Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H212 RAID 0/1/JBOD/Normal USB 3.0 Dual 2.5" Bay Silent Hand Held RAID Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked once and not again
Pros: Overall design is ok, it feels a little cheap, but then again it is a cheap enclosure.
The idea is great, wanted a portal RAID 1 using 2.5" disk to make TimeMachine backups on my MacBook Pro.
Cons: Worked one time and then not again. I know the drives are good because I can plug them into another enclosure and they work fine.

Drives spin up and the lights come on but something in the controller must have died because I can't see anything is being attached in the OS.
Other Thoughts: I have an open support case with CineRAID, it's the holidays so I don't expect a fast reply. If the support is any good I'll update with 2 or 3 stars depending...
Reviewed By:JonGP3,12/26/2014 8:53:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-S8 8-Bay 2.5" & 3.5" Hot-Swappable RAID 0/1/5/10/5+spare/Spanning/JBOD Storage Enclosure System with 120mm cooling fan, Port Multiplier, Tray Design, and Bundled with PCIe RAID Controller Card

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Works for about 1.5 yrs
Pros: When paired with a good ESATA card you can get excellent read and write speeds. I could steadily hit 800Mbps across gigabit ethernet for both read and write.
Cons: I have two of these. Both of them will not operate with all 8 trays populated after about a year and a half of use. I feel like the ESata sockets on the back of the enclosure may be the culprit. After swapping ports several times sometimes it'll work and sometimes it won't. I have both of them attached to a FreeNas PC for my personal file server. 4 2TB HDDs in each of them. I would like to have 16 but alas these enclosures won't do it anymore. I purchased a SATA to ESata expansion slot and will be gutting the internals to attempt isolate it down to the ESata sockets on the enclosure. I have tried every possible HDD configuration, swapped ports, swapped ESata cards, and swapped ESata cables. You'll know when yours is broken because 1 bank will flash off and restart constantly when under load.

Also after about 9 months of use on the first enclosure the fan died. I had to replace it which required some splicing as the fan does not use the standard fan connector (molex 4 pin, or Fan 3 pin).
Other Thoughts: Don't think I'm going to buy another Rosewill enclosure which sucks as both performed well until they started to fail and I don't want to run a bunch of 4 bay enclosures.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you very much for purchasing this unit.
We strive to provide the most reliable and highest quality products to our customers.

Thanks for the feedback. We will pass it along to our QA and Design teams for further investigation.


Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

Reviewed By:The Devastator,12/24/2014 12:34:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR4M6GNC JBOD (Hard drives are accessed individually) 4 x Hot-Swappable 3.5" Drive Bays eSATA (via 6G Port Multiplier) 4-Bay eSATA 6G Port Multiplier JBOD Tower

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not fully compatible with RR2721
Pros: Decent build quality, worked right out of the box
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: When connected to HighPoint RocketRAID 2721, the drives are recognized and function, however, the drive activity lights on the enclosure don't work. I confirmed the unit is not defective by attaching it to a HighPoint RocketRAID 622, all drive lights lite up as expected.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/23/2014 12:12:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Promise Tech. > PROMISE Pegasus2 R4 P2R4HD8US RAID 0, 1, 5,6,10 4 x 3.5" Drive Bays 2 x Thunderbolt 2 8TB RAID System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product / Great Service
Pros: Great product quality
Great performance
Good build
Cons: A bit louder than I expected but not a deal breaker.
Other Thoughts: Did a lot of research before purchasing and I have been playing with it for about a month. The product is solid. Great performance, all reliability features work perfectly. This is one awesome product. I am glad I bought it at Newegg because I got the lowest price and fastest shipping.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/23/2014 12:03:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure (no eSATA Card bundle) TR4M+BNC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Storage for Storage
Pros: Simple set up, recognized by computer through eSATAII connection. Reduced space four external HDD to space equivalent of two. which were cluttering my desk space. Replaced four USB connectors with one esata connector.
Cons: Will cost additional money to purchase and esata card with port multiplier capability. Only one of 4 HDD are recognized on the standard (non-multiplier) port.
Reviewed By:factfinder,12/22/2014 1:36:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H232 USB 3.0 Dual Hard Drive Clone Docking Station

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very unstable - I would not recommend to anyone
Pros: Good price on Black Friday specials. Dual dock.
Cons: I purchase this dual dock on Black Friday deals. It arrived in time. It was pretty simple to connect to my USB3 port. No drivers needed. My system recognized it with no problems. That were it gets a single egg. Now every time I connect a new drive to the dock I get a blue screen. I would reboot my system and it would work and I can even back up my system to an external drive. If I power it off and connect another drive I would get a BSOD again. I contacted Newegg and they replaced my dock with another one. Great, now I connected it to my system and my system would not even recognize it. I tried different thing and finally I tried a USB3 cable from my external hard drive and it worked with my cable. So a new cable that came with the dock was either defective or poor quality. Then after all I got a blue screen again. That was enough troubles for me I have send this dock back to the vendor.

I consider myself a computer professional with several IT certifications.
Reviewed By:NetSalem,12/22/2014 10:23:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Promise Tech. > PROMISE Pegasus PR401US 4TB (4x1TB) 7200RPM SATA RAID 0, 1, 5, 6, 10 with 2 x Thunderbolt 10Gb/s port 4-Bay RAID Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 PROMISE Pegasus PR4 (Thunderbolt 10Gb/s)
Pros: Fast! Compatible with MAC and Windos 8. SILENT! Great quality build! It will not get hot. It's an excelent product, not advertised to his true value.
You can replace the included 1TB HDD with 4TB and it's even faster.
Cons: NONE. Maybe the price, but they sold for 50% off and that it's a steal deal
Other Thoughts: Just buy them!
Reviewed By:HDvideo_bakup,12/21/2014 10:47:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR3-su3s3 RAID 0, 1,JBOD 2 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 2 Bay Raid Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No problems for me with this beauty!
Pros: Works perfectly for me. It does drop off when the connected PC is off, but it comes right back up when the PC does.

I use it for some intense file serving and I have had zero problems with WD Red 4TB drives in it. Set for RAID 1 (mirror), because I am paranoid after losing two RAID 5 array volumes.

I am going to get some more of these.

By the way, I NEVER use any software based controls for this kind of box. I always use the switches.
Cons: Not a NAS? It would be nice if it could do either NAS or USB, but no one has that.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this unit. Wonder if it will support 6TB drives?

I have Buffalo NAS drives and a Drobo USB array with 16TB. About 6 or 7 other RAID 1 boxes too.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/15/2014 10:18:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 It has $3 power supply as a base
Pros: Works fine when it works.
Cons: I have 4 devices with 16 HDDs installed. Two towers are dead - power supplies out of order. All hard drives in good in health.
RAID5 should protect my data, but it ruins it.
Other Thoughts: Reliability of modern hard drives is much higher than some devices above them.
Reviewed By:Celestial,12/15/2014 8:37:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H232 USB 3.0 Dual Hard Drive Clone Docking Station

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 mine seems to be DOA
Pros: fair to moderate asking price for the features promised
Cons: Bought this at newegg (in June of 2014) because it had generally favorable reviews. I finally had need for it today (December 15, 2014 ) and took it out of the box and tried to use it for the first time only to find it was dead on arrival!

Actually, not 100% dead... I tried multiple disk-to-disk dupes in standalone mode; however, no matter what size or types of drives i use, the clone copy stops after about 10-15 minutes.

Instead, i tried copying data to and from various docked drives to multiple PCs via usb 2.0 and 3.0 ports. In all cases, again, copies start, but, after a few minutes, simply stop. (Then I need to power the unit off and back on again to get a PC to see it again. Which, isn't very useful, as it will just eventually die again if I try to perform another transfer.)

SO - I tried calling the phone number listed in the documentation, thinking maybe I could talk to tech support and/or get an RMA. But, that number has been changed. Thankfully, they do give you the new number and allow you to be transferred to it. But, when I call the new number, the answering system simply repeats the dialed number back to me and then beeps once. I assume I had reached the right company, but I have no clue if that beep meant I could leave a message or not. (Strange that in this day and age that they don't have a real answer machine or service. Heck, they could simply buy vonage or ring central or ooma -- something that basic that at least has an automated attendant!!!)

So, now I will have to try and email their support team and see how easy the are (or aren't ) to do business with... Will the RMA process for a product well-within it's one year warranty be simple and free/very low-cost, or, will it be long and painful and costly to the consumer?

I'll keep you posted....
Reviewed By:20plusyeartech,12/15/2014 11:23:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.