Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > USB Flash Drives > Silicon Power > Silicon Power 64GB Blaze B05 USB 3.0 Flash Drive (SP064GBUF3B05V1K)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works fine but speeds could be a tad better
Pros: 64 GB in a form factor the size of my pinky finger. I remember when a 16 MB USB flash drive was physically bigger than this thing....

LED activity light lets you know if data is going into or out of the device. This is helpful if you aren't sure if it's OK to unplug the drive or not.

Lifetime warranty should give you peace of mind, with the caveat it probably doesn't cover normal wear and tear of getting beaten around in your pocket. Looking through the review history of this drive, reliability doesn't seem to be much of a concern regardless.

Speed tests return lukewarm results. See my results in the Other section at the bottom of my review.
Cons: The slide mechanism feels a little flimsy. Granted, this device is so cheap it's almost disposable, so I don't expect an awesome manufacturing process perfectly aligning everything internally.

No lanyard included even though there is space to thread one into the housing.
Other Thoughts: My speed test via Roadkil's Disk Speed Version 2.0 reveals the below results. Overall the drive performs a bit worse than expected for an inexpensive USB 3.0 flash drive. Random read speed is relatively slow with small file types; linear read speed is moderate, especially with larger file types. I expected a bit faster times for linear read speeds and larger file types.
.46ms access time
41.17 MB/sec cached speed
81.70 MB/sec max read speed
Overall score of 19460.6
1KB blocks linear read speed - 2.44 MB/sec
1KB blocks random read speed - 2.36 MB/sec
8KB blocks linear read speed - 21.24 MB/sec
8KB blocks random read speed - 16.83 MB/sec
1024KB blocks linear read speed - 69.38 MB/sec
1024KB blocks random read speed - 68.07 MB/sec
Reviewed By:Justin B.,9/27/2016 5:02:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Flash Drives > Silicon Power > Silicon Power 64GB Jewel J80 USB 3.0 Flash Drive (SP064GBUF3J80V1T)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great so far
Pros: 64 GB in a form factor half the size of my pinky finger - what an amazing thing technology is...

This has a very attractive housing. It's a nice darkish grey gunmetal color and is relatively scratch resistant, although I foresee my keys eventually scratching it over time.

Lifetime warranty should give you peace of mind, with the caveat it probably doesn't cover normal wear and tear of getting beaten around in your pocket.

Speed tests return good results. See my results in the Other section at the bottom of my review.
Cons: No cover over the contacts. If this is sitting in your pocket all day, the inside will get dirty and perhaps scratched up. This may affect speed and/or reliability over time. That sort of goes with the whole look, though, so it's a give and take.

Lifetime warranty (a pro, above) is probably a good thing considering a lot of the earlier reviews of this guy indicate some reliability issues.
Other Thoughts: I notice that someone already did a Crystal Disk Mark speed test, so I used a different software package to give some (perhaps) different results. My speed test via Roadkil's Disk Speed Version 2.0 reveals the below results. Overall the drive performs as expected for an inexpensive USB 3.0 flash drive. Random read speed is relatively slow with small file types; linear read speed is very fast, especially with larger file types. This is par for all of these products.

.82ms access time
54.27 MB/sec cached speed
124.69 MB/sec max read speed
Overall score of 17155.9
1KB blocks linear read speed - 6.01 MB/sec
1KB blocks random read speed - 1.18 MB/sec
8KB blocks linear read speed - 50.62 MB/sec
8KB blocks random read speed - 8.32 MB/sec
1024KB blocks linear read speed - 124.69 MB/sec
1024KB blocks random read speed - 101.43 MB/sec
Reviewed By:Justin B.,9/27/2016 4:36:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Flash Drives > SanDisk > SanDisk 32GB Ultra CZ48 USB 3.0 Flash Drive, Speed Up to 100MB/s (SDCZ48-032G-U46)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Decent for price
Pros: Decent size for the price, fast, nice encryption
Cons: Does not lock in "closed" position, comes open in pocket. Not happy with this fact. It would probably be 5 stars if it did lock back.
Reviewed By:Jason R.,9/27/2016 1:04:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Flash Drives > SanDisk > SanDisk 64GB Ultra Fit CZ43 USB 3.0 Flash Drive, Speed Up to 130MB/s (SDCZ43-064G-GAM46)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It's impressive. And impressively hot, as well
Pros: - Form Factor
- Speed is excellent for small data transfers
- Better bandwidth after it went through the wash
Cons: - It's hot, as others have said.
- Transfer rates can slow to a crawl with large transfers
Other Thoughts: For the price, I don't think it gets much better.
Reviewed By:James G.,9/27/2016 12:48:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Flash Drives > ADATA > ADATA 16GB UV128 USB 3.0 Flash Drive (AUV128-16G-RBE)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bought combo pack of three... only 1 working.
Pros: So far nothing. Very frustrating
Cons: 1 seems to work fine, but other 2 never did. Lock up after plugging in, or transferring first file. Tried reformatting to FAT32, NTFS, exFAT, no difference. One drive is no longer recognized and cannot even be reformatted. Even went to ADATA website for recovery tool, but does not make a difference.
Other Thoughts: Can't recommend these Flash drives, unless you want to give them to someone you do not like.
Reviewed By:Norbert C.,9/27/2016 10:07:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Flash Drives > Corsair > Corsair 32GB Survivor Stealth USB 3.0 Flash Drive (CMFSS3B-32GB)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: None
Cons: Drive mounts as 29.8Gb, but you can’t read/write/format/delete partition.
Other Thoughts: Won't recommend
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/27/2016 9:53:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Flash Drives > Silicon Power > Silicon Power 64GB Blaze B05 USB 3.0 Flash Drive (SP064GBUF3B05V1K)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid Sporadic Performer!! :)
Pros: *Excellent Cost / Performance Ratio
*Excellent USB 3.0 Read Performance / USB 2.0 on Write Performance
*No cap - retractable
Cons: *Performance is somewhat all over the place but def acceptable.
*Gets pretty warm under heavy use.
*No USB 3.0 Write Speeds, more like USB 2.0 :(
Other Thoughts: So check this out... benchmark scores are pretty high, real life performance is a bit different.
Crystal Disk Mark gives this drive a Read / Write score of 123MB/s and 71MB/s respectively. Oddly... Anvil Storage gives 263 / 27!!
So, the next move is to transfer some real life files and find out what the real story is. So I broke out an x264 movie rip, Music & Picture folders. Tests were run on my HP Pavilion AMD based laptop which is equipped with an Evo 850 SSD.

Copying Need For Speed Movie 720p x264 Rip @ 1.95GB in size took 1 Minute 22 Seconds which averages 23 MB/s Write. Then moving it back to the SSD took just 20.3 seconds which averages out to 95MB/s Read. Pretty decent.

Copying Music Folder of 636MB / 48 songs took 28 seconds to move to the flash drive which averages 22MB/s Write.
Copying Music Folder back to the SSD was super quick with a 3.76 second time averaging 169MB/s Read. Wow.

Finally I found a few pictures folders to use to test as a typical use case scenario as well.
Copying my Pictures Folder of 1.48GB / 1,456 files which took 1 minute 57 seconds which averages 12.65MB/s write. So from that we can see that numerous small files, like many other drives, will slow the B05 down quite a bit. But no better or worse than any other drive out there. Moving the files back to the SSD took 50 seconds or 29.60MB/s Read.

So, I'm calling this drive sporadic due to it's speeds seeming to be all over the place. It's read speeds though are very very good. It would make a great NAS / Router USB storage type of drive sitting off a network somewhere. Honestly, that's probably what I'll use it for. I'll keep installation files & drivers on it sitting off my network for quick access. However, if you are looking for a USB 3.0 drive that can write files faster than USB 2.0 look elsewhere. This drive just can't do it.

So can I recommend this little USB 3.0 drive? Sure. SP has good reliability so I expect it to last for quite some time and I don't mind the slower write speeds. But if you are on a budget and need a 64GB drive the SP won't let you down.
Reviewed By:Michael W.,9/26/2016 9:26:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Flash Drives > Silicon Power > Silicon Power 64GB Jewel J80 USB 3.0 Flash Drive (SP064GBUF3J80V1T)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good budget flash drive
Pros: - Metal housing
- Waterproof
- Decent speed
- Lifetime warranty
Cons:
- No activity light
- No cap to keep debris out of the connector
Other Thoughts: The metal housing of this flash drive is quite nice; it provides for a durable design that is easy to attach to a key-chain and the loop makes it much easier to pull out of a USB port. Metal conducts heat much better than plastic so this drive does get notably warm to the touch when in use, but this is a common trait of metal housed flash drives. I would have liked to see an activity light and some sort of cap (which would be immediately lost) to keep pocket lint out of the connector, but aside from these two complaints I cannot fault the design.

The flash drive was detected immediately by every computer I tried it in and the speeds are pretty solid for a budget minded drive. My drive arrived formatted in FAT32 with exactly 60 GB of free space. CrystalDiskMark benchmarked the drive with a sequential read of 132 MB/s and a sequential write of 51 MB/s; transferring a video file yielded speeds of about 120 MB/s read and 40 MB/s write. There are flash drives that are much faster than this, but they are much more expensive.

I don't have the equipment to properly test the shockproof claim, but the drive did survive several minutes of use as a cat toy on a tile floor. I was, however, able to test the waterproof claim. I put the drive in a glass of water for just shy of 23 hours and after about 10 minutes of drying, it continued to work perfectly fine. I also stress tested the drive with over 70 passes of writing and wiping the drive and it has yet to have a single problem. Plus, if something does go wrong with the internals of the drive, Silicon Power offers a lifetime warranty.

Overall, I like this flash drive. The metal housing is robust while remaining compact, the fact that it is waterproof further adds to the peace of mind, and the speeds are nothing to complain about. Couple that with the low price and the lifetime warranty, and I would definitely recommend this flash drive.
Reviewed By:Matthew J.,9/26/2016 1:37:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Flash Drives > SanDisk > SanDisk 32GB Extreme CZ80 USB 3.0 Flash Drive, Speed Up to 245MB/s (SDCZ80-032G-G46)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Flash Drive
Pros: Good speed and sturdy build.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I've been using it for a year now and am happy with performance.
Reviewed By:Russell R.,9/26/2016 11:47:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > USB Flash Drives > Silicon Power > Silicon Power 64GB Blaze B05 USB 3.0 Flash Drive (SP064GBUF3B05V1D)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice, but I wouldn't beat up my friend for stealing it.
Pros: This will probably the be go-to USB stick when I open the drawer of my desk, rather than reaching for my prize jewel in my pocket or lanyard. It’s cheap, and does its job well. I find that 64GB is more than enough these days, but obviously that’ll become “small” in just a few more years. For now, I’m happy with my 63,335,268,353 bytes of factory-formatted FAT32 data.

It has a good feel to it. The sliding mechanism feels solid, and I don’t think it’ll wear down. Personal opinion I guess. I wasn't able to break anything just using my hands and fingers, but I'm writing a review on a USB stick - I'm obviously a nerd!

You can also feel the orientation of the stick, so if you know which way it fits into the USB receptacle, you can quickly plug it in again without having to flip it over and over and over until you finally get it to seat! Though, for my laptop, it seems to be up-side-down.

Says it's USB 3.0 on it. If time is of the essence, and I'm digging through my desk drawer, I know this guy will at least do better than the other dozen USB 2.0 guys I got in there!

Coworkers who don't see the sliding mechanism pull on the shiny bit thinking it's the cap. Tell them to pull harder for a good 10 seconds of amusement and/or a broken fingernail.
Cons: Size is about 1mm too thick for me to use the adjacent USB port on my laptop while using this. Gotta unplug my mouse to plug this wide load in! Just be aware of your USB port spacing - this is a little wider than I’m used to. Probably wont fit inside toughbooks, as I know those have narrow USB covers. This is what costed it an egg.

736KB of my data was taken with a registration html document (which works offline). Not a big deal - guess it’s too much to expect a completely empty usb stick from any factory!

Sliding mechanism not immune to dust or pocket lint - protection you may get from standard “capped” sticks.

Rattles when you shake it. But maybe that's a pro? I like rattles.

Has a lanyard hole, but no lanyard included.
Other Thoughts: Get em while they're cheap!
Reviewed By:BRIAN W.,9/26/2016 5:12:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.