Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Embedded Solutions > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-J1900N-D3V Intel Celeron J1900 Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good Idea - Poor Execution
Pros: Not much, BIOS is incredibly buggy cannot tell how well the new Intel Celeron V4 Bay Trail would be. Can’t get past the BIOS.
Cons: Where to start. The delivered MB had BIOS ver F1. Buggy and unusable for any OS. Gigabyte wants you to get out your DOS and floppy to upgrade BIOS - dead serious! Search the internet, there is a hpusb tool you can use instead. F2 was almost as bad but some Win system issues fixed. F3 fixed most Win issues. None of these addressed serious problems BIOS causes for BSD or Linux distros. Do a google search...

Gigabyte Tech support is pitiful. 3 days after submitting a service ticket a reply. “blah blah blah we only care about MS Win users, we will not fix BIOS bugs unless they affect MS Win systems”. Really? I have Win 8 & Win 7 systems but would never use a Celeron to run such a resource hungry, bloated OS as Win! You would want at least the newest i3 if you wanted it to be responsive. This bd is perfect for faster more efficient OS like the nix systems.

There is a serious bug in the BIOS that causes kernel panics at OS install with all nix OS. Something to do with ACPI or USB conflicts. Gigabyte refuses to fix so don’t hold your breath on EVER getting it to work. RMA or use for paper weight or door stop.

Be warned - Gigabyte response to many complaints on this is that it will never be fixed.

Last Gigabyte product I have to RMA as it will be the last purchase. Too many good alternative companies - ASUS, ASRock, MSI, etc who work with ALL OS communities to waste time with this lost cause.

Newegg would not allow me to post unless I gave it at least 1 star so… consider it a -1 star
Reviewed By:Fincane,7/10/2014 6:02:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock Q1900-ITX Intel Celeron J1900 Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 review update
Pros: fast , low wattage , see other thoughts
Cons: noda
Other Thoughts: well I tried this motherboard with a 150w mini micro power supply and the power went down to 11w at idle . this is an incredible setup considering its low power usage.

windows 7 64bit WEI total 5.2
cpu 6.5
memory 7.5
desktop aero 5.1
3D 5.9
disk 7.9

that's with 16 gigs of Kingston memory oh also almost forgot I just checked the memory timings with cpuz since it doesn't tell you anything in the bios about timings and the timings are

1333mhz at 8,8,8,23, T1

its very fast like this, runs flawless

this makes the perfect HTPC and can play a few games too :)

very happy

windows 8.1 64bit is even faster
Reviewed By:N/A,7/9/2014 12:09:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock Q1900-ITX Intel Celeron J1900 Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 very capable low power processor
Pros: For the amount of power it uses i think this to be the best integrated motherboard to date. for exceeds last years intergraded Celerons and its video acceleration direct x 11 capable. as other reviewers have said the video as actually capable and looks as good as my i3 or i7 onboard video. very capable htpc , no problem .
Cons: not sure if its this motherboard and all the extra features this board has, it used more wattage then i was predicting. still very low see other thoughts
Other Thoughts: first we all know this is a low wattage motherboard. that's what it was designed for . don't get this confused by comparing to a i7. i7 is for speed this is for power savings.

that said, its a very capable setup. easily out pacing last years Intel Dual-core Celeron 1037U that had the worst video only capable game playing solitaire. lol

not this one with its directx 11 support and Blu-ray acceleration and plays many games. runs windows 8.1 64bit fast and flawless. great htpc . i installed one of these in my truck and one in home for htpc with 4 tuner cable hd .
works flawless in both setups.

now my board has memory voltage settings from 1.25 to 1.65 v. in the bios. i am using 16 gigs of memory at 1.35v. no issues booted up the first time.

wattage peaks at 21.6w at startup for a second ,18v during virus scan , 16w idle in windows 7 , windows 8.1 64bit is on average 5w less . with a seasonic fanless 520w power supply , 2 laptop drives usb keyboard and mouse and wireless card , 2 x 8 = 18 gigs of memory.

I am Going to try the micro mini power supply see if its as efficient will post back

note using Kinston 1600mhz 1.35v memory case 9 , running at 1333mhz at case 7 timings. timings are not changeable in the bios it dose not have any settings for memory timings. just memory speed and voltage

i found that the fast timing really improves the graphics speed. this board likes fast timing memory. it has been working flawless non stop for 7 months now.

i do have one large slow moving silent fan on this board, it lowers cpu and motherboard temps around 15 degrease.

i am very happy
Reviewed By:N/A,7/8/2014 12:41:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Newark > Newark Raspberry Pi Model B RASPBRRY-PCBA512 Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo Broadcom BCM2835 700MHz ARM1176JZFS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great
Pros: cool device
Cons: no gigabyte ethernet
Reviewed By:vermiboy,7/7/2014 7:17:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ECS (EliteGroup) > ECS NM70-TI (V1.0A) Intel Celeron 847/807 Intel NM70 Thin Mini-ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Info on DV Power
Pros: Don't know yet! As we are still trying to find a power supply.
Cons: Lack of Documentation and weak tech support.
Other Thoughts: The following was sent to the FliteGroup USA (quote):
"The on board DC-in power requirement such as voltage and amperage cannot be located anywhere, including the User's Guide and on your website? Please advise the type of power adapter required. Also, what is the function of the on board SATA power connector? Can it be used without DC-in power? Many thanks!"

And their reply (quote):
"Motherboard connection is based off of Intel reference design. Please see the following link for power adapter information.
http://www.intel.com/cd/channel/reseller/asmo-na/eng/products/480805.htm

The SATA cables the come with the motherboard will have a connection that plugs into the SATA power. Power will be drawn from the DC in."
Reviewed By:N/A,7/7/2014 5:51:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ECS (EliteGroup) > ECS BAT-I(1.0)/J1900 Intel Bay Trail J1900 Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Cannot boot into Linux
Pros: Boots in Windows 8.1 and seems to work.
Cons: BIOS does not save any changes. Even though I see options for Legacy boot, it would not save, and resets back to Win 8.1/UEFI. Because of this I cannot boot into Linux.
Other Thoughts: They should have clearly mentioned that Linux is not supported.
Manufacturer Response:Linux officially supports both the UEFI and BIOS firmware. So UEFI should not cause issues and legacy should not be required to boot Linux. If you haven't already, please contact us. We would like to learn more about your configuration and which Linux distribution you are using. We would also like to look into your issues with the BIOS reverting back to previous settings.

I or any of my team members here at technical support will be able to help you.
Our hours are Mon-Fri 9am-6pm PST.

Thank you,
Andy
Phone# 1-510-456-9836
Email: andy_K@ecsusa.com

Reviewed By:John,7/6/2014 8:16:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Newark > Newark Raspberry Pi Model B RASPBRRY-PCBA512 Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo Broadcom BCM2835 700MHz ARM1176JZFS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: power saver
Cons: usb device limited power
Reviewed By:N/A,7/5/2014 6:46:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Biostar > BIOSTAR NM70I-1037U Intel Celeron 1037U Dual-Core 1.8GHz Intel NM70 Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works well.
Pros: 4 SATA headers, mini-ITX form factor, boots in seconds, low electricity usage for 24-7 operation.
Cons: Only 1 SATA3 rest are SATA2.
Only USB2, no USB3.
Other Thoughts: It works very well as small cheap webserver.
Reviewed By:Walter,6/30/2014 11:19:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock Q1900M Intel Quad-Core Celeron Processor J1900 Micro ATX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ASRock Q1900M
Pros: -Powerfull embedded solutions (for basic tasks) used as HTPC
-Inexpensive
-4 core procesor
-Low power consumption
-Micro ATX form factor
-Use desktop DDR3 RAM (240pin)
-USB 3.0
-Fanless
Cons: -A little difficult to install some of the drivers, but finally get it work.
Reviewed By:Pablops87,6/29/2014 5:58:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ECS (EliteGroup) > ECS NM70-TI (V1.0A) Intel Celeron 847/807 Intel NM70 Thin Mini-ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 AWESOME !!
Pros: This is an awesome little board. The very Slim-ITX form factor is great. I am using the board to interface with my Arduino projects and works out fantastic. Its jam packed with features - just about everything you would want in a board like this.
Cons: NO CONS (would be nice to have the same board with dual nisc's.
Other Thoughts: I think that those giving it cons because it lacks something need to re-evaluate this board and look at all it does have for being such a small thin board. Just cause it doesn't have something you need doesn't make it fair to call it a con. Don't buy it knowing so and then con it afterwards. Buy something else!
Reviewed By:FINX,6/28/2014 3:42:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau