Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS440 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1245 v3 3.4GHz 4C/8T 4GB DDR3 1600 None 70AQ000CUX

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Software does not work
Pros: A quite server as many reviewers indicated. Low cost Server that meets small business needs.
Cons: One egg point off because the installation software stopped working halfway through the installation process. Freeze up the computer at the point when asking to insert the purchased WIN Server 2012 R2. Called Tech Support and downloaded newer version of installation software, but problem still not resolved. I ended up installing Win Server 2012 R2 without the help of installation software. The claimed bundled Roxio DVD burner software is nowhere to be found.
Another egg point off due to hassle that I experienced of working around to get hot swap hard disks installed. As another reviewer indicated, unless you want to spend a fortune to buy Lenovo Hot SWAP HD, you will have to take lots of effort to source the correct tray caddy for your hard disk. I installed two WD 3.5 inch hard disks for data and two Solid State Disks for Sever and applications with a RAID 10 configuration. I had to buy 4 caddies for the 3.5 inch disks and Solid Disks. Additional frame for Solid Disk to mount on the 3.5 inch tray caddy. Need two SATA cables to connect Solid Disks to the RAID board. All these hassle could have been avoided if Lenovo just make the Hot SWAP framework easier for their customer.
Reviewed By:Cowboy,4/14/2015 7:59:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB DDR3 1600 1 x 500GB 7200RPM 3.5" None 70A4001MUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Little Server.
Pros: Great little server for a small to medium sized business. I am using these to update file, print and database servers. Using Windows 2012 server as the OS and multiple hard drives in a RAID 5 array.
Cons: Not enough memory in my opinion but easy enough to fix. Also only has enough internal bays for 2 hard drives. For a 3rd you will need a 5 1/4 to 3 1/2 adapter.
Other Thoughts: Would recommend this for anyone needing a small quiet server for file and print sharing and/or database server.
Reviewed By:GEORGE F.,4/9/2015 5:39:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer 70B7002KUX 5U Tower Server - Intel Xeon E5-2407 v2 2.40 GHz

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not as quiet as advertised
Pros: affordability
Cons: noise
Other Thoughts: Purchased this server because it was advertised to run quietly. Couldn't be more misleading. Compared to previous generation Lenovo servers (I have 2 TD230s) which ran very quietly, these generate so much noise that I hate leaving it running. Really disappointing.
Reviewed By:Dave,4/8/2015 2:45:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1220 v2 (4 core, 3.1 GHz, 8MB, 69W) 2GB Single Rank x8 PC3-12800E Memory None 737649-S01

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very nice for the price but some drawbacks
Pros: Works fine
Immense value for the money
Cons: Unbelievably cheap case
Incredibly loud back fan
Only one normal size drive bay
Other Thoughts: Remember that this is a barebones. You will need to add a HDD and RAM (only comes with 2gb) and an optical drive.

The back case fan is INCREDIBLY noisy, even at its slower speeds when the ambient temp is cold. It's almost comically loud. BUT that said, it's a little fully monitored (HP ILO) server for a good price if you can stand the noise. I use it as a house file server to serve streaming media and for a syslog server. For these tasks, it works great and has been very reliable. As long as you know what you're getting into and just need a reliable little file server that can also run some basic processes such as a syslog server, this is a great deal.
Reviewed By:buttersh,4/7/2015 8:56:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Core i3-4130 3.4GHz 4GB 70A4000HUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Little Server
Pros: Great little server. I added a second 4GB matching memory and the TS140 really purrs along (very quiet). Processer is able to handle Windows Server 2012 Standard without a hiccup! I recommend this lower end Server.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I have not installed any high end applications or done any high end processing. Only running the operating system and using for File Storage in back office. Tom (computer tech 18+ years_
Reviewed By:ttek,4/7/2015 4:34:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer 70B7002RUX 5U Tower Server - Intel Xeon E5-2420 V2 2.20 GHz

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Server
Pros: Quietness, ease of maintenance, flexible upgrade capability.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Arrived exactly as described. This server does have the capability for dual redundant power supplies but it only ships with one module as the other review points out. For the price I did not expect two modules. I also did not expect to see a second backplane installed for 8 total drives. That was a nice surprise.
Reviewed By:Matt,4/6/2015 6:29:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB DDR3 1600 1 x 500GB 7200RPM 3.5" None 70A4001MUX

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not a Server
Pros: None
Cons: 1) Installed 4 GB RAM - Expandable to 4 X 8 GB (meaning you must discard the installed 4 GB RAM; What a waste. Also should be ECC RAM.
2) 280 Watt PSU - Anemic to say the least; Definitely not adequate for a "true server"; Also a true server should have hot-swappable PSU's
3) 1 X 500 GB HDD. By contrast I have 60 TB's, but I always buy WD Greens cause they spin down when not in use, resulting in lower failure rates. A True Server should use WD RED's.

I could go on but I'll just keep it simple. This is a server for those who want bragging rights but don't really understand what a server actually is. Cruelly put, Lipstick on a Pig.
Other Thoughts: Build your own with a true Full Tower case for 8+ HDD's, a 750 Watt+ Seasonic PSU (plenty of headroom), 16 GB minimum of ECC RAM, Decent multicore CPU
Reviewed By:incurablegeek,4/5/2015 6:47:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
2 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant DL380 G5 Rack Server System (B-grade Scratch and Dent) 2 x (Intel Xeon 5160 3.0GHz 2C/2T) 8GB FB DDR2 667,PC2-5300 8 x 72GB 10000RPM 2.5" SAS RCHPDL380-G5-N3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent server!
Pros: Excellent server! I bought some extra 2Tb hard drives to plus up the storage and this server has been flawless so far!
Cons: Would be nice if it included a battery for the P800 controller. For the write caching to work you need to have the batteries.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/31/2015 8:12:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1220 v2 (4 core, 3.1 GHz, 8MB, 69W) 2GB Single Rank x8 PC3-12800E Memory None 737649-S01

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 HP Proliant Server
Pros: Great server for the money. Hp utilities and hardware are top notch. SAS controller for up to 4 SAS drives, 2 SATA II hubs, great fan ventilation, etc
Cons: no racks for storage unless you want to spend $60 on the carrier. Also only 2 SATA connections is lame. 1 optical drive tray (could be turned into 2 or 4-2.5 trays with a converter.
Other Thoughts: I am using this as a dual bootable server/workstation. I bought a SYBA SD-CM-UAUD USB Stereo Audio Adapter since it has no onboard audio. Also I bought a C2G 32185 USB to PS/2 Keyboard/Mouse Adapter since it has no PS2 connections. Also picked up some 40-Pin DDR3 SDRAM ECC Unbuffered DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Server Memory from newegg too. (I believe non-ECC memory will NOT work).

I dropped a 1GB 3 port video card in and it worked fine. Almost RMA'd it since on first start I just got yellow blinking error lights and continuous power-up and power-downs. I had to disconnect everything and flash the bios a few times to get it to power up... but since it has worked fine. Mobo has an internal USB connector (thus total of 7, 2 front, 4 back, 1 internal). No USB 3.0! planning on getting a pci adapter for that. Also planning on getting a SAS cable and some 2.5 plastic trays to hold them in there will-nilly.
Reviewed By:lance,3/30/2015 3:43:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Core i3-4130 3.4GHz 4GB 70A4000HUX

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Network Interface Card has big problems with Linux
Pros: The system is inexpensive and runs well overall.
Cons: If you are running Linux, beware. There is an issue with the Network Interface Card randomly resetting. I system as a web server for a customer and it was a nightmare troubleshooting the issue. I finally disabled the internal NIC and replaced it with another manufacturer's. The issue with the network that was a regular daily event has not reappeared in at least 6 months, since I replaced the NIC.
Reviewed By:Eric S.,3/30/2015 1:13:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.