Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Powerline Networking > Rosewill > Rosewill RPLC-500KIT Powerline AV Wall-Plug Gigabit Adapter (Starter Kit - 2 Units) Up to 500Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 NOT FOR WIN 8 AND LATER
Pros: It worked well enough to support a Ethernet printer that had no wireless capability in a room where I get 300 Mbps with wireless n on my computer.
Cons: Seems to work on Win 8.1, but the utility program that is quite handy does not! Stay away from this product if you have Win 8 or 8.1---Rosewill says updates may or may not happen by the END OF THE YEAR!

Based on other reviews this unit appears to offers no better performance, which is very dependent on your AC wiring layout. Put it on the same circuit in in the same room, and it works o.k.. Compare that with what you get in locations you actually bought it for, and the speed can plummet. In my case, one floor up it is only 50 Mbps.
Other Thoughts: Find another brands that will support their hardware better even if it will cost you a little more.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/16/2014 9:47:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > Actiontec > Actiontec PWR511K01 500Mbps Powerline Network Adapter Kit Up to 500Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 You get what you pay for....
Pros: These devices work flawlessly and stayed linked for just under 90 days, throughput was decent.
Cons: One of the devices went dark in under 90 days.
Other Thoughts: Perfect for when you don't want to pull cable through your home, if they stayed working....
Reviewed By:N/A,9/16/2014 6:06:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TPL-406E2K Powerline 500 AV Nano Adapter Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 They are working great
Pros: Pros: Purchased two sets and I now have 3 locations in the house with the high reliability connection. (one is at the router, 2 in bedrooms and one in living room)
2. Removes the wireless traffic to improve Bandwidth for other WIFI devices
3. Removes the wireless interference between previous WIFI and wireless headphones
4. Works great without setup. I plugged them, and they all auto connected to each other. It could not have been simpler. Why didn't I do this years ago.
5. I found them on a special deal and was able to get each pair for 25$, so my total cost was only 50$ to add what feels like millions of dollars of happiness.
Cons: Cons: Potential con is that it doesn't work if trying to plug into power strip. I had read this before, and it wasn't an issue logistically for my setup.
Other Thoughts: I paid only $50 for the 4 units (one as a source and 3 as destination). I am so happy. It just works. Extremely simple to setup and so far, it is steady throughput. There are ways to change passwords and add complexity, but I don't plan to try any of that at this time. I waited for the cost to come down to this before impulse buying, but now, I would pay $50 a pair because it was so easy.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/15/2014 2:15:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > ZyXEL > ZyXEL PLA5215 Powerline Gigabit Pass-Thru Ethernet Adapter Up to 600Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 3rd Adapter won't connect
Pros: The adapter model is the same as those included in the PLA5215KIT I purchased.
Cons: I purchased a PLA5215KIT and a PLA5215 single adapter in hopes that this would be an easy installation since all units were the same. I installed the PLA5215KIT first with no issues and the kit was operational immediately! secondly I installed the 3rd PLA5215 adapter but it will not connect with the PLA5215KIT adapters. I downloaded the current users guide and software utilities from ZyXEL's web page and installed the software. I have come to conclusion the software utilities are worthless! This has been my third day of trying to complete this install and have failed to get the network to accept the 3rd adapter. I have tried following the users and troubleshooting guides with out success. Either this 3rd adapter is a non functioning unit or the PLA5215KIT is not compatible adding a 3rd adapter to its network. It appears my only recourse is to return the units and hard wire my own cables instead. For a systems that touts simple plug and play setup this has been a very frustrating and disappointing experience!
Other Thoughts: Save yourself the expense, frustration and stress. Hard wire your system instead of try to use these units. Seems to me that these easy quick fix items need more engineering to work out the problems/design flaws before they push this junk out to the consumer! Very difficult for hard wired system to go wrong.
Reviewed By:Robert A.,9/15/2014 12:41:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > ZyXEL > ZyXEL PLA5215 Powerline Gigabit Pass-Thru Ethernet Adapter Up to 600Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very Disappointing
Pros: Bought this as a add on 3rd Powerline adapter along with the PLA5215 Kit because it was the same model adapter as the units in the kit.
Cons: Totally Worthless! installed the PLA5215 kit with absolutely no problems at all. Just plugged them in and the units began to work right off the git-go. Next tried to add the 3rd PLA5215 Adapter and cannot get the matched set to accept this 3rd adapter. Have been trying for 3 days now to get this to work with no success. I downloaded the current software utilities from the ZyXEL sight and have determined the software is worthless also. I have followed all the procedures in the users guides and the troubleshooting guides in the web page and now am at a loss as to how to get this all to work! I am wondering if either this 3rd adapter is non-working unit or is not compatible as an add on to the matched adapters in the PLA5215 kit. Very disappointed that something touted as so simple has taken up so much of my time and cannot get it to function. Guess I'll try and return the units and hard wire the connections instead.
Other Thoughts: Save yourself the frustration and hard wire your connections instead!
Reviewed By:Plaguitar,9/15/2014 11:42:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TPL-408E2K Powerline 500 AV2 Adapter Kit Up to 600Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Lasted all of 5 minutes
Pros: Seemed like a good price for the advertised features.
Cons: One of the pair lasted about 30 seconds before powering down.
Other Thoughts: Plugged the two units in and they auto-synced, thought everything was up and running. About 30 seconds later, lost network connection: one of the units had no lights. Unplugged everything, let it sit 2 min and tried again. Same unit powered down within 30 seconds. Now it won't power up at all. Unfortunately beyond the return timeframe.
Manufacturer Response:Hello,

We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with the TPL-408E2K. If you require assistance with the return or exchange please email me at Adrian@trendnet.com. We’ll have someone assist you with the RMA process for warranty services as soon as possible. Please include your contact information and a link to this review.


Regards,

Adrian
TRENDnet Support
http://www.trendnet.com/support

Reviewed By:N/A,9/14/2014 11:09:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > ZyXEL > ZyXEL 600 Mbps Powerline AV2 Gigabit Pass-Thru Adapter, Starter Kit - 2 Units (PLA5215KIT)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works!
Pros: Fast, not a hassle after setup.
Cons: Instructions not very clear, made it hard to trouble shoot.
Reviewed By:Mick,9/14/2014 8:07:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > Rosewill > Rosewill RPLC-201PKIT 200Mbps Powerline AV Pass-Through Adapter (Starter Kit - 2 Units) Up to 200Mbps

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 How can they claim 200 Mbps?
Pros: It works like it's supposed to for my needs
Cons: How can they state that this can get up to 200 Mbps if the connection interface only supports up to 100 Mbps? This has a 10/100 RJ-45 connector which only supports up to 100 Mbps. I don't know how they can claim this go up to 200 Mbps when it's actually impossible with the interface they're using. They also make this same claim for the 500 Mbps model which also has a 10/100 connection, but that is not the one that I have.
Other Thoughts: I still gave it 4 eggs because I don't have a router that can support over 100 Mbps anyways.
Reviewed By:Dan,9/13/2014 12:01:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA2010KIT AV 200Mbps Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works right out of the box
Pros: Just plug it in, seems to be working fine. I did not bother to test or measure the "bandwidth", as I don't have demanding requirements, other than connectivity.
Cons: None, so far.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Customer,

Thank you for the review.

We are glad to see that this device is up and running for you.

Hopefully you will be able to check out more of our products in the future.

If you have any issues or concerns then feel free to contact us directly for support.


Best Regards!

TP-LINK Support Team
support.usa@tp-link.com
(866) 225-8139
http://www.tp-link.com/us/support

Reviewed By:N/A,9/13/2014 11:30:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PA2010KIT AV 200Mbps Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 These purr
Pros: These little things go great into the wall, and with a quick setup (just put them adjacent to one another and press the buttons) they really do work well together. I'm using these now for an attractive solution for moving my cable internet from my TV to my study, and these get equally as good of latency and speed as if I were plugged into the ethernet port on my Netgear router. Very impressed with these little things, and I've had absolutely no issues with their reliability or anything.
Cons: Only con I can think of is that they do take up a good deal of space on the outlet, limiting your options of things to pair with it.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/13/2014 9:47:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau