Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Configurator > BAREBONE GIGABYTE | GB-BXA8-5557 R Configurator

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I am impressed so far.
Pros: It was extremely easy to assemble and was up and running in an hour. Windows install took awhile but that was because I opted for a large HD.. I like it enough to. Be considering getting another one for my kitchen!
Cons: No cons. I heard the fan whine once, but I'm not A gamer so it is perfect for quicken, excel,word and it even works extremely fast with handbrake
Other Thoughts: There is nothing about it that I'd change other than a newer
AMD chip. This unit is a couple of years old, but it as still an unbelievable bargain.
Reviewed By:Richard M.,2/11/2016 8:12:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Intel > Intel BOXNUC6I5SYH 2 x 260Pin SO-DIMM Intel Iris graphics 540 1 x full-size HDMI 1.4b 1 x mini DisplayPort 1.2 Aluminum and Plastic Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great when it worked
Pros: - Small form factor
- quiet
- 2.5 driver + m.2 support at the same time
Cons: - uncorrectable boot error after about 3 days of use
- Others have reported the same issue`
Other Thoughts: Returned for a refund. I'll order a new one after the issue has been resolved or at least mitigated. Really enjoyed the device for the short time I had it.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/11/2016 10:19:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle XS36V4 Desktop Computer - Intel Celeron J1900 2 GHz - Slim PC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Shuttle Support leaves a lot to be desired...
Pros: I can't tell. It won't boot to any sort of install setup I try.
Cons: This product will not boot. No matter what I try, it simply goes to a window that says:

EFI Shell version 2.31 [5.9]
Device mapping table

About 2 months of trying different combinations on the BIOS, no luck.

It will not boot to any style of device I might have, USB, preformatted hard drive, preformatted SSD, USB connected optical disk....

I just go round and round....

So, I contact Shuttle. No word. It's a shame. I figure it may work if I could get it flashed, but nothing from Shuttle, and their webpage for this product seems to be permanently down. I'll wait, of course. I have no other choice. Can I return a likely functioning unit that I cannot get flashed?
Reviewed By:Gerald R.,2/10/2016 4:51:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ECS (EliteGroup) > LIVA X 4GB/64GB Mini PC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 5 Eggs Are Not Enough!
Pros: It works really well. W8.1 installed easily. Driver DVD installed all of the drivers. Upgrade to W10 went smoothly. Downloaded W10 drivers installed without a hitch.
Cons: Documentation doesn't tell you how to install mSata drive. (Take the 4 screws out of the bottom. Remove the VGA connector screws and the motherboard will drop out)
Other Thoughts: I bought this for $149 with a $35 rebate, $114. What an awesome deal!. It will be my HTPC.

Running it uses 8-10 watts. Off, 3 watts. Wake on LAN works.

It's on my Windows domain.

Wake-on LAN doesn't work when using HDMI.

Rebate processor really SUCKS! Ten weeks later.... still nothing.
Reviewed By:Charles P.,2/9/2016 1:00:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ZOTAC > Zotac ZBOX CI320 nano Desktop Computer - Intel Celeron N2930 1.83 GHz - Mini PC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good and cheap
Pros: Inexpensive, works well, low power
Cons: n/a
Other Thoughts: Bought a couple of these to use as linux servers for some light automated web scraping. Got 4 gigs of GSkill RAM and Mushkin SSDs for each and installed Ubuntu Server 14.04.3. Don't have any issues, but I'm only using the wired network, usb ports, and video. Installed OS from flashdrive, but had a few issues at first. Don't use unetbootin to create your bootable flashdrive. On this machine it discovers the flashdrive before the SSD and assigns the flashdrive to SDA and the SSD to SDB. The install goes fine until GRUB tries to install; it will only install to SDA1. So I created another bootable flashdrive with mintStick (called "USB Image Writer" inside Mint). This installed fine. Note: somebody below said you have to change the boot type from UEFI to Legacy for Linux/Grub. I did with unetbootin, but not with mintStick. I'm using the default UEFI Windows 8 option.
Reviewed By:Allen S.,2/9/2016 11:03:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Intel > Intel BOXNUC6I5SYH 2 x 260Pin SO-DIMM Intel Iris graphics 540 1 x full-size HDMI 1.4b 1 x mini DisplayPort 1.2 Aluminum and Plastic Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Loved it - Update
Pros: Bought the 6i5SYH with 8GB HyperX Impact DDR4 and Samsung 950 PRO m.2 256GB PCI-Express SSD. Running Windows 10. Took a couple of tries to get it to boot from the SSD (had to install the PCI-express driver), but other than that, smooth install. Unit is quiet and fast. Running a Dell P2715Q 4K monitor and it looks great. Not using it for anything too taxing. Looking forward to tucking it away in the cabinet for a super clean install.
Cons: ** Update - device was working happily for about 1.5 weeks when it started getting whea_uncorrectable BSOD. At first, it would run for 5-10 minutes before getting the error, but then started getting it regularly within 30 seconds of booting into Windows 10. Researched the problem, including the NUC forums on Intel support site. No apparent fix - unit was sent back for replacement. Sounds like a number of people are seeing the same issue, but I have no way of knowing whether it's 1% of the devices or 50%.

- not sure if it's going to sleep properly. Still investigating.
Other Thoughts: Yes, I would recommend it. Nice little machine. Could easily unhook it and take it with me.
Reviewed By:Kevin N.,2/9/2016 9:36:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ECS (EliteGroup) > LIVA X 2GB/32GB Mini PC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 An Amazing Little PC, one month later
Pros: Linux Mint 17.3 installed easily. Plays YouTube and local HD content readily. It's TINY :). VGA port makes it more connectible to older monitors. USB 2.0 are occupied by keyboard and mouse, but Bluetooth peripherals would solve that slight shortage of ports.
Cons: Bluetooth works under Linux Mint; WiFi doesn't (natively). Other than that, I cannot think of a negative. CORRECTION: An update or two after install, I got a prompt for my WiFi password. Absolutely everything works with Linux Mint 17.3 Mate.
Other Thoughts: This little PC replaces a desktop PC in which the motherboard died. For the cost of a new board and RAM, I got a new PC, and it is nearly as capable as the behemoth it replaces. If there is a shortcoming to be mentioned, it would be the lack of storage, but with the abundance of external solutions available this is hardly an issue. I had my doubts at first, but after a couple of weeks, I admit I am impressed. I might just have to convince a few friends with older PCs to buy a Liva. New tagline for these little PCs: Love-a Liva <3
Reviewed By:Marat B.,2/9/2016 4:46:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ZOTAC > Zotac ZBOX-CI323NANO-U 2 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent PFSense Box
Pros: This is a great little PFSense box. It is currently installed at a small office with 6 workstations.
OpenVPN and SNORT running and the CPU usage sits at about 3%.
Cons: The only con I had was what another reviewer pointed out - the BIOS needs to be set to legacy boot.
Other Thoughts: I am running this with 8GB of RAM and a 120GB SSD.
RAM - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820191523
SSD - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820016001

At time of purchase, it was ~$230 for an amazing PFSense box that doesn't make a peep.
Reviewed By:Maria K.,2/8/2016 6:59:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Intel > Intel BOXNUC6I5SYH 2 x 260Pin SO-DIMM Intel Iris graphics 540 1 x full-size HDMI 1.4b 1 x mini DisplayPort 1.2 Aluminum and Plastic Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 perfect
Pros: very quiet and surprisingly small. surface area is less then the size of a DVD. Powerful enough for most applications.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: For people who wants to install windows 7, please note that Windows 7* installation media does not include native driver support for USB 3.0, so during installation, when you get to the screen to select your preferred language, a keyboard or mouse connected to a USB 3.0 port does not respond. You can follow instruction on this page

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/25476/Windows-7-USB-3-0-Creator-Utility

or google "Windows 7 USB 3.0 Creator Utility" to find out how to create a bootable USB flash drive for installing windows 7.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/8/2016 4:38:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Intel > Intel BOXNUC6I5SYH 2 x 260Pin SO-DIMM Intel Iris graphics 540 1 x full-size HDMI 1.4b 1 x mini DisplayPort 1.2 Aluminum and Plastic Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 First unit worked three weeks and died
Pros: Powerful unit, really awesome specs for such a small device.
Compatible with OpenELEC appliance OS for HTPC usage (with KODI)
Built in M.2 port, IR, DisplayPort, and USB 3.0
Cons: BIOS has a bad history so far. (Still has problems with current 033)
My first unit blew up pretty hardcore a few weeks after I got it.
Memory compatibility issues.
Updating the BIOS can be a nightmare.
Standard 2.5" slot is very difficult to remove a drive out of.
Other Thoughts: After tinkering with this unit for a few weeks and getting OpenELEC running smoothly on it, the unit decided to blow up. I was notified it has bit the bullet because for some reason it started dumping massive voltage into the managed network switch it was hooked to, and that switch threw health alarms all over my network. After powering it odwn manually, the unit would no longer come back online, only showing a solid blue light on the front but no video output, no BIOS post screen, no HDD activity. Intel confirmed the unit was toast and requested I initiate an RMA through NewEgg.

The RMA was initially for a replacement, but I was told it takes 10 days AFTER the bad unit is received to even start shipping the replacement, which is insane. However, NewEgg support allowed me to swap it to a refund and float the $400 to buy another unit now and overnight it, and offered to refund me the shipping costs. I'm still going to be out nearly $400 for weeks until they refund the defective unit.

These units are fantastic when they work properly. If I didn't realize how great they were I'd probably not bother to risk replacing it with a second unit.
Reviewed By:MATTHEW B.,2/8/2016 4:22:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.