Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > ASRock > ASRock Rack Server System Intel Avoton C2750 Octa Core 12 Bay 3.5" SATA HDD 1U12LW-C2750

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Dense ZFS server
Pros: 1) This is 12 HDDs in 1U density.
Put this into perspective: usual 24HDD / 4U = 6 HDD/U, more elaborate Supermicro's (drives on both sides) 36HDD / 4U = 9 HDD/U, and with mere Supermicro's expander (drives on both sides) 45HDD / 4U = 11.25 HDD/U.
2) There is 1 CPU and a network controller for 12 HDDs, keeping ratio cpu to hdd higher than 4U with 60 HDDs in a box, and may be on par with 24 HDD 4U with powerfull/expensive cpu.
3) All parts are standard: flex-ATX PSU, mini-ITX motherboard. It is a high HDD density mobo with STANDARD parts! True wimpy storage server.
4) With half-height PCIe card (LSI HBA with two SFF-8087), two SSDs can be placed on the side, so as to be hot swappable (one of these is ZFS cache, and needs an option for potential hot swap in the future. This makes a ZFS system with 12 data HDDs, 1 cache SSD, and 1 root SSD.
Cons: 1) Marwell controller. There has been reported at least two issues in FreeBSD with Marwell: no proper hot-plug and instability under load.
This requires a SAS card. Straight HBA from LSI does the job.
So, one needs a card and SAS cables (mind the legth, as this is a long mobo).
2) 250W sounds slightly too low for 12 HDDs. IF drives spin up at the same time, that is a peak current draw, and it will take 250W leaving nothing for cpu.
Luckily, this is a standard flex-ATX PSU, and 400W models can be found for sale.
3) There is no settings in BIOS about spinning up drives, like in Supermicro's MB, or even in LSI SAS cards. Without setting drives to spin up one-by-one, how one can be sure about power consumption at the start?
4) There is a setting in MB to spin down drives, when happen to be not in use. You may not want such behaviour, so disable it.
5) I'd love to have hardware jumper on a motherboard to disable BMC.
Other Thoughts: I had initially in mind and cost calculation a system with Xeon E3, 24 HDDs in 4U. Two of these ASRock servers provide the same number of drives, more compute power per HDD, more RAM and SSD cache per HDD, all in 2U, and for the same money!

I should've given 4 eggs, but I'll add 1 more to counter-act other guy's review, as he completely missed that with SAS card in each server, he would've had a cost effective stack of 30 Hardoop HDFS servers. This extra cost is nothing in comparison to the cost of 360 HDDs. His sloppiness in this judgement will cost his employer either extra rack, or extra fansy hardware, or both.

The other thought is that it would be nice to see just this lovely 12 HDD in 1U case for sale. Then one may put some Xeon E3 on mini-ITX, proper PSU, tailoring server perfectly for ones needs. It is possible as all parts are maid standard!
Reviewed By:ZFS guy,10/17/2014 6:12:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Avatar > Avatar Pedestal Tower Workstation System Intel Pentium G3220 3.0GHz 4GB RAM 1TB HDD 7200RPM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great PC
Pros: I am very happy with the purchase of this unit. I saw it pop up on a deal site for a great price after MIR and I couldn’t be happier with the purchase. The unit came with an MSI B85M-P33 motherboard and a Western Digital hard drive. The build quality is very high in my opinion. All cables were properly routed and zip-tied and the interior was very clean. I would definitely buy an Avatar product again!!
Cons: Case and power supply are cheaply made. The power supply should last a while however as the watt draw for this unit was very low.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely buy an Avatar product again!!
Reviewed By:N/A,10/8/2014 6:40:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > DELL > Dell PowerEdge T620 5U Tower Server - Intel Xeon E5-2640 v2 2 GHz

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Powerful P2V platform for small business
Pros: 24Gbps throughput storage controller, tons of expansion slots (most of it PCI-e)

Loves VMWare 3.x - 5.5x and dell has a supported image available for download through their website

Loves qlogic storage HBAs. (There were some FW tweaks required and a whole lot of reading in unsupported territory)

1866 DDR 3... Crazy fast, but doesn't benchmark any faster in the guests I have running on the 1600mhz host. So, not all that awesome, but I can only assume VMWARE has made use of the extra memory throughput.

I purchased a 128GB mem upgrade from Newegg which was 1/3 the cost of Dells upgrade path.

QUIET unless rebooted or exhausted. Then, if you got the fan expansion option like I did (more fans), it sounds like an RC shinook taking off.
Cons: USB 2.0 - purchased a USB 3.0 card (had to make sure to find one with the NEC chipset) via PCI-e and hand it off directly to our SQL server using passthrough. I get 110MB/s throughput to a WD 2.5 portable USB 3 HD on backups. More than I was expecting, but not sure about limitations.

Broadcom NICs...

Dell does not sell the hard drive caddies without drives and the ones I find online are not 100% the same. Not sure yet what makes them different, but I'm assuming they're from a different version server. Requires some wiggling.

IDRAC express is not IDRAC in any form or fashion. You cannot remote console with it. Make sure if you need lights out, you go with the IDRAC license at least one step up from the one which comes with it.

I wish I went with the larger SAS 2.5" HD bays. I bought two of these guys and have already filled in all 8 bays on both. The money I've saved using 3.5" has already been wasted as I will have to buy larger drives and toss the ones I was using.
Other Thoughts: 1100 Watt redundant power supplies required us to update our UPS system..

Found a SMART-UPS 2200 at my neighborhood electronics store (Micr()Center), in town, for 800$. Am I lucky, or what... This ups, with the VMware host operating at an average 15% load, lasts 70 minutes.
Reviewed By:Chris,10/7/2014 12:47:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Avatar > Avatar A-Workstation Mid-Tower ATX Workstation Intel Core i7-4770 3.4 GHz 16GB 120 GB SDD (boot-up drive) 2 TB SATA III 7200 RPM Windows 7 professional (Media DVD included) WS I7-47K600-SSD

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible customer service
Pros: Good machine until it went down and was returned for warranty repair.
Cons: They've had the machine for nearly 2 weeks and 3 days. When I began the RMA process they were very helpful, responding within a day or two. Now that they have the machine, no response. How long does it take to replace a bad CPU?
Other Thoughts: If you question my complaint about their lack of customer service, check their website.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/1/2014 12:22:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Avatar > Avatar Pedestal Tower Workstation System Intel Pentium G3220 3.0GHz 4GB RAM 1TB HDD 7200RPM

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Best Bang for the Buck
Pros: - The main board is a MSI B85M-P33 LGA 1150 Intel B85 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Entry DVI Business Intel Motherboard which is a solid board rated 4/5 stars by everyone. I found it highly compatible and easy to use, and the bios is great.

- The processor clocks in around 3,300 on Passmark and performs quite well considering the price.

- The case is light and solid metal, I don't think it will have any trouble holding up over the next few years. There is plenty of ventilation and 6 additional 120mm fan slots. This PC can be ran on air given that your house/office has basic air conditioning.

- The power supply is a Lepa N350-SB (350w) so it can't handle too much expansion without replacing that. However it can handle a GTX 750 TI (version without the 6 pin power plug) along with an extra SSD and another 4GB stick of ram just fine.

- With SSD we're looking at 2 second boot to desktop with Windows 8.1.

- Added a Radeon 7870 to this and tested it on Planetside 2 running High settings. Got a solid 50-60 FPS across the board. The CPU ended up bottlenecking it slightly in some areas but never any noticeable lag if you aren't watching the FPS tickrate.
Cons: - The RAM that is in this is impossible to find. It's some kind of Team Elite 1600 mhz stuff that is normally only sold in a 4gbx2 pack. This mobo only has 2 dimm slots so to get to 16GB you'll need to buy 2 new sticks altogether.

- The drivers for this board aren't picked up automatically by Windows 8 update. However it did come with a disk that had everything on it. No issues during install.

- 350W Power supply. If you want to upgrade the processor or to a modern video card you're looking at buying a new PSU too.
Other Thoughts: This system had some great cable management. And by great I mean it was better than any standard HP or Dell system is typically set up on the inside. However what's up with these twisty sata cables? Weird.

At $240 I'd be interested in buying a few more of these for family and friends, if they come back in stock...
Reviewed By:Austin ocssinc.com,10/1/2014 5:38:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Avatar > Avatar Pedestal Tower Workstation System Intel Pentium G3220 3.0GHz 4GB RAM 1TB HDD 7200RPM

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great value good components. Needs better workmanship
Pros: All the components are of good quality. I was surprised that they actually used retail components as opposed to bulk buys. In my opinion the quality of the components are even better than what is provided in the bundle deals.
Cons: One of the SATA cables was loose on arrival and the I/O was bent
Other Thoughts: Would purchase it again, but pay close attention to the assembly quality. Giving it a 4 star due to its good value and hope they can fix its assembly quality.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/22/2014 8:29:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8 Ultra Micro Tower Server System Intel Pentium G2020T 2.5GHz 2C/2T 2GB No Hard Drive Operating System None 712318-001

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Private Home lab using HP ESXi Custom image.
Pros: Since I am using this box for my home lab ESXi and I downloaded the HP Customized ESXi Image from hp site, everything work as expected. I don't know which verision of bios the guys were using when complaining about the FAN noise, but mine is quite silent. It is so quiet that I put this box on my desk.
Cons: Maybe the RAM limit size to 16GB would be a con. Price tag for a home lab is a bit high when you have to buy other pieces to make it work.
Other Thoughts: Quiet, small box, easy to install customized ESXi image right from the HP site http://www8.hp.com/us/en/products/servers/solutions.html?compURI=1499005#tab=TAB4 makes this microserver a good choice for home lab.
Reviewed By:Thiago,9/20/2014 10:18:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8 Ultra Micro Tower Server System Intel Celeron G1610T 2.3GHz 2C/2T 2GB No Hard Drive Operating System None 712317-001

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 No more for me
Pros: The CPU can be swapped out, but I found the performance was pretty good the way it is.
The front door panel is much improved over the previous model and it does lock.
Access to memory and SATA connectors is much easier than the previous model.
Cons: The price is $75 too high. Maybe worse.
The one and only power connector available is a FLOPPY power connector.
There are only 2 memory slots.
The 1 stick of proprietary ECC memory included is only 2GB. This server will run non-HP unbuffered ECC RAM but won't show it on the BIOS screen and I can't be certain that the RAM is working correctly/optimally in ECC mode or not.
I can tell you that it would not run my non-ECC memory.
Other Thoughts: The previous model had power supply and rear fan problems. I know because I bought a lot of them and had to replace these parts a year later .However, it was fairly simple to do on the previous model., On this new version, it won't be as easy if necessary.
My next will Dell or Lenovo.
Reviewed By:Mike,9/16/2014 2:34:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > ASRock > ASRock Rack Server System Intel Avoton C2750 Octa Core 12 Bay 3.5" SATA HDD 1U12LW-C2750

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DON'T TOUCH IT
Pros: Building quality looks good , 12 bays in 1u rackmount , very impressive.
Much better memory compatibility than supermicro.
Good RMA service of newegg.
Cons: Can't run on linux/unix (I tried centos,ubuntu,freebsd).
Specifically, the linux/unix driver of those marvell chips sucks.
It would randomly disconnect your HD during a writing test, and show error messages like these
"
ata10.00: exception Emask 0x1 SAct 0x1 SErr 0x180000 action 0x6 frozen
ata10.00: Ata error. fis:0x21
ata10: SError: { 10B8B Dispar }
ata10.00: failed command: READ FPDMA QUEUED
"
The writing test is just a script to copy a big file (aka 2G iso) from memory to HDs over 100 times ,and HDs in intel's ports are fine.
Other Thoughts: I almost bought 30 racks in order to build a hadoop HDFS cluster for work, but I'm glad I tried one before making the purchase, otherwise my boss would have fired me.

If I ever touch asrock / marvell again, I would cut my hands off. Seriously.
Manufacturer Response:Dear ASRock Customer

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Please provide the configuration of your RAID setup. Under a specific RAID configuration, we may need to provide you a special BIOS.
If you have any technical inquiry, please contact us with detail problem description at william@asrockamerica.com. We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock SUPPORT
Tech Support Email: http://event.asrock.com/tsd.asp?ln=en

Reviewed By:The Angry Z,9/12/2014 12:58:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer 70B7002RUX 5U Tower Server - Intel Xeon E5-2420 V2 2.20 GHz

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good Server - Bad Reseller
Pros: This server is exactly what I wanted for my client. It was a more than adequate entry level server with plenty of room for expansion.
Cons: Drive trays had to be purchased separately.
Other Thoughts: I'm very satisfied with the hardware. The poor rating has to do with my experience with the reseller.

The reseller that the machine was sold through totally dropped the ball on this one. This server was supposed to have a redundant power supply but it was shipped with only one power supply module. After speaking a customer service representative, I was assured that they would be shipping me the missing power supply module. 2 Weeks after I made them aware of the situation I called them back to get a status update and I was told that they made a determination that a redundant power supply was an optional feature even though it was clearly captioned in the specifications and 2 power cords were shipped with the server. I will most likely file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau against the reseller as I did not get what I paid for.
Reviewed By:Joe F,9/11/2014 9:37:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau