end of the house from my router. While the signal was mediocre on a good day, I would find movies buffering any time someone used their cell phone or laptop over the wireless. That's no longer an issue.
They work; they work well. If you're looking for an easy fix for your networking needs and wireless isn't an option then you found it.
Reviewed By:Jerome K.,4/25/2016 3:54:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA4010KIT High-speed AV500 Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit, up to 500Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easily extend your network with TP-Link.
Pros: The TL-PA4010KIT is truly a Nano setup. The kit consists of two small powerline adapters. They are plug and play. As soon as you plug them both in, they connect and establish a network. This takes less than a minute. You can increase security by using the pair button to establish a private group. Establishing the private group also took less than a minute.

I tested the powerline adapters using several locations around my house. I achieved my best speeds when the adapters were closer to each other. The farther away they were from each other, the slower the connection. The hardwire connection on this kit is 100Mbps. That limits the connection speed. I was able to achieve a 91 Mbps speed during testing. The best speed I could achieve with real world use was 81 Mbps. Those speeds are more than enough to stream an HD movie from the popular streaming services. I ran several online speeds tests. The test using my desktop connected to my router was the same speed as the test using a machine connected using the powerline adapters. My ISP connection is 35Mbps. The powerline adapter is faster than that.

You can connect a total of 16 of the TP-Link powerline adapters on the same network.

TP-Link offers a powerline utility to use with their adapters. The utility has a status tab that will show you the MAC address of an adapter, the network name, the password and the firmware version. The network tab shows you the connection speed and will allow you to change the device name and password. There is an advanced tab that has settings for Quality of Service(QOS) options. I did not notice a difference when I changed those settings. The last tab is the System tab. From here you can upgrade the firmware, reset the device or change the network name.
Cons: These adapters do not have a pass through for the ad plug so you will lose one plug in your wall socket. This kit is uses the AV500 standard. The 500 in the name comes from the theoretical speed of 500 Mbps when using the standard. TP-Link states this in the documentation. Just remember that no one gets those speeds in real life on any AV500 powerline adapters.
Other Thoughts: Powerline networking allows you to extend your network using the wiring in your house. There are several versions of powerline networking. Any powerline kit with an AV500 specification will operate between 70-90 Mbps. There are faster versions such as AV2 which can achieve speeds from 150 to 250 Mbps. There is a tradeoff. The AV2 kit will cost you more.
Powerline adapters fill a specific need. You cannot use them in an environment where you need high bandwidth. If you need to move large files around, like 40 GB Bluray files, it will take a while. For reference, a wired 1Gbps connection is 10 times as fast as the powerline connection speeds you will get with this powerline kit. For browsing the internet, checking email and streaming movies, this kit will get the job done.
Reviewed By:Mark T.,4/22/2016 9:02:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.