Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0 Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Syba Offers Terrible Products...With Even Worse Tech Support
Pros: The card worked for 2 months. Syba doesn't deserve 1 egg.
Cons: This card drops hard drives constantly. Two of the four drives I have plugged into this card disappear as soon as I attempt to access. I have checked these drives on my other computer---and the drives appear fine, they can be accessed without issues.
Other Thoughts: I sent 2 emails to Syba, ..."Please provide me with updated Win7 and Win10 drivers (I plan to migrate to Win10 if this card has the proper drivers). If you don't have any updated drivers to send (other than what was on the CD) then please provide me with an RMA #."

I've not heard anything back from the Syba company. They make cheap products that don't work very long...with a hollow 3 year warranty. Based on my experience with them, it will be impossible to get a replacement.
Reviewed By:JAY H.,4/29/2016 1:36:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0 Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy setup & configuration.
Pros: Can be set for SCSI, Raid or a combination of both.
Drivers are easy to set-up for card recognition
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I'd recommend to friends who don't have SATAIII 6Gb transfer as an upgrade.
Reviewed By:Al L.,4/28/2016 6:51:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0 Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Jury is still out!
Pros: Price.

Card was recognized by Windows 7 and, in spite of not being able to load the card drivers, it works with all drives. If you connect a DVD drive to this card be sure and go in the properties and select "cache mode" or you will not be able to write to the DVD. This little item was not mentioned in the manual.

I gave it a 3 because of the driver problem.
Cons: Got error message every time I tried to install the drivers. I notified Tech Support and they directed me to the latest drivers and instruction...........None of which helped. Two days ago I requested additional help. As yet there has been no response!

Manual could stand a lot of improvement.

The supplied drivers disk was useless. Windows 7 kept telling me that the supplied drivers would not work with the installed card.
Other Thoughts: I expected better. You get what you pay for!
Reviewed By:John P.,4/27/2016 1:42:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HP1-SU3 USB 3.0 2 Port External USB 3.0 PCI Express Card - LINUX Software RAID supported

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 It's okay - Tricky driver issues
Pros: It is a USB 3.0 card. Hitting peak/burst rates of 73MB/s. Got it with rebate.

Working drivers at https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?DwnldID=19880
Cons: Lack of website support.
No low profile bracket.
No documentation for troubleshooting.
Loose power connector
WIndows 8.1 driver didn't seem to function. Need drivers from the Intel website. https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?DwnldID=19880
Other Thoughts: I was never able to find Firmware update, but it wasn't necessary.
Win8.1 installed a driver that didn't seem to do anything.
Once I installed the USB drivers from the Intel website, (Renesas USB 3.0) it started complaining about power issues. They eventually stopped, but nothing was being recognized. I touched the power cable and it came to life. The power connector on the card is very loose. I might have to tape it or something.
Reviewed By:Rigo C.,4/27/2016 7:20:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-PEX40054 PCI-Express 2.0 x2 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) HyperDuo 4-port RAID Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Still Working Great After 2 Years
Pros: UPDATE 4/26/2016:

Have one Sandisk Extreme 240GB SSD and one Crucial M500 240GB SSD connected to this card. Recently i cloned Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (using Macrium Reflect free version) from the heavily-used Sandisk SSD onto the fresher Crucial SSD. Then booted into BIOS and selected Crucial as the "1st Hard Drive " and "1st boot device". It booted up perfectly, no problems. Speeds are great considering both SSDs are a couple of generations old. The Crucial M500 240GB scored 776 on AS-SSD which is a good score for an SSD using the old Marvel 2281 controller.

The next step was to make a system-image backup then swallow hard, bite the bullet, take a leap of faith and .... do an in-place upgrade to Windows 10 ! Amazingly, it worked and all of my programs remain intact and working OK as far as i can tell. Also, the SSD speed is unaffected.

Result: 2 x SSDs can be safely connected to this SYBA controller card. You can successfully clone Windows from one SSD to the other. You can upgrade to Windows 10 and everything works.

Note: The card is installed using generic/default Windows drivers, not the Marvel drivers which you would need if using the RAID or Hyper-duo features of this card.

ORIGINAL REVIEW:
SSD boot drive plus 3 HDDs connected and recognised by Windows 7 Home Premium, no problems.

No need to install any Marvell drivers. Upon first bootup Windows loaded OK, automatically installed some drivers and requested a Restart. After restarting the computer everything works fine. If you're using Linux then maybe you need Marvell drivers.

If you're not using RAID or HyperDuo then there's no need for installing the Marvell Utility software.

If you want HyperDuo or RAID then you can access the setup for that during bootup by Ctrl + M. Only install the Marvell software if you want to play with the settings when Windows is already running.

I used the HyperDuo in the past and it worked well, but now using SSD on its own for Windows and other drives for data.

Quick access to all drives.

Max. Sequential Read/Write MB/sec. on SSD (ATTO): 540 / 535

On the SYBA website product page you can click on the "Question" tab and ask tech support to clarify anything you need to know. They are very helpful in their replies.
Cons: Install can be confusing and frustrating unless you follow instructions EXACTLY. And, the instructions are not always clear to the uninitiated.

A series of jumpers allows you to choose between using all 4 internal SATA ports or using 2 internal plus 2 external SATA ports. Jumper pin layout on the card is opposite to jumper pin layout normally used on motherboards. Usually, on a 3-pin jumper the pins are numbered from left-to-right, 1-2-3. However, on this controller card, while the jumpers themselves are clearly labelled, the pins on each jumper are not labelled. It turns out that the pin numbering sequence on these jumpers from left-to-right is 3-2-1. i discovered after connecting 4 drives to the internal ports that only 2 drives were recognised. This led to moving all the jumpers to adjacent pins which activated the other 2 internal ports, and all drives were then recognised. In other words, the jumpers were preset for using 2 internal plus 2 external ports by default. If that's mentioned in the instructions i failed to see it.

The internal SATA ports are somewhat delicate so be careful when connecting and disconnecting SATA cables. If you need industrial strength connectors buy a $400 controller card, not a $40 card!

This card adds 5 to 10 seconds to the bootup time.

*Important: If you're going to set up the Hyper-Duo feature you must do a fresh install of Windows. Be sure to save all wanted data onto a different drive before proceeding.
Other Thoughts: My Windows boot drive and three data drives were all connected to the SATA II ports on my ASUS P6TD Deluxe motherboard (circa 2009). Everything worked OK except that the SSD Sequential Read speed was limited to about 280MB/sec. So, i installed the SYBA SD-PEX40054 controller card. After fiddling around with the card's jumpers i got all 4 internal ports working. Now, the SSD reaches Sequential Read speed of 540MB/sec. In regular use, the faster speed will probably only be noticed when copying very large files or loading game levels with large graphics textures. Still, it's nice to update an older SATA II board with speedier SATA III, and you gain 4 extra ports!
Reviewed By:Andrew M.,4/26/2016 10:38:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-PEX40049 Flex-2-port SATA III 6Gbps PCIe Card, Hard Drive Connectors can be set as External or Internal Ports by Jumpers

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good/Economical SATA3 Solution -- Bad Documentation
Pros: -- 2 sata ports at any given time (you have the option to activate any 2 of 4: 2 external, 2 internal). this is clearly explained in the item description.
Cons: -- as others have mentioned, the documentation is an absolute joke. google isn't of any use either. see other thoughts below.
Other Thoughts: I'm running Windows Server 2012 r2. The sata3 card is for the a 4-bay Sans Digital Mobilestor MS4UM+(B). I needed the port multiplier as the esata on my board doesn't have one. I filled the enclosure with 4x 4TB HDDs (Seagate NAS HDD ST4000VN000). The server software allows me to treat it as one 16TB logical drive, which is what I did. Transferring an 11g A/V file, I had very consistent 140-145 MB/s transfer speeds.

Regarding the lack of documentation: study the board itself. Everything is labeled on the PCI card's board: JP1-8, com1-4, JP9-10.
if you want to activate both external ports, set JPs1-8 to positions 2+3 (OEM settings for my card had the jumpers set to positions 1+3, which would activate both internal sata ports). There is a table on the "documentation" sheet that explains this, but it's really stupid. Why not map the card like you would a motherboard in the documentation?

Anyway, I hope that helps if you pick up the card and get confused by the poor documentation.

took one star off for the documentation hassle. but it does work. just...don't bother with the usual google route. and don't waste your time emailing the company. just look at the board to figure out which ports are which and shift the jumpers accordingly (see above).
Reviewed By:Daniel G.,4/22/2016 7:29:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Areca > areca ARC-1200 2-Port PCI-Express x1 SATA Controller Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works with Linux and FreeBSD
Pros: Raid drives can be replaced without having to reboot the system. Has CLI manager for Linux and FreeBD.
Cons: Pricey for just raid0/1. Somewhat clunky UI.
Demanded a password for management and I had to search online for the code. It's not in the book. (its 0000 )
Other Thoughts: Running fine with FreeBSD 10.3 on an ASUS MB. Much better support than Highpoint.
Reviewed By:Val D.,4/22/2016 8:49:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SY-PEX40039 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Controller Died
Pros: Was fast while it still worked.
Cons: The controller died after one year and a couple months of use. Unfortunately it did not fail in any obvious way, but just began to randomly corrupt the data on the drive attached to it.
Reviewed By:Aaron P.,4/19/2016 3:57:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40094 PCI Express Low Profile Ready SATA SATA III 2 Internal 6Gbps Ports PCI-e Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome Controller!
Pros: Plug and play worked no problems. I got the full 6Gb/s out of it using an SSD for testing. The best part is I got this for free with a rebate special.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/19/2016 1:43:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0 Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Painless Installation on Win10 x64!
Pros: Installed on my HP Prodesk running Win10 x64 boot/reboot and everything is running perfectly. Windows installed the correct driver with no issues or further configuration required.
Cons: None to date.
Other Thoughts: I am using this card to free up SATA ports onboard and connect several eSATA drives using 2 SATA to eSATA dual port brackets. Eventually I intend to upgrade the individual external drives into another unit and take advantage of the FIS port replication.
Reviewed By:JONATHAN L.,4/18/2016 8:02:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.