Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Network Media Players > Chicong Technology Co., LTD > USB Full HD 1080p HDD Media Player HDMI VGA MKV H.264

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Really good for the money...BUT
Pros: If I recall, the specifications omits a couple things. This DOES play X264 and AAC as well as AC3, etc.!! (Chicong/Newegg, please fix this omission as it's very important to many people!) It has flat panel buttons, incase you lose or damage the remote, which is great. Here's the BUT: for some odd reason, the audio on my player turns down the volume. I have a competing and far smaller media player ( it has NO buttons at all, though the specifications are the same ). The audio is much louder, hence the odd volume problem with my particular player. I'm hoping it's not a Chicong problem, but a defect. I plan to ask Newegg for a store credit. It either works properly or it doesn't. If not for this issue, I'd say it's a screaming deal, for the money. The video quality is also nice as is the sound quality...if it just had normal volume.
Cons: Oops! I put the cons in the Pros section as well. Here it is: comparing it to my other media player (no buttons on the player at all...about the same price) the volume plays far too low. Think (hoping) it's just a defective unit. Otherwise, It's an incredible player, especially for the money.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/4/2014 3:25:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Media Players > TOMOTOP > Google Android 4.0 ARM Cortex A9 HDMI HD 1080P Wifi Internet TV Set-Top Box Media Player Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 It 's hard to controll using a TV remote control
Pros: Main drawback, it's like controlling a Android phone with a TV Remote. The software interface is not made or designed be control by a TV remote control. And it's not user friendly in some way.
Cons: It's has a many media ports.
Reviewed By:BrainTech,9/20/2013 10:54:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Network Media Players > SEDNA > Android HDMI Dongle PC for HDTV

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Less than expected
Pros: It turns your television into a smartphone, pretty much.
Cons: I got this specifically to get Hulu and Netflix on my TV without the need for a game console, and it does allow my to do so; however, the internet cuts out quite frequently causing the movies to buffer for long periods of time, and when it is done buffering you can hear the audio but the videos has terrible lag. Also, it has issues obtaining an IP from the router on occasion, and the only way I could fix that was to disconnect it from power for some time and try again. I know it is not my internet connection, as I can download at 1.0 Mbps, and I do not have this issue watching Netflix through my Wii or PC.
Other Thoughts: It may work for other applications, I only tried Netflix on it, I didn't have Hulu at the time and did not want to spend the money on the subscription if the dongle did not work the way I wanted it to.
Reviewed By:billytalent512,2/23/2013 6:52:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Network Media Players > ViewSonic > ViewSonic NMP-560 1080P Solid-State Network Media Player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Simple Server
Pros: Small, lots of connectivity, easy software.
Cons: Software asked for updates. Don't do it. Had to reset config. No firmware updates available.
Other Thoughts: Pretty spendy for just serving up powerpoint but it does work well.
Reviewed By:WireKAT,2/11/2012 5:24:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Media Players > MASSCOOL > Masscool MP-1372RS 1080P HDMI 2.5"/3.5" SATA HDD/USB/NET HD Media Player with Dolby/DTS/RMVB/MKV/H.264

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 it's does not work well with window 7 x64 + masscool's customer service is the worst
Pros: work with xp
Cons: does not work well with window 7 x64. Since i upgraded my OS to window 7 x64, every time i plug it in, the "scan and fix system" box appear. commonly, we always click/choose "scan and fix" option so the OS and the media player can work well together in the future but that wasn't the case cuz after i chose "scan and fix" for few times, the next time i plug it in the Masscool MP-1372RS, it had became inaccessible to any OS. luckiy for me that the soft "Active File Recovery Enterprise" did able to recovered all lost files for me, it took me 3 days to recovered all files. And after the files recovery, i reformat the media player which contain the 2T Western Digital Hard Drives but the "scan and fix" problem still exist. Eventhough now I chose "do not scan" option every time ( 5 times so far) I still very uncertain how long that will lasta. I had email to masscool's customer service but they ignore my plea for its product's support.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/10/2012 11:12:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Media Players > MASSCOOL > Masscool MP-1372RS 1080P HDMI 2.5"/3.5" SATA HDD/USB/NET HD Media Player with Dolby/DTS/RMVB/MKV/H.264

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I bought 5! Great little box
Pros: Very simple media player box that works well with a 2TB hard drive. I Handbrake encoded over a 1000 movies and added 570GB of TV shows and still had enough room for 100GB of music. Extremely simple to create a folder on the installed hard drive and load it up with .mkv or .avi files and run them with 1080P and 5.1 surround sound (or any less if the A/V system does not support all that). To run a movie or show, just select file browser/hard drive/ the folder that the movie is in / select a movie and hit play. Extremely robust set of decoders that play what I throw at it. EXCELLENT PICTURE AND SOUND- GREAT FOR A 1080P TV and a 5.1 Surround sound setup!
Extremely simple to stream to computers.
It is very portable, just two cables to move. Leave an HDMI cable on the TV and then just the power brick to move.
Cons: Dumping 1.75TB of data onto the player takes 3 days (and I have 5 of them!). Fast forwarding is indeed its Achilles heel and takes a while to FF through a TV show or to skip chapters in movies.
Other Thoughts: It plays nice with wrong video setting with individual TVs. There is a HDMI auto which works well but the box will cycle through setting until you get a picture (nothing like having 1080P on a 720P TV not working).
Very basic controls (which is good) but no way to upgrade the underlying Operating system that I could see.
Remote control has a few more buttons that it needs but it works fine. A little lag when pushing a button but nothing annoying.
Reviewed By:JohnP,8/15/2011 7:10:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Media Players > ViewSonic > ViewSonic NMP-560 1080P Solid-State Network Media Player

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Stay away
Pros: Worked great, Easy to use software, Easy to install.
Cons: Software constantly asks you to update. Wich has worked fine until the most recent update now I can not push content to my sign becasue the software complains the firmware on the player needs to be a certain version. Viewsonic Support has told me it there is no new firmware version. so now I have a brick. Great!
Other Thoughts: Viewsonic should stick to displays only and there support should call people back when they say they are going to. I may not even purchase Viewsonic monitors for my customers now after all this!
Reviewed By:tickedoff,8/8/2011 10:53:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Network Media Players > MASSCOOL > Masscool MP-1372RS 1080P HDMI 2.5"/3.5" SATA HDD/USB/NET HD Media Player with Dolby/DTS/RMVB/MKV/H.264

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 good for the price
Pros: Cheap
Plays most formats
Cons: Problems with mkv and H.264
No firmware upgrades
Reviewed By:awelo,7/12/2011 12:01:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Media Players > MASSCOOL > Masscool MP-1372RS 1080P HDMI 2.5"/3.5" SATA HDD/USB/NET HD Media Player with Dolby/DTS/RMVB/MKV/H.264

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great 1st Media Player
Pros: -Quick setup.
-Easy to use.
-Fast menu switching.
-Simple, intuitive interface.
-Long power cable, like 10' I'd guess.
-Functional and appropriate remote.
-1080p playback via HDMI cable (must have).
-Portable so you can share it with friends.
-Front USB, plays from a USB drive.
-Just this + HDTV is all that's needed for playback. Using additional devices (home theater, DVD player, etc.) is also an option.
-You choose and install the hard drive you want.
-Integrages fine with Windows 7 Ultimate, 64-bit.
-W7 reads it as an additional, native hard drive. Media can be loaded via normal file transfers.

This is a great first media drive. I used a spare 300GB/8mb buffer hard drive and 1080p playback works great.

It took 30 min.s to setup and load while my 5 y.o. son was hovering all over it waiting for Transformers. I am able to play HD movies for the family rather than gathering around my pc monitor. Next up all the HD home movies and pictures are going on it.
Cons: -USB 2.0, not USB 3 interface.
-Requires HDMI cable to get 1080p playback off a 8mb buffered hard drive.
-Accompanying PC software is pretty useless. It could use some PC drivers to do firmware checks, etc. My cellphone does that when connected via USB, why not this?
Other Thoughts: This is a great first media drive. I had a non-HD G@laxy before which had big issues with movies and a glacial menu system. This one does what it's supposed to and quickly. No lockups or hesitation going through the menus (read: good CPU).

Using the red, yellow, white cable connection I had some freezing during 1080p playback. An HDMI cable solved this.

All and all a good device to use before getting a full aka "connected" media HDTV (which may have low storage) or to use with a media HDTV for additional storage.
Reviewed By:Drew,7/1/2011 5:49:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Network Media Players > MASSCOOL > Masscool MP-1372RS 1080P HDMI 2.5"/3.5" SATA HDD/USB/NET HD Media Player with Dolby/DTS/RMVB/MKV/H.264

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Same as Patriot Box Office
Pros: Accepts 3.5 drives
Component video connection
Cons: External power brick

Has the same issue that I have with the Patriot Box Office. Fast forward does not work well. On some encodings it will just stop and jump to next file when you get above 4x. On others, it may say you are 32x, but it is not moving but maybe 4x or 8x. This occurs with high quality encodings I have done and files I have downloaded. Updating firmware did not help. I have also tried tweaking my encoding settings but I have not found a way around it yet. Depending on your files, you may not have this issue at all.
Other Thoughts: I purchased this as a gift and to give me the chance to look at another media device. I have the Patriot Box Office that I have been pretty much happy with.

I wanted to see if the Masscool device worked any better than the Patriot. Turned it on and it looks exactly the same as the Patriot. I did not check firmware, but all the menus are exactly the same. The fast forward issue is exactly the same as on my Patriot. What Masscool adds over Patriot is support for the 3.5 hard drives and component video connections. I much prefer the Patriot power being internal over the Masscool external brick. As a media player the two are interchangeable.
Reviewed By:Kurios,7/1/2011 4:44:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau