Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint Rocket 640L PCI-Express 2.0 x4 Low Profile SATA III (6.0Gb/s) RAID Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great, easy upgrade for system
Pros: Very easy installation and setup.
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: Bought this to upgrade my SATA connections (MB has SATA 2.0 connectors) and wanted to take advantage of faster drive speeds. Have not done any benchmark speed tests, but the system was considerably faster on the old boot drive just from adding this card, and flies now with it booting from an SSD. Old boot time was over a minute, now from password enter to fully up and functioning is less than 15 seconds. Programs also open almost instantly. My computer is considerably older (Intel DX38BT motherboard w/ Core 2 Duo 8400 processor) and for less than $300 (SSD and this card) I feel like I have a new computer.
Reviewed By:Jeff S.,3/27/2015 7:37:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > LSI > LSI 9341 MegaRAID SAS 9341-8i (LSI00407) PCI-Express 3.0 x8 Low Profile SATA / SAS High Performance Eight-Port 12Gb/s RAID Controller (Single Pack)--Avago Technologies

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Server board only
Pros: 12Gb/s port with RAID feature
Cons: Will not work in most desktop and workstation motherboards
Other Thoughts: Tested and will not work with the following workstation motherboards with Windows 7 system:
Asus P8C WS
Asus P9X79 WS
Asus X79 Deluxe
Gigabyte X79SUP4-WIFI (this one listed as compatible as per LSI document),
Asus X79Deluxe, amount other common desktop motherboards.

These system already have LSI Raid controller installed and working (LSI 9260, LSI 9211, LSI 8704,etc...)
Install this LSI 9341 on the same slot will not work (code 10 or 12).

Install to an old Intel Server board S2000 and it works without any problem.

Some people end up flash the LSI 9341 to LSI 9411 as HBA (no RAID feature) in order to make use of it. Not sure if I will go that way.
Stay away from this controller if you intend to install to desktop motherboard.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/26/2015 9:28:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint RocketRAID 620 PCI-Express 2.0 x1 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Long lasting Rocket Raid
Pros: Solid low level raid 0 device works well with no issues on large regular hard drives. It sees all large hard drives without the need for an EFI bios. No need for a smaller first partition. My youngest one going well for 3 years. I like the loud noise if a cable becomes unattached and that you don't have to go thru hoops like with an Intel Controller to recover from the unattached cable.
Cons: Performance not suitable for SSD arrays.
Other Thoughts: Bought my second one 3 years ago ( March 2012 ). Attached two 2TB drives and it works well giving speed of 250 in raid 0. no issues. Both of them are still in service as are the original hard drives attached. I like that Windows now sees the raid controller so often no drivers are needed.
Reviewed By:Roe5685,3/24/2015 8:07:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't work with Ubuntu
Pros: Its hard to find a pro when it doesn't work.
Cons: doesn't work with Ubuntu. After weeks of trying to get it to recognize the card I have given up and am trying to return it
Reviewed By:N/A,3/23/2015 12:26:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > SIIG, Inc > SIIG SC-SA0L11-S1 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) 2-Port Host Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: added two more slots quick and easy
Cons: I am running out of room in my case.
Other Thoughts: I don't know if it can do raid. But I installed in my last open slot of 990xa-ud3 mother board. It is actually a PCIe x16 and working like a champ with by blueray and 2tb installed to it.
Reviewed By:Michael Dillon,3/22/2015 9:12:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HP1-SU3 USB 3.0 2 Port External USB 3.0 PCI Express Card - LINUX Software RAID supported

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Read the instructions.
Pros: So far so good!!!!
Cons: None as yet thou card has only been installed less than a week.
Other Thoughts: This was my first experience with a PCIe add-on card. This card has lain around for just over a year before I actually installed it in my machine and like most men, I didn't read the instructions first. After fussing with the card and driver for a couple of days I finally did read the guide. I had become frustrated that I repeatedly was getting a USB power bus error. I had to be missing something. I plugged in the SATA power connector and VIOLA. The card works better than my expectations. Allows me to transfer files to my external network backup drive in a flash.
Reviewed By:stumblebum,3/22/2015 8:43:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40057 PCI-Express 2.0 x2 Low Profile SATA III (6.0Gb/s) 4-ports RAID Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: WORKS FOR MY BLU-RAY PLAYERS
Cons: WINDOWS THINKS THEY ARE REMOVABLE FLASH DRIVES
Reviewed By:MADD TAZZ,3/19/2015 7:26:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint RocketRAID 640L PCI-Express 2.0 x4 Low Profile SATA RAID Controller Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great but slow boots
Pros: Seems to work fine. No drives have failed B"H, so I don't know if it will alert me to a failure.

Running on Windows 8.1
Cons: Boots are slow.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/19/2015 6:29:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Adaptec > Adaptec RAID 6405E 2271700-R 6Gb/s SATA/SAS 4 internal ports w/ 128MB cache memory Controller Card, Kit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Excellent Card
Pros: I've had this card for about a year, maybe more. So far, it has worked without fail. I've had some custom-built computers break down on me, but it has not been the case with this card (yet). I am currently using this on a RAID1 configuration with Ubuntu 14.10, which natively supports the card. It has been a year or more, so my memory is a bit foggy, but I don't recall installing any custom kernel modules for Ubuntu 14.04 and 14.10 support.
Cons: I do remember having to finagle a bit to install the maxview storage manager software. That didn't work out of the box unfortunately. I was able to get it going after a while. I don't have the process documented that i used though, which was something that I probably should have done as I going through it, but I suppose hindsight is 20/20.
Other Thoughts: Initially, I wasn't sure about the Ubuntu support, but glad to see that it worked out fine. I would also recommend a UPS backup just in case of power failure.
Reviewed By:Jack,3/18/2015 10:01:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > LSI > LSI MegaRAID SATA/SAS 9260-4i 6Gb/s PCI-Express 2.0 w/ 512MB onboard memory RAID Controller Card, Single--Avago Technologies

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works, but slightly disappointed
Pros: Everything works in both Linux and Windows and I didn't have to really mess with any settings after I initialized my RAID Array. The windows drivers took about 10 minutes to fix, but since this isn't a boot device for me, it wasn't a huge deal.
Cons: The read speeds on this are not what I was hoping for. It falls right in line with an mdadm software raid (RAID 5 and RAID 10 tested).
It did a random consistency check the other day on my RAID 5 array and it brought the system to it's knees.
Other Thoughts: My cons above might sound bad, but you don't buy this card because your looking to eek out every little bit of performance out of your RAID array. You buy it for peace of mind. It's my first time comparing a hardware raid controller to a software based array using consumer level equipment, and I was really hoping for the performance jump you see on enterprise gear, but I guess that's the way of the world.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/18/2015 9:40:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.