Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA S-0512-DT Black Steel / Plastic Tower Compact Stylish Mini-ITX Enclosure with 120W PSU 120W 1 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Case!
Pros: What a wonderful case! I installed an ASUS Mini-ITX motherboard along with standard height RAM, 1TB 3.5" HDD, & an full size 5.25" ODD. With all of this I was very surprised how much fits into this little guy!

The built in PSU is of very good quality and seems like it should last for quite some time.

Also the ODD drive bezel is black! Looks so much better than the picture.

So far so good!
Cons: None that I know of!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/8/2014 9:22:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-L4500 Black Metal/ Steel, 1.0 mm thickness , 4U Rackmount Server Chassis, 15 Internal Bays, 8 Included Cooling Fans

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great case
Pros: Case does exactly what is advertised. Offers a 15bay rack mountable case that has 3 fans in front and 3 fans after the hard drives keeping everything very cool.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Dani,7/8/2014 6:19:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA D-3P-2/7M1SA-BLUE Black Steel 3U Rackmount Server Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 iStar USA D-3P-2
Pros: This is a fairly solid case that I used to build a computer in to place in a road case for doing high quality pro audio recordings with. I used a MSI X79A-GD45 Plus LGA 2011 ATX Intel Motherboard with a Core i7 3.4 Ghz Hexacore and 64G of RAM. Even with everything jammed in there there still seems to be a good amount of airflow in the case because my CPU idles in b3etween 30 and 35 C in an eighty degree room in the summertime. The handles make it really easy to carry too.
Cons: It needs a bit beefier paint or powdercoat, but it goes in a rack so it's not really that important.
Reviewed By:ES_137custom,7/7/2014 7:36:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA E-20 Black Steel 2U Rackmount Rugged 15" Compact Chassis 1 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Nice Low Profile Case - Missing Screws
Pros: 1. Low Profile.
2. Handles come off.
3. Used a Noctua NH-L9i CPU cooler just fine in the case.
Cons: 1. Does not come with a backplate that supports mounting of PCIe cards vertically instead of horizontally. I used a dremel with a cutting tool to cut out the panel and I mounted a ASUS S97-WS Motherboard just fine. You will have to drill your own locking holes to secure your PCIe cards. They should sell a horizontal backplate as an option.
2. The back panel is very hard to get out. You have to bend the left back side out quite far to get the back panel out. You also have to push the PSU aux fan down to get it back in otherwise it blocks the back plate from snapping in properly.
3. HDD mount on front left (looking from the front) did not come with proper screws.
4. Zero instructions in box. But if you stare at it long enough you'll figure it out.
5. No USB 3 ports on the front. Make sure you get a motherboard with lots of USB 3 ports on the back.
6. Weighs a ton! To bad it's not made out of aluminum.
Reviewed By:Luke Morrison,7/4/2014 8:58:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO ITX-S4 Black Server Case Support standard Flex ATX power supply (NOT included)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 a warning
Pros: great form factor and features
Cons: every drive inserted into the case has died a horrible death.
Other Thoughts: I purchased one case, the backplane was misaligned and made inserting drives difficult. Inserting a drive prior to booting would prevent boot, inserting a drive while the machine was running would cause a reboot. every drive inserted into the case ended up with a fried controller board. Killed 4 drives before I realized what was going on and contacted Norco, who claimed they haven't had anyone else with the issues that I've had, and they sent me a new case. which, would be semi-acceptable (no aknowledgment of money lost on dead hard drives)... but the replacement case HAD THE SAME ISSUE! Disassembled the case as send photos of how misaligned the backplane mounting holes were to the board mounted to those holes and how the uninsulated drive sleds were bowed slightly and rested on the drive's circuit board. No aknowledgment of an issue... or concern for the now 7 drives that have been destroyed by the two cases.

I hope no one else has to go through the experience that I've gone through with these.
Reviewed By:ellingjs,7/4/2014 9:32:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA S-0112-DT Black Steel / Plastic Desktop Compact Stylish Mini-ITX Enclosure with 120W PSU and Desktop Stand 120W

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Fire Hazard
Pros: Fast Shipping
Cons: Upon opening the box I noticed the sealed brick power supply has a loose part inside that rattles. Loose parts inside of the power supply is a manufacture quality issue that could cause a short and fire hazard.
Reviewed By:aba,7/1/2014 3:17:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SuperChassis CSE-846A-R1200B Black 4U Rackmount Server Case 1200W Redundant

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great!
Pros: Great. No complaints. Well thought out case. Lives up to the the good hype. Air flow and cooling are top notch. Comes with two power supplies, I only use one to save a little bit of power.
Cons: Loud when you first boot up, but it quiets down after a few minutes. The fans are what makes it loud. It's okay for the next room, but I would not put it in the same room as where you work. Also, when the server is off, the included power supplies take about 14 watts each when shut down. I ended up just using one and leave the other disconnected.
Other Thoughts: It's a good server box when you realize what it is for. Also, you could quiet it down if you adjust the fans, but you would need a third party fan control device. You might be able to do it by the open source software provided by SuperMicro (I thought I saw something that can control it anyway).. But, if these are going into a rack in the datacenter, you don't need to worry about the noise.
Reviewed By:Fox,6/30/2014 11:16:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA D-416 Black Aluminum / Steel 4U Rackmount Compact Stylish Chassis 6 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 mounting
Pros: did everything what I want it to.
Cons: only 1 I had. for some reason the mounting brackets outside the case are too big for my cabinet, anyone else have this problem? they just screw off and I can grind the ends.
Other Thoughts: none
Reviewed By:blz131356,6/30/2014 3:51:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA D-313ASE-MATX Black Aluminum 3U Rackmount Compact microATX Chassis 2 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Be Careful to install HDD on front C-shape HDD holder
Pros: Really light weight
Clean shape design
That's it
Cons: The C-shape holder of HDD is not safe, unstable and cheap str. Because of that, I need to use 5.25" & 3.5" bay.
But, even these bays only have 3 spaces (3U case).

For 1 HDD &1ODD or 2HDD & 1 ODD, this case is perfect. Light weight and clean design.

But, if you need to install over 2HDD & 1 ODD, this case is not good for your design.

C-shape holder for extra HDD, is not stable when running HDD. It looks okay. But, I could feel vibration of HDD - this is not good.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/30/2014 11:33:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA D-416 Black Aluminum / Steel 4U Rackmount Compact Stylish Chassis 6 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good case, some flaws
Pros: Overall solid construction, 4 U case with a good amount of room in it.

Fits a number of different board form factors.

Standard ATX PSU

Plenty of extra screws and assorted pieces included

Not as deep as some other 4U cases I have seen, which equates to not being quite as heavy, which is nice.. still plenty of room though.

Not a massive 24 bay storage machine like my norco 4224, but for a multipurpose tower system that i wanted to throw into a rack that can hold 2 dvd burners, a fan controller, and a 3 to 4 5.25 converter this fits the bill perfectly, and for an excellent price.
Cons: Minor:

The way the 5.25 brackets work is inconvenient... wouldn't take off points for it, but it's annoying to have to take the whole stack out should you need to switch anything (like the 3.5 mount at the very bottom).

Gaps around 5.25 bay components range from reasonable to quite large depending on the specific component... again not a huge deal, but worth noting there can be a bit of a gap.

The power led wires had to be reversed on mine to work properly... and it's not the board because i've had it in other cases without that problem.

A number of the edges are quite sharp... nothing major if you approach it carefully, but if you are trying to fit wires in while not having to take the whole thing apart and move everything, it's easy to scrape your hands up... easier than some other cases.

I had to file down very slightly, some of the edges on the front fold-out door in order to get it to stop scraping/squeaking when opened and closed.


Major:

Airflow could be better, there are a number of dead zones where airflow just isn't there.
I mounted 1 3.5 drive below some dvd burners on one side, and the drive was overheating after light usage and dropping out. Moving it elsewhere resolved the issue, but I don't understand how you are supposed to get airflow to a smaller component wedged tightly beneath potentially longer components (even 5.25 bay converters overhanging would cause this issue) above that shield it even more from airflow.

The version of the case I got does not quite match the pictures here. The middle bar that holds the fans is different, and the fans have individual holder brackets instead of 1 3 fan bracket shown in the picture. I like the design i have better... however, I only got 2 of the 3 fan brackets... so i only have 2 80mm and 2 60mm fans (and 1 other 80mm on the back of a 3.5-5.25 converter)
Other Thoughts: Can not figure out what the extra bracket things are. They are slotted as if to fit in the middle bar, but their original intended purpose remains a bit of a mystery.

Seems like the front grill in the middle could be made just slightly wider to accommodate mounting another 80mm fan, which would be extremely useful.


Overall a great deal on the case wouldn't hesitate to buy another despite some of the cons i listed.
Reviewed By:Erebus,6/28/2014 9:53:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau