Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 Super-Multi Portable DVD Rewriter with M-DISC Model GP50NB40

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Not bad!
Pros: Reads faster than the last USB powered optical drive that I've used. Sounds and performs almost as fast as an internal drive!
Cons: Haven't noticed any Cons yet.
Other Thoughts: Have only used it to install windows 7 so far. Haven't tried writing yet, and I hope it lasts a long time.
Reviewed By:Thundercamel,4/24/2015 10:41:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Pioneer > Pioneer USB 3.0 BD/DVD/CD Portable Burner Model BDR-XD05B

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works well so far
Pros: Nice slim design, lightweight, not too noisy, decent transfer speeds.
Cons: Cable that's bundled with it is a bit on the short side.
Other Thoughts: Drive was recognized under linux without any difficulty and is working well so far.
Reviewed By:scorbo,4/18/2015 12:03:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 8x External DVDRW White Slim Portable Model SDRW-08D2S-U W G ACI

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Does the job
Pros: Looks nice, plays and records good.
Cons: There are 2 versions, one with a stand and one without. I ordered the one with the stand, But the stand wasn't in the box. Poor quality housing. Primarily the top. Without touching it, you can see where the middle dips down and even worse if you touch it.
Other Thoughts: Not worth the asking price based on the quality of the housing. Would be nice if ASUS had better QC, if they had, I would not be missing the stand! -2 eggs. 1 for poor quality housing and 1 for not including my stand.
Reviewed By:Anubis,4/17/2015 2:11:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG USB 2.0 (3.0 Compatible) External DVD Burner Model SE-218GN/RSBD

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Absolutely worthless
Pros: None
Cons: Would not work properly on two different systems.
Other Thoughts: Tried to install Windows 7 on a new PC using this device, and the Starting Windows screen remained frozen for about 20 minutes. Tried to connect it to my laptop so that I could use the Windows ISO tool to create a USB install key. Drivers on device would not install properly, and finding an updated driver online proved to be utterly useless. How could Samsung get something this simple so horribly wrong? This will be returned posthaste.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/16/2015 6:42:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG USB 2.0 (3.0 Compatible) External DVD Writer Model SE-208GB/RSBD

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not very reliable
Pros: small and inexpensive. USB attached
Cons: not reliable over the long run
Other Thoughts: I bought these for my field service technicians to use with their Ultrabooks. The majority of these guys are telling me that when connected that they sporadically stop working and some stopped working altogether. They are only a few months old. These guys are on the road a lot and they probably do get bounced around. If you are a road warrior you might want to think about something a little more sturdy.
Reviewed By:Michael C.,4/16/2015 8:31:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 Black External Slim CD/DVD Writer Model SDRW-08D2S-U

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works well, seems fragile and 2 USB ports needed
Pros: Convenient, small, fast.
Cons: Seems fragile, tray is like a laptop tray, kind of quirky. Requires the use of 2 USB ports (recommended as per instructions)
Reviewed By:Carrnutt,4/13/2015 4:07:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 External Blu-Ray 6X Writer with BDXL Support Model SBW-06D2X-U

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good device
Pros: It Just Works. I added it to my micro Media center pc as a free standing DVD Blu-ray player. I burnt a few items with it and its all good.
Cons: USB 3.0 would be better to burn large data but USB 2 is good.
Reviewed By:bytlan,4/12/2015 11:20:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Rosewill > Rosewill Model ROD-EX002 - Slim Aluminum 8X DVD Writer - USB 2.0 - External Optical Drive for PCs - Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product
Pros: This is the second one that I have purchased. I owned the first one for two and a half years before I had any problems and it was an easy fix.
Cons: No cons at this time.
Other Thoughts: Comes in an aluminum case. Well built. I would recommend this product to anyone especially if you will be carrying it around or moving it a lot.
Reviewed By:GEORGE F.,4/9/2015 5:04:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 6x External Slim Blu Ray Combo with BDXL Support Model SBC-06D2X-U/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk...
Pros: Looks nice.
Cons: It's a piece of junk. I bought this primarily to read blurays. Now that I need it to read a DVD it won't... just keeps booping. Not recognizing DVD's of any sort... not DVD movies, not DVD plus or minus R's
doubleU tee eeF ... Sorry, it's a hunk of junk.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/6/2015 5:55:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Lite-On > Lite-On EBAU108 External DVD-Writer - Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great under ESXi 5.5
Pros: Bought this for installing VmWare ESXi on a few boxes that were lacking an optical drive. ESXi can be a little picky but I had no issues detecting this drive.

This drive has since migrated to my laptop bag and works great with my Dell XPS 12 convertible tablet. There have been no power issues with the one USB connection.

Small and slim compared to older models of external optical drives.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Very please with this purchase. We have two other brands sitting around here that are hit of miss with a few of our tests.

USB cable was a little short so I swapped it out with one already laying around here.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/3/2015 8:13:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.