Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Intel > Intel Compute Stick CS325 Computer with Intel Core m3 Processor and No OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great quality
Pros: Works with ubuntu linux. Update the bios and make sure you have kernel 4.8, or the wifi will be unstable. I think usb is also unstable without those updates. Ubuntu 16.04 doesn't have kernel 4.8 by default. Ubuntu 16.10 runs well.
Cons: Can't customize the cover or case.
Reviewed By:Jason A.,1/16/2017 11:13:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ASRock > ASRock Deskmini 110W Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel H110 2 x 260Pin SO-DIMM * Intel HD Graphics Built-in Visuals and the VGA outputs can be supported only with processors which are GPU integrated. - Supports M.2 PCIe Gen3 x4 only

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome little system!
Pros: Paired this with an SSD and an i5-6400 and W10Px64. VERY fast system. Idle power was ~19W at the plug (supplied external power supply).
Cons: Could not get the Samsung PCIex4 M.2 SSD to work. Checked the SSD in another system and it is ok. Ended up using a standard SATA SSD.
Other Thoughts: Tough to get everything inside the box, but that is because it is so small.

Also, do your homework on the fan. I scavenged one from another system, but there are only a few that will fit this box.
Reviewed By:Charles M.,1/15/2017 1:28:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GB-BXA8-5557 (rev. 1.0) AMD Bolton M3 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM AMD Radeon HD 8550G Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works fine without 1.35 low voltage RAM just press F1 on boot
Pros: An engineering marvel
Small footprint
Will make a great HTPC
Has Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
Cons: No DVI and VGA monitor outputs
Other Thoughts: Built using spare parts from previous laptop upgrades.120 Gb SSD, 4 Gb G.Skill 1600 1.5v
Didn't think it would boot since the instructions stated to install low voltage 1.35 RAM.Was pleasantly
surprised when I pressed F1 on the boot screen to continue and was able to install OS. Left running
for 20 hours to see if there was a heat issue.None at all.Fans do get loud but quiet down after 40 seconds at full blast. Cut a piece of Swiffer to cover the intake fans to keep out dust. Will swap to 1.35v RAM to keep heat down and prevent any stability issues.Overall very happy with this product.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/15/2017 12:43:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Intel > Intel BLKSTK1A32SC Intel HD Graphics Compute Stick

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Once you get it Working
Pros: Compact
Cheap
Cons: Can be a little difficult to get an OS installed. I used a USB CD/DVD rom. But that is only once. Tried to install via booting from USB but failed.
Reviewed By:Eric E.,1/13/2017 6:22:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ASRock > ASRock Beebox N3000/B 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good little PC
Pros: Low power...kill-o-watt meter reads 7-10 watts.
Completely Silent.
Easily Runs linux (I have ubuntu installed)
Is fully capable to handle HD movie streaming, Music, web surfing, emailing...etc.
Cons: PC runs at 100% cpu usage for anything it does.
GMAIL is too heavy of a web application for it to run smoothly. (so far all other sites work fine.)
CAN'T USE SATA 2.5in drive!
PC overheats in summer in a horizontal position.
Other Thoughts: I decided to give this a try because it is fan less and low powered. This way I can leave the PC have it download/play music without me ever hearing a fan run. I thought that I would get a 2.5in SATA drive since it is cheaper than mSATA, but DO NOT DO THIS!! The case needs 1/8 in more space to fit the cable and the drive. I tried to gently force it into position, since it won't easily fit. I believe this may have damaged the cable, which has a special power connector on it. ("non standard cable") In the end I HAD to purchase a mSATA SSD, which has been working perfectly.

I am disappointed that gmail is so sluggish. Using Chrome web browser, I can see the keys lag a bit when typing. This doesn't happen for the desktop applications. My solution is to use thunderbird for email and install Jitsi for a messenger application.

Overall I would say the computer has met my expectations and I plan to use it as my primary computer. Games/programming etc will be left for my more powerful box.

update 1-12-2017:

I lowered my rating by one star because the pc had a tendency to overheat and shut down with indoor temps of 80F+ I saw a review someplace that mentioned having the pc in a vertical position dissipated heat better, so I gave it a try. For the past 5 months, it has been running a PostgreSQL database for my sensors in a docker container. I can't say for sure how it will run this coming summer when it gets hot again.
Reviewed By:Matthew B.,1/12/2017 4:04:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > OEM Production > OEM Production 2550L2D-MxPC Intel NM10 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel GMA 3650 Black Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love
Pros: Low power, amazing size and quiet enough for me.
Cons: a little noisy stock fan (mine is in a closet so don't care)
a little tricky to get USB CD rom hooked up for installation, but not really bad (a little picky on ports)
Other Thoughts: been running smoothwall 3.0 on it and performance is awesome. It uses 15w all the time so my UPS can hold up my entire network for about 2 hours with this thing running. I'm thinking about buying a 2nd just so if this one dies I can replace it with the same thing.
Get it... totally worth it.
Reviewed By:Steve B.,1/11/2017 2:56:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle XPC SH170R6 Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel H170 4 x 288Pin DIMM Intel HD Graphics 530 Black Mini PC with Intel Skylake platform

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great Little Case - Concerned about compatibility
Pros: Great case and had no issues installing most of my hardware. BD Drive, RR 622 controller and onboard is great. Using two display port to DVI adapters to drive two monitors without any issues and on-chip video. Not a gamer so this is working just fine for me.
Cons: M.2 2280 slot compatibility may be an issue.
Support seems to be unresponsive. I submitted support requests to Shuttle via their form and have received no response.
Other Thoughts: I have a OCZ RD400 drive that this system will not recognize. Toshiba has cross-shipped me a new drive with the same results. I am attempted to contact Shuttle and they have not replied so -2 eggs for what appears to be a lack of support access. I am unable to determine if the issue is a bad M.2 slot or something with the drive itself. However, to me, it appears that it is a slot or firmware issue that does not see this drive. I am disappointed in the lack of response from Shuttle support although I love this case.
Reviewed By:Herbert N.,1/11/2017 11:53:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > MSI > MSI Cubi2-005BUS Intel Kaby Lake U PCH-LP 2 x 260Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD 620 Graphics Black Barebone Systems - Mini / Booksize

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great specs but freezes
Pros: Great specs
Cons: Unit freezes randomly after a fresh Windows 10 pro install. Need to get in touch with the Manufacture for a swap.
Reviewed By:Austin L.,1/11/2017 5:42:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Intel > Intel NUC6i3SYK Kit with 6th Generation Intel Core i3 Processor

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great little box, the I3 processor falls short, get an I5 or I7.
Pros: small foot print
easy to add ram, SSD drive
4 USB ports
Cons: I3 processor too slow
A flicker I could never eliminate, however flicker went away when watching Netflix
HDMI issues, will explain
Other Thoughts: I used this box as a HTPC, it replaced a Mac Mini that I was using. I had audio issues with the Mac Mini, where it would not work properly on surround sound. I cut the cord a few years ago and the HTPC is the central hub of the house. A more recent development, I get free Comcast through my work. Xfinity streaming would pause and stutter with the NUC. Now Xfinity is streaming is nowhere near as good as Netflix and prime video but the NUC had a number of issues with it.

I also used my mini for video surveillance. I ran a program called Security Spy and had three HD cameras sending live video to it. For the NUC I tried ISpyConnect, this software taxed the CPU to 80 percent.

I had two nagging issues with the NUC. One was a flicker which I could never get rid of. A single line of static would pop up every minute or two on the bottom of the screen. I reverted to old drivers and new drivers, it never went away unless we watched a video on Netflix or Prime Video.

The second issue I had related to my surround sound preamp/processor and HDMI video. For some reason the NUC just would not always recognize this device. I would have to turn my preamp on then off, occasionally I had to do this 6-7 times. I have a McIntosh MX-121 pre-amp/processor (no not an apple product, they have been around a long time). I would get a black screen, turn my pre-amp on, see Win10, then turn off and it would be fine. Just an odd HDMI issue.

I acknowledge that I over taxed this box for what I needed. I am going to order an I5 and I am going to move my video surveillance software to a different computer. Overall I thought Windows 10 ran a bit slow on the I3, I wasn't really happy with the performance. I went ahead and returned the box, I will be ordering the I5 version. I like this box, I3 is just a bit slow for me.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/10/2017 9:13:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Configurator > BAREBONE INTEL | BOXNUC5CPYH RTL Configurator

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Meh its ok..
Pros: Intel Quality
Little to no noise
Cons: not enough horses for streaming video on an ip camera
Other Thoughts: Purchased a few of these units for streaming video from ip cameras on a lan to TV's. Great little units for everyday stuff but not so great for the video streaming pretty choppy, just not enough horsepower. Wish i had gone with i3's instead.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/9/2017 2:52:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.