Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius EAP350 N300 High-Power Wireless Gigabit Indoor Access Point/WDS/Repeater

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great !!
Pros: Strong signal strength. Smoke detector style All my devices connect to it apple, android, windows, and smart tv.
You are able to turn off leds and adjust power out at web interface.
Cons: Initial set up a little tricky. The default IP address is the same as my router.
Other Thoughts: Affordable Access Point. I was able to eliminate all of my other wireless points, (dlink repeater and wireless on my router) and use this only for all my wireless devices. Much easier than having the devices switch points from one side of my house to the other. I ran a cat 5e cable to the center of my house and installed the ap using a poe injector, the hardware was simple to put up. The software was a bit tricky at 1st but after a few attempts it was good. 1 month up time and great signal!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2015 8:39:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Cisco Systems, Inc. > CISCO Aironet 1140 AIR-LAP1142N-A-K9 Wireless Access Point

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Works very well for what I'm doing.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: These can be configured to run in a "standalone" mode (aka autonomous mode, as the review before mine mentions), they're really meant to be used with a Cisco Wireless LAN controller.

A lot of the bad reviews I've read (here and on other sites) are because people bought these and didn't know what they were buying. If you're just looking for one access point to cover a room (and want something simple to set up), this is probably not what you want. Without at least some basic networking knowledge/experience, you're going to have a bad time.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/27/2015 9:53:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > ZyXEL > ZyXEL NWA1123-NI Dual-Radio Ceiling Mount N600 Gigabit PoE Access Point (AP)/Repeater

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Misleading
Pros: Small AP that draws very little power. Some nice features for a low price.
Cons: I bought a couple of these units because of the guest access. All documentation and other users said it isolates guest users from the local network. After setting it up, I performed test after test and everytime I was able to reach the local secured LAN from the guest network. I opened a support ticket with ZyXEL. We went back and forth for 2 weeks on different suggestions, resetting to factory default, etc. Finally I was told "Intra-BSS traffic blocking only allows you to block a wireless device to reach other wireless devices connecting to the AP. It will not allow you to block it from reaching the rest of the network." So this AP became very useless.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/24/2015 4:11:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco Aironet 1142N Lightweight Access Point - IEEE 802.11n (Draft), IEEE 802.11a/b/g 300Mbps - 1 x 10/100/1000Base-T

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Knows the product
went the extra mile to help the customer
very fast shipping for reasonable cost
Cons: no cons
Other Thoughts: Will order all my wireless equipment from this company
Reviewed By:N/A,8/24/2015 12:52:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius N-EAP600 Kit N600 Extra Long-Range Dual-Band Gigabit Wireless Access Point with Gigabit PoE Injector

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I love Engenius!
Pros: Easy to set up. Great for making bridges, extending networks, simple WAPs, secured WLANs.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I wish the interface was a bit more intuitive, but it still works great!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/24/2015 1:34:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Wasp > Ubiquiti UniFi PRO - wireless access point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great AP
Pros: Have installed several at multiple sites. They just work 24/7. No issues at all.
Cons: Software must be used to configure and must be on only 1 PC. Not ideal.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/21/2015 1:56:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > STARTECH > StarTech Outdoor 150 Mbps 1T1R Wireless-N Access Point - 2.4GHz 802.11b/g/n PoE-Powered WiFi AP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect Hardware!
Pros: Easy to Install! Great instructions! This device worked right out of the box. I had no problems in mounting or installing this device.

I would have preferred a mounting template, but did well with sharpies for the screw holes.
Cons: None foreseeable.
Other Thoughts: This device was easy to set up, right out of the box. The instructions were simple, the setup was easy, and the device has it's charm.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/20/2015 9:50:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TRENDnet > TRENDnet Wireless AC Easy-Upgrader TEW-820AP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Installation:
I wish every piece of electronics was this easy to install. Literally plug and play. Plug power adapter into wall and included ethernet cable into router. Instant 802.11ac.

Software:
The software allows this device to function as both an access point and a repeater.


Speed:

Time to copy a 100MB file across network to a computer in another room:

*Motorola NVG589 802.11N Router: 1 min and 8 seconds (12Mbps)

*TRENDnet TEW-820AP 802.11AC Easy-Upgrader: 19 seconds! (42Mbps)

My ping also decreased from 31ms to 22ms.

Pretty impressive!

Range:
Range is decent for a device without an antenna. I was able to surf the net from about 35 feet through a few walls.


Warranty:
3 year warranty for a device of this type is impressive. Wireless technology changes so quickly, it is nice to see vendors stand behind their products.


Physical:
This thing could not be any smaller! If size is an issue, this will not be a concern.
Cons: Software:
It takes 30-60 seconds to save any software changes, including simple changes such as adjusting the administrator password. It then requires you to login again using the password you just changed it to.

Wireless configuration settings are minimal. While they are probably fine for the majority of users, access point mode settings are limited to the basics: 802.11 mode, channel, channel width, security modes and MAC filtering. If you want to do things like packet filtering or port forwarding it looks like these would have to be done on your main router.
Other Thoughts: Excellent product for the price, with only a few minor complaints. Although the 5GHz band is already starting to get crowded, this is an affordable upgrade for condo/apartment dwellers that are looking to boost their wireless speeds. Although I did not test the repeater function, it's utility as a cheap access point alone makes it worth the price. The repeater option also future proofs it by allowing you to use it to improve your house's coverage when it outlives it's main role as an access point.

It would be nice if it increased the channel bonding to allow greater than 433Mbps, but for the price, it's tough to beat.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/20/2015 12:51:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UniFi AP-LR, UAP-LR, UniFi AP-Long Range 11b/g/n 300Mbps MIMO 600ft PoE

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very Unhappy
Pros: Looks nice, worked for a while.
Cons: Can only be administered through proprietary software from a single PC. If that PC is lost, you need to reset the unit to get back in to administer. After that it stopped working.
1) custom software sucks
2) access from only 1 pc sucks
3) pOe is a pain
4) buggy, difficult to reset, difficult to unplug once it's mounted
Other Thoughts: we switched back to our older cisco linksys wireless and it's much easier to configure. only need a web browser!!!!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/19/2015 4:46:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TRENDnet > TRENDnet Wireless AC Easy-Upgrader TEW-820AP

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not bad, but cost is an issue
Pros: Very easy setup, with easy to follow instructions.

Size - Man, when they say “compact housing”, they really mean compact housing. This device is only about 2” x 2” x ⅝”. The black chassis is also aesthetically pleasing enough where it doesn’t look out of place just being on top of your existing router.

Range - this device was able to broadcast similar signal strengths as the router I have, giving decently strong/stable signals up to about 30’ away from the router.

Extenders - this played nicely with wireless range extenders, easily extending the ac 5ghz band even further.
Cons: General use - This is the first time I’ve looked at a “wireless upgrade” device, but it shares an annoying con with them; when the router goes through a power cycle, even when rebooting it through the web interface and not just a power outage, you need to set this up again. It also requires a hardline connection, using up an RJ-45 port on your router.

Cost - it’s close enough to the price points of new routers that broadcast both 2.4ghz and 5ghz bands that it’s difficult to justify buying this instead of a new router. And that’s taking into account the 15% discount, bringing the price down to $35. If that goes away and they’re asking for $50 for this, don’t even bother.
Other Thoughts: The ability to add 5ghz wireless signal to legacy routers is a really nice idea, especially if your ISP requires you to use a router which doesn’t have 5ghz and wants you to cough up more money for one which does. If getting a different router isn’t an option, then I think this is a good purchase. But honestly, I’d recommend budgeting the additional $10-$15 extra and upgrading your router, instead.
Manufacturer Response:Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. When used as an access point it does require an active Ethernet connection to your network. The TEW-820AP can also be used as a client to turn a hard wired network appliance or device into a wireless capable client. When your router loses power it shouldn’t affect the TEW-820AP in any significant way. It is creating and maintaining its own wireless network parameters and is not dependent on your existing network for wireless settings. It will pull a DHCP address from your network though. Try setting the TEW-820AP up with a static IP address to see if that resolves the issue you are experiencing. If you require assistance please email adrian@trendnet.com and we’ll have a support representative contact you. Please include a link to this review.

Regards,

Adrian
TRENDnet Support
http://www.trendnet.com/support

Reviewed By:N/A,8/18/2015 3:12:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.