Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > T-Mod Enterprise Co., ltd. > Archgon MD-3102-U3 USB 3.0 Aluminum External Blu-Ray Combo with Cyberlink BD Solution

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: great price, slick looks, lightweight, blu-ray software included, USB 3.0
Cons: none so far. i've only put it to basic use though.
Other Thoughts: watched about five blu-ray DVD's with the included software and it worked like a charm on Windows 8.
Reviewed By:alien,4/17/2014 3:16:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Rosewill > Rosewill USB 2.0 Slim Aluminum 8x DVD Writer External Optical Drive for PC Model ROD-EX002 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid Drive
Pros: - Works with practically any machine via dual-mode USB
- Easy to set up and use
- Aluminum case is attractive and stands up to light abuse
- Modular cable allows for easier storage / deployment
- Read / Write speeds are fine
Cons: - It could be cheaper?
Other Thoughts: Comes with some standard burning software in case you don't have a more feature-filled suite already. Would have been nice to have BD-ROM reading functionality for the price, but still a good value as is.
Reviewed By:Lord Cochise,4/16/2014 7:19:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 Super-Multi Portable DVD Rewriter with M-DISC Model GP50NB40

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does what it should
Pros: I bought this for my HP Revolve 810 G2 since it has no DVD drive and also wanted to retire the drive in my desktop PC to save room as well.

This does the job perfectly. Windows has no problems with it and neither do the multiple Linux distro's I tested it with (Ubuntu, Mint, Lubuntu, Xubuntu, Fedora).
Cons: While it does feel flimsy, it's not worth docking an egg off. As long as you take care of it, then it should last you.
Other Thoughts: None.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/14/2014 11:42:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 Ultra Slim External DVDRW Model GP60NS50

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 looks good but dosn.t work
Pros: looks nice
Cons: computer recognized the device but the device didn't recognize the media.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/10/2014 11:41:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 3.0 12X Blu-ray Burner Model BW-12D1S-U/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent
Pros: Excellent Speed. Quick Startup.
Cons: BRIGHT FREAKING LIGHT. My computer equipment is in my bedroom. If I wanted a night light I would have bought one.
Reviewed By:ET,4/10/2014 11:26:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 Ultra Slim External DVDRW Model GP60NB50

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: Small size, light weight.
Cons: Doesn't include the necessary USB mini Y cable. Device constantly disconnecting. Windows doesn't recognize. Won't read discs.
Other Thoughts: The first problem I noticed after opening the box was that the wrong type of USB cable was included. It came with a regular mini-USB cable, but this drive requires a Y-cable (uses 2 USB ports on your computer) in order to supply enough power to drive. I tried the drive with the included cable, and it was initially recognized. I inserted a disc and could hear it spin up, but that was the end. I just get repeated USB Device Not Recognized error message. Drive won't show up in windows explorer. Can't read or write discs. I hope newegg will process return, but I still have the time and expense of shipping this drive back.
Reviewed By:Schmoo,4/10/2014 10:10:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 Ultra Slim External DVDRW Model GP60NS50

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not mac compatible
Pros: Attractive, small external optical drive. Appears to be well constructed.
Cons: Not mac compatible as claimed. I have a Late 2013 21.5" iMac model ME08LL/A (upgraded from Mtn. Lion to Mavericks) and I could not get it to recognize the drive. It would get enough power to open the tray to insert a disc.

I RMA'd the unit, the replacement couldn't be recognized either. Both units did work on my Mid-2012 15" Retina MacBook Pro however.

The USB cable included with both units isn't like the one depicted. The included cable only had one USB Type A connector, not two to provide additional power.
Other Thoughts: Shame it didn't work, it matches my macs.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/7/2014 1:58:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG USB 2.0 Slim External DVD Writer Model SE-208DB/TSBS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works Fine
Pros: The idea is simple - take a laptop drive and sell it separately in its own plastic shell.

Got it for two reasons:
1. External drive for Asus T100. Works great - Win8 sees it fine. Reading is fine, haven't tried writing yet. Didn't need provided drivers.

2. Bring-up of new desktop build. Didn't want to buy a whole DVD drive just for that step, so used this. The new build booted right off power-up on the Win7 64b CD in this drive. Didn't even need to tell BIOS to boot off it. Super smooth.

Runs entirely off USB, including power.
Cons: Not the fastest drive I've ever encountered - probably because it has to keep a lid on power consumption since it powers off the USB. As noted above, it was used to load up a new blank desktop build and more speed would have been nice, but not a big issue.

Also, it choked on one game install disk, but I haven't tried that disc in other drives to isolate the issue. Also, I never used the driver disc provided in the package, which could also be the issue.
Reviewed By:Smith,4/5/2014 12:54:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 Ultra Slim External DVDRW Model GP60NB50

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 perfect match for Chromebook
Pros: I didn't even bother with rebate, it's worth $20 to me easily. Works on a single thick wire to my one free USB port on my Acer C720 and matches the charcoal color perfectly. First review ever here so that's how much I like it. PnP on both laptops, runs HD DVD without a problem.
Cons: could of got it for $10 if I didn't hate rebates so much.
Reviewed By:Wingnut,4/4/2014 6:13:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG USB 2.0 Ultra Portable External DVD Writer Model SE-218CB/RSBS

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Low speed
Pros: Cheap,light
Cons: Slow as a turtle,took forever to make recovery media for my
laptop,at least i was able to make them.
Other Thoughts: Next time i'm gonna get a faster dvd drive from newegg.
Reviewed By:grandpa1948,4/4/2014 12:23:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau