Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Accessories > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MCP-290-00058-0N Short Rail Set

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Rails, Beware SuperMicro Info
Pros: Solid rails, quick attach, sweet.
Cons: SuperMicro's site details this as the only compatible rail set on some of their chassis, however the short rack version will not fit a lot of standard 19" racks, you want this item: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=0S9-00S2-00005

I have no clue why SuperMicro's site does not detail these other rails as compatible.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/21/2015 4:16:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA T-5K25TU-SA 5.25" to Slim ODD and 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage with USB 3.0

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Calling this Hot-Swap SATA is stretching the truth a bit
Pros: Allows you to put a slim optical drive and a 2.5" drive into a single 5.25" bay. Gives additional USB 3 connectors for front panel.
Cons: The cons for this are pretty major in my book. Primarily I think iStarUSA has taken a whole lot of liberties in calling this a "SATA 6Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap" cage.
The front panel of this unit looks pretty great if you're thinking you can swap out a 2.5" SATA HDD and a slim SATA ODD at will.
Take another look at the pictures though and you will realize there's no SATA backplane or SATA connectors of any sort in this unit, just holes. It's pretty ridiculous they call it SATA at all since you could run any kind of cables you wanted through the holes and calling it 6Gb/s is even funnier... Those are some pretty high-bandwidth holes I guess.
If you pull your "hot-swap" drives out the front you're either yanking these cables off the motherboard or if they've got enough slack you can carefully unplugging them and leaving them hanging out the front until you replace the drive. The latter is better than the former, but it's still pretty disappointing if you thought these were really conventional trayless "hot swap" bays.
I bought this unit without understanding this arrangement so I'm pretty disappointed. I understand this kind of design might be done to save money on manufacturing but for $40 purchase price for the unit I would expect more. There's almost no need to ever get this unit unless you are very desperate for space on the front of your case. It doesn't really save you any hassle over just opening your case every time you unplug one of these drives.
Reviewed By:anon,5/17/2015 7:43:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE110SS-BLACK 1x5.25" to 1x3.5" SATA/SAS 6.0 Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: Bought it for my HP ProLiant MicroServer G7 N54L NAS. Works perfect.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,5/11/2015 6:39:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS-BLACK 2 x 5.25" to 3 x 3.5" SAS/SATA Trayless Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice Cage
Pros: Well designed and aesthetically pleasing to the eye. Cooling fan on high seems to work well. I really can't hear the difference the fan speed makes since my case is sound dampened. It's quiet to me on high speed.

I use them for access to multimedia and ISO images.

Works well with Intel rapid storage technology. Trayless seems to be better in my opinion.
Cons: none so far. Love it.
Other Thoughts: I wish cases would incorporate drive bays of this quality into full towers and mid towers for the masses. It's a shame they can't see the writing on the wall. This bays are nice.

If you are getting them to secure your drives...don't get them. Just pull them out when not in use and get a drive safe to secure them. The cage wouldn't take much more than a flat tip screw drive and minimum force to pry the drive lever open to remove your precious drives. It's just a plastic latch that locks the lever in place when flush.
Reviewed By:Mikey,5/9/2015 4:15:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > Athena Power > Athena Power MR-125PB 3.5" HDD Hot-Swap Mobile Rack Converts 1 x 5.25" to 1 x 3.5" SATA/SAS 6Gb/s HDD with LED Indicator & 1 x 80mm Slim Fan

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent product
Pros: Let me begin by indicating that this Athena Power MR-125PB mobile rack appears identical to the Athena Power 125B racks that we've purchased over the years. I can't discern any difference between the two racks.

I believe this mobile rack is one of the finest PC devices a desktop user can have.

Over perhaps a 10-yr period I've installed well over a hundred of these devices in a wide variety of desktop PC cases. The failure rate is virtually nil - certainly not more than 1% or 2% in my experience.

An enormous advantage of this mobile rack is that unlike most HDD/SSD mobile racks that are on the market, the Athena Power MR-125PB model is equipped with an ON-OFF power switch button, a most desirable feature in my opinion. Assuming a user is working with multiple removable hard drives in their mobile racks (or has also installed a fixed internally-connected hard drive), it's a simple matter to press the ON-OFF button and "on-the-fly" temporarily disable one or more of the mobile rack's hard drives without the need of using the rack's lever to remove the rack's tray (caddy) containing the HDD from the rack's internal SATA power/data connectors.

Of course should the user choose to do so it's a relatively simple matter to press the removable tray's lever release button and thus physically disconnect the removable tray containing the tray's HDD/SSD SATA data/power connectors from the mobile rack's connectors. A simple pull of the tray's lever is all that is necessary.

Because of this rack's ON-OFF power button switch there's no need for a keylock mechanism that's found on virtually every other mobile rack. Personally, I've always found those keylocks to be a decided annoyance in my day-to-day operation of a PC.

The rack contains a small fan that is dead silent in operation.

I've never encountered a single problem with the mobile rack's solid plastic construction. It's a sturdy piece of equipment in my experience. As far as I'm concerned its light weight is a decided plus.
Cons: Unfortunately this mobile rack is designed to only house a 3 1/2" hard drive in its removable tray. Four screws are provided to secure the hard drive in the tray (although truth to tell since we frequently switch HDDs we rarely ever use any of these screws and simply slip the HDD in the tray unsecured - connects perfectly to the rack's SATA power/data connectors).

As indicated, the mobile rack is not designed to house a SSD (2 1/2"). Like many users we've been continually switching over to SSDs and pretty much phasing out our 3 1/2" HDDs. We've been able to install our SSDs in the removable trays by using hard foam inserts (the kind of foam usually found in packaging materials) and so far they've worked pretty well. Heavy-duty packaging tape is another option.

We've also drilled two small holes in the base of the removable tray, lining them up with the front screw holes of an SSD so as to secure the SSD to the removable tray. (The placement of these SSD screw holes is standard for both 7mm & 9mm SSDs). But of course it would be so much more desirable for the device to be designed so that it could accommodate both 2 1/2" & 3 1/2" drives. Judging from the current design of the removable tray it would appear that a relatively simple manufacturing modification of the tray would allow the installation of either size drive.
Reviewed By:Art,5/6/2015 7:17:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE110SS-SILVER 1x5.25" to 1x3.5" SATA/SAS 6.0 Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Hot swap works on Extreme 4
Pros: Easy to install. Have one connected to extreme 4 mobo and hot swapping works great. Love it. It makes backup of tv recordings supper fast and convenient with my JBODs.
Cons: None. When I hot swap the next drive is recognized after a few minute, just have to have patience.
Other Thoughts: I was waiting for another deal and NE came though. Just ordered another, a black one to go with the silver one I bought from NE last November. NE rocks.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/3/2015 8:22:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > LSI > LSI LSI00264 MegaRAID LSIiBBU08 Battery Backup Unit for 9260/1 and 9280 Series--Avago Technologies

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Simple to install. Protects cache data and improves the write performance of your RAID volumes
Cons: can be sensitive to heat and cooling issues. The BBU doesn't require direct cooling, but make sure it's got a little room to breathe is all.
Other Thoughts: This is the same BBU used by Oracle in the Exadata V2, X2's X3's and X4's. It's also used by many other Enterprise OEM's as well.
BBU08 requires firmware 0037 or later.
If your firmware is really that downrev, you really should upgrade anyway.
Reviewed By:Chris B.,4/29/2015 11:26:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > Athena Power > Athena Power BP-SAC2825AVL 2.5" HDD/SSD Hot-Swap Backplane Module Converts 2 X 5.25" to 8 X 2.5" SAS/SATA 6Gb/s HDD/SSD - Aluminum Cage, Drive Tray & Bezel w/ Security Keylock, 70mm Fan & LED Indicato

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Just a review
Pros: 8 2.5' drives in two 5 inch slots;
Aluminum string body;
Nice design
Does the job
Cons: Noisy fan (I stripped off one egg for it), the fan control speed switch doesn't work (another dropped egg) - the fan runs on full speed all the time. It was bit tough to inset it into the PC body. The divider cuts on the sides could be not deep enough for the particular PC or workstation case (I had to bend the metal support brackets in Dell T7500 workstation to slide it in.
Other Thoughts: Overall I'm satisfied with the unit, however the noisy fan drives me nuts - it is more loud then the rest of the components in the workstation (louder then 8 other fans all together!!!) I plan to replace it.
Reviewed By:Vlad,4/28/2015 12:38:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPU-126-SA 1 x 5.25" to 6 x 2.5" SATA 6.0 Gb/s Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: Price
Cons: You can forget about tech support! No one answers the phone!
Reviewed By:N/A,4/28/2015 8:58:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO C-SFF8087-4S Discrete to SFF-8087 (Reverse breakout) Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 nice cable that does what it needs to
Pros: decent build quality. and it has locking connectors. im happy
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,4/27/2015 10:42:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.