Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Black November
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed by BIOS on older system
Pros: Big Promise
Cons: Never recognized by BIOS of my older system.
Other Thoughts: I tried to breath some more life in my frail system by adding a 4 Tb drive. It (Nvidia chipset for intel; enough said) failed to recognize the PCIe card, no matter which slot I placed it in.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/25/2014 6:31:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Areca > areca ARC-1224-8i PCI-Express 2.0 x8 SATA / SAS RAID Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 2 Defective Controllers!
Pros: RAID6 support and a web control panel available via a dedicated Ethernet port.
Cons: After 1 week started getting sporadic BSOD critical process died failures. Updated ARC-1224-8i to current firmware and installed all updates to Microsoft Hyper-V Server 2012 R2. Still had BSOD failures.

Returned card for replacement which took about 7-10 days. One hour after installing the replacement ARC-1224-8i it controller it also started getting sporadic BSOD critical process died failures. I've just returned this second defective card for a refund.

I like the features of an Areca controller, but I've had quite a few problems with their cards. Seems like the quality control is lacking?
Other Thoughts: I also own an ARC-1222 controller. After using it for 1 year it started getting sporadic BSOD critical process died failures. Many others on Newegg reported similar failures after 1 year of use. I sent the card back to Areca support and paid $100 for it to be repaired. The repaired card has been working for several months now.
Reviewed By:Theokrat,11/24/2014 8:32:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-229U4 PCI-Express 2.0 x1 USB 3.0 Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 well worth the money
Pros: no more BSOD in win 7 like the cheap junk NEC/Renesas USB 3.0 Host Controller where causing!!! great build and easy to find updated drivers. 100/140 mb/s on 10 gig file transfer almost double the 74/89 mb/s on 10 gig file transfer from junk NEC/Renesas USB 3.0 Host Controller.
Cons: did not install itself.
Other Thoughts: after buying a junk NEC/Renesas USB 3.0 Host Controller and losing data due to crashing hard drives and BSOD from their "updated" drivers.i found this on newegg and have never been happier . no more drives need to be scanned, repaired or hard drive needs to be formatted errors. wish i would have spent a few dollars more in the beginning and just bought this.
Reviewed By:willroy,11/23/2014 6:01:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SY-PEX40039 PCI-Express 2.0 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Finicky install, but works well
Pros: Boosted SSD transfer speed on SATA II motherboard 54 to 100%
Cons: Must be installed in PCI-E 1x slot
Other Thoughts: I have two PCI-E slots on my SATA II motherboard, the 1x slot was already occupied so I put it in the 16x slot. Got a strange "bad cable" message during post when SSD was connected, then no boot. Card wasn't recognized in Device Manager when SSD put back to onboard SATA II port and booted. Flipped the two PCI-E devices around and now it works, as does the other 1x PCI-E device now in the 16x port.

Boosted ATTO results from 261 MBS read to 407 @512kb size, from 123.2 to 273.9 @ 8k size. Pretty useful upgrade on the cheap.
Reviewed By:Ken,11/22/2014 2:32:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint Rocket 620 PCI-Express 2.0 x1 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Ephemera
Pros: Good price - was on sale for 16 bucks.
Plug & play
Cons: lasted only 17months !
Reviewed By:N/A,11/21/2014 9:52:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great deal
Pros: - Inexpensive with promo code
- Small
- Works with Windows 7 automagically
- Two SATA cables included
Cons: - There isn't a version of this card with 6 or more ports (I needed 6)
Other Thoughts: Picked up two of these cards with a promo code to go with this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817994147.

Easy to set up - plug in, turn on, drivers install, reboot. Couldn't ask for more at this price ($40 for the pair, shipped).

I doubt I would have pulled the trigger on getting one or more of these at the $35-$50 range, so it was great to find the promo code. $20-$25 for this card feels about right.
Reviewed By:WoE-6,11/20/2014 3:44:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Intel > Intel RAID SAS/SATA 8 internal port w/ 512MB cache memory PCI-E 2.0 x8 Controller Card (RS2BL080)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome card. Worth the money.
Pros: Handled just about every disk I've ever attached to it. Ran a 5 x 1.5TB RAID5 array, then added a 6th 1.5TB disk and converted to RAID6 with no hassle whatsoever. Currently have 4 x 4TB RAID5 with 5th 4TB as a global hot spare. Works with any OS. Compact. Fast. Comes with low-profile back plate. Included cables are durable and perfect for even fairly large/tall cases.
Cons: When a disk fails, or the config changes, or it decides to tell you about something, you know it. The internal beeper is enough to wake the dead, but then you want to know if your precious data is at risk. It doesn't seem to handle optical drives and I have some issues with it not recognising SSDs at start up.
Other Thoughts: Having used a multitude of other, lesser "RAID5" cards, I wish I had saved my time, money and heartache and just spent the money on this one in the first place. These cards are pricey, there's no denying it, but what you get is solid, fast, reliable and simply flawless and fantastic. I cannot recommend this card enough.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/20/2014 1:29:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > SIIG, Inc > SIIG SC-SA0R11-S1 PCI-Express 2.0 x2 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) 4-Port Hybrid RAID Controller Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Working with Linux
Pros: This has been providing a RAID 1 volume to my Fedora box for three months.

Write performance is much better than software raid.
Cons: I have not found a way to pass through SMART data or even get a volume health report. I will have no idea if a disk has failed.
Other Thoughts: Early Linux driver problems have been resolved. It worked out of the box for me using the ahci driver.
Reviewed By:thatgeek,11/19/2014 10:55:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 search raid. 1st result. doesn't do raid.
Pros: it works as intended
Cons: paid 35 dollars for extra sata ports I don't really need.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We apologize for your dissatisfaction with the quality of this controller card.

Our support team is more than happy to assist you in finding an available solution to your problem. Please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST 11252014

Reviewed By:N/A,11/19/2014 6:20:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SY-PCI40037 SATA II (3.0Gb/s) 1:5 (5x1) Port Multiplier PCI Mounting Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Simple, cheap hardware RAID card with 5 SATA ports. Brilliant idea! 3 year warranty as well, which will be needed.
Cons: Not very reliable. Mine was sketchy on arrival and while I didn't lose any data, I had to pay to send the card back. We'll see how the new one fares.
Other Thoughts: It's a great product for the money, just be prepared to have to send it back sooner or later. What do you expect for $50?
Reviewed By:N/A,11/18/2014 1:55:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.