Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA BPN-DE340SS-RED 3 x 5.25" to 4 x 3.5" SAS/SATA Trayless Hot-Swap Cage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sexy home-server (or simple hot-swap_) equiptment
Pros: It's really cool! Houses 4 HDDs in the space of 3 drive bays. Very easy to install, very easy to use and swap hard drives in and out of it. It even has a dedicated HDD status light for each drive, which lights up red, but through the same LED (which also lights up blue, for power), it appears purple. It even features key-locked doors, so you don't accidentally disconnect a running drive. You get to enable/disable the LEDs with a switch in the back of it, as well as change the fan speed from crazy fast, to slow. Fast, definitely hums pretty loud though.
Cons: Feels a little cheap, but it hasn't broken on me yet! So really, there aren't any. Maybe the fan is a bit too noisy when it's on its highest setting.
Other Thoughts: I am considering purchasing another one of these for my monster case. AMAZING for RAID configurations. <3
Reviewed By:SeiRruf,7/27/2014 11:52:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA T-5K25TU-SA 5.25" to Slim ODD and 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s Trayless Hot-Swap Cage with USB 3.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: It looks good in the photos.
Cons: As much as I hate for people to lose their jobs, whoever is in charge of manufacturing/quality control at iStarUSA should be fired.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2014 4:49:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO C-SATA-FM3 Adapter for Convert SATA Power Connector to 4 Pin Molex Power Connector - Lot 3

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 not for production use
Pros: feel sturdy and look good
Cons: Shorted two backplanes which fried 8 enterprise drives at once while the backplanes using normal connectors drives are just fine. Thank goodness for backups but i'm still out 8 drives. Going to see what norco has to say but I feel pretty cheated since i'm also using their backplane,case and adapters.
Reviewed By:BurntTech,7/21/2014 8:23:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > Promise Tech. > PROMISE VTBAT2CELL x10 Series 1S2P (2-CELL) Battery Module

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Battery Module Replacement
Pros: It is a small battery purchased as an emergency backup to our existing battery. With that said, I have not had the opportunity to use it yet. However, it is a easy installation from experience, and it has a small form factor.
Cons: There are none. It is just a simple battery.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/21/2014 5:46:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > ASUS > ASUS PIKE 2008/IMR 8-port SASII RAID Kit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Disappointing
Pros: Enables the eight SATA/SAS ports on the motherboard.
Cons: The main con is that you cannot connect an LSI battery backup unit to this. Consequently, the controller does not allow you to enable write-back mode for your arrays. The LSI MegaRaid software does not provide any options to enable write-back, and using the command line to attempt to force the controller into write-back mode fails.

It appears as though you cannot enable the on-board Promise RAID and use the Pike at the same time. The motherboard (KCMA-D8) just ignores the Promise array. You have to set it to AHCI mode for all 14 drives to be recognized.

There also seem to be a few issues with Windows 8+. I created a RAID 5 and attempted to initialize it in Windows, and the controller freaked out and all of a sudden Windows could not find the other array and then subsequently locked up. RAID 1 and 10 seem to work fine though.
Other Thoughts: I would pass on this controller unless you do not need/want write-back mode.
Reviewed By:Craig,7/17/2014 12:14:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > LSI > LSI LSI00409 0.5m Internal Cable SFF8643 to x4 SATA HDD (mini SAS HD to SATA data port)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It Works
Pros: It works. Plugs into LSI HBA 9300-4i4e internally and provides interface with 4 SATA drives and a connector for management LEDs.

Apparently well built cable.
Cons: I do have fear for the whips going from the cable bundle to the individual drives kinking. They are rather rigid, have 'bend memory', and are unsheathed at this point. I would have preferred if the sheathing had gone from a single sheathe where bundled to multiple sheaths for the individual SATA runs rather than just sheathing the bundled area. See the images for the product to better appreciate what I am getting at. Dont let the individual runs kink or chaffe!
Other Thoughts: Good product. Needs a bit more to be great. I would buy again. Electrical tape sheathing leaves me sleeping easier....
Reviewed By:N/A,7/15/2014 8:06:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO CSE-M35T-1B 3 x 5.25" to 5 x 3.5" Hot-swap SATA HDD Trays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 AWESOME
Pros: Best hot swap bay I've bought yet
Holds 5 drives in a single 2x5.25" bay!
Nice trays
Lots of lights
Cons: Fan was too loud for my room (home server). I had to replace it with an ultra quiet fan. Now it's perfect!
Other Thoughts: I bought this for my home server so I could change out hard drives when needed. Great for upgrading. I don't have to take apart my PC to change out a hard drive.

It has blank trays for the hot swap brackets that make a nice screw tray for when I work on computers.

It's really nice to see individual hdd lights working independent of each other. Others I've tried have either had just one led for all drives, or all leds lit up at the same time. Even had one that just strobed all leds simultaneously as the drives were being randomly accessed.

This one has held up longer than any other so far. 9-months, not a single issue.
Reviewed By:MarkJohnson,7/14/2014 4:16:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO SNK-P0050AP4 Heatsink for Supermicro X9DR3-F Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great heatsink
Pros: Feels high quality, not too loud, fits narrow and wide 2011 motherboards, not too tall.
Cons: None really.
Other Thoughts: I got this for a Supermicro X9SRL-F and it fit great using the narrow 2011 bracket.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/12/2014 7:48:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA T-7M1-SA-BLACK 1x5.25" Bay Audio Series SATA Mobile Rack

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Overpriced Junk
Pros: None
Cons: I've had two of these for less then 1 year now. One of them seems to have failed and does not allow my RAID controller to recognize the attached drive. Before someone asks: Yes, I have already replaced the drive with a NEW known good drive and I get the same results. The other one works but the fan sounds like it is about to fly apart any minute. Save your money and buy something else.
Reviewed By:Shadow Lord,7/8/2014 4:38:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Accessories > Tripp Lite > TRIPP LITE SRCAGENUTS SmartRack Cage Nut Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid, but not quite what is pictured
Pros: Solid construction, absolutely no defects encountered thus far.

Cage nuts hold just fine, but are just flexible enough to usually get in with your bare hands without too much trouble.

All black (contrary to the picture)
Cons: The picture is not what I got...

little pricey
Other Thoughts: While I am perfectly satisfied with the product, the version that I got, all the components are black. The spacer is not a flat washer, but more of a circular rim that the screw head actually rests in.

Overall high quality
Reviewed By:Erebus,7/7/2014 2:06:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau