Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Chassis > Ark Technology Inc. > ARK ITX/CS-Ci02 Black Server Case open frame 90W

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best m-ITX case, hands down
Pros: - VESA mounting
- Low power PSU
- 2 internal fans
- Awesome construction
Cons: - No external ports
- No holes for PicoPSU or Wifi antennas
- Fans can be heard but only in a very quiet room
- Drive tray can get in the way of 24-pin connector or SATA depending on the layout of the motherboard. Recommend a motherboard that has the tall connectors (USB3, SATA) toward the sides or middle of the motherboard and not at the back.
Other Thoughts: I absolutely love this case. I have bought three already and will buy at least another 10. I originally used this to develop my prototype computers. I tried to go the cheap route and install a USB header to USB A female and run a wireless card and USB keyboard/mouse dongle inside to further integrate systems into the case and found the material is not ideal to allow wireless signals to pass through easily. The mouse/keyboard dongle works perfect inside the case, so that is staying. Luckily I was able to install a MPCIe card on the motherboard and drill two holes for the wireless antenna installation.

One thing I will caution with is the drive tray, which holds two 2.5 SSD or HD just fine, may get in the way of the motherboard headers and/or 20/4pin power connector depending on your motherboard configuration. In my case, the USB 3.0 plug I added internally would not clear the drive tray and I had to bend it down to make it fit. With future builds, however, I will be using a USB 2.0 plug which is not as high of a profile and is located in another place on the motherboard, out of the way.
Reviewed By:Steven P.,8/28/2014 3:08:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-L4000 Black Metal / Steel, 1.0 mm thickness, 4U Rackmount Server Chassis 8 Internal Bays, 7 Included Cooling Fans

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Basic 4U case
Pros: Simple, well built for the price.
Cons: Can have a sharp edge, no a big deal.
Other Thoughts: I Just ordered my 2nd RSV-L4000 Chas
Reviewed By:Z3NF1N1TY,8/27/2014 12:06:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Ark Technology Inc. > ARK IPC-1.5U1525 Black 1.2mm SGCC 1U Rackmount Server Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great rack case
Pros: Short and sturdy. Just what I was looking for. The 4X internal 2.5" drive bay is great. The 1.5 U is no issue as I don't have to worry about finding a 1U panel to match my motherboard. Normal one works fine.
Cons: - No USB3 support.
- Not able to flush mount under another device due to SFX power supply vents.
Other Thoughts: Using a silverstone SFX ST30SF powersupply. This works great as it's vents match up with the top vents in the case and still allow plenty of room for internal 2.5" drive bays. I installed the ASROCK extended ITX motherboard and as such had to make some very mnor modifications to remove the internal 3.5" drive bay and riser holder. No complaints.
Reviewed By:Nick,8/22/2014 4:26:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA S21-20F2 Black Aluminum / Steel Tower Case Compact Stylish Mini-ITX Enclosure 200W Flex ATX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Metal compact.
Cons: As previously noted fan is loud. Spend another $6 and get a Scythe Mini KAZE ULTRA 40mm Silent Mini Fan. Pops in same spot as previous fan. Snip snip the cables of the old fan plug the new one into the board and you are in business. Of course this will kill the warranty but it had to be done.
Other Thoughts: I used an Asrock j1900 board and Windows Media 7 Home as HTPC. Netflix HD running flawless.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/17/2014 2:57:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA D-213-MATX Black Metal/ Aluminum 2U Rackmount microATX Server Chassis 1 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Great chassis, useful for a server / render farm setup. This case will only take micro atx, and although it has space for 4 drives will only fit 2 3.5" drives.
Cons: Some dis-assembly is required to install the fans / hard drives. This includes things like unscrewing housings and replacing grates, but is trivial in my opinion.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/16/2014 12:10:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-231 Black 2U Rackmount Server Chassis 2 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 For the price...
Pros: [-] Least expensive 2U case on NE
[-] Suits my needs: Case #1 pfsense, #2 WMC "server"
[-] Holes line up for rails (for me) whereas my 4224 didn't
Cons: [-] For the price, I honestly cannot think of any perhaps one
[-] Sharp edges, but nothing a file (which is kept handy in my PC building arsenal anymore) won't take care of
Other Thoughts: If you do file the edges in this case. Remove the fans first. Do NOT populate the board at all. File. Take outside and use compressed air inside all around it. Take damp paper towel (DAMP, not dripping) and get what the air may have missed. The last thing you want are metal filings floating/blowing around and wondering why your motherboard fried. (Cleaning the inside of the case is good practice before ANY build anyway!)
Reviewed By:The Unknown,8/15/2014 9:26:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Athena Power > Athena Power RM-3UD370S40 Black 1.2mm Thickness Steel 3U Rackmount Server Case 400W 3 External 5.25" Drive Bays LED temperature display

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Turkey
Pros: Don't wait until Christmas, get your turkey now by buying this case!

It is the only server chassis on Newegg that will allow me to get tank with my wife while putting parts together. Fortunately, she went out for an extra 12 pack once she saw the case. Oh dear, I love her to death, she is smart!
Cons: The case:

For 170 bucks there were no exhaust fans on this turkey. Common Athena, seriously!? 2 x 60 on the back is a must and at this price they should be included.

Builders, while you will be pushing a fair amount of air from the front (120mm fan included), most of it is blocked by HDDs. The lack of exhaust will turn your server into a oven; oh yeah, so you can cook your turkey! Basically, warm air flow gets to your CPU and hangs around your box because there is no exhaust to pull hot air out. Out of the box, there is no air flow in this build. 2 x Noctua A-Series NF-A6x25 60mm did it for me (N82E16835608032).

I am certainly convinced that it is impossible for anyone to sit 6 x 3.5 inside this case with most Micro ATX motherboard. For once, your P1 connector will most likely be sitting in front of the HDD bays. Also, be careful with RAM if slots happen to be located towards the front of the box (most likely they will). Obviously, other reviewers know something that I don't. I was able to sit only 4 x 3.5 WD Black Enterprise HDD (2 drives on each HDD holder).

With a High Point Raid card 2320 8 x Sata II (N82E16816115026 ) or any build looking to pack some 10-20 drives into this case, you want to use the front 5.25 bays to really maximize the build. iStarUSA 1 x 5.25" to 6 x 2.5" (N82E16816215222) should be a good start. At least, it was for me but keep reading please, the nightmare is just starting.

The PSU:

HERCULES, HERCULES , HERCULES, HERCULEEESSSSSS!!!

Athena has no interest in offering a reliable PSU solution for this U3 chassis. Their track proves it; they have "upgraded the PSU cabling"... o.O

You've got to be joking me! The HERCULES PSU included with this box is garbage at its best and the cables are too short!

1- The P4 cable is way too short. Hence, you can't power up your CPU unless you extend it somehow. Athena Power Cable-AD09 12" P4-12V (4Pin) connector Extension Cable (N82E16812198005)

2- P1 cable is also too short and you may need an extension as well.

3- 3 x molex and 3 x Sata is not enough if somehow you manage to sit the 7 x 3.5 drives they advertise. Using molex splitters will simply overload the rail and your server will shut off (400 Watts power supply huh? Don't tell me the total wattage and talk about rails in the description so builders can have a real idea of what to expect!!!

4- Power supply will not provide stable voltage/ Amp under increased load.

Since I needed to fire up this box the same day, I ended up cutting the P6 DELL connector from the PSU and welding a 3 x molex extension to give myself another extra 3 molex.

A PSU replacement is on its way. Make sure to get a short length PSU if you are using HDD cages on the 3 x 5.25 this chassis offers.

20 minutes build my a-$-$. Please don't B-S your Newegg customers; they are more or less well educated in their vast majority when it comes to building PCs and servers, otherwise they wouldn't be purchasing your parts
Other Thoughts: The case is sturdy. I don't need the eye candy. The front temp display and the 4 x fan connectors is a nice extra that nobody will look at once you rack up your server. Most likely, there will be monitoring software in place to handle notifications. If this is what costed me the extra 60 bucks in this case, please reimburse me now; I will be happy to ship it back to Athena!

Honestly folks, there will be others purchasing this case and that's fine. For the rest of us, don't get me wrong thinking that I'm somehow saying that you should look somewhere else; what I'm saying it to look somewhere else! You will end up putting too much money into things that should have been there in the first place for the price you are paying: extensions, fans, and ultimately replacing the PSU which is what I'm doing.

Athena thinks it is OK to offer a fair chassis with such a poor power supply and I think it is not. As respect for their opinion, I will make sure not to purchase another one of these unless my wife decides to get drunk during another build, but we don't drink often and this lady is smarter than me at just 2 things: 1- Cooking 2- Everything else.

Neeexxxt!
Reviewed By:Ralphy,8/14/2014 8:37:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > SuperMicro > Supermicro Superchassis Cse-504-203B 200W Mini 1U Rackmount Server Chassis (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This case is for IT professionals
Pros: - 1U so small
- 80+ GOLD powersupply
- Cost savings over comparable motherboard/server from SM.
- Its supermicro so everything just fits
- Good quality metal no flex
Cons: - No manual included
- You MUST know which MB work with this server case.
- You must do your research at Supermicro and does take some time before things get easy.
Other Thoughts: I buy a lot of supermicro and their products are reliable and well made, and less expensive than HP/Dell/Cisco. If you are building a system you need to pay attention to make sure all the pieces fit. The manual can be found here:
http://www.supermicro.com/products/chassis/1U/504/SC504-203.cfm
Reviewed By:N/A,8/13/2014 8:11:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > Ark Technology Inc. > ARK ITX/CS-Ci02 Black Server Case open frame 90W

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good but PSU seems poorly designed
Pros: - small, holding 2 HDD
- relatively quiet
- price
- two fans
Cons: PSU is really hot and fans must be up and running for it, so if bundled with fanless c2750d4i of 20W TDP I can't take off two chassis fans even if CPU doesn't need them.
Reviewed By:R0man,8/10/2014 10:12:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Chassis > SuperMicro > Supermicro Superchassis Cse-504-203B 200W Mini 1U Rackmount Server Chassis (Black)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 No documentation
Pros: Very well constructed.
Cons: Documentation is impossible to find. Nowhere does this product description state compatibility of PSU and front panel connectors. Finding parts to match is a chore. supermicro.com is not designed to help find the info.
Other Thoughts: Nice product, sub-standard technical resources.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/8/2014 10:58:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau