Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Powerline Networking > ZyXEL > ZyXEL PLA5405KIT HomePlug AV2 MIMO AV1200 Powerline Gigabit Ethernet Adapter Kit, up to 1200Mbps

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 nowhere near gigabit transfer rate
Pros: It's the newest HomePlug AV2 standard which has a much faster transfer rate than the older standard. The kit includes encryption security. It's generally a plug and play setup.
Cons: My network setup is through Cat 6 cables connected to a gigabit unmanaged switch. I used LAN_SpeedTest to test the speed of the network. All the testing PC's have SSD drives to allow fast read and write tests. The usual speed via my cat 6 cable is between 600 to 700 mbps. For this test, one end is connected via cat 6 and the other end is via the ZyXEL adapter. The best speed out of this PowerLine adapter was never higher than 150 mbps anywhere within the house. This is quite adequate for normal usage such as connecting to the Internet or watching large video from the server.
Other Thoughts: As I tried out different power outlets in the house, I somehow got no connection on my third attempt. It turned out the encryption timing (i.e., how long the button is pressed and held) is literally strict. I must have held it for more than 3 seconds which practically shut down the PowerLine network. I went back to read the manual and got it back to working condition within 5 minutes.
Reviewed By:Strawman,4/26/2015 6:21:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > Linksys > LINKSYS PLEK400-NP Powerline AV200 1-Port Network Adapter Kit, Up to 200Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 work great, easy setup
Pros: plugged them in and they worked..
Cons: Can't think of any
Reviewed By:N/A,4/25/2015 10:13:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > ZyXEL > ZyXEL PLA4231KIT AV500 Powerline with N300 Wireless Range Extender Kit, Powerline up to 500Mbps + Wireless speed up to 300Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 do not buy
Pros: none
Cons: returned the product. unable to connect even when in the same room.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/24/2015 11:52:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > ZyXEL > ZyXEL PLA4231KIT AV500 Powerline with N300 Wireless Range Extender Kit, Powerline up to 500Mbps + Wireless speed up to 300Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 You probably wont get 500Mbps.
Pros: I needed a solution for streaming HD content and providing better wifi to the upstairs floors of an older woodframe house built in the 1930s. I Had experience with first generation Homeplug powerline networking products so I knew that in real world situations you are not going to get anywhere near the rated max speed. In my case the devices are separated by about 100ft (30m) at opposite sides of the house. My tests indicate an average speed of around 60Mbps/sec which is just about what I expected and faster than the Wifi speed I was getting to the same location. I have only been using the devices for 24hours but so far video streaming of HDTV content is working fine with no glitches. The Wifi AP works great and is easy to set up from the web interface and performs well. The two ethernet ports on the device also come in very handy for hooking up a media streaming device and a desktop computer in the same room. I am very satisfied with this product , but just be aware that you are not going to get 500Mbps.
Cons: Cant deliver 500Mbps.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/24/2015 5:20:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TPL-420E2K Powerline AV2 AV1200 Adapter Kit, Up to 1.2Gbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not ready for primetime
Pros: Easy to reach customer support on the telephone.
Cons: I purchased two kits (total of four adapters). One adapter from each kit was DOA - the power LED didn't even light up. Customer support suggested holding in the reset button (which isn't documented) for 60 seconds. Didn't help. Quality control is sorely lacking.
Reviewed By:.,4/23/2015 6:48:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > ZyXEL > ZyXEL PLA4231KIT AV500 Powerline with N300 Wireless Range Extender Kit, Powerline up to 500Mbps + Wireless speed up to 300Mbps

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good product, great price
Pros: After seeing a one star review I had to write something that actually reflects this product. I bought 2 kits a few weeks ago on a great Newegg sale. I've set them up in addition to prior installed Zyxel powerline adpapters. They are remarkable. You do have to look up the manual in English on the net but for the price compared to other vendors that's not a problem. I have 2 of the wireless adapters and they seem to have bridged and to form one very strong network. The throughput is very good and the coverage is remarkable. I have no complaints and they service multiple wired and wireless devices around the house.
Cons: Wish there was an easier way to reset the security pw.
Reviewed By:Errol50,4/23/2015 2:48:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > Tenda > Tenda P200 Powerline Mini Adapter Kit Up to 200Mbps

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Worked for 2 years
Pros: When it worked, it worked very well and very reliably.
Cons: Failed after about two years. Just stopped working (lost connection). I was able to get them working again by resetting them. Two days later they failed again and I could not get them to connect. Reset to factory settings (hold button for greater then 15 seconds) and they would still not make a connection with each other. Moved them so they were only a few feet apart on the same electrical circuit and still no joy.
Other Thoughts: These should work for many years, especially for the price.
Reviewed By:MN Tech Guy,4/22/2015 7:31:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA2010KIT AV200 Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit, up to 200Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Plug/Unplug and Play
Pros: Plug and play - it works right out of the box, no fuss.
Cons: Unplug and play - connection drops at least once per day, devices need to be unplugged to fix the issue, which is simply unacceptable for a piece of home network infrastructure. I am trying to imagine the special hell that would be rebooting all my electronics daily...
Other Thoughts: I see here that the Manufacturer actually recommends unplugging briefly to people having issues. I suppose my new powerline adapters also require a daily massage to function properly. Or... or... TP-Link, just build a proper device.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/22/2015 3:15:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > D-Link > D-Link DHP-701AV HomePlug AV2 AV2000 MIMO Gigabit Powerline Starter Kit, up to 2000Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fastest Powerline
Pros: First of all, these are Homeplug AV2 with MIMO technology. The first I've seen on the market with MIMO.

I'm getting almost 350Mbps from my gateway with NAS to my laptop. Backing up my complete HDD was extremely quick. It is around 4 times faster than my old AV1 and way faster (reliable) than Wi-Fi. I did multiple tests using a 5GB video file transfer from NAS to laptop.

Also, due to the low latency I find this to be the best solution for online gaming. Especially first person shooters.
Cons: You will never get 2Gbps... That is just the PHY rate. The real data rate should be a few hundred Mbps. A pass through version would be good.
Reviewed By:Kazarius,4/20/2015 6:13:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > Actiontec > Actiontec PWR200K01 AV200 Powerline Kit Up to 200Mbps

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Last 6 months
Pros: Works perfect out of the box. Extremely easy set up, just plug in and done. Low power consumption, pretty good speed.
Warranty is breeze, both sets have been exchanged without any problems with customer service, the replacements were a even better model with no extra cost but the shipping of the defective set (around 6.50 Priority)
Cons: They die at around 4 to 8 months of use, purchased 2 sets of these and both sets have died, just 1 of the adapters died on both sets, and in both cases was the sender adapter (the one connected to the router).
Other Thoughts: If you need them for constant use, might as well buy a different model.
Customer Service is rock solid and you will get covered if anything goes wrong with your set, so I will not say avoid this brand.
Reviewed By:Portedbikes,4/20/2015 2:14:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.