Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV2000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 good storage drive
Pros: its a nice size and easy to use and work with. its fairly fast for transfer speeds. works well as a media storage hooked up to a router to share over the network
Cons: none so far
Other Thoughts: i like it. its fast works well easy to use.; i like the fact i can just plug it into my router to share the media on it over th network with out any issues
Reviewed By:chrome,7/11/2014 11:56:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV2000100

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 First RMA ever
Pros: It came and it was ready to use. Plug t right in and use it.
Cons: After 1 day it started to lose connection in the middle of a data transfer. I used different cables and USB ports and it still failed while I was transferring data all the time. I downloaded Seagate's software, SeaTools, and attempting to run all the tests to see if something was wrong it came back with bad sectors. Following all of the instructions in the software I couldn't get the test to pass on the inner sectors. The software recommended I RMA, and gave me a number to send with the RMA to Seagate showing the drive was faulty.

The other thing I found frustrating, being this is my first TB drive, I was disappointed to find out 2TB is not really 2TB. This seems widespread though, not to this particular produce, but you are not getting a true TB at all.
Other Thoughts: I really wish I could have gotten the drive to work. It was worth it to me to have a drive this size, even though it was a true 2 TB drive. I really couldn't find a way to make the drive viable.
Reviewed By:Xeralt,7/11/2014 9:43:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives GreenDrive 3TB USB 2.0 / eSATA 3.5" External Hard Drive GD3000EU

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dead On Arrrival
Pros: It makes a great paperweight.
Cons: They shipped a defective unit from the get go, The Quality Assurance team at the plant dropped the ball there. Probably was built by 8 year old's in China.
Other Thoughts: Included a 2 foot USB 2.0 cable. Would it have killed them to at least give you a six foot cable? It slowed me down having to buy and wait for a longer cable to hook the unit up, just to find out that it was a piece of junk.
Reviewed By:dissatisfied,7/11/2014 9:10:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D201TDB Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Adding to my previous review
Pros: None
Cons: Extremely slow copying files.
Other Thoughts: The Samsung D3 drive copies files much more slowly than my 6-year-old USB 2.0 external drives. So I bought another USB 3.0 drive for comparison, this time a Western Digital 2TB MyBook. Yesterday I used FreeFileSync to copy some 2,200 files from my computer's hard drive to each of the external drives. There was a mixture of small files and some large photo and video files. The Samsung D3 took 7 minutes to run the backup. The Western Digital copied the files in 22 seconds. I am going to buy a second WD drive. I will never buy another Samsung drive.
Reviewed By:Harry K,7/10/2014 10:11:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV2000100

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Meh
Pros: Fast shipping, and fair prices
Cons: RMA process seems to be a bit problematic. I returned the product end of June and I still haven't seen my account refunded. I've attempted to contact the company a few times and the last response was asking for my newegg order number so they can follow up. I am still waiting for my refund. MY tracking number shows that someone has signed for the product, so I know they have it.
Other Thoughts: I may have given this vendor a higher score if I didn't have to follow up with them every few days to get a status on my refund. Going forward, I'll be sure any product I order is directly from Newegg.
Reviewed By:Keo,7/10/2014 6:39:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D201TDB Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 1 out of 3 gets errors
Pros: Price.
Cons: 33% fail rate 1 week in is not a good sign. Hopefully replacement drive fares better.
Reviewed By:Shane_pcs,7/9/2014 9:38:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STBV5000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid external storage solution
Pros: Quiet, fast (USB 3), small footprint, stackable, good price
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I don't move mine around, so maybe that's why I don't get harddrive failures. Also, I don't keep unplugging and replugging the cables, so maybe that is why I don't have issues with the cables not fitting like somebody wrote here. Overall I am a very happy customer.
Reviewed By:ChunkyBaxter,7/9/2014 8:01:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Elements 2TB Desktop External Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 2+ years ownership
Pros: 2+ years of use with no issues, with weekly usage. Used in harsh environments, both cold and hot, for large and small file transfers and backups. Also has been fully encrypted numerous times for various projects, formatted full and quick even more times, and semi-abused in travel with no apparent issues.
Cons: Cost (current) - I think this still costs about the same it did for me 2 years ago.. shouldn't it be under $100 now?
Reviewed By:Xeno,7/8/2014 2:39:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop Hard Drive STCA3000101 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Keeps Disconnecting
Pros: Large storage space
Stylist design
Cons: Keeps disconnecting from Windows 7 during file transfers
Cannot be trusted with my sensitive data
Other Thoughts: I have disabled ALL USB power/sleep/hibernate functions in every place possible. I also have updated my motherboard's drivers.

My WD 1TB USB 3.0 I've been using for the past year does not have this problem. It is stable.

I own a wedding cinematography studio and I use this hard drive to backup my clients raw .mov wedding files. I can't trust the 3TB Seagate to backup their weddings. Each wedding has around 300GB of footage. What would happen if I lost all the raw footage I took from their weddings? Lifetime memories lost forever. For now, I'll stick with WD hard disks.
Reviewed By:kawaiilaosboy,7/8/2014 8:47:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop Hard Drive STCA3000101 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Keeps Disconnecting
Pros: Large storage space
Stylist design
Cons: Keeps disconnecting from Windows 7 during file transfers
Cannot be trusted with my sensitive data
Other Thoughts: I have disabled ALL USB power/sleep/hibernate functions in every place possible. I also have updated my motherboard's drivers.

My WD 1TB USB 3.0 I've been using for the past year does not have this problem. It is stable.

I own a wedding cinematography studio and I use this hard drive to backup my clients raw .mov wedding files. I can't trust the 3TB Seagate to backup their weddings. Each wedding has around 300GB of footage. What would happen if I lost all the raw footage I took from their weddings? Lifetime memories lost forever. For now, I'll stick with WD hard disks.
Reviewed By:kawaiilaosboy,7/8/2014 8:47:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau