Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock Q1900M Intel Quad-Core Celeron Processor J1900 Micro ATX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It's just a baby, but baby got wings!
Pros: Silent and cool operation from a quad core.
Low price for motherboard/processor combo.
PCI-Express capabilities.
Dual-Channel Ram.
Low-power consumption.
Cons: PCI-Express 16x slot is 2.0 and really 1x.
Only 2 Sata ports.
Ram surrounds CPU cooler, cutting some airflow to it.
Other Thoughts: So really, I wanted to do this review to see if this board would be worth having a video card in it for gaming. I did 3D mark with the onboard Intel HD graphics and one with an AMD 7750 (no external power and low profile). The power consumption went from ~30w to ~70w peak during this test in my rig.

Test - Onboard Score - +7750 score
Firestrike 1.1 - 171 - 1905
Skydiver 1.0 - 600 - 5610
Cloudgate 1.1 - 1604 - 5709
Ice Storm 1.2 - 18985 - 37482

The physics score was rather uneffected, but the graphics scores went up considerably. Skydiver went from a slideshow to a near-smooth experience. Firestrike, however, was still pretty rough. Reglardless, even with only 1x operation, it seems a video card is worth it if you want to attempt to game from the awesome little J1900, as it struggles with video performance.

I'm using a Silverstone ML04 (with 4x Enermax Enobal fans turned down), older Sandisk SSD, Older OCZ Power Supply, Pioneer Blu-ray player, and some cheap Nanya 667mhz ram I had laying around. Idle takes less than 20 watts and, outside of the power supply fan, it's dead silent. Going to use this for a HTPC, but figured I'd experiment as a gaming computer as I've used the J1900 in the Gigabyte Brix for Steam Streaming. Saw the J1900 in that was getting bottle-necked by the processors poor video performance in local gaming, so figured it was worth a quick test on this board to see how well a vid card would help. Won't be keeping the video card in this box as the J1900 can stream just fine, but hopefully this little review helps somebody.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/30/2015 8:37:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock N3150M Intel Quad-Core Processor N3150 (up to 2.08 GHz) Micro ATX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 ASRockN3150M
Pros: Low wattage.
Cons: Compared to my 3770k at stock clock running the same samsung 840 pro with windows 8.1 pro mce it is a complete dog. It cannot multitask at all. Windows MCE is laggy and if you try to do something else at the same time it is difficult. I will now just use it for a expensive security recorder. I hate to say it but my old P4 from 2004 is a bit easyer to work with granted it is running windows xp black edition. Windows 8.1 had trouble installing the lan driver and the driver cd that came with it was a bit confusing with the two check boxes to the left of each driver install. The automated driver install off of the cd failed even after I manually installed the lan driver first. The bios updater in bios failed several times and I had to do it using a thumb drive. Secure boot and the key management is a joke compared to my ageing gigabyte Z77x ud5h running the modded bios from tweektown.
Other Thoughts: The secure boot seems to fight me because of a video driver and the video has this annoying flash of green distortion during boot. The video looks blurry no matter what I do with the 1080p res compared to my gtx760 on the gigabyte.
On a different note Windows install did not work with 7 as they state.I WILL slipstream a new windows 7 ultimate with all the latest and greatest drivers to work with new hardware.
Windows 8 and above has become a nightmare for me to deal with.
Love ubuntu but need to learn proper operation of it yet. I did not try it on this.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/30/2015 8:20:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Biostar > BIOSTAR A68N-5000 AMD A4-5000 Quad-Core APU Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works for me.
Pros: Makes a nice HTPC
Cons: None really...
Other Thoughts: I put 8gb of ram from Newegg and a Newegg refurbished 250gb hd with it and it does what I expect it to do.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/26/2015 4:55:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-E2100N AMD E1-2100 APU 1.0GHz Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Wimpy!
Pros: All on one board. Passive heat sink. Low power. Uses DDR3 memory. Parallel and serial ports. HDMI port. USB 3 ports too! Very nice collection of ports, though the parallel and serial are rarely used these days.
Cons: Unacceptably slow for usage as a regular Linux desk top. Totally inappropriate for windoze.
Other Thoughts: We have been running Ubuntu on Atom D510 systems for years but they top out at 4 gB of DDR2. Nothing particularly intensive so they worked fine but we can use more ram. Hence the attempt to use this to upgrade as putting in 16 gB is no problem. But whereas the Atom processor is marginally slow, this processor presents only 2 cores at about 2000 bogo mips compared to 4 cores and over 3000 bogo mips each on the Atom. In an appropriate application like a kiosk it would be great.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/22/2015 3:56:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASUS > ASUS J1800I-A Intel Celeron Dual-Core J1800 Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great small power efficent computer
Pros: Small form factor
Low power usage
Decent graphics power (when using max ram)
Great performance for a low end PC
Cons: Not a Super Computer (at this price I wasn't expecting one)
Graphics can be a bit flat for games (but that's not what this is designed for)
Other Thoughts: Overall this combo is great for a work computer, media server or low end home computer.

It's not a super computer and can't play games at insane graphics if that's what you're looking for. I got this as a computer for browsing, and for a custom build to play Final Fantasy XI (for a relative). The upgrade and performance on the machine solid for this task and can handle work quite well (as both a home computer for general usage). The only downside is the graphics for games is a bit flat.

I wouldn't get this if you intend to try running virtualization, heavy resource utilization tasks like video editing or video games (new ones).

For a low power computer that can handle everyday web-browsing, media serving or very light gaming, it provides a great bang for your buck.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/18/2015 7:26:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock Q1900M Intel Quad-Core Celeron Processor J1900 Micro ATX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great motherboard/CPU for Everything But Gaming
Pros: 10w processor.
Micro Atx with plenty of expansion options.
Takes standard DDR3 sized memory (not compact laptop).
Plays 1080 and 720 very smoothly.
Very quick boot.
Takes +2tb drives out of the box.
Nice UEFI.
Cons: Only 2 Sata ports, but plenty of expansion bays for other options.
Other Thoughts: Currently using as Media server/htpc and crunching with Boinc. Never bogs down and stays around the 25-30w range.
Paired with 1600 DDR3 ripjaw memory and a WD 6TB drive with a 128gig ocz SSD for boot.
Use onboard graphics and do not see a need to upgrade it since the processor would bottle neck higher end GPUs.
It is amazing that this is like 4 pentium 4 chips crammed into one 10w package. Great for everyday computing needs and even Green crunching.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/18/2015 12:42:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock Q1900-ITX Intel Celeron J1900 Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Printed manual stinks
Pros: There is one
Cons: Who was the idiot who thought light grey ink in a tiny font would be a good idea? If you need to have a multi-language manual and a small font please use black ink.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued ASRock Customer

Thank you for purchase and review.
The user manual (pdf format) can be also download at link below and it can be increased the font for reading.

User manual link: ftp://66.226.78.21/manual/Q1900-ITX.pdf

If you have any technical inquiry or warranty question in the future, please contact us at http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp. We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock SUPPORT
Tech Support Email: http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp

Reviewed By:N/A,6/14/2015 6:59:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Foxconn > Foxconn AHD1S-K AMD E-350 APU (1.6GHz, Dual-Core) AMD Hudson D1 Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Small and effictive
Pros: Quite, passively cooled, Plenty of video output options, HDMI. Great little motherboard for a Mame cabinet or other similar project.
Cons: Gets really hot, I wound up having to keep a case fan blowing on it to keep it in temp ranges I was comfortable with. It never did overheat even without a fan on it.

The CPU is not really strong enough for anything modern OS.

Lacks Sata 3.
Other Thoughts: When I picked this up I was not expecting much from it, I wanted to build a mame cabinet and wanted something quite and small. This fit the bill for that perfectly, it was able to run emulation software for older games with no issues at all. Being 18w made it a really low power option.

It did have a few issues running windows 8, when opening the start menu or any non-metro apps it would chug showing frame skips. Ubuntu 14.04 was almost unusable without the catalyst drivers, even with the drivers is was really slow. I did have better luck with Ubuntu 14.04 with Gnome where it was very much usable, my guess is it did not like the unity UI. Windows 7 ran with little issue once it got started, which I find really strange with the issues it had with windows 8. I did play with other linux distros with mixed results, most anything dated ran without issue and most newer OS’s had some slowdown issues.

For being an APU it is almost sinful that it only supports 1066 MHz RAM, this makes the built in graphics really slow.

All and all if you keep expiations within reason this little mobo/APU is decent, but don’t expect it to win any power awards.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/11/2015 4:07:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASUS > ASUS J1800I-C Intel Celeron Dual-Core J1800 Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great HW but deeply flawed bios
Pros: Decent processor, board, good overall hardware. Asus makes quality gear.
Cons: Comes with secure boot that is impossible to turn off in bios. So, good luck installing anything other than Windows or maybe one of the bigger Linux distros if they've decided to pay ransom to Microsoft. Couldn't get bios to recognize SSD until I'd formatted it on another machine. These may seem like small things but it hopelessly hobbles this product as having DYI value.
Other Thoughts: This is the first ASUS product I've been disappointed by. They normally hit it out of the park.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/9/2015 2:32:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Newark > Raspberry Pi 2 Model B ARM7 900Mhz CPU Board

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome little computer
Pros: - ARMv7
- Quad core 900 Mhz processor
- 1 GB RAM
- 4 USB ports
- Same exact form factor as it's predecessor
- Low Power for "full" computer
Cons: - No USB 3.0
- 100Mbps port versus a 1Gbps port

I knew this going into the purchase, therefore no eggs deducted.
Other Thoughts: I am using this board with a 64 GB microSD card. I am triple booting OSMC, Raspbian and RetroPie using Noobs. I wanted a desktop, gaming system, and home theater PC all in one. All operating systems boot and respond very quickly.

Playing games and watching full HD is handled easily by this board. I have been playing NES, Genesis and SNES games in RetroPie without a hitch. Full HD streaming in OSMC has been great and I haven't had any issues with buffering or stuttering with the 100 Mbps NIC.

This board works "out of the box" with Logitech F310 gamepad in RetroPie as well as the iPazzPort 2.4Ghz USB Wireless Mini Keyboard that I got here off of Newegg. The keyboard works in Raspbian and OSMC only as RetroPie does not support keyboards with the initial install.

This little guy is replacing an aging and loud (the fan) Dell Zino HD home theater PC. I bought a transparent case for the board and some heat sinks to go on top of the chips. I am currently not using any type of fan and don't believe I need to. This puts out a lot less heat than the traditional PC did.

I was waiting to jump into the Raspberry Pi market but wasn't happy with past specs. This little board has finally gotten my respect.

* If you are wondering how to install 3 operating systems onto this guy try searching "triple boot raspberry pi" on the internet.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/9/2015 1:48:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.