Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 disappointing
Pros: It was reasonably cheap.
Cons: Doesn't work. Not recognized by Windows 7, so I can't even install drivers.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2014 4:30:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Intel > Intel RS2WG160 PCI-Express 2.0 x8 SATA / SAS RAID Controller Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great after firmware update
Pros: Once the cards firmware is updated, the card performs wonderfully. I am using it in a small server with desktop class hardware and it's fast and stable controlling up to 16 hard drives with standard mini SAS to SATA breakout cables. The web configuration utility (which runs as a small application, not in the browser) is easygoing to use and offers full control including configuration, management, and firmware updates. The card supports a wide variety of raid configurations including (most importantly) raid 6 with hot spare(s) and the ability to add drives to increase capacity of existing arrays without loss of data.
Cons: The card had major flaws out of the box and firmware update wasn't as easy as it should have been. When I tried to use this card without performing a firmware update, it wouldn't support more than 6 drives. If 7 or more drives were connected, the card failed to start and even the bios configuration utility was inaccessible. When downloading the firmware update from intel, the included batch installer didn't work under any of several windows variants I tried.
Other Thoughts: Minus one star for out of the box issues but, now that I know how to fix this, I would purchase this card again. I just had to update the firmware via the web utility which was straightforward once I finally realized that was what was needed.
Reviewed By:TriTeraTech,7/28/2014 9:18:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint RocketRAID 2300 PCI Express SATA II (3.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 good product
Pros: works just fine no problems
Cons: nothing negative to say today
Other Thoughts: I would buy this again.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2014 7:00:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Addonics Technologies > Addonics ADSA3GPX1-2E PCI Express eSATA and SATA II 2 Port eSATA II RAID Controller

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Review Update: Manufacturer Response
Pros: Customer support responds. This is good.
Cons: Here is customer support response:

The good news is, the Linux kernel has had upstream native drivers for that chip for years. So we don't have to worry about OS compatibility.
Next, sometimes the card may simply be not getting along with the slot it was put into. Try moving it - or if there isn't another slot free, swap it with another card.
Finally, Sometimes "branded" PC hardware just isn't compatible. If you can't get the thing working by moving it around on the motherboard, all you really have left to try is to confirm it still works by putting it back in the Optiplex. If it fires up there, and you can't get it going at all in the Precision, then there's really nothing else we can do.
I usually hear this sort of complaint against Dell's Optiplex product family.
The only remaining advice I have is this: if you can't get the ADSA3GPX1-2E working in that computer, chances are pretty good the ADSA6GPX1-2E will work fine.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2014 6:20:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40063 PCI-Express 2.0 x2 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Cheap upgrade for SATA III.

I'm getting 520 MB/s read and write speeds.

Great access times to files.

New SSD's and didn't lose any of my data.

Can set output module for video rendering straight onto this drive and not suffer from a lagging HDD or waste space on my RAID array.
Cons: Slow boot time. I have a RAID 0 array for my OS and this card for data and a native RAID 10 configuration. It's like will this computer ever turn on.
Other Thoughts: I have an i7 875K overclocked to 4.0Ghz and can't justify spending money on a new system until the unlocked 8 core processors come out. Don't get me wrong the Z97 platform looks awesome but I'm waiting for the X99.

I do regret not buying the i7 980X but at the time $1000 for a processor seemed like a lot and I was unenthusiastic about triple channel DDR3.

Considering the years I've had this P55 having spent the extra money on the X58 instead seems reasonable in retrospect. So when those X99's role out I plan on sparing no expense unless they are priced $2,300 like the Xeon E5's currently are. Spare no expense is in regards to comparable pricing to the current X79 being a $1000 processor is the top of the line.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2014 4:14:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-PEX40054 PCI-Express 2.0 x4 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) HyperDuo 4-port RAID Controller Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Cheaper than upgrading to a new system for SATA III.

Running 2 SSD's in RAID 0. The read speed is only 430 MB/s but the write speed is 790 MB/s. I greatly appreciate the faster write times for video rendering. Increased the performance of my CPU and my computer doesn't freeze anymore because of HDD bottleneck.

Applications open fast. After Effect, Cinema 4d and Maya open within seconds.
Cons: Slow read times. 430 MB/s is kind of a joke for 2 SSD's running in RAID 0.

Long boot time. I have 2 PCI-e cards for SSD's and a native RAID 10 array.
Other Thoughts: I have an i7 875K overclocked to 4.0Ghz and can't justify spending money on a new system until the unlocked 8 core processors come out. Don't get me wrong the Z97 platform looks awesome but I'm waiting for the X99.

I do regret not buying the i7 980X but at the time $1000 for a processor seemed like a lot and I was unenthusiastic about triple channel DDR3.

Considering the years I've had this P55 having spent the extra money on the X58 instead seems reasonable in retrospect. So when those X99's role out I plan on sparing no expense unless they are priced $2,300 like the Xeon E5's currently are. Spare no expense is in regards to comparable pricing to the current X79 being a $1000 processor is the top of the line.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2014 4:01:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > SIIG, Inc > SIIG SC-SA0R11-S1 PCI-Express 2.0 x2 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) 4-Port Hybrid RAID Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good RAID Controller for Desktop and Gamers
Pros: Relatively cheap compared to higher-end RAID cards that generally cost 300$ or more.

Provides 4 ports internally which is generally sufficient for desktop users.

Provides RAID 0/1/10.

HTTP/BIOS access to the card is easy.

Install took about 10 minutes, configuration was simple and intuitive to use.
Cons: Missing RAID 5, although RAID 10 is generally seen to be better for some applications, some users still prefer RAID5.
Other Thoughts: Only curious about the longevity of this card due to price. Not sure how long it will last, and considering buying another one as a replacement in the event my current one fails, to prevent losing all the data in my RAID10 configuration.

At the same time, considering upgrading to a higher-end RAID controller to give me peace of mind that my data will be safe for years to come.

So far after several months, card has ran excellent and no issues.

Havent tried using the Hybrid feature for SSDs
Reviewed By:Josh,7/27/2014 6:32:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40059 PCI-Express 2.0 x1 Low Profile Ready SATA / IDE Combo Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Never could make it work
Pros: It has two high speed sata ports that work
Cons: I could never make the IDE port work properly. I tried many drivers, cables, configurations. I even wrote to customer support and never got a response. The DVD drives would appear in windows explorer (7 64 bit) but none of the information on the disks could ever be accessed.
Other Thoughts: Just buy $13-$15 Sata DVD burners and save yourself some money/hassles. Sadly, I waited until I had all of the components for this build and it is now to late to return this product so I am out $25 and have to purchase new DVD burners anyway.
Reviewed By:Schuey,7/27/2014 5:33:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > LSI > LSI MegaRAID SAS 9341-8i (LSI00408) PCI-Express 3.0 x8 Low Profile SATA / SAS High Performance Eight-Port 12Gb/s RAID Controller (Kit)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Mega Failure
Pros: None
Cons: I successfully flashed the firmware to current. Upon reboot, no OS ran recognize the card anymore. "No OS" includes LSI's own preboot utility, Linux, esxi. The controller shows up with "lspci" but that's as far as it goes.

The OPROM displays the controller and the drives but no OS can see the controller.

LSI's preboot utility can't flash the card because it can't see the controller. Again, the OPROM displays everything properly and I can configure the RAID from OPROM but I can't use the array because the OS can't see it.

I sent a ticket to my system builder. They say that LSI has become aware of this problem with the cards. Good luck to you if you decide to buy this card.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/26/2014 2:30:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Adaptec > Adaptec RAID 6405E 2271700-R 6Gb/s SATA/SAS 4 internal ports w/ 128MB cache memory Controller Card, Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Small Hardware Raid
Pros: This product was used to replace Software/BIOS RAID on our development hypervisors that wouldn't work with VMWare ESXi. This product worked flawlessly. For the most part it was plug and go. The management screen is clean, minimal, and easy to setup arrays and deal with disk management.
Cons: ESXi device driver support documentation could be better.
Long Firmware POST, but honestly a nonissue.
Other Thoughts: I was so impressed with the card and the performance, I want to get one of these for my personal gaming rig.
Reviewed By:Alexei,7/26/2014 2:13:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau