Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1220V2 3.1GHz 4C/4T 2GB Operating System None 737649-S01

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Could have been nice
Pros: 1. Like the previous reviewer said, it's got a Xeon in it.
2. It is a small case. Even smaller than a Lenovo TS140.
3. Very quiet. I can barely tell it's even turned on.
4. Light weight (since there is nothing in it but a MB, CPU, and PSU)
Cons: Like the previous reviewer also mentioned, only 1... yes ONE slot for a single 3.5" hard drive. Now there is right above it a place for a 2.5" drive as well. Luckily that was my plan anyway. I'm installing a 2.5" SSD for the OS and a 2TB 3.5" for storage. However if your plan was to take advantage of RAID you will need to get some duct tape or buy an "accessory" part from HP called a " hard drive enablement kit " for $60. Very poor decision on HP's part.
Other Thoughts: I bought this because it was ridiculously cheap for a Xeon server. I knew it didn't have hard drives but what I didn't know is that it would only take a single 3.5" drive.

I've bought some HP Proliants in the past year or two, ranging from mid level to this one. They are all designed a little strangely and while they do work are not the easiest things to setup or install right out of the box. I think this has made me want to never buy another HP server again for that reason.

I'm really not upset just very tired of seeing HP make mistakes like this. There is not a single reason in the world that justifies designing a case to only accept 1 drive unless you're trying to make money by selling an "accessory" to the customer. Something that should have been included in the first place. It's like buying a car and the manufacturer says they will offer you a passenger seat for an additional fee. Stick with printers HP because your servers are lousy.
Reviewed By:JohnF,12/26/2014 10:48:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB 70A4001LUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Value
Pros: Value! CPU + RAM + Power Supply is about what I paid (on sale) it's like getting a case & RAID Motherboard for free! Running 2 1080p monitors on the built-in display ports & RAID 0 Intel SSDs. This is a zoomer for the Web Browsing & Office work my wife does. After POST it is less than 10 seconds to Windows 8 logon.
Cons: I needed to load 2 drivers that Windows Update didn't locate. There is not enough built-in Power Supply to make this a gaming machine or large storage array.
Other Thoughts: I'm running one as a workstation and 2 as low-end servers. I would buy more in a flash if I needed a lab / low end server.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/25/2014 12:23:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant MicroServer G7 N54L 1P 4GB-U Non-hot Plug SATA 150W PS Server (744900-001)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Replacement unit seems OK
Pros: Small, faster then my old N40L, same layout, takes at least 16GB or ECC RAM. Low noise fan for the hard drives, no fan for CPU, less things to go wrong. Works with Kingston ValueRAM 4GB 240 pin DDR3 1333 ECC Unbuffered memory KVR1333D3E9S/4G and KVR1333D3E9S/8G.
Cons: BIOS does not recognize the same PS2 keyboard to USB which works fine with N40L. USB keyboard attached directly works - but my KVM does not. No software updates unless you register, including BIOS updates needed to fix known bugs. Provides only Molex 4 pin power, need to get separately an adapter for SATA power. No SATA cable for the optical drive slot included.
Other Thoughts: Easy to fit a mesh blank panel for the optical drive slot instead of the solid plastic it comes with. Good place for a fifth 3.5" drive and plenty of room for a 2.5" boot drive as well (with a PCI Xpress adapter for extra SATA ports). It also has inside the box an open slot for a USB stick, so if your OS can boot from USB, it is a very nice touch.
Reviewed By:Luc P.,12/24/2014 7:20:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB 1 x 500GB 7200RPM 3.5" Operating System None 70A4001MUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Really up to the challenge!
Pros: -Fast CPU
-has 4 ram slots
-usb 3
-can add more internal hdds
Cons: None I can say except note that it doesn't have an OS. This is standard for a server. I loaded Windows 2012R2
Other Thoughts: Already getting 4 more gigs of ram
Reviewed By:N/A,12/24/2014 3:42:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB 70A4001LUX

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worst support ever had
Pros: None
Cons: Put in a HP P400 raid controller and cannot be detected by the system. Call their tech support and was told only Lenovo raid controller can be supported (did Lenovo ever sell raid controller)? Asked whether IBM raid controller can be supported? And the answer is No! Then asked which can be be supported, and the answer is, because it is a low end server, NONE can be supported.
Before this, I don't believe when some people talk about Lenovo tech support are so bad, most of the rep don't have basic tech knowledge to help, now I have to agree with them.
Other Thoughts: Avoid Lenovo product if you can. This server does work under ESXi 5/5.1/5.5, but it cannot properly passthrough a good video card. And because the PSU is so weak, you may have to use another PSU (a 24pin to 14pin converted is required) to support your video card. It also cannot detect some old HDD controller (for example, controllers that use Sil3132 chip set or some very old LSI chip set). If you ever need their tech supprt, be prepared to meet those unqualified tech rep and regret to ever buy their product.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/22/2014 3:01:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB 70A4001LUX

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worst support ever had
Pros: None
Cons: Have a very old raid controller HP P400, cannot be detected by the system. Call their tech support, was told they are not supported, only Lenovo raid controller can be supported (does Lenovo ever sell a raid controller?). Then asked which one could be supported, told because it was a low end server system, NONE could be supported. Before this, I don't believe when some people talk about Lenovo tech support is so bad, most of them don't even have basic technical knowledge to help, now I have to agree with them.
Other Thoughts: Avoid Lenovo product if you can. This TS140 does work under ESXI 5/5.1/5.5, but it cannot passthrough video card properly. It also cannot detect some HDD controller properly (for example, HDD controller using Sil3132 chip set and some very old LSI chip set). And if you ever need tech support from them, you wil be regretted to have their product.
Reviewed By:Phil,12/22/2014 2:43:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant MicroServer G7 N54L 1P 4GB-U Non-hot Plug SATA 150W PS Server (744900-001)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 BIOS updates only during warranty period
Pros: Owning the hardware isn't sufficient for BIOS updates. You must be within warranty period. And I don't know how they determine the start date of your 1 year window -- it was BEFORE I purchased it.
Cons: HP bureaucracy
Other Thoughts: You must link an "entitlement" with your user ID. Not my words, HP's.
Reviewed By:g00ber,12/17/2014 11:35:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant MicroServer G7 N54L 1P 4GB-U Non-hot Plug SATA 150W PS Server (744900-001)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice Little Server
Pros: Perfect little server for a Plex server, I put 4 3tb hard drives and raided them to 5, software raid in windows 2012, mines came with the latest bios which for this unit in 10/2013 version, There is no other bios for this unit other then those hacked ones that will most likely brick your server. Don't know what that guy was talking about care package, I admit it is tricky to get this thing registered but once you register you sign up for an account on the website that comes on the little yellow paper that comes with the server and link the registration to your account that's it and it does not cost anything, so not sure what that dude was talking about. But after that you can download the drivers which if you are installing Server 2012 like I did you don't even need them which are only like 4 drivers listed anyway and 1 being the 10/2013 bios which Like I said is already flashed to that out of the box.
Cons: Wish it had the port multiplier on the esata port would be nice to add an extension to a nas box. Other than that really nice
Other Thoughts: You can even load your Opsys via USB to a sata drive which I used instead of a DVD drive in the expansion bay, in the bios you do have to change from auto to 3gb sec, for some reason mobo uses the slower which is 1.5gb sec when I ran benchmark between the 2 settings, big difference in 3gb
Reviewed By:DKMonster,12/16/2014 7:40:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 Tower Server System Intel Xeon E3-1225 v3 3.2GHz 4GB 1 x 500GB 7200RPM 3.5" Operating System None 70A4001MUX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Really fast delivery
Pros: Ordered Sunday Night, received it Tuesday afternoon. Not even a single ding or dent in the box. Server was exactly what I as looking for as well.
Cons: Double check forums even if the hardware compatibility lists the hardware, takes a little doing if your doing a vm ware esxi or something. This isn't the seller or lenovo's fault though.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/15/2014 1:03:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant MicroServer G7 N54L 1P 4GB-U Non-hot Plug SATA 150W PS Server (744900-001)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great product, bad policies
Pros: Compact
good price
Well built
Cons: VGA port can be finnicky
HP Support
Bios updates
Other Thoughts: I was very excited to receive this product, I am very excited to have this product, I am amazed at how much I could do with this product. All of that is dampened by the hoops I had to jump through to update the biuos. I will not go over the nonsense that is HP's policy but it is enough to dock 2 stars of a really nice little server.
I installed another 4GB ECC module I had on hand and installed ESXI 5.5 without issue. I spun up 3 VMs running "A NAS "Distro"", Centos 7 and windows 7. These provide what I call an SMB-in-a-box.
4x3TB RAID 5 array with continuous offsite backup.
Samba 4 Domain Controller (Windows Server 2003 compatible)
Admin PC running RSAT with other domain and storage management tools.
Very pleased with the hardware and hopefully I will never need to contact HP for anything in the future concerning this box. I would buy another if not for HP support.
Reviewed By:Slo Mo,12/14/2014 5:18:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.