Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock Rack > ASRock C236 WSI Mini ITX Server Motherboard LGA 1151 Intel C236

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Home Workstation/Server Motherboard
Pros: Lots of features
Easy to asemble
Lots of USB 3.0 and SATA III connections
Lots of CPU options
Intel RAID
Intel Dual Network 1Gb interfaces
Cons: Not that it's a bad con but the 24 molex motherboard power connector is very close to motherboard ram slot which makes getting the power header connected easily if you have stubbier larger hands.

An M.2 slot connector would be a nice additional feature but with 8 SATA connectors and 1 USB 3 on the motherboard for Flash drive booting it might be a con if you really wanted one.
Other Thoughts: Overall I'd buy this board again since I'm using it as a Windows 2012 Essentials File Server and CMS setup for Xprotect 4 IP Camera setup with plenty of room to grow. I have this in a Fractal Desgin Arc Mini 2 case and have 7 drives populated in it using the Intel RAID onboard controller. A zippier i5 cpu and flash OS drive and 16Gb of G.Skill RAM and I'm quite happy using this setup as a home IP camera recording/management system with two RAID volumes (1, and 10). It's not a game machine and is going to be a general 24/7/365 workhorse. If I ever need a bit more "power" I'll drop a Xeon processor in it and change our the ram for ECC ram.

I could easily see this as one heck of a portable workstation in a smaller case used for a very stable desktop work oriented system. If you want to game it up and have a pretty UEFI GUI then I'd go for one of the other AsRock motherboards. I'm jealous I don't have this system on my desktop at work for GIS administration to replace an aging Dell Intel Xeon based workstation, but I'm very happy with this motherboard. Buy the right pieces and you'll have a very nice system that is more reliable than the uber game performance machines you can get for less money. If you want a rock solid sleeper that will impress you then I'd recommend this.

I did contact support several times to have several questions answered about header pin connection and driver support and Asrock support US answered back in 24 hours and were very helpful. I'd say with performance, reliability, and support I'm quite happy with this motherboard purchase!
Reviewed By:ron w.,5/1/2016 5:03:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X9DR3-F-O SSI EEB Server Motherboard Dual LGA 2011 DDR3 1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Grief people, give me a break. 1 egg reviews because of case issues? Really?
Pros: See other
Cons: See other
Other Thoughts: I can't believe the people are posting reviews about fitment issues of a SERVER motherboard into a DESKTOP case, and then giving low egg ratings. I mean, really, come on now. If you don't know what you are doing, then just don't do it, and don't knock a product for it not working in a way it wasn't designed for because YOU didn't do YOUR research. You want to use a server board with ZERO issues? GO BUY A SERVER CASE!

That won't work for you? Then Don't Buy It. If you like the features of this board, and really, really, REALLY want it, then go to their site, as they are very informative in helping you pick a case that will work with it, and even give you the part numbers so you can order it at the same time. How simple is that?

Next time, do your research, own up to your own screw-ups and make better choices if you are thinking of using something in a way that is isn't designed to do. Sheesh. And the latest 1 egg review, once he finally got the thing installed and the drivers downloaded, had the system up and running and was quite happy with it. So, it is doing what you want, you are happy with that fact, and you give a 1 egg review. Come on.

That's why I take the time to actually read the review on items I'm interested in, even if they have lower egg ratings, because of reviews like these, made by people with either low experience levels, or who apparently just shouldn't be building computers.

Even though I haven't bought it yet, I am going to give it a 5 egg rating just to somewhat offset these knuckleheads.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/1/2016 2:31:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SLL-F-O uATX Server Motherboard LGA 1150 DDR3 1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Freenas Board
Pros: Freenas forums were not incorrect. This board has superior compatibility for VMs .. I had many esoteric operating systems running in no time and had no driver issues. It also came packaged with a signed checklist verifying the contents of the box. A+ Supermicro!
Cons: None really.. many people complain about the IPMI and BIOS needing a license key to update them. This is incorrect. If you go to the website you can download all available drivers and update them through the IPMI View software they provide. Same with the BIOS .. you just have to manually flash using a USB the "older" way. Luckily I bought this board in 2016 and it already had the latest firmware installed on it which was nice!
Reviewed By:Michael D.,5/1/2016 10:34:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X11SAE-M-O Micro ATX Server Motherboard LGA 1151 Intel C236

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A solid workstation board, but lacks some features compared to ASRock C236M WS.
Pros: SuperMicro's reputation for solid products appears to be real.
Lots of legacy USB2.0 ports, plus USB3.1 ports (using ASMedia chip).
One PCI slot, if you need it, for an old hardware.
Cons: No PS/2 keyboard port.
Other Thoughts: I actually bought this one as well as an ASRock C236M WS, both from Newegg, of course. No, I'm not a try-and-return type customer. I'm using both of them. They're very similar, but here are some differences that I noticed.

Obvious stuff from product descriptions and what not:
* SuperMicro has just one wide PCIe slot (x16) whereas ASRock gives you the choice to run one x16 slot or two x8 slots for SLI type configuration.
* SuperMicro has one legacy PCI slot. This is not a pro/con thing. If you need it, you need it. If you don't, you don't.
* ASRock has native PS/2 keyboard/mouse port. The default pinout is for a keyboard, so if you want to use both a keyboard and a mouse, you have to obtain a Y-splitter. This is a surprisingly big deal for some people (certain gamers wanting the N-key roll over, or Model M keyboard lovers like me). Sure there're PS/2->USB adapters that work with Model M keyboards, but I've yet to find one that's completely quirk free.
* SuperMicro has ASMedia USB3.1 support. ASRock doesn't. In fact, ASRock only offers two legacy USB2.0 ports, both of which are through the connectors on the motherboard, not at the back of the motherboard. Rest are all USB3.0 provided by Intel C236 chipset. Also, ASRock has one USB plug on the board itself. This can be useful for some people, but I haven't found a use for it.

Not so obvious stuff:
* ASRock's BIOS is a bit more modern, in that you can update BIOS from within the BIOS (Instant Flash), or from Windows. SuperMicro's is a one trick pony. You need the good old DOS.
* ASRock's BIOS also gives you finer control over PWM fan control. For every single fan, you can set temperate/PWM% parameters independently, in addition to the presets like Silent/Standard/Performance/Full. SuperMicro's is, "leave it to us" or "go full speed ahead." Now the standard setting on SuperMicro works pretty well, but that depends on what kind of fans you're using, so I think ASRock did a better job there.
* SuperMicro BIOS appears to be more robust. The standard tools like CPU-Z and HWMonitor reports kosher looking values with SuperMicro, but the same software displays nonsensical values on ASRock board, with everything else exactly the same. For example, the software reports Core voltage that's far too low for the running frequency.
* SuperMicro BIOS offers more stuff, like Intel SGX (software guard extension) support. I saw no such thing with ASRock, even though I have E3-1240 v5.
* SuperMicro board feels physically stronger (thicker?). This isn't really objective because I didn't check them back-to-back, but it just felt more stiff. This isn't really a big deal, though.

My personal conclusion is that as a personal workstation, ASRock wins, despite SuperMicro being more robust. That PS/2 port and extra PCIe slots are more important for workstation use. If I were building a server, I'd go with SuperMicro, but for a workstation, I feel that ASRock made the better compromise.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your comment! Supermicro needs your comment to improve our quality and service. If you still have any question, feel free to contact us. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Richard L.,4/30/2016 11:21:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > Intel > Intel Server Motherboard S1200V3RPL LGA 1150 DDR3 1600

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Average Value
Pros: -It works
Cons: -Doesn't play well with any GPU I have tried putting into it
Other Thoughts: -Great motherboard as long as you don't need a GPU. I got it when they were running a special and it came with a Intel AXXRMM4LITE Remote Management Module, which made it an extremely low cost option over some other enterprise grade remote KVMs.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/29/2016 9:05:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock Rack > ASRock C2550D4I Mini ITX Server Motherboard FCBGA1283 DDR3 1600 / 1333

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great when it works
Pros: Mini ITX, integrated low-power CPU and 12 (yes... 12!!!!) SATA ports.
Cons: -Technically doesn't support "regular" Windows (server O/S only).
-Board died after 1-year
-No USB 3.0 internal header
Other Thoughts: -System operated perfectly running a Windows 8.1 based Storage Pool NAS for ~1-year. One day, the system was no longer accessible. Extensive trobleshooting lead to the motherboard as the culprit. The quality of the RMA process from ASRock will determine the final recommendation.

-When the board was working, it was awesome (with the exception of lacking USB 3.0, which was resolved by populating the PCIe slot with an add-in board).
-If its not working, well... NOT awesome.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Michael,

Often times the server-graded components, such as LAN, storage controller, and PCH may not have drivers support for Desktop operating systems. But if “System operated perfectly running Windows 8.1”, what “regular” Windows doesn’t technically support this board?? Intel C2550 CPU can only support so many PCIe bus lane, that’s why it will limit the number of USB ports as it also uses some PCIe bus lane from the CPU. If the board has been working for a year until now, the chance is you are still under manufacture warranty.
Please contact William at( william@asrockamerica.com) for support and will assist you shortly.

Thank you!

ASRock Rack Support
Email: http://event.asrock.com/tsd.asp?ln=en

Reviewed By:Michael T.,4/28/2016 11:27:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock Rack > ASRock E3C224D4I-14S Extended mini ITX Server Motherboard LGA 1150 Intel C224 DDR3 1600 / 1333

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Performance, Great features, quirky.
Pros: Serial-ATA and SAS connections on same board. Supports a good amount of RAM. Overall performance great.
Cons: The extended-ITX form factor basically meant I had to use a micro-ATX case. No ITX/mini-ITX case would hold board because it is about 1.5inch too wide.

The drivers for SAS are not straight forward... very confusing. If you use the wrong one, it will load, and boot, but the performance drop and error rate will gradually build over the next hour and suddenly it won't boot.
Other Thoughts: If I knew which case to get to compliment this board, I would have given the 5th star. SCSI-type drivers are always complex. Especially when you have to load @ installer boot.

Once everything was loaded correctly, the server ran smoothly.
Reviewed By:PATRICK R.,4/26/2016 5:17:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SLL-F-O uATX Server Motherboard LGA 1150 DDR3 1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 One of the best boards for a NAS
Pros: - Well packaged. Included documentation covered pretty much everything you need to get it up and running.
- On board USB 3.0 port (for booting from a dedicated flash drive; useful for FreeNAS).
- Been running nearly 24/7 for the last four months or so, without so much as even a minor glitch.
Cons: - My only complaint is that I wish some of the POST codes were better documented (see "Other"). TL;DR: RAM order is important to this board.
Other Thoughts: I put the whole server together (I was actually demonstrating to a friend how to build a PC from scratch) in one night. I got it all together, powered it up, and it hung in BIOS at a POST code that wasn't documented (by Supermicro). Just my luck...

Turns out the RAM slots are paired by bank (which are two different color slots, confusing me more) instead of by channel, and if using only two sticks, the RAM needs to be in the top two slots in order to POST (all this is explicitly stated in the manual that I ignored because I thought I knew better). After that, FreeNAS installed quickly and picked up my existing array that was plugged into the on-board SATA controller(s).

FreeNAS Server Build:
Intel Core i3-4170
SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SLL-F-O
Crucial 16GB DDR3-1600 ECC CT2KIT102472BD160B
WD Green 1TB (x2)
Seagate Barracuda Green 1.5TB (x2)
WD Red 3TB (x2)
4-Port Marvell 88SE9235-based PCIe x2 SATA-III Card
Fractal Design Node 804
Corsair CX430M PSU
Corsair H60 (the original version) (yes, I watercooled my server, I had it laying around; yes, it says right in the manual to only use the stock cooler; yes, it runs fine, granted with plenty of airflow)
ADATA 16GB USB 3.0 Boot Drive
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your comment! Supermicro needs your comment to improve our quality and service. The Post Codes User's Guide link is as below. If you still have any question, feel free to contact us. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Kasey K.,4/25/2016 6:34:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock Rack > ASRock C226 WS ATX Server Motherboard LGA 1150 Intel C226 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Board, Drivers were a pain
Pros: This board has ECC. The build quality was good, and component installation was simple.

The ram installation was slightly finicky. I had to reseat it twice when I added the second 16GB set. This should go in the cons section, but I've written a wall-o-text detailing the driver situation, so I'm putting it here instead.

Did I mention it has ECC?
Cons: Audio, and Drivers. First, the drivers.

Intel is cruel to everyone who buys this board. Their driver utility will laugh at your sorrows as you realize that it can't detect server chipsets, and your lingering hopes will be crushed by trying to use their horrible website. Spoiler alert, their website doesn't have the drivers either.

Once you've conceded defeat on that front, you are forced to turn to the drivers cd that ASRock Rack provides (or go to their website), which are all impressively out of date.

They are also incomplete. There is one bus(?) that device manager kept complaining about, and the ASRock Rack driver disk (and website) simply didn't have the driver for it. After wearing out several google datacenters trying to find help for my unusual scenario, I turned to iobit’s Driver Booster *shudder*

That is NOT an optimal solution. The program did its job and found the one driver I needed (and found up-to date ones for the rest of the chipset components as well) but it sure made me nervous, it being free-ish ware and all that. Kind of like intentionally installing benign(?) malware on your system.
Bleh.

There is one more thing. The audio hardware has static and popping noises when adjusting volume, and muting/unmuting, booting up, or even just sitting there sometimes. I’m heavily considering getting an audio card to get away from the constant low level static sounds in the background of my music. Annoying.
Other Thoughts: This board and I have a complicated relationship. In many ways it’s a nice, solid, ECC motherboard, and I feel confident about its longevity, given its lack of flakiness so far.

But on the other hand, there’s the drivers, the audio, and the fact that your RAM speed is locked to 1600 or below, and you cannot change the timings. I shelled out a pretty decent premium for 1866 Mhz RAM, and enjoyed adjusting the timings downward for the (admittedly small) speed increase whilst using my old board.

This board will allow none of that, so I would have been better off getting slower, significantly cheaper RAM if I could have foreseen the future. Oh well, such is life I guess. The ECC is more important. Maybe one day they can update the bios or something.
And finally in closing, I just want to mention how I ended up buying this board in the first place. I previously was running a sabertooth 990fx, and a bulldozer chip (and enjoying ECC support and a fully overclockable system), but the cpu power plug socket melted in a tragic thermal event (burnt plastic smells funny.)

And that is how I bought this board in the first place. Hope this review helps someone.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/25/2016 5:08:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X11SSV-Q-O Mini ITX Server Motherboard LGA 1151 Intel Q170 DDR3 1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 good motherboard
Pros: works great no trouble booted right up great board
Cons: none that I can think of
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/24/2016 9:10:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.