Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti Unifi UAP-AC Dual Band Access Point a/b/g/n/ac 3x3 MIMO 2 Gigabit Port

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent AP
Pros: Great Management system
Range is decent
Interference mitigation on par with much higher priced equipment
Performance on par with higher priced equipment
Price for what you get is stellar
Cons: Development of the software for this is a continuing evolution.
Its not as mature as a cisco or ruckus product.
Other Thoughts: This is a great WIFi system for the money. If you throw in price to the mix this dominates pretty badly everything else.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/29/2014 12:33:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > 20 Pack Ubiquiti NanoStation M5 NSM5 5GHz 2x2 MIMO

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Ubiquiti Nanostation M5 Awesome for Price
Pros: Very easy to setup. If used as an AP to bridge, they work extremely well. I have used them up to half a mile (with clear line of sight) and have gotten consistent throughput of 280Mbps out of the advertised 300Mps. The GUI interface on the bridge side has an awesome live throughput live meter.
Cons: It is an N AP running at 5Ghz. In itself, this is not a con. However, it is if you want to use it as an AP to workstation. I have found that the Workstation N adapters will not always work. However, Ubiquiti carries other products that do a good job as an AP.
Other Thoughts: I'm very happy that Newegg recently started carrying Ubiquiti products. Previously, I had to purchase them from other sources. They are awesome. I have used several similar units from other vendors and Ubiquiti is by far the most reliable for the money. The throughput advertised is pretty much the throughput you get and very consistent.

Overall, very inexpensive. Ubiquiti got it right. I have installed 7 units in 3 bridges networks over that last few weeks. I am very happy. I will be purchasing more!!

Hope this helps.
Reviewed By:Greg K,8/29/2014 9:09:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > D-Link > D-Link AirePremier DAP-2310 High Power Wireless-N Gigabit PoE Access Point with AP Manager Controller

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good AP, You need to know two things
Pros: Good stable AP, management software helps out for some configuration items.
Cons: Many reviewers think that this will auto default when losing power. This access point has two step configuration saves. The first step is to apply all your changes on the various pages, the second step is to "save and apply" which will reboot the AP and write the changes to the flash. Some people don't read the manuals. The second thing you need to know is that the firmware deployment via the AP Array software will brick your AP consistently. Newegg will send replacements, but it is a real PAIN when you need to RMA 14 AP's. I am glad I attempted updates prior to configuring!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2014 1:48:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Netgear Inc. > Netgear WN2000RPT Universal WiFi Range Extender Extend wireless network coverage

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Range Extender
Pros: Easy setup
Works as advertised
Cons: Had to reset once
Other Thoughts: Normally I wouldn't buy something with the negative reviews that this had but for $11 I didn't figure I would be out much. I may be one of the lucky ones but this has almost doubled the signal strength in my daughter's rooms which are on the opposite side of the house, one floor up from the router.
Reviewed By:kmartin173,8/25/2014 2:54:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ENH200EXT High 500mW Power, Long Range Outdoor Wireless N Access Point

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Never Used
Pros: Package looks great! Clean design. Still in Original box from about 2 years ago and wanted to give it another shot.
Cons: Well kinda hard to explain as the two that I received never powered up. I tried and even hooked up the ground cable to the POE. When holding the reset button the little red light blinks very faint. I purchased these along time ago so I'm sure they cant be returned but they do look nice so they sit in the original box. lol
Other Thoughts: Had to switch to 3-com and the support there is never good so I switched to Unifi
Manufacturer Response:Hi Jason L.,


We appreciate your time in posting your comments and feedback. We are sorry to hear about your experience.


I understand that you have two ENH200EXT units that don’t power on. From the description that you gave it is likely because the EPE-24R PoE injectors that you have are not working properly. You are right in that your devices are already beyond the allotted warranty period but you can still purchase the proprietary EPE-24R PoE injectors directly from us. You may reach us through our number at 1-888-735-7888 (Monday –Friday, 8:00am – 4:00pm PDT).


Thank you for your patience and we apologize for the inconvenience.


Sincerely,

Mike
EnGenius Customer Support Team

Reviewed By:MichZone,8/24/2014 4:43:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA901ND Wireless N300 Access Point, 300Mbps, Multifunction, Multiple SSID

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 TL-WA901ND
Pros: 1 egg for ease of use

2 egg for wifi range

3 egg for cost vs effectiveness

4 egg it has lasted more than a year plus descent omnidirectional range - 25+ yards

Does not get fifth egg as it is missing the ability to use 802.3af POE
Cons: cannot handle more than 8 devices connected to it, it will drop all connectivity. Only has standard POE pass through (That means you cannot use any POE device, such as a cisco POE switch or something more common, you have to use the POE injector it comes with, it does not support 802.3af One more thing to plug in
Other Thoughts: Good for the price, it is cheap, will work with a few devices. relatively Easy setup
Reviewed By:virtual-liquid,8/24/2014 9:48:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > D-Link > D-Link DAP-2553 Wireless Access Point Selectable Dual Band AirPremier PoE IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n 2.4/5GHz up to 300Mbps/ Multiple SSID, 802.1Q VLAN

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Enterprise level...almost
Pros: Has a lot of features including vlans, scheduling, and ssh access. Bandwidth and latency are fairly good, though I never have hit the max of 300mbps.
Cons: Allows you to turn off wmm but still have wireless n enabled. Since wmm is part of the 802.11n standard, you end up with a non-functional WAP that looks like its working.
Also, I've found that ipv6 RAs don't make it through this device. My ancient wap54g, on the other hand, does this just fine. This I'm-a-layer-2-that-will-mess-with-your-layer-3 may cause me to shy away from DLink in the future.
Other Thoughts: Overkill for your average home user and some weird gotchas if you need an enterprise solution. Not really sure where this product fits into the landscape.
Reviewed By:Tim,8/21/2014 3:11:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti Networks UAP-3-US - UniFi Indoor 802.11n 300Mbps WiFi AP (3 pack)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Super easy
Pros: Super easy to setup and install. Had the whole system running in less that 1 hour. Used a virtual box installation of windows to run the Flash / Java based admin tool. Nice guest isolation, employee's can use their devices to access the internet but are isolated from the internal network.
Cons: Wish it used standard POE 48v, as we already have switches installed for our POE voip phones. Not a big deal, the 24v POE injectors are well built and can be installed just about anywhere between the network switch and the AP.
Other Thoughts: Has many features of other centrally managed WiFi for a fraction of the price.
Reviewed By:LawrenceofLA,8/20/2014 1:20:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius EAP300 Business Class Indoor High-power Long-range 800mW Wireless-N Access Point/WDS Bridge/WDS AP with Smoke Detector Housing & 802.3af PoE Support

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not the best, not the worst.
Pros: - Smoke detector-like style is definitely appropriate for a business setting.
- Impressive set of features, which is expected if this device is to be the wireless backbone of a populated network. WDS mode, client mode, AP mode.
- PoE compliant.
- Ethernet port is expected but beneficial if you wanted to link up a switch if need be or use the PoE.
- Can disable ALL LEDs. Otherwise this unit is a bright blue color. Disabling all the LEDs makes it so there are not lights at all.. you cannot even tell if the unit is on or not.
- Intuitive interface that is mostly simple to use with one exception mentioned in OTs.
- Unboxing the unit included the basic necessities including mounting screws to secure the two-piece bracket so you can easily remove and replace the device.
Cons: I would definitely expect there to be gigabit ethernet port (at least.) This isn’t really a con in smaller networks. But I imagine that these devices on larger networks, being N300 devices, could experience some overhead if there is a larger user base or heavy bandwidth consumption. A gigabit copper backbone would avoid saturation. A 300Mbps signal halved and slowed by numerous WDS hops (and signal noise in between, packet error correction, etc.) can drop from that theoretical top speed to 2 or 1Mbps easily.

Also it was a bit buggy with working together on my network. Everything connected well with wireless security disabled but for some reason it would not connect for WPA or WPA2.
Other Thoughts: Tip: If you’re one to skip reading the manual then you’ll probably want to know that you have to manually enter a static IP address when setting the device up. In fact, the pdf of the manual is included on a disk. You should probably at least skim the contents…because DHCP is disabled by default and you should know that no changes take effect when you click to submit them. You also have to click “Save/Reload:#” in the top left of the navigation pane. If you do not, then it will read like your changes saved but they will not apply.

Being assigned only one unit, it’s a bit tough to test this out in a practical scenario, but overall this about as well as expected. On the software side, any tech admin or competent techie can set up an efficient, controlled EAP/WDS wifi network. I did not test EAP on this device but I tested WDS and Repeater modes. I wasn’t actually able to get it to work with any encryption. It’s likely an error on my part somewhere, I’m sure.

There is a command Line interface but it is VERY limited. Logs show it running Busybox 1.19.4 but when you connect via Telnet it never gives you shell access. It’s not a pro to have a CLI if you can’t create and run custom scripts or actually do something you can’t easily do on the web interface..

Over all this seems like a decent solution for a smaller network. It seems a little buggy in my testing but I also am using equipment different than Engenius’ brand (DD-WRT devices.) I'm not sure that I would value these at the current $100 price tag, however. I would recommend someone to explore other options in this range..
Reviewed By:Theo,8/17/2014 10:28:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO AirStation Pro 802.11n Plenum-Rated Gigabit Concurrent Dual Band PoE Wireless Access Point - WAPS-APG600H

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: * Concurrent Dual Band
* Multiple SSIDs
* VLANs
Cons: * Weak signal (weaker than the Linksys it was replacing)
* No RADIUS auth
* Clunky UI
Reviewed By:N/A,8/17/2014 7:41:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau