Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > TP-Link > TP-Link EAP330 AC1900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Ceiling Mount Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent for business use
Pros: Dual gigabit ports
High speeds
EAP software is free
Cons: Takes a little time to get AP to register with EAP software
Need a machine to run the EAP
Other Thoughts: The first thing that struck me about this AP was its form factor. It's sleek design makes it fit in in just about any environment - very modern, and if your network makes use of PoE switching, you don't need the included power cord, as the power can be provided via the network cable. As for the speed, this is truly the fastest access point I have used thus far. While obviously your individual network environment plays a huge role in how the AP A will perform I used a minimalistic setup and got great results. The initial setup was very easy, and the AP can be managed as a single unit or with others via the EAP software on the TP-Link website. I found the setup of the EAP server to be a bit challenging, as far as getting the AP to be recognized by the software, but if you give the system a few minutes to process the AP after registering it with the EAP system it should work. I also really liked that the AP has two gigabit ethernet ports, this isn't too common with AP's in a budget price range and really adds to the feature set.

This is a review of a free product received from TP-Link as part of the review program.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/29/2016 6:05:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > TRENDnet > TRENDnet Wireless AC Easy-Upgrader TEW-820AP

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 WORKS GREAT FOR MY DUAL-BAND ROKU 2 #4210R !!!
Pros: PLUG-IN TO ROUTER & POWER !!! AND ROKU WORKS ON 5 GH BAND
PLUGED IN TO MY SINGLE BAND TP, WIRELESS ROUYER... WITH A 15 FOOT INTERNET CORD,
(GOT CLOSER TO SUNROOM TV & ROKU2)
Cons: SET-UP WIZARD ON DISC. DID NOT WORK RIGHT FOR MY, BUT I DID NOT NEED !!!
Other Thoughts: OVERALL VERY HAPPY WITH THIS TRENDnet ITEM !!!
Reviewed By:mark f.,9/29/2016 3:52:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > TP-Link > TP-Link AP500 AC1900 Wireless Gigabit Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great in both AP and Repeater Mode for streaming to remote MBR location
Pros: This is a review of a free product received from TP-Link as part of the review program.
The AP500 setup is quick and painless. The Quick Installation Guide clearly details the four quick steps to get up and running in the default Access Point mode in under 5 minutes. You can also choose to set the AP500 up in Repeater/Bridge Mode or in Client Mode, but I went with the AP mode initially for my application. I chose to enter specific SSID's and passwords for the AP500 2.4GHz and 5GHz networks in order to clearly identify them from my other router networks as I tried both the AP mode and the Repeater/Bridge Mode to try to improve the wireless coverage to my HTPC which is located one story up and in the opposite corner of my house from my cable modem and routers.
I am currently using two (cascaded) routers for different, isolated, purposes; and the 5GHz band of my older, general purpose router is very under-utilized due to it's limited signal strength throughout the house. I have an RJ-45 wall port that is located on the first floor, but in a fairly visible location. So, I first tried the AP500 in the Access Point mode (plugged in) and found that it provided a much improved signal strength (-45dB versus the original -83dB !) with a Link Score of 83 versus the original Link Score of 27 (see the attached PNG). This is a terrific improvement, and it would surely feed my Master Bedroom HTPC and Wireless TV without any buffering delays.
I decided to also try the AP500 in Repeater/Bridge Mode, since I could then put the AP500 in a convenient closet location, out of sight. I was very pleased to find that this also resulted in a greatly improved signal strength (-47dB versus the original -82dB !) with a Link Score of 84 versus the original Link Score of 26 (see the attached PNG). So, I decided to use the AP500 in Bridge Mode, since it provides the same signal improvement and can be kept out of sight. My MBR entertainment center is now working great with no disruptions in any of the media formats that we watch.
Cons: The AP500 is not at all un-attractive, but it is about 10" X 7" (10"X12" with the three antennas installed) and it has a a wall-wart plug-in. That is why I have chosen the closet location, since the performance in either operating mode is equally GREAT! The wall wart is about 2"X3" - it would block adjacent power strip locations, but is OK in a lower wall socket
The AP500 is powerful - so the size is probably an attribute (cooling), not really a CON. Just know it going in.
Other Thoughts: I am very happy with the AP500 performance and ease of use.This works great for covering my remote two-story location. It is the best solution that I have found so far for providing delay-free coverage.
Reviewed By:Gary M.,9/28/2016 7:23:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UniFi AP-LR, UAP-LR, UniFi AP-Long Range 11b/g/n 300Mbps MIMO 600ft PoE

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best APs EVER!
Pros: -Long Range
-Easy Setup with no controller
-Inexpensive
Cons: -Uh...none
-Maybe cause you have to use the included POE injector as POE switches dont sent enough power...but thats a huge maybe
Other Thoughts: These things are awesome! They work and work and work. We use them for all our clients and have never looked back. They are rock solid and the software controller is A++. No issues as they stay online for years in our environments.
Reviewed By:Matthew B.,9/28/2016 2:48:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > TP-Link > TP-Link AP500 AC1900 Wireless Gigabit Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent AC1900 Access Point
Pros: Supports both 2.4GHz and 5GHz speeds
Supports AC1900 technology
Backwards compatible with older routers
Great design
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this to people with dead zones throughout their homes
Reviewed By:Vikesh P.,9/28/2016 9:44:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius N-ENH500 Kit(2 x ENH500) N300 Business-Class, Long Range 5GHz Wireless Bridge/Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works great
Pros: great range
low lag
extremely stable
Cons: directions are a bit lacking
user interface could be made a little more user friendly.
Other Thoughts: This works great but will need a bit of tinkering. it is definitely not a plug and play device but that's a good thing. You will probably need a basic understanding of networking to set this up. So give yourself a couple nights with youtube.

the set up that i have for this is 200 yards with limited line of sight through tree trunks. There is no signal loss between units. One unit is in AP Mode the Other unit is in Bridge mode and static ip's all around.

I would highly recommend this product
Reviewed By:Justin P.,9/28/2016 9:15:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > TP-Link > TP-Link EAP330 AC1900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Ceiling Mount Access Point

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice Small Business AP
Pros: “This is a review of a free product received from TP-Link as part of the review program.”
First let’s be clear this is an Access Point not your traditional SOHO router, and is really meant for business use. It is very feature rich, with captive portal for those wanting to limit access kind of like a hotel. It also has the ability to send logs to a log server via email or send directly to a log server. Once you plug the EAP330 in to your switch the AP starts up and the LED turns green. At this point you will need to download the EAP controller software or find the EAP330 on your network and try to configure it via the web interface. The best route to go is the EAP controller software, it provides a nice GUI/web page setup process, it may take some time for a novice user to get used to but the help and documentation are pretty good. I found myself referring to them a bit. The controller software is nice and being able to manage and upgrade multiple AP’s is very nice. Another nice feature is the ability to use PoE if you have that capability
One thing to point out is that in other AP’s I have noticed various hiccups in speed tests on the local network. The speed to upload and download files locally through the EAP330 is fast, steady and reliable.
Cons: The EAP330 also came with wall and ceiling mount hardware. I prefer wall mount however the TP-Link logo is upside down when you use the wall mount, is that a deal breaker no, it just looks bad.
Other Thoughts: At first I didn’t care for the EAP Controller software but after using it for a little while I found it was fairly easy to use and the central management is really nice. Adding other AP’s is very easy as well, and the ability to upgrade all AP’s at once is a nice feature.
The big difference in the EAP330 vs the EAP320 is the link aggregation and through put speed. This is a nice AP for a business with a small, but knowledgeable IT department.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/27/2016 5:55:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > TP-Link > TP-Link AP500 AC1900 Wireless Gigabit Access Point

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Capable AP with large range.
Pros: “This is a review of a free product received from TP-Link as part of the review program.”

The AP500 is a super easy way to add wireless to your wired network, especially with many ISP’s charging to enable wireless on their modem/router. The AP500 is a dead simple product, plug in the power, attached the network cable and connect to the AP to set it up. The setup wizard is very straight forward it asks which mode you would like to use with the choices of AP, repeater or client mode. AP mode is the default that simply adds wireless to a wired network. Repeater mode is basically a range extender. Finally, there is client mode a nice mode if you have a TV or game console that doesn’t have built-in wireless. The AP also has a Multi SSID mode which allows you to have different networks for different purposes.
Cons: The AP comes with WPS enabled and should really be disabled by default.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid standard no frills AP.
Super Easy setup, wide range and AC speeds
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/27/2016 5:54:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Hawking Technology > HAWKING HW7ACB Wireless-AC Multifunction Access Point/Bridge

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 The Power Plug!
Pros: The setup was almost easy.
Cons: The power plug is so small it is easily pulled out. Breathing wrong will cause it to come out. What an odd problem eh? but it's true.
Reviewed By:Bruce t.,9/26/2016 7:43:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Linksys > LINKSYS WAP54G 802.11b/g Wireless-G Access Point up to 54Mbps/ DD-WRT Open Source Support

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Didn't work - memory errors
Pros: Pros - Newegg gave a full refund. 3 eggs because it didn't work, but that's not Newegg's fault. Newegg has good customer service. 3 eggs on the used device, 5 eggs on Newegg customer service
Cons: The A/P had obviously been opened and sealed back up. Did not work
Other Thoughts: Been a customer of Newegg since 2004
Reviewed By:Mark D.,9/26/2016 3:34:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.