Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE340SS-BLACK 3 x 5.25" to 4 x 3.5" SAS / SATA 6.0 Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage - Black Handle

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works
Pros: Rugged construction with nice anodizing. Latch works well and closes with satisfying click and the lock works to keep it closed. No problem with the fan pulling enough air!
Cons: As others have pointed out the fan is a bit noisy. Easy to swap out though. VARY sug fit in my case (NZXT Source 210). Had to really push to get it in.
Other Thoughts: Gave me hot swap bays in a case that had none and no sleds to deal with. Good value for the price.
Reviewed By:Kurt,2/11/2016 3:50:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > Athena Power > Athena Power BRK-HD524F Drive Bay: 1 x 5.25" to 4 x 2.5" SSDs/HDs or 1 x 5.25" to 1 x 3.5" HD Bracket w/4cm Cooling Fan

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 great idea. execution is lacking
Pros: Fit 4 x 2.5 HDD(s) or SSD(s) in one 5.25 bay. Fan to help with air flow if you use 4 HDD (s) probably a good idea. Fan is a bit loud for me. Ended up not using it. Overall it is ok. I took a star away for the challenge to install the drives back into the main body once mounted to the center rails.
Cons: You have to take the inner mounts off, mount your hdd(s) then remount the rails to the body. It was a bit of a fight to get the holes to line back up once I had the HDD(s) mounted. The bends in the mounting rails and holes in the main body really did not line up well. Some gentile force and I got it. I will be looking for something better in the future. If you change out drives a lot look elsewhere. If you install and forget it might be OK for you.
Other Thoughts: With some planning Athena Power could make it so you could install the HDD(s) without dismantling the unit. That would be nice. Maybe make it out of aluminum for added heat removal.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/9/2016 10:24:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-SATA-Cage-34 - Hard Disk Drives - Black, 3 x 5.25" to 4 x 3.5" Hot-Swap - SATA III / SAS - Cage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does everything it needs to do at a good price
Pros: -Sturdy construction
-Activity LEDs
-MOLEX powered
-Includes 4 SATA cables
-120mm Fan included
-Supports Hot Swapping so long as your motherboard/SATA expansion card support it
-Includes all the screws needed to securely mount four HDDs and the unit itself.
Cons: -For $46, I can't find any. I suppose metal sleds would have been nice, but given that they aren't moving all that much and the HDDs act as a support structure, they are plenty sturdy.
Other Thoughts: Something I had not considered, but the 120mm fan added a bit of depth to the whole unit, and would not fit with the placement of my motherboard's power connectors. Fortunately I found a 12mm thick fan that would fit in its place.
Reviewed By:Tyler S.,2/7/2016 7:01:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE340SS-BLACK 3 x 5.25" to 4 x 3.5" SAS / SATA 6.0 Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage - Black Handle

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Quality build. Great appearance - lots of blinking lights. Ha!
Pros: I've read some reviews here where people expressed disappointment in the build quality - flimsy drive doors that break easily, cheap (or loud) fans. Makes me wonder if they received the same product I did. I bought 6 of these during the Holiday Season when they were on sale and I love them. And none of the pictures do justice to the product. I didn't realize it had these great looking front panel lights that glow blue (to indicate the drives are online) and blink red when data is being read or written. They look so much better than my old 4-drive cages from Lian-Li. I wish I'd known about this product a long time ago.
Cons: Haven't found any yet, except, of course, that the normal price is w-a-y too high.
Other Thoughts: It's a great product, but the regular price makes it a boutique item. If they'd drop the price 30% they'd probably sell 10 times as many of these things. Anyone with a 4-drive or greater RAID array would buy them.
Reviewed By:Keith O.,2/6/2016 10:41:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > ASUS > ASUS PIKE 2308 Flexible Storage Options for End Users

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Heats up and stops working.
Pros: This is great solution integrated with motherboard.
Cons: Card heats up in both P9D-C and P9D-E series boards. Applied all firmware updates, runs for days, then when you reboot it does not see it anymore. Tried a second card and it did the same thing.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/5/2016 6:14:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE110SS-RED 1x5.25" to 1x3.5" SATA/SAS 6.0Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Fair and solid BUT....
Pros: Solid construction
aluminum sides
LED illumination on front
screw holes for mounting a fan on the back
Cons: The screw and washer that holds the sata pass through circuitry failed to hold it in place. The circuit board slides into place in plastic rails and is held there by a screw and small washer. BUT the washer was too small to overlap the slide rails so the circuit board pulled out of place. I installed a larger flat washer and it works great.
Other Thoughts: Unless you're handy with a screwdriver and can repair things, this is a one use item. I like it but did not appreciate having to repair it in the middle of a build.
Reviewed By:Stephen S.,2/3/2016 7:10:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-2535DE-SA 3.5" to 2 x 2.5" SATA 6 Gbps HDD SSD Hot-swap Rack

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I like it
Pros: Aluminum chassis, feels solid, connectors appear sturdy. 'Lever' style mounts make it easy to add and remove drives.

The big plus, for me, is that both drives are powered from one SATA power connector, which saves cable mess and doesn't require you to try to get two SATA power connectors lined up so close to each other. SATA data ports are separate; but those cables are much easier to deal with
Cons: The "locks" on the drive bays are an unfortunate choice: they are too flimsy to offer anything approaching real security; but just strong enough that you'll probably end up snapping something if you lose the keys and need to open the drive bay without them. If you need real physical security, they are pointless. If you don't, they are just another thing to keep track of. A keyless latching mechanism would have been much more suitable.
Other Thoughts: I have no real complaints, this is a convenient, neat, and solid way to get 2.5in HDDs and SDDs into 3.5in slots. consolidating the power cables makes it nicer than mechanical-only adapters.

Do Not, however, buy it expecting some kind of RAID function. It doesn't do that, just passes each drive through to an SATA data connector. It doesn't claim to do anything else, so it is fine that it doesn't; but just don't expect it to.
Reviewed By:John P.,2/2/2016 5:12:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA TC-RPSL26 26" Sliding Rail Kit for Most Rackmount Chassis

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Measure Twice, Buy Once. And, do your homework!
Pros: Strong looking rails. The rollers/rails themselves seem to be very well built and most everything seems to be thick steel.
Cons: These are NOT "universal" rails...

1) These CANNOT be used for 1U chassis. Even though they bolt into a 1U slot, are physically just (barely) over 1U in height. So, you need at least 1.3U of rack spacing... which essentially means 2U to get the bolt pattern to line up.
2) These are just flat out too wide for any of the servers I currently own. I have several 1U Supermicro servers at 16 13/16ths inch (42.7cm) wide and a single 4U Rosewill server at 16 15/16ths inch (43cm). All my routers, switches, patch panels and servers are mounted or sitting in a 4 post 25U open frame StarTech rack (only one server previously had rails, the others were temporarily stacked... hence why I bought these). These rails barely fit onto the Supermicro servers (with some pushing and finagling) but, the server chassis ultimately needs to be at least a few mm narrower to fit properly without fuss (probably <= 42.5cm). In the end it wouldn't matter because even if I could get them to work they rails are over 1U in height. Given the Rosewill case is even wider, no matter how many times I altered the mounting on the server, I couldn't get it to work. When the rails were shifted to be wide enough to fit the chassis width, they were too wide to slide in and out of the rack cage (they kept hitting the vertical mounting post preventing the server from being pulled out). So, these are completely useless for my needs.
3) All the screws that came with the kit have countersunk screw heads. That works fine with their screwy washer system to attach to the front and rear rack posts... but really sucks for mounting the L-brackets to the rails. Those screws should have been pan or button head screws. Going along with that, there were no washers for the nuts used in mounting the rails to the L-brackets, so the tiny nuts tend to dig into the screw slot when you tighten them.
4) The L-bracket uses proprietary square washers which at first thought lets you slide your enclosure flush to the rack and potentially use another screw through the dog ear to hold it in place. However, although the L-bracket has extra holes drilled in it... none of them line up with the middle post hole! (trivial considering all the other flaws)
5) The release tabs that allow you to completely remove/detach the server has to slide over a screw slot. The tabs are just cheap plastic and get pushed into the slot when you try to slide them up/down for release. This prevents you from being able to push them far enough to conduct a release! Seriously? You can't mount any screws in that spot anyway, otherwise the tabs cant be move at all. So, why put a slot there? You could maybe put a piece of tape over the slot so the release tab doesn't fall in; but, that was some seriously poor engineering by iStarUSA.
Other Thoughts: In all, these unfortunately don't work for my setup. However, for others with appropriately sized chassis, they might very well work fine. But, given all the other flaws I noted above, I still can't bring myself to give it more than 2 eggs. I had high hopes for these and iStarUSA engineering fell through on delivering a good quality product. I'll be contacting Newegg to see if they can be returned/refunded.
Reviewed By:Craig H.,1/30/2016 3:55:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE340SS-BLACK 3 x 5.25" to 4 x 3.5" SAS / SATA 6.0 Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage - Black Handle

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 iStarUSA BPN-DE340SS-BLACK 3 x 5.25" to 4 x 3.5" SAS / SATA 6.0 Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage - Black Handle
Pros: Well made and works.
Good price on Newegg sale.
Cons: Fan too loud and uses nonstandard connector. So not easy to replace fan to make it quiet.
Other Thoughts: If you can deal with noise (may be you have loud case or graphics card and it may be ok) this really is a 5 star unit. I have a quiet case, so it looses two eggs.
Reviewed By:Ramasubramanian R.,1/29/2016 10:07:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RL-26 Heavy-Duty Slide Ball Bearing Rail

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 does the job
Pros: it works
Cons: little flimsy ... I have used much better rails... Super micro is still king!

Reviewed By:steven s.,1/29/2016 8:32:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.