Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC50082 USB 3.0 SATA III HDD USB Charging & Docking station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Usually don't give 5 eggs,,,
Pros: Everything worked just like it should.
Cons: Only con I can think of is that there wasn't a Hard Drive hiding inside the unit when I opened the box..
Other Thoughts: Recommend to anyone.. This is perfect.. Order it..
Reviewed By:Don T.,7/24/2016 8:44:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic ProRaid HUR5-SU3 2 Bay 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Does not work
Pros: -Fast transfer speeds (USB 3.0)
-Nice looking
-Compatible with HDD up to 8tb per drive
-Compact (takes little space)
-Simple controls to configure drive mode (Single, Raid: Spanning, Stripping, or Mirroring)
-Cheap
Cons: -This enclosure frequently has an I/O error where the drive would disconnect and immediately reconnect. This would occur 2 or 3 times in a row before completely freezing and not allowing for “Safely Disconnect” of the USB device. Occasionally this would also freeze windows explorer on my 64bit Windows 10 PC and I would not be able to restart either the windows explorer service or PC until forcibly removing the enclosure by disconnecting the cable.

I used a Toshiba X300 6tb in single mode and it would be detected just fine but the above issue would occur when attempting to transfer files. This would occur in all configurations with two drives (6tb at 7200 rpm with 128mb buffer) when formatted to MBR (2tb) or GPT (6tb) using NTFS file system.

The hard drives were not the issue as connecting the hard drives directly to my motherboard by eSATA 3.0 would result in them working perfectly. Also when transferred from the HUR5-SU3 to the motherboard without reformatting, everything that was transferred while in the enclosure was actually there (~800gb of 4tb in attempted transfer from NAS and 1.5tb of 4tb in attempted transfer from local HDD to the enclosure). These attempts were over a two day period. I really wanted this enclosure to work.

-The fan is too close to the drives to provide any meaningful cooling (acceptable considering the size)
Other Thoughts: I would have given this product 4 stars if it worked as plug and play (I wanted to use two drives detected as two separate drives and RAID modes are nice options for the future), but frequent disconnects stop this device from being functional. Fast transfer rates, nice aesthetics, high capacity HDD compatibility, compact form, and simple drive mode configuration are great despite the poor air flow.
Reviewed By:Daniel Q.,7/23/2016 7:23:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HFR2-SU3S2 PRORAID Box 4 Bay Raid 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Enclosure with USB 3.0 & eSATA

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died after two years
Pros: There are no pros.
Cons: After two years of use, the controller in the enclosure is dead. Like, toes-up dead.

And there goes all of my data along with it.
Other Thoughts: Apparently, you get what you pay for.
Reviewed By:Jeff M.,7/22/2016 8:31:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 UASP Dual Bay Hard Drive Docking Station with Duplicator Support SY-ENC50071

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 worst docking station I've ever used
Pros: Looks nice comes with everything you need but beware
Cons: Used it once on one of the hard drives and it worked great was able to transfer files as needed,
then I inserted a brand-new Western Digital hard drive that I had received that was already formatted and surface scanned for errors, the drive would not initialize it acted like he just wasn't there but all the lights were on on the docking station that should've been. Pulled it out thinking it might have been a seating error and replaced it with the drive that I had just pulled files from not but an hour before suddenly that drive was no longer readable either. Pulled both drives manually installed them into the computer one by one and both the drives were unreadable and could not be recovered this destroyed two hard drives one brand-new and one less than the-year-old I doubt very highly that this company will replace the drives and I doubt that I could even get a refund unless I had to spend more money to send this piece of junk back if you value your data you'll stay away from this product.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this product to anybody unless she wanted to give it as a gift to somebody you didn't like. No I would not purchase this product again and if there was one thing I could change about this product I would've never purchased it.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/22/2016 8:16:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC50082 USB 3.0 SATA III HDD USB Charging & Docking station

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid
Pros: Uses the recent Asmedia ASM1153E SATA 6Gb/s USB bridge chipset. The USB hub chipset also appears to be by Asmedia.
Sturdy aluminum housing.
Excellent layout for providing accessible ports for a system with USB 3.0 only on the back panel.
Performed as expected.
Cons: Power supply cord is 5ft not 6ft.
Power supply output is less than the theoretical maximum of the drive and the three USB 3.0 ports.
Other Thoughts: Soft power button may be a pro or a con depending on your application.
I just bought my third unit because this is such a good value.
Reviewed By:Douglas M.,7/21/2016 12:30:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HF7-SU3S3 ProBox 4 Bay 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: Unknown since item was DOA!
Cons: DOA!
Reviewed By:Matt C.,7/18/2016 5:15:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL TowerRAID TR4M6GNC 4-Bay eSATA 6G Port Multiplier JBOD Tower (no eSATA card bundled)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Compatibility challenges, but they can be overcome
Pros: Once you find a card with works, all is good
Cons: No compatibility info re which cards work with this product. Took a little trial and error to find reviews pointing me to SI 3221 chip as a compatible one. A card with RR62x chip (same chip used in SansDigital cards) died not work for me. HP miniserver (N40) WHS2011 environment
Other Thoughts: Syba 9SIA85V3DG9323 card worked for me with this product (SI 3221 chipset). Highpoint R620A and Startech PEXESAT322i (Asmedia 62x chipset) did not work although they are supposed to support port multipliers
Reviewed By:Luc P.,7/16/2016 8:24:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > SANS DIGITAL > SANS DIGITAL MobileSTOR MS4UM+B JBOD (Hard drives are accessed individually) 4 x Hot-Swappable 3.5" Drive Bays USB 3.0, eSATA 4-Bay eSATA Port Multiplier and USB 3.0 JBOD Tower (Black)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works with QNAP TS-x31 with both USB3.0 and eSATA but with rebate scam
Pros: It has both eSATA and USB3.0 interfaces and it works well with my QNAP TS-231. I have no connection stability problem with either interface. The QNAP TS-231 does support port multiplier and can see all 4 drives in it. I can set up scheduled backup from the NAS to the drives in this box. The QNAP apps can also access the drives in this box even away from home. In the last 4 months, I only need to power cycle it a couple times.
Cons: This model has no RAID support. It also cannot combine multiple drives into a large volume. There is also no way to change any setting.
Other Thoughts: I purchased this 4 months ago when there was a rebate from manufacturer. The rebate never arrive. There is also no tracking or contact information on the rebate form. So don't count on the rebate offer from this manufacturer.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/15/2016 7:23:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Mediasonic > Mediasonic HFR2-SU3S2 PRORAID Box 4 Bay Raid 3.5" SATA Hard Drive Enclosure with USB 3.0 & eSATA

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DO NOT BuY
Pros: There is nothing good about this product
Cons: failed lost not one but 2 hard drives Mediasonic HAS THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE .
Reviewed By:susan c.,7/15/2016 11:55:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > RAID Enclosure / Subsystems > Syba > Syba SY-ENC50082 USB 3.0 SATA III HDD USB Charging & Docking station

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Amazing little box
Pros: affordable, works
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Use to buy 1tb external hard drives, then I realize that they were 2.5 hdd, then went to hgst 2.5 for the 3 year warranty and the WD Black for 5 year warranty. that was better than 90 days to 1 year.

I hooked up 3 external hdds and one in the chamber, it worked flawlessly.
Reviewed By:rickie b.,7/14/2016 12:09:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.