Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate ST500LM021 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Laptop Thin Hard Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 No difference to 5400 RPM HDD
Pros: Cheap, 7200 RPM, 32 MB cache
Cons: No significant difference with 5400 RPM HDD my notebook came with.
Both 5400 and 7200 RPM deliver 5.9 score in Windows 7 performance test and there is almost no difference in booting Windows or program time.
Other Thoughts: Buy a smaller size $100-140 SSD to feel a real speed (7.9 score)
Reviewed By:Ben,9/18/2014 7:33:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA MQ01ABD100 1TB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 perfect Playstation 4 upgrade
Pros: affordable
quality
Cons: none that I can think of
Other Thoughts: this is a great drive for a Playstaion 4 upgrade. I have used this in 2 PS4s now and it works great. Some people go with a faster (higher RPM) drive for their playstation but I prefer to keep with the manufacturer's recommendation of a 5400RPM drive
Reviewed By:Ryanp83,9/18/2014 6:38:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA Hybrid Drives MQ01ABD100H 1TB+8GB(NAND Flash) 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Laptop SSHD

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 A good replacement for HDD
Pros: Much faster than a conventional HDD, at the price of one.
Fits perfectly for any laptop with a 9.5mm disk caddy.
Improvement of boot time by 3 times after the first 5 restarts.
Much higher read/write rates when compared with a conventional 5400 rpm drive.
3 year warranty, which is always a good sign of a quality drive.
Cons: Not an SSD, will never perform like one.
No support for India.
Other Thoughts: The drive comes in a simple static pouch and a no frills box.
The packaging was effective with the drive snug in bubble wrap.
For use, I had to buy a hard drive case separately, then format the new drive using the full format option. This operation took me 13 hours. Quick formatting a new drive is not recommended at all.
I then created an image using Samsung Recovery, but I've tested a Windows System image as well, and that works fine too.
Fitting and installation was very simple and the drive swap took under 5 minutes.
I first had a problem after two days of running the new drive when Windows 8.1 kept crashing repeatedly, but that I believe today is an unrelated problem.
After about 4 restarts, the drive really shows you it's true colours with windows 8.1 booting (after restart) in less than 20 seconds.
I now see 7 GB of RAM being utilized instead of the previous 3GB that my conventional hard drive used to take. This has made my laptop a whole lot faster and an actual pleasure to use,

This drive is the only other available hybrid drive and since I'm not a big fan of Seagate, I chose this one, which eventually ended up to being cheaper than it's counterpart even after being shipped from the US.
Go for it if you want to give your computer a fresh new lease of life.
Reviewed By:Greywolfe,9/16/2014 8:57:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Blue WD7500BPVX 750GB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great HDD, Awesome price!
Pros: Works as it should.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,9/16/2014 8:34:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Travelstar 7K1000 HTS721010A9E630(0J22423) 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive (Standard model)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works PERFECT in my Destiny PS4
Pros: Didn't even turn the PS4 on with the stock HDD. Immediately put this bad boy in and fired it up and installed. Been playing Destiny for a few days and everything is working perfectly. TBH I don't know how much faster it is over stock since I went str8 into it with this HDD. But seeing video's online of others playing I am sure its quicker. My ship is always the first one to show on MM.
Cons: Its not free and cooking me pancakes in the mourning.
Reviewed By:AP2Patrick,9/15/2014 7:58:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > OEM Generic > 2.5 Sata to USB Hard Drive Caddy HDD Enclosure Case Laptop and PC parts

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very nice for the price
Pros: Very nice price and worked out of the box.
Cons: Dinky screws. Screwdriver was a nice feature but did not work on those dinky screws. No instructions.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/15/2014 8:32:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > AfterMarket-Generic > WL 1TB 16MB Cache 5400RPM (7mm) SATA III (6.0Gb/s) 2.5" Internal Laptop Hard Drive -For any SATA Laptop, Netbook, Tablet (DELL, Compaq, HP, eMachine, ASUS, IBM, Toshiba, Lenovo)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked fine after initiating drive
Pros: Small footprint Large storage. Cheap
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This is a raw drive that needs to be initiated by starting the M.S disk Management and then initiating the drive. It will not do anything without doing that. Then formatted drive and worked like a charm. That could be the previous person reported a dead drive.
Reviewed By:TallTex,9/15/2014 8:28:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Travelstar 7K1000 HTS721010A9E630(0J22423) 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive (Standard model)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Decent upgrade
Pros: Pretty good capacity, speed, and cache for any laptop (what i'm currently using it on). Surprisingly quiet for it's speed, which is a nice little plus.
Cons: It can get a little hot in a laptop enclosure, but it's nothing too troubling.
Other Thoughts: For the price range, this came up at the top of my list. I didn't know much about this brand, but after a little research, I found they were associated with WD. Which may or may not put off some. I gave them a shot and was pleasantly surprised. Been a few months since it was installed, and it's still working like new.
Reviewed By:Frank,9/14/2014 9:42:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Blue WD7500BPVX 750GB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 So far so good.
Pros: Currently using in an Zalman ZM-VE300-SE external cradle. I have iso files, the portableapps.com suite, and an installation of linux all running from this little drive.

Performance over usb3 is quite tolerable... perhaps nice even... even when booting Linux or running Libre Office from the drive.
Cons: I was worried by all the other negative reviews and I'll admit I'm still a bit worried. I've had absolutely no problems and seen no signs of failure from this drive while I've been using it but I find I wish I had more peace of mind regarding it.
Reviewed By:Wolferz,9/14/2014 8:01:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Spinpoint M8 ST500LM012(HN-M500MBB) 500GB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 nice drive
Pros: Nice drive worked perfectly ran spinrite no bad sectors. I have had good experience with Samsung drive I was little concerned as I believe now owned by Seagate but was very happy so far.
Cons: Only two year warranty that is VERY bad says they expect it not to last. Also only 5400rpm. What happen to 5 year warranties????
Other Thoughts: As always Newegg was great to buy from. Was here very fast.
Reviewed By:Mike,9/14/2014 5:31:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau