Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > Cooler Master > CM Storm SF-17 - Gaming Laptop Cooling Stand with 180 mm Fan and 4 Ergonomic Height Settings

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works well for cooling, but no DC power adaptor included. The USB power connector included is poorly crafted
Pros: This CM Storm SF-17 180 mm fan unit keeps my HP Envy 17 3D laptop cool. My laptop never overheats, nor does it power off due to overheating like before. I can play any PC game and my laptop remains cool and maintains excellent performance, even when playing the next generation games like: Battlefield 4, Call of Duty Modern Warfare, etc.. Use my laptop specs below & if your laptop is equal or less than mine...this cooler will keep it cool with no problem!

My computer specifications for comparison with your laptop:
Intel i7-2670QM CPU @ 3.09GHz
ATI 6850m graphics card with 1 Gig of Vram
Intel HD 3000 graphics card
8 gigs of memory
17 inch 1080p LED HD screen
1 TB 7,200 rpm hardrive
Cons: The power connector on the cooler for using a USB cord to plug into the laptop to power on the CM Storm SF-17 is poorly made. The pins bend very easily. The pins bent after only two days of use when I unplugged it & plugged it back into the side of the SF-17 cooler. Now I have to find & purchase a DC power adapter to power on the cooler. Cooler master has a DC input to power on the cooler, but an adapter was not included in the box. It's sold separately, which is lame. Power adapters are pretty standard nowadays, unless your cheap. Geez!
Other Thoughts: Its a great laptop cooler and keeps my laptop cool, but I wish these companies were like in the old days when materials were better crafted and not like the cheap parts used today to save a few dollars. It's probably made in China, LOL!!
Reviewed By:N/A,3/30/2015 12:25:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > Cooler Master > Cooler Master NotePal U2 PLUS - Laptop Cooling Pad with Two Configurable High Performance Fans - Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Low Quality Fans **Review Update**
Pros: Cooler Master contacted me in response to my review of their product on NewEgg. Both of my fans failed within the time frame of the warranty, but I failed to contact CM before the warranty had expired. Despite this, they still honored the warranty and replaced my broken fans absolutely free. In addition, the replacement fans were of a higher quality. They are heavier, contain metal wire frame guards instead of the metal mesh type that came with my cooling pad, and the wiring was shorter thus making it the perfect length when plugged into my USB port whereas before, there was too much length and the wires would bunch, kink, and overall a general nuisance.It's been two months and the fans are still working great. Thanks, Cooler Master!
Cons: I still don't like that the front edge of the cooling pad/stand can't rest flush on the surface the pad/stand is sitting on if you mount a fan on the extreme lower right corner which is where I need the fan to be in order to keep my GPU cool. Otherwise the laptop overheats and shuts down while gaming.
Other Thoughts: This review is an update to the previous review I gave of this product here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/SingleProductReview.aspx?ReviewID=4091251
Reviewed By:K,3/29/2015 11:21:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > Cooler Master > Cooler Master NotePal ErgoStand - Adjustable Laptop Cooling Stand with 140 mm Fan

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Lasted 1.5 Years
Pros: I do not play games but I do use my HP Pavillion laptop for hours and hours on end daily. I use it indoors on my lap on top of a blanket or pillow and outside on a table to stream movies. It worked well for what I needed it to do which was just to keep my laptop cool.
Cons: The USB cord it came with quickly became loose & eventually would not hold itself into the port at all. I do move it around quite a bit but that is how I use my computer. After almost 1.5 years of daily use, it simply gave out on me. I purchased it on sale for $40 at the time so I feel I got my money's worth. Had I paid the full price it is now, I would've been very disappointed b/c the limited warranty is only for 1 year.
Other Thoughts: I will be trying a different brand this time.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/29/2015 1:36:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > Cooler Master > Cooler Master NotePal X-Slim - Ultra Slim Laptop Cooling Pad with 160 mm Fan

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 cooler master pad
Pros: I don't hear the noise above my M15X fans so noise isn't a problem (especially with headphones ). I did notice my temps while running codAW drop from 70c to 55-60c just from the pad, not from my fan override for my laptop. Normal running temps with my 920x 17 quad processor is around 40c.. my nvidia 460m is around 35 now. Still new but cooling very well. Note .. laptop usually sits on a table for my purpose so doesn't really move.
Cons: none so far.. maybe a little small for anything bigger than a 15 especially if using a 9 cell lit/ion battery with riser.
Reviewed By:cyberbyte,3/29/2015 12:26:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > DEEPCOOL > DEEPCOOL N180 FS Laptop Cooling Pad 17" Metal Mesh Panel 180mm Fan

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: Keeps my laptop cool when running intense games such as Far Cry 4, and Shadow of Mordor
Cons: The pass-through cable keeps disconnecting any device that I plug into it.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/29/2015 4:51:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > DEEPCOOL > DEEPCOOL N180 FS Laptop Cooling Pad 17" Metal Mesh Panel 180mm Fan

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 5 Starts
Pros: Very Well Built..Good Air Flow...!!!
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,3/28/2015 10:33:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > Cooler Master > Cooler Master NotePal X-Slim - Ultra Slim Laptop Cooling Pad with 160 mm Fan

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid and Quiet
Pros: Good airflow.
Solid build.
Pretty quiet.
Nice cable management.
Cons: Not completely silent like my other cooler, but that one was flimsy with lower airflow.
- The sound is lower frequency, so not particularly annoying.
- I do think the level of noise depends on how much the surface the laptop and cooler are sitting on propagates vibration.
Overall, I think this is a better choice for me.
Reviewed By:Joe,3/26/2015 8:48:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > Cooler Master > CM Storm SF-17 - Gaming Laptop Cooling Stand with 180 mm Fan and 4 Ergonomic Height Settings

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 sweet
Pros: nice build quality. it does what is supposed to, helps keep my asus g75 cool and I get a few extra usb ports.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Jnoyola,3/24/2015 6:29:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > DEEPCOOL > DEEPCOOL WIND PAL MINI Laptop Cooling Pad 15.6" Slim Design 140mm Silent Fan Blue LED

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Disfunctional
Pros: The concept was good. There's certainly enough potential air flow in the mesh design.
Cons: The implementation was terrible.

1) The usb cord does not fit snuggly into any of the usb ports in my household snugly(I originally thought this might be the fault of my laptop, but tried it in my desktop, my wife's desktop, and my wife's laptop. This makes the fan unreliable and unstable, as any movement of the laptop leads to fiddling with the usb cord until it's sitting just right to get power properly. In a mobile platform like a laptop, you can see where this gets old fast.

2) The fan is too close to the exterior, and poorly set. Any slight tilt(which is easy to achieve with simple typing, because the bottom is round), causes an annoying crackling sound as the fan hits against the exterior mesh over and over.

3) The actual fan isn't that great at keeping the laptop cool. There is definitely a difference, but it is slight. I was expecting more performance from a large fan like this on my small laptop(a second gen alienware Mx11). You're better off not buying this because it was cheap(like I did) and getting something a little more expensive with fans that perform better.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

We sincerely apologize for the issue you are having with the unit. We strive to provide the most reliable and highest quality products to our customers. The product comes with a warranty and can be replaced or returned. Please allow our technicians address the problems and we will make sure the case is tacken care of. Please contact us directly via e-mail: support@deepcool.com for further assistance.

DEEPCOOL Customer Support

Reviewed By:N/A,3/23/2015 8:43:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > Cooler Master > Cooler Master NotePal X-Slim - Ultra Slim Laptop Cooling Pad with 160 mm Fan

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Surprisingly Nice
Pros: - The design allows proper cooling while on a lap (due to the centralized fan placement).

- Seems to have a solid construction

- Actually cools your lap (still deciding if freezing my nuts off is good or bad... but it is great for the computer)

- The mesh and overall design of the mat displays cooling considerations from many different angles (It can pull air from different areas, even if placed on a blanket, though it IS impeded from this situation).

- No distracting lights
Cons: - The placement of the fan and the placement of my vents do not line up (ASUS K55N laptop).

- No speed adjustment (High/Low would have been nice, or High and Ultra).

- I personally like some discreet distracting lighting, but for the price, I cannot complain.
Other Thoughts: It cools the temps down roughly 10 degrees Celsius... and for an investment of under $20, it is WELL worth the money. I do not use the laptop for much gaming (as I have a PC for that), but I have used this for a few to test the power and it significantly reduced temps playing games like World of Tanks.

My laptop is mainly for school though, so I simply wanted a device to cool my laptop while writing and researching for long periods of time. I typically utilize a beanbag type hard top tray, so this cooler made a big difference when the legs were extended. Overall, I think it is a great product... and I would recommend one to anyone looking to cool their laptop for low cost. It is very sturdy and the legs are surprisingly strong (with rubberized feet). My laptop does not slide or move around one bit.

And at the moment, I believe there is a $5 mail in rebate. So you cannot go wrong with this product.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/20/2015 4:34:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.