Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE110SS-BLACK 1x5.25" to 1x3.5" SATA/SAS 6.0 Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Product, One Flaw...
Pros: Great Looking.
Good Fitment.
Does what it claims.
Cons: PC Board has weak point, prone to breakage.
Other Thoughts: I now have 14 of these in my Server. They work and look great. One caution... make sure you have a drive (any drive) in the caddy BEFORE you hook up the SATA Power attachment on the rear. If you have a tight fitting SATA Power connector and you push too hard, the PC Board will "snap" where it passes power over to the fan switch and LED connection. If you have a drive in the caddy to support this tiny board while plugging it in, the board can sustain the pressure necessary to attach the SATA Power cable. Once you have the SATA connectors on... there is never any problem inserting or removing drives. Just do this when first connecting the rear of the cage. I broke two of them before I realized what I had done. (So technically, I now have 16 of these.... 2 of them to remind me to use a softer touch - Ugh).
Reviewed By:N/A,8/27/2015 1:46:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > LSI > LSI LSICVM02 (LSI00418) CacheVault Accessory Kit for 9361 Series)--Avago Technologies

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Peace of mind
Pros: Reasonably to install. You do have to figure out what to do with the capacitor. On this build I just set it on the floor of my case. The last time I installed one in a 4U case finding a place for the capacitor was more of a challenge. Hopefully the capacitor lasts longer than a rechargeable battery.
Cons: price.
Other Thoughts: You've got to have it if you want to safely enable write caching and you want to enable write caching so you need to have one.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/23/2015 9:47:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA IS-26 Industrial type of Ball Bearing Sliding Rails with Length 26"

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product and worth the price!
Pros: Purchased to mount ARK 4U-500CA cases in an 8-foot square-holed rack. This rail system supplied everything necessary (plus several extra hardware parts) to securely mount my 20-25lb servers in the rack. Folks may have been too harsh on the manufacturer in some of these posts. I have seen bad rails and these are pretty high quality and built with steel ball bearings and rail cages to last forever! They come pre-lubed and run very smoothly.
There is simply no way you will ever wear these things out.
Cons: Absolutely none... Except maybe re-write your instructions.
Other Thoughts: Having put rail systems together for 4 decades I did not follow the manufacturers instructions. I think the instructions provided would make this product very difficult to install and therefore cause a 5-egg review to be a one-egg review.

To Install these rails: Measure your rack from front rail to back. Then loosely assemble the "L" brackets to the rail at the measured length. Then install the rail in the rack and tighten all front and rear rail screws.
(HINT: you can hold the entire rail in the rack with only one screw in the front so you can have all hands free to install the rear screws)
Now the rails are installed front to rear and thoroughly tightened on front and back. Since you loosely installed the "L" brackets to the rail, you can slide the ball bearing part of the rail to the front and back.
Lastly, using a Phillips screwdriver and a 7mm end wrench, tighten the two screws and nuts on each "L" bracket .
(HINT: if you don't know exactly where to tighten the rail down (fore and aft) you could slide your server into the loosely tightened rail system and move the ball slider into the perfect position and then tighten the two screws and nuts on the "L" brackets)
Following these instructions, installation of rails from box-to-mounted-server is less than ten minutes.

More thoughts: these rails come in a master carton of 4 sets of rails. I ordered 4 sets so Newegg simply picked up a master carton and slapped a shipping label on the box. That way, my rails were packed perfectly! They arrived in pristine shape. So, I just ordered 4 more.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/21/2015 3:35:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPU-HSTRAY-3BL 3 x SAS/SATA Blue Handles Hard Drive Tray pack

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Unfortunately Expensive
Pros: They work with the I-Star T-7M1. They do function just fine. No problem with fit or function.
Cons: Not as good as they used to be. Too expensive for what they are.
Other Thoughts: I think another reviewer mentioned the difference in design from the originals. They are expensive only because I-Star or whoever knows you need them to fit in your T-7M1 bays and there really isn't any alternative. I own about 7 of the old type and now 3 of the newer type.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/16/2015 8:37:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA IS-24 Industrial type of Ball Bearing Sliding Rails with Length 24"

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 All about the hardware
Pros: Smooth slide, good travel, solid once modified.
Newegg was quick to address issues with missing hardware.
Extra hardware is included (when the hardware packet is in the box).
Cons: There are 2 difficulties with these slides. (1) 50% of the slides I ordered did not arrive with the bag of nifty hardware inside. The hardware includes a square dimpled washer to fit into the rack position and this is impossible to find at the local hardware store.
(2) The instructions show one bolt/nut for each end of the slide. Unfortunately the slide can twist in the holders. I used 4 screws per slide & it is now quite stable.
Other Thoughts: It helps to have an extra set of hands available during assembly; I compensated for some of the missing hardware at the back of the rack by using M4 washers to center the bolts inside the rack squares and a fender washer on the outside.
The square washers provided don't fit flush against the posts (also an iStarUSA Rack). Kind of weird that these are flathead bolts that leave the holder loose against the rack. OK to have a little slop so you can get things assembled, but the fit was quite loose & couldn't be firmed up.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/13/2015 8:06:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-2535DE-SA 1 x 3.5" to 2 x 2.5" SATA I/II/III 6.0 Gb/s Hot-Swap Drive Cage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Ignore the naysayers!
Pros: Solid construction, smooth action, works great. Have four of these running RAID 0 and RAID 1
Cons: No cons.
Other Thoughts: I can't believe these folks that claim to be tech pros, and fault these enclosures for silly things. The one that really got me was the nimrod complaining about the 7mm drive not fitting, and breaking his drive! I've used 7mm drives in two of these without issue. If it doesn't line up first time, reinsert - gently - and they always go right in. Some folks just shouldn't work with their hands...no common sense. If you have to force something, you are doing it wrong.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/11/2015 4:17:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > LSI > LSI LSICVM02 (LSI00418) CacheVault Accessory Kit for 9361 Series)--Avago Technologies

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works, automatically detected.
Pros: Works with LSI MegaRAID SAS 9361-8i.
Automatically detected by the RAID card.
Allows write caching.
Uses 6.4F capacitor instead of a battery.
Cons: Expensive.
Capacitor bracket does not have means for mounting inside a traditional case, I had to attach it with velcro pads to the floor of the case.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/9/2015 5:03:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-SATA-Cage-34 - Hard Disk Drives - Black, 3 x 5.25" to 4 x 3.5" Hot-Swap - SATA III / SAS - Cage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Cost is the biggest thing. I've had one for 8 months and yet to have a problem. It holds 4 drives and isn't too loud. Hot-swap doesn't matter to me (99.5% uptime is sufficient for my needs) and it's not shown itself defective.
Cons: The blue lights are rather ridiculously bright. I can see them from outside. No lie--they light the place up!
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for an affordable drive cage, look no further. This cage is a steal. I keep mine out of earshot so it's got 110% of features I want.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/6/2015 8:33:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SNK-P0048P X9 2U Passive CPU Heat Sink

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works well with air shroud
Pros: Keeps my CPU package at 54C with an ambient of 26C under a full load of 65.5W of dissipation.
Cons: Should not be used without fans and air shroud.
Other Thoughts: This heat sink is design to work on a CPU that is installed on a motherboard in a Supermicro server case. The case is furnished with an air shroud that concentrated the flow through this sink. This takes air from the front of the case, focuses it at the sink and exhausts the air at the back of the case.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2015 9:48:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > Athena Power > Athena Power BRK-HD322 Drive Bay: 1 x 3.5" to 2 x 2.5" SSDs/HDs Bracket

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Bracket
Pros: Works as expected. Very sturdy.
Cons: None I can think of.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/26/2015 3:22:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.