Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 5TB drive failure and rplacement
Pros: ok when it works
Cons: VERY UNRELIABLE - TOO MANY FAILURES RECORDED.
Other Thoughts: TOOK TO MUCH TIME TO GET AUTHORIZED REPLACEMENT. WHY SHOULD I HAVE TO PAY FOR SHIPPING FOR A PRODUCT THAT IS OBVIOUSLY DEFECTIVE!
Manufacturer Response:Dear Anonymous,

We apologize for the problems experienced with your 5TB Expansion Desktop drive. Please try our external drive troubleshooter to see if this helps to get your drive properly recognized:

http://support.seagate.com/kbimg/flash/211851/211851_EN.HTML

If this does not help, or you have additional questions or concerns, please contact us directly using the following link:

http://support2.seagate.com/

Best Regards,
Seagate Support

Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/24/2016 5:07:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 3TB Desktop External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 - STDT3000100 (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worthless. Died in 1.5 years
Pros: Okay when it worked.
Cons: Died all of a sudden after a year and half. Lost me 3gb of data.
Other Thoughts: Save yourself some trouble and avoid Seagate, even though their drives might be a few bucks cheaper.
Reviewed By:Wing W.,5/23/2016 10:46:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 4TB Desktop External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 - STDT4000300 (Black) - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Backup Drive
Pros: Good backup software. Good cloud services for phones and tablets. YUGE! Fast! Quiet!
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this product to others!
Reviewed By:Donald T.,5/23/2016 8:19:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 8TB Desktop External Hard Drive with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 - STDT8000100 (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died at 30 days!
Pros: Huge capacity, reasonably fast for a backup device
Cons: Failed on day 30 and cannot return to Newegg
Other Thoughts: Probably not. Too complex -I believe it has 4 platters, 8 heads, and just too many other bits that might increase opportunities for failure
Reviewed By:robert s.,5/19/2016 7:58:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB4000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product
Pros: Arrived within 3 days of ordering and works wonderfully.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:Dr. I.,5/18/2016 9:57:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not Even 45 Days, S.M.A.R.T. status flagged BAD
Pros: Price
USB 3.0
Cons: Cheap
Other Thoughts: These have a great price attached to them, but you take a risk. I have not had the drive 45 days, and S.M.A.R.T. has already marked drive as imminent failure. I am glad I kept my 3TB as a backup of the backup. I can at least compress my data and store it.

S.M.A.R.T. shows multiple 'OLD_AGE' error types, and some 'PRE_FAIL' error types. How can i have an old age S.M.A.R.T. error when I JUST purchased the drive? None of the drive attributes have tripped a flag, but because of the multiple values that are way over the threshholds, S.M.A.R.T. has sent a BAD response to the test. results below

SMART Attributes Data Structure revision number: 10
Vendor Specific SMART Attributes with Thresholds:
ID# ATTRIBUTE_NAME FLAG VALUE WORST THRESH TYPE UPDATED WHEN_FAILED RAW_VALUE
1 Raw_Read_Error_Rate 0x000f 085 081 006 Pre-fail Always - 192169048
3 Spin_Up_Time 0x0003 094 094 000 Pre-fail Always - 0
4 Start_Stop_Count 0x0032 100 100 020 Old_age Always - 12
5 Reallocated_Sector_Ct 0x0033 100 100 010 Pre-fail Always - 0
7 Seek_Error_Rate 0x000f 063 060 030 Pre-fail Always - 1933974
9 Power_On_Hours 0x0032 100 100 000 Old_age Always - 14
10 Spin_Retry_Count 0x0013 100 100 097 Pre-fail Always - 0
12 Power_Cycle_Count 0x0032 100 100 020 Old_age Always - 10
183 Runtime_Bad_Block 0x0032 100 100 000 Old_age Always - 0
184 End-to-End_Error 0x0032 100 100 099 Old_age Always - 0
187 Reported_Uncorrect 0x0032 100 100 000 Old_age Always - 0
188 Command_Timeout 0x0032 099 099 000 Old_age Always - 8590065666
189 High_Fly_Writes 0x003a 100 100 000 Old_age Always - 0
190 Airflow_Temperature_Cel 0x0022 073 069 045 Old_age Always - 27 (Min/Max 24/27)
191 G-Sense_Error_Rate 0x0032 100 100 000 Old_age Always - 0
192 Power-Off_Retract_Count 0x0032 100 100 000 Old_age Always - 4
193 Load_Cycle_Count 0x0032 100 100 000 Old_age Always - 28
194 Temperature_Celsius 0x0022 027 040 000 Old_age Always - 27 (0 19 0 0 0)
195 Hardware_ECC_Recovered 0x001a 118 100 000 Old_age Always - 192169048
197 Current_Pending_Sector 0x0012 078 078 000 Old_age Always - 7376
198 Offline_Uncorrectable 0x0010 078 078 000 Old_age Offline - 7376
199 UDMA_CRC_Error_Count 0x003e 200 200 000 Old_age Always - 0
240 Head_Flying_Hours 0x0000 100 253 000 Old_age Offline - 124373662957578
241 Total_LBAs_Written 0x0000 100 253 000 Old_age Offline - 3359698907
242 Total_LBAs_Read 0x0000 100 253 000 Old_age Offline - 3435015
Manufacturer Response:Dear Paul,

Please try running our "SeaTools for Windows" diagnostics to determine the overall drive health as this utility has the ability to determine the SMART data range for our specific drive and can fix some errors:

http://goo.gl/R9KKh4

For additional information on S.M.A.R.T., please reference the following support article:

http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/en_US/FAQ/203971en

If the drive fails any of the tests, contact us directly so we may assist further:

http://support2.seagate.com/

Best Regards,
Seagate Support

Reviewed By:Paul H.,5/17/2016 9:50:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV3000200 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Practicle device for storage
Pros: Install easely ,fast action on 3.1 usb port,bargain for the price.
Cons: only thing it's horizontal not vertical take more space!!
Reviewed By:Charles D.,5/15/2016 10:20:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Iomega Corp > iomega eGo Portable 1TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive 35325 Ruby Red

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Item
Pros: Durable, easy, compact, great quality
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Survived many trips to extreme climates and never missed a beat. Make sure you get the red one. Red ones always go faster.
Reviewed By:Michael D.,5/13/2016 5:31:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB4000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Alot of space for a fair price
Pros: Space.
Speed.
Dedicated Power Supply, no need to worry about bus power.
Long USB 3 cord.
Quiet...some reviews say it's loud, but I really don't hear anything, very quiet drive.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: Using it as an affordable way to backup other backup drives (2TB Seagate Backup Plus Slim drives and older WD USB2 element drives) Just had a 5 year old WD Elements 2TB starting to develop bad sectors, hopefully, I can salvage most of it from there to this new drive. I'll update again if any problems arise. Got this drive on 5/13/2016.
Reviewed By:Alex W.,5/13/2016 2:08:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO DriveStation 2TB USB 3.0 External Desktop Hard Drive HD-LC2.0U3

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk and Junk Company - READ THIS REVIEW!
Pros: None
Cons: Warranty is a Joke, Company does not support the product.
Other Thoughts: I have had this drive one year. 6 months after getting it things started slowing down, I thought it might be my usb port, it was not, it was the beginning of the hard drive failing. I get it, hard drives fail and sometimes quickly BUT when I called Buffalo they said it was out of warranty. I asked "Isn't there a one year warranty on the drive?" The tech replied yes...ONE YEAR FROM MANUFACTURE DATE, NOT FROM PURCHASE DATE!! Seriously? He ten suggested their data recovery partner who quoted me $700 to $3900 not including a new hard drive! Seagate does it at a flat rate of $699 including a new hard drive.
I will NOT be buying a Buffalo again because their warranty sucks...be cautious with this company.
Reviewed By:Russell M.,5/13/2016 1:49:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.