Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPU-350SATA-BLACK 3x5.25" to 5x3.5" SAS/SATA 6.0 Gb/s Hot-Swap Cage - Black Tray

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Easy to install, okay quality.
Pros: * Choice of power connectors
* Can be installed "upside down", giving you a choice of pulling 'up' or 'down' to remove drive sleds
Cons: * No vibration damping
* Drive sleds/caddies are a little loose so it sometimes rattles
* Drive sleds slide roughly
* Fan gets a little loud at higher speeds
Other Thoughts: I installed it in 3 horizontal (stacked vertically) optical bays in a rack-mount case, giving me five 3.5" drive bays with the drives on their side (not horizontal like in the photo). It seems to work fairly well. The fan is a little noisy when it speeds up but not horrible enough to be a problem. Not good for anything in a home-theater or similar kind of a setup where quietness is needed, though you can disconnect the fan if you really want.

The back connector has five separate SATA ports (no SAS connectors) so cabling is a little messy. I used another cable I had that was yellow to mark drive 1 so I could keep track of cables after I installed it (ports were on the bottom with how I installed it).

Overall it's been working fine, but for the price I got it at I have to knock off an egg just because of all the cons.
Reviewed By:Christopher R.,6/11/2016 10:00:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco 2-Port Gigabit Ethernet WAN Network Interface Module

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product! Shipping was Fast!
Pros: Easy to install
Great Support
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/8/2016 11:44:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > Athena Power > Athena Power BP-SAC1425AVL12 MIni-SAS 12Gb/s Internal Hot-Swap Backplane Module: 4 x 2.5" SAS / SATA SSD / HDD (Up to 15mm Height) in 5.25" Drive Bay

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dead straight out of the box.
Pros: Hard to tell - non functional.
Cons: Again, hard to say - be nice if it worked.
Other Thoughts: Would not recoomend.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer. Thank you for your product review on Athena Power BP-SAC1425AVL12. We encourage you or any user has the similar problem to contact our Tech Support/Customer Service team during our regular business hours: 8:30am-5:30pm, Mon.-Fri. via landline (626)810-5008 or email service@athenapower.us. Thank you and have a nice day.

Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/8/2016 10:36:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > Athena Power > Athena Power BP-TLA2131SAC 3.5" HDD Trayless Hot-Swap Backplane Module Converts 2 X 5.25" to 3 X 3.5" SAS/SATA 6Gb/s HDD - Aluminum Cage & Tray w/ Security Keylock, 70mm Fan & LED Indicators

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works just fine
Pros: Quality seems good, and although the pusher bars (for unmounting a drive) are plastic, they are quite bulky, and I don't expect any problems with tem
Cons: Even on the low-speed setting, the fan seems loud to me.
Other Thoughts: I paid $60 for it, and that's about what it's worth. Other than the fan, I have no complaints.
Reviewed By:Tracy V.,6/7/2016 9:38:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE110SS-BLUE Trayless 5.25" to 3.5" SATA SAS 6 Gbps HDD Hot-swap Rack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great mostly metal tray for heat dissapation
Pros: Built sturdy, works as advertised, was a great deal on-sale. Spring held drive doesn't vibrate like the one it replaced.
Cons: Purchased the blue, because it was the only one offering a great sale price. But, the blue isn't as bright is pictured, which is good for me. Not too much of a con
Other Thoughts: Wait for it to go on sale around 6 bucks
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/31/2016 8:56:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > LSI > LSI LSI00264 MegaRAID LSIiBBU08 Battery Backup Unit for 9260/1 and 9280 Series--Avago Technologies

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It's a battery with logic board, battery is not serviceable.
Pros: Ordered 05/2016 got an item with an In service date of 07/2016.
Write back without worrying about loosing data.
Cons: Battery and logic board are one unit requiring a repurchase of the entire unit and not replacing the battery.
Reviewed By:Walter B.,5/29/2016 5:09:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > LSI > LSI LSI00264 MegaRAID LSIiBBU08 Battery Backup Unit for 9260/1 and 9280 Series--Avago Technologies

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Woudn't run my servers without it
Pros: Cache boosts performance, this battery protects the cache.
Cons: Expensive for tiny, cellphone sized battery
Other Thoughts: Will buy another soon for my Lenovo servers
Reviewed By:Martin H.,5/27/2016 2:15:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE230SS-BLACK 2 x 5.25" to 3 x 3.5" SAS/SATA Trayless Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Hits every requirement of mine
Pros: It works, it looks nice and it installs very easily. It is nice to have both the power and the SATA signal cables on the same side (the side with the removable computer case panel). No tools at all required to mount drives in the bays. They seemed to have thought of everything. The clearances are a little looser than other similar products so it is fairly easy to insert the drives without hanging up. Personally I like that it came clean with no USB ports or anything other than what I needed, a three bay removable drive case. I have been using it for several weeks now and no problems to report.
Cons: I think the fingers that push the drive off the socket is plastic so I would advise not using any significant force to open a bay. Fortunately the force required to unplug a drive is not excessive. I have seen some that you could suspend the drive off the sockets!
Other Thoughts: Others have complained about the fan noise but I don't hear it myself even on high but I come from the "old school" that believes you don't have enough fans if the case isn't hovering just off the floor. I have had it only for a couple of weeks but unless there is some long term reliability problem, it should do what I need for a long time. I mainly use it for back ups, testing drives, building new systems, and for moving files to new drives before permanently installing them.
Reviewed By:Joseph N.,5/23/2016 2:11:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE340SS-BLACK 3 x 5.25" to 4 x 3.5" SAS / SATA 6.0 Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage - Black Handle

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I just love these things!!!
Pros: these things are pro quality. I used to use supermicro cases for my workstations with sleds for the drives. Now I use an old Z800 with this cage. add hba and you have a very robust and flexible workstation. you can get this under 40$ on sale w rebate. the feel of this box is first class. The fan is not noisy. use heatsinks from old velociraptors for ssd adapters. Drives pop in and out so sweet. hot swap works and drives show full bandwidth. SAS works. It really makes the machine.
Cons: no cons. I had to remove the fan cover and trim the fan a bit to clear PSU in Z800, but this is a unique case.
Other Thoughts: I not only recommend- but I buy these when the price is right for gifts.
They also have a single unit that can be had for under 10$ on special.
I keep some on the shelf.
Reviewed By:Bruce O.,5/15/2016 11:07:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE350SS-BLUE 3x5.25" to 5x3.5" SAS/SATA 6.0 Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I love this hot swap hard drive bay.
Pros: I got this one for my 5 disk 3U NAS server.
- Converts 3 5.25" bays into 5 3.5" hot swap disk bay.
- Metal build, no cheap plastic here.
- Really good looking and well finished (you can choose the color you like).
- Disk fits perfectly with a click.
- Key protected.
- Fan cooled with fan controller.
- Activity and inserted indicating led with control switch.
- Fits perfectly
Cons: None, this product is a state of art one!
Other Thoughts: I really recommend this bay, I may be upgrade my NAS to 10 disks due to this miracle!
Reviewed By:Patricio R.,5/13/2016 7:05:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.