Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant DL380 G5 Server Xeon 5160 3.00GHz 8GB (4 x 2GB) Fully Buffer DDR2-667, PC2-5300 4 x 146GB 10K SAS 2.5" RCDL380G5-N8

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great server at a discount.
Pros: - Hardware RAID controller
- Two dual core Xeon 5160 3.00GHz (GCC "core2" subarch)
Cons: - Few minor scratches
- Advertised as single quad-core processor
- Firmware shipped out of date, possibly corrupted (but of course easily updated on Linux)
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/28/2016 10:34:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 v2 Tower Server System Xeon E3-1220v3 3.1 GHz 4 GB RAM DVD-RW

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Full of frustration
Pros: Hardware is a good value.
Nice 4U case
Cons: -Getting software is a nightmare!!!!
-HPE web site is a nightmare!!!!
-Warranty started 7 months before I purchased the server????
-Power supply may be on the small side if you load the case.
Other Thoughts: Fix the cons and it would get more eggs. Add 4 GB more RAM and it would get even more eggs.
Reviewed By:Bryan M.,4/27/2016 3:20:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 v2 Tower Server System Xeon E3-1220v3 3.1 GHz 4 GB RAM DVD-RW

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very good home server
Pros: - Easy physical install
- HP iLO is a great help
- Good space to install disks (not as comfortable as a hot swap bay but easy enough)
- Cheap for a 4C Xeon
Cons: - As with others, by registering on HPE the warranty dates were wrong. Had a case opened with proof of purchase and got it corrected. As a note, I had the exact same issue with WD on two 3TB Red disks, same solution (open case with WD)
- Outdated software out of the box. Upgrade iLO first. No need to upgrade RAID card (see below)
- On-board RAID is not hardware, if you do RAID on B120 then you cannot move the array easily to another machine/controller. Since the RAID is software-based anyway, just use the OS RAID which is portable.
- iLO is basic, need license to have Remote Console after POST. HP has evaluation for advanced license, you can easily find original licenses for sale on auction sites for 25-45 USD.
Other Thoughts: If you don't have iLO Advanced License, make sure you have a monitor supporting VGA output. Some recent TVs doesn't have this kind of input anymore. I setup mine by getting an eval iLO Advanced License, make sure you upgrade the iLO before you apply the license or it might lose it after power off and not allow the eval to be re-used. In such case, reset the iLO configuration from the BIOS and enter it again.
Reviewed By:Silvio F.,4/21/2016 5:04:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 v2 Tower Server System i3-4150 3.5 GHz 4 GB RAM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Server for buidling a NAS Server
Pros: Great Server, I am using it as a NAS Server, I download FreeNAS, running it as my backup and plex server. I like the built-in ILO4 because I can get to the remote console window, power it down and up via the network with out having to plug a monitor and keyboard into the server. I upgraded it to 16GB of memory, note ECC Memory is a little more expensive. I added 4 - 3TB Drives to the drive cage. It has cables for 4 Drives all ready in the case and two SATA connections for DVD etc. The Fan is loud when you first power it on but once it goes through all it checks, the fan slows down and its quiet as any other Desktop or Server that I own. I did not setup the RAID on the Drives because I am using the FreeNAS to manage the Volumes at RAID10.
Cons: The Case little bigger and deeper then the Microservers that I own.
I wish it had the drive carriers to slide into the Drive Cage, you have to remove install the drives and slide back in and connect the cables.
The reboot time is a little long since the Proliant has some many checks built in.
Other Thoughts: Newegg has a few builds of these server, so you can choose the processor that you want etc.
Reviewed By:S T.,4/14/2016 5:35:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 v2 Tower Server System i3-4150v3 3.5 GHz 8 GB RAM 500GB SATA 7.2K

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 No docs
Pros: Some decent workgroup-level server features
Runs quietly
Decent price point
Cons: No docs
SATA controller doesn't support hot swapping
Warranty is only 90 days
POST is rather slow
Other Thoughts: Update to earlier review. Apparently some users received CDs with theirs; mine came with nothing but the case keys, not even a (standard, fortunately) power cord. Expecting your customers to be technically competent is one thing; expecting them to be intimately familiar with your hardware (or having the spare time--or indeed Internet access at the install site--to hunt down online docs) is another. It wouldn't have taken much to include a CD of the PDFs I eventually hunted down.

The on-board HPE Dynamic Smart Array B120i Controller identifies as an Intel "8 Series/C220 Series" and you may need to go into RBSU (ROM-Based Setup Utility) to tweak some settings. There are user guides online for both the Smart Array B120i/B130i and for RBSU. This video may help some users to ensure the controller is active and in the boot device order, enable AHCI and/or Legacy boot compatibility if needed, and enable access to the Virtual Install Disk for those running MSWin and needing device drivers:

https://youtu.be/QSQWJCbvpAA

HP only officially supports a handful of OSes on the ProLiant series, such as Windows Server, RHEL, SLES, and Solaris. However, contrary to what I'd originally reported, I now have a test install of FreeBSD running on mine.

As of now, after having the server only a couple weeks, I'm upgrading the rating to 4, with 1 point knocked off for the lack of included docs which resulted in unnecessarily wasted time, the short warranty, and the array controller limitations.
Manufacturer Response:Sean,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with HP Enterprise. We greatly appreciate hearing it so that we can ensure that you are happy! Regarding the CDs & Documents, would you like us to see if we can get those to you? If so please let us know.

HPE Server Team

Reviewed By:Sean S.,4/4/2016 8:51:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Core i3-4130 3.4 GHz 4GB 70A4000HUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great box for a great price(I picked it up around Thanksgiving 2015)
Pros: quiet and inexpensive. Easy to install hard drives, memory, and replace DVD drive. Easy Windows 10 install.
Cons: A little larger enclosure than I needed
Other Thoughts: Mine came with a 500GB drive for some reason. Which I have no use for so I guess it will go in my ever growing pile of small platter Hard drives.
Reviewed By:Aaron T.,4/4/2016 7:40:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 v2 Tower Server System Xeon E3-1220v3 3.1 GHz 4 GB RAM DVD-RW

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great specs for the price but difficult to set up
Pros: Entry level Xeon processor that's excellent for a small business or lab server. Well-built and very quiet, can be set up in the office without bothering anyone. Ability to connect 5 HDDs/SSDs (6 if you don't need the optical drive). Uses a standard ATX power supply.
Cons: As others have said, you need to download the latest Service Pack for ProLiant (SPP) from HP to use the darn thing. I couldn't enter the RAID controller configuration without it, so I was unable to install an OS out of the box. Not only is it a 5.12GB download, you have to sign in to HP's website with an active warranty or support agreement to "officially" obtain it. I tried and tried to jump through all of the hoops I was supposed to go through but eventually ended up searching for an alternate download location. Luckily, HP does have a public FTP/HTTP site where you can download it (I would link to it here but I don't think Newegg likes that). After I was finally able to configure my RAID arrays and booted to the OS media, I could not find the correct RAID driver on the SPP disc in all of its 5.12GB glory. After another web search I found the right driver and eventually got everything going but I am glad I wasn't under a strict deadline since it took much longer than I anticipated to configure.
Other Thoughts: I have worked with several similar entry-level servers from Lenovo, Dell and custom built a few of my own and have never had as much trouble as I did with this HP. I guess if you know what you're getting yourself into it is fine but I really find it unnecessary for HP to make a simple small office server setup so difficult.
Reviewed By:Tony W.,3/31/2016 9:49:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Habey > Habey Fanless System Intel Bay Trail Celeron J1900 Quad Core 2.0 GHz BIS-6774-J1900 with 3 x LANs

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good for firewall like Sophos
Pros: Small, compact, silent and solid build and feel
Cons: No manual, no mounting screws for the internal components needed to operate like sata drive, msata or wifi card mounting screws so your on your own also you have to figure out how to get it apart to install hardware.
Other Thoughts: This could have been a winner but the manufacture decided to save 10 cents on screws and manual.
Reviewed By:David S.,3/28/2016 4:15:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB 70A4001LUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great SMB or Home Server
Pros: fast and relatively quiet.
stable
Cons: none so far.
Other Thoughts: Great server for the money. I am using it at home to do some home dev project and run a few servers as VM's (web, mail, Minecraft). Works really well and is very stable.
Reviewed By:Robert P.,3/28/2016 9:58:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 v2 Tower Server System Xeon E3-1220v3 3.1 GHz 4 GB RAM DVD-RW

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Warranty with the manufacturer begin Aug 2015 and I order server March 2016
Pros: The price is good, machine start-up good and shipping was fast. Also the server have SAS/SATA controller.
Cons: The warranty begin in August 2015, and I order the server in March 2016 After contact Newegg, HP they put the warranty running from Jan 2016. Funny Part. for download the Service Pack for Proliant Server SPP you have to had a valid warranty and of course I have to call HP Support. 2 days in the road losing time. After 6 hrs. in the second day HPrepresentative was able to post the service pack in the fpt server and I finally was able to download. Newegg never mentioned in the product page problems with the warranty or product was previously use/refurbished.
Manufacturer Response:Jesus,

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. We want to ensure you get the full 12 month warranty that came with the purchase of your server. Can you share with me the Serial # of the unit so that we can get this corrected right away for you?

Thank You,
HPE Server Team

Reviewed By:Jesus R.,3/28/2016 7:12:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.