Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA4010KIT High-speed AV500 Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit, up to 500Mbps

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice and easy
Pros: - The adapter are quit small
- Plug and play; no tricky configs
Cons: - No ground on the plug
- No bypass outlet so one wall outlet fully used
Reviewed By:sauros73,7/31/2015 9:19:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > D-Link > D-Link PowerLine DHP-601AV AV2 AV1000 Gigabit Starter Kit, up to 1000Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked really well for me
Pros: Ease of installation, reliability, low latency, speed.
Cons: Not sure... it would be nice if they were smaller.
Other Thoughts: I guess I am lucky and the wiring in my building is good. These adapters paired up painlessly and I cannot find a workload to max them out - I use them to connect two Wi-Fi end-points and when I test file transfers I hit Wi-Fi limit first.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 11:37:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > Comtrend > Comtrend PG-9172-Kit G.hn Powerline Adapter Kit, up to 1200 Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great performance without the wires
Pros: -The floor at my place is no longer strewn with loose ethernet cables.
-These are just as reliable and fast as direct ethernet connections.
-Really easy to set up.
Cons: -My speakers are picking up electrical interference from these units as audible static. I've heard that certain power strips with emi/rfi filters can fix this. Or ferrite cores. Anyway this is an inherent problem with all powerline adapters apparently.
Other Thoughts: Anybody these days know that wifi isn't great for gaming or streaming. But you can't lay down an ethernet cable all around your house. It's ugly. Powerline is the answer to this problem. And it seems that G.hn is currently the top performer in powerline technology because the performance is almost identical to a direct connection.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 9:08:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > Linksys > LINKSYS PLEK500 Powerline HomePlug AV2 AV600 1 Port Gigabit Ethernet Kit, up to 600Mbps

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works great so far..
Pros: Works as advertised. Literally plug and play. I was up and running in 2 minutes. Only 4 of 5 eggs until I get this thing running as intended. See my additional comments below.
Cons: None yet.
Other Thoughts: I was skeptic about these things at first. Worried that the old building I installed these in might have some old electrical wiring that may cause this thing to under perform. But so far, it's been great. I currently use it to connect a single Matricom G-Box MX2 media player to my NAS in the other room. WiFi won't cut it because I'm streaming huge HD video files with high bit rates. I will soon be replacing my G-Box with the ASRock Beebox N3000/B Mini / Booksize Barebone System. Attempting to beef up my HTPC solution and see if these powerline adapters can play in the big leagues.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 6:19:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > Netgear Inc. > Netgear XAVB5421-100PAS AV500 1-Port Essentials Edition Powerline Kit with Pass-Thru Outlet,up to 500Mbps

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Super-simple Powerline Adapter with Passthrough!
Pros: Data transfer rates up to 500 Mbps. This is pretty good! When using the adapters in my house, I was getting my full Internet speed from almost every outlet (50 Mbps). This is better than other adapters I’ve tried, where I maybe only got 60% of my standard Internet speed.

Each unit is interchangeable. I’ve used others which have a “main unit” and a “remote unit”, which can be cumbersome. Having both units be identical is quite nice (and makes setup easier for non-tech-savvy individuals).

No-hassle installation. Plugged both adapters in and they were ready immediately. Acts exactly like a direct Ethernet connection to my router, very cool!

Push-and-secure button on the side to encrypt the signal. Useful in multi-family homes or apartments.
Cons: Even if you plug these adapters into the bottom power outlet, it will still block the top outlet from use. You *might* be able to get a plug in that doesn’t have a ground, but definitely not if it does. The pictures for this item do not represent the actual size in the outlet and are extremely misleading.
Other Thoughts: As other reviews said, the adapters tend to get warm. Not hot, just slightly warm. Pretty standard for this type of device, I think.

I have a few outlets in my house (old house) that are only 2-prong (no ground). I have some adapters to make the outlets 3-prong, but I cannot use them with the adapters because they don’t transfer the Internet signal. This is not a problem with the adapters, but keep this in mind if you don’t have standard outlets.

Even if it blocks the top power outlet, each adapter still has a pass-through outlet, which ends up working fine for me.

I will be using this to replace a 50ft Ethernet cable that I’ve been using from my router to my desktop PC.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 4:01:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > D-Link > D-Link DHP-701AV HomePlug AV2 AV2000 MIMO Gigabit Powerline Starter Kit, up to 2000Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 very pleased will update over time
Pros: fast, reliable, directly connected
Cons: none, only one Ethernet port, gets a little warm
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 1:18:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TPL-406E2K Powerline AV500 Nano Adapter Kit, up to 500 Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing product!!!
Pros: - Amazingly fast and reliable connection; nearly triple the speed of my WiFi
- Each Powerline connector is smaller than a typical wall transformer
-Very easy set up
-Plenty of power to drive the signal up from a basement
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: Highly recommended, worked as good, if not better, then advertised.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2015 7:18:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA4010KIT High-speed AV500 Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit, up to 500Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 awesome
Pros: This thing is stupid easy to install. Your 2 year old can help you out if you have issues figuring that part out. Literally plug and play. Had a very poor wireless connection before and now I have rock solid connection. 20ms ping and 60mbps download rate according to a internet speed test site. Cheap!
Cons: wasnt free?
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2015 4:40:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > Netgear Inc. > Netgear PL1200-100PAS HomePlug AV2 MIMO AV1200 Powerline Gigabit Ethernet Adapter Kit, up to 1200Mbps

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Disappointed with the product
Pros: I purchased this pair of power line adapters to replace two 500 Mbps power line adapters connected to my home entertainment. The main reason that I purchased the Netgear 1200 adapters was because I had other Netgear adapters already in my power line network. The speeds that I am seeing between these two adapters is around 15 MegaBYTES a second. The throughput over a 100 Mbps connection is approximately 12.5 MegaBYTES a second so my connection is faster than a 100 Mbps circuit. It is considerably faster than the 500 Mbps adapters that were replaced.

These adapters were completely plug and play. I plugged them in and connected the RJ45 connectors and I was off and running. If you have a basic understanding of power-line networking and do not have AFCI circuit breakers with built in capacitors then I feel like you will be okay with this purchase.
Cons: On my existing network I had named each of my adapters so that I could glance at the Netgear power-line utility map and easily identify the circuit and speed. There is no utility that is compatible with this adapter that will allow you to name the adapters. In addition, the power-line utility from Netgear is not compatible at this time and I am not sure when it will be.

With my existing adapters I was able to change my security key making my adapters unique for my network. With these adapters I was unable to change the security key so if I choose to use security I will have to use the default security key. Again this is a failure on Netgear's part to provide a compatible utility application to support these plugs.
Other Thoughts: I have been told that TP-Links 1200 Mbps adapters are made using the same components as the Netgear adapters. The TP-Link TPL-420E2K is the equivalent plug to this Netgear adapter and you can download TP-Link's power-line utility and it seems to work with these adapters. If you look at Netgear's FAQ you will see where Netgear says that the utiltiy isn't necessary to set up the adapters. While that is essentially a true statement you can't do the things that you can do with the other Netgear adapters (200 Mbps or 500 Mbps).

It looks to me like Netgear rushed this product to market before the utility software was ready. I simply do not understand what was so difficult about adding another device type to their utility.

The adapter works very well and is about twice as fast as my old adapters so I am pleased with them, but I am disappointed with the lack of supporting software and the attitude of their support group saying the software isn't necessary.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2015 2:15:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > Actiontec > Actiontec PWR200K01 AV200 Powerline Kit Up to 200Mbps

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good kit, but one failed 5 months in
Pros: Quick installation, small, reliable when in service
Cons: Could be a rare event that one went out, we'll see how Actiontec responds to request for support.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 9:30:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.