Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco ASA 5505 10 User Bundle Firewall

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Move on unless you are into PAIN !
Pros: Cisco makes excellent hardware and they charge a premium for it. The ASA 5505 is an updated model to the PIX 501. Both are decent router/security appliances but the ASDM GUI software is basically unusable for most users.

Cisco makes HORRIBLE GUI software that does not work for most users so you are forced to use CLI, which is a PITA unless you work with it daily. Then you need all of the accessories to connect and use stone age command line inputs. Even then there are literally tens of thousands of properly trained Cisco users who are unable to make CLI function reliably on many Cisco products for a variety of reasons. See the Cisco website Support section for proof.

In regards to Cisco's ASDM graphical user interface (GUI), it is so poorly written and not updated properly that it literally will not work with the latest versions of Java so you must revert to an old version of Java to get any use from Cisco's ASDM software. Be advised that ASDM also does not work with IE11 or IE9 (for servers) or with a number of other browsers. See the link below for the gory details because this is VERY IMPORTANT if you plan to buy any Cisco product and use the ASDM interface to adjust the settings - which is required.

http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/security/asdm/7_1/release/notes/rn71.html#wp551300

Telling customers to use CLI because the Cisco software is inoperable - is totally unacceptable and ignorant. Cisco should be sued for fraud, IMO.
Cons: Cisco ASDM software is so defective as to be almost unusable by the majority of Cisco customers. Unless you are familiar with CLI, I would suggest that you NOT BUY CISCO products as the hardware is fine but unmanageable due to Cisco's cobbled crapware GUI.

The cost of Cisco hardware will pale in comparison to support charges and license fees - so buyer beware.
Other Thoughts: Cisco charges for everything including installation information so you can determine that their software is defective and non-functioning. They also require a support license for any help with new products. Cisco does not want to be bothered by customers, they just want to sell the hardware and collect money, license fees, support fees - even without support, etc. It's an unscrupulous Biz model and it appears to be crumbling based on their 10Q reports.
Reviewed By:Techmeister,4/15/2015 7:43:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV325-K9-NA Dual Gigabit WAN VPN Routers

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Happy So Far
Pros: Fast & Reliable
Cons: A Little Pricey
Other Thoughts: Much faster than the 10 year old RV082 it replaced. We didn't realize our network performance was being held back, but it was. Our office has 55Mbps from our ISP and the RV082 couldn't really handle it. We use this router for performance and stability and it seems to fit those needs. Haven't tried the VPN functionality, so can't comment on that.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/14/2015 4:02:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL ZWUSG20 Internet Security Firewall with 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 2 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN , and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 I had high hopes...
Pros: multiple VLANS, a DMZ... a real networking device priced for the home and SMB poweruser! High throughput so I wasn't bottlenecking my TimeWarner cable internet service.
Cons: Difficult to configure for complex services (like XBOX Live), but it is a fully featured router, so YMMV. The bigger issue for me is the WAN port died after just 2 1/2 years... a few months after the two year warranty expired. Of course, that's my luck. If any of the other ports had died, I could have just mapped another port to that logical network, but the WAN port is what makes the thing a functional firewall. Now it's useless: I paid $180 for a device that only lived 30 months or less.
Other Thoughts: My thoughts were to create my own VPN service for my mobile devices, but I never got around to using the VPN software. Basically, I had this device configured such that my home WiFi network and 1000 Mbit ethernet networks were kept separated from each other (I'm paranoid).
Reviewed By:Jeremiah,4/14/2015 2:34:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco ASA 5505 10 User Bundle Firewall

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Order new and received an open pre-registered unit
Pros: Cisco ASA 5505 is pretty good.
We own 2 units of same model.
I am not here to complain about the Cisco unit.
I am here to complain about NewEgg's customer service and practice.
Cons: Cisco ASA 5505 is pretty good.
We own 2 units of same model.
I am not here to complain about the Cisco unit.
I am here to complain about NewEgg's customer service and practice.

We order the unit as brand-new.
In stead, it came in as open-box item with the European power plug. We might live with that since we need the box to finish a project by the end of the week. But to make it worse, when we try to register the unit, we were told the unit has been previously registered under a different company in MI.

We are rejecting this unit and will not consider to buy from Newegg anymore unless there is a good explanation or apology from Newegg.
(We bought this unit as a guest. But to write a review, we have to use an account)
Reviewed By:N/A,4/14/2015 7:16:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL USG40-NB Security Firewall (Hardware only)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice product
Pros: This is a higher end firewall than what you'd find for the typical consumer. I am using it to set up an incoming VPN so that I can remote into my network from all my devices from anywhere. I am also using it as a home lab tester to learn IPv6 and firewalls in general. The fireall is silent and powerful for its cost and size. This is my second Zyxel and I highly recommend this product for small businesses and geeky home users.
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:N/A,4/12/2015 11:47:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > CISCO ASA5505-BUN-K9 Cisco ASA 5505 10-User Bundle

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Security but quirky interface
Pros: The ASA 5505 is the successor to the PIX 500 series Cisco security appliances with additional features. The ASA 5505 offers a lot of security for a moderate price. Cisco equipment is designed for professionals and as such Cisco assumes a lot and is anything but consumer friendly. This is not a useful operating philosophy for small to medium business looking for IT security.

Setting up the unit via Cisco software can be a real PITA as noted by many other reviewers. If you're not an IT pro you may be forced to hire a pro to install this appliance properly. Cisco support will cost you as much as the unit.
Cons: It's amazing Cisco insists on being so difficult to work with as they are always looking to charge for support and licenses, etc. in addition to premium prices for all of their hardware. This ASA 5505 states wired speeds of 10/100/1000 Mbps. It is NOT 1000 Mbps speed contrary to the misleading product overview.
Other Thoughts: This Newegg offered ASA 5505 appliance specifications show 256 MB of RAM and 64 MB flash. According to Cisco they discontinued shipping this model with those sizes of RAM/Flash in 2010. So it's possible these are really old units if this is true. The cost to upgrade the RAM/Flash to the current 512 MB and 128 MB, costs almost as much as the entire ASA 5505 appliance. The 512/128 MB RAM/Flash are required to upgrade to the latest requirements.
Reviewed By:TechMeister,4/9/2015 7:47:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL ZWUSG20W 802.11n Wireless Internet Security Firewall with 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 2 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN , and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Be ready to read the knowledge base
Pros: A host of possible configurations to handle many different consumer and small business situations. Bought two for two different locations and established VPN to join networks from both locations.
Cons: Extremely difficult to configure and hours reading Zyxel knowledge base articles, u-tube self help and email help desk. The manual that comes with the device is next to useless and is more like a dictionary that covers every radio button in the gui. Initial setup was easy and could get internet within a few minutes. Connect the LAN and wireless networks is through a bridge function and not described in the manual anyway as a use scenario. It easily took several days to work out the details of a VPN configuration. The device itself had a very long reset period and setting were slow to talk effect. I had to reset to factory conditions twice.
Other Thoughts: Maybe all VPN routers are difficult to configure, but this one seem to take it to another level.

Get the TheGreenBow IPSec client VPN software to help debug.
Reviewed By:dyamited,3/29/2015 11:43:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > ProSAFE VPN Firewall 8 Gigabit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Nice features but...
Pros: The feature set is reasonably complete. 8 LAN ports, VLANs, VPNs, ...
Cons: The device locks up about once a day. A power cycle restores everything. The GUI is slow to the point of being painful. A parameter change may take up to a minute to refresh the screen.
Other Thoughts: Netgear used to be my goto company for network gear a decade ago. No longer is that the case.
Reviewed By:Mouse,3/27/2015 12:36:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > WatchGuard > WatchGuard Trade Up to XCS 280 and 3-Yr Email Security Bundle

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Makes secure email easy
Pros: Enables highly granular security on top of exchange works extremely well, best after it "learns" company email habits.
Cons: Brightmail isnt included in price
Reviewed By:npetrakis,3/24/2015 12:24:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > SONICWALL 01-SSC-4906 TZ 105 TotalSecure 1-year

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible experience with this product
Pros: Price in comparison to other equally spec'd products. The onboard OS is very easy to work with and offers allot of functionality only found on higher end units.
Cons: Slow performance, I mean slow. We couldn't get it to work efficiently on our network. Even working with tech support. we couldn't get it to work right. They blamed our ISP and DSL modem. I replace the DSL modem with no positive affect.
After installing this firewall, all 5 of our computers stopped updating their Kaspersky antivirus. It would simply time out. Browsing content rich websites wouldn't load, they simply time out. Most sites that would load, would take 30 to 90 seconds to load.
I understand UTM Firewalls do allot more scanning, but we did allot more configuration changes and tests that I'm not listing here, it was ridicules. Even tech support couldn't get this firewall tuned right to work fast enough to be usable.
I put my old Watchguard X15 back online and everything worked as expected.
Other Thoughts: This firewall seems to be either woefully underpowered or I got a defective unit. I returned it. Thanks to Newegg, I wasn't suck with a rotten egg.
Reviewed By:Disappointed,3/14/2015 12:51:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.