Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TPL-406E2K Powerline AV500 Nano Adapter Kit, up to 500 Mbps

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 initial review was "X-FED"
Pros: Works as well as my old wireless, without the drops; the firmware update was easy...a bit scary, but easy and get good reception
Cons: NEWEGG...why use FED-EX? Obviously, they cannot deliver on their promise of 3-day delivery...and then no update or reason why delivery is/was late. A REAL nonchalant attitude...so -1 egg for shipping choice...
Other Thoughts: Got Nano power-line on a discount (31.99), just to remove my PC from the wireless internet traffic at the house. Kids were complaining I was soaking up the "router juice". Now I'm off the wireless network and still ticking along at 30 Mbps. Which is about par for what Comcast is offering in my neck of the woods (forest). Item works nicely.
Reviewed By:KENNETH W.,2/12/2016 2:52:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > ZyXEL > ZyXEL PLA5256KIT HomePlug AV2 SISO AV1000 Powerline Pass-Thru 2-Port Gigabit Ethernet Adapter Kit, up to 1000Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Side affect of using this product
Pros: The product works as advertised. If installed as mentioned you get really good speeds.
Cons: - These units get pretty warm when they are only plugged in for a few minutes.
- Caused all other units connected to it to heat up excessively and degraded how they functioned
-They are so large that they cover the other outlet in the plug to the point it could not be used by other three plug connections.
Other Thoughts: I had two of these units connected to a new Netgear wireless router and it heater the router up to the point that it was hot to the touch. Additionally this increased heat caused the WiFi to degrade to a point that units trying to connect to in the same room would not connect. Once I disconnected the ZyXEL units from the router and it cooled down (no heat to the touch) WiFi functioned as expected.

This seemed like a really good option, but after seeing the results, I'm going to run good old dependable Ethernet cables.
Reviewed By:Keith S.,2/11/2016 5:09:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TPL-406E2K Powerline AV500 Nano Adapter Kit, up to 500 Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome
Pros: -Easy setup a caveman can do it
-cheapest option for 500mbps rating
Cons: If you're a caveman then you need to fix your teeth.
Other Thoughts: My rig is in the basement out of cable reach from my router, I've been getting about <10Mbps, now Im at 30, like w t f. I can now stream por... youtube vids 4k without a hitch!
Reviewed By:james e.,2/10/2016 10:28:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > ZyXEL > ZyXEL PLA5456KIT HomePlug AV2 MIMO AV2000 Powerline Pass-Thru 2-Port Gigabit Ethernet Adapter Kit, up to 2000Mbps Transmit: up to 2000 Mbps Receive: up to 2000 Mbps Powerline Speeds: up to 2000 Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Easy to install, but worthless to me
Pros: Plug and play - that's it
Cons: Performance is dismal
Other Thoughts: I live in a 2000 sqft single-level condo with segregated electrical service built in 2004, but it's metal-stud construction, so WiFi drop-off is dramatic. I've been looking for something more reliable than repeaters and thought I'd try these. Between the metal studs and concrete floors and ceilings, running Cat5 at this stage is prohibitive.

Connecting my laptop directly to the remote 5456, I measured a whopping 2.07 Mbps download on Ookla's Speedtest in an area of my home where WiFi is good, i.e., closer to the router. The 5456 was flashing green, so it was measuring its own transfer rate at greater than 80 Mbps - must be a ton of lost packets. Ookla actually stalled four times trying to measure download speed, presumably due to the communication quality issues, which means that 2.07 Mbps was my best result. So ... 0.1% of the "rated" speed, when it worked at all. Woo. Switching back to WiFi, I measured over 50 Mbps from the router plugged into the other 5456, so my service is fine. I can get better than 2 Mbps on my WiFi in the worst areas of my home without repeaters, so there's no point in using these.

P.S. I did try installing the remote 5456 in the same room as the local 5456 and was able to get over 20 Mbps download, but what's the point if they need to be installed in the same room to work? It's useless to me if it can't pass through a set of breakers.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/10/2016 6:00:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA4010 AV500 Nano Powerline Adapter Up to 500Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't work in my home
Pros: None, doesn't work.
Cons: I have a small home and yet this product only works for 30 minutes. I'm not alone in this, read reviews from other websites. From what I've gathered if you have an older home, this product probably won't work for you as well. FYI my home was built in the 70's I believe.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/9/2016 2:17:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > On Networks > On Networks PL500-199NAS AV500 Powerline kit, Up to 500Mbps

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Standard not good enough AV1 device.
Pros: Establishes a connection.
Cons: speed of connection varies dramatically. the same connection from one point to another will swing between 40 Mbps to 1-5 Mbps constantly. this will prevent the throughput from being predictable and renders it unusuable for a lot of things. I'm going room to room very short distance without much luck. also for some reason the MTU is a factor and the Xbox One hates this thing. Every other wired device can push at least 4 Mbps on average when using this adapter. the XB1 reports less than 1 Mbps, drops packets, and lags to like 120 ms. There is a solid chance your device will not be perfectly compatible with the bridge this creates between you and your router.
Other Thoughts: I tried many different locations and different circuits. same result, near or far every time.
Reviewed By:Pete,2/9/2016 4:20:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA6010KIT AV2 AV600 Powerline Adapter Starter Kit, Up to 600Mbps, Gigabit Ports, Plug and Play, Power Saving

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not so Great for me
Pros: Worked great at first, super simple to setup.
Cons: At first it was great. But as time went on over 1-3 months, the connection would just disconnect. It would be fixable by walking to the module, unplugging it and re-plugging it. It would instantly connect after that. At first it was flawless, then I had to reconnect it maybe once during a movie session. Then later I would have to do it twice, now I am having to do it about 4 times during a single movie. I gave up on the device and did wifi instead.

After about 3 months later, I tried again, and once again, flawless. Then later it gradually would disconnect more and more, the same way as last time over the span of a month or two.

I really have no idea what to do about this. I did spend about 70 bucks on this.
Other Thoughts: Some things to note are, the appliances in my house haven't really changed or are being plugged in and out all the time. It's pretty much the same stuff. I live in a private house, lines isolated to our selves and my upstairs tenants, which there electricity bill never really changed drastically ever.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/7/2016 8:33:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > ZyXEL > ZyXEL PLA5456KIT HomePlug AV2 MIMO AV2000 Powerline Pass-Thru 2-Port Gigabit Ethernet Adapter Kit, up to 2000Mbps Transmit: up to 2000 Mbps Receive: up to 2000 Mbps Powerline Speeds: up to 2000 Mbps

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Do not recommend
Pros: - Was able to plug in and get a connection
- Did test faster than my AV2 1000mbps
Cons: - Regularly lost sync
- Xbox 360 set as windows media center extender would freeze maybe once every 45 minutes
Other Thoughts: My use for this is for windows media extenders. I have 4 Zyxel av2 1000mbps that were not pass through that I wanted to replace with the faster speed because my menus would be a little slow moving with the current setup. This device did speed up my menus. Their downfall is that every 45 minutes or so I would experience a network hiccup that sometimes even needed me to reset the devices. This is unacceptable when compared to the slower av2 1000mbps from the same company. Very unfortunate.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/7/2016 5:46:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > ZyXEL > ZyXEL PLA5256KIT HomePlug AV2 SISO AV1000 Powerline Pass-Thru 2-Port Gigabit Ethernet Adapter Kit, up to 1000Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Maximum Speed From This Powerline Adapter
Pros: I purchased two sets after getting inconsistent speeds with the TP-Link products I was using. My Internet cable speed (Comcast) is 88-89 Mbps and only one of the three TP-Link adapters tested that fast. The other two never speed-tested past 65 Mbps for some reason. I received and installed the adapters today and am happy to say that all three units speed tested at the 88-89 Mbps speed that I get on my desktop that is connected to my modem. I watched a TV show using the Crackle App and the picture quality was much better with the increased speed.
Cons: The unit has different light colors based on the speed. For some reason, one adapter occasionally turns orange (20-80 Mbps) but the speed tests at the maximum, 88-89 Mbps.
Other Thoughts: I am happy with this purchase. Worked as expected.

Side note. I do not use the CAT-5 cables that were included. I have CAT-7 cables and used them instead.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/7/2016 9:04:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > ZyXEL > ZyXEL PLA5456KIT HomePlug AV2 MIMO AV2000 Powerline Pass-Thru 2-Port Gigabit Ethernet Adapter Kit, up to 2000Mbps Transmit: up to 2000 Mbps Receive: up to 2000 Mbps Powerline Speeds: up to 2000 Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible Speed
Pros: None
Cons: Was trying to replace old WD Livewire 200Mbps units. Actual speed of the WD's is ~20Mbps on separate circuits.

The ZyXEL speed light flashed red and troubleshooting options don't work. Speed is less than 1Mbps down and 30Mbps up.

Moved adapters to various plugs within the same circuit, speed stayed the same. Tried plugging adapters into each other, no change in speed.

House is 15 years old so wiring shouldn't be a problem.
Other Thoughts: Seems like a hit or miss product based on others getting fantastic speeds, not something worth wasting more time on so requested a refund.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/6/2016 12:55:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.