Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UAP-AC-3 (3 Pack) UniFi Indoor Dual Band Wireless AC1750 3x3 MIMO Access Point/Bridge 2x Gigabit Port

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A+ product!
Pros: Amazing product. I'm a network consultant so I have worked with many different brands of WAPs. We needed an enterprise class wireless network but in looking at a cost of around $1600 per Cisco Aironet I was not sure that client could afford the number of WAPs it would take to properly cover their office space. Another tech suggested Ubiquiti. I spoke to other techs who have used them and most believe this is the best kept secret in wireless technology. Add me to their ranks! A+ product!
Cons: Might put the Cisco Aironet out of business.
Reviewed By:buschman,3/3/2015 10:55:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UAP-Pro, Indoor Dual Band Wireless N750 Access Point/Bridge

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great AP. But controller had/has issues.
Pros: Great coverage. Great speed. Expand-ability. Guest AP isolation. Secure. Set it up and forget about it! PoE! Gigabit ports!
Cons: UniFi controller compatibility issues with Windows Server 2012 R2 (maybe? or a misconfiguration of the AP on Ubiquiti's part) Basically, after hours of forum-hunting we found a discrete command that we had to issue to the device through SSH over PuTTY that allowed us to configure the device from the web config. A 10 minute setup turned into 45 minutes longer than it should have, and that is money I wish I didn't have to charge my clients for. It's not fair to them, especially when I promoted Ubiquiti.
Other Thoughts: Usable on Win2012R2, but, be prepared for speed bumps. As soon as I the AP was manually reconfigured over SSH and was forcefully adopted into the UniFi Controller, the AP worked (we initially thought it was DOA). Since then has been very good. But this was an extremely limiting hurdle that should have NEVER been experienced.

Nevertheless, I will continue to stand by Ubiquiti and use their products with my clients. They are game changers providing top-of-the-line enterprise hardware at a FRACTION of the cost.
Reviewed By:skagentech,3/2/2015 1:54:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UAP-LR-3 Enterprise WiFi System UniFi AP Long Range 3 Pack (POE)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Highly Recommended
Pros: Easy to set up, easy to extend with additional APs. Good range and speed. Updating firmware on all units is easy through the web interface on the computer running the management software, and it was very easy to get a snapshot of total clients, traffic, etc. at a glance.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Alex,3/1/2015 10:03:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius EAP600 N600 High-Power Dual-Band Gigabit Indoor Wireless Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic AP
Pros: - Great coverage, even in a large house over multiple floors.
- Supports PoE+ for full gigabit speed and power over a single ethernet cable.
- Supports multiple SSIDs and Vlans.
- SSID to Vlan mapping, so I can keep my guest wifi traffic isolated.
- Fast, comprehensive GUI. All the settings and information is easily accessible. There's also a CLI.
- Ceiling mountable. Mounting bracket is also compatible with their newer EAP1750h model when I eventually upgrade.
- They offer free software that can manage multiple access points simultaneously. (I have not tested this)
Cons: - CLI is telnet, not SSH.
Other Thoughts: This is a great solution for anyone who wants a ceiling mounted access point with support for PoE+, multiple SSIDs, Vlan mappings, and other features usually only found in more expensive business-oriented products.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/25/2015 3:30:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-638APB N300 Wireless Access Point

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Caused serious headaches
Pros: When it worked, it was great...
Cons: Set-up as a regular AP required almost daily resets. On top of that it would regularly go into "fritz mode" and so overload the switch it was attached to, that it would practically take down the entire network. I have all the latest firmware and still the problem persists. This product is absolutely unusable.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Chris,

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing an issue with the TEW-638APB. Having to reset it daily is not normal operation. Please email adrian@trendnet.com and we will have someone assist you as soon as soon as possible. Please include a link to this review.


Regards,

Adrian
TRENDnet Support
http://www.trendnet.com/support

Reviewed By:Chris,2/25/2015 9:30:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius EnStation5 N300 Long-Range Wireless 5GHz Outdoor Access Point/Bridge

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 EXCELENT PRODUCT. My client is very happy!
Pros: Is very small and super reliable and pretty easy to install and for my client: "it look pretty cool". Excelent and patient tech support. I've installed a bridge, the remote location is at 250ft, but acording to the manual you can connect this up to 5 miles! My client has the same conexion speed than in the main building. We just make sure don't have anything (buildings, trees, etc) blocking the signal between the Access Point and the bridge client.
Cons: You have to read the manual. I didn't and that's why I called the tech support twice!
Other Thoughts: If you plan to connect two locations (or give internet to another location/buillding) you will do a bridge and you have to buy two of these.
Reviewed By:Juan,2/24/2015 9:56:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Netgear Inc. > ProSAFE Wall Mount Wireless N AP

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I didn't read the fine print
Pros: It looks nice and has expansion ports.
Cons: Though it is not obvious in the description, it only can be fully configured by the pricey C7600 wireless controller. The web UI is useless for configuration because the C7600 manages it. Without the C7600, this AP is a nice bookend.
Other Thoughts: The specifications for this model must make clear that this is device does not work with any router or device other than the C7600. It's current description hides this detail.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/24/2015 6:55:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ECB600 N600 High-Power 29dBm Concurrent Dual Band (300+300Mbps) Gigabit Band Steering MIMO Wireless-N Access Point/Client Bridge/WDS AP/Repeater

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Fails after 48hrs
Pros: Looks very professional. For about 48hrs it has excellent range and wonderful throughput.
Cons: After being powered through the DC Jack for more than 48 Hours the devices begins to fail on both 2.4GHz and 5 GHz bands. The failure represents itself as multiple dropped packets (24%), devices not able to connect, extreme transmission power level fluctuations, and overall poor performance. The ONLY way to get the device running correctly is to completely remove the power source for 30+ seconds and plug it back in.

Steps we have tried to remedy the issues:

Firmware upgrade
Changing security settings (WEP, WPA, TKIP, AES, all the classics)
Factory reset
Different power adapter (we have identical models)
Different network cables
Completely different locations
“Stay Alive” reboot feature.
Other Thoughts: We have these deployed in multiple locations. They all seem to have "some" issues one way or another.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/23/2015 11:44:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business WAP321-A-K9 Wireless-N Selectable-Band Access Point w/ PoE and Gigabit Ethernet

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Decent, once you get it set up
Pros: This little AP has some pretty decent transfer speeds.

Right now, I'm sitting one floor up from the AP in an older house, without even great signal strength, and I've tapped out my FiOS connection at 25Mb/s. With my previous 54G and N APs running over 2.4GHz, this probably wouldn't be happening. I'm sure running it at 5Ghz is helping immensely, but I'm still impressed.

The GUI is pretty intuitive and it's a pretty feature-rich AP for a decent price. I'm actually thinking about selling this AP and upgrading to two WAP371's though for the 802.11ac capability and dual-radio ability.
Cons: It only does 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz; not both. Meh, oh well.

During setup, I have it trunked to my switch to pass multiple VLANs for my guest SSID and home SSID. There's a nasty little bug concerning syslogging and the native VLAN that will cause the AP to lock up frequently, but once you get around that, the AP is rock stable. You can search Cisco's support forums for the fix, I believe.

These little "gotchas" are the reason for 4, not 5 eggers. They're minor annoyances, really. Hopefully Cisco has worked these out in the later models, though. If not, meh.
Other Thoughts: This is a PoE AP for business. The people shocked it doesn't come with a power cord; if you work with enterprise wireless, you'll know that those Cisco APs don't come with a power cord either because they're PoE. Cisco assumes you're getting PoE because you don't want a wall wart.
Reviewed By:TheRooster,2/21/2015 12:07:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius N-EAP350 KIT N300 Indoor Wireless-N Gigabit Access Point with Gigabit PoE Injector

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad to worse.
Pros: It says its really powerful, but really not.
The POE part is convenient.
Cons: Slow performance - even 30 feet away, it won't do 26Meg. The documentation is completely useless. A doc that just tells you what the prompt says isn't documentation. Support is dreadful. Constantly dropping connections, and rebooting, but the log only keeps the first day, and the current day. Support tells me to turn the power DOWN. This is the only network in the building so no interference. Firmware upgrades made it worse. Now support is non-responsive as I've emailed them five times with issues.
Other Thoughts: We purchased this for the office figuring it was time to step up to a real business class (small business class) device as opposed to something a third the price. It isn't any better - worse as you can't get support like from DLink or Netgear. If you are looking for a SMB device look to a Cisco or something. Anyone but these guys.
Manufacturer Response:Hi Brent H.,


We thank you for your time in posting your comments and feedback.

You can set the transmit power setting to any of the available power settings if it is the only 2.4GHz signal in the area. Slow speed may be caused by wireless interference. Try setting the Channel HT mode to 20MHz and try different channels. Please make sure that WPA2-PSK(AES only) since WEP and TKIP will not allow devices to connect at 802.11n rates. Please check that all wireless clients have 802.11n wireless adapters and that none are using legacy 802.11b or 802.11g wireless adapters.

You may reach us through our number at 1-888-735-7888 or e-mail us at support@engeniustech.com. Our support team would be glad to be of service to you.

Thank you for your patience and we look forward to hearing from you.


Sincerely,

Mike
EnGenius Customer Support Team

Reviewed By:N/A,2/20/2015 12:21:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.