Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure (no eSATA Card bundle) TR4M+BNC

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Failed after 2 years
Pros: Easy access to 4 SATA drives. Fast with eSATA interface. Worked as multiport JBOD with 2 TB WD Green drives.
Cons: Bought as bundle with an inexpensive esata card. Started to have drive issues and non-readable drive problems after about 2 years of VERY light use (maybe 500 GB total written across 4 drives). After trying this with 3 different esata cards (2 motherboard and one PCI-e card), I can clearly say the enclosure is broken. Powers up the disks but Windows 7 will not recognize the drives (3 different machines). Fortunately, I was able to put the drives into another enclosure since it is a JBOD device and my data was safe.
Other Thoughts: Since this was a destination for scheduled backup jobs on my workstation, I was very worried when Windows said the drives were corrupted. My data is safe and I am now steering clear of SansDigital as a backup device.
Reviewed By:EH,7/10/2014 3:02:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 simple is better
Pros: 4 bay for lower price than most 2-3. USB connection is solid and transfer speeds are comparable to every other external USB hard drive I've ever used.
Cons: RAID and eSATA are a bit finicky
Other Thoughts: I got it "to work" with my eSATA card but my speeds were all over the map. In fairness I haven't tested with any other card. I didn't buy it to use as hard drive expansion, i bought it for external backup and archival of older, less frequently used files. Plug it in using USB and it'll run about 70-110 to my dual 4TB hard drives currently in JBOD configuration. If you want more fancy features spend the money and time and see if they work. For me it does everything i need.
Reviewed By:gdtms247,7/10/2014 5:24:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint RocketStor 5422 Dual-Dedicated 5Gb/s USB 3.0 Storage Dock W/ UAS Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Device
Pros: I use this hard drive docking station with WD 4TB Red hard drives for the backup media for Backup Exec. I haven't had any problems with it. It appears to be only 10% slower that SATA connected hard drive, when doing 1.2TB backups.
Cons: It doesn't have an Off/On power switch.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/7/2014 3:41:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 never received my rebate
Pros: It still works, and I'm happy with the product so far.
Cons: Still a little slower than I expected, and I fear turning it off since it lost my array the first time I powered down.
Other Thoughts: I never received my rebate. This is the first time I've not received an advertised rebate, and I believe that it was due to Newegg's posted rebate form having a watermark on the printout that read "sample" or "example"---can't remember.

I didn't print out the form until the day after the sale, because I was not at home when I made the purchase; so if there was a change, it was surely intentional, and made me eat the price difference.

Yes, I'm upset about twenty dollars because as far as I'm concerned, it's an agreed upon price....much like a handshake, a gentleman's deal. It's now been 4 months, so I don't think I'll be getting it. I might call them because I hope this premier membership is worth something. I paid for it, and so far I'm not impressed with whatever this service is supposed to provide because I haven't seen any benefits from it.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/5/2014 10:42:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H212 RAID 0/1/JBOD/Normal USB 3.0 Dual 2.5" Bay Silent Hand Held RAID Enclosure

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good for 2.5" RAID 0/1, but NOT 6gb/sec (and not SAS)-;~
Pros: DUAL 2.5" SATA drives, Aluminum body, sale price + rebate, EXCEEDS 2 TB.
Cons: NOT for SAS drives, CHEAP plastic ends/latch, NOT 6 gb/sec.
Other Thoughts: The CineRAID CR-H212 will NOT work w/ SAS drives, and IS NOT SATA III, as confirmed by both the manufacturer's website and the owner's manual.

SoOo ... having put those drives/plans aside, I picked off a pair of WD Scorpio Black 750GB SATA II drives, which should make this enclosure plenty fast in RAID 0 for way over a terabyte of non-critical files. And w/ the flip of a dip switch* I can have the higher security that RAID 1 provides, which is the best use I can see for this enclosure ... when recovering files for others, or in those situations that you have no other backup, this thing could be a real lifesaver.

* WARNING: All data is lost when reconfiguring RAID!

The cheesy looking plastic end caps have weak latches that could easily be broken, so be cautious and gentle when opening/closing. Also, the tray can glide right out the back w/ unexpected speed when it's unlocked, w/ or w/o your drive(s). Hold, or place, the enclosure flat when making internal changes.

Although not what I'd expected, or for use as intended? I can easily see that this will come in really handy ... first time it prevents me from losing anything irreplaceable, it will have easily paid for itself tenfold.

3.5" RAID enclosures are plentiful, and the drives are much cheaper than comparabl 2.5"drives, and you can always place smaller drives into adapters, unless you really want/need the smaller physical size this provides ... if that's true in your case? There ain't a lot of other choices out there.
Reviewed By:cowcreekgeek,7/4/2014 9:35:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Power supply dead
Pros: owned since 5/2011. Never had any issues until the power supply died on july 4 2014.
Cons: Doesn't automatically turn off with computer, only manual switch.
Fan loud
power supply dead.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/4/2014 4:39:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 8-Bay eSATA RAID 0/1/10/5/JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe Card TR8M+B (Black)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works for Home Use
Pros: Has worked as a Raid5 server since 2010. I have used the Online Expansion twice and reconstruction for drive faults three times (14-24 hour rebuilds each). Removed drive cage from enclosure and installed in mid case w/ u-ATX mobo and fanless PSU for a quiet home server and backup.
Cons: Can not write more than 20 GB at a time without transfer slowing to KB/s and Windows 7 locking up unless transfer is canceled quickly. Drives can get over 110 *F when operating for extended periods unless active cooling is applied. RR622 was troublesome to setup but driver updates and fiddling got it to work after a few false builds.
Other Thoughts: 5 then 7 then 8 Samsung EcoGreen F4 2TB drives installed. Read speed of 120+ MB/s, Write speed of 60-90 MB/s. Drive spin up could take 10+ seconds but once up, instant access. Will buy again with a better RAID card or the TR8M6G . Will also get better drives with vibration sensors/resistance.
Reviewed By:Alex,6/30/2014 6:57:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H232 USB 3.0 Dual Hard Drive Clone Docking Station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Desktop Drive Dock
Pros: Hooked up to USB 3.0 hub on my desktop and started testing it and it so far works better than i thought it would.I can put drives in to see what's on them or can add or remove files.It also makes it easier to test a drive to see if it's in working order.
Cons: none so far
Other Thoughts: it took me quite a few years before i finally decided to try one of these docks.So far it works better than i had expected and has more use's than i would have thought.
Reviewed By:bwchato,6/29/2014 9:25:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 8-Bay eSATA RAID 0/1/10/5/JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe Card TR8M+B (Black)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Sans Digital Really?
Pros: Sturdy case with very easy to use hard drive trays. Trays lock in with minimal effort. Front lights are blast to watch and wish my SATA/SAS case used the same all green/flashing red when accessed scheme. 2 eSATA ports the work flawlessly with my ASUS eSATA, found all 8 drives without a hiccup. Basically a great home for my Red WD drives. But has no running water, sewer or electricity.
Cons: Tried to use the packaged Highpoint 622 card. Now I am probably alone in the Highpoint fan club as I have run a 4321 and a 4311 card in my system for the last year and a half without a problem, however the 622 is another story. I have read about problems using the card and just figured it was the systems fault or OS but that is not the case. Unless you have a MB that uses Port Multiplier eSATA ports don't buy this. The 622 can't keep up with the demands of an 4 drive array and forget 8 drives. Timeout, stop, stall, waiting system not responding.
Other Thoughts: Ok bashing over Sans Digital made a great case for what I needed the 622 was an experiment and I never really intended on using the card, but for those who need the card buy something else like the Sans Digital eSATA,1394B, usb 3.0 Raid 4 drive cages. This product is just a good home for the drives you have to come up with the connection to your system.
Reviewed By:RkBall2012,6/29/2014 2:49:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 5-Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID5 Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe 2.0 HBA Card TR5UT+B (Black)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good performance for small network
Pros: Easy setup
Easy integration with Win 7 or higher
Option of USB -3 or e-Sata
Affordable option for home network or small office
Supports multiple RAID options
Cons: Occasionally drops offline
Cables tend to be a little loose and can get disconnected
Requires some technical experience as the documentation assumes a mid-to-high level of knowledge
Other Thoughts: If you're going to go the affordable route on a SAN, don't go cheap on the drives. Ask techie friends for recommendations but in a nutshell, you don't want a "green" drive or a drive with slow read-write. A lot of the performance of this unit will depend on the performance of the drives.
And while you are chatting with your techie friend, talk through the pros/cons of the different RAID options. Your drive purchase will need to complement the RAID option you choose.

This is a good option for someone who wants the dependability of RAID and doesn't have a lot of time for day-to-day maintenance. Invest your time it planning before you do the setup, make the right drive choices and then you shouldn't have too many issues.
Reviewed By:ZenX,6/29/2014 9:01:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau