Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > Cooler Master > CM Storm SF-15 - Gaming Laptop Cooling Pad with 160 mm Fan and Retractable Feet

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Mixed feelings about it
Pros: Support for larger laptops
Extra USB Hub
High Air flow
Cons: Expensive
Noisy at medium/high speeds
Other Thoughts: I have the SF-19 which NewEgg directs me to put my review here and doesn't seem to have a page for anymore.

My biggest problem with the cooler I received is it seems resonate at medium and high speeds. When it does this is makes a lot of noise and vibrates quite a bit more than I'm comfortable with. I'm not sure if this is a problem with mine specifically or this is a common thing. I have it flat on my glass desk and it seems to be an internal problem. I'm going to at some point see if this is something user-serviceable but is a pain to move around because of the location and size of my it and my system. At lower speeds this isn't an issue.

It's one of the few options that fit my big Sager 19". Hopefully I can get this figured out.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/4/2015 2:48:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > Cooler Master > Cooler Master NotePal U2 PLUS - Laptop Cooling Pad with Two Configurable High Performance Fans - Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing product
Pros: Keeps my HP Pavilion g6 very cool (which had very bad overheating problems, to the point where the computer's fans were so loud it was disrupting class almost) Now it's nice and quiet and never overheats with this simple accessory.
Cons: Only con I see is the need to remove the fans every time you use it as a carrying case, or if you simply need to save space in your backpack, but if you use some type of marker to remember where exactly you had the fans (or just eventually memorize it) it's not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: If you are buying this buy the U2 NOT the U3 unless if you absolutely need air in 3 locations. The U2 has a 33% higher total CFM (31*2) vs the U3 (~15*3). So if you only have two vents on the bottom, or two large ones and various smaller ones, just stick with the U2, cheaper and works better.
Reviewed By:shoulinfunk,3/3/2015 9:11:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > Thermaltake > Thermaltake Notebook Cooler Massive 14

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect for my gear rack
Pros: Runs in a USB cable, dual fans, fairly quiet, multiple speeds, LED's can be turned off, more uses than an lap top cooler, low profile
Cons: Not 100% quiet, but that's okay
Other Thoughts: A friend and fellow Home Theater enthusiast recommended this product to me. I use it in my H.T. gear rack. I was using it on an Onkyo TX-NR807 AV receiver. This thing has a tendency to get pretty warm while in use, the "lap top" cooler just sits on top of the AVR and presto, the AVR now runs very cool. The AVR measures 17" wide X 18" deep and this "cooler" sits toward the rear of the unit, over the HDMI board perfectly, and, having dual fans, the area is covered very efficiently!

If you listen very closely, you can hear it, but if you don't know it's there, you'd never guess I have a dual fan cooler doing it's job.

I've since upgraded to an Integra 70.4, I don't know if it gets warm or not, the Massive 14 has been on top of the new AVR since I've installed it's been nice and cool since day ONE!

Highly recommended, I have external power amplifiers as well, currently using small AVR fans however, I plan to upgrade to another one of these bad boys! It is efficient, quiet and I like it!
Reviewed By:Cornbread,3/2/2015 8:34:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > Enermax > Enermax Notebook Cooling Pad CP004

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Quiet & Functional
Pros: * Very lightweight
* Really quiet. Can't even hear it over my laptop.
* Keeps said laptop nice and cool.
* Fits 15 inch laptops nicely.
* Constructed well for the awesome price.
Cons: * None at this time.
Reviewed By:Cotton Candy,2/26/2015 9:44:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > Cooler Master > Cooler Master NotePal X-Slim - Ultra Slim Laptop Cooling Pad with 160 mm Fan

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not silent enough
Pros: Cools well.
Cons: - Loud. Not intolerable but much more than the laptop's CPU fan.
- Measured noise using a phone app. Ambient noise goes from about 40 dB to 54 dB when cooler is on. Maybe this one has a defect. Will have to check the forums. But it is not silent. As it is it works best to run the fan for 5 minutes then turn it off for 5 minutes. (Unfortunately there seems to be no software to turn it off (Linux). See below.)
- Feels like it is cooling your legs much more than the laptop.
- Cannot access it with PWM in Linux. Cannot access the fan through software (Linux). Only way to turn it off seems to be by unplugging it.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/25/2015 6:21:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > Cooler Master > Cooler Master NotePal X-Slim - Ultra Slim Laptop Cooling Pad with 160 mm Fan

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Not loud and keeps laptop much cooler
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,2/24/2015 11:29:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > DEEPCOOL > DEEPCOOL N180 FS Laptop Cooling Pad 17" Metal Mesh Panel 180mm Fan

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Cool, very Kewl , Chilly
Pros: * great Price for a rebate credit card for $15
* feels solid and keep the y50 gaming laptop to 24c idle 49c max
* Shipped fast and free and well protected
* nice rubber feet to stop sliding around on slippery surface
* very quiet hard to tell if it is running or not
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Buy it !
Reviewed By:DigiNinja,2/24/2015 12:54:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > DEEPCOOL > DEEPCOOL Multi Core X8 Laptop Cooling Pad 17" Pure Aluminium Extrution Panel 4* 100mm Fans

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works pretty well
Pros: Light weight for having 4 fans

Nice build quality, even though very light does not feel cheap

Cools the laptop

Keeps my lap cooler

Quiet

Looks nice

USB powered HDD worked fine through coolers USB port (but is USB 2.0 speed)
Cons: No real cons, but several nit picks with it.
First is the plug for the usb is on the exact opposite side as my laptops, cooler is on lower left, laptop is on upper right. Since the bottom of this is completly flat and level, I just rotated it, so now both are at the upper right. If you were using this on a desk or table and were using the flip up legs, you could not do this, but you could probably run the USB cable under the cooler and it would reach.

I kind of wish I had better control of fans. I really need just 2 fans on, upper left for airflow to the CPU intake, and lower right blowing on the RAM and SSD which gets real hot (no idea on how hot, no temp sensor there). If it had a bush button for each fan it would be nicer, but not an egg off just for that.

It is also a bit thick, but being a active cooling unit, that is needed to fit the fans.
Other Thoughts: Testing this on my old Gateway laptop with a core 2 duo.
I actually use this laptop on my lap when sitting in my recliner all the time (typing this on it now).
Prior to using this, idle temps were around 50° C, normal use temps were high 50's into the low 60's, and would max out at 70°C when the built in thermal limit of the motherboard control would slow the processor to prevent overheating.
Using just the cooling pad with no fans on, idle temps were the same, load temps were about 1-2° cooler, max temp still 70°. I think the regular use temps were lower because the laptop fan had better airflow being off my lap. I do know my lap itself was cooler and more comfortable.
When I turn the fans on (either just 2 or all 4), idle temp drops to 44°C, a good 5°+ cooler, normal use temps also saw the same drop. Full load temps dropped 3° C, but my cpu was no longer being throttled, so a huge plus there.

I think this would be great for hot running laptops used as a desktop replacement. For use as an actual "laptop", it is a bit big, but still useable. Not really something to carry around in a laptop bag IMO.
I will use it especially in the summer, not sure how much I will use the actual fan part, but nice to have if needed.
Reviewed By:Blu,2/24/2015 9:49:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > Cooler Master > Cooler Master NotePal X-Slim - Ultra Slim Laptop Cooling Pad with 160 mm Fan

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great, but...
Pros: Great cooling pad, (for the first few months), thin, lightweight, pretty looking matte black, flexible on which side you can plug it in, overall fantastic, and was 5 stars in my opinion, until...
Cons: Last night, it has started to weaken, fan has significantly slowed down,does not work if I want to plug the fan on the left side of the laptop, as I believe part of the wiring has twisted or weakened from moving it from the wiring track to one or the other side. Was a shame, as I wanted to buy a few for my family.
Other Thoughts: Maybe this is a defect one, but I did hope that this cooling pad would have lasted more than a few month :(
Reviewed By:Sky,2/23/2015 12:02:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Cooling Pads > Cooler Master > Cooler Master NotePal U3 - Laptop Cooling Pad with Three Configurable 80 mm Fans - Silver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great cooling pad for the price i paid
Pros: 1. Moveable fan

2. Very quiet

3. good Price for the price i paid (i got 15 dollar Rebate promotion).

4. Great angle height and great heat ciculation.
Cons: 1. Need Stronger fan

2. Aluminum surface is slippery. if you don't have rubber feet on your laptop, good luck, i wont stay on the surface.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/21/2015 4:20:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.