Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-4220 4U Rackmount Server Chassis w/ 20 Hot-Swappable SATA/SAS 6G Drive Bays (Mini SAS Connector)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Avoid - company doesn't respond. Problems with SATA errors on most drives
Pros: The price is right... In theory should be able to use 20 hotswap drives.
Cons: Trouble with any/all drives actually running at full speed. All the drives I've used have been SATA III but mostly connect only at 1.5Gb/s - sometimes 3.0Gb/s. Very slow regardless of what speed is negotiated. I've tried several RAID controllers and even on-board SATA ports and all have trouble.

To use the case I finally just gave up and removed the backplanes and plugged each drive in directly using SATA and Power cables. All drives work at full 6Gb/s this way but no more hot-swap.
Other Thoughts: I've emailed Norotek 5 times over the last 5 weeks asking if they'd sell me just the backplane pieces and if they had known issues from the time I bought the case... Not a single response even after receiving 'Read' receipts that my email had been read.

Maybe they have gone out of business? Or maybe they only care about selling the things and not actually following up? Just not worth the hassle. Spend a little more and get a case that works and has support after the sale.
Reviewed By:Michael G.,5/23/2016 2:17:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > Norco RPC-432 4U Short Depth Rackmount Support 13" Long Add-on Cards

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Cheap quality, poor layout and design
Pros: It does what I want. I put a full gaming desktop in a short depth rackmount case that I installed in my home theater rack with my amplifiers and other networking equipment. The front face looks pretty clean, and the led fans I swapped in for the noisy front 120mm fans look pretty cool through the front mesh.
Cons: The layout, which really is just a single small drive cage, is terrible. The pre installed fans have to come out if you want to put in hard drive. It only has room for two 3.5" HDD. The power and reset buttons and panel is very flimsy. Front face is black but the rest of the case is unpainted steel. The overall width and rack mount screw spacing is about 16th of an inch too big for any equipment rack. You have to file or drill the rack ears or bend your rack rails a little wider to get the screws in. It's just poor craftsmanship.
Other Thoughts: I ended up disassembling the entire case and modifying the drive cage so that it could fulfill its responsibility of bracing the 5.25 optical (blu-ray) drive but I completely cut off the 3.5 HDD section to fit 4 2.5" SSD's in a custom little stack. It was a lot of work. If I spent $90 on a desktop case I could get a pretty slick decent quality case. Why can't I find a good case at reasonable price that is rack mountable. I just want a desktop quality gaming case with rack ears. Maybe next time I'll buy a decent case and spend my time fabricating some rack ears for it.
Reviewed By:Jeff M.,5/22/2016 3:11:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SuperChassis CSE-743T-665B Black 4U Pedestal Server Case 665W 80PLUS Bronze 2 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 A beast! Nice design - poor fit and finish...
Pros: This case is a good value for the money. It is a well built unit with some slick features. Plenty of room in the motherboard compartment for full sized ATX motherboard. I mounted a mATX board and it looks like a mini ITX inside this case. There's a wall of high flow fans that separate the front drive bays from the rear motherboard / power supply area. There's also a space to mount a 120mm fan to pull air out of the rear. A plastic shroud funnels air over the CPU to ensure proper CPU cooling. All in all some very good American engineering went into the design of this case.
Cons: Now the reason I took a couple of eggs away. The fit and finish is equivalent to a 1985 Oldsmobile... The fan wall is slightly too tall and prevents the side cover to sit flat so it can slide lock back in place. I had to execute a little redneck engineering and use a flat head screwdriver to slightly pry out all 8 tabs to allow the side cover to lock. Also I would have preferred the power supply to be left out. The 665w unit Supermicro included with the case is NOT modular and includes a huge was of PCIe power connections for high end graphics cards. Since this is a server case these are only in the way.
Other Thoughts: All in all I do recommend this case. Even though it seems like Supermicro does everything (for a lack of a better word) half assed, they are the closest thing to an American computer components manufacture that we have. This case is stamped with "Assembled in America". It totally shows in both good and bad ways.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your comment! Supermicro needs your comment to improve our quality and service. If you still have any question, feel free to contact us. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Cornstick,5/18/2016 7:32:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA D400-6SE-B6SA-SL 4U Rackmount Compact Stylish Server Chassis 2 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 ISTAR IS Great!
Pros: Everything
Cons: 8 screws are completley diffrent from the others. dont loose them. For example. The hard drive bay gets screwed by 4 screws. 4 on each. The 8 are very difrent then the othere. Much larger screws. I lost one, and now use 7 instead of 8. Not a big deal, unless i want more, the. I gata size them up.
Other Thoughts: Make the mobo screws the same!
Reviewed By:Corygunss,5/17/2016 6:47:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Athena Power > Athena Power RM-3U300P608 Black Aluminum / Steel 3U Rackmount Server Case 600W 80 PLUS Bronze 3 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Middle of the road case, solid construction but not the easiest to work with
Pros: Solid construction and finish, with a rugged and high-quality feel. Attractive front panel with heave chrome handles gives this unit a professional, industrial look.
Cons: My unit shipped with a defective power supply, and unfortunately circumstances led me to store the unit for a while before trying it. By the time I had realized the power supply was defective, I was beyond the exchange date. I ended up replacing the power supply with a Corsair unit. I had to modify the chassis to make this fit.

The 2nd issue is that a standard LG CD-ROM does not sit flush with the front panel - the opening the bezel on the chassis is too small. This could be corrected by filing the aluminum, but I elected to mouth the drive slightly sticking-out of the unit. It is not ideal, but hardly noticeable. Another customer claimed to have an issue in mounting a CD ROM in this chassis, and I suspect Athena Power has a tolerance issue on the bezel opening.

The final issue is that I found some fasteners inside the chassis which were not installed correctly at the factory. A few were cross-threaded, but luckily only tightened down a few threads in. I was able to remove, and reinstall these fasteners.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a reasonable chassis for the price, but you may have to do some creative work to install everything. Be careful if you are using a large motherboard - I had to pop out an unused PEM (stand-off) on the chassis, that would have made contact with a component on the bottom of the motherboard.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer. Thank you for your usage reviews on Athena Power RM-3U300P608. According to your information, we apologize for any inconvenience caused on you. Please feel free to contact our service or tech support team via landline (626)810-5008 or email to service@athenapower.us during our regular business hour 8:30am-5:30pm Mon.-Fri.
In the meanwhile, this product is covered by Newegg’s Standard Return Policy, so you can return for refund or replacement with 30-Day of your purchasing. Otherwise, we encourage you to contact us for our RMA service. The warranty for the chassis of this product is 1-year limited and the power supply unit (AP-MPS3ATX60EP8) is 3-year limited.
In addition, our chassis external 5.25” drive bay installation is designed to install a 5.25” device from inside of chassis then push to front and stop by the edge of drive opening. Furthermore, the motherboard standoffs position is designed by standard ATX specs and this chassis supports to install a mini-ITX, MicorATX or ATX form factor motherboard. If users use a standard ATX specs motherboard, there should not have standoff interferes with motherboard. However, if any user has the similar question, please contact with our tech support team immediately. We can assist you to verify the compatibility of your system configuration.

Reviewed By:James F.,5/16/2016 7:54:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-L4000 - 4U Rackmount Server Case / Chassis - 8 Internal Bays, 7 Cooling Fans Included

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Case.
Pros: - Large enough to fit all components with space to spare.
- Fans are very quite; lots of fans and good air flow.
Cons: - No cons at this time.
Other Thoughts: - Drive caddies worked great, but first time I used this type (two pins and one screw).
- Power supply power cables had enough length to easily reach the farthest corner.
- After taking screws out, they all fit back properly.
- I would recommend this case to others and plan on purchasing another one for a NAS.
Reviewed By:Brad S.,5/14/2016 9:48:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Ark Technology Inc. > ARK IPC-3U380D Black 3U Rackmount Server Case 3 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Well build and lot of space inside.
Pros: - Great for a NAS.
- Everything fits correctly
- Comes with the necessary hardware.
- Cheap
Cons: - None
Other Thoughts: I wish to have a second 3 bay 5.25" on the right side to insert more swapable stuff.
I recommend this case if you are looking for a relative good and cheap case for you server.
Reviewed By:Patricio R.,5/13/2016 7:09:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA D-213-MATX Black Aluminum / Steel 2U Rackmount microATX Server Chassis

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good for the price
Pros: The construction is very good. The steel is thick and sturdy. I like the case screws that keep the lid on, they have retainers to prevent them from getting lost.
Cons: This was my biggest complaint with the case. The expansion slots seem very shallow. What I mean is that the metal tongue on the bottom of the video card, etc will not seat completely flush. This is the vertical part of the card that slips into the back of the case. This makes the card sit unlevel and is hard to screw in. I found that I had to take a file and grind down the bottom of the tongue about a 1/4" in order to push it down all the way. I compared the blank inserts that came with the case compared to the ones that are on my video card, USB3.0 card, etc and they are much shorter.

As others have mentioned, the space is limited. Realistically you can fit 2 HDD or 4 SSD using bracket adapters. I did install a DVD drive in mine, however you could repurpose the 5.25" bay for another HDD.

I fit a full size ATX power supply. It is a tight squeeze. It needs to be completely flush. Also, take note of where the fan vents are.

No headphone jack on the front.
Other Thoughts: I put this case into a SKB 2U audio equipment road case and it fits perfectly. I use it as a mobile multimedia workstation.

Some people claimed the installed fans are junk. My case did not come with any fans. I bought a couple good 80mm fans and installed myself. You really need airflow. Don't try to go without.
Reviewed By:Victor E.,5/9/2016 7:21:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-230 2U Rackmount Server Case 1 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great for the money, but expect to modify a bit.
Pros: 4x Hard Drive Bays + 1x 5.25 Drive
Standard ATX Power Supply
Great Value
Cons: The first modification was for the hard drives. You might have to drill mounting holes to screw them in. They slide in great, but you might (or might not) have issues.

The second issue was the power supply setup. It fits in great, but if your power supply has a top mounted fan, the case cover will cut off all air flow. I had to drill (nibble) a 4 inch hole in the top cover and the fan guard still protruded a bit.
Other Thoughts: This is a good case for the money, but I had to modify it a bit. I like tools, and the money I saved on this case allowed me to buy the tools to modify it. So kinda win win.
Reviewed By:Gene J.,5/9/2016 2:08:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-L4500 - 4U Rackmount Server Case or Chassis - 15 Internal Bays, 8 Cooling Fans Included

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Study, heavy duty, reliable.
Pros: Sturdy steel construction
Strong cages, People who have issues with the slides on the top and bottom don't realize they can pinch the holding tabs to make them hold better.
Plastic rails are both a blessing and a con, they are not super sturdy, but they are good, and work well.
Quiet Fans, I have seen comments both ways on this, but the noctua's I have installed in my RSV-4000 are actually twice as loud as the 8 in this case. I thought my noctuas would be quieter, but I have only found they move more air.
Excellent build all around, and supports SSI-EEB though they don't claim that, my S2600CP has been fully mounted with zero missing holes, or fixed standoffs.

I would totally get this for all my servers, but I would like to have the quickmount cages instead. But They should be interchangeable, the 4 drive cages from my RSV-4000 Cases do fit perfectly into this one as well.
Cons: Fans with fan-headers would be great, but far from a real problem, I would rather convert from fan-header to molex than the other way around.
Over all I love these cases, and would only request that they always support up to SSI-EEB and have all the supported boards listed.
Other Thoughts: Case is very long, make sure your rack is either 4 post, or you are willing to have it sticking out. I custom built my rack to be 36" long and it still fills the rack very well.
In terms of others most of anything I want to say is already in the PRO's.
One comment though - Name of the plate that the ATX hole is plugged with so I can get a proper redundant power supply for this case. Totally awesome case.
Options that work:
This cage is interchangeable with the current case cages: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816132035
With how they are mounted, these should also work: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816132037 (Hot swappable)
Another suggestion is to get these Rails(If they ever come back in stock): http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816132033
Power supply for dual power connectors should fit if you remove the back ATX adaptor: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817338061
Reviewed By:Craig E.,5/8/2016 7:26:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.