Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ECS (EliteGroup) > Black ECS LIVA 2GB DDR3L RAM installed 32GB eMMC Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It works great of inexpensive HTPC
Pros: Small
Installed Linux Mint 64 bit without incident
Runs XBMC/KODI flawlessly with 1 tweak
$99
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: when I first assembled this, installed linux and KODI, I ran some test videos. There was tearing on the top of the screen about a 5th of the way down (on 1080p). I tried different resolutions (720p, 480) but tearing got worse. I was thinking "Ya know, they just put the cheapest video card in this to keep the price low".
I was about to put this in the "I expected more" section of my closet next to my Lenovo Think Tab and Raspberry PI", after I was unsuccessful installing/compiling drivers and files.

For those seeing video tearing running Linux Mint and Kodi. Just do this:
sudo vi /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-intel.conf

and add this:
Section "Device"

Identifier "Intel Graphics"
Driver "intel"
Option "AccelMethod" "sna"
Option "TearFree" "true"

EndSection



Save and reboot - flawless video

I hope this helps someone
Reviewed By:Atari800,5/4/2015 8:15:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > MINIX > MINIX NEO-Z64A Black Mini PC for Android

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Another fine Android box
Pros: Somewhat faster than the minix neo-x8
Ram is faster.

Does what a android box should do.
Cons: wireless not as good as neo-x8 series...why?
So silly to downgrade the wireless abilities.
Only 2 usb ports
Reviewed By:BoM,5/4/2015 7:25:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ZOTAC > Zotac ZBOX CI320 nano Desktop Computer - Intel Celeron N2930 1.83 GHz - Mini PC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Small, Capable, Cheap, pick all three!
Pros: Built with a 120G Mushkin SDD and 8G of 1600 ram. Combined came to $240 - which seamed very reasonable.

Running Windows 7.

The CD driver envelope big enough to fully cover the top of this box. Yet is has full size HDMI and DP ports along with eSATA, 4 USB3 and 2 USB2 ports (looking at you NUC).

Feels solid and mostly well built. The clip that holds the SDD in place wasn't fully aligned, but its adequate.

After initial install, Windows Update was running (downloading and installing hundreds of patches), along with Firefox which was down-loading Anaconda., and Chrome with 4 open tabs, one of which was running music player from my cloud-based music. All with no stuttering or sluggishness.

The above had the CPUs averaging about 75-80%, and the case got very warm. Not uncomfortable to touch, but warm.

I'm using this as a second system in the office, where space is at a premium. The front panel nestles just under the lower edge of my monitor. Compared to the i3-based company pizza box: This has faster memory and hard drive scores, the i3 shows somewhat better CPU scores, and the i3 has much better video scores, per Widows 7's performance tests. My uses are not graphics heavy, and the memory/drive speed should offset any differences in cpu speed. So I'm a happy camper.

So far, everything has been downloaded via WIFI. No problems with the card, it works fine. Bluetooth is also included, but I haven't played with it yet.
Cons: I wish at least one front USB port was USB3. I move a USB3 stick back and forth between work and home, and in my setup, its not convenient to reach around the back to leverage the USB3 ports.

Newegg didn't offer me an extended service policy, leaving me a little concerned about its expected long-term durability.
Other Thoughts: 8Gb of memory seems to me a cheap way to keep things moving in this box. The price difference to 4Gb is pretty negligible when you think about it.

I've got external USB hard drives, if I ever need big storage space. So paying $10 extra for an SSD was a no brainer.

I'm hoping that the passive cooling leads to fewer dust bunnies inside.

Power consumption is low. I believe the brick is rated at just over 5 amps. Not in Pi territory, but a Pi couldn't keep up with this in processing.

Newegg has just announced a $30 price reduction. Rats.
Reviewed By:Cactus2,5/3/2015 7:15:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ECS (EliteGroup) > ECS Liva X 2GB/32GB Mini PC

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great little system
Pros: Small, simple, low power, HDMI.
Cons: Would prefer a less expensive model without eMMC so one could just drop in an mSATA.
Other Thoughts: Got one to test. For most clients we run all core applications via RDP for ease of maintenance and performance. Rather than thin clients, which are more money. So we prefer to install Window 7 so we can join to the domain and have basic functionality such as web browsing and then RDP for delivery of a controlled remote desktop (VDI). As mini systems go, this runs Windows 7 great for basic apps and as a RDP/VDI client.
Reviewed By:Phoenix,5/3/2015 6:17:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Intel > Intel NUC NUC5i3RYK, USB 3.0, Supports M.2 SSD card, Intel HD Graphics 5500, Mini HDMI, Mini DisplayPort

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great desktop
Pros: Compact footprint, AES-NI built into the i3 processor, completely silent, great Linux support on recent distributions, headphone jack on the front, solid metal case, includes AC adapters for every country.
Cons: Could use more USB ports, WIFI card is soldered to the motherboard, graphics corruption on Ubuntu LTS 14.04.2 (solved by updating to the 15.04 release), no Debian Jessie graphics acceleration (their own fault for using an old kernel). Mouse required for the BIOS setup program. Plastic lid attracts scratches and fingerprints quickly.
Other Thoughts: This little machine flies. My first desktop build in 10 years after having used laptops for the entirety of that period. Running BOINC in the background and it's faster than my first-gen i5 while using a fraction of the power. Would have liked more USB ports and a better lid.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/3/2015 11:41:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Intel > Intel BLKNUC5i5MYHE 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Integrated Graphics Graphics Output: 2x mDP, 1x eDP # of Displays Supported: 3 NUC w/ vPro Board (Maple Canyon)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Intel NUC BLKNUC5i5MYHE
Pros: Its small and easy to install the memory and hard drive. Its fast and has fare graphics
Cons: Cost is a little high no big improvement over other intel NUC's. The 3D graphics are not up to par, but fine for desktop apps.
Other Thoughts: Some of the other Intel NUC's would be as good if not better at less cost
Reviewed By:OD,5/3/2015 7:11:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Intel > Intel NUC NUC5i5RYK, USB 3.0, Supports M.2 SSD card, Intel HD Graphics 6000, Mini HDMI, Mini DisplayPort

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Pretty amazing for how small it is
Pros: - Small form factor.
- Silent.
- Easy to install ram and SSD.
Cons: Only windows 8 is supported. Originally I wanted to install Windows Server 2012 on this. After doing so, many drivers including LAN were missing and could not be installed due to unsupported OS. It does say it clearly in the documentation and box and I just didn't notice. But, this is the main failure of the machine itself. It's unclear if Linux would work fully or not (did not try).
Other Thoughts: I didn't buy this to be a gaming PC, I am using it as a web server (running windows 8.1 now instead of server 2012). I wanted something small and compact but powerful enough to be a real machine and actually be able to do some real tasks. So far I am happy with my decision.
Reviewed By:rob,5/3/2015 6:14:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > MINIX > MINIX NEO-Z64A Black Mini PC for Android

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Another decent Minix product
Pros: Nice and Fast
Does what and android should do.
graphics seem faster than the neo x8 + but have not objectively verified that feeling.
good for gaming as well as other stuff.
Cons: wireless is not nearly as good as the neo x8 family.
Other Thoughts: soon PCs will be much less common and these type of boxes will be the norm. I think Minix is a leader in the field
Reviewed By:BoM,4/29/2015 12:31:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ZOTAC > Zotac ZBOX-EN760-U 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M Barebone Mini / Booksize System

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Failed Twice in 3 Months
Pros: Small, quiet, fast.
Cons: USB 3.0 drivers are finicky. Build quality could be better.
Other Thoughts: This unit failed after 1 month of use (would not boot). I sent it back and was without a computer for a month. The second computer was brand new and failed in exactly the same way as the first, also after 1 month of use. So this failed me twice in 3 months. I spent $50+ in return shipping, which Zotac would not refund. They also categorically said they will NEVER refund me---for the computer or any shipping---even if the computer fails repeatedly, meaning I could end up paying hundreds in return shipping.

The computer is good, but I can't recommend it due to Zotac's return policy. If you have issues, you are going to lose a lot of money and be severely inconvenienced.
Manufacturer Response:Hi Louis,

We apologize for the issues you're experiencing with the unit. Our Customer Service team should be in contact with you and a replacement unit is on its way. Your unit will be analyzed for further details.

ZOTAC

Reviewed By:samircoz,4/29/2015 11:53:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ECS (EliteGroup) > Black ECS LIVA 2GB DDR3L RAM installed 32GB eMMC Storage

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good little unit - some hassles? (part 2)
Pros: It's small.
It doesn't use much power.
It's fast enough to replace a bigger more powerful PC for everything except hardcore multitasking, rendering, gaming, compiling, etc.
It's very easy to put together. Assuming you are comfortable assembling small parts using screws, tabs, plastic fittings, and have no trouble following directions, assembling this unit is not going to present a problem.
Never tried the Wifi, since I don't run Windows 8.x, but the wired ethernet is flawless.
Cons: It requires UEFI capable boot media. This limits your OS options quite a bit. This is the one thing that bugs me most of all.
BIOS documentation may not be accurate. Note my experience trying to disable XHCI.
32GB may require you to store files on remote drives.
Will not play nice with a Media Center USB remote and receiver.
Only has 2 built in USB ports. Plan on a powered hub, especially if you need to mess with external drives.
Other Thoughts: Whoa! Didn't intend to run over the 3,000 character limit on that. I ended up getting the "bottom line" cut off

Anyway, continued from previous review:

This little PC is easy to assemble, reasonably powerful, and very small. I like it for what it is, and don't pretend it should be a performance PC. Since I wasn't ultimately able to use it for it's intended purchase, I have been using it as a replacement for my usual workbench Dell Optiplex C2D tower when the power supply apparently gave out. I havent done any troubleshooting on that yet, but since this little LIVA does such a great job replacing it, I stopped caring about it for now. Maybe I'll fix it someday, but for now this little LIVA is serving me well.

I see the manufacturer's response on my first review. Thanks for the followup! If I was still having an issue I'd give you a call, but for now, I have given up on the unit as a Kodi (XBMC) box due to the MCEUSB remote issue. It works great as a desktop and I'm happy. My only suggestion would be to test it and see if ECS can get this to work: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16880101002&cm_re=mce-_-80-101-002-_-Product
This is an example of many products that all work pretty much the same for Media Center use, and the software is fully compatible with them using lirc and ir-keytable. Not sure if the USB 3.0 controller is at fault here, but I dead ended while trying to disable XHCI mode.

This is one of the few things that needs to be fixed in order to be the perfect Media Center box.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/28/2015 8:19:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.