Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT5000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Massive storage space at a good price
Pros: The first thing I did when I unpacked this drive was connect it to my USB 3.0 port and run Seagate diagnostics. The box was pretty beat up, but the hard drive passed with no errors.

Drive has ventilation holes on the bottom and the sides. The case barely gets warm so heat should not be an issue.

Like the USB cord length. That was my complaint with some of the other USB drives I purchased. I have 2 USB drives that I can only set on top of the tower because the cords are short. The cord with the Seagate is of adequate length to locate the backup drive next to my monitor a few feet from the tower.

Connected the drive and did not expect it to be fast - typically the hard drives I have purchased for USB 3.0 interface have been decent but nothing to brag about. This drive performed respectfully well. I achieved 118MB/s read and 85MB/s Write. For actual file transfer, I copied a 3Gb file from internal hard drive and the avg transfer rate was 78MB/s. The transfer rate from one internal drive to another was about 81MBs. When transferring a large amount of file (38,000 files in 8 folders) the task completed in 7 min 29 seconds -- about 16 seconds longer than disk to disk.

I installed the Seagate Console and started a backup. I have two drives, a 300gb WD Velociraptor and 750gb WD Black. I selected full backup of all drives continuously. A full backup ran for a little over 7 hours. The nice thing about the continuous backup option is Seagate automatically backs up files that are modified. All files on the backup drive can then be restored to the latest version. If you ever have a drive failure, it is nice to know that you won't lose any files that were recently modified.

There are other features like backing up mobile devices that I have not yet tried. Nice feature if I can get it to work with my Android devices.

Drive is quiet. I cannot hear it and even when reading or writing to the drive I do not notice any noise coming from the drive.
Cons: No cons. The only thing I can say is this is a little bulky in size and heavy - but it can be expected considering the storage capacity and performance.
Other Thoughts: For the price, this is a massive amount of storage for backing up your files. As long as you have a USB 3.0 port available, the performance is more than adequate. It's not the fastest drive, but for a USB drive, it performs better than many of the 5400 or 5900rpm drives used in network storage. It will take a long time to use up all the space on this drive. I backed up my entire system plus all my shared folders on my server and have only used 10% of the capacity.

For backup, this is set it and forget it. No worries about data loss,
Reviewed By:webkennection,7/30/2014 2:33:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT5000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Nice External Hard Drive
Pros: I have been using Seagate hard drives for years. They are fast, durable, quiet and fun. This 5TB external backup plus is fantastic. I backed up my desktop, my wife's desktop and her laptop. I used Seagate's software and it worked very well and quite fast. If you are looking for a 5TB external power house that is fast, quiet, and durable, then this is the drive for you.
Cons: None!
Other Thoughts: The Seagate softare is very nice. I had to download it twice, but that as no big deal. It could have been my fault. Once I got it done properly, it runs great! Enjoy!
Reviewed By:Snowman,7/30/2014 8:21:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV3000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 warranty ends - unit dies
Pros: Worked great for over a year
Cons: one month after the manufacturer's warranty ended the unit completely died. computer won't recognize it, blue LED won't even come on. what good is a hard drive if you have to worry about this?
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2014 6:46:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives GreenDrive 1TB USB 2.0 / eSATA 3.5" GreenDrive External Hard Drive GD1000EU

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 After 1 to 2 years it dies
Pros: Great when it works
Cons: After 1 to 2 years any fantom drives product will die . We have owned 3-6 of these. All of them die within 1 to 2 years. I suspect due to heat and being fanless.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2014 4:54:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D201TDB Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died after a week
Pros: none
Cons: Clicking and died between 1-2 weeks. Newegg won't let me RMA because the box got tossed out.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2014 11:33:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Lots of storage
Pros: Storage size.
Simplicity.
USB 3.0
Plug and Play
Cons: Price.
Speed.
Get hot at times.
Other Thoughts: This is a great way to expand storage to your Desktop, HTPC or Laptop.
Easy to hook up and ready to copy and store big files instantly
Use this for my HTPC to store movies
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2014 9:27:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV3000100

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Disappointing
Pros: Good size, decent price. Bought to store movies, music, photos and documents, and worked well for the first year.
Cons: Short life. Ordered this drive on July 8th 2013. July 26th, 2014 the drive was unresponsive. Looking through event logs, I see that it started having significant problems on June 30th, which I failed to catch in time. 1 year of life seems to short to waste that much money on.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2014 6:40:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT5000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 More than just a backup
Pros: Gives the ability to save and upload to and from Flickr, Facebook, and Youtube.
Give the ability to save from mobile devices.
5TB of space. Simple Backup plan(s)
Easy to use Dashboard to make it all work.
I love the way it lays flat instead of vertical, I love how the LED light is toward the back of the drive and not the front and I love how you can shut it off if you want to. I love how it seems to be a lot cooler than other drives I’ve tested. All in all, I am impressed with how well this works.
I normally don’t use these for backup drives because it’s a pain to manually move things to a drive and I never liked the software that came with other drives. This one however is simple enough that I’ve decided to leave it as a backup drive instead of my first thought of making it a DVR drive for my HTPC. I never went past half on my 3TB drive, so there really isn’t a need to go larger. If it wasn’t for the social media part of the software, I’d think this backup drive was no different than any other, but Seagate has made a very good impression with the dashboard software!
Cons: It takes a few minutes for the dashboard to recognize the 5TB drive. You’ll need to see Backup Plus Desktop 5TB and Cloud under storage devices before you can access a lot of the functions. Info, Manage, and Support will show up when you click the drive after it shows up. Manage is where you can turn off the LED light. Click the Home button to access the backup plans. It’s a good idea to select files so you can check or uncheck other drives and/or folders in your computer that you want or don’t want to backup! You have complete control once you learn where it is! At first I thought the software was buggy and flawed, but you just need to open it and give it a few minutes. Then it works like it’s supposed to. Keep in mind how many files a 5TB will hold and remember it’s not an SSD. It’s not going to be lightning fast, but it does just fine in comparison with other HDDs.

It may take a few minutes to backup your mobile device as well. It doesn’t work in the background, so you’ll want to stick with it till your initial backup is complete. Then it’s just a matter of syncing the few photos you take here and there.
Other Thoughts: This is a great way to sync photos with flickr but I already had another method and over 30GB of photos. I’ll continue to use that method, but this would be a great feature for someone who is just starting out or has no other means of syncing their photos with flickr.

I am glad to have it sync my facebook account though! You can disable whatever you don’t wish to use, one or two or all three. I’m not using YouTube now, but I think I’ll give it a go down the road!

Don’t be fooled by ANY drives (USB 3.0 up to 4.8Gbps speeds) advertising.
That is the possible bandwidth for USB 3.0. That does NOT mean the drive should transfer at near 600MBps. You will be sorely disappointed if you even think that for a second! You will need to read the rated speeds for ANY flash drive, SSD, or HDD and only aim to reach those speeds. A simple Update to your Chipset drivers may improve your speeds, but you can’t expect what the drive itself isn’t capable of doing. And some manufacturers don’t always share the max possible speeds of their drives. To me, this drive isn’t any faster than any other USB 3.0 HDD I’ve used. It’s on par with all the others.

Capacity: 5,000,972,681,216 bytes - 4.54TB
Please research how Hard Drives calculate their storage space before you think you were swindled out of almost half a TB of space! My first computer was custom built and had a 300MHz Celeron with an 8.4GB HDD and they’ve been calculating the HDD space the same since I started with computers way back then. You’ll notice your memory will show a little more, so let that make you feel better. You should really know this if you are going to put your knowledge down as 4 or 5 stars!
Reviewed By:www2000,7/27/2014 4:32:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT5000100

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Well worth the money
Pros: Not sure why the other people are reporting errors that arent really errors at all. It plugs into the wall, therefore you unplug it FROM the wall to turn it off. What exactly is the problem there?

Its fast! Its very fast considering its plugged into a USB 3 port. I backed up a nearly full 2tb hard drive in under 2 hours. Considering that the hard drive was filled with video and high resolution pictures, as well as game backups tells me that the data transfer is massive. It transferred roughly 80megs/sec. I also backed up the other 4 hard drives on my computer to this hard drive, and it still has enough room for more stuff! 5Tb of disk space apparently goes a long way!

I like how the external drive is formed. Its a low profile, and looks pretty good sitting on my desktop. Its not loud, it doesnt have annoying lights to distract anyone, and I can pretty much set it anywhere.
Cons: My only gripes is the fact it doesnt have an on/off switch (knocked an egg off for that), and it gets a bit warm. The enclosure isnt very effective at dissipating thermal energy. This external hard drive isnt meant for 24 hour operation. You can stand it on end, but I wouldnt keep it that way for very long; you could tip it over.
Other Thoughts: How about a power switch? Also, it could use a stand to mount it vertical. The vent holes are located on the bottom of the device, why locate them there? Otherwise, it performs exactly as its supposed to do - back up the contents of your computer.
Reviewed By:Utley,7/26/2014 6:36:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 run fast over usb3
Pros: i was a little concerned by some reviews but the drive does seem to rsync (clanky internal sata 2 or 3 on ext4 to usb3 ext4) and i was getting 140-190MB/s on large files, a bit less on smaller files.

the case is a little larger than a standard 3.5 usb drive sleeve but it looks much nicer than those western digital enclosures.
Cons: none yet
Other Thoughts: had an extra $10 off coupon and i wish i had bought 2.
Reviewed By:mdeanda,7/25/2014 12:48:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau