Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Chassis > Athena Power > Athena Power RM-4U400S60 Black Aluminum Front Panel and 1.2mm Steel 4U Rackmount Server Case 600W SUPREME PS2 4 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do not buy, mounting system has design flaw
Pros: Handsome case. That's about it.
Cons: The mounting rails they sell for this case are too thick. Narrowest width they can be installed to is 45.5 cm. If you install according to their instructions it's even worse. The standard opening in a server rack is 45 cm. Other reviews have mentioned an excessive tightness in operating the rails, I guarantee this is why. Not real sure how those other reviewers even managed to get that good of a result.

Do not buy.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/27/2015 8:55:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO CSE-731i-300B Black Pedestal Server Case 300W Power Supply w/ PFC 2 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent
Pros: I love this case, the build quality is excellent for the money, it's exactly what I have been looking for, and it doesn't rattle like some cases I've had in the past. I'm going to buy another one soon.
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: This case would also be nice for a regular PC build.
Reviewed By:Tech4Me,3/26/2015 6:51:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA D-213ASE-MATX Black Aluminum 2U Rackmount Compact microATX Chassis 1 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Clean product
Pros: -Easy to work in
-Modern Styling
- Locking front hatches
Cons: Mounting holes don't line up with Rack very well. Had to use 4 inner holes instead of the outer holes.
Other Thoughts: Great product, I'll try it again to see if maybe the rack I was using was off-standard but I'm skeptical.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/24/2015 10:57:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA D-380HN Black Aluminum 3U Rackmount Compact 8x 3.5" Bay Trayless Hotswap microATX Chassis

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: This is a nice looking case and the 8 external bays are easy to use. Drives insert and eject nicely without the need for any kind of rail or tray.

Each set of drive bays is a semi sealed enclosure with a dedicated 80mm fan that forces air over the drives. Each drive has it's own LED that changes from Blue (powered on) to Violet (active)

The case is very simple with a single button for power and 2 bright blue LEDs to use as you wish, probably Power and HDD activity, and 1 plug for 2 USB ports.

Mounts in a rack with ears but looks like you could add rails. The case is short enough that the ears are sufficient.
Cons: The case screws are small, delicate and numerous. Keep track of them and be careful when installing or you'll strip the heads. Look carefully for the correct screws to install the handles/ears, which are in the package with the rack ears but are easy to miss.
Other Thoughts: Top vented. You can't stack the cases or you'll block the air flow. The case is designed for a power supply with a top mounted fan. If you use an ATX board, the PS will cover part of the board so make sure there is nothing there that you need to access.

Tight workspace. If the SATA ports face out of the back of the board, the bends are tight to get up to the drive bays and may hit the center fan. I moved the center fan to the opposite side of it's mount to make a little more room.
If any of the LEDs or USB plugs are at the edge of the board near the PS, they may be unusable on an ATX board (12.0" x 9.6")

Two bright blue LEDs that will burn your eyes out. They are inset a little, so if you are not looking directly at them they're fine, but directly... they need to be covered. I dim mine with a piece of blue electrical tape over the hole. Without that, I can actually read in my office with the lights off.

9th HDD slot is under the power supply. If you want a boot disk that isn't in your 8 hot swap bays, it goes under the power supply. The only way to get to it is to take the PS out.

I replaced a 20 bay unit with 3 of these to spread out my load. I am very pleased so far with the size of the units and the ease of racking them in my cabinet. The extra U required for top to back venting as opposed to front to back venting was a concern, but it seems to work well.

It is several steps up in quality from the Norco 20 bay unit I've had for years. Drives insert and eject, and lock! with ease. You can replace a drive in seconds.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/23/2015 8:47:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-430 Black 4U Rackmount Super Short Depth 15.25" Server Case 6 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Good case. No problems with alignment of drives,motherboard etc. No sharp edges etc. Case wiring is long enough. Case has a sturdy feel to it.
Cons: Front button layout is not the same as the photos show. Case fans are worthless. One was DOA. And the other fan is super loud. I have already ordered 2 replacement fans for the case.
Other Thoughts: The change to the front panel buttons isn't bad. Just unexpected. Missing the mute button. And the type of buttons have changed. Deducted one egg for the poor quality 80mm fans.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/19/2015 9:48:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-230 2U Rackmount Server Case 1 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 decent case for the money
Pros: Ease of installation for the components. Nice to have multiple cooling fans in the front.
Cons: Fans are noisy during operation. This is not a big deal since the rack is distant from most of the people who would complain.
Other Thoughts: The specifications state that a Mini ATX board fits, and it does. While it can be a tight fit, there is sufficient room for cooling with proper cable management.

There were comments about using the proper power supply, one without a side fan, or modification of the case cover is required are wise.
Reviewed By:John_M,3/17/2015 4:58:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > SuperMicro > Supermicro Superchassis Cse-504-203B 200W Mini 1U Rackmount Server Chassis (Black)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good case for low power router
Pros: Good construction
Cons: Doesn't come with bracket for hard drives,
Other Thoughts: Power supply is quiet, but has a kind of high pitched growl. In a rack, this shouldn't make a difference.
Reviewed By:Jeff,3/15/2015 1:12:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-L4000 - 4U Rackmount Server Case / Chassis - 8 Internal Bays, 7 Cooling Fans Included

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: Well built, not flimsy
Amount of metal for the price is on par with other cases
Lots of fans
Cons: Attention to detail is poor
5.25" covers and drive bay mounting is TERRIBLE
3.5" HDD "toolless" trays are also HORRIBLE
Manual doesn't show which pin is positive for the front panel headers
You have to remove 4 screws to get the lid off
You have to remove the entire drive cage, unplug all the drives, AND the drive fan, just to add or remove a drive.
Other Thoughts: I really didn't like the drive bay mounts, and the drive cage
The cage on the left didn't lock properly.
The plastic hard drive bay mounts with metal pins wouldn't fit in the screw holes of my hard drives, this made the pins crooked and they wouldn't fit into the drive cage. It's probably the worse design i've seen.

I had to remove the pins and just screw the drives in manually instead. And even then the tool-less mount is crooked and flexed.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/14/2015 4:07:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Athena Power > Athena Power RM-1U100DR22 Black Aluminum / Steel 1U Rackmount Server Case FLEX 220W 1 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Cool!!
Pros: Client had very specific requirements for a tiny 1U server. this worked great.
well made, solid, not flimsy at all. came with a plastic shield under the mainboard which I wasn't expecting but a welcomed addition.
Power supply even though it had a tiny fan is very quiet even under full load..
LOL.. full load of 29 Watts!
If I need a tiny 1U server enclosure with power supply in the future will use one of these again!
Cons: not free?
Reviewed By:N/A,3/12/2015 8:27:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-430 Black 4U Rackmount Super Short Depth 15.25" Server Case 6 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not a bad case
Pros: I have read all the reviews of this item prior to order it and I must say that I did not have any hole alignment issue with connecting to rails or securing in my cabinet. Everything lined up as it should. Perhaps the issues being had were because of using non norco brand rails. There was one complaint about the buttons being cheap and I must say that the one I received looked different than the one in the photo so I am not sure if the buttons were changed in the design of this case
Cons: none that I have found
Reviewed By:N/A,3/11/2015 5:02:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.