Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Black November
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Chassis > Athena Power > Athena Power RM-1U100D308 Black Aluminum/Steel 1U Rackmount Server Case 300W FlexATX 80PLUS Bronze 1 External 5.25" Drive Bay Compact Size 9.84" in depth

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 LOUD PSU
Pros: It's cheap, well made. Very nice steel finish on the front plate. comes with PSU
Cons: The case has air intake holes on the side by the psu, however the psu vents are on the top where it meets the case lid. This always forces the fan to go into over drive with the lid on. Seems like that did not design the psu and case together. I am going to create some air holes on the lid above the psu to see if this fixes any issues.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/25/2014 8:50:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Athena Power > Athena Power RM-3U300P708 Black Aluminum / Steel 3U Rackmount Server Case w/ 3U 700W 80 PLUS BRONZE 3 External 5.25" Drive Bays, compact 15" Depth

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Heavy Duty Chassis
Pros: The case material is very heavy duty compared to most other manufacturer's chassis'. The front bezel is made of heavy guage aluminum and very strong. The extra screws provided turned out to be a godsend, as some of the screws installed from mfg were stripped.
Cons: While the overall case is excellent, the finishing leaves something to be desired. The 5.25" drive bay assembly had to be trimmed to route cables around the ATX motherboard. The fan power distribution board supplied to power up to five fans was nice, but mounted where it interfered with the mounting of the motherboard. I had to remove it and grind out the stand-offs. The drive mounting (both 5.25" and 3.5/2.5" both leave a lot to be desired, but work. Some re-engineering here would be prudent.

The stand=offs for the ATX motherboard were missing one on the front left (all relative to the front bezel) and the middle one on the left side was .75" to far to the left. Had to grind this one off because it was shorting pathways under the motherboard.
Other Thoughts: This is not a case for a beginner. If you do not have extensive assembly experience and know how to do proper modifications you will be VERY frustrated. I have been assembling servers for years and this was by far the most difficult built done. Cable routing was extremely difficult.

I would recommend replacing the supplied PS with a completely modular one to eliminate the unnecessary cables taking up the valuable footage inside the case.

Overall this product supplies what it says and will stand up to life on the road (using this as the heart of a digital mobile recording setup).
Reviewed By:Bugling Badger Studi,11/25/2014 11:23:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA E Storm RG-2210 Black Heavy-duty SECC 1.6mm Cold-rolled Steel 2U Rackmount Rugged High Performance Server Case 2 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Caveat Emptor
Pros: Seems solid, and well built
Cons: flawed manufacturing
no tech support response to date
Other Thoughts: At first glance this appears to be a great case. Rugged, with a well designed door mechanism and a quality lock.

But both of the units that I received were manufactured with a flaw, which is that the posts on the standoffs provided with the case are enough smaller than the pre-drilled holes in the motherboard mounting plate that the threads on the post do not engage the threads in the predrilled holes. This means that you cannot secure the motherboard into the case. Nor do any of the hundreds of standoffs I have left over from hundreds of system builds over the years fit - the few I have that would fit the pre-drilled holes are all half again taller than the correct ones.

Either the pre-drilled holes were incorrectly tapped to a too-large thread, or the standoffs shipped with the case have a post that is smaller than anticipated when the plates were pre-drilled.

I can understand a glitch happening- but the reason I'm posting this review without being able to fully use the product now is that I'm getting no response from IStarUSA. I called iStarUSA shortly after the product arrived last Thursday, have called a number of times since and the tech support line is never answered. A voicemail left on Thursday has yet to be returned. I've emailed them today.

I can't recommend this product unless it can actually be used, which in the state both were shipped to me, it can't be. (Unless you don't mind your motherboard being "barely" attached inside the case.)
Reviewed By:Ghastly,11/24/2014 2:47:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-470 Black 4U Rackmount Server Case 3 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Meets expectations
Pros: This case met my expectations. It got my mix of server parts in to my rack, delivers satisfactory cooling, and is acceptable from a noise standpoint.

It has plenty of room for an ATX server motherboard, I don't know about EEB/E-ATX. It takes standard ATX power supplies no problem, I don't know about redundant PSUs. Up front, I was able to install two 3in2 3.5" SATA hot swap cages, a 4in3 SATA hot swap cage, and full size DVD drive with one drive bay left. This was my intended layout. The 2 included 5 in 3 3.5" non hot swap cages are no frills, but useful.

Bottom line: This case has all the room and mounting points you need for DIY server projects with generic components. 5/5

The included 80mm fans run at ~3000RPM. You can feel air moving though the case. I hear the noise with my rack door closed in the same room, but can't hear it anywhere else in the house. Bottom line: This case has the cooling you need without sounding like a hair dryer. Silence snobs need not apply. 4/5

There is plenty of room to work inside the case. There are enough holes in the fan wall to route 4 power supply connectors and ten SATA cables without it looking like a total rat's nest. Even with all the cables in, I can still access all of the drive bays, CPUs, RAM, and expansion slots in my server without moving cables. The front door, lock, and top cover feel pretty solid. I did not encounter any sharp edges while installing in this case. Bottom line: Not a precision engineered complete package, but what a DIY server builder should expect. 4/5
Cons: The RL-26 rails (sold separately) that go with this case DO fit in my rack, but they do not allow the server to slide out far enough to remove the top cover without releasing the latches like you would be completely removing the server from the rack.

This case does have 9 5.35" drive bays in 3 groups of 3 across the front of the case, but the center group of 3 are rotated 90 degrees relative to the outside sets of 3 bays.
Other Thoughts: This case is, for the money, an excellent choice for DIY server builders that need the flexibility of a large number of 5.25" drive bays, full size motherboards, and generic components. Having already invested in hot swap cages for my server, I am pleased with the value, room, and space this case delivers. I just wish Norco would take another look at the RL-26 rails that they specify for this case.
Reviewed By:DougLite,11/23/2014 5:49:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Chenbro > CHENBRO RM41300-F Black & Silver 1.2 mm SGCC 4U Rackmount Open-Bay Chassis 3 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love this Modular Design
Pros: Modular Design.
Ability to handle up to 48 mobile hard drives. That's 96 TB's!
Extra long case allows for very neat wiring and additional fans.
Air flow possibilities -- front to back--are fantastic.
Everything aligns perfectly. Never seen a better fit. Never.
Top cover slides off very easily.
Modular options are reasonably priced ($15 - $20 online).
Plenty of screws included.
Heavy gage thick steel case is nearly bullet proof.
The front cover plates screw on instead of snap on and great for holding 40 mm fans.
Cons: Absolutely none.
Other Thoughts: I bought this case because of it's incredible ability to handle a variety of fans (40 mm, 80mm, 120mm) and the ability to install as many as 15 fans (or more) and oodles of hard drives. I purchased the additional drive enclosure (Chenbro 84h342310-003 Drive Enclosure which Newegg doesn't sell darn but you can get here http://www.compsource.com/pn/84H342310003/Chenbro_Micom_2378/) and with two of these I have SIX 5.25" external bays, TWO 3.5" external bays, One slim DVD drive bay, and FOUR internal 3.5" drive bays. This allows me to use Icy Dock 6 bay hard drive trays in two of the slots, TWO fan controllers in two other bays, and SIX 40 mm Vantec 24 cfm fans in two other bays. Then I installed multiple card readers and USB ports in the TWO smaller 3.5" bays and of course a slim DVD in the middle OMB port. The 40 mm fans screw perfectly into the grid of the cover (mesh) plates and I installed THREE fans on each of two mesh covers This allows me to push 24x3 or 72 cmf through each one for 144 cfm. Then I placed another high speed 84 cfm Vantec Tornado in the middle slot (80 mm). That's 228 cfm total pushing air into the case. Then I installed a pair of Tornado's in the rear (84x2=168 cfm) and fit THREE 40 mm fans in the mesh area ABOVE the PCI/express slots. I had to do a little drilling to make this work and added extra holes. I also mounted them OUTSIDE the case rather than inside because if inside I would have to remove a fan to remove a card and that would be a hassle. So I mounted nice filter covers (snap on) to keep my fingers mounted. So this added 72 more cfm for a total of 240 cfm pulling air OUT of the case (not including the power supply fan or an additional 40 cfm PCI slot fan that I threw in). I estimate the total rear flow at about 300 cfm. I then connected 12 of these fans to TWO fan controllers (30 watts per fan) to monitor the speed, temperature, etc. And to balance the flow front to back. Works perfectly and it's noisy but I don't care I'm nearly deaf ha. But you can save energy by lowering the fans to about 10% when not in use (hibernating, sleep, etc). With this setup my system temperature is about 27-28C (mostly due to my grandmother who forces me to keep the house temperature to nearly 80F). But the CPU temp stays around 33 to 35 C which is excellent. Of course it's higher under heavy load but with the cfm so high it never gets above 48-50C which is excellent on just air (not water cooling).
Reviewed By:wowlfie,11/21/2014 9:03:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Athena Power > Athena Power RM-4U400S60 Black Aluminum Front Panel and 1.2mm Steel 4U Rackmount Server Case 600W SUPREME PS2 4 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Mother Board support
Pros: Nothing noted.
Cons: Motherboard posts cannot be moved. They are welded in.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/20/2014 6:48:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Logisys Computer > Logisys CS4802BK Black 4U Rackmount Server Case 3 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 a big pile of steaming
Pros: screws are either stripped or not in streght
the hole for the pegs dont match any mb other a small micro
nothing lines up.
sharp edges
airflow is a joke
they could put at least a little thought into this product.
Cons: well it could be worse if moneys squated in the case.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/18/2014 9:24:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Athena Power > Athena Power RM-1U100D Black Aluminum / Steel 1U Rackmount Server Case 1 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 1U is a NIGHTMARE
Pros: Good Idea Bad Implementation
Cons: I have tried many 1U cases that clam to fit a standard ITX board. The design concept is good but it is just not done properly. The board always hits the bottom of the case and bends when the screws are tightened. The plastic fan locks hit the bottom and it pushes the heat sink away from the CPU. I AM SICK OF HAVING TO CUT AND DRILL HOLES IN THE SHEET METAL!!!! The standoffs are just too short .

The fan power distribution board also had a poorly soldered molex that was barely attached to the PCB.

Does not work with LGA 775 or LGA 1155 motherboards without modifications.
Other Thoughts: All 1U cases seem to have this problem. Unless you want to cut sheet metal DO NOT go with a 1U case. I have given up on the rack mount idea and will custom make an ITX case that suits my needs.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for submitting your review. We, Athena Power, wants to address your issue and our tech support representative may be able to assist you in resolving it. Please contact us at (626) 810-5008 or send an e-mail with the detail explaination of the issue and specs to service@athenapower.us, so we may assist you better. Thank you again.

Reviewed By:WONDER,11/13/2014 5:40:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Habey > Habey EMC-800S Silver Heavy duty 3mm aluminum Slim Mini-ITX HTPC/NAS/Server Chassis 120W Internal Power Supply, 60W External AC Power Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice and cheap case for HTPC
Pros: Good price for $39.99 plus tax. Sturdy and nice looking. Easy installation with plenty of room compared to EMC-600SL. First of all, it is better to use low power CPU like Athlon 5350, G2030T or i3 3220T that are less than 35W since the air flow for this case is not good. I add three old 40mmx10mm fans to blow out the hot air. for G2030 (55W) and only install one 120G SSD. The CPU temp is around 32C - 45C (room is around 20C) .Installation was done around 40 minutes. So far it runs great with Windows 7 under my TV stand.
Cons: The AC power adapter can be more powerful with UL certificated. The power adapter with the case is 60W and can't find UL mark on it. Now I have to remember to unplug it at night before going to sleep.
Other Thoughts: Compared to EMC-600SL which is silver brush, EMC-600SL does look better. But EMC-800S is good enough for its look.
Reviewed By:tyeh,11/13/2014 5:03:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-4308 4U Rackmount Short Depth 15.25" 4U Rackmount Case with Eight Hot Swap Trays Standard ATX, mini redundant power supply

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Cheap rack case, minor issues
Pros: - The case is decent looking
- Lots of ventilation for mainboard/PSU/Cards
- 8 Hot-swap HDD trays
- Shallow depth makes it easy to mount in small or tight racks
Cons: - Poor ventilation for HDDs
- HDD trays are flimsy, and feel cheap
- Difficult to attach cables or hardware on motherboard when in the case
- Doesn't clearly state there is NO cable for the backplane (SFF-8087) with case. a 8087 *REVERSE* breakout is required if attaching backplane directly to motherboard SATA connectors.
- Not enough room for extended length full height cards(HDD's would be in the way.
- Lots of wasted space
Other Thoughts: Not really a con, as one would expect it, but the mesh face is very easy to damage, or bend.

I purchased this unit for a hybrid DVR/NVR build. After ordering the SFF-8087 reverse breakout cables for the backplane, the build was relatively easy. installing the SATA cables before placing the motherboard in the case would have made it much easier(but I didn't).
Reviewed By:Mark T.,11/12/2014 11:23:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.