Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Newark > Raspberry Pi B+ Broadcom BCM2835 SoC ARM11 700 MHz Low Power ARM1176JZFS Applications Processor Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 useless hyped up garbage
Pros: -its small
Cons: -its not powerful enough to do anything. You can really do any sort of meaningful webserver work. It wont run a graphical os. It just sucks.
Other Thoughts: DONT BELIEVE THE HYPE.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/4/2016 1:24:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > JETWAY > JetWay JNF9HG-2930 Intel Celeron N2930 SoC, 1.83GHz - 2.16GHz Burst, Quad-Core, 7.5W TDP/4.5W SDP Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fantastic little board for a pfsense box/router
Pros: Small, low powered, powerful enough to drive 4 gig ports. Haven't actually run this at full tilt, but this is meant to be a long running device as my firewall and IDS, so time will tell.
Expandable functionality as well! mSata slot, mini pcie slots make for a versatile device, as well as an 8-bit GPIO interface (external LCD anyone??)
So far, great, would definitely buy again.
Cons: The side mini PCI extender makes it difficult to shoehorn this into some cases. Be careful of the case you purchase for this.

The power requirements - I would have loved to have been able to use an internal power supply, but no such beast exists. THIN mini-itx does not take 24 pin ATX connectors. External power supply only.

Placement of the SATA ports on board make for an awkward and difficult placement of cabling.

The US site has this board in a case as a barebones offering in a 1U half depth package, which i would have preferred to have bought instead of cobbling my own pieces together.
Other Thoughts: For an expandable netwok device board, I would definitely recommend this.
Reviewed By:Gurjeet C.,2/4/2016 7:37:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock N3150M Intel Quad-Core Processor N3150 (up to 2.08 GHz) Micro ATX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great idea that fails
Pros: 6 watt CPU chip
near-MATX form factor
Fanless - silent
Enough ports
Good looking board
Cons: Slow - I have slower chips that run faster than this dog and exhibit none of the below behavior defects-
Drops video suddenly
Not up to running wireless dongles in front USB ports - wireless keyboard and mouse fall unresponsive and I have to plug in wired versions to get out of a mess. I write fiction (building computers has been my hobby since 1988), so this motherboard can derail my serenity for an hour or so by messing up flow.
SATA Express x 16 runs at x1 - why put it on the board as x16? Just build in three (or four) SATAXx1 ports
Board isn't full MATX size, so a screw hole or so have nothing in or beneath them
Other Thoughts: I run Ubuntu 64 Desktop on it, and the poor thing just seems overwhelmed by life in the real world of an everyday computer, as Ubuntu will run on any non-Mac machine that works. It boots in acceptable time with great video, and that's the high point of its day. I've pulled junk out of thrift shops, cleaned it up, and had it run better than decent on Ubuntu, better than this. I see no reason for this chip to run at 1.6 GHz in the steadily increasing low power market. 2 GHz is the minimum, I think. I'm going to try a N3700M, and if that doesn't work, I'm not buying any more Intel embedded solutions. I bought the poor thing, so I'll eat it and throw it away with the rest of the garbage that leaves my workspace.
Reviewed By:Tommy T.,2/2/2016 9:02:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ECS (EliteGroup) > ECS BAT-I(1.2)/J2900 Intel Pentium J2900 2.41 GHz Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Quite and Good enough
Pros: Loved this little motherboard. Using it with Win8 and Windows Media Center/Plex Home Theater to power my TV. This thing is silent (processor is fanless) and I have no trouble recording HDTV in Media Center or streaming 1080p movies from the network. Also plays BD just fine. MakeMKV works fine too if you want to do encoding on another PC.
Cons: I wish it had a few more rear USB ports. You get what you pay for with a Pentium processor, but for single tasks it works great.
Reviewed By:Jonathon H.,2/2/2016 9:17:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock QC5000-ITX AMD FT3 Kabini A4-5000 Quad-Core APU BGA769 (FT3) Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 This is good unless you plan on having a graphics card
Pros: was a good combo deal
wifi card slot
Cons: bottlenecks graphics card
Other Thoughts: none
Reviewed By:Mikelle A.,2/1/2016 2:33:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Biostar > BIOSTAR A68N-5000 AMD A4-5000 Quad-Core APU Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid little board
Pros: Great speed good layout. I had no difficulty setting up this board. I'm running this with 16 gig of 1600 ram.
I built a small wooden case for it and with a small fan on the heat-sync I'm getting temps under load of about 42 c
That's quite good considering the case is two inches tall and the size of the board very tight fit.
The BIOS is also east to work with.
Cons: No cons at this time.
Reviewed By:Patrick S.,1/26/2016 1:43:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-J1900N-D3V Mini ITX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent, if you know what your doing.
Pros: Small board
Fast for mostly everything
Two Serial board
Parallel port on board
dual NIC!
PCI
Very reliable
Cons: Bios was an issue in the past, F2 wasn't good, F3 was ok, now F4 is excellent.
Bios flashing requires use of DOS, not the new UEFI Instant Flash methods that spoiled everyone.
Other Thoughts: I bought over 30 of these boards for Industrial use. They are running 24/7 non-stop.
Truly excellent product, not a single issue yet.
Some are used for programmers, some are used as laser controllers.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/25/2016 7:36:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ECS (EliteGroup) > ECS BAT-I(1.2)/J1800 Intel Celeron J1800 2.41 GHz Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Cool Board!
Pros: Looks cool
Low cost
Low power usage
No noise
Cons: Would not output video through HDMI
Would not boot from usb
Would not work with memory I already owned
14 day rebates are lame, and give less time for testing
Other Thoughts: This really is a cool little board, but it refusing to boot from usb was a deal breaker for me (was going to be a router, so the hdmi did not matter - vga worked fine). If I had a spare SSD around I probably would have kept it. If I could find low capacity SSD's, 16gb or less, for a really low cost, I probably would have kept it.

Somewhat off topic, but it still surprises me that in spite of how SSD's are so well suited to use for operating system drives and not storage, and that most linux operating systems would do just fine with 12-16gb of space (or less), that no one seems to make them that small. The 32gb models the few times I've checked seemed to be a terrible value for the money compared to 64gb+ models. And 64gb+ just seems stupidly large for any os drive where you do not need storage for other things. So then, usb drives are the closest I've found, and in particular the sandisk extreme usb 3.0 16-32gb, and that was going to be the drive for this particular build. No usb booting means I would have had to buy a more expensive drive, thereby killing whatever good deal this ecs board could have been for me (besides the additional money for compatible memory I already spent).

I really like these ECS embedded boards, but be prepared to have to order memory using their Qualified Vendors List. Also, the 14 day rebates kind of suck, because in the event that the memory you have does not work and you have to order more and wait, you might not have much time if any to test anything. Also, if the board does not post, and you get no beeps, and you've got no video, there is a GOOD chance that it is just the memory not being compatible with the board, or some connection may not be seated properly (i would reseat everything, psu, memory, etc). I have never needed the QVL for an asus board, but the ECS boards I've gotten have yet to work with whatever memory I happen to have on hand.

So even with the few issues I've had, I'm still kind of an ecs fan. I've done 2 builds with ecs boards, and both have cost me more money/hassle than I was planning, but ECS embedded boards with a rebate are the best value for the money I've seen (especially if your memory works). Will definitely try again at some point.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/24/2016 1:30:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASUS > ASUS N3150I-C Intel Celeron Quad-Core N3150 SoC onboard Processors Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Quick
Pros: It works right. Surprisingly fast. Quad core. Has mounts to put a cpu fan if you want.
Cons: No Cons yet.
Reviewed By:Ryan P.,1/24/2016 9:06:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > JETWAY > JetWay NC9NDL-2550 Intel Atom D2550 Intel NM10 Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product, to bad its discontinued
Pros: Works very good for a pfsense router
Cons: Not made anymore
Reviewed By:Brad H.,1/18/2016 6:57:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.