Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UAP-Pro, Indoor Dual Band Wireless N750 Access Point/Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The Best AP's Ever!!
Pros: These have to be the best AP's hands down! I ordered them yesterday and I actually got them today with 2 day shipping... Thanks NewEgg, you never let me down!! It took a while to get the Controller Software up and running but once I did I started laughing about how easy it was to set up group AP's. All you do is setup the WIFI settings in the controller and basically plug them in and click one button.... Really!!! These are Enterprise grade Access Points also! You really don't need an IT degree to figure these out. I can even upgrade all the firmware from one place (they have a cool rolling upgrade so you don't lose connectivity at once).

We have multiple subnets, so I have 3 Controllers for each site; however, they have a service for $15 a month for Cloud Controlling, I think I'm going to do that, so I don't have to go running around to all the buildings.

I just hope someday they make routers and Switches for Enterprise setups so I can get rid of all my Cisco stuff!
Cons: It took a while to figure out how to install the Controller software. It has a problem with Java and if it's not the right version it won't even run. If the computer is 64 bit, you need to install the 32 and 64 bit versions in order for the Controller to start. This isn't a big deal, just got me nervous when I was first trying to install the AP's. Everything is good now. Maybe they will fix the installer in a future update.
Other Thoughts: These are by far the best Access Point's I have ever purchased. We have 5 buildings and roughly 160 employees so I picked up 14 of these. I was at first looking at Cisco... but I was so frustrated with the horrid setup routine for the Cisco's. I was looking around and came across these (I must admit that I never heard of them before!!). I am so glad I read the reviews and asked a couple questions.

All 5 building's are setup for one Employee WIFI Group, so people don't have to worry about changing AP's all the time. They all work as one without any crazy configuring. I honestly kept looking to see if I was messing it up because I thought "it can't be this easy". I had 14 of them setup in about an hour, it took longer going to each location than setting them up.
Reviewed By:JASON H.,1/30/2015 12:08:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > D-Link > D-Link DAP-2553 Wireless Access Point Selectable Dual Band AirPremier PoE IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n 2.4/5GHz up to 300Mbps/ Multiple SSID, 802.1Q VLAN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 D-Link never disappoints
Pros: Incredibly feature-rich, detailed options, flexible yet simple web user interface. Worked great w/ PoE out-of-the-box for me. Nice warnings about it being insecure, until secured. Makes it easier to set-up, and warns novices to go read-the-fine-manual, or let a pro. take care of setup. Reasonable quality for the price, but the extensive options / configuration are a huge value-add.
Cons: Not for novices! On-line documentation is incomplete / terse. Let a pro set it up for you, then don't touch the settings!
Other Thoughts: Cooperates well with other D-Link networking gear, however some features may be limited when interfacing off-brand. However, with a proper-size / weight hammer, any non-d-link gear can be forced to interoperate :D Seriously though, it's not that big of a deal-breaker, just very minor annoyance (and not d-link's fault).
Reviewed By:r4z0r7o3,1/29/2015 6:04:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ECB600 N600 High-Power 29dBm Concurrent Dual Band (300+300Mbps) Gigabit Band Steering MIMO Wireless-N Access Point/Client Bridge/WDS AP/Repeater

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very strong signal strength
Pros: Very strong signal strength. In an apartment complex wrapping around a courtyard, I was able to get full signal 4 stories and through many walls with the device in my apartment and me sitting in the courtyard outside. Even with a whole building full of interference from other wireless routers, my home network was picked up as one of the strongest networks. Not bad performance on 2.4 GHz bands, though the interference meant that the performance was still not as good as it could been. Performance was much better on the 5 GHz band- since 5 GHz networks are still relatively rare, there is less pollution in the frequency range and you can achieve a higher throughput- very useful in dense urban areas like the one I live in. Oodles of configurability- this is very much a small office/professional AP and you get tons of options that you would not normally get in many routers.
Cons: Biggest con I think is the price. Don’t get me wrong- this really is a good device. However, there are a couple of reasons I don’t think I would buy one- for one, most routers you can buy nowadays you can turn into a repeater or access point. In some cases you can buy cheaper or more full featured devices for the same price or cheaper to accomplish the same goal. Yes, you do get more options but there’s always the DD-WRT option. Furthermore, don’t forget that you won’t be able to fully utilize the speeds and benefits of 5 GHz without a wireless AC adapter so that’ll probably cost even more. Of course, if price is no consideration, this is still a great unit.
Other Thoughts: For those of you who complain about no DHCP- what??? The definition of an access point is that it does not assign IPs and leaves that to the main router, thus allowing all the devices to reside on a single subnet, making networking much simpler. Essentially, instead of having to daisy-chain routers with different subnet IPs, you can combine them all into one. Yes, you can do this with a wireless bridge also but keep in mind bridges essentially halve the wireless transmit rate as half the bandwidth is used for repeating signals to the other router. Use the right tool- there is a difference between APs and routers. Each has its place and there’s a reason both are made.
Reviewed By:1sclip,1/28/2015 7:35:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius EAP600 N600 High-Power Dual-Band Gigabit Indoor Wireless Access Point

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Interesting setup, good performance
Pros: -Good range, covers the 2,200 sq ft of the house with no issues, makes it outside into the yard too.
-Performance as far as speed is what I would expect. I can get about 80mbps when sitting 20 feet away, the AP is on the other side of a wall.
-Web interface is easy to use (see cons though)
-Looks slick, blends in great on ceilings
-Concurrent dual band with band steering works seemingly well so far.
Cons: -Web interface is slow compared to other similar products I've used
-Setup process. I could not get VLAN tagging to work properly the first go around, more on this later.
Other Thoughts: Overall I like this AP, well I like it now that its working and has been working for about a day. Initial setup was not an issue, the issue was when I tried to configure VLAN tagging for multiple SSIDs on here. Let me clarify that the switches and everything else were already preconfigured, I was using a Dlink DAP2553 with VLAN tagging before on the same port.

After setting everything up VLAN tagging would not work properly, it would tag one SSID properly, but not the second SSID even though both were setup for isolation and with a VLAN ID. I confirmed this with a wireshark capture + SPAN, sure enough there were no 802.1Q tags on the one SSID. I tried rebooting the AP, thinking it was just being finicky, didn't help. I triple checked the configuration, nothing worked. I decided to factory reset the AP, then I went and did the exact same configuration again, and it worked. I have no idea why, but SPAN + wireshark confirm proper tagging on all SSIDs now.

This is somewhat concerning, I'm worried if I make a change in the future that tagging will stop working, but for now all seems good...
Reviewed By:N/A,1/28/2015 12:40:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UAP-LR – Indoor Wireless N300 Long Range Access Point/Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best access point EVER
Pros: No dropouts
Extremely long range
Looks super cool
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I have lived in my current house for about 13 years now. I have always struggled with an access point that will not require frequent resets and that would cover my house 100%. This thing does the job perfectly. I used to have 40% on Ipad and <20 from my phone in master bathroom. My son struggled with reception upstairs (directly above old access point). ZERO problems with this Ubiquiti one. It is such a solid product that I now run my PS3 wireless instead of over ethernet. I could not be more pleased with this product and can NOT recommend it enough. The UniFi software that is used works on Win7 perfectly and was actually the easiest access point config ever. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
Reviewed By:JimL,1/27/2015 12:14:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Netgear Inc. > Netgear Broadband ADSL2+ Modem

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 NetGear DM111P
Pros: - price is good
- ADSL+2
-setup et manage with web interface
Cons: - Easy setup installation does not work for me but I easyly install it with manual setup
- Does not install easily with D-Link Dir-615
Reviewed By:Claude Charest,1/25/2015 9:18:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UAP-LR – Indoor Wireless N300 Long Range Access Point/Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for roaming between access points
Pros: I used these access points in large houses (4000 sq. ft. and above) where a single router or access point can't reach the whole house. Even better is that these control clients roaming between them. No longer is it up to the client when it wants to switch from on access point to another. With the Zero Handoff feature enabled, the access point forces the client to move to the higher strength access point. Macs are especially stubborn about switching and this fixes their "stickiness". If you buy these, you would DISABLE the wi-fi on your router an d only use these - as many as you need to cover your property.
Cons: Best if you have someone to do the wiring/mounting for you if you're not handy to get a professional cable run and mounting.
Other Thoughts: Just beware of these items. They are power over ethernet. You have to have a power outlet near the access point or run a cable from the POE injector brick to the access point. There is no web interface like with most routers via an ip address. You have to install/run their controller software from a computer and you must have java installed. Again, not a big deal - just different.
Reviewed By:Goombaneetra Jones,1/22/2015 7:44:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Linksys > Linksys LAPAC1750 IEEE 802.11ac 1.71 Gbps Wireless Access Point - ISM Band - UNII Band - 1 x Network (RJ-45)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not quite ready for primetime
Pros: These access points are probably the least expensive 3x3 MIMO 802.11ac dual band access points out there that support PoE. We got 3 to replace some old 2.4GHz 802.11N 150MB/s ones that we have installed in our large 3200 sq foot home. The setup of each was easy once installed. The hexagonal form factor with one system LED looks sleek and modern and blends into our decor very well.
Cons: The ceiling mounting instructions could have been better...only had instructions for mounting on office ceiling tile and not ceiling drywall. The specs for PoE power draw of each unit was not published on the website or part of the documentation. Kind of a big deal if you need to make sure your PoE injectors/switch have enough juice to power them. Had to contact support to find this out (27W PoE draw each) which prompted me to need to buy a new 90W PoE gigabit switch to power the three that we have. Finally (and this will be a dealbreaker for some) the current published 1.0.05.00 firmware does not allow ANY modern Android device (i.e. 4.4.4 KitKat) to connect to the access point. FYI, some devices that are Android based (i.e. Kindle Fire tablets and Fire TV) seem to connect fine. I am currently beta testing the 1.0.07.00 firmware which fixes the Android issue but that is not in full release yet...seriously though, who doesn't test the most common smartphone OS on a device like this?? Fail, especially for a business class device of this cost.
Reviewed By:lantirn_light,1/21/2015 10:48:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UAP-AC UniFi Indoor Dual Band Wireless AC1750 3x3 MIMO Access Point/Bridge 2x Gigabit Port

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Hope you don't need their customer service
Pros: Compact shape
Cons: Broke in six weeks. Slow, deliberately unresponsive customer service. Requires Java 7
Other Thoughts: Bought this as a companion to UAP Pro to cover half of the office and to give users with new phones somewhat better wifi throughput.
Device stopped working in about six weeks - beginning of December. Checked to see if it can be restarted, software promptly crashed - turns out Java was updated to version 8, while Ubiquiti will not work beyond version 7.
Newegg will not help beyond 30 days (it was about 45 days from date of purchase) so no replacement.
Ubiquiti requires email contact which is sheer madness - describe all that you did to verify that device is broken, etc, etc. Check the cables, check the PoE injector, send all numbers from the back of unit. Seven emails later - ok, get an RMA. By then it's January 5.
Forward in time, it's January 19 as I am leaving this review and replacement unit did not arrive. I am getting different product from another brand.
None of those guys for a moment thinks: "We've sold $300 worth of junk, let's help him.". Mind you, I have eight other people relying on my decision to deploy this device.
In conclusion, if you buy Ubiquiti, you better hope it works, because if it breaks it's as good as burning money.
Reviewed By:Kris P.,1/18/2015 3:33:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti NanoStation LocoM2 , N150 2.4 GHz 2x2 MIMO Nano Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy installation, LONG range!
Pros: Super long range: I tested a pair of these boxes at 1000 ft (line of site through two rows of trees) and they worked great. They also worked from inside two buildings at 500 ft.

The bar graph LEDs are a plus since they indicate a connected bridge. They are weatherproof and easy to mount. They are cheap and the setup page is easy to navigate.
Cons: They should come with an adjustable wall mounting bracket since few people will actually mount them to a pole. I had to use a flagpole holder and a short piece of 1" PVC pipe.
Other Thoughts: I have a small IT business and these units fill a niche that I have been trying to fill for a few years.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/15/2015 1:28:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.