Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good price. Adding to joeham's review.
Pros: - Good value; picked it up during a flash sale.
- Can write at a rate of 120~150MB/s when transferring media files. Naturally, much slower if you're transferring a ton of small files.
- Not too loud, though you will hear it; about as loud as a stock CPU heatsink running at the default RPM.
- If you so desire, you can take out the hard drive from the enclosure and use it as an internal drive. The included drive is a ST4000DM000 as far as I'm aware, so you save money.
Cons: - Comes partitioned as MBR and uses a special controller to make it compatible with Windows XP 32bit; meaning if you use the expansion drive as it is, when you take out the drive and plug it into SATA, the computer won't be able to recognize what's already on the drive. See 'Other thoughts'.
- None functionality wise so far; will update if the drive fails only within a few years.
Other Thoughts: Adding onto joeham's review down below (2 reviews before this), unlike the newest version of the expansion drives(STEB4000100) which comes partitioned as GPT to begin with (hence why the newest model doesn't work in Windows XP 32bit by default but you really shouldn't be using Windows XP anymore), the drive in this older model comes partitioned as MBR and uses a special controller to appear as 4TB for the sake of Windows XP 32bit's compatibility.

To explain things a little for those unaware, a hard drive formatted as MBR can only utilize up to 2.2TB of its space, regardless of its original size. A hard drive formatted as GPT, however, can use 4TB as a whole. The downside is that GPT is only supported in Windows XP 64bit and later versions of OS. Seagate decided to partitioned the drive as MBR and installed a special controller to appear as 4TB to make this product work with Windows XP 32bit by default. Because of this, if you transfer data to the expansion drive, and later decide to take out the hard drive and plug it into SATA for whatever reason (i.e. broken controller), you won't be able to retrieve any data because the computer can't see the whole 4TB if the drive is MBR.

I didn't know if the external drive will still work properly with the special controller if I convert the included hard drive to GPT. So, I called Seagate customer support to ask them and the rep said it's safe to do so, and people have done it before. I converted my drive inside my expansion drive to GPT with no problems and it seems to be working fine. Now that I've done this, if I take out the hard drive inside the enclosure and plug it into SATA, the computer should be able to recognize the data that's already on the hard drive.
Reviewed By:Andy,5/22/2015 3:29:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 3TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Caught fire
Pros: Could be used in an insurance scam as it is a mini arsonist
Cons: The asian power devices inc adapter WA-24E12FU Caught on fire today after four years of normal use.

Flammable
Reviewed By:N/A,5/22/2015 3:25:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STBV5000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Flawed, Slows to a crawl after copying for a little while.
Pros: Cheap, lots of space, USB 3
Cons: I returned the first one, this second one is still doing the same thing. I use this and others of the same model line (I have 3 of the 4TB versions) to offload completed projects. I'm a video editor. I'm trying to offload 3.4TB of media and set it copy last night. I watched it for about 20 minutes and it was copying at a good 130MB/sec average but when I got up it was down to around 30-40MB/sec. The first drive I had did the same thing. The other 4TB drives I have will copy all day long at 130MB/s
Other Thoughts: Something definitely wrong with this specific model (5TB).
Reviewed By:N/A,5/22/2015 9:18:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk 1TB USB 2.0 3.5" External Hard Drive ST310005FDA1E1-RK

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great purchase
Pros: Used as a storage drive. Works well.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/22/2015 8:12:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > HGST > Hitachi GST XL Desk 3TB USB 2.0 3.5" External Hard Drive 0S03092

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works well
Pros: Owned it for more than 2 years as a storage. Works well.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/22/2015 7:57:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D301TDB Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 SAMSUNG D3 Station 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D301TDB Black
Pros: i heard good things of Samsung.
bought it for $ 99.00 on sale.
Cons: may be a issue with the controller in side (bridge). DOA
Other Thoughts: should have done the initial set it up when i got it...
new replacement on the way. thanks to tech support. will cost shipping $13.74 one way.
Reviewed By:mic,5/21/2015 1:43:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STBV5000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not worth the money
Pros: Worked Wonderfully for a whole 19 days, and at a pretty good price for the memory size.
Cons: On day 20 after the Hard Drive's arrival it stopped working.
Other Thoughts: If you intend to purchase a STBV5000100 and it absolutely, positively needs to be this specific hard drive, for your wallet's sake purchase the drive from a seller that you already know and trust. 20 days after the merchandise arrived at my home, it stopped working. There was no stress to the drive or it's capacity, and for that almost 3 weeks, the data transfer rate was superb. Now it is a paperweight.

The seller was contacted and never replied. After weeks of waiting just to find out that I was to be left out in the rain, so to speak, my only option was to buy another hard drive of a smaller capacity - couldn't afford another 5 Tb after paying the retailer's price on a brick, especially with no communication or refund available. If you intend to purchase this drive, the only thing I can say is "Good Luck :)"
Reviewed By:Tom,5/20/2015 10:55:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Elements 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" External Hard Drive WDBWLG0050HBK-NESN Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 WD Elements 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" External Hard Drive WDBWLG0050HBK-NESN Black
Pros: If you need more space then this is the one to get, I put this 5TB in a 3.5 slot in my computer case it fit with space to spare for air flow connect the USB cable to a internal PCI card I got from newegg, This if my first external HD ($130) it is cheaper then a 5TB internal $195 (don't know why)
Cons: You have different type of ends on the USB cable that comes with the HD, the one that connects to the HD is smaller thinner then a stander connector for USB
Other Thoughts: I think they should have made both ends the same type of ends.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/20/2015 10:05:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 1 out 3 unit failures; So Far
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Infrequent usage and it still failed. I use it to move backups between buildings (true sneakernet for us old-timers...) on a weekly cycle between 3 units to move 2.5TB to offsite storage. Device #2 just failed after about 2 years. I have higher expectations from Seagate considering the low amount of usage i.e. low number of read/ write cycles.
Reviewed By:AdminJohn,5/20/2015 8:38:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Elements 3TB USB 3.0 External Desktop Storage WDBWLG0030HBK-NESN Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great external HDD
Pros: Great external HDD. The first day I got the 3TB version of this WD drive I written over 2TB of data on it. The write speeds were as consistent as usb 3.0 can be. The drive is great and I was able to transfer all my data. Might get another one for a back up back up.
Cons: None so far. Will update when needed
Reviewed By:Gerard,5/20/2015 8:14:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.