Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > Configurator > CPU INTEL|CORE I5 6500 6M 3.60 G Configurator

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Fast, cool, quiet, exactly as advertised
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Mark T.,2/5/2016 3:55:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > AMD > AMD FX-8320 Vishera 8-Core 3.5 GHz (4.0 GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 125W FD8320FRHKBOX Desktop Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing budget performance
Pros: - Extremely good overclocking (Stable 4.4 GHz @ 1.45 volts, load temp 53° C on Hyper 212 Evo air cooling)
- Very capable multi-core gaming processor
- Bang for your buck is high (if you overclock)
- Makes a great space heater for a New England winter!
Cons: - HOT - will require extreme cooling for the best overclocks
- Simply cannot keep up with Intel chips at per-thread efficiency; you're throwing gobs of extra power at this thing to keep up
Other Thoughts: I picked this processor up as a stop-gap; I've been on an Asus A5A97 board with an FX-4100 for nearly four years, and am way past due for an upgrade. I'm a gamer, and the 4100 truly was bottlenecking me, especially after I upgraded my graphics to an R9 390. Of course I'd love to be rocking a new Skylake i5 or better right now. But that would mean an extra 2 to 4 hundred bones for a brand new mobo, CPU and DDR4 memory. My strategy was to spend $150 on this CPU, and once Zen comes out later this year I'll take another look at what I want to do. It's paid off -- my performance in games like GTA 5 and BF4 has completely changed. Everything is so much smoother with those extra threads.. I game in 1080P smooth as butter and couldn't be happier with the performance! To get there though you need to be familiar with overclocking, luckily I've been doing it for years and there's tons of helpful information and youtube videos on how to do it.. I'd recommend Jays2Cents video on FX processors from 2013.

Anyway, I admit I feel I was naive -- I thought I my Hyper 212 Evo would be enough to get 4.6 GHz on this beast.. I was wrong. So, so wrong. I'm able to just barely push this chip to 4.4 Ghz and keep it stable under Prime 95 at 1.45v, but the temps sits in the high 50s. If I push any harder than that temps just shoot through the roof. I'm confident I can achieve at least a 4.6 clock, probably more, but I'm looking at water coolers now to make that happen.

Anyway, that's my experience so far. It's great for games and if you're on somewhat of a budget this is your answer. If you can afford a little extra dough, go for a Skylake.
Reviewed By:mark b.,2/5/2016 2:18:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > AMD > AMD A10-5800K Trinity Quad-Core 3.8 GHz Socket FM2 100W AD580KWOHJBOX Desktop APU (CPU + GPU) with DirectX 11 Graphic AMD Radeon HD 7660D

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 EZ setup and runs well with Win 10
Pros: -Actually quite good for office computing and some minor gaming. Fine for running videos and lower res graphics, but would not recommend for a gaming computer
-Very economical and good value for the price. This has been a solid APU running well for about 3 months now.
Cons: With stock fan and cooler, it's running hot! Plan to put a liquid cooled option to address this.
Other Thoughts: This CPU may be running hot because of the BIOS setting on the Asus MB I am using. Lacks ability to set a manual voltage so that might be the problem. I guess we can see what the other comments are. If customers don't run a hardware monitor, I doubt they would even know how hot it's running because everything works and looks fine.
Reviewed By:Paul B.,2/5/2016 1:54:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > Intel > Intel Core i7-5820K Haswell-E 6-Core 3.3 GHz LGA 2011-v3 140W BX80648I75820K Desktop Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This chip is a dream
Pros: Going from an FX-8350 to this, I am pretty much blown away. Even heavy compiling and multiple VMs running don't bring this thing to its knees. Good for games too, it handles BF4 and Fallout4 like a charm.

Great OC potential. I was able to bench stable on air (Phanteks PH-TC14PE) at 4.4GHz 1.3v, although I did back it off to 4.25 for daily use. This was on an Asus X99-Pro. Note that those numbers are highly variable and every CPU is different.
Cons: Nothing
Other Thoughts: Cooling is very important. While waiting for my Phanteks to ship I threw a 212Evo on to play around with, and it wasn't quite up to the task. Even with the bigger cooler, which made things far more stable, I came up against the limits of air cooling pretty quickly. Of course, even after "dialing back" to 4.25, this CPU still far exceeds anything I've ever experienced.

I'd recommend a custom loop to anyone serious about pushing the clocks on a Haswell-E. There is huge OC room, but they throw a lot of heat.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/5/2016 1:21:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > Intel > Intel Core i5-4670 Haswell Quad-Core 3.4 GHz LGA 1150 84W BX80646I54670 Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast, Easy and gets the job done!
Pros: What a great product! Purchased this and used it in my gaming rig I built (Dec 2014). It's seen heavy use and still going strong as ever. Great temps w/ stock fan/heat sink, handles AAA titles/music/internet all running very smoothly. Not super important for gamers, but it handles everything I need it to do very well. If this is your first build or 20th, this is a good chip for you. Especially if you're not looking to OC!
Cons: This isn't a con, but this chip is not OC. Look above/below for the link to the OC i5/i7
Other Thoughts: I would use this again for my next build...although I will be going with the "K" series next time.
Reviewed By:Johnathan M.,2/5/2016 12:49:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > Intel > Intel Core i7-5820K Haswell-E 6-Core 3.3 GHz LGA 2011-v3 140W BX80648I75820K Desktop Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 i7 5820k
Pros: Amazing processor is able to succeed in anything I throw at it and much more. Great processor for if you are wanting to be able to record games while streaming and playing them, as well is able to render out videos very quickly. Very very good multitasking!
Cons: Price, although this thing will give amazing performance. Worth every penny!
Other Thoughts: If you are looking to buy an Intel processor for the price, you get 6 cores with 12 total threads, very easy to overclock and runs fairly cool!
Reviewed By:N/A,2/5/2016 11:30:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > Intel > Intel Core i5-4690K Devil's Canyon Quad-Core 3.5 GHz LGA 1150 88W BX80646I54690K Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4600

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fast and Hot
Pros: Good speed. Still anticipating overclocking it but...
Cons: Hot. Very hot. I can admit my application of the stock fan was less than ideal. But it's on there tight. And without an aftermarket thermal paste and fan I'm getting 85 Celsius (185 F) on full load in a 19 Celsius (67 F) room.
I'm sure an aftermarket fan and some arctic silver will help a lot. But still, that's very hot for stock speeds. No way I'll overclock this proc till I have a cooler. I mean, at that temperature, I'm nervous to even play a game. 85 is WAY too high for it's longevity.
Other Thoughts: Update. I've now received a Hyper 212 Evo and arctic silver. This dropped temps a lot. Things run at stock speed around 55 Celcius though which is a touch high considering the quality of the Evo and paste, and the fact our house is so cool in the winter (19 Celcius). I overclocked to 4.4Ghz no problem, kept voltage as low as 1.25 for that, and most agree that this can be very safely bumped up to 1.35 volts without frying so long as adequate cooling is provided. I hope to get an additional fan or two, wait a few months for the arctic silver to more fully cure, and then see if I can't push it to 4.6 or more, stable.
Reviewed By:Andrew S.,2/5/2016 7:44:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > AMD > AMD FX-8320 Vishera 8-Core 3.5 GHz (4.0 GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 125W FD8320FRHKBOX Desktop Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 updated CPU
Pros: its FASSSSSSSTER!!!
While most of us won't notice the 8 cores- the workload distribution means less stutter, less tearing.
The "turbo" mode (at 4.0GB) is fantastic!
The price is right!!!
Cons: It's not a "top-of-the-line" Intel CPU!!!! But, can anyone REALLY tell the difference??
Other Thoughts: For price and performance, AMD still "beats" Intel!!
Reviewed By:Joel T.,2/5/2016 6:14:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > Intel > Intel Core i7-6700K 8M Skylake Quad-Core 4.0 GHz LGA 1151 91W BX80662I76700K Desktop Processor Intel® HD Graphics 530

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 HEY a CPU that Moderately wont fry its self when over clocked (SLIGHTLY)
Pros: SPEED!
I do a lot of gaming and 3D modeling (autodesk Maya) and I have yet to need to overclock this Son of a Baconator but if you do I hope its only a little because she will burn. not alot but she will burn,i maybe OC'd like 8.7% of 100% so be warned it gets warm Quick!
Cons: Be careful overclocking Liquid cooling is advised
Other Thoughts: did you really need to over clock?
Reviewed By:randall J.,2/5/2016 4:56:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > Intel > Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge Quad-Core 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W BX80637I53570K Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4000

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great!
Pros: -Fast
-Quad Core
-Ran every application i needed to for over a year until i upgraded to an i7 and used it in another build. still running today.
Cons: -Ran hot for me at one point.
-Lga 1155 discontinued :/
Other Thoughts: worth the money. although now the 4690k and the skylakes are what you'll probably be aiming for.
Reviewed By:Co-D B.,2/5/2016 4:50:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.