Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 External Super Multi DVD Rewriter Model GE24NU40

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 LG
Pros: Nice Disc drive build quality very good.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,9/14/2014 5:55:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 Super-Multi Portable DVD Rewriter with M-DISC Model GP50NB40

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 works good sometimes, maybe
Pros: works good if your computer can take it.
Cons: if it can't take it then it won't work correctly & may damage or destroy the computer. USB2.0 specifications state that the maximum current draw allowed per port is 500mA. this device needs 1.6A, which is over 3x the max allowed under the spec. i have a college degree in electronics & have had clients computers destroyed this way. i got 2 of these last year & they came with the y-cable but LG has now decided to take the cheap way out with this product & quit including the y-cable. even though this can damage equipment & cause the device to malfunction if the USB ports cannot take the hit from the current requirements being way out of spec. just using a USB3.0 port is not an answer either because the max current draw is 900mA per port.
Other Thoughts: this is a good drive PROVIDED your ports can provide the current which is over 3x the max allowed as per USB2.0 specs. it will probably work. i was told that it worked with the systems that LG tested it on. the problem is that it is way out of spec. i have looked at the surface mount fuses on the board for some of my ports on my systems & every single one is only rated at 750mA which means that if this drive is used, it may blow the fuse & disable the port. if the current is limited by the controller, it could destroy the controller which will take out all of the ports that that controller controls. if it is an I/O chip, it could do some serious damage. that is what happened to one lady i knew. if you get it & it works sometimes & sometimes it don't, i wouldn't use it on that system. me personally, i'm gonna be really careful which systems i use it on & use the y-cable from other drives that LG was supposed to provide in the first place & never buy another LG product! The rest is up to you.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/10/2014 6:01:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Lite-On > Lite-On EBAU108 External DVD-Writer - Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome! Uses single USB!
Pros: - Uses single USB for power & data!
- No glossy fingerprint magnet plastic.
- M-Disc support if you like that sort of thing.
- Average sound vibration
- Very light
Cons: - plastic feels cheap... but seems strong. It's supposed to emulate brushed aluminum. Not bad I guess.
- Very short USB cable included...It's about 5 inches.
Other Thoughts: Let's hope it lasts, I'll use this drive to boot isos I have around rather than USB flash boot, especially on older hardware that doesn't do USB flash boot well.
Reviewed By:abysal,9/10/2014 2:02:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 External DVD-Writer Model SDRW-08U5S-U/SIL/G/AS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Seem Like Sturdy Little Units
Pros: We recently purchased 3. It is getting harder to find DVD burners on laptops, and even docking stations are starting to come without a DVD burner.

They are quite compact, and seem fairly rugged for what they are.

We have not used them much. We really just need them around for those occasions when a DVD Reader/Writer is needed. However, the one I tested worked fine.
Cons: I need a minimum of 5 words here.
Other Thoughts: Unless we become aware of quality issues, we will continue to buy this brand as needed.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/10/2014 7:30:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 Super-Multi Portable DVD Rewriter with M-DISC Model GP50NB40

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Just plain doesn't write
Pros: Can read DVDs.
Cons: This unit wouldn't recognize two separate brands of DVD-R discs when I tried to burn an iso file. I got a third brand to work, but the unit lost power after about 2 seconds of writing. The drive came with a single mini usb cable, not the dual cable others have reported for extra power.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/9/2014 8:55:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Hongda Industrial > Slimline USB External CD RW DVD ROM Drive for Laptops, Desktops and Notebooks (Black)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 CD/dvd external drive
Pros: Plugged and played
Cons: Was a little unclear how to use...no directions
Reviewed By:N/A,9/9/2014 2:38:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 White External Slim CD/DVD Writer Model SDRW-08D2S-U

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: Allowed me to install Windows 7, my case has no optical drive.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:kevn38,9/7/2014 12:34:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Lite-On > LITE-ON USB 3.0 12X External Blu-ray Disc Writer Model eHBU212-08 LightScribe Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Reliable & Great for multiple computers
Pros: - Reliable burning -- have never had a 'coaster' from it
- Reads and transfers data reasonably fast
- Works well as a boot drive when set in BIOS

Lite-On uses an easy utility for firmware updates.
Cons: none. Maybe a little noisy, but not bad.
Other Thoughts: I seldom put optical disk drives in my builds.
For installing software or burning images this drive is the only one needed for 8 PCs.

Update firmware to version 06 as of 8/2014.
Reviewed By:xmed,9/6/2014 9:52:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 Super-Multi Portable DVD Rewriter with M-DISC Model GP50NB40

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: its worth evey penny. it never fails
Cons: none
Reviewed By:LW,9/5/2014 11:45:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > T-Mod Enterprise Co., ltd. > Archgon USB 3.0 Aluminum 6x External Blu-ray Writer Model MD-3107S-U3RW w/Cyberlink BD Solution

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works perfectly so far
Pros: Works perfectly with Blu-ray movies
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: Caveat: I just tried to burn an ISO image to a DVD, and I got an error. The ISO image was too big for the DVD, but my burner program gave me an option to overburn (ImgBurn). Problem may have been the disc, also.
Reviewed By:happyarchgonuser,9/3/2014 7:14:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau