Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Momentus Thin ST500LT012 500GB 5400 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Sometimes you get a lemon
Pros: Price
Cons: Failed the first day
Other Thoughts: I guess it was my turn to get a dud. I purchased this drive to use as a clone for my laptop. Right off the bat I had problems with the cloned drive randomly "locking up". Ran the Seagate diagnostics tool on it and it failed the tests. Newegg was great about shipping me a replacement. i will update this if the replacement has any issues.
Reviewed By:Texas-Mark,5/22/2015 9:02:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Scorpio Blue WD10JPVT 1TB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Planned Obsolescence
Pros: Functioned well while it lasted.
Cons: Mfg. Sep 2012
Purchased Nov 2012 - With Dell Inspiron
Two year warranty
Crashed May 2015 (two years, 6 months)
Error 2000-0142
Other Thoughts: This drive functioned within expectations
Reviewed By:Lifeguard2,5/21/2015 6:20:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Travelstar 7K1000 HTS721010A9E630 (0J22423) 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive (Standard model) Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Faulty Product
Pros: None.
Cons: Purchased it and after installation, though it was very quiet when flat, but every time I tilted the laptop it sounded like someone getting a buzzcut. Loud and not healthy. HGST tech support said to have Newegg exchange it.

2nd one, the replacement, didn't have the buzzing noise when tilted, But, it ran very loud like an old tower.

Returned it for store credit and will be trying to get a Seagate. Newegg customer service was very good, but this item was very bad.
Reviewed By:VeryDisappointed,5/20/2015 5:09:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Travelstar 7K1000 HTS721010A9E630 (0J22423) 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive (Standard model) Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Faulty
Pros: None
Cons: Purchased it and after installation, though it was very quiet when flat, but every time I tilted the laptop it sounded like someone getting a buzzcut. Loud and not healthy. HGST tech support said to have Newegg exchange it.

2nd one, the replacement, didn't have the buzzing noise when tilted, But, it ran very loud like an old tower.

Returned it for store credit and will be trying to get a Seagate. Newegg customer service was very good, but this item was very bad.
Reviewed By:VeryDisapponted,5/20/2015 5:00:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drives STBD1000400 1TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 2.5" Laptop SSHD -Retail Kit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible Drive
Pros: Purchased this drive from another retailer to replace a HGST drive that became unreadable. Really I have no Pro's for this item.
Cons: Bought this drive thinking that it would be atleast somewhat faster than a purely mechanical drive, boy was I wrong! This drive constantly hangs my system and forbid you to install any software because you will not be doing anything else with the computer while it is installing.
Other Thoughts: I think I should have pruchased a Western Digital drive. Seagate should just give up on making drives all together because everyone I have ever owned has failed in a short amount of time and all the people I know that have had Seagate drives have had issues with them. Do yourself a favor and pass this one up, I will also be doing the same from now on!
Reviewed By:etch_tech_guy,5/20/2015 11:50:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drives ST1000LM014 1TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 2.5" Laptop SSHD -Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Hybrid Field of Dreams
Pros: Hard disk is noticeable faster than regular hard disks. Installed Win 8.1 and the combination is one really fast boot up time. This type of disk is a great solution for those who do not want to go for a full SSD but want to have the best of both worlds.
Cons: None. See Other Thoughts.
Other Thoughts: I stopped using Seagate hard disks because I had such a high rate of failures in the past. So I would say that I might be concerned a bit about the brand. We'll see what happens.
Reviewed By:LAN Man,5/19/2015 8:51:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black² Dual Drive 2.5" 120 GB SSD + 1 TB HDD Kit WD1001X06XDTL

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Buyer beware
Pros: Sounds good in theory
Cons: DOES NOT WORK DOA took me 6 weeks to get around performing the upgrade and it will not work. Used the required software by WD and it still didn't work. Contacted Customer support for horrible service. WD has placed a hold on my credit card with a value of nearly three times to price of a new drive. This is the second WD drive that was DOA in the last 3 months... Time to look for a new supplier maybe one with better customer centric support.
Other Thoughts: I have been a fan of this company for many years it is too bad that this is how they treat customers with things like charging for shipping a new drive and returns when it never worked to begin with.
Reviewed By:Unhappy Bill,5/19/2015 9:02:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black² Dual Drive 2.5" 120 GB SSD + 1 TB HDD Kit WD1001X06XDTL

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great hard drive
Pros: Great price and size
Cons: Was a pain to install at first. my computer saw it and knew it was there but windows could not see it when i went to install my OS. ended up doing a clean install on an old HD and then cloning it.
There was a problem with it temporarily freezing every so often but that was fixed with a firmware patch.
Other Thoughts: If you plan on using it then you are going to need to do a firmware update to fix the lag problem. simple step by step on the WD website.

was tough to deal with at first, but now it works like a charm
Reviewed By:Mark d,5/19/2015 7:40:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Blue WD2500LPVX 250GB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Work.
Pros: - Thin.
- Low-power.
- Low power-on hours, practically new.
- 110MB/s sustained read speed.
Cons: - Not worth it at retail price.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/18/2015 5:43:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drives ST1000LM014 1TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 2.5" Laptop SSHD -Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: So far so good. Replacing a wd 750gb 7200rpm on a Toshiba satellite t135 s1310. Wanted to try ssd but with a large capacity and without the higher cost. Boot and shutdown speeds are noticeably faster though not as fast as I expected (40 seconds from off to logon). Some programs also start noticeably faster. Price was fair and I'm happy so far.
Cons: The Seagate drive software (not included) would begin the come process but on rebooting to actually start, it wouldn't. But using my aomei partitioning software, cloning went off without a hitch.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/17/2015 12:22:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.