Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-PA7020 KIT HomePlug AV2 MIMO AV1000 2 –Port Gigabit Powerline Starter Kit, up to 1000 Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product, easy set up and reliable.
Pros: -Easy Plug and Play setup
-2 Ports on each adapter
-Ethernet cables included
-Over the period of 1 week the speed is consistent and has not dropped once
Cons: -Not getting the model with 3 ports is my only con but that isn't reason to knock any eggs
Other Thoughts: I have 130Mbps down and 5Mbps up through my ISP. With every powerline kit I have tested I have never been able to get over 36Mbps until now. With this powerline kit I am able to get almost 80Mbps down and I get my full 5Mbps up from one side of the house to the other (1900SF). In my living room I have my modem, HD Homerun Prime, an ASUS wireless router with a 4TB external hard drive attached to it. Transferring files through the powerline from my PC to that external drive connected to that router I get 18Mbps to 23Mbps but that said the USB port on the ASUS router is 2.0 so that definitely plays a role. All that said I was close to giving up on powerline adapters but this kit has given me renewed hope that the technology is evolving and is an extremely affordable means to running internet on the same power grid where WiFi is an issue.

Lastly I would like to point out that I have tested quite a few different adapters and if you are having an issue where your speed is really low I have found the cause to be too much noise in that receptacle. Try to use a receptacle where no major appliances are plugged into it because they create too much noise in that receptacle. Never attach a powerline adapter to a power strip as that will also have a big impact on speed and reliability. Its no secret TP-Link makes solid networking hardware and I can definitely recommend this product to anyone without a doubt. This product has earned its place in my home network and I will continue to use it going forward. 5 Eggs!
Reviewed By:Carlos A.,9/26/2016 7:56:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-PA4010 TKIT AV500 Powerline Adapter 3-Pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Too easy! Works well!
Pros: Plug in devices, push the pairing button and bam! Works downstairs to upstairs; took it to a friends house and worked from basement to top floor.
Cons: Nothing really, must plug directly into a plug in, no power strip. That concerns me with power surges..
Other Thoughts: Works awesome for the price, better than wireless! Wireless can be finicky, this is a stable wired connection.
Reviewed By:Roland L.,9/25/2016 5:32:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-PA2010KIT AV200 Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit, up to 200Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best product I've bought
Pros: This is just like having an Ethernet cable running all the way to my router. I love this thing, because when gaming, the latency is much lower than over wireless, and I can get my full bandwidth on the other side of the house from the router (Thats where the 5ghz Wifi starts to cut out).
Cons: In the past year, they've stopped working twice, but I just had to unplug them, then plug them back in.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend this to anyone that doesn't have their router in the same room as their pc/gaming device, especially anyone that is into gaming,
Reviewed By:Steven D.,9/24/2016 2:55:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-Link TL-PA8010 KIT AV1200 Gigabit Powerline Starter Kit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Reasonable speeds
Pros: Plug and play out of the box, which makes for a very simple setup.
Highly recommended to pair the devices though which will encrypt the connection!
The included application is actually really nice, most power line adapters do not include such capability, the software will allow you to view connection speeds to help troubleshoot poor performing devices.
Middle LED indicator changes color based in signal strength for better positioning.
Cons: On the same Circuit (my room) i was only about to get 60Mbit's which was surprisingly low, these results were verified by Speedtest.net and LAN transfers (1Gb clients) using SSD's which was rather dissapointing, swapping to my 802.11AC AP I was pushing 180Mbit's on Speedtest.net (max Internet speed) and significantly higher for LAN transfers.
My house is a little over 100 years old, the wiring was upgraded about 15 years ago though.
Other Thoughts: It seems in general how my house is wired it is not very compatible with powerline adapters. I moved the primary adapter to the circuit where the networking equipment is, and no matter where I plugged in the remote adapter I was getting between 20-30Mbits, which is the same result as when the powerline adapter was on my room (only two locations with ethernet runs for testing.

Reason why I am giving it 4/5 stars is this issue most likely has to do with my houses wiring. I didn't expect to get near the 1200 speeds that it is capable, but what I did get was much less than expected.

Other important things to note, these adapters like most power line adapters are large, and can block the neighboring plug if the other plug is a bit large, or is a wall wart.

This product may work better for you, however with Wireless AC these have some tough competition, unless the wireless signal is rather poor.
Reviewed By:Peter C.,9/23/2016 6:51:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TPL-308E2K Powerline AV200 Nano Adapter Kit, Up to 200Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Work as they are supposed to.
Pros: Use it in a townhouse to avoid having to have wifi in the basement. Slow, but perfectly fine for something running a media server.
Cons: Speed isn't great, but if you're watching movies and not transferring huge files, it is great.
Reviewed By:Jason G.,9/23/2016 6:40:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-Link TL-PA8010 KIT AV1200 Gigabit Powerline Starter Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Powertastic!
Pros: For this review I initially thought that I would not have much to say about a powerline adapter and I was prepared for mediocrity, thanks to my previous but limited experience with powerline adapters in the past. The first thing I noticed when opening this device was the fact the devices are pretty sleek and look quite nice which is nice since a lot of times tech gear is made to look like tech gear instead of as a part of the home. After approving of the aesthetic design I decided to try it out with my desktop which I normally have hardwired to my network switch. Once plugging it in I was pleasantly surprised that the plug-n-play nature of the device did actually work just as easily as advertised! I plugged the devices in, I secured by hitting the buttons, and was setup in a no time flat! After being setup I decided to do some network tests and found that I was pretty much getting the rated speeds (not quite but that is expected) of the gigabit port (peaked at about 100MB/s). I also used an electricity measuring device to measure the amount of electricity this used and found that it matched what was listed on the spec sheet. I was pleasantly surprised with the excellent connectivity I achieved with this device and the speeds worked quite well! After seeing how well it did on my desktop I decided to use it for about a week and did not see any adverse effects. In the past I have been disappointed with powerline adapters but these really did win me over and I am no longer only willing to recommend them as a last resort but instead I will recommend them as a pretty good option when connectivity is a concern.
Another pro would be the fact that you can easily connect multiple pairs of adapters in the same house, which is usually quite a pain with older powerline adapters but I guess these make it just as easy as securing them. I could not test this since I only received 1 pair.
Cons: As long as you know the limitations of powerline adapters I could not find any real cons other than the fact that this model does not have a power outlet passthrough and it does block a substantial portion of the outlet. I also don’t much care for the color since normally this will be located under a desk so I would think that black blends in better.
Other Thoughts: So one of the cons was that it blocks a large portion of the outlet but that is basically standard for powerlines. Another thing I wanted to mention was the fact that the prongs are a little too low which causes the top of the device to interfere with the upper outlet but you can still comfortable plug in a 2 prong plug. The fact that the device is white rubs me the wrong way because I would think this device will most likely be low or behind something so it should be black to be less noticeable but the white device look is nice.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/23/2016 4:04:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-Link TL-PA8010 KIT AV1200 Gigabit Powerline Starter Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I'm Impressed!!!
Pros: * It is truly plug and play, there is no set up required.
Pressing a button on each unit will secure the connection.
* The quick install guide is very well done and easy to understand.
* The units are well put together and nice 2 meter cat 5e cables included.
* Very fast. Connection speed reached 1002 Mbps according to the include software.
I tested transfer speeds with LAN_SpeedTest. Write speeds to my NAS, were in the 240 Mbps range, approximately 3x that of the 802.11AC Dual Band Gigabit adapter that I usually use. Read speeds also greatly improved. I tried the power line adapter on a system that is usually hardwired cat5 Ethernet. The Powerline adapter, consistently, averaged about a 30% improvement on both write and read speeds. Actual large file transfers confirmed the improvement in performance.
* Very handy utility software. The Application shows a graphic depiction of your Powerline network . It will show the connection speeds between the units both ways, upload and download, It allows tweaking the connection based on the type of use you prefer. The choices are internet, VoIP, online gaming or audio and video. It will let you name the units for easier ID. It also will update the firmware. It is simple, but, well thought out.
* MIMO technology allows this system to use all three wires in your electrical system The line, neutral and ground wires, increasing capacity and stability.
* The price is right!! A nice WIFI adapter will cost almost as much. It is certainly cheaper than the total cost of running Ethernet cable.
Cons: The only con is that each module takes up an outlet. Most houses never have enough outlets. A pass through model of this unit is available to solve this issue if it is a problem for you.
Other Thoughts: Why doesn't it reach near the 1200 Mbps speed? This is what Tp-Link says about that:
1.The theoretical maximum channel data transfer rate is derived from HomePlug AV2 specifications. Actual data transfer rate will vary from network environment including: distance, network traffic, noise on electrical wires, building material and construction, quality of electrical installation and other adverse conditions.
2.Actual data will vary because of the network conditions and environment factors.

I do have a concern. Having lost three computers at one time from a lighting strike to a power line, I am concerned with the lack of a way to connect this to a surge protector. Inline Ethernet surge protectors do exist, but you would need one on each unit which would add significantly to the cost. I will be disconnecting these from my computers at the first sign of lightning!

I was very pleasantly surprised with this system. It would be handy to have around simply for a quick connection to a smart TV or any other device that you may acquire. I certainly will be recommending this to everybody!!
Reviewed By:Steven H.,9/22/2016 11:00:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-PA4010KIT High-speed AV500 Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit, up to 500Mbps

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Useful but unpredictable
Pros: - No more WIFI getting washed up by the microwave oven.
- I have wired Internet in my room without having to make holes in every walls to have a cable.
- Download and Upload speeds even increased a little bit (from 29 down / 9 up to 32down/11up average)
Cons: - Keep disconnecting at random moments for few minutes up to hours (rarely hours but it happened once)
- When watching a movie this is not too bad but when gaming, and then everything is doing weird stuff for a moment, then when everything comes back you are dead and your team lost......... not cool !
Other Thoughts: I have to admit, a Powerline Adapter is a really handy device. No 50 foot cable hanging everywhere, no WIFI instability. This is the dream. But the TP-LINK TL-PA4010KIT High-speed AV500 Nano is really not what you are looking for.

Yeah it is cheap, but it is also very unpredictable and will shut down for few minutes, many times, every day !
I cannot recommend this product. It is better to pay more money for a more reliable device.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Frederick,

Thank you for taking the time to review our product.

Based on the symptoms described, we recommend ensuring that both Powerline Adapters are plugged directly into wall sockets, no surge protectors or power strips. We also recommend ensuring that both Powerline Adapters are plugged in the same directional orientation in order to match their polarity.

Our Support Team is always available and we would appreciate the opportunity to follow up with you in order to properly address this concern.

At your earliest convenience, please send an e-mail including your contact details to our Support Team at the address below so we may have a Support Agent follow up with you for assistance.

Please reference case number 160923-031970.

We thank you again for your feedback and certainly hope this experience will not discourage you from checking out more of our great networking products in the future.

Best Regards,

TP-Link Support Team
(866) 225-8139
ussupportteam@tp-link.com

Reviewed By:FREDERICK O.,9/22/2016 9:34:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-Link TL-PA8010 KIT AV1200 Gigabit Powerline Starter Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 They keep getting better and better
Pros: After a few weeks of relatively hard use I've had not a single connection issue.
Throughput is getting seriously good for powerline adapters, I was able to sustain around 80MB/s (MEGABYTE) = 640 megabit/s, of actual TCP file transfer speed, this is not too far below ideal gigabit networking which can barely squeeze about 120MB/s, and more often closer to 100MB/s. Consider these speeds were obtained while the devices were on different circuits meaning they had to pass through the fuse box, in my apartments 1970s wiring. Latency was ever so slightly higher, but nothing that would stop me from comfortably playing an online fps game. I tested one through a basic power strip, worked like a charm.
Cons: Not compatible with many other same brand units.
They are a bit large, plan accordingly if outlet space is limited.
Other Thoughts: I've been astonished by the speed and reliability advances with network powerline adapters lately. These are at the point I'd consider using them in businesses where running cables isn't the easiest and more so to avoid using wireless. It wasn't long ago I considered wireless more reliable than powerline adapters, I'm not sure I feel the same way anymore.

If you have a power line filter or line interactive ups these likely wont work well if at all behind them.
Some devices can cause havoc with powerline adapters, if you are having issues it's best to unplug everything else on the associated circuits and then plug them back in one by one to narrow the cause down. Simply turning devices off is generally not enough as many modern devices are "soft off" meaning they are always live to some extent.

While they wont work in every situation, they are getting way better, this being one of the best I've tested.
If you have no ability or desire to run a network cable and have issues or prefer to avoid using wireless this could be your answer, they work well in a pinch with a rental or temporary living situation as well.
Reviewed By:Derek N.,9/22/2016 3:01:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-Link TL-PA8010 KIT AV1200 Gigabit Powerline Starter Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Superb compatibility, plug and play, so easy.
Pros: -Internet in every room and every floor of your home. 4K streaming does really work and 4K videos are glitch free.
-Gigabit ethernet por asures the maximum speed available for your home network. Mine is 75/75, was getting 83/86 constant.
-Better than re-routing your house with CAT5 cables.
-TP-Link reliability and compatibility is incredible, no issues with connecting with any other devices, including the TL-PA8010P which main different is the power socket available on the 80P, hence the "P".
-It does not block the 2nd outlet in a receptacle.
Cons: NONE.
Other Thoughts: This kit worked flawlessly in all cases and circumstances I put it to the test, I tested it in a regular 2K sqft townhouse and a 4K sqft single fam home and in both occasions I did not encounter any issues or glitches of any kind with this kit, using either Fios or Cable, it worked perfectly.

This is the best alternative to re-routing your house with CAT5 cable, you get full speed and if you want a wireless router in the 2nd level of your home, you can easily get use the 2nd Gigabit powerline to plug to a 2nd router as I did. So far two weeks and have had not a single issue at all. Streaming and downloading pretty much everyday. Perfect unit for those with connectivity issues because their wireless router is too far or have many walls within your home.
Reviewed By:Roberto C.,9/22/2016 3:06:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.