Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Network Transceivers > Add-On Computer Products > ACP DEM-311GT-AOK SFP (mini-GBIC) Transceiver Module 1 x 1000Base-SX LAN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 IT works
Pros: Comes with good packaging. Installs easy to the D-Link Switch goes easily in. Latency between switches so good with fiber connection.
It works great.

I did not do speed test between real one this one but I know this one works great.
Cons: All the ones I bought worked no defective unit so no concerns.
Reviewed By:Computerpathways,12/7/2014 6:47:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Transceivers > STARTECH > StarTech ET91000SFP2 Gigabit Ethernet Fiber Media Converter with Open SFP Slot 1.25 Gbps 1 - SFP Slot Female 1 - RJ-45 Female

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Exactly as You'd Expect
Pros: SFP slot makes it flexible
Dip switches conveniently located on front
Convertible from standalone to rack chassis
Cons: Not a big fan of the wall-wort power adapter. It's a bit bulky, but otherwise just fine.
Other Thoughts: So far, this is working great for us. I purchased this media converter instead of paying for a very pricey fiber module for our packet shaper. The MC passes anywhere between 200-900Mbps during the day without any problems.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/16/2014 8:38:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Transceivers > STARTECH > StarTech.OAM Managed Gigabit Ethernet Fiber Media Converter - Multi Mode LC 550m - 802.3ah Compliant

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Works fine. Using it to connect a piece of external equipment to the building LAN. The switch to which it connects reports no dropped packets, over a ~100ft multimode fiber.

Comes with the LC multimode fiber SFP, a plus.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/4/2014 10:18:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Transceivers > Transition Networks > TRANSITION E-TBT-MC05 Ethernet AUI to RJ-45 Transceiver 1 x 10BASE5 (AUI (DB-15) male) [50 m/164 ft.] 1 x 10BASE-T (RJ-45) [100 m/328 ft.]

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product
Pros: Does what it is suppose to do.
Cons: the price is a little high would be nicer if it was a little cheaper
Reviewed By:VAS,11/1/2014 2:52:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Transceivers > Add-On Computer Products > AddOn - Network Upgrades J9151A-AO SFP+ Transceiver 10 Gbps LC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice low cost xver
Pros: I've used a few of these and they work great, the price is a lot lower than the name brand vendor models but they work exceptionally well.
Cons: Make sure you get the compatibility right. A Cisco-compatible will not work in an HP switch. Trust me on that.
Reviewed By:kanoa,9/23/2014 10:52:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Transceivers > Allied Telesis > Allied Telesis AT-MC115XL Fast Ethernet Media Converter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Installation is not for the faint of heart
Pros: Works like a charm once you conquer the installation. Thankfully, tech support was exceptionally good.
Cons: I am not a fiber optic expert by any means but I do have a Masters in Electrical Engineering and years of experience. I just haven't worked with fiber optic links before. Regardless, we had to replace a failed unit on a fiber run between two buildings. The manual - what little there is of it - was of no real help in troubleshooting the installation. Neither was the website. These units are billed as "no configuration required" so I connected them up, turned them on, and waited for the link to come up. It never did. Using the manual, I did what troubleshooting I could but to no avail. As a last resort, we contacted Allied Telesis tech support and were pleasantly surprised at their quick reaction and follow through. We actually got to talk to engineers who knew the product and provided specific guidance as to how to properly configure the units. It would be nice if that guidance found its way into the "manual". There were some "undocumented features" that were key to the troubleshooting process.
Other Thoughts: Bottom line: These are great little units and they run 24/7 for years on end but the documentation is woefully lacking. If it wasn't for the excellent tech support, we would still be scratching our heads as to why the link wasn't working.
Reviewed By:Seymour,7/31/2014 8:34:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Transceivers > Hewlett-Packard > HP J4858C ProCurve Gigabit-SX-LC Mini-GBIC 1 Gbps 1x LC 1000Base-SX port(IEEE 802.3z Type 1000Base-SX) Duplex: full only

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast Customer Service
Pros: Fast Customer Service. They went over and beyond what was expected to make sure the product was delivered fast. The GBIC was brand new and worked well.
Cons: None to speak of. Product shipped fast and worked well.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/27/2014 11:16:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Transceivers > STARTECH > StarTech SFPC1110 Cisco Compatible Gigabit RJ45 Copper SFP Transceiver Module

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works as good as Cisco brand Transceiver
Pros: Works just as good as the Cisco brand Transceiver but at 1/3 the cost. Also feels more durable than the Cisco as well.
Cons: None that I have run into so far.
Other Thoughts: I will buy these in the future instead of the Cisco brand.
Reviewed By:MICHAEL S.,6/11/2014 9:46:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Transceivers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TFC-110MSC Multi-Mode Fiber Converter with SC-Type Connector 100M, 200M(Full-Duplex) 1 x 10/100Base-TX 1 x 100Base-FX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect Units w/ Small Learning Curve
Pros: These units are easy to unpack, mount, and power. If you don't know the providence of the fibre optic cabling that you are using they can be a tad difficult to get that first connection going.

If you know which strands go where and they are appropriately color coded, then these units can be out of the box and running in less than five minutes!
Cons: None that I have found so far. We currently employ 20 of them to run 6 out buildings.
Other Thoughts: If you know you only need 10/100, buy these. They are a great value for money.
Reviewed By:PATRICK T.,5/15/2014 7:39:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Transceivers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK MC100CM Ethernet Media Converter Twisted Pair (Cat.5):100m Multi-mode Fiber Optic: 2km 1 x SC fiber optic 1 x RJ45 jack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Runs Perfectly
Pros: I used a pair of these along with a 50-foot N82E16812422869 fiber optic cable with the supplied switch settings. Literally plug and play.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: I used this pair to link different parts of the home together without fear of providing a metallic path for lightning or lightning-induced surges.
Naturally, the cable is routed out of harm's way.
About to purchase a second pair plus cable.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/28/2014 6:39:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.