Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TR4UTBPN 4Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID 5 Tower RAID Enclosure (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Bad Power Supply
Pros: Quit and cheap
Cons: Power Supply Fails, The power supply comes on and off unmounting and mounting the drives and has caused a hard drive in it to fail. Not worth the money saved.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/1/2015 10:57:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4-Bay USB 3.0 / eSATA Hardware RAID5 Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe 2.0 HBA Card TR4UT+B (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Disagree with the 1 star rating
Pros: Excellent unit if you do not use desktop drives in it - desktop drives can cause RAID array failures.

I have 4 of these with 4TB Seagate NAS drives in them and have not had an issue. They have been up and running since 2013 other than when I had a lightning strike. I lost one of those but it was just the power supply - the drives were fine. Everything that was plugged into that surge protector failed so I cannot say it was a Sans Digital issue.

It is quick to build arrays with many differ raid configuration options. Do not use RAID 0 on this if you are going to put anything on it that is irreplaceable but only dummies do something like that. RAID 0 = striping - makes all drives look and act as a single drive. It is faster but you have no redundancy. I have mine set to RAID 5. You lose 1 drive's capacity but you can have a single drive fail without losing data in the array.

I love that it is a hardware RAID 5. This means that you can move the array amongst other systems without having to configure a RAID Controller in them.

It can be used with eSATA or USB. It doesn't matter if you built the array under eSATA and want to use it as USB or vice versa. All you need to do is disconnect it from one machine and plug it into the other. The storage contents are not controlled by which interface is used.

I like these units so much I have bought 4 of the 5 bay versions. I am a stickler for great hardware and do not go out and buy just anything.
Cons: I do not like the bundled RocketRAID 622 card that comes with it. I have had problems with this controller before with other OSs. The controller has only 2 eSATA connections which didn't help me much because I have more than 2 eSATA enclosures. The RocketRAID 644 (4 port edition of the card) has driver issues and can be a pain to configure.

As for the only other con is that it cannot take a power surge from lightning. I know, I know, I cannot blame the enclosure when everything that was on that surge protector was fried too.

I wish the warranty length was more than a year but that isn't something I can blame them for doing - it is up to them how long they have a warranty.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend this system. It is a quality product that works when you use the appropriate drives with it. Most issues people face is when they put desktop drives into this type of enclosure. The drives are not designed for RAID and therefore are the issue. While some have put regular desktop drives into this and have not had an issue, there is enough out there that have had problems to bad mouth the Enclosure. Think of it like this - you have a really nice kite that you want to fly. You decide to skimp on the string to fly it because you think it doesn't matter. When you fly the kite, the string breaks and the kite crashes. Is it the fault of the kite or the string?

If you see someone that has had problems with this enclosure, ask them the model #s of the hard drives in it. 99 out of 100 times it is desktop drives put in it.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/28/2015 12:15:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR1-SU3 2.5' / 3.5' SATA Hot-Swappble HDD USB3.0 & UASP Docking Station

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DO not buy
Pros: it was price right
USB 3
Supports >3 tb hdd
Cons: random power cycles with unknown cause.
the drop in power creates disconnects. So if your trying to copy large files they will have errors or create an incomplete copy..
Other Thoughts: terrible product.. its dangerous for your data if you plan to used
Reviewed By:N/A,6/28/2015 12:05:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HFR2-SU3S2 RAID 0 / 1 / 3 / 5 / 10 4 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0 & eSATA PRORAID Box 4 Bay Raid Enclosure with USB 3.0 & eSATA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Runs Like a Top
Pros: The device was purchased at a reasonable cost and the quality is good. The JMicron Hardware RAID Management software is working well also. Setup is easy.
Cons: An internal power supply would be nice but would most likely increase the size of the enclosure.
Other Thoughts: I have been running this enclosure for over a week now with absolutely no problems. I have four Seagate ST4000DM000 4TB drives configured as a RAID 10 array and used as the system backup drive for a Windows 2012R2 server. The ESATA port is being used.

The enclosure is paired with a PCI-E ESATA card, using the ASMEDIA 1061 chipset, in the server.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/26/2015 2:05:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HUR1-SU3S2 2-Bay RAID 0/1/Single USB 3.0/eSATA 3.5" SATA HDD Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible airflow, died after a month
Pros: Nice form factor, stylish, easy to setup.
Cons: Ran insanely hot with 2 HGST 4TB's in RAID 1. Stopped functioning after about a month.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/25/2015 3:53:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > CineRAID SYSTEMS > CineRAID CR-H212 RAID 0/1/JBOD/Normal USB 3.0 Dual 2.5" Bay Silent Hand Held RAID Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 CineCrap
Pros: sounded like a great product. external RAID device optimized for video transfer blah blah blah.
Cons: almost no supporting documents. no info on drivers. no meaningful online support documents/drivers/etc.
Other Thoughts: did finally get this thing recognized by a windows 7 (home) machine. my windows 7 (pro) machine has not and still will not recognize it as being present even in disk management. oh -- and be prepared to initialize, format and etc several times without any apparent purpose.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/22/2015 4:53:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 8-Bay eSATA RAID 0/1/10/5/JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe Card TR8M+B (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Watch out!
Pros: Compact, large, great price
Cons: The fan on this thing is prone to give out. Mine lasted a little over a year. Once the fan went out, my hard drives were BURNING HOT to the touch. I removed the side of the enclosure, which should probably be done regardless. My power supply has been pretty good up until now, so hopefully there isn't any permanent damage done.
Other Thoughts: For the amount of money this thing costs, it's probably best to look elsewhere.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/18/2015 9:23:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-S4-X - 4-Bay 3.5” Hot-Swappable SATA - eSATA Storage System - RAID 0 / 1 / 10 / 5 / 5 + Spare, Spanning & JBOD Enclosure - RAID Controller Card Bundle

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Short life SPAN !
Pros: Nice hardware, tight secure feeling to the overall design.
Cons: Like others have posted, the life span was right around 2 years, other than that my two units worked perfectly. I ran a mirror on each system and they both simply stopped working withing a few months of each other. I checked the power supply outputs with a volt meter and the power supply is dead.
Other Thoughts: When I contacted Rosewill on this I was told I cannot purchase a power supply nor would Rosewill send me one. There are clearly a number of issues with this power supply in these units so Rosewill needs to address this.

I have other Rosewill products that work great. Thank you.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you very much for purchasing this unit.
We strive to provide the most reliable and highest quality products to our customers.

Thanks for the feedback; we will pass it along to our QA and Design teams for further investigations. In the event that you are having troubles, please do not hesitate to contact our support team at the number below.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com

We look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

Reviewed By:N/A,6/17/2015 8:20:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > Sans Digital 4 Bay eSATA Port Multiplier JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure (no eSATA Card bundle) TR4M+BNC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 power supply died after 2 years
Pros: nice form factor, easy to use
Cons: power supply failed after 2 years, may have been due to power surge. power supply is NOT FUSED (design flaw in my opinion). i replaced one burnt 47ohm resistor on PS board, did not help. new PS is avail for $59.
Other Thoughts: the risk is yours. mine was on a Brickwall surge protector but this didn't help keep it from frying.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/17/2015 4:21:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic ProRaid H8R2-SU3S2 RAID 0 / 1 / 3 / 5 / 10 / 50 8 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0 / eSATA 8-Bay External Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Nice Enclosure
Pros: Well-made enclosure, very quiet, very good eSATA transfer speeds.

I needed a Hardware RAID enclosure to house 8 2TB WD green drives I had sitting unused.

This enclosure is attached to my home server (HP Proliant Microserver Gen8) attached to the HP Smart Array P222/512 SAS controller using a Mini SAS to 4 eSATA fanout cable.

Once the enclosure array has been setup the HP configuration utility sees this as a RAID 0 volume which can be added to the supported arrays. Perfect Backup volume, and where many do not like the RAID 50 I’m happy with the added level of redundancy.
Cons: If I hadn’t done one last troubleshooting step I would have filled this section and returned the enclosure.

I could not get the Array to complete a format, tried to do a full format not a quick format. It ran for 5 days before I killed it to look into why it would not complete. Turned out 1 of the 8 drives was defective.

Once removed I tried the 2 RAID 5 config everything worked. Ordered a replacement drive for final setup.

So no Cons…
Other Thoughts: I took a chance on this enclosure as I liked the size drive capacity and price.

I was also looking at a Sans Digital 8-Bay Hardware RAID, but priced at $140.00 more.

I’m very happy with this purchase, and would recommend this enclosure to anyone
.
I see a lot of the reviews complaining about the inability to RAID 5 all 8 drives. People need to do their homework.

The first thing I did when thinking about this enclosure was to download the user manual. It clearly states that if you want a single Volume RAID 50 is the only option.

As for Newegg, the Spec states 2x RAID 5, no deception there?
Reviewed By:N/A,6/17/2015 12:43:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.