Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ENS202 Long-Range 2.4GHz Outdoor Wireless N300 Bridge/AP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ENS202
Pros: Great Product. Works solid in Outdoor use. No drop outs or other issues at all.
Cons: POE Injector died at 8 months. POE Injector warranty is NOT 1 YEAR as stated for the unit..its 90 days as its an "accessory". Now to give EnGenius credit, I told them I was not happy with the warranty being different and they are sending me a a new one free of charge.

..BEWARE...the POE Injector is PROPRIETARY and not available in normal stores. Given this, I would hesitate using this in any mission critical links like I have done
Reviewed By:Chris,4/16/2014 2:47:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ENS202EXT High-powered/Long-range Wireless N300 Outdoor AP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It's a beast
Pros: Grabbed this with some skepticism but am very pleasantly surprised. I needed something better to cut through a lot of 'dead' areas and interference. The long range isn't a joke either; keeping line-of-site with the house outside, I can get about 2000ft with decent signal. Inside the house the signal is clear and strong every spot I've checked so far. The POE capability is very handy and makes installation much less obtrusive to the home environment.
Cons: Wish it had a true 10/100/1000 uplink for the price; my network can easily fill the 10/100. More experienced users won't have any trouble, but some people will be annoyed by the lack of a manual of any kind in the box. Note it can be downloaded online easily just by web search.
Other Thoughts: GUI is actually good, and the CLI is very easy to get around for those who actively manage their network.

The ability to commit, review, and then save changes is useful, and the fact that you can scale multiple WAPs quickly and integrate them into a managed network is a real boon.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/15/2014 10:14:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ENH202 Wireless Outdoor 800mW Long-range Multiple Client bridge/AP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love it
Pros: Turn it on and forget it! Runs forever and you don't have to worry about it.
High-power, has been running our outdoor wifi securiy cameras for a very long time with no issues.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Wish they made a version that would run off a 12V POE, then I would use one in my RV also!
Reviewed By:JustLisa,4/11/2014 2:37:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > D-Link > D-Link DAP-2553 Wireless Access Point Selectable Dual Band AirPremier PoE IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n 2.4/5GHz up to 300Mbps/ Multiple SSID, 802.1Q VLAN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Fine w/ 4 VLANs/SSIDs
Pros: I purchased this as part of an effort to compartmentalize my home network. I created VLANs/SSIDs for guests, trusted wireless, appliances, and video. Works great with dot1Q VLANs and interoperates with a Cisco SG-300 multilayer switch. Very reliable. At full output I could walk a couple blocks away from my home and still get a strong signal. I run it at 12.5% or 25% power output for home use. Runs 24/7 to support IP Cameras. Have not had a single crash or failure. Good diagnostics and ability to view connected devices.
Cons: The only issue is that configuring the device for dot1Q operation is a bit tricky in order to retain management from one of the VLANs. A how-to guide for dot1Q/VLAN/Management would really be nice to make this more approachable for non-network types.
Reviewed By:Greyfang,4/11/2014 9:18:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA801ND Wireless N300 Access Point, 300Mbps, Multifunction, Multiple SSID

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great for Light Use
Pros: * Cheep
* VLANs
* PoE
* Multi SSID
Cons: * Passive PoE
* Crashes after about 15 clients
* 100mbps LAN
Other Thoughts: Passive PoE works, it's not the best but at lest it allows deployment where there is no power. I haven't had issues with the default configuration besides dropping at 15 users.

I have about 15 of these deployed and they all crash at or around the 15 client mark. They still broadcast SSID but will boot everyone off and not allow new people to connect without a restart of the wireless chip. This is easiest done but changing the channel width. I leave the width at 20MHz and it appears to work a little better. 90% of the users are just cell phones that are asleep.

Luckily these are cheep enough compared to the competition that is possible to just flood the space with APs.
Reviewed By:Scott P.,4/11/2014 7:16:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business WAP121-A-K9-NA Wireless-N Access Point w/ PoE

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Still not Working
Pros: NA
Cons: I reviewed this 1.5 years ago - this is an update

Update April 2014:

One and a half year has passed and Cisco has still not solved this problem. If I were the only one experiencing issues I could understand that Cisco would ignore this. But looking at various web-forums, including Cisco's own web support forum, shows that I am not alone. I am very disappointed that Cisco is releasing a product that does not fulfill the basic function it is sold for, in this case a Wireless N access point, and one and a half years later the issues are still not resolved. I have since long moved on, as I needed a working system. I am very happy with the EnGenius EAP600 AP's I bought. I have installed 3 of them and they have worked without any problems - recommended.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/11/2014 1:44:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WA5210G Wireless G High Power Wireless Outdoor Access Point, Multifunction, Outdoor design, Passive PoE

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unstable
Pros: Can run on 12V, so car/RV support is nice.
Cons: Unstable. Tested with several WiFi connections, and it could not stay connected.
Other Thoughts: The firmware is klunky. I ran this in AP-Client mode, and AP-Client Router mode. Both modes had issues. The device had trouble getting it's WAN IP from the dhcp server on the network. An issue no other devices on the net had.
Reviewed By:JustLisa,4/10/2014 5:22:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR WN2000RPT-100NAR Universal WiFi Range Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great!
Pros: Easy to setup and configure
Had it working within minutes
Refurb unit shipped with latest firmware installed
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: For those experiencing lock ups and freezing it may occur when SSID on WN2000RPT is set to match SSID on wireless router. These two IDs must be unique or a network loop is created between the two devices which will eventually choke the network. When the extender is configured with a unique SSID it will automatically "extend" the wireless router SSID
Reviewed By:Koondog,4/9/2014 11:28:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-637AP Wireless Easy-N-Upgrader 802.11b/g/n and 802.11e up to 300Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product after firmware upgrade
Pros: Easy to install. Works great.
Cons: Was slow but after a firmware upgrade and it works great.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/9/2014 8:29:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ENS202EXT High-powered/Long-range Wireless N300 Outdoor AP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic repeater
Pros: finally...a product that performs as advertised. Unlike the Amped Wireless "high power" repeater I'm trying to get rid of, the ENS202EXT is performing well. I have it elevated about 10 feet and was able to surf, download files, and browse my network at 210 yards. I walked an entire 12 acre farm, up hills and down into gullies and never lost my connection, nor the youtube video I was playing. Hopefully this will perform was well on a construction site with lots of competing wifi signals. Tech support answered a few routine questions and I did not have to wait more than 10 minutes. The PoE feature means I don't have to have a plug nearby...another plus for use on our construction site. You can adjust the power level somewhat.
Cons: must download setup and manual docs online.
Reviewed By:Up-And-Running,4/8/2014 1:44:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau