Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle DSA2LS Black Mini / Booksize Barebone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Wi-Fi does not work
Pros: You can use Android on a TV.
Cons: Wi-Fi does not work
Other Thoughts: I booted it up, turned Wi-Fi on, click on my routers SSID and entered my password. It connected and then Wi-Fi stopped working. The setting is turned on but no SSIDs show up. There are usually 10 - 12 SSIDs always showing from around the neighborhood including mine. Unfortunately I waited past 30 days to use it and can't RMA it back to newegg. Powering off and restarting does not help. What a disappointment.
Reviewed By:Dan M.,8/29/2016 10:13:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ZOTAC > ZOTAC ZBOX pico PI331 Plus Mini PC, ZBOX-PI331-P-U, Intel Atom x5-Z8500 quad-core CPU 4GB Memory 64GB eMMC Storage Fanless Passively Cooled Silent Performance Aluminum Body Ultra Compact No OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I think this is precisely what I needed
Pros: Nice tiny little unit that is cheap and silent, can leave it running 24x7 attached to my monitor and be able to log on to it to check things from time to time without feeling guilty about leaving a power-hungry PC on all day or waiting to boot up as it uses very little electricity. Can run a 4K screen at 30Hz which is workable for simple tasks.
Cons: It seems to get a bit hot to the touch, this is a bit worrying. Performance seems to throttle with the heat. Would be an extra egg if it kept to a more normal temperature. Also the instructions that came with it aren't anywhere near as clear as what I found below.
Other Thoughts: If you want to install Ubuntu, follow the instructions in this link, it worked like a charm (I did it for Lubuntu 16.04 substituting the ISO for the one referenced and adding the three files specified) http://askubuntu.com/questions/727664/how-can-i-install-64-bit-ubuntu-15-10-on-my-uefi-ia32-bay-trail-tablet
Reviewed By:w s.,8/29/2016 9:52:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Foxconn > Foxconn nT-iBR31 1 x 204Pin SO-DIMM Intel HD Graphics 5500 Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice for small system
Pros: Video looks good. Also plays online subscription video's with no problems with chrome on Linux. Fan is nice and quiet.
Cons: Had some trouble with the USB 3.0 ports where it could not power up external drives on any of the USB3.0 ports and transfer any data, while the USB 2.0 ports worked OK. It acted like like there was not enough juice. A 3.0 drive with external power worked fine on all ports so returned for replacement. Newegg payed the shipping costs, took care of it, and it's now perfect.
Other Thoughts: This model has an improved case design with a little lip, that slides into the newly designed mounting bracket and the cover snaps right off when you remove the four screws. Did not use the 2.5 inch HDD bay, but instead, installed an M2sata SSD. It takes the M2 2242 M keyed type. (ADATA Premier ASP600NS34-256GM is working fine) It needed a small screw to hold down the SSD that's not included. Tried Windows 10 and Linux mint 18 and no drivers were needed. On a kiilo-watt meter, it draws about 10 watts after it's booted.

Memory used was crucial 8GB Model CT102464BF160B
SSD was ADATA Premier SP600NS34 M.2 2242 256GB model ASP600NS34-256GM-C

Would recommend this to friends.
Reviewed By:Brian R.,8/29/2016 7:30:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ZOTAC > ZOTAC ZBOX MAGNUS EN970 Gaming Mini PC Black Barebones System Intel Core i5-5200U Dual-core CPU NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 Graphics

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great gaming machine
Pros: Quiet - Can't hear it even running full load.
Cooling - Well designed, as I haven't seen CPU or GPU temps over 75C with room temp at 22C.
Compact - Fits right under the TV.
Powerful - Runs games at 1080P 60 fps with settings between medium and high, depending on the game.
Infrared Receiver - Didn't even realize it had this. Seems to work with Windows Media Center remotes.
Drive Support - Installed a 500 GB SSD and a 1 TB mechanical for backup
Cons: Thumbscrews are a bit hard to get back in. The holes don't line up well so it takes some gentle persuasion to get them both started without stripping out.
Other Thoughts: Ran a baseline of 34 fps on Heaven at 1080P on max settings. After bumping the core and memory up using Afterburner I was getting 39.5 fps. Tried to get 40 fps but the GPU memory couldn't handle it. Overclocking the memory made the biggest difference in fps. Temps only went up 2 degrees with the overclock. Haven't seen any issues yet with the 2 core processor being a bottleneck. I suppose it might get a few fps higher with a better processor, not sure. I generally don't see processor usage over 60-70% during games.

Would make a great HTPC with the included infrared receiver. If Zotac keeps the same physical form factor and comes out with a newer/better model then I'll probably get the newer one for gaming and use the EN970 for a dedicated HTPC.

In the past I enjoyed building computers. Selecting a case, components, etc. These Zbox machines are great though. I love the mini form factor, and as of now you just can't build a machine this small AND powerful.
Reviewed By:Michael S.,8/29/2016 1:55:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ASRock > ASRock Deskmini 110W Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel H110 2 x 260Pin SO-DIMM * Intel HD Graphics Built-in Visuals and the VGA outputs can be supported only with processors which are GPU integrated. - Supports Intel HD Graphics Built-in Visuals:

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A few minor complaints but still the best barebone mini PC available.
Pros: Overall such a great little mini PC. I love this thing! Being able to use regular TDP processors (up to 65 watt) put performance well above any NUC or similar box using a T series processor.

- full capabilities in a case small enough to hold in one hand
- very, very easy to open and work in
- two 2.5" drive mounting (many others only have only one)
- USB C connector (3.0)
Cons: Mostly just aesthetics and nitpicking...

- with this form factor you could be dependent on external USB devices - would prefer to drop the two 2.0 in favor of more 3.0
- PCI Gen3 x4 M.2 only, no M.2 SSD (but I understand why and thus, isn't really a con)
- the pre-punched holes for the wifi antenna were a little small...had to use the shaft of a screw driver to open them up
- as with my first point above, they could drop one of the three graphics ports (preferrably the aging VGA) for more USB
Other Thoughts: A card reader would have been a nice addition.

I built mine using a Noctua LH-L9i instead of the Intel box fan. While you have to carefully route the wifi antennas, the Noctua fits perfect. The DeskMini 110 runs cool and quiet; with SSDs I struggle to hear it. Currently using mine as a Plex server with the bulk of storage attached via USB enclosure.

In the future I hope ASROCK makes more mini-STX boards so the DeskMini can continue to be upgraded.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/29/2016 12:56:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ECS (EliteGroup) > LIVA 32GB 2GB DDR3L RAM installed 32GB eMMC Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Plex Home Theater
Pros: Small
No Fan
HDMI with Audio
Fast Storage
Cons: Don't think this has enough heat disipation

Well its 2016 August and the USB ports on this thing are dead. Will not recognize anything that I connect to them. Not even to boot up to the BIOS. piece of junk, stay away.
Other Thoughts: Installed windows 8.1 with Plex Home Theater
This thing works like champ. plays 1080p60 mts files without any issues
MKV 1080p play fine as well.
Replaced my hacked Apple TV with this guy, and really happy
Reviewed By:Alexandr C.,8/27/2016 4:28:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Intel > Intel NUC6i3SYH Kit with 6th Generation Intel Core i3 Processor

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great little unit as long as you know exactly what you're getting it for.
Pros: -Small
-Quite
-Simple to setup and deploy
Cons: There's quite a bit of sample variations between these units. First one that I've got had a dodgy WIFI module. Second one seems to be good and even feels faster.

All in all, with the wrong memory modules that NewEgg has sent me to begin with, it took over 3 weeks to get a working computer.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/26/2016 8:24:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ASUS > ASUS Vivo Mini UN62-M036M, Intel Core i3 4010U, supports 32GB/128GB/256GB mSATA SSD, Intel HD Graphics 4400, Black Color, No OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good HTPC
Pros: Pretty decent mini PC that's connected to my TV.
Cons: no complaints
Reviewed By:Petr J.,8/25/2016 8:21:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ZOTAC > ZOTAC ZBOX pico PI331 Plus Mini PC, ZBOX-PI331-P-U, Intel Atom x5-Z8500 quad-core CPU 4GB Memory 64GB eMMC Storage Fanless Passively Cooled Silent Performance Aluminum Body Ultra Compact No OS

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 POSTs fine, USB ports unresponsive
Pros: - Incredibly small, easy to wall-mount
- Full-size ports
Cons: - Doesn't recognize USB flash drives
- Stopped recognizing keyboard while trying to get system to recognize flash drives
- ZERO documentation outside of provided user manual, it's almost as if this device simply does not exist anywhere else on the internet
Other Thoughts: Got a RMA from Newegg. I hope I don't have to go through this a second time because the device has the potential to be just what I need. If this happens again I might as well just spend more money on an Intel NUC or something from Gigabyte.
Reviewed By:Jonathan M.,8/24/2016 5:42:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ZOTAC > ZOTAC ZBOX pico PI331 Plus Mini PC, ZBOX-PI331-P-U, Intel Atom x5-Z8500 quad-core CPU 4GB Memory 64GB eMMC Storage Fanless Passively Cooled Silent Performance Aluminum Body Ultra Compact No OS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Garbage, refuses to boot from USB or CD Media to install windows
Pros: Looks Pretty
Cons: Doesn't work
Reviewed By:Alan R.,8/23/2016 11:55:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.