Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock Rack > ASRock E3C226D2I Mini ITX Server Motherboard LGA 1150 Intel C226 DDR3 1600 / 1333 ECC DIMM

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 IPMI power on cycle does not work
Pros: As far as I'm aware, this is the only Mini ITX motherboard that has IPMI for the 4th and 5th Generation Intel Xeon platform out there.
Cons: I am constantly playing games to get this board to power on. The server power control from the IPMI does not work. After playing many games to get this to boot, the only way is to leave the bios battery out, set the ME_RECOVERY jumper to the 2-3 setting, and press the power button on the case immediately after the BMC led lights up. The board will not power up in any other sequence. If the BMC led is on for a few seconds, the case power button will not power on the system. Since I am running this as a server I need a bios that saves settings to boot after power loss. What a waste of my time.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Seth,

I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
According to our record, back in March 2016 we have invited you to do a RMA replacement for your board that should not exhibit this behavior.
Please contact William again at william@asrockamerica.com for the information.

Thank you

ASRock Support
Tech Support Email: http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp

Reviewed By:Seth H.,7/26/2016 4:16:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock Rack > ASRock EPC612D4U uATX Server Motherboard Socket LGA 2011 R3 Intel C612

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid Motherboard
Pros: Very stable Motherboard for Video Editing. plenty of Sata ports, Pcie X16 for video card
Cons: This Motherboard was purchase to built a dedicated workstation to edit very large 4K and 6K video files, it perform really well. but be really careful, you won't be able to add large video card as the Pcie's are very close to each other.
Other Thoughts: Intel Xeon E5-2690 2.0 Ghz 14 cores. 4x 5TB hard drive totaling 20TB. 1TB SSD for C drive. 32GB memory Win7 64Bit. Creative Soucard. XFX R9-480 Video card (slim version). anidees AI7 MATX Cube Case.

As with Server Motherboard, very slow to boot. But I knee it.
Reviewed By:Jonas N.,7/25/2016 9:10:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock Rack > ASRock EP2C602-4L/D16 SSI EEB Server Motherboard Dual LGA 2011 Intel C602 DDR3 1600/1333/1066

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good motherboard, Simple Windows 10 work around helped.
Pros: - Stable
- Pretty flexible with memory configurations.
- Good GPU support
- William from Asrock tech support is a true asset to the company. Very courteous and helpful.
Cons: - Ran into an issue where I was getting NMI_HARDWARE_ERROR bsods (0x80) immediately after installing automatic updates on a fresh copy of windows 10. Disabling automatic updates (required some googling) resolved the issue.
- Some other issues where I can't change my GPU (980 ti) pcie slot without windows hanging on boot and requiring a re-install. I blame windows 10.
Other Thoughts: - I recommend this board to others. Just be prepared to spend a little time figuring things out. After all this is a server board :)
Reviewed By:navjote s.,7/25/2016 9:01:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO X10SRM-F Micro ATX Server Motherboard LGA 2011 Intel C612

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Quick look first ever SM E5-266 MicroAtx Board more detailed to follow.
Pros: Works as expected but for major design flaw. The closeness of the 3 pci express slots makes up to 2 unusable!
The design flaw renders board useless for many purposes.
But for that the board would get a 5.
IS SM going to redesign this board?
They certainly know how to CORRECTLY place these slots see their just out x11ssz-f!!
Cons:
the three PCI express slots are poorly placed if you are going to install a Video Card.

Both 8 slots are below the 16 slot so a modern video card masks the first below for sure.
the second 8 slot is also too close the 16 slot so only some cards fit in it.
You might end up with ONE usable slot out of 3 if you install a vid card!

Contrast this with my last SM purchase of an E3 SM MB X11SSZ-F All 3 slots are usable.
one 8 slot is above the 16 so it not get masked and the other is FAR below the 16!

I bought the SM heat sink with fan. It is NOT totally noise free!
It makes just enough noise to annoy me and when stressed makes a lot of noise.
I would next round buy the SM fanless heat sink.

We love our x11ssz-f which is totally flawless to date and has no known design flaws.

The board does take up to 24 speed mem but only if you use LRDIMM.





Other Thoughts: We are looking for a use for this board with major design flaw failing which we will return.
The original intended use was a vid card in the 16 slot and TWO intel raid controllers in the two 8 slots.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your comment! Supermicro needs your comment to improve our quality and service. If you still have any question, feel free to contact us. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!

SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:john f.,7/24/2016 9:01:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X9SCL-F-O LGA 1155 Intel C202 Micro ATX Intel Xeon E3 Server Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Motherboard Memory failure, terrible customer service.
Pros: Basic board
Cons: Memory slots 3 and 4 do not work. Terrible customer service.
Manufacturer Response:We are sincerely apologize the issue you are experiencing with your motherboard. Please kindly contact our technical support so that we can find out more about your configuration and work with you in finding a solution. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!

SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/24/2016 4:50:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock Rack > ASRock EPC612D8 SSI ATX Server Motherboard Socket LGA 2011 R3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great motherboard
Pros: Great support from manufacturer
4 gpu's possible (x8 x8 x8 x8)
Workstation mobo with IPMI if you want
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Building a server on the EPC612D8 motherboard.
Need to have 256GB of ram on mother board.

This board works with Xeon E5-1650 v3 and V4 chips

It has been super stable,

Running 4 Titan X's with no issues.

Had issue with memory compatibility initially, manufacturer was fantastically helpful cannot recommend them enough. hey went above an beyond to sort it out.

Great motherboard
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/24/2016 2:34:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASUS > ASUS Z10PA-D8 ATX Server Motherboard Dual LGA 2011-3 DDR4

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 If you like doing RMA's ...
Pros: Lots of features.
Cons: Bad board. Replacement board also bad. Second replacement request done but ASUS reports they sent me wrong info and I must do again. SECOND request for SECOND replacement completed but no response after a week and RMA "not found" on their RMA status webpage.
Other Thoughts: That's not all. I have another ASUS mobo which I had to RMA less than a year ago. Now that replacement has gone bad too. Downloaded BIOS update but the BIOS utility reports the ASUS supplied BIOS update is not compatible.

If you like problems and want to expend time, money, and effort RMA'ing, then ASUS is the brand for you. All together between the two mobo's, I estimate the total cost of purchase, mailing, and my time is about $5,000.

I had heard some stories of how bad the ASUS support is ... I know now so very well. ASUS support is, at best, an after thought. There is no "service after the sale" worthy of mention. You can expect your inquiries to elicit gibberish responses ... you will have to go back and forth two or three times in order to get a response that addresses the question/issue. They apologize a lot and then send you off on a wild goose chase with recommendations which on their face are asinine.

Good luck ...
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/21/2016 7:45:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SRI-F Server Motherboard LGA 2011 R3

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible support
Pros: None
Cons: This board requires BIOS v2.0+ to boot V4 Xeon CPUs, which can't be installed without a v3 CPU or an IPMI BIOS activation code. (Which they won't provide and offer no online immediate solution for, even though it only costs about $18) Supermico is still shipping boards with BIOS versions < than 2.0 even though this BIOS version was released in Dec of 2015.

Their standard fix for this is to RMA the board for BIOS update, which takes 2 weeks turn-a-round.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your comment! Supermicro needs your comment to improve our quality and service. If you still have any question, feel free to contact us. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:John L.,7/20/2016 6:19:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock Rack > ASRock C2550D4I Mini ITX Server Motherboard FCBGA1283 DDR3 1600 / 1333

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Avoid
Pros: Plenty of SATA ports
Cons: Failed after 8 months
RMA took 2 weeks to ship and 3 weeks to receive
No advanced replacement on server product
Failed boards must be shipped to them before issuing a replacement
Replacment board died after 1 week and support said that it was a reconditioned board
Support expierence is misserable
Other Thoughts: Choose another board to avoid headaches
Manufacturer Response:Dear Paul,

Sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Our RMA turnaround time is fairly quickly; usually within a day or two before the replacement unit will be shipped out. Your implication of 2-3 weeks wait time likely included the delivery time it took both ways, which we have no control over of. We have Cross Ship RMA service, and it will likely shorten the downtime. All replacement units are fully benchmarked. If the replacement unit failed after a week of use, it could also indicate other hardware problem in the system as it seems to consistently follow your system as a whole.

If you have any technical inquiry, please contact me at william@asrockamerica.com
I will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock Rack Support
Email: http://event.asrock.com/tsd.asp?ln=en

Reviewed By:Paul P.,7/20/2016 9:55:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X10DAL-I-O ATX Server Motherboard Dual LGA 2011-3 Intel C612

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not for common home use
Pros: Decent for the price
Cons: Narrow list of supported RAM that can only be found on the manufacturer site
No on-board VGA
Mount holes do not line up with most standoff placements in most ATX cases. If you don't have/use insulated standoffs, the board will detect shorts.
Other Thoughts: Should have done a little more research before buying to make sure all my equipment would work.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your comment! Supermicro needs your comment to improve our quality and service. If you still have any question, feel free to contact us. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Daniel B.,7/19/2016 3:11:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.