Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GB-BXBT-2807 1 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics Integrated by CPU Mini-PC Barebone

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 n2807
Pros: no fan...somewhat decent performance if one doesn't expect too much...720 fine 1080 on wired iffy ..works 1 cpu+igpu full load seti/einstein fanless...not fast but handles decent loads...for 12x$ and free 4 gig ram ...heck ya...oh and had no problems running dual head 1080p(hdmi) and 1440x900 (d-sub)
Cons: wireless little flakey...but easily fixed
Other Thoughts: added junk box 80gb seagate 7200 sata2 and win 7 ulti 64..and had no problems
Reviewed By:eiblkjck,5/28/2015 1:57:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ZOTAC > Zotac ZBOX-ID18-U Intel NM70 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics Integrated by CPU Mini-PC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Little Box!
Pros: Relatively inexpensive, QUIET, cool running, seems rock-solid
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: I built this with 8GB of memory and a 256GB SSD running OpenSuse 13.2 to run and collect data for my Davis weather station.

I had previously built another "Brand-X" (El Cheep-O from an ePay seller) machine for this function, but the cooling fan in it sounded like a 747 at idle. WAY too loud to live under my desk in the Living Room where it runs 24/7/365.

So far it runs flawlessly, makes ZERO noise, generates very little heat, and is about 1/4 the size of the junk pile I'm replacing.
Reviewed By:drjim,5/27/2015 9:11:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > MSI > MSI ProBox23-006BUS (936-B08311-006) Intel Socket LGA1150 Intel H81 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics Integrated by CPU Black Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Little Box
Pros: Great size, silent, unobtrusive, easy to put together (just add processor, ram and SDD. Ability to put a "real" processor in such a small box is a big plus.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I bought a couple of MSI boxes about 8 years ago and they will not quit. They served well as servers and workstations. But they are quite anemic by today's standards so I'm replacing them with these units. A lot of power in a tiny box!
Reviewed By:MrBill,5/27/2015 12:17:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ECS (EliteGroup) > Black ECS LIVA 2GB DDR3L RAM installed 32GB eMMC Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk
Pros: Hard to say since I never actually got it working
Cons: This box is supposedly plug and play if you plan on using Win 8.x. I dutifully purchased Win 8 from Microsoft and downloaded the ISO. Per the directions, I used the Windows 7 USB/DVD tool to create a bootable USB. I tested this USB on my current desktop and it loaded the Win 8 boot screen just fine.

I tried it on the Liva system and it just wouldn't work. It kept going straight to the BIOS menu after hitting F7 and selecting the appropriate boot option. So, I browsed around (since the "support" at ECS is not easy to get to) and found a *Large Internet Retailer* review where a reviewer mentioned using Rufus to create the bootable USB. I followed those directions and nope, still no go.

At this point, ECS replied to an email of mine with directions very similar to the review guy (why were these directions not included in the original packaging since IMHO they are a bit archaic?). Just for kicks, I tried the process again, following their directions meticulously. Again, no go. At this point, the site of that BIOS screen sends me into a rage.

I went out to *Large Box Store* and bought a powered USB hub and a powered USB DVD drive. I tried every combination of different USB sticks, different USB ports, powered, non-powered, burned DVD boot (which also loaded fine on my 64 bit win 7 desktop)... every combination I could think of. NOTHING worked.

Just to see, I went ahead and downloaded a Ubuntu iso and used rufus to prepare a bootable linux USB. To my shock and awe, it didn't go to the BIOS. Instead, it went to a ubuntu menu (options to do install, 'try" it, etc). Every option there just gave me a "No controller found" message. so that too ultimately was a no go.

Of course, now I'm at 32 days since purchase so I can't return this. I am disgusted with this whole experience.
Manufacturer Response:We are sorry to hear about the issues you are experiencing Liva system. Due to the chipset limiation, Liva only supports UEFI and is 64 bit PC architecture. In addition, Windows 7 is unable to be installed into eMMC due to the option ROM, which is not supported from Intel® and Microsoft®.

While in UEFI mode, the Windows version must match the PC architecture. A 64-bit UEFI PC can only boot 64-bit versions of Windows. A 32-bit PC can only boot 32-bit versions of Windows.

First ensure the Windows 8.1 you are using is 64 bit.

Second, the installation media must be UEFI aware.

Please download the Windows 8.1 OS installation guide from the following link:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/61687986/Windows%208.1%20UEFI%20USB%20drive.zip

These directions use a different tool than the Microsoft tool.

The tool is Rufus. The directions include a dropbox download. If you want more information on the tool you can find its website at the following link.
http://rufus.akeo.ie/

If you still have any question, feel free to contact us.

I or any of my team members here at technical support will be able to help you.
Our hours are Mon-Fri 9am-6pm PST.

Thank you,
Andy
Phone# 1- 510-456-9836
Email: andy_K@ecsusa.com

Reviewed By:Mike L.,5/27/2015 7:45:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ECS (EliteGroup) > ECS Liva X 2GB/32GB Mini PC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little Linux box
Pros: Economical, totally quite (no fan), energy and thermal efficient. Very responsive and peppy running Ubuntu 14.04 LTS.
Cons: Tricky install, there are lots of ways to install Ubuntu and most of them will fail but a quick call to ECS support got me the instructions to get Ubuntu installed properly on the internal eMMC disk.
Other Thoughts: I don’t know why ECS does not post the Ubuntu install info on their website, it is very easy with the right direction. Basically use Rufus (http://rufus.akeo.ie/) to create your Ubuntu install USB from an Ubuntu 14.04.02 iso from the Ubuntu site. When creating the key in Rufus make sure you check “GPT partition scheme for UEFI computer” for the partition scheme.
Liva X and Ubuntu are a killer combo because it keeps the setup very quick, efficient and economical. I am using this as a client for my media server and I had no problem connecting it to my file shares on my media server, I will be testing all kinds of ways to stream and play content with this thing. If these go on a good sale again I will pick up a bunch more. I may pick up one with Windows 8.1 pre-installed to be a dedicated VPN Remote Desktop client for work.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/26/2015 7:26:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Foxconn > Foxconn nT-iBT18 1 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics Integrated by CPU NanoPC Barebone

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 change of heart
Pros: This is a re-review. I must apologize for the bad review. Foxconn has responded to my issues and all is well. These nano pc's are set up for windows 8 From the factory. I would have changed the review to 5 eggs except for the fact one of the little pcs was doa. I will be requesting a rma. Foxconn has not diappointed On the service side.
Cons: Documentation is still lacking. A short paragraph would have been helpful.
Other Thoughts: My frustration got the better of me. Foxconn's Nano Pc is a great little computer - this version works well for digital signage.
Reviewed By:PV,5/26/2015 6:50:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Intel > Intel NUC NUC5i5RYH, USB 3.0, Supports M.2 SSD card / 2.5” HDD Intel HD Graphics 6000, Mini HDMI, Mini DisplayPort

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Use Newer Linux Kernel
Pros: Tiny, affordable, room for 2 hard drives. Fast enough to run most indie games on steam. I also tried counter strike source, and Last Light. Both seemed very playable.
Cons: I had problems installing, ubuntu 14.04. Not a deal breaker, just chose a Linux distribution with a newer kernel than ubuntu 14.04.
Other Thoughts: Since I had problems installing Ubuntu 14.04, I ended up installing Ubuntu 15.04 and then Fedora 21. At this point, Fedora seemed a bit less buggy. So if you're needing a distro for this, try Fedora 21. Also you may could find a way to run Ubuntu 14.04, but I wasn't in the googleing mood.
Reviewed By:actionM888,5/24/2015 5:58:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GB-BXBT-2807 1 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics Integrated by CPU Mini-PC Barebone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great as a low-end server or backup computer
Pros: Lower-ish price, low power consumption, small size, no fan means no noise.
Cons: Extra cost for ram/hdd. Not entirely fast cpu.
Other Thoughts: I have 3 of these as home servers. One of them is a backup fileserver with a cloud backup software on it. The other two are internal internet traffic analyzers & firewalls. I have had no problems with any of them. There is no noise, very low heat, and use very little electric. I have had no problems with the wifi. They even look great sitting side-by-side.

I did try to set up one as a DVR server, but the cpu is just not fast enough.
Reviewed By:Dreamreamer,5/23/2015 4:07:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Intel > Intel NUC NUC5i5RYH, USB 3.0, Supports M.2 SSD card / 2.5” HDD Intel HD Graphics 6000, Mini HDMI, Mini DisplayPort

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 At this point I rate this product: DO NOT BUY
Pros: Nice except for items in Cons section.
Cons: This is now my 3rd unit, the last I exchanged directly with Intel.

The mini-dhmi port is junk.
USB ports often get an overpower error.
Other Thoughts: I am considering getting a 4th unit from Intel....and may just keep exchanging them until they fix these stinking units
Reviewed By:N/A,5/22/2015 11:54:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ZOTAC > Zotac ZBOX-CA320NANO-U 1 x 204Pin SO-DIMM AMD Radeon HD 8250 Barebone Systems - Mini / Booksize

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome HTPC
Pros: * Better than Atom based unit performance wise,
* Being based on an AMD APU is a plus for me. The graphic are better than the base Intel HD Graphics, but not as good as the HD 4000 series.
* Dead silent.
* Very low power.
* Plays casual games fine.
* Streams games in 720px60fps with no issues.
* Plays Blu Ray quality bit streams with no issues.
* Plays nicely with Kodi/XMBC with a PC IR Remote.
* Very cost effective when I bought it.
* Runs Win 7.1, Win 8.1, and Steam OS with no issues.
* Build and install was issue free.
Cons: * This does not seem to be a popular model.
* The current situation may make it less than cost effective.
* Because it is dead silent, it does get warm.
Other Thoughts: I absolutely loved this box. Unfortunately, It fell off my high dresser and broke. Yes, I am an idiot. I cannot replace it because either it is not available, or I don't see the value at the current pricing.

An i3-4010U based solution seems to be the best price performance point at the moment. Too bad, I love AMD.
Reviewed By:Ajay,5/22/2015 10:15:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.