Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Scorpio Black WD7500BPKT 750GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: Hard drive 2 months failed after install
Cons: When I put in it good and running fast. Start slow and slower in 2 weeks after one month and boot up take forever then crash it... lost anything. Nah I won't buy this again it lot problem and take forever shipping
Reviewed By:N/A,9/2/2014 7:01:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Blue WD10JPVX 1TB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent midrange laptop disk
Pros: Fast for a 5400 RPM disk. High capacity as 2.5"x9.5mm drives go. Makes a little whirr but overall extremely quiet. I have to put my ear up to it to hear any chatter when it seeks.

Too early to say anything about reliability, but I've had wonderful experiences with WD. Only one I've had fail before it was really old was defective and got RMA'd.
Cons: Not edible.
Other Thoughts: I'm using it as a data disk in the optical drive bay of a laptop that has an SSD as its main disk. I specifically looked for a 5400 RPM one so it would be cooler, quieter and eat less battery, so this disk is just about perfect for what I want. I'd have gone with Green instead, but they tend to be thicker than 9.5 mm and cost over twice what this drive does.

I haven't tried running an OS off it, but I'd expect it to run more than well enough for everyday use. But for a higher performance system I'd obviously sacrifice a little capacity and battery life and go with a 7200 RPM Black.
Reviewed By:Joe,9/1/2014 12:32:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Blue WD2500LPVX 250GB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Drive
Pros: Runs great. Adequate packaging so drive arrived safely.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:TMAC,8/31/2014 7:01:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > HGST > Hitachi GST Travelstar Z5K500 HTS545050A7E380 (0J11285) 500GB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Didn't even last a year
Pros: none really
Cons: this drive came factory installed in my asus vivobook s400ca and it only lasted 8 months before it completely cratered - the entrie drive and even recovery partitions are unreadable, can't even salvage a single file off it.
Other Thoughts: if you get this drive make sure you keep your data backed up
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2014 3:19:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Blue WD5000LPVX 500GB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Not for me...
Pros: Bought it for the boss to replace a defective and possibly infected 2.5" drive. It was a bit deeper than the other one, but it fit.
Cons: Nothing.
Reviewed By:GBPS2,8/29/2014 11:37:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD BLACK SERIES WD7500BPKX 750GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Scrary...
Pros: 5 year warranty, good transfer speed (use this as a second drive for data only), was well packed for shipping, quick shipping too.
Cons: A little bit noisyer compared to the original seagate drive that was in the laptop understandable with the 7200rpm, I have heard 3 or 4 time up to now in a couple of days a loud "click", ran the wd tool and says everything is ok
Other Thoughts: I am a little bit scared to start transfering my data on that drive since I hear a single loud "click" sound from time to time.

The drive seem to perform ok and transfers are good speed but not sure about the clicking sound.

I'll see how it does it perform in the next weeks and months... I hope I did a good choice, I have not been using WD from some time and took a chance to try this one.
Reviewed By:Alezis,8/29/2014 8:49:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > HGST > Hitachi GST Travelstar 5K500.B HTS545050B9A300 (0A57915) 500GB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not what i requested
Pros: Order received on time
Cons: There was no packing slip in the shipment to reference my order number.
Other Thoughts: The model number i ordered is not what i recevied. The information on the hard drives is completely differently. The mfg part number does not match.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/29/2014 1:31:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD BLACK SERIES WD7500BPKX 750GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Better, Much Better!
Pros: Great performance and easy installation. Cloned existing undersized/underperforming laptop HD using Apricorn. Worked great. Popped out old 120GB drive. Popped this one in and viola. My wife has tons o disk space now for her pictures, etc. Speed increase definitely noticeable. Great price on NewEgg. Was planning to use drive with USB 3.0 external chasis but decided to pop into the laptop instead, Glad i did! If i need another one, the price is right.
Cons: none.
Other Thoughts: Was originally going to use it for a new laptop but went with 512 SSD instead. SSD has less power/heat issues.
Reviewed By:Skip,8/29/2014 10:55:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Scorpio Black WD3200BEKT 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Still going strong
Pros: Good product, easy to install.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: After having my original HD in my laptop die without notice, I purchased this as a replacement. Although I've build desktops in the past, this was my first time working on a laptop. While replacing a HD isn't a monumental task, the project went smoothly and this HD has been working fine ever since it's first boot and install of Windows 7.
Reviewed By:Jason,8/28/2014 7:34:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Blue WD2500LPVX 250GB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works fine.
Pros: Price was right.
Cons: None at this price point.
Other Thoughts: Purchased to replace a failed drive of same capacity. Label recommends using special cloning software on this drive but I had no problems applying a dc3dd image (linux) of the original Windows 7 OS and data
Reviewed By:Elder Geek,8/28/2014 9:25:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau