Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Avatar > Avatar Pedestal Tower Workstation System Intel Pentium G3220 3.0GHz 4GB RAM 1TB HDD 7200RPM

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great value good components. Needs better workmanship
Pros: All the components are of good quality. I was surprised that they actually used retail components as opposed to bulk buys. In my opinion the quality of the components are even better than what is provided in the bundle deals.
Cons: One of the SATA cables was loose on arrival and the I/O was bent
Other Thoughts: Would purchase it again, but pay close attention to the assembly quality. Giving it a 4 star due to its good value and hope they can fix its assembly quality.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/22/2014 8:29:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8 Ultra Micro Tower Server System Intel Pentium G2020T 2.5GHz 2C/2T 2GB No Hard Drive Operating System None 712318-001

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Private Home lab using HP ESXi Custom image.
Pros: Since I am using this box for my home lab ESXi and I downloaded the HP Customized ESXi Image from hp site, everything work as expected. I don't know which verision of bios the guys were using when complaining about the FAN noise, but mine is quite silent. It is so quiet that I put this box on my desk.
Cons: Maybe the RAM limit size to 16GB would be a con. Price tag for a home lab is a bit high when you have to buy other pieces to make it work.
Other Thoughts: Quiet, small box, easy to install customized ESXi image right from the HP site http://www8.hp.com/us/en/products/servers/solutions.html?compURI=1499005#tab=TAB4 makes this microserver a good choice for home lab.
Reviewed By:Thiago,9/20/2014 10:18:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8 Ultra Micro Tower Server System Intel Celeron G1610T 2.3GHz 2C/2T 2GB No Hard Drive Operating System None 712317-001

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 No more for me
Pros: The CPU can be swapped out, but I found the performance was pretty good the way it is.
The front door panel is much improved over the previous model and it does lock.
Access to memory and SATA connectors is much easier than the previous model.
Cons: The price is $75 too high. Maybe worse.
The one and only power connector available is a FLOPPY power connector.
There are only 2 memory slots.
The 1 stick of proprietary ECC memory included is only 2GB. This server will run non-HP unbuffered ECC RAM but won't show it on the BIOS screen and I can't be certain that the RAM is working correctly/optimally in ECC mode or not.
I can tell you that it would not run my non-ECC memory.
Other Thoughts: The previous model had power supply and rear fan problems. I know because I bought a lot of them and had to replace these parts a year later .However, it was fairly simple to do on the previous model., On this new version, it won't be as easy if necessary.
My next will Dell or Lenovo.
Reviewed By:Mike,9/16/2014 2:34:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > ASRock > ASRock Rack Server System Intel Avoton C2750 Octa Core 12 Bay 3.5" SATA HDD 1U12LW-C2750

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DON'T TOUCH IT
Pros: Building quality looks good , 12 bays in 1u rackmount , very impressive.
Much better memory compatibility than supermicro.
Good RMA service of newegg.
Cons: Can't run on linux/unix (I tried centos,ubuntu,freebsd).
Specifically, the linux/unix driver of those marvell chips sucks.
It would randomly disconnect your HD during a writing test, and show error messages like these
"
ata10.00: exception Emask 0x1 SAct 0x1 SErr 0x180000 action 0x6 frozen
ata10.00: Ata error. fis:0x21
ata10: SError: { 10B8B Dispar }
ata10.00: failed command: READ FPDMA QUEUED
"
The writing test is just a script to copy a big file (aka 2G iso) from memory to HDs over 100 times ,and HDs in intel's ports are fine.
Other Thoughts: I almost bought 30 racks in order to build a hadoop HDFS cluster for work, but I'm glad I tried one before making the purchase, otherwise my boss would have fired me.

If I ever touch asrock / marvell again, I would cut my hands off. Seriously.
Manufacturer Response:Dear ASRock Customer

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Please provide the configuration of your RAID setup. Under a specific RAID configuration, we may need to provide you a special BIOS.
If you have any technical inquiry, please contact us with detail problem description at william@asrockamerica.com. We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock SUPPORT
Tech Support Email: http://event.asrock.com/tsd.asp?ln=en

Reviewed By:The Angry Z,9/12/2014 12:58:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer 70B7002RUX 5U Tower Server - Intel Xeon E5-2420 V2 2.20 GHz

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good Server - Bad Reseller
Pros: This server is exactly what I wanted for my client. It was a more than adequate entry level server with plenty of room for expansion.
Cons: Drive trays had to be purchased separately.
Other Thoughts: I'm very satisfied with the hardware. The poor rating has to do with my experience with the reseller.

The reseller that the machine was sold through totally dropped the ball on this one. This server was supposed to have a redundant power supply but it was shipped with only one power supply module. After speaking a customer service representative, I was assured that they would be shipping me the missing power supply module. 2 Weeks after I made them aware of the situation I called them back to get a status update and I was told that they made a determination that a redundant power supply was an optional feature even though it was clearly captioned in the specifications and 2 power cords were shipped with the server. I will most likely file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau against the reseller as I did not get what I paid for.
Reviewed By:Joe F,9/11/2014 9:37:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB 2 x 500 GB 7200 RPM 3.5" Operating System Microsoft Windows Server 2012 Essential ROK - English/French/Italian/German/Spanish/Japanese 70A4001RUS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Neat little server
Pros: Everything comes pre-installed, so I didn't have to piece anything together. EXTREMELY quiet, BIG PLUS.
Cons: 4GB RAM... seriously? It's tough to find decent RAM that works for all these entry level servers without paying way too much.

Also, server 2012 essentials has its own quirks, but that's nothing to do with the server, itself.
Other Thoughts: Even though it only comes with 4GB RAM it seems to keep up with Windows 2012 Essentials so that there's no choppiness when I'm doing anything on it.
Reviewed By:Lane H,9/6/2014 7:58:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1220V2 3.1GHz 4C/4T 2GB Operating System None 737649-S01

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not this one
Pros: It has a Xeon processor.
Cons: Two big problems:
1) The one I got is used, not new. "open-box"
2) There is only 1 mount for a 3.5 hard drive
The case is flimsy and internal cabling is unorganized
*Minus three stars.
Other Thoughts: I'm returning it. Apparently someone else got this one, opened it and discovered it only had 1 mount for a 3.5 hard drive and then sent it back without making a note of it in here.
Reviewed By:Conrad,9/3/2014 1:09:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > DELL > Dell PowerEdge T20 Mini-tower Server System Intel Pentium G3220, 4GB Memory

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little server
Pros: Cheap, quite, more than powerful enough to act as a Plex Media server and file/print server.
Cons: Not really a con, but it only supports 4 internal drives (3.5"). To use the full 6 you need an option adapter and even then, you must use the small 2.5" drives. Again, not a problem at all and it is clearly listed in the foot notes.
Other Thoughts: Its a good little server for light duty stuff. You'll probably need to add RAM for something heavier like VMware (or any other HyperVisor) but thats not what this box is for.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2014 8:10:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Habey > Habey EPC-6668 Desktop Dual GbE Mini ITX Network Appliance/NVR/Server Barebone with Intel Atom D525 processor

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA x2...
Pros: nice specs... should do what I needed...
Cons: RMA replacement was also DOA. I tried multiple screens, multiple keyboards/mice, different hard drives and RAM and the system would never POST. It has pretty blue LEDs which work but nothing more.

Tried calling the Manufacturer multiple times with no answer and left messages asking for a call-back. Never received one in 3 weeks trying. Also sent emails without a single response. If they would have ever responded and would have helped me get this system operating, maybe I'd be happy, unfortunately they never responded and they get a bad reputation.
Other Thoughts: Hopefully others will have a better experience than I have.
Reviewed By:John F.,8/23/2014 5:04:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant MicroServer G7 N54L 1P 4GB-U Non-hot Plug SATA 150W PS Server (744900-001)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Nice little server but....
Pros: Compact and intelligently laid out. Works with Windows, Linux so flexible as far as OS goes. Easy access hard drives.
Cons: Proprietary motherboard. Would have been nice if HP had used a standard size motherboard. If the one in the box fails, you have to replace it with the exact HP part number. If out of warranty, the motherboard costs almost as much as the entire server. Would be nice if there was an off the shelf motherboard replacement for this otherwise very nice case and internals.

4 USB 2.0 sockets on the front. Would be nice if they substituted two of those with a USB 3.o and eSata connection instead.
Other Thoughts: I really like this little server other than the rather large issues I listed above. Nice build quality and easy to work with. If I had had a less expensive alternative to the HP motherboard when I needed a replacement, I would have given this 5 stars. Just does not seem right that this one part essentially turns the server into scrap when it fails.

FYI, I did like it enough to buy another one of these servers after the first server died after less than 2 year's use.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/18/2014 10:20:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau