Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL ZWUSG20W 802.11n Wireless Internet Security Firewall with 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 2 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN , and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Be ready to read the knowledge base
Pros: A host of possible configurations to handle many different consumer and small business situations. Bought two for two different locations and established VPN to join networks from both locations.
Cons: Extremely difficult to configure and hours reading Zyxel knowledge base articles, u-tube self help and email help desk. The manual that comes with the device is next to useless and is more like a dictionary that covers every radio button in the gui. Initial setup was easy and could get internet within a few minutes. Connect the LAN and wireless networks is through a bridge function and not described in the manual anyway as a use scenario. It easily took several days to work out the details of a VPN configuration. The device itself had a very long reset period and setting were slow to talk effect. I had to reset to factory conditions twice.
Other Thoughts: Maybe all VPN routers are difficult to configure, but this one seem to take it to another level.

Get the TheGreenBow IPSec client VPN software to help debug.
Reviewed By:dyamited,3/29/2015 11:43:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > ProSAFE VPN Firewall 8 Gigabit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Nice features but...
Pros: The feature set is reasonably complete. 8 LAN ports, VLANs, VPNs, ...
Cons: The device locks up about once a day. A power cycle restores everything. The GUI is slow to the point of being painful. A parameter change may take up to a minute to refresh the screen.
Other Thoughts: Netgear used to be my goto company for network gear a decade ago. No longer is that the case.
Reviewed By:Mouse,3/27/2015 12:36:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > WatchGuard > WatchGuard Trade Up to XCS 280 and 3-Yr Email Security Bundle

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Makes secure email easy
Pros: Enables highly granular security on top of exchange works extremely well, best after it "learns" company email habits.
Cons: Brightmail isnt included in price
Reviewed By:npetrakis,3/24/2015 12:24:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > SONICWALL 01-SSC-4906 TZ 105 TotalSecure 1-year

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible experience with this product
Pros: Price in comparison to other equally spec'd products. The onboard OS is very easy to work with and offers allot of functionality only found on higher end units.
Cons: Slow performance, I mean slow. We couldn't get it to work efficiently on our network. Even working with tech support. we couldn't get it to work right. They blamed our ISP and DSL modem. I replace the DSL modem with no positive affect.
After installing this firewall, all 5 of our computers stopped updating their Kaspersky antivirus. It would simply time out. Browsing content rich websites wouldn't load, they simply time out. Most sites that would load, would take 30 to 90 seconds to load.
I understand UTM Firewalls do allot more scanning, but we did allot more configuration changes and tests that I'm not listing here, it was ridicules. Even tech support couldn't get this firewall tuned right to work fast enough to be usable.
I put my old Watchguard X15 back online and everything worked as expected.
Other Thoughts: This firewall seems to be either woefully underpowered or I got a defective unit. I returned it. Thanks to Newegg, I wasn't suck with a rotten egg.
Reviewed By:Disappointed,3/14/2015 12:51:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > SonicWALL 01-SSC-4887 TZ 205 Wireless-N Secure Upgrade Plus Program Hardware with 3 Years of the Comprehensive Gateway Security Suite

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 great but tedious
Pros: great security and reliability
Cons: very tedious to customize and complicated. comes preloaded to block most websites.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/11/2015 8:38:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Fortinet Inc. > Fortinet FortiGate-60D / FG-60D Next Generation (NGFW) Firewall UTM Appliance

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazingly powerful!
Pros: Best NGFW's on the market bar none. This thing catches attacks I didnt even realize were happening!
Cons: A little odd to set up but once you get to know the GUI and some off the wall commands everything falls in line!
Reviewed By:Aihngel Tech,3/9/2015 9:19:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL USG110 Next-Generation USG with 100 VPN Tunnels, SSL VPN, 2 GbE WAN, 1 OPT GbE, 4 GbE LAN/DMZ, with 1 Year UTM Services

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fast VPN throughput with IDP enabled
Pros: -fairly easy to setup with 20 VPN users
-reasonable price
-great feature set
-runs quiet (unlike Cisco security appliances)
-fast VPN throughput even when IDP is enabled
*annual subscription is reasonably priced
Cons: -manual was not the easiest to navigate
-annual pay subscription required for security updates*
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this VPN security appliance from Zyxel for small business use. I found it to be FAR superior to "comparable" Cisco products I have used in the past.
Reviewed By:Kevin P,3/8/2015 8:58:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV220W-A-K9-NA Network Security Firewall wired and wireless connectivity for a small office

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Awful Router
Pros: It works fine as a DHCP server and wireless AP.
Cons: Extremely difficult to configure, clunky interface, would not buy again.
Other Thoughts: Bought 3 to set up inter-clinic VPN link. Did not work as expected.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/3/2015 3:11:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR SRX5308-100NAS ProSafe Quad WAN Gigabit SSL VPN Firewall

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 NetGear SRX5308
Pros: Very Easy to setup. Good Value. U need ur ISP make sure set modem for Internet to bridge and pass-through mode and add static IP from ISP. This will make life much easier. Do not use Dead peer unless you really need it, cuts down speeds by constant ping checks. Enable Auto Initiate on remote sites only if u use more than one for IPsec tunnel leave the hub unit to just responder. Again saves on traffic and congestion issues.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: For this price I'm going to order a cold spare to have around for just in case, it's cheap enough even though they have good warranty we cannot afford the down time.
Make sure you read the instruction manual pdf carefully. The VPN client to device little tricky only because I read too fast then saw I had to reverse the local and remote ID on the client. Works great and fast.
Reviewed By:Happy Tech,2/25/2015 10:01:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV320-K9-NA Dual Gigabit WAN VPN Routers

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent RV320
Pros: Super fast, easy to setup. I set this up using Verizon USB LTE card and 100/25MB Cable connection. VLAN was easy to setup and routes great with my 6 Cisco 3750 switches. Connected 22 VoIP Cisco SPAs wtih out a problem all tagged. 6 AP's and over 80 devices. Setup 6 G2G tunnels, SSL VPN, and L2TP/PPTP 4 different groups and a few remote machines. Great little router for cheap m0ney. Tried to beat this thing up and max it out but it keeps on going without any problems for 8 months now.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:TVPC,2/24/2015 4:57:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.