Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z10PE-D16/4L SSI EEB Server Motherboard Dual LGA 2011 R3

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Avoid at all costs, would give a 0/5 rating
Pros: - None.
Cons: - Motherboard arrived DOA.
- Asus support was never able to understand the boot error code.
- Newegg required going through Asus RMA process.
- Sent motherboard to Asus, was returned with bent/broken pins.
- CPU sockets were unusable post-RMA, pins were bent and made it impossible to seat a processor.
- Newegg customer service came to the rescue and accepted a 100% refund.
Other Thoughts: Never purchasing a Asus product again after this experience, customer service was 100% unhelpful. Customer service did not understand the boot error code, kept quoting sections of the manual that didn't exist for this model (including L3 support). Finally was approved for an RMA, motherboard returned in a 100% unusable state. Asus customer service insisted I purposefully damaged the motherboard. Newegg came to the rescue and allowed me to return the item at which point I got a 100% refund.

TL;DR Asus unhelpful, Newegg rocks.
Reviewed By:Ben E.,5/26/2016 8:46:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > Intel > Intel DBS1200V3RPS uATX Server Motherboard LGA 1150 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great started server board
Pros: It does what i need it for a very powerful media / Shield Streaming PC EVGA GTX 970 FTW with 32GB of ram and •Intel® Xeon® E3-1200 v3
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Hector M.,5/26/2016 6:41:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z10PA-D8 ATX Server Motherboard Dual LGA 2011-3 DDR4

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Compact, yet rock-solid
Pros: This is one of the few dual-socket LGA 2011 boards in existence that will fit into an ATX case. I'm using it with dual Xeon E5 processors and 128 GB of memory. This system has been a rock-solid Linux workstation.
Cons: Integrated graphics barely acceptable for a KVM, but unusable for a workstation. Needs an add-on video card unless it's in a rack.
Built-in audio requires expansion card (ASUS MIO).
Reviewed By:Grigori I.,5/24/2016 10:29:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X10DAI-O Extended ATX Xeon Server Motherboard Dual LGA 2011 Intel C612

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 No NVMe or PCIE boot support
Pros: Quiet - much more so than the 9-year old Intel server system it replaced
Plenty of memory slots; other versions have as few as 8 slots but there are plenty that have 16 slots, as does this unit
Three V3 X16 PCIe slots that all really work at X16. No desktop processor system can do this because they don't have the available lanes.
Any dual-xeon C612 system can expose up to 88 PCIe lanes (40 each on the two processors and 8 on the chipset). An i7 can expose 36 at the very most (16 on the i7 and 20 on the chipset). This makes IO extremely fast on a dual-xeon system compared to any i7 system.
Does dual-xeons count as a pro in a dual-xeon workstation? That's sort of the expected isn't it?
My build - what I added to this mother board - makes for a fairly fast workstation - minus what's in the Cons.
Cons: There are only 4 HDD slots and 2 external 5.25 slots but 10 SATA connectors. The HDD rack is a joke. It rotates out and you put the back of the drive (connector end) facing you. There's virtually no support for the drives and it's a very tight fit to turn the cage back. Be very careful about pressing against the wires to the front panel, etc. I had a problem where the drive cage pushed the wire for the power button and the PC would randomly turn off. I read where many others have had the same problem. The drive cages should have been accessible by removing the front panel or even having hot-swap mounts in the front panel. There's enough room at the bottom-front for another 4-bay HDD rack that is just vacant - no rack or method to mount a rack. I'll put in a 4-bay 2.5 inch bracket later.

No NVMe support and no boot from PCIe. Even an added PCIe board with an M.2 Sata or M.2 disk will not boot. SuperMicro's response is that NVMe is an enterprise technology and only suitable for enterprise grade servers. Their server boards support as many as 24 or 48 NVMe cards but they refuse to add support for their workstations to use NVMe. I guess they don't read how many people insist on NVMe on even mid-level desktop boards. Apparently they think that we buy dual-xeons, hundreds of GB of RAM, and SuperMicro motherboards because we DON'T want performance in our workstations. Needless to say, this feature, or lack thereof, is really irritating to me but I don't have time to send it all back and start over.

Only 4 sata power plugs. Two strands with 2 sata plugs and two molex plugs. Who needs Molex? There were three 8-pin motherboard plugs on the power supply and two 6-pin and yet almost no Sata.
The wiring was all bundled tightly with tiewraps but you have to cut the tiewraps to hook anything up. The unit comes with shorter tiewraps that you have to double up to get long enough just to replace the ones they wasted in putting the MB into the case.

Putting the CPU coolers in the motherboard blocks the fan connectors required for the coolers. I had to remove the fans, connect them up, and replace them on the coolers - easy to do but just something to remember: put in memory and connect the CPU fans before installing the coolers. If you install the cooler and then have to remove it for the fan connector you will need new heatsink compound. If you have to remove something, just remove the fan, not the entire cooler. If you use the SuperMicro coolers, you'll see what I mean. The fan comes off with one screw so you connect it to the MB, install the cooler on the CPU, and then attach the fan to the cooler.
Other Thoughts: The motherboard would be fantastic if it supported NVMe or even booting from PCIe disk. Shame on SuperMicro for thinking we'd pay this much money to build a workstation and that we don't care about performance. The case, on the other hand, has very little positive about it. Between the two of them, I wish I'd looked more into the dual-Xeon boards made by the desktop board makers; they at least understand what power PC users want. My next build will be an Asus or Asrock, I think. I may even swap these parts out into a new MB from one of those if I get time.

My system is:
SuperMicro SYS-7038A-I (X10DAI motherboard)
Dual E5-5630 Xeons (2.4GHZ 8 cores each)
EVGA GTX-950 Graphics
128GB RAM
Samsung 941 on a PCIe card
Samsung 850 EVO on SATA
WD 2TB Black

I had to delete and recreate this review. Newegg allows the vendor to respond to the review but does not allow the customer to rebut the vendor's response. Here is what SuperMicro responded to my review (edited only to remove extra whitespace for brevity):

SuperMicro Response:Thank you for your comment! Supermicro needs your comment to improve our quality and service. Since X10DAI supports UEFI mode BIOS, motherboard boot form the PCIe SSD/NVMe should not have any problem. However, operating system must be installed with UEFI mode. If you still have any question, feel free to contact us. Please see the below technical support contact information:
Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)
Email address: support@supermicro.com
You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.
Thank you!
SM Technical Support

But I have an email from them where I did contact them and they were very explicit that this does not support, and will not support, booting from NVMe - which is exactly what their FAQ says about the X10dai board. Again, edited to remove excess white space and personally identifiable information.

Thanks for contacting Supermicro.
We currently do not have any workstation class board with NVMe. Upon checking with our engineers, M.2 cannot be supported.
BR,
Johnny

Sent: Sunday, March 13, 2016 7:47 PM
To: Technical Support <Support@supermicro.com>
Subject: m.2 AHCI on X10DAI
I read the FAQ that the X10DAI does not support NVMe. I am disappointed to hear that and I hope SuperMicro reconsiders.
1. Is there a similar Workstation class board on which you will support NVMe?
2. Does the X10DAI support M.2 PCIE adapters with AHCI such as Samsung XP941?
I’ve already ordered the SYS-7038A-I barebones server along with CPUs, memory, and the XP941. I’m hoping there’s a way to make them work together so I can boot from the XP941.

I spent two days trying to get the NVMe to work. I did the UEFI mode, I installed and restarted and reset and did everything that every article I could find for other SuperMicro boards said to do and none of it worked on this board. As of the BIOS version I have, this board does not support NVMe. I do hope SuperMicro fixes that but not sure I'll reinstall this build; I might try another SuperMicro if they fix that; otherwise my next build is Asus or other dual-xeon board.
Manufacturer Response:We are sincerely apologize the issue you are experiencing with your motherboard. Please kindly contact our technical support so that we can find out more about your configuration and work with you in finding a solution. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Deborah P.,5/22/2016 6:23:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X10DAI-O Extended ATX Xeon Server Motherboard Dual LGA 2011 Intel C612

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Worked out of the box after minor tweaking
Pros: - Had latest firmware.
- Minimal BIOS configuration needed.
- Worked with E5-2620v4 out of the box.
Cons: - No LED for saying the board is getting power from the power supply, makes boot failure issues harder to diagnose.
- Arrived with dead CMOS battery.
Other Thoughts: No SLI support, not a downside in my opinion. Minor BIOS configuration needed to get faster boot times.

If you are having boot issues be sure to try replacing the CMOS battery, this was the root cause of my boot failures.
Reviewed By:Benjamin E.,5/20/2016 11:38:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X11SAE-F-O ATX Server Motherboard LGA 1151 Intel C236

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Initial setup not for beginners
Pros: Very capable platform for a home server or serious workstation.
Cons: It took me a while to figure out that only the VGA output is active prior to OS installation. Also, the BIOS that ships with these boards doesn't support SATA M.2 drives such as the Samsung 950 Pro NVMe. This requires a BIOS update which wasn't particularly easy; requires formatting a USB drive with the Rufus utility and changing the boot order. Make sure you install Windows in UEFI Mode if you want to use OPROMs.
Other Thoughts: I really like the Supermicro now that it's up and running. It takes a while to boot up from S5, so I normally use Hibernate instead. I was kinda disappointed to find out that the SuperDoctor software can only be accessed via. a network interface. This probably wasn't the best choice for someone who doesn't really need all the computing power offered by a true ATX server motherboard, but Supermicro offers long term support for their products and their Service department is excellent.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your comment! Supermicro needs your comment to improve our quality and service. If you still have any question, feel free to contact us. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Raymond E.,5/17/2016 4:49:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X11SAE-F-O ATX Server Motherboard LGA 1151 Intel C236

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: easy to setup and use
Cons: drivers some don't work
ipmi setting manual not deteals
Manufacturer Response:We are sincerely apologize the issue you are experiencing with your motherboard. Please kindly contact our technical support so that we can find out more about your driver and IPMI issues and work with you in finding a solution. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/17/2016 12:12:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SL7-F-O Micro ATX Server Motherboard LGA 1150 Intel C222 DDR3 1600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 best server mobo
Pros: just works as it should,solid.Runs my freenas server with no problem.3 months of piece.
Cons: none yet
Other Thoughts: will upgrade to a better cpu
happy geek.
5-17-2016 -Now 1 year later never had to do anything to this mobo,very reliable
Reviewed By:Maxime P.,5/17/2016 8:46:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SRL-F Server Motherboard LGA 2011 R3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just a great server board
Pros: - PCIe expansion
- Memory capacity
- IPMI is GREAT
- Dual i350 NICs
Cons: - One non-standard hole for a standoff that was left blank in my build
- IPMI reporting DIMM X2 slots are populated though I clearly populated the X1 slots per the markings on the board. Odd
Other Thoughts: Grabbed one of these on an open box deal to build an ESXi host for testing/lab. Came with latest 2.0 BIOS and everything works just like it should. Threw a 2620v3 on and a Noctua air cooler. Getting passmark CPU scores in VMs as expected and no issues. LSI HBAs and RAID cards working just fine as expected. Threw this all in to a cheap Zalman ATX case with tons of front 5.25 bays for mobile drive racks and a couple RAID arrays. Fantastic combo.

BIOS is a breeze. Unfortunately I can't get my Kingston memory to clock up to 2133 but then again, its not on the supported memory list so I'm not docking the mobo for that. Don't really care as its not a production build.

The IPMI is just awesome. Really is a great feature and I'd never buy a server board without it honestly. The features it gives you are great!

If I ever need to build a single socket server for a client this will likely be my go to mobo. Plenty of expansion for multiple HBAs, RAID cards, Network cards or whatever.
Manufacturer Response:We are sincerely apologize the issue you are experiencing with your motherboard. Please kindly contact our technical support so that we can find out more about your IPMI issue and work with you in finding a solution. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/17/2016 5:14:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock Rack > ASRock C2550D4I Mini ITX Server Motherboard FCBGA1283 DDR3 1600 / 1333

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great when it works
Pros: 12 Sata Ports, snappy when equipped with SSD boot drive, Low power, 2Gbe network teaming.
Cons: When I first got the board it was very fussy about the RAM, needed memory from the qvl before the thing would post, and when it would post it takes forever to even get going. Also died after 2 years. Started by crashing occasionally, now will not post. It is on its way to Asrock tomorrow. We will see how the replacement process works. I expect much more from a server board.
Other Thoughts: This RMA process and how long the next board lasts will determine if i buy another. They have had two years to get the quality bugs sorted... So maybe they can do it.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/14/2016 10:44:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.