Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 16TB My Book Duo Desktop RAID External Hard Drive USB 3.0 - WDBLWE0160JCH-NESN

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works but .....
Pros: Works
Cons: WD My Book Duo 16TB
Purchased 4 of these from 2 different distributors.
So far they work OK but generate lots of heat (witch is normal).
You can use a timer to minimize the heat, if you can afford about 30 seconds wake up of these drives.
They work fast under Win 10.but because of poor heat dissipation I was not impressed with these new drives.
Because of that I decided to use all 8 of the internal WD Red 8TB drives in my Synology DS1815+ NAS.
All drives worked but the performance is terrible.
Mechanically all of them are noisy, very poorly balanced, works like my old washer and dryer set (well almost).
Using four screws in screw less drive holders did not helped much.
The write performance is poor.
During file writing, drives makes a lots of noise, starting at about 100MB/s than the transfer speed falls to about a zero MB/s for a few seconds and than keep working again with some of these “hiccups”.
They all works, but the performance of my old WD RED 4TB drives is much, much better (quite, well balanced, now such problems during file writing).
I made significant investment and I am very disappointed with this new WD product.
Other Thoughts: Disappointed
Reviewed By:Konstanty B.,7/22/2016 10:09:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB4000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 a-ok product, it doesn't need to do much, it's a storage drive.
Pros: USB 3.0 - small footprint - $27 per TB - it has an 'activity' light - i like 3.5" drives for reliability - comes with a 24" cable, plenty for my desktop. - quiet as a mouse - free shipping
Cons: would be nice to have a fan, but not a deal breaker and doesn't change my opinion. it's actually 3.63TB, not really a con, but it should be noted as a 3.6TB drive instead of 4TB, not a deal breaker.
Other Thoughts: i've only had this about a week, but it does what it needs to do with no hiccups. i replaced 2 smaller drives and after moving 220GB of ALAC files, another 240GB of pics, vids and documents, plus what i've accumulated on my new 1TB desktop computer i still have 3TB for the future. it did get warm in those 3.5hrs of use...i wouldn't call it hot though, there is adequate ventilation. i doubt i will have it on and laboring for 3 or 4hr stretches again. i would recommend it to anyone needing a simple, reliable storage drive.
Reviewed By:John R.,7/19/2016 7:58:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > G-Technology > G-Technology G-DRIVE USB 2TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive 0G03902 Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 so far so good
Pros: perfect for what i need
Cons: none, so far
Other Thoughts: This is my 3rd G-drive, and so far, everything is lovely. But so are most other drives, until they aren't. No crashes, no errors. So far.
Reviewed By:Robert k.,7/18/2016 9:48:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Maxtor > Maxtor 4TB D3 Station Desktop External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 STSHX-D401TDBM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as expected
Pros: 3 year warranty
Runs cool
Cons: Not using bundled software
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/17/2016 12:13:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Maxtor > Maxtor 4TB D3 Station Desktop External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 STSHX-D401TDBM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 working fine for me
Pros: It works smoothly with windows 10.
I like the driver manager that comes with it.
It came with several outlet adapters for whatever country you may use it in.
Cons: Would be nice if it had a on/off switch on it.
Other Thoughts: I don't use it heavily. I occasionally backup a few files from time to time.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/17/2016 9:31:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Elements 3TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Desktop Storage WDBWLG0030HBK-NESN Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Just Say No
Pros: None
Cons: Unreliable product.
Other Thoughts: Failed after 24 hours. Loaded it up with my movie collection.
Shut it down for the night. Next morning booted up computer.
Drive wasn't recognized. 30 seconds later smoke started rolling out of the drive.
This is the second My Book drive that's failed for me in the last three years.
When these drives work, they work fine. If they work.
But they don't seem to work out of the box. For me anyway.
I'm done with Western Digital. Going to buy from another HD manufacturer.
Reviewed By:PATRICK M.,7/17/2016 9:23:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 8TB My Book Desktop External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBFJK0080HBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 the SLOWEST write speeds I ever have seen in a modern HDD
Pros: Huge amount of storage capacity at a reasonable price
Cons: My write speeds connected through USB3 and Windows 10 are never faster than 25 MB per second. I have never seen any HDD this slow. The platter speed must be 1200 rpm. That being said, if you are VERY patient, it gets the job done. Like a 1948 Buick in a world of Ferraris.
Other Thoughts: Though I buy many things from Newegg, this particular drive was bought at a competitor because I needed it immediately. I would NOT buy it again. Write speeds this slow are inexcusable.
Reviewed By:rick c.,7/16/2016 5:52:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives G-Force3 8TB USB 3.0 Aluminum Desktop External Hard Drive GF3B8000U Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent device !!!
Pros: Very quiet. It has not missed a beat after 8 months. It has worked on my Win 8.o desktop and, now, my Win 10 laptop.
Cons: I should have gotten a bigger boat (disk). :)
Other Thoughts: If only it was wifi accessible.
Reviewed By:Wesley H.,7/16/2016 12:41:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100 Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 when they say desktop it really is ment for a desktop
Pros: big external hdd
has a good size of 5tb
being 3.0 usb is good for multi platform usage
Cons: short usb 3.0 cable
this is seagate
heavy
large format.
Other Thoughts: this is a good universal level external hdd
it gets the job done
if looking to do high volume transfers often
you should look better than usb 3.0
Reviewed By:Russ C.,7/15/2016 3:57:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 3TB My Book Desktop External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBFJK0030HBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Less than five days total power on time prior to failure.
Pros: Reasonably priced, compact design, easy to place in any position.
Cons: These drives are notoriously prone to failure. I purchased 3 - 3TB drives a few years ago (not from Newegg) and only recently had occasion to open and place into service the first, as an off-site archive. The needed files were copied successfully and approximately 48 hours later the drive failed. Using Hard Drive Sentinel's report, I sent the information to Western Digital even though the drive was technically out of calendar warranty since there were so few hours of operation. I have had very good service from Western Digital in the past and consequently only use their products on my customer's builds. WD was very courteous as always but refused to warranty their undisputable factory defect. The case was support elevated several times but to no avail. I recommend against purchasing the My Book drives for any purpose whatsoever (check the failure rate online) in favor of their Black, Red or RE series drives of which I have had great success with both reliability and warranty replacement when the rare problem occurred.
Manufacturer Response:Hi There Peter,
Unfortunately, we were not able to locate your case from the information provided in this review. We understand you didn’t purchase these drives from Newegg and therefore this may not be the proper venue to post a review with implications related to this e-tailer’s reputation or their relationship with us. External drives are vulnerable to environmental hazards not normally encountered with internal drives as you mentioned at the bottom of your review. Unsafe removal, movement of the drive while it’s in use, external power supply interruptions to name a few can cause physical damage to an external drive. Please know we don’t rely on 3rd party diagnostics utilities as their generic algorithms may not fully test hardware and electronics our Data Lifeguard Diagnostics for Windows was designed to accomplish on our drives.
“How to test a drive for problems using Data Lifeguard Diagnostics for Windows”: http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=940&lang=en

We would be more than happy to address your concerns directly via phone or Email below. If you would be sure to reference your previous case number along with this Newegg review upon your next contact with us, we’ll be sure to direct you to the proper team member.

Need Help? Please follow the link below for further assistance or contact us at 1(800) 275-4932.
https://wdsupport.wdc.com/sfdc/case.aspx

Reviewed By:Peter F.,7/15/2016 7:55:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.