Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40062 PCI-Express 2.0 x2 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amendment
Pros: Got it to WORK!!
I left a very negative review about this product simply would not work, no matter what I tried. I even went so far as to change my OS (I was planning on it anyway) in the hopes that it would function. No luck. Then I figured out the problem.
Solution: I have several sATA HDD docking stations (3), each with 2 USB ports for a total of 6. The PC was assigning them drive letters whether I had a USD drive attached or not. After a little researh, I came to the conclusion that all my physical HDD's plus the 6 USB ports had used up all available 26 drive letters, so I was unable to add anymore HDD's to my configuration. The solution was so easy that I'm embarrassed that I didn't think of it before. I simply went to disk manager (control panel>computer management>storage>disk management) and deleted all of the empty USB drives, making quite a few drive letters available for additional HDD's.
Cons: Only 4 sATA ports.
Other Thoughts: I doubt that others would need the additional internal ports unless they have a server or a RAID configuration requiring more than 2 HDD's. I, however, have accumulated ~ 15 sATA HDD's of variable sizes (from 500 GB's to 3 TB's) over the past couple of years and hate seeing them just sit on a shelf, basically wasted. So all of the disks are attached to the PC mainboard, allowing me to setup a RAID configuration.
On a side note, 9 of the HDD's are internal. Most cases/MB's only allow for 5 or 6 internal sATA ports/slots to install drives, making it impossible to install more than 5 to 6 internal drives. I overcame that issue via the Cooler Master HAF Stacker 925 case.It's a modular case design (quite brilliant in fact) which allows for additional HDD storage by stacking a 915F module (had room for 9 physical HDD's. My setup includes two 915F modules, one on top of the 925 and one below. My liquid cooling unit fits beautifully int he the upper 915F module as well as 3 additional fans. The lower 915F gives me up to 9 additional internal HDD mounts, making the need for external docking station obsolete. Now I just need to find a way to attach additional drives to the MB beyond the 4 that this card allows for, otherwise I'll just buy another sATA controller card.
Reviewed By:Scott J,7/11/2014 9:09:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-SATA150R PCI 2.2 SATA Controller Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works well on Linux
Pros: Cheap, works on linux, good for NAS.
Cons: A bit slow.
Other Thoughts: Linux 3.14 picked up the card and the 2 3TB HDDs connected to it. I use it as JBOD, not Raid. Also worked with SSD.

Measured Speed - 110 MB/s in total (55 MB/s on each SATA port) with PCI Latency Timer at 128. If only one HDD is used, I get 90 MB/s. (The HDDs are 7200 RPM Toshibas which give me higher read/write on mobo SATA 3.0 ports; so they're not the bottleneck).

Advertised speed - PCI maxes out at 266 MB/s (32-bit at 66 MHz) and each SATA 150 port at 192 MB/s. Even with 8/10 encoding overhead or whatever they use, I expected at least 100 MB/s on each SATA port. -1 egg for that. Also, I've only had it for 1 day - dunno about longevity.

Good, inexpensive SATA PCI card. Sufficient for NAS if you don't care about speed.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/10/2014 7:33:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-VIA-1A2S VIA PCI SATA 1.5G / IDE ATA 133 Combo Controller Card / Supports Raid 0, 1, 0+1, JBOD, non-RAID mode

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 UPDATE REVIEW
Pros: WORKS AFTER RESETTING BOOT ORDER IN BIOS
Cons: IT CHANGED MY BIOS TO BOOT TO IT INSTEAD OF MY BOOT HD. IT LOCKED UP MY COMPUTER ON BOOT BECAUSE OF THIS. TOOK AWHILE TO FIGURE THIS OUT
Other Thoughts: DRIVERS WERE HARD TO INSTALL TRIED SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE THE CORRECT DRIVERS WERE INSTALLED. THE SETUP PROGRAM DID NOT WORK I HAD TO LOAD THE DRIVERS MANUALLY. THIS TOOK LONGER THAN IT SHOULD. FIX THE SETUP PROGRAM GUYS. USING WIN 7
Reviewed By:BRUCE,7/10/2014 5:00:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-VIA-1A2S VIA PCI SATA 1.5G / IDE ATA 133 Combo Controller Card / Supports Raid 0, 1, 0+1, JBOD, non-RAID mode

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Tested fine with NAS4Free
Pros: Works under NAS4Free/BSD
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: I bought this card to stick in an older machine (P 4, 2.6) that was to be used with SATA drives as a file server--the machine's mobo did not have SATA headers. The set up was smooth: NAS4Free was able to utilize the drive hooked to this card, and we set up the system. I can't comment on things like throughput, or hardware RAID set up, since the machine only had one drive and is not now in my possession--I just helped with set-up. But it did result in a functional file server, so anyone wanting to use this in an older, SATA-headerless machine to set up a file server that runs on NAS4Free, should be able to do so successfully.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/10/2014 4:07:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > 3ware > 3ware LSI00252 (9750-16i4e SGL) SATA/SAS 6Gb/s PCIe 2.0 w/512 MB onboard memory controller card, Single

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Card
Pros: I have owned this card for over 2 years now and thought I would review it. The card boots fast and is easy to configure using the 3Dm2 Management Software. I have had 0 dropped arrays on a server that operates 24/7
Cons: None at this time
Other Thoughts: I use this on a media server running Win 7 x64
Reviewed By:Sign-Man,7/10/2014 12:21:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40064 PCI-Express 2.0 Low Profile Ready SATA III (6.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 4 ports Great
Pros: Really simple installation. I was upgrading from a 2 port to this 4 port, and it found immediately. Great delivery service too.
Cons: So far so good. no problems.
Reviewed By:Sinamaxx,7/8/2014 2:37:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-VIA-1A2S VIA PCI SATA 1.5G / IDE ATA 133 Combo Controller Card / Supports Raid 0, 1, 0+1, JBOD, non-RAID mode

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 LOCKS COMPUTER
Pros: SOMETIMES DOESN'T LOCK COMPUTER
Cons: LOCKS COMPUTER ON BOOT MOST OF THE TIME WITH HD ATTACHED
Other Thoughts: GARBAGE DESIGN ALMOST USELESS
Reviewed By:BRUCE,7/8/2014 1:22:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-PEX40054 PCI-Express 2.0 x4 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) HyperDuo 4-port RAID Controller Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 so far so good
Pros: so far so good - it works as port multiplier to upgrade older hardware from SATA 2 to SATA 3 on a P55 main board. I used EaseUS PM to upgrade/migrate my system disk to a SSD. Attached the SSD to the PEX40054, set the BIOS to boot to the SSD and voila - I'm up and running - no BSOD so far. In the Marvell BIOS utility, it shows the SSD as SATA 6.0Gbps, AHCI, 48 LBA, TRIM which I can only assume means the Marvell chip will pass OS trim commands to the SSD. The newest version of Samsung Magician (4.4) recognizes SSDs on Marvell chips so I have optimized the SSD using SM. For now I'm happy with my current setup and will use the extra ports in ESATA mode. Oh BTW, the drivers on the CD are old - download the latest from the SYBA site.
Cons: Couldn't get the Marvell software utility to work in Windows. As soon as it launched - BSOD, so there are some major conflict/bugs with that software. That could be a minor problem for someone wanting to use RAID on this chip, although one can still configure it in the BIOS. BTW the Intel RST software works beautifully.
Other Thoughts: RAID? I have no idea whether the Hyper-Duo feature or RAID works. The SSDs are fast enough without setting them up in a RAID. So far the Intel RAIDs are the only consumer level chips that pass TRIM commands. Samsung Magician does not recognize its SSDs in RAID so you miss out on the optimizations provided by SM.I've I've seen the video of the blindingly fast 24 SSD RAID 0, but they used high end RAID chips for that experiment. BTW, the EaseUS PM software works great to migrate system disks to new HDD/SSD! Will write an update after using this setup for a few months - unless something negative happens first.
Reviewed By:PHubb,7/8/2014 9:08:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > LSI > LSI MegaRAID SAS 9341-4i (LSI00419) PCI-Express 3.0 x8 Low Profile SATA / SAS High Performance Four-Port 12Gb/s RAID Controller (Single Pack)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Updated review
Pros: once working, it is ok.
Cons: In addition to the issues I had in my other review, I ended up getting the card back, it was bad, I had to RMA again, and now have a functional card/system.

On the down side, I went to do online capacity expansion like the card is advertised to do, and the answer I recieved was "if you have more than 1 partition in an array you can't use change the array at all, this include migration, and online capacity expantion".

Who in this day is silly enough to just use 1 large partition? Every good admin I know uses a system partition so they can do upgrades easier without causing issues to the data.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/8/2014 8:11:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HP1-SU3 PCI Express USB 3.0 ProBox Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Stopped working after a month
Pros: It was pretty fast while it worked
Cons: Failed and now will not install any driver on Windows 7
Other Thoughts: Apparently there's some sort of firmware problem with this chipset. I am a PC technician and I could not find a way to flash the firmware and get it working. Would not recommend.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/7/2014 7:57:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau