Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant MicroServer G7 N54L 1P 4GB-U Non-hot Plug SATA 150W PS Server (744900-001)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing little server, small & quiet. With ample expansion
Pros: Well built, small footprint (important for me) and good expandability.
Neat little design
Cons: I'm not thrilled about the HP support requiring registration to d/l drivers. And once the warranty period expires I am lead to believe I will not have access to firmware updates (unless I purchase a smartnet extension).
Other Thoughts: I purchased this with four 4TB hard drives running RAID 5 off a Highpoint Rocketraid 2720SGL. I am booting from a Crucial 128SSD to CENTOS 6.5. And for added expandability I installed a Icy Dock 3.5/2.5 hot swap drive dock and a 4 port USB 3.0 Card. I had a low profile ASUS SBW-06C1S-U/DBLU/G blu ray burner to round out the deployment. 12TB Raid, 6TB docked drives of storage. Surprisingly fassst!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/10/2014 10:53:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant DL380 G5 Rack Server System ( B-grade Scratch and Dent) 2 x (Intel Xeon 5160 3.0GHz 2C/2T) 8GB 2 x 72GB 10000RPM 2.5" SAS RCHPDL380-G5-N1

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 One of the HDD's was DOA
Pros: Everything worked except for the faulty HDD
Cons: One of the Hard Drives was Dead on arrival, it will spin up but it is just dead and won't work, am very dissapointed in newegg
Other Thoughts: Test the HDD's before shipping them out to your customers
Reviewed By:John Doe,7/9/2014 10:04:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant MicroServer G7 N54L 1P 4GB-U Non-hot Plug SATA 150W PS Server (744900-001)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Once you update BIOS and you're on easy street
Pros: I picked this server for it's compactness and more importantly, it's great expandability.

The insides are simple and easy to configure. Adding a low-profile HDMI-compliant graphics card was a cinch (bottom Motherboard screws off and comes out easily).

The noise level is very quiet, whisper quiet in fact. I never hear this thing while I use it (have it hooked up as a Home Theater PC).

Word of caution: if you're are planning on installing Windows Server 2012 on here (any version) you MUST UPDATE THE BIOS!!!! The board will not take the installation if you don't.

Search online for the BIOS update because the link on HP's site is a nightmare!

All in all, a great purchase. :)
Cons: Only has a single VGA output on motherboard.

No USB 3.0

That's all.
Reviewed By:Matt,7/8/2014 9:45:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer 70AB001UUX 1U Rack Server - 1 x Intel Xeon E5-2407 v2 2.40 GHz

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Lol
Pros: Lenovo's included raid configuration and server OS installation utilities made Windows Server 2012 Standard a breeze to install.
Cons: Lenovo's 4 hot swappable hard drive bays shown in the picture (Part# FRU03x3968) have no purpose other than to force you to purchase the actual drive bays that can hold 3.5" drives (FRU03x3969) via third party.
You can mount hard drives in the bays and leave the trays out of the machine, or find the actual trays on 'a certain 3rd party auction site'.
After 30 minutes and speaking with 5 different sales technicians and technical support technicians, I was informed that Lenovo will not sell any customer just the HDD tray. They will only sell them to you if you purchase the server directly from Lenovo and bundle it with Lenovo branded drives. I've had to settle with going to 'a certain 3rd party auction site' to purchase the actual trays at 25 dollars a piece. This will be the first and last Lenovo server I buy.
Other Thoughts: Don't let the picture fool you. It's 28 3/8 inches deep. Not a pro or con, just FYI when you're looking at rack mounting requirements.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/8/2014 7:11:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant G7 N54L MicroServer Server System AMD Turion II Model Neo N54L 2GB 250GB LFF Operating System None 704941-001

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wonderful Experience
Pros: Quiet
Small
Runs cool (averages ~36C, maxes out ~57C)
Reliable
Awesome support from HP
Low power consumption
Relatively easy to work on
Cons: Processing power is a little lacking but that is expected with an AMD Turion II.
Had one issue early on with the motherboard where the server wasn't able to boot up at all (wouldn't post or anything). However HP support was very easy to deal with and they promptly shipped me out a replacement motherboard, free of charge, which resolved all of my problems.
Other Thoughts: Running with:
Windows Server Essentials 2012
Upgraded to 8GB of RAM (Kingston 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) ECC Unbuffered Server Memory Model KVR1333D3E9SK2/8G)
2x2TB WD Red drives
1x1TB WD Blue drive
1x500GB WD Blue drive (mounted in the optical drive space using KINGWIN HDM-229 Metal Mounting Kit)
1x250GB drive

Have this running as my home server that I use mainly for streaming content to a Roku 3 using Plex. Works great, but because it only has an AMD Turion, it struggles to transcode large 1080p content, but this is expected. Most of the content I watch isn't in 1080p and if it is, I can convert the media in advance to a format that doesn't need transcoding for the Roku. Bought this over building myself a new rig primarily because I wanted something that would use very little power and that would be "server" reliable, and that's exactly what this little box has been.

Other things I use it for as well:
- File sharing server (can access files from anywhere using Tonido)
- Mumble server
- Print server
- Crashplan backup destination
- Photo backup server using Bittorrent Sync
- Remotely manage it via Teamviewer
Reviewed By:Ahslan,6/30/2014 8:10:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML310e Gen8 Micro Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1230 v3 3.3 GHz 4C/8T 2 x 4GB No Hard Drive Operating System None 736661-S01

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Update
Pros: Update to my Earlier Review, See cons
Cons: Update form my previous review, The packaging does not include ANY Drive Trays. This was not listed on the product description at the time of my purchase. Instead what it comes with are three dummy trays that fill the open slots but cannot have drives mounted to them. Wish I had known this from the start so i could have ordered the trays at the same time instead of having to wait from them to arrive.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/24/2014 6:47:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML310e Gen8 Micro Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1230 v3 3.3 GHz 4C/8T 2 x 4GB No Hard Drive Operating System None 736661-S01

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Beautiful with one Omission
Pros: Beautiful looking chassis with tool free design and very high build quality. Small form factor made it perfect as a replacement to an older home server with respectable performance. Robust build quality, no flex in the case and all components mounted solid as a rock.
Cons: Only con i have so far is that they neglected to mention that it came sans 1 drive caddy. I'm assuming that's the drive that's not included but the least they could have done was give me the caddy. The caddy's themselves are $33 which after spending $700 on a server feels like a low blow.
Other Thoughts: In general I'm very happy with this machine, its performance and expand-ability are perfect for my needs and all wrapped up in a beautiful case make it a solid choice. Newegg was awesome as usual with incredibly quick delivery. Only real thorn in my side with it is that HP hits you with a hidden $33 charge for the caddy that they remove from the machine when they take the hard drive. Would give 5 stars if it had came with all 4 drive caddys.
Reviewed By:DrexLock,6/21/2014 9:51:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant N40L MicroServer Server System AMD Turion II Neo N40L 1.5GHz 2-Core 2GB (1 x 2GB) 1 x 250GB LFF SATA 658553-001

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 HDD Failure
Pros: ProLiant MicroServer is great. This review is about the OEM Seagate HDD.
Cons: After receiving the ProLiant, I immediately pulled the original Seagate 250GB HDD to install a 2TB RAID configuration. This week I installed the Seagate 250GB HDD in another system. It failed in less than an hour. Seagate does not honor its usual warranty because this is regarded as an OEM drive. HP's warranty is only for one year. The drive is junk, and Seagate's failure to honor their normal warranty leads to major loss of customer loyalty.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/12/2014 10:37:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB No Hard Drive Operating System None 70A4001LUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice little server
Pros: Good entry level server to set up Windows Server 2012 Hyper-V for learning and experimenting. Very quiet and efficient. Just add SSD and enough RAM and I got a Windows 8, Sharepoint, Linux...set up to play with.
Cons: Server memory is expensive and it was hard to find good matching used ones. I ended up buying Crucial from NewEgg (1.35V, 16GB kit, UDIMM ECC) which worked very well.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/12/2014 8:22:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8 Ultra Micro Tower Server System Intel Celeron G1610T 2.3GHz 2C/2T 2GB No Hard Drive Operating System None 712317-001

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little box
Pros: Super compact size, space for lots of disks, easy to work on, attractive design, and value for the money. Easy to upgrade RAM. Celeron performs better than you'd expect.
Cons: Cabled, non-redundant power supply (though not super proprietary or difficult to find, which is good.)
Other Thoughts: I haven't had the noise issues that other have. It's nearly silent in my configuration. It's running Server 2008 R2 as a domain controller/print server in a small remote office.

I added a 4GB chip of RAM to get up to 6GB total (not HP's, just normal ECC).

I have 2 drives in a RAID 1, one as a standalone drive for backups, and one as a hot spare. Runs great!
Reviewed By:Dave,6/12/2014 6:41:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau