Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Power Supplies > SeaSonic USA > Seasonic SS-600H2U, 600W EPS2U v.2.1, ATX12V v.2.2, 80 plus certified APFC Power Supply - BULK PACK

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Case was received dented/damaged + two cables missing
Pros: Only pro is that it arrived fast.
Cons: This was received with a corner of the metal case dented and internal circuit board damaged - unusable due to a safety hazard (Ie. Electrical short). Also, I should have received three cables but the unit only came with one. Did not receive the cable connecting power to the ATX motherboard so this also made the unit unusuable. There was mention that power cord wasn't included (so I was OK with that) but no mention that some cables were not included. Had I known that, I wouldn't have purchased. To top off the bad news, I was really hoping to get this unit by Saturday but now that won't happen and it messes up my plans.

This review does not take into account the actual performance of this 2U power supply because there were so many problems, I could not plug it in.

Since I paid over $100 for this unit, I would expect to get a device that isn't dented/damaged and has all of the cables.

This unit is being sent back.
Manufacturer Response:Hi William, sorry to read of this review and I hope NewEgg has taken care of the return for you. Please note, all units are tested and visually inspected before it leaves our factory. It is possible that along the way, during transport, damage incurred. As for the missing cables, did you receive the unit in a complete Seasonic carton or was the cable added separately? Is it possible that during the shipping process from NewEgg that the cables were accidentally omitted? As for your comment about not able to plug it in, do you refer to the missing cables? If you have any questions or concerns, please contact me at newegg@seasonicus.com Thank You.

Reviewed By:Tim,1/22/2015 7:49:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Power Supplies > Athena Power > Athena Power AP-U1ATX40P8 20+4Pin 400W Single 1U EPS 80 PLUS Server Power Supply

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 6 months and power supply died
Pros: did a great job running the system overall when it ran properly
perfect size for my system
quiet fans
Cons: had several times it would cut out imediately upon power on started at about the 2-3 months of having it. it would also sometimes power down randomly losing any work at that time. pulled apart the whole system thinking maybe some sort of short only to find out nothing was wrong and problem still persisted until it completely died and will no longer power up at all.
Manufacturer Response:Dear customer,
Thank you for your using reviews. We, Athena Power, value our product quality and customer's using feedbacks. Per your information, we engcourage every customer having technical issue with Athena Power product, please conact our Customer Service/ Tech Support at (626)810-5008 [8:30AM~5:30PM, MON~FRI] or emai us at Service@athenapower.us. In the meanwhile, Athena Power AP-U1ATX40P8 comes with 3 years limited warranty, our team will like to help you to process our RMA service. Thank you and have a nice day.

Reviewed By:Jordan,1/19/2015 9:31:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Power Supplies > SeaSonic USA > SeaSonic SSN-6522G 2 x 650W Redundant 2U Server Power Supply - 80 PLUS GOLD

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Silent, high power
Pros: +Efficient
+Dual
Cons: -1 Unit failed after less then 6 months, very disappointed
-Really annoying and loud deep when failed, and went on all day, till the failed-unit was pulled out
-RMA is difficult
Other Thoughts: Seasonic is suppose to be good. Maybe I got unlucky. I ended up just buying another unit to replace the defective one.Since RMA would be difficult and cannot wait without a power supply. This may not be Seasonic fault, even tho its a 2u unit. It failed to fit my Noroc 2u Case. I had to modify and ghetto fit this unit.
Manufacturer Response:Hi Alin, Sorry for the inconvenience. Please note, the loud beep is to let you know of the failure. This is necessary when the unit is placed into an area where there are many systems. Have you contacted Sea Sonic USA for RMA service? Can you please let us know why the RMA is difficult? Please write to us at newegg@seasonicus.com Thank You.

Reviewed By:Alex1002,1/13/2015 6:04:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Power Supplies > Athena Power > Athena Power AP-U2ATX80FEP8 20+4Pin 800W Single 2U IPC Server Power Supply - 80PLUS Bronze

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect! Exactly Right
Pros: Price is fair
Dimensions perfect for my build
Power output seems very stable
Cables for modern motherboards
Cons: Not too heavy, but not too light
Other Thoughts: After trying a few other units, this one was the perfect fit for my portable video streaming rig. I would highly recommend this unit for similar builds
Reviewed By:alexdejesus,1/3/2015 10:59:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Power Supplies > SeaSonic USA > SeaSonic SS-250SU 250W 250W 1U 80+ Bronze Certified APFC Power Supply

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect for me
Pros: I purchased this to replace the power supply in my Qnap TS-639 Pro Turbo NAS. I knew that it did not come with the 20 pin connector needed for my NAS but took the chance that I could modify it. I desoldering the 20 pin connector from my old power supply and then desoldered all connections but the 24 pin from the new power supply. I soldered all wires from the 20 pin connector to the new power supply and installed it into my NAS.
Works great and saved me a bunch of money.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Do not attempt to modify unless you know how to solder and desolder. Fairly simple conversion. It took me about one hour to do.
Reviewed By:rchauvin,1/1/2015 7:15:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Power Supplies > Athena Power > Athena Power AP-U1ATX30P8 20+4Pin 300W Single 1U IPC Server Power Supply - 80PLUS bronze

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not good
Pros: Quiet, efficient.
Cons: Lacks 8-pin 12V, unstable after a few months of use
Other Thoughts: I bought this power supply to replace a supermicro power supply in my 1U server. At first, it was great. Far quieter, while also being stable. A few months later, my server started hard rebooting randomly. Started out doing so every ~3 days, then eventually started hard rebooting like every 30 minutes. Much troubleshooting went into the root cause-- then I finally decided to put the old power supply back in (it was fine, just too noisy for home). After that, it's been rock-solid since. So, the root cause was the power supply. It must have degraded enough that it stopped providing stable enough power, or something (I don't have an o-scope to really back this up). I'm sure it didn't help that my motherboard needed an 8-pin 12V cable. This server doesn't draw too much power overall, though, so 4-pin 12V should be alright. It was at first, but eventually it couldn't.

I'd recommend looking somewhere else for another 1U PSU... That's what I'm doing now.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your reviews of our product. We, Athena Power, value our product quality and every user's feedback. For this case, we suggest a user to use Athena Power AP-U1ATX40P8. It features a EPS-12V 8Pin connector and two P4-12V 4Pin connectors. This feature can compatible with a mobo CPU power needs to use a 12V 8Pin connector. We encourage any user has system configuration concerns, please feel free to contact us at: 626-810-5008 or email us at: service@athenapower.us. Thanks again.

Reviewed By:N/A,12/30/2014 9:14:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Power Supplies > SeaSonic USA > SeaSonic SS-400L2U 400W Single 2U Server Power Supply - 80PLUS Gold

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Both arrived DOA
Pros: There are no pros to a PSU that arrives DOA
Cons: Bought one, came DOA. Bought another to replace to (to avoid delay of cross-shipments), it also arrived DOA.

Both that I bought were DOA.
Other Thoughts: I'm very surprised that Seasonic would produce such garbage. I always had complete confidence in them! Maybe it's just an unlucky batch?

Neweggbusiness.com issued an RMA for both of them, though, with a full refund, which is most excellent of them to do, and I'm very happy about that. I hope they learn quickly that this is a defective product batch. Maybe it won't be later, if you're reading this later... ?
Reviewed By:MARK R.,12/17/2014 1:28:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Power Supplies > SeaSonic USA > SeaSonic SS-400L2U 400W Single 2U Server Power Supply - 80PLUS Gold

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor QA and Unreliable
Pros: None - It's a PSU - under reasonable conditions it should power a computer.
Cons: High failure rate - 33% to be exact.
Other Thoughts: I've purchased three of these over the last year - all for the same 3U rackmount config. The first one is still running after one year. #2 was DOA right out of the box from NE, #3 died yesterday after about 45 days of use. Based on this experience I won't purchase another.
Manufacturer Response:Hi John, I am sorry for the inconvenience. Have you visited www.seasonicusa.com for RMA support? If you have any quesitons, please contact me at newegg@seasonicus.com and we will do our best to rectify your situaton. Thank you.

Reviewed By:JD,11/23/2014 7:41:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Power Supplies > Antec > Antec TP-650G 650W ATX12V V2.3 / EPS12V v2.91 80+G

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome
Pros: Energy efficient. Quiet. Powerful.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:skepticsam,11/16/2014 2:07:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Power Supplies > SeaSonic USA > SeaSonic SS-250SU 250W 250W 1U 80+ Bronze Certified APFC Power Supply

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works fine
Pros: Works
Excellent price
Cons: None yet
Other Thoughts: Comes with a whole lot of extra drive Molex & SATA connectors that I didn't need in the NAS. But for a regular PC they'd probably be useful.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/12/2014 9:35:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.