Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Powerline Networking > ZyXEL > ZyXEL PLA5405KIT HomePlug AV2 MIMO 1200 Mbps Powerline Gigabit Ethernet Adapter Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect introductory experience to Powerline AV2 Products and amazing and immediate results!
Pros: I love these things! First Powerline experience and I am perfectly pleased.
I have benchmarked each of my Powerline devices using speedtest.net and have increased my client connectivity by 5x/500%.
Cons: The only "complaints" I would have would be:
1. The cost (though I saved $40/pair by purchasing them here @ NewEgg)
2. There's no passthrough plug support (which you see plain as day)
3. You can't turn off the LEDs (wfies' complaint for the one in the entertainment center)
4. You are NOT going to get Gbit performance through your power lines in your house, but with most peoples bottlenecks being their internet connection, I don't see this as an issue most people have.

None of these are enough to reduce my happiness with the purchase of 2 pairs of these and thus subtract any Eggs from my review.
Other Thoughts: I will be testing out LAN Performance to see what actual throughput is for my Internal Network as well as testing encryption to see what the impact is to performance and will post an update when I have one.
Reviewed By:orgnalwood,1/30/2015 2:13:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR Powerline 500 Mbps Kit with WiFi - N Access Point (XWNB5201)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works quite well
Pros: This is an excellent choice to use if you do not have CAT5 available for long distances or do not desire to run CAT5 across your home. This is a better solution in my opinion than running WIFI.
Cons: I have experienced two cons in 2 years of using this system. The system from time to time needs to get unplugged and rebooted essentially. I would say this occurs once a month to every few months. The Powerline Utility can also get warm at times.
Other Thoughts: Overall I really like this system. It has been more reliable and cost effective verses purchasing a new WIFI router due to my router only supporting up to wireless G. It is also a great way to avoid dead spots in the home when you are running WIFI.
Reviewed By:MonkeH,1/29/2015 5:34:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > Tenda > Tenda P200 Powerline Mini Adapter Kit Up to 200Mbps

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Stopped working after a month
Pros: Worked fine for about a month.
Cons: After a month one of the units will shut off for a second causing a lose of connection for a few seconds while the thing powered back on. I have tried resetting both units, moving them closer together but I still have the same problem.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/28/2015 1:55:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA4010KIT High-speed AV 500Mbps Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as designed
Pros: Works faster then my wifi (wireless N) in my old house i could even put surge protectors on it. New house not so much but still good enough.
Cons: Wish i could protect the device with surge protectors but really slows down the speed.
Reviewed By:matrix5646,1/28/2015 9:43:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA4010KIT High-speed AV 500Mbps Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best alternative to wireless
Pros: Easy to use, fast, reliable
Cons: Intermittently has to be reset, but not very often
Other Thoughts: Why choose the "500" if the port on the unit is only 100meg? The 500 number is the overhead number. There is huge overhead with Powerline ethernet adapters. This is do to signal noise, etc. When the line is noisy, it drops speed. When you have a signal processor in the unit that can handle 500mbps, you get closer to the 100meg throughput of the port.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/26/2015 3:15:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA4010KIT High-speed AV 500Mbps Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Virtually Useless
Pros: Easy to set up
Cons: Poor, unstable connection
Other Thoughts: Ever since the powerline concept was introduced, I've always been skeptical. I had a unique situation needing an usual solution, so I reluctantly looked into them. Reading reviews, I thought maybe the tech had matured, but it's clearly still a hit-or-miss gimmick.

Unless connected to outlets in the same room, performance is so poor that any other alternative would be better. Even weak wifi is faster and far more stable than this. Connection speeds are low. Pings are high - and all over the place. Connection just drops intermittently.

1 star to Newegg, too, for selling this junk in the first place and then wanting to hit me with restocking and return shipping to return it. Will definitely think twice before buying from Newegg in the future.
Reviewed By:Brent,1/26/2015 11:01:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA6010KIT AV2 600 Powerline Adapter Starter Kit, Up to 600Mbps, Gigabit Ports, Plug and Play, Power Saving

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as Promised
Pros: -Fast connection over long distance across old wiring
-Truly plug and play
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I plugged each unit in and it all worked seamlessly and immediately. Super handy device. Shipped very quickly too.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/24/2015 5:17:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > ZyXEL > ZyXEL 600 Mbps Powerline AV2 Gigabit Pass-Thru Adapter, Starter Kit - 2 Units (PLA5215KIT)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 best networking product I've used
Pros: Great product! Plugged it in over six months ago and never had to reset or unplug it to get it working like with other solutions. I use it for Xbox one and it works great.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,1/22/2015 5:42:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > Rosewill > Rosewill RPLC-201PKIT 200Mbps Powerline AV Pass-Through Adapter (Starter Kit - 2 Units) Up to 200Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Rosewill Powerline adapter
Pros: Works flawlessly just plug-and-play! It took me about 5 minutes to get them working but I was setting up security so it was probably just me too slow. I get my full 6Mbps connection 5 rooms away! About 100 feet. and hasn't lost connection yet after 2 weeks. and also get about 80Mbps connection with one going to my PFSense box (NAS Connected through Gigabit to PFSense box) Through to my NAS. Will update after having longer time with the adapters.
Cons: NOTHING YET!
Reviewed By:Dark XzYph3R,1/20/2015 10:54:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > Actiontec > Actiontec PWR511K01 500Mbps Powerline Network Adapter Kit Up to 500Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Runs Hot, then Dies
Pros: Hooked it up and it worked, Pretty quick
Cons: Noticed both ran pretty hot, didn't last too long before they died.
Other Thoughts: I'd try another brand, if you want something that will last.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/19/2015 1:28:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.