Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HP1-U34F PCI Express USB 3.0 PCI Express Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works
Pros: Easy to install and set up.
Works as advertised.
Have a ASUS P6T mb and Win 7.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Lots of USB 3.0 cards with bad reviews. So I was a bit hesitant ordering, but with the rebate almost was a no brainer.
Reviewed By:dogo,3/2/2015 4:10:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SY-PEX40039 PCI-Express 2.0 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Works for my BD sata drives.
Cons: none drives read and are displayed
Reviewed By:MADD TAZZ,3/1/2015 10:34:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint RocketRAID 2300 PCI Express SATA II (3.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 making 2 work
Pros: My replacement works
Cons: nothing
Other Thoughts: To make 2 work in a single computer takes some effort otherwise it hangs.

Download a BIOS.

Run the flash program and configure the BIOS.

Disable: Reallocate EBDA
Disable: INT 13 support
Reviewed By:N/A,2/28/2015 5:02:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-PEX40049 Flex-2-port SATA III 6Gbps PCIe Card, Hard Drive Connectors can be set as External or Internal Ports by Jumpers

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 re-review
Pros: works now as advertised
Cons: poor documentation
Other Thoughts: once I contacted them and got proper jumper settings, card worked just fine
Reviewed By:Hal,2/27/2015 10:46:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SY-PEX40039 PCI-Express 2.0 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No Problems
Pros: Price
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I've owned two of these for over a year now running 24/7. I have yet to have an issue. I can't speak much to the speed other than to say that my 7200 RPM drives are running at the same speed as the on board SATA.

Great value. Would by again.
Reviewed By:BrownSys,2/26/2015 9:20:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-PEX40049 Flex-2-port SATA III 6Gbps PCIe Card, Hard Drive Connectors can be set as External or Internal Ports by Jumpers

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 needs a real manual
Pros: installed just fine
Cons: no idea how to set the jumpers to activate external ports
Other Thoughts: I'm sure it may be fine, just poor manual and website doesn't provide the info. Pdf file does not work from the website
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We apologize for the issues you have experienced with this Controller Card.

Our tech support team is more than happy to provide any information you may need when determining the compatibility and specification of a device.

Our tech support team may also assist you with installing and configuring this device for your system.

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST 02272015

Reviewed By:N/A,2/26/2015 4:17:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > LSI > LSI MegaRAID Internal Low-Power SATA/SAS 9260-8i 6Gb/s PCI-Express 2.0 w/ 512MB onboard memory RAID Controller Card, Single--Avago Technologies

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Fast and reliable Hardware RAID. Supports multiple RAID levels, compatible with a large variety of disks (SAS and SATA) and SAS expander's.
Optional BBU both provides data protection and increased performance (writeback mode).
Many options for managing and configuring your volumes - You've got the WebBIOS graphical setup utility, the preboot cli (a stripped down version of megacli), then there's the MegaRAID Storage Manager software, as well as MegaCLI, and the Storcli utilities.
Cons: Does NOT support JBOD/Passthrough. Disk's MUST be in some kind of Hardware RAID volume in order for them to be presented to the OS. While workable, this makes this card less desirable for use with Software volume management like LVM, SVM, or ZFS.
MegaCLI utility is very powerful, but can be confusing for new users.
Other Thoughts: I bought this card because it's a related model to the 9261-8i which is used in several of the server model's I support.
I have it paired up with an Intel RES2CV240 which it is working well with.
Reviewed By:Chris B.,2/25/2015 8:51:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SY-PEX40039 PCI-Express 2.0 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Intermittant problems
Pros: Price per sata port was good. Speed is OK, considering it uses an v2 x1 PCIe slot.
Cons: It took a couple tries to get it to sync at PCIe v2 speeds. There are other weird stability or compatibility problems.
Other Thoughts: I purchased one of these from Newegg and a second from a different online store. They caused intermittant problems mounting disks..

I bought two of these to get extra ports for raid using btrfs. Putting either of the cards into my system causes intermittent filesystem mounting failures at boot time. The cards cause all ahci controllers in the system to misbehave, not just the one on the card. When I remove the cards, the other ahci devices work fine again. Also, changing the bios to NOT use ahci allows the motherboard controllers to work, but anything plugged into the sata cards are still flakey. Also, the cards don't work with my optical drives.
These problems happened when one or both of the cards were plugged in.

Because of the intermittent nature of the problem, it took a few days to narrow the problem down to these cards.

Overall, a dissapointing purchase.

linux ubuntu 14.04, kernels 3.13 & 3.16
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We apologize for your dissatisfaction with the quality of this controller card.

We are more than happy to provide all of our customers with a prompt exchange whenever a product becomes defective.

SYBA offers an online RMA form, the user can easily fill out the form and submit it for a quick RMA return and exchange. It is SYBA's policy to answer all customer inquiries within 24 hours (M-F)

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST 02272015

Reviewed By:Lee,2/24/2015 10:52:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint RocketRAID 4520 8-Channel SAS/SATA 6Gb/s PCI-E 2.0 x8, DDR3 512MB Onboard Memory, RAID-on-Chip Controller Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Right Timing To Buy SAS 6Gb/s Hardware RAID Controller
Pros: 12G Hardware RAID controllers are finally becoming more common. I figured this was a good time to start looking for a bargained priced 6G model. This is why I ended up settling on the RocketRAID 4520. In fact, it looks to be the cheapest hardware RAID controller on the market right now.
It helped that this card has been available for several years now, so I didn't expect anything to go awry.
The initial testing was done with Windows 2012R2 and 8 Seagate enterprise drives setup for RAID 5. It had no trouble recognizing the hard drives, and was easy to install my workstation. The card has browser software for creating arrays, which is also easy to setup and use.
I expected performance in the 1000MB/s range, but was surprised and disappointed to only get around 800 sustained. The drives are capable of more than this, and a hardware RAID controller should have no trouble pushing hard disks to their limits speed wise.
Cons: Too early to say – see my Other Thoughts
Other Thoughts: After hitting the 800MB/s ceiling, I was starting to worry that the lower cost was not related to 12G, and maybe related to the hardware’s limitations?
Hopefully, I am just doing something wrong and this card can actually perform like a hardware RAID controller should. I sent a request to their support department (online only), which says it will respond in 24 hours. I tend to dislike online-only support service, to put it mildly, but I guess I will take a wait and see approach. If they come through (or not) I'll update this review
Reviewed By:Khoo,2/22/2015 7:49:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40060 PCI-Express 2.0 x1 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect low-end solution
Pros: Low cost, works perfectly for JBOD. Comes with a low-profile bracket.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: First I found some incompatibility with my IdeaCenter K320. Not sure what caused the problem, always giving BSOD when transferring large files > 5G. Works without any problem so far with my other Lenovo desktops.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/22/2015 5:57:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.