Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black² Dual Drive 2.5" 120 GB SSD + 1 TB HDD Kit WD1001X06XDTL

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing laptop drive, Perfect functionality
Pros: The drive works wonderfully. Initially installing the OS, the computer will only see the SSD so you don't have to worry about installing it on the mechanical drive accidentally. It requires Western Digital software to enable the 1TB HDD which was a quick and simple installation (less than 5 minutes), and I've never been bothered with it since. Having an SSD on my desktop, I will say the bootup speeds are pretty much identical around 15-20 seconds.

Ascetically speaking, the drive looks wonderful and the packaging is great (not that you see it in a computer). Comes with a USB to SATA/Power Connector adapter so you can pull files off your old laptop drive if you need to.
Cons: None for my uses. I have heard that the SSD on it must have the OS installed on it for the HDD to be accessible. So Using this as an expansion drive would not work well, but that isn't the purpose of the drive.
Other Thoughts: I used this to replace the drive in my laptop that was damaged and causing all sorts of issues. Was originally going to just buy a 250GB SSD, but this is much better and cheaper.
Reviewed By:Steve C.,1/30/2015 8:56:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black² Dual Drive 2.5" 120 GB SSD + 1 TB HDD Kit WD1001X06XDTL

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Western Digiral Black Squared SSD/HDD
Pros: Using an SSD for the OpSys greatly improves computer performance as would be expected. Boot times are much shorter for example.
Since most laptops have only one drive bay (some exceptions), if you want to have SSD performance and lots of space, there are not many reasonably priced options.
By placing the OpSys and programs on the SSD portion of the drive, you get significant performance over any regular rotating disk laptop drive I have tried. Data such as a Word document for example can be stored on the 1 TB rotating part of this drive, and you give up very little in performance vs. buying an much more expensive large SSD.
Cons: As delivered, the drive spins down almost immediately after accessing the rotating part of the drive. It is then very slow accessing data when it has to spin up each time you want some information on that part of the drive. This is solvable to a large degree by running a firmware update available from Western Digital. However, this update must be run by DOS booting the computer so you have to make a DOS boot-up USB drive, reset any BIOS settings to allow this boot to occur, make the update, and then reset everything back to normal. If you don't mind taking this on, then the drive is a good solution for fast speed and large storage for a laptop. (minus one egg)
Other Thoughts: At full list price, and based on the space needed, there may be some better options. If you want / need the full 1TB of rotating drive space plus the120 GB SSD for speed, it is a good solution but only with the firmware update. Otherwise data access is far too slow.
Also be sure that drive access in the laptop is reasoale before taking this on. For example, some of the new HP laptops no longer have user changeable HDD's. In these, drive change out is a major task.
Reviewed By:Professor-1,1/30/2015 4:06:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drives ST1000LM014 1TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 2.5" Laptop SSHD -Bare Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great performance but reliability is uncertain
Pros: Performs like an SSD. Economical.
Cons: Two drives have failed in 15 months.
Other Thoughts: I bought one of these in October of 2013 for my thinkpad T530. It is indeed fast, and "learns". Windows 7 boots to the login prompt in 15 seconds, versus the 50 seconds it took do it before it learned what to store in flash.

However reliability has been a problem. In mid-2014 the drive no longer passed Lenovo's hardware tests, and Seagate "seatools for windows" tests reported that the "Short DST" (drive self-test) failed.

Seagate shipped me a new drive and it was easy to make a clone with discwizard -- although one must chkdsk the windows partition first, as discwizard will not clone a partition with an error (it gives a misleading error message and I had to guess).

The replacement drive said "Certified Repaired HDD".

The replacement drive started showing errors late January 2015 -- about 5 months after I installed it. Once again seatools said that Short DST failed. I used the web interface to send in an RMA, got the drive in two days, cloned it (with a few "can't read sector" errors), and now I'm up again. I upgraded to firmware SM16. (The first replacement ran SM11 and did not have an available firmware upgrade.)

This second RMA is too is a "certified repaired". I hope it doesn't fail.
Reviewed By:tpennello,1/29/2015 11:40:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital WD10JUCT WD AV 2.5-inch 1TB 5400 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Internal Hard Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 1 DAY AND A SMART ALERT
Pros: None so far
Cons: Installed for 1 day and got a short DST alert, after 2 days got a SMART warning. This is for a client. Now looking at RMA it, but Newegg has a note under it saying I have to contact Western Digital.
Other Thoughts: So much for making any profit on this job, and lost a customer I'm sure.
Reviewed By:Mitch,1/29/2015 7:56:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black WD5000LPLX 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Drive!
Pros: Excellent drive. Using this in a HTPC configuration alongside an SSD for the OS. Working great so far.

- 2.5"
- 7mm
- Single platter design
- 7200RPM
- 5 year warranty

For those that are interested, below are my AS SSD Benchmark results for this drive:

Seq: 143.20 MB/s Read / 127.66MB/s Write
4K: 0.64 MB/s Read / 1.50MB/s Write
4K-64 Thrd: 1.60MB/s Read / 1.51MB/s Write
Acc time: 15.195ms / 10.758ms
Cons: None aside from a bit of noise from the drive spinning obviously but that is expected with any mechanical drive
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent drive. According to the manufacture, this drive, along with its other models (WD3200LPLX, WD2500LPLX) all feature a single platter design which is great for keeping the heat of the drive to a minimum. For those looking for capacity and performance without paying a premium for an SSD, this is a great choice.
Reviewed By:dotter,1/28/2015 8:08:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD BLACK SERIES WD5000BPKX 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk
Pros: Warranted for 5 years.
Cons: Did not last 5 weeks.
Other Thoughts: Sad state of affairs that QA could not catch bad product. Really frustrating to rebuild a system only to have it fail weeks later.
Reviewed By:Sandy K.,1/28/2015 6:47:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD BLACK SERIES WD7500BPKX 750GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fine
Pros: Installed in a MacBook Pro 13". No issues. Some reviews say it was loud but I can't hear it at all during normal use.
Cons: none.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/28/2015 5:53:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Travelstar 7K1000 HTS721010A9E630 (0J22423) 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 secured website problems
Pros: high rated hard drive but never received online purchase confirmation
Cons: concerning newegg online secured website, not the HD. During payment process on newegg https website [12-29-2014] while entering credit card information the webpage was diverted to another non-newegg webpage asking for my social security # saying it was for VISA verification. I immediately logged off & never received purchase confirmation. Wells Fargo Bank claims they use conventional information to verify & illegal to ask for social security. I immediately reported to Newegg their secured payment website had been hacked. They denied. Next day the sale was posted without receiving sale confirmation. This occurred 2x on same day.
Other Thoughts: I have experienced ID theft before. This is one way it happens. Newegg has offered different explanation while who knows what is going on until it's too late.
Reviewed By:never newegg again,1/28/2015 9:47:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drives ST1000LM014 1TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 2.5" Laptop SSHD -Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It's True - Performs Like a SSD
Pros: Super Fast Performance, Lightweight, Inexpensive, Ultra Quiet
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Ontime2,1/27/2015 1:28:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Blue WD5000LPVX 500GB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Works great, easily hacked to work on an Xbox 360, so far so good.
Cons: None (yet).
Other Thoughts: I bought two of these during a Black Friday sale, one to put in my Xbox 360, the other I put in a modular bay in my laptop after adding a 120GB SSD. Both work brilliantly without issues.
Reviewed By:Pawpawsmurph,1/27/2015 11:50:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.