Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-430 Black 4U Rackmount Super Short Depth 15.25" Server Case 6 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Waste of time
Pros: None that I could see - except maybe the short depth.
Cons: I was excited to get this going as it seemed to be exactly what I was looking for - but once I got going on the install - with no instructions - I quickly found out why this case was so cheap.

My breaking point came after spending probably 90 minutes figuring out how to remove everything in order to mount my motherboard only to find when I mounted my video and network card - they were sitting about 1/8 of an inch too high - making it impossible to screw them into the actual holes provided. Seems the motherboard standoffs are way too high leaving the board so high - cards cannot be secured.

This case is cheaply made and nothing fits properly. The rack mount holes also do not line up with a industry standard rack.

The lack of instructions, cheap soft (stripable) screws and other clear cost cutting measures make this a poor value.
Other Thoughts: Do not bother. I am at a loss as to how anyone else - in all these reviews - were able to secure a PCI card? Did others get motherboard standoffs that were actually the right size? I am going to hold off on a return for a day or two (I dropped Norco an email) but failing the ability to get me a correct set of motherboard screws - back this goes to Newegg.
Reviewed By:Bruce M.,1/31/2016 6:12:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Ark Technology Inc. > ARK IPC-2U2055 Black 1.2mm SGCC 2U Rackmount Server Chassis 2 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Might want to keep looking
Pros: Only 2 RMU height, plenty of space inside due to the depth of the unit, easy to mount drives into it, 2 x 5.25 front bays is nice, there is a nice sized row of fans in the middle. There is plenty of venting, and it overall just looks nice when in a rack.
Cons: My biggest problem with this chassis (having sold probably 15+ of them) is that they are quite long to mount with only 2RMU unless you plan on supporting them with a shelf. They will dip down in a 2 post rack. I personally find having a shorter chassis + 3rd RU helps make things fit just a bit better (any cards will require low profile of course). While there are plenty of fans, they run across the middle of the unit, and cable management through them is a bit time consuming to do well. The cover doesn't line up all that perfect (although with a little time you can get it right). There is a mount for a power supply inside which isn't all that fun to use, and the power cable has to run all the way from the back to the front. The power cable screws on the back get worn out and break easily (so then it is difficult to connect power without really getting out the glue gun and trying to fix it well). I've had a few fans go out on them, but probably only about 20 percent (basically one fan fails after 1-2 years). Some in the past shipped with vent holes over the power supply (on the top of the unit... which can be a plus or minus)... but some shipped without vent holes (so a top venting ATX power supply won't mesh well with them).

They ship with a blue plastic covering the painted surfaces. Sometimes it can be VERY tedious removing that (like it was maybe applied before the paint was ready... and it sticks and comes off in small pieces). Sometimes it pulls off easily.

If you look at the pictures, notice the front side cables and power cable runs through the internal drive cages. I just pull these out and use trayless drive bays now.... but it is hard to route the cables around these if you plan to use 6 internal drives, you'll have to play with that a bit.
Other Thoughts: I'm really hit or miss on this chassis. While there are a lot of con's in my comments, overall they performed rather well and I have a good number of them in the field for clients. I don't think Ark is a bad company... I just found a couple chassis I liked better. I've used other Ark chassis I've liked in the past also.
Reviewed By:Richard V.,1/29/2016 9:52:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA D-213-MATX Black Aluminum / Steel 2U Rackmount microATX Server Chassis

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simple, effective, and dirt cheap when on sale!
Pros: -Easy to work with
-Installing components was a breeze
-Fits perfectly into a standard rack
-Low profile
-High quality build
-Space for two 80mm fans
-Fits a standard ATX PSU

I bought two of these when they were one sale. I used one for VPN / VOIP server and the other for a pfSense machine and couldn't be happier.
Cons: The only con is that power LED is extremely bright. This won't be an issue once I get a cabinet to put these in, but while not in one, the lights are overwhelming. I have covered them up for the time being.

Other Thoughts: One slight annoyance is that you have to take the drive cages out to put drives in. However, this really doesn't matter if you plan on using this for something you don't plan to tinker with much.

If you get one of these, make sure you use a modular PSU if you can. Especially if you plan to have a CD/DVD drive installed. There isn't much room for excess cables and It makes the build much cleaner and less restrictive for airflow through the case.

I wish I would have bought another one while they were so cheap. $30 is such a great deal for these.
Reviewed By:Evan J.,1/28/2016 5:58:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Athena Power > Athena Power RM-1U100DR22 Black Aluminum / Steel 1U Rackmount Server Case FLEX 220W 1 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Sufficient Quality for General Purpose use.
Pros: I used this case along with an ASROCK QC-5000ITX Motherboard (AMD FT3 Kabini CPU), an ADATA internal SSD and 2GB Kingston RAM to make a great little Intranet server. I think it would be a good choice for a commodity hardware project, such as small server farms (up to a few thousand dollars' worth). Obviously, if you want to invest millions you'd want to do a little additional study first on things like power consumption and cooling issues ;-)
Cons: Being 1U, it's pretty darn small to fit stuff into. But the stuff I used worked out really well.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/27/2016 1:50:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Ark Technology Inc. > ARK ITX/CS-WI02 Black Mini ITX Server Case Optional (TFX power supply)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great, small
Pros: Easy to work with, fair airflow for a relatively low power machine, cheap, doesn't seem to vibrate or make any noise at all
Cons: Plastic is fragile, included feet don't stick very well, You will need to remove the HDD frame from the chassis to remove/install the motherboard
Other Thoughts: I recommend this for small applications

Includes a single 50mm(?) fan to displace any hot air.
I am using this on a small Intel system for a server, it is possible AMD products may not get enough ventilation without extra fans.
Reviewed By:Alexander D.,1/27/2016 7:08:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-L4000 - 4U Rackmount Server Case / Chassis - 8 Internal Bays, 7 Cooling Fans Included

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Decent for the money, bad QC.
Pros: -Huge, can hold just about any mobo less than 12x13"
-Removable HD trays
-Rails for cable management
Cons: -Components such as power, reset, hdd activity light are wired super cheaply (understandably at this price point)
-Two of the fans that are on the 'divider' between the motherboard side and the harddrive side could not be connected via molex due to super cheap pins bending
-One of the rear fans was missing a fan blade making it useless
Other Thoughts: Other than the horrible wiring and fan issues this case could be worth the 89$ price tag. But the time it took to fix these issues made the case a nightmare and not worth the cost savings.
Reviewed By:Evan M.,1/27/2016 5:01:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-4224 4U Rackmount Server Case with 24 Hot-Swappable SATA/SAS Drive Bays

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Very good case for someone who likes to tinker. Poor craftsmanship.
Pros: Can't beat the storage potential. Rack mountable. Price.
Cons: This is my second Norco case, first being 4220. Both come with "broken" parts.

The first had one of it's backplanes not working. This one, so far as I can tell, has a broken front handle bar, the one that holds the USB ports. The inner plastic thread is broken and the handle is held by just one screw. Hope that Norco can address this as I do not feel like RMAing the entire case.

Otherwise, like the last case, plenty of sharp corners, but you do not get this case to go into it frequently.
Reviewed By:Lev P.,1/26/2016 5:05:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Athena Power > Athena Power RM-4U4088B65 Black 1.0mm Steel 4U Rackmount Server Case 658W Power Supply 3 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Decent value for the price
Pros: Had everything I needed for a starter server for my organization: multiple drive slots with built in cooling and plenty of expansion capabilities. Built-in power supply was nice and seems to be working great.
Cons: Ugly and chinsy on the inside. Lots of sharp edges, foam "vibration" pads under the drive bays look like a nerf massacre. Screws for motherboard and everything else leave gaping holes on the bottom and sides of the case. One of the screws for anchoring the 5.25" bays stripped and then got stuck, needed to use pliers and a screw-driver in chisel mode to remove. Can't replace these screws, as they seem to be of the specialty/proprietary variety.
Other Thoughts: The central support with built-in fans is a little awkward to work around, as the case is not really long enough for the addition. Not as adjustable as it first appears. The sata and power cables are a little cramped by the fans.

There are three mystery 3.5" drive slots not mentioned in the description, on either side and in-between the drive cages. They seemed a little flimsy and completely deprived of airflow to put a spinning hard-drive, but I made the central one work for a couple of SSDs that run the OS with a 3.5-2.5 bracket.
Reviewed By:McAllister Y.,1/25/2016 11:00:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-470 Black 4U Rackmount Server Case 3 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great case
Pros: Lots of space.
Lots of air flow
comes with fans installed
lots of room for hard drives
3 5.25 bays are nice
Cons: Can be loud with 6 80 mm fans going at once.
Other Thoughts: I solved the noise issue. I installed a switch on the front panel to turn off half the fans at idle.
Reviewed By:Luke f.,1/24/2016 1:45:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-230 2U Rackmount Server Case 1 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice case
Pros: Very clean design. The unit I got came with 2 x front USB ports, 1 x power LED, 1 x HDD LED, 3 x network activity LEDs and 1x alarm LED. Pics and specs show 1 USB, 1 x power, 1 x HDD, 2 x net and nothing about alarm LED. A nice little bonus.

It came with a decent amount of screws.
Cons: On my unit, the top rear end, is finger slicing goodness.
The 3.5" drive trays were also very sharp and a little on the thin side.
The gap under the 3.5" drive bays is very small, probably around 1/16" and would be better sitting at 1/4" for better airflow.
Other Thoughts: I got this for a firewall build and it worked great. Despite some sharp areas and minor things, it is a very decent case.
I lost some blood on this one.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/23/2016 11:02:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.