Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Network - Bluetooth > ASUS > ASUS USB-BT400 USB 2.0 Bluetooth 4.0 Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not bad, good price
Pros: + Low price if you catch a rebate or promo code deal on it
+ Low profile
+ Asus brand, one of the better PC component manufacturers.
+ Simple to install
+ BT 4.0 spec, slightly future proof
Cons: - Retail asking price is high
- Nowhere near the 10 meter (32 feet) range
- Not good for laptops, IMO, unless it is a really old laptop w/o mPCIe
Other Thoughts: I bought this BT adapter last year for a desktop PC. It was heavily discounted with a $5 promo code and a $10 mail in rebate. The rebate arrived a few months later in the form of a check making this 75% cheaper than retail. It is best suited for someone looking to add BT capabilities to a desktop. For a laptop, I suggest upgrading your mini-PCIe wifi network interface controller card with one that has bluetooth integrated into it such as the Intel 7260 HMW-BN which can be had for around $10. If your laptop didn't already have BT, chances are something like a 7260 would not only be upgrading to BT, but it would also be a huge upgrade to your wifi speed. On my laptop, it more than doubled my wifi download speed. If you have an older laptop that lacks mPCIe, then this would be one of your only options for BT 4.0. Back to the BT400 itself, this is not worth the retail price IMO. At 75% off, though, it is worth it and you kind of get what you pay for. I tried it out on an HTPC in my living room paired with a portable speaker. The advertised range is 10 meters which is around 32 feet. The speaker started cutting out at around 10-12 feet. I think it would have benefited from a small antenna since most people will be using these on desktops and a larger profile would not be much of a problem plus the PC will not always be right next to the user. You could increase the range on this by getting a USB extension cable. Basically, this is not ideal for laptops and because of that, I would only recommend one if you want BT on a desktop PC.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/25/2015 10:53:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network - Bluetooth > ASUS > ASUS USB-BT400/US USB 2.0 Bluetooth 4.0 Adapter manufactured recertified

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great!
Pros: Works as advertised. Comes with software and installation was a cinch. I am a strong supporter of many things ASUS. Also many things newegg!
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I already had a fitbit dongle, and was concerned that it and this one would somehow conflict. I installed the ASUS software and adapter per the instructions, without removing the fitbit software, and everything works as it should.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/25/2015 12:10:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network - Bluetooth > ASUS > ASUS USB-BT400 USB 2.0 Bluetooth 4.0 Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 JUNK
Pros: Semi-Worked one Month
Cons: Semi-Worked one Month
Other Thoughts: I'm somewhat of an AUSU Fanboy, but this thing is Total Junk. Purchased for My Son's Homebuilt Desktop and it was dead in Days.
.
I Don't have a working printer, out of ink as usual, so that makes the Time and Hassle involved in trying to return Anything to Newegg Not Worth The Trouble. Put it in the Garbage can where it belonged.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/21/2015 4:21:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network - Bluetooth > ASUS > ASUS USB-BT400/US USB 2.0 Bluetooth 4.0 Adapter manufactured recertified

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A little piece of tech that goes a long way
Pros: Works really well.
Drivers easy to install.
Configure once and forget.
Cons: Not really a con of the product, but of the bluetooth technology:
Wish we could have a higher transfer speed that would allow for better audio quality.
Reviewed By:Arnaiyus,6/15/2015 10:30:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network - Bluetooth > ASUS > ASUS USB-BT400/US USB 2.0 Bluetooth 4.0 Adapter manufactured recertified

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works with EFI Analytics RS232 Bluetooth Adapter.
Pros: Super easy set up.
Simple design.
Price.
Works with windows 7 and Arch/Ubuntu Linux.
Cons: Blue Light maybe too bright in a dark environment for some people.
Other Thoughts: I've used it with EFI Analytic's RS232 Bluetooth adapter for Tuner-studio. Also used it to stream music to pc via Iphone 6.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/14/2015 6:40:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network - Bluetooth > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GBU521 USB Bluetooth 4.0 Micro Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best little bluetooth dongle I've used
Pros: Best little bluetooth dongle i have used. Just works no issues. If i recall its been some time, its super easy just use the disk it comes work and works like a champ, my mouse works perfect no drops or anything.

Makes it easy to add bluetooth to desktops or laptops without them.

Also a bonus if you plan to build hackintosh's this is the way to go, just get the right kext which you can easily google for, run the kext installer and bam.. works perfect with apples magic mouse, or my razer orochi mouse for that matter.
Cons: Only con i could see is if you don't have a usb extension cable which is dirt cheap, you may have issues with it being small when used with a desktop. like being able to quickly loose it or hard to remove i guess, but those are minor issues.
Other Thoughts: If you need bluetooth and have a desktop and a free usb slot, get an extension cable and you will be rocking the best bluetooth device for the price. or any needs for bluetooth, hackintosh./laptop without one
Reviewed By:N/A,6/12/2015 11:00:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network - Bluetooth > AZIO Corporation > AZiO BTD-V401 USB USB Micro Bluetooth Adapter (V4.0 EDR + aptX)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 ehhh....
Pros: Could connect to audio device(ie phone, tablet)
Cons: Sketchy transmission, only really worked within 5 ft and the adapter couldn't be on the back side of computer or else it would loose connection and even when it was on the front it still lost connection consistently.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/11/2015 3:49:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network - Bluetooth > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GBU521 USB Bluetooth 4.0 Micro Adapter

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Works, technically
Pros: -Is a working blue tooth adapter
-cheap, small
-not much else
Cons: -Does not support aptX
-slow speeds
-drivers were not easy to setup
Other Thoughts: So, long story short, I ordered a bluetooth pair of earbuds and this bluetooth adapter to go with my phone (galaxy S4) to try out all this new-fangled wireless stuff (wireless charging is pretty sick).

I got my earbuds today, they are a mid-range set. I have a pair of cheap wired earbuds (3.5mm) which to me sound fine. I was *floored* at how bad the sound on these were when paired with my computer to the point I was going to send the earbuds back. I was ready to write off bluetooth as worthless entirely.

I decided to read through the manual and saw a little blurb about aptX and decided to try them with my phone (which has aptX) just for curiosity's sake. It sounds fine. Good even. Point is, if you are planning to play any sort of audio over bluetooth... this adapater is not for you.

Additionally, my transfer speeds between this and my phone are like, 70kb/s with the phone right next to the adapter. That is far too slow, so I got an app to run an ftp sever (phone and computer on the same home network) which goes much, much faster.

Should also note, the driver setup was pretty terrible. Including one 'supported' function that just... doesn't have a windows 7 driver (I manually installed the 'generic unsupported bluetooth function' driver).

So, all in all, this adapter failed to deliver usable quality/speed for the two things I bought it for, although they technically worked.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for the inconvenience. The speed of the GBU521 is dependent on the device connected. Most cell phones and providers have limitations when using a bluetooth connection. The GBU521 is not a plug and play device. If the instruction s in the manual are followed installation is step by step. If the GBU521 is connected before the software is installed, generic Windows drivers will load and cause a conflict with the GBU521. The GBU521 does not support APTX audio however this will be forwarded to the product manager. To better service you and understand your set up, please feel to contact our customer support at 1-866-946-4327 or email us: support@iogear.com. for the problem of poor audio. The GBU521 carries a 3 year warranty. The GBU521 is fully compatible with Windows 7. IOGEAR suggest downloading the upgraded driver from the support site instead of using the included CD. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:N/A,6/7/2015 9:10:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Network - Bluetooth > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GBU521 USB Bluetooth 4.0 Micro Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Review
Pros: Works out of the box with Ubuntu 14.04 Amd64 machine.
Price
Cons: None Yet
Other Thoughts: Wanted a blue-tooth adapter for my Ubuntu 14.04 AMD64 machine that would work out of the box with no hassle’s and this one did the trick.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/6/2015 11:02:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network - Bluetooth > STARTECH > StarTech USBBT1EDR4 USB 2.0 Mini Bluetooth 4.0 Adapter - Class 1 EDR Wireless Dongle (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No Drivers work.
Pros: It said 4.0
Cons: The device's driver disc installs silently and doesn't work. Cellphones, various headsets, all connections fail. Uninstalling drivers from the disc and letting windows install generic drivers fails to get anything to connect with "Driver Errors" still shown in computer management. An emergency free utility meant to give drivers/functionality to flatout bad BT Dongles even failed, with the same issues. Found a replacement from another company for half the price. Can't believe I wasted so many days on this piece of garbage.
Other Thoughts: I've used StarTech before, but I'll have to think twice before ever making that mistake again(Even the last item had it's faults)
Manufacturer Response:Dear Eric,

Thank you for taking the time to review our USBBT1EDR4 Bluetooth adapter. We appreciate your feedback and are very sorry to hear of the inconvenience you experienced.

The USBBT1EDR4 is natively supported in Windows and the drivers should automatically install for the Bluetooth adapter. Given that our adapter did not install properly while another product did, using the same setup, it does seem that your USBBT1EDR4 is faulty.

We would like to send you a free USBBT1EDR4. Please contact us via the signature link below and kindly reference case number 303-240119.

Again, we do apologize for what transpired, and we hope to hear from you soon!

Regards,

Customer Support
StarTech.com
http://www.startech.com/techsupport

Reviewed By:N/A,6/6/2015 3:14:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.