Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Adaptec > Adaptec RAID 6805 2270100-R 6Gb/s SATA / SAS 8 internal ports w/ 512MB cache memory Controller Card, Single

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 disapointed
Pros: card works well enough when it works, operationaly this card does it's job, what more can you ask for?
Cons: card worked fine for a year, then in under a month i lost 4 drives causeing me to lose my raid 5 array TWICE! it could have been the WD blacks, but 3 of those drives died during a rebuild, and i can't be confident of what it is. ALSO i tried attaching 2 SSD's to this thing, to run my OS on a hardware raid-0, INSTANT crashes, wouldn't even get as far as an install screen... got past the bios and that was IT!
Other Thoughts: i'd might not feel to bad about recommending this raid card to someone, IF it was a LOT cheaper, like $150ish range i'd say it's probably just bad luck on my part and worth the investment. HOWEVER i found on my behalf i could not trust my data to it at all and didn't have the patience (or budget) to keep throwing drives at it hoping it would start working correctly. and after spending $600 on a raid adapter, BBU, and almost $600 more on drives, i'm just completely over it.
Reviewed By:Marcus R.,8/23/2016 3:30:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0 Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unreliable
Pros: easy to set up, but that is about it.
Cons: I have 2 of these cards. Both have failed. One of them took 2 of my hard drives with it destroying about 10 years worth of accumulated data. Needless to say I was not a happy camper. (Yes, I did have backups)
Other Thoughts: I would like to recommend this product because of the ease with which it sets up, but I cannot due to reliability issues.
Manufacturer Response:On behalf of Syba, please accept our thanks for choosing our products.
Please be assured that our interest in your complete satisfaction. It is our sincere desire that you are completely satisfied with your product and the service you receive from our Team.
If you cannot give us a completely satisfied rating for any reason, visit support@Sybausa.com so we can better serve you as our valued customer. As a reminder, our business hours: Monday ~ Friday, 9:00am ~ 5:00pm PST

Reviewed By:Maria T.,8/23/2016 10:30:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40057 PCI-Express 2.0 x2 Low Profile SATA III (6.0Gb/s) 4-ports RAID Card

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Fails Under Heavy Data Transfer Load With Linux (Kubuntu 16.04)
Pros: I actually really liked this card for years and have used it only in JBOD configuration. Plug and play. Just worked right out of the box. Never had any issues with it ever. I use it in a workstation with an Asus server board.
Cons: OK - so in the last 5 days, my view of this card went downhill - FAST. Here's the rub, and I did literally days of testing to figure this out: The card, at least in JBOD mode under Linux (Kubuntu, so basically Ubuntu or Debian) CANNOT handle large data transfers, the smallest failure was about 309 gigs, the biggest 963 gigs (about 174K files, various sizes). Somewhere in that range input / output errors would occur and the card would simply not work - zero access to any drive attached. Upon reboot, the target drive, if NTFS formated, would be corrupted. I never attempted to fix it. This was the case with both GPT and MBR (msdos) partition tables. Since GPT had issues (which is supposed to more resilient with it's partition info), I assume the actual file system got messed up as opposed to the partition table information. The only successful transfer I had with the card (just shy of 1TB) involved having only ONE drive connected to the card.
Other Thoughts: I'm REALLY struggling with what to do with this otherwise great little card. I cannot risk large data transfers with it. I do not know if this is a driver or chipset related problem. The hardware itself seems to operate just fine. If the data transfer problem did not exist, I'd happily rate this with 5 eggs, but common man.... I should be able to transfer a 1TB or any other huge amount of data over a 6Gbs SATA card without fear. What KILLS ME is that this issue will likely exist with all other cheap cards using Marvel chipsets and AHCI drivers for linux. Guess I might have to finally pony up for an LSI card :(
Manufacturer Response:On behalf of Syba, please accept our thanks for choosing our products.
Please be assured that our interest in your complete satisfaction. It is our sincere desire that you are completely satisfied with your product and the service you receive from our Team.
If you cannot give us a completely satisfied rating for any reason, visit support@Sybausa.com so we can better serve you as our valued customer. As a reminder, our business hours: Monday ~ Friday, 9:00am ~ 5:00pm PST

Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/22/2016 9:27:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Mediasonic > Mediasonic ProBox HP1-SS3 PCI-Express 2.0 x1 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dosn't Work with Linux kernel 4.4.10 under Proxmox.
Pros: I can take it out of the box and it fits in the slot.
Cons: Kernel error. The issue could be with the Mediasonic unit itself but I don't know. I have tried different cables beside the one which came with the storage unit and I have tried different Mediasonic units.

[ 3587.460688] Call Trace:
[ 3587.460712] [<ffffffff815e6aeb>] ata_eh_recover+0x74b/0x1300
[ 3587.460757] [<ffffffff815dc3b0>] ? ata_phys_link_online+0x60/0x60
[ 3587.460805] [<ffffffff815dca10>] ? sata_link_hardreset+0x220/0x220
[ 3587.460858] [<ffffffffc000eec0>] ? ahci_do_softreset+0x250/0x250 [libahci]
[ 3587.460910] [<ffffffff815dc560>] ? ata_phys_link_offline+0x60/0x60
[ 3587.460968] [<ffffffff815ed3dd>] ? sata_pmp_read.isra.6+0x8d/0xd0
[ 3587.461021] [<ffffffff815edd6a>] sata_pmp_error_handler+0x5da/0xa50
[ 3587.461070] [<ffffffff815dc560>] ? ata_phys_link_offline+0x60/0x60
[ 3587.461119] [<ffffffffc000eec0>] ? ahci_do_softreset+0x250/0x250 [libahci]
[ 3587.461174] [<ffffffffc000f3e0>] ? ahci_qc_issue+0x100/0x100 [libahci]
[ 3587.461226] [<ffffffffc000d4d0>] ? ahci_pmp_attach+0x70/0x70 [libahci]
[ 3587.461279] [<ffffffffc000de48>] ahci_error_handler+0x28/0x60 [libahci]
[ 3587.463851] [<ffffffff815e7bb5>] ata_scsi_port_error_handler+0x435/0x790
[ 3587.466439] [<ffffffff815e7fb0>] ata_scsi_error+0xa0/0xe0
[ 3587.468975] [<ffffffff815b0a78>] scsi_error_handler+0xf8/0x8b0
[ 3587.471490] [<ffffffff81844a71>] ? __schedule+0x371/0xa50
[ 3587.473981] [<ffffffff815b0980>] ? scsi_eh_get_sense+0x260/0x260
[ 3587.476460] [<ffffffff810a0d5a>] kthread+0xea/0x100
[ 3587.478932] [<ffffffff810a0c70>] ? kthread_park+0x60/0x60
[ 3587.481411] [<ffffffff8184964f>] ret_from_fork+0x3f/0x70
[ 3587.483894] [<ffffffff810a0c70>] ? kthread_park+0x60/0x60
[ 3587.486352] Code: d6 85 c0 75 2f 83 c3 1f 89 d8 c1 f8 1f c1 e8 1b 01 c3 83 e3 1f 29 c3 41 39 1c 24 74 15 48 63 c3 48 c1 e0 04 4c 01 e0 48 8d 78 08 <8b> 40 0c 85 c0 75 c9 31 c0 5b 41 5c 41 5d 41 5e 5d c3 90 0f 1f
[ 3587.491578] RIP [<ffffffff815e328d>] ata_ering_map+0x4d/0x60
[ 3587.494121] RSP <ffff88009bf33b90>
[ 3587.496623] CR2: ffff8805092c8efc
[ 3587.511157] ---[ end trace bfde760070743d23 ]---

Other Thoughts: Mediasonic should realize that with the pervasiveness of Linux and many other technologies like virtualization there are people beyond the Microsoft world who will use their product differently. Now I'm considering buying a storage case from newegg with Centronic ports in the back and selecting my own multiplier for it and a system card which is known to work with linux in order to assure better performance. Your prices are good but if you don't realize that you are in the business of making money and that allegiance to a brand is suicide for the most part nowadays then you will lose sale to other companies. I run Proxmox and I am interested in buying many more storage units because I want to control my data and try new things for my work.

If there is something I need which I do not have, please indicate to me. If others have had similar experiences, again let me know so I can get past this point, otherwise I will have to RMA this unit if possible.
Reviewed By:Guy D.,8/21/2016 6:55:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-PEX40104 SATA 8-Port SATA III 6G PCI-E 2.0 x1 Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Too much timeand trouble for a product that did not work :( .
Pros: none for me.
Cons: did not work with FreeNas(FrreBSD) 9.10.1, try lots of thing but did not work for me, so will have to get and RMA. too bad...
Other Thoughts: i got two SYBA card to replace two SYBA 4-port SATA III and very Sade that they are not working...
the 4 port was so great plug and play no problem... that easy, but not for these 8 port...
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review on our product. Since this device has 2 chipsets please verify that the necessary drivers were installed. We apologize for the issues you have experienced with this device. If you require further assistance please email us at Support@sybausa.com.

Reviewed By:Andre B.,8/20/2016 8:56:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Adaptec > Adaptec Series 7H Family 71605H PCI-Express 3.0 x8 MD2-Low Profile SATA / SAS Host Bus Adapter (HBA)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Damaged - does not load OpROM in UEFI Mode
Pros: Perfect technical fit for what I need - an HBA that supports multiple 4TB SATA and/or SAS Dual-Channel drives in a FreeBSD environment!
Cons: Damaged on arrival - went around and around with tech support (spent all day e-mailing them back and forth before they clocked out for the day). Despite being able to load in UEFI Mode in normal circumstances, this unit is defective and crashes on POST any UEFI system to which it is attached. I have SMBIOS logs that indicate a fatal DXE Driver failure during POST in my NAS setup. This card is also not flashable according to them and yet the card has marked pins on it for this purpose, but who knows.
Other Thoughts: The product is (or at least will be) perfect otherwise?

HEY NEWEGG YOUR OBSCENITY FILTER BLOCKED A LEGITIMATE TECHNICAL TERM GOOD JOB
Reviewed By:Stephen M.,8/18/2016 5:13:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Areca > areca ARC-1882ix-12-2G PCI-Express 3.0 x8 SATA / SAS 16-Port 6Gb/s RAID Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Decent card
Pros: - Expandable cache to 4GB
- Network out of band management is nice
- Lots of connections
- Apparent lots of granular configuration
Cons: - HUGE, I mean gaming video card huge
- SLOW background tasks
- "Uncomfortable" GUI at times
Other Thoughts: So background initializations take FOREVER. I (background) initialized a basic RAID-5 consisting of 4 x 1TB HDDs that can r/w on their own at 200MB/s and the initialization took almost 24 hours! That's how long that takes with those disks on an X99 Intel chipset RAID, which is terrible! On an LSI card that initialization takes like 3 hours or less.

Did some read/write tests on that array once complete and its performing a tad slower in both than those drives do off an LSI 9266-8i.

I then (background) initialized a RAID-5 consisting of 4 x 4TB Seagate Enterprise drives (all passed seatools long generic test) which read/write on their own at over 200MB/s. Was 47% of the way through initialization after 29 hours. Made it to about 80% after 48 hours, so I stopped it. Argh. I've initialized a RAID-5 of 4 x 4TB Toshiba desktop drives on an LSI 9266-8i in 6.5 hours. I mean, come on... My background task rate is set to 80%, which is the highest the config utility lets you set it to. Was also not touching the actual storage of the volume while it was initializing.

I rebuilt the same RAID set and volume but did a foreground init this time and its moving very nicely. After one hour I'm already at 15%. Much much better. Thing is, an LSI card will do the init in foreground or background in about the same amount of time, and only about a little over an hour for each TB on average.

This card "should" be a great card for a large file server where you're using large parity RAID sets due to the ability to put 4GB of cache in, but a HUGE consideration when doing those setups is rebuild times. If initializations are this slow then rebuilds may be very painful as well, and rebuilds are when you stand the most chance of another drive going offline in your array. I'll be updating this review after testing rebuild times.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/18/2016 8:01:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-215 VIA PCI SATA 1.5G x2 / ATA 133 (IDE) x1 Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Garbage!
Pros: When it works it is fine but if there is a failure...
Cons: Two drives mirrored. PC locked up, went to reboot and it would not reboot. (System drive with OS was on a separate drive). Thought maybe the OS become corrupted so I reloaded the OS. Came up fine until I installed the driver for this RAID controller. Then, it would not boot again. Checked the RAID controller and one drive in the mirror array had failed. Replaced the bad drive and tried to recreate the array and that failed. Tried twice more - both failures. Took the good drive and put it into a different PC and was able see, read and copy the data to another drive successfully.
Other Thoughts: This controller is garbage! 1) A non OS drive in the array should not prevent the PC from booting. 2) Once a defective drive has been replaced, it should be child's play to recreate the array. Instead, this controller failed!
Reviewed By:Larry F.,8/18/2016 7:32:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HP1-U34F PCI Express 4 Ports External USB 3.0 PCI Express Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Specs are misleading. It does not work with OSX
Pros: None so far
Cons: Does not work with OSX out of the box and no drivers supplied because manufacture claims there are native drivers in OS X 10.8 I am running 10.11 and no such luck.
Other Thoughts: Don't know if the issue is buggy card or buggy OS. Some people claim it worked right away, others claim you need to find and alter USB 3.0 kexts. So far I've had no luck with 3rd party drivers.

I just noticed that NOWHERE on the box does it state this card is compatible with any OSX version, so I guess it's NEWEGG that's lying.
Reviewed By:David S.,8/17/2016 2:53:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0 Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Incomplete Specifications!
Pros: UPDATE:
See "Cons".

Good inexpensive add-on controller card when it's on sale.

Works in PCI-e " x 1 " slot on motherboard and offers higher performance than SATA II ports on older motherboards. Maximum Read speed around 380MB/sec.
Cons: UPDATE:
Rating reduced to 1 egg because -

Here we are 8 months later and Newegg still fails to mention this is an " x1 " slot card which CANNOT ACHIEVE FULL SATA III SPEED.

An x1 slot offers around 380MB/s - 400MB/s maximum sequential Read speed. This is certainly better than the older SATA II on older motherboards, but not as fast as the advertising implies.

The card is advertised here as " The SATA III ports offer a blazing-fast speed of 6Gbps " and again in the next paragraph as " The SATA III ports deliver a blistering fast data transfer speed of up to 6Gbps ".

Newegg's product description and specifications fail to mention this is an " x1 slot " card rather than " x4 slot " or higher. SYBA's website does make it clear but customers trust Newegg to give them the information they need up front and in this instance Newegg continues to fail its customers.

I'm a loyal Newegg customer and I've used a similar x1 slot SATA III controller card from SYBA on my older Socket 1366 ASUS motherboard and it works fine, providing a useful speed boost over the built-in SATA II ports, but it is shameful that such a reputable website continues to perpetrate misleading information.

Please scroll down to see my earlier review of this card on 12/19/2014 titled
"Understanding PCI-e and x1Slots" for a clear explanation.
Other Thoughts: PCI-e x1 slots have a "single lane" of bandwidth - fast enough to maximise performance from any spinning hard drive.

PCI-e x4 (or higher) slots have at least "two lanes" of bandwidth - fast enough to maximise performance from modern SSDs.

PCI-e x2 slot - does not exist. Use x4 slot for any card with x2 specification.

If you want to add up to four extra SATA ports to your PC this is a simple way to do it. For regular spinning HDDs you'll have plenty of speed available through this card. For SSDs you'll get faster speed than a SATA II port but not as fast as a full SATA III port.

If you need full SATA III speed choose one of the controller cards that has " x2 " and fits into an " x4 slot " on your motherboard. Check out these SYBA models all of which have "two lanes" of bandwidth:
SI-PEX40057
SD-PEX40054 (my favorite)
SD-PEX50055
SI-PEX40062
SI-PEX40072
Be sure you ALWAYS research any card's requirements, features, and limitations before you buy.

For example, some add-on controller cards support RAID while others do not. Some require you to reinstall your operating system if you connect your boot drive to the card. Some offer external SATA III ports while others do not. So, do your homework before you buy. Many negative reviews of add-on cards are the result of users failing to understand exactly what the card can and cannot do.
Manufacturer Response:On behalf of Syba, please accept our thanks for choosing our products.
Please be assured that our interest in your complete satisfaction. It is our sincere desire that you are completely satisfied with your product and the service you receive from our Team.
If you cannot give us a completely satisfied rating for any reason, visit support@Sybausa.com so we can better serve you as our valued customer. As a reminder, our business hours: Monday ~ Friday, 9:00am ~ 5:00pm PST

Reviewed By:Andrew M.,8/12/2016 9:25:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.