Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco ASA 5505 10 User Bundle Firewall

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 response to bad reviews
Pros: Extremely reliable, provides Cisco CSACLI and ASDM configuration, Cisco gives "the sky is the limit" configuration power to their users.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: For bad reviewers. If it is a DoA device, that's understandable, but to anyone complaining about functionality, especially to those who are rating themselves a 5 in Tech Knowledge understadning, sorry, but when it comes to Cisco, you may want to knock yourself down a few levels of knowledge.

Cisco uses (for good reason) a proprietary CLI owing its' origins to UNIX. That, of course, has changed over the years, evolving into its' own product, but has been very stable throughout the years, with the occasional acceptable glitch.

One reviewer stated that it is a complicated setup. I disagree. Cisco has done a fantastic job of getting the Wizard functioning well enough for moderately technical users to set one of these up in their environment. Again though, they do expect the user to understand basic security and technical firewalling/IDS principles.

IMO, if you are not a very technical person, do not buy this product. It's not designed for home use, but can be in the right hands.

If you are very technical, and have exhausted the capabilities of other Home/SOHO firewalls, and love a challenge, then go for it. This is arguably the best firewall you can buy.

And if you are not a technical person, or are not familiar with Cisco CLI, don't blame the product if it doesn't "work" the way you think it should, blame your lack of knowledge of the product.
Reviewed By:Jim,9/13/2014 5:23:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL USG50 Internet Security Firewall with Dual-WAN, 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 5 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN, and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for Small Business
Pros: Reliable, easy to work with, good tech support
Cons: None that I know of
Other Thoughts: I have used these for a few different clients and once I became familiar with them I have found them to be a great solution for small businesses
Reviewed By:N/A,9/9/2014 10:47:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR FVS318N-100NAS ProSafe Wireless-N 8-port Gigabit VPN Firewall 6000 Simultaneous Sessions 95 Mbps

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Three Year (almost) Follow-Up
Pros: Sturdy metal construction
Port-based VLANs
IPSEC & SSL VPN
All Gig-E ports
Supports jumbo frames
Small size
Console serial port
Limited lifetime hardware warranty
Cons: Painfully slow Web GUI
Fundamentally unstable
Other Thoughts: At one time I had as many as eight of these units in the field, but now I've replaced them with competing products (at my own expense) because my clients deserve better.

Simply stated, Netgear's engineers have not been able to provide a firmware update that enables this firewall's full feature set without breaking something in the process. Fix the DHCP lease problems and the router intermittently drops RDP packets; fix the frequent lockups and the router starts dropping DNS traffic; fix the periodic loss of wireless connectivity and the LAN-WAN rules stop working. I pulled the last unit earlier this week (firmware 4.3.1-22) because it could only go a few days before clients began to experience timeouts, half-loaded webpages and loss of internet connectivity. Nearly three years and nine firmwares after I purchased my first FVS318N, Netgear added the only feature that makes sense for this flaky firewall: the ability to automatically reboot itself every 24 hours.

The FVS318N isn't the only recent Netgear product I've seen with reliability issues. Poor design, poor implementation and laughably poor support is a good reason to look elsewhere for SoHo/SMB kit.
Reviewed By:David R.,9/4/2014 8:13:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV110W-A-NA-K9 Wireless-N VPN Firewall 5000 Simultaneous Sessions 90 Mbps

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not very expensive but usalbe life is too short.
Pros: Simple to set up. Good features. Decent range.
Cons: Failed just after 2 years - with a 1 year warrantee. I expected more from a company like Cisco - even in this price range.
Reviewed By:Mike K.,9/1/2014 7:26:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL USG50 Internet Security Firewall with Dual-WAN, 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 5 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN, and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Terrible Documents
Pros: It's fast, I bought it to replace my Sonicwall TZ190 at home. The TZ190 has very slow throughput and this unit used every bit of my download band width with qos on 7 for the wan port.
Cons: This is not my first firewall, I have worked with other brands including Sonicwall, Cisco andPalo Alto at work. This firewall has the worst documents of any I have ever seen. Creating rules and nat policies are pretty much the same as any other firewall but the settings for options and connectivity are sometimes hidden and the manuals are by far the worst I have ever seen. I had to use google to find procedures for simple things that I should not have. I never used tech support so I can't comment on the support side but I really shouldn't have to use google to find answers to some of the questions I had.
Other Thoughts: The CLI documentation seemed to be better than the manual but since it uses different commands you have to learn a whole new set of commands that are different from Cisco to make changes.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/20/2014 3:02:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco ASA 5505 10 User Bundle Firewall

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 If you are not a pro you will need a service agreement
Pros: Good quality hardware
Expandable
Knowledgeable user community - trust me, you are going to need them.
Cons: -Complicated setup for anything but basic edge routing - you can get that for a lot cheaper
-ASDM (remote management tool) will likely not work out of the box due to a known but unacknowledged configuration/licensing issue.
No support, at all, without an additional service agreement - can't even download the latest firmware without one - that's right, you will get two year old firmware unless you pay them more!
Other Thoughts: I like most Cisco products and will even probably like this one once I get it's issues hammered out. But it arrived with a configuration/firmware combination that did not allow its management software (ASDM) to work and now they are holding me up for a service contract to fix something that was broken out of the box.

I am sure I will get this working and once I do, I'll be happy with it (I have one already working at one of our colo sites and it has been solid). But it is sad to see Cisco sell a broken product and then demand more money to fix it. Forces me to view them in the same light as a certain Redmond software giant.....
Reviewed By:N/A,8/10/2014 8:52:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Small Business > Cisco Small Business RV325-K9-NA Dual Gigabit WAN VPN Routers 40000 Simultaneous Sessions < 250Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Couldn't ask for anything better
Pros: I have worked with Cisco equipment for quite a while and I have to say this is one of the best products I have worked with, excellent speed, easy to configure, 2 thumbs up for Cisco.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: If you own a small business like me, I recommend it.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/3/2014 5:40:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR FVS336G-200NAS ProSafe Dual WAN Gigabit Firewall with SSL & IPsec VPN 10000 Simultaneous Sessions 60 Mbps

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Faith in Netgear Takes Big Hit
Pros: Awesome feature-set, especially with the latest firmware (version 4.x.x)
Cons: What good is an awesome feature-set if they don't work right or cause major issues?

Latest firmware supports good QoS options, but simply enabling QoS (not actually using it, just having it enabled) destroys routing performance. I have 1.5 Mbps DSL and tried to set up QoS for VOIP, and doing so caused my DSL throughput to drop below 1 Mbps (disabling QoS immediately returns throughput back to 1.5 Mbps). Bear in mind that this is NOT because the extra bandwidth is being reserved for the QoS client! The firmware itself warns you that QoS and IPV6 features will reduce router performance by at least 25%, and they weren't kidding! Awful!

The WAN connection randomly drops. This unit replaces a Netgear FVS338 which NEVER dropped the same WAN connection in over 6 years!

2 of the 4 LAN ports drop so many packets that it appears the clients of those 2 ports are not even connected to the network at all. I've never seen SWITCH hardware be so flaky! Come on guys, this is old tech that you're messing up!
Other Thoughts: Good grief this unit is unreliable. I've used Netgear FVS338 and Netgear FVS318 routers and both were rock-solid reliable for over a decade. They were so reliable that I *was* a big proponent of Netgear equipment. This 336G is a piece of junk by comparison - so much so that it has shaken my faith in Netgear entirely. It really saddens me to say that, because the feature-set of the 336G is terrific and the dual-WAN feature especially is what I need, but this unit simply cannot be relied upon for even basic functionality.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2014 3:38:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Dell SonicWALL > SONICWALL TZ 105 Firewall < 250Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Router
Pros: Intuitive web based interface and ultra programmable
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Gilmerite,7/27/2014 4:28:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL USG100 Unified Security Gateway Firewall w/50 VPN Tunnels, SSL VPN, 7 Gigabit Ports, High Availability

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible! Couldn't even get past configuration without freezing
Pros: Aesthetically pleasing, bright port LEDs, fanless/quiet, seemingly feature-packed, seemingly robust web-based configuration.
Cons: Both of the units I ordered (one of them as a replacement) suffered from freezing issues.

We'd plug them in, hook a single PC to the LAN1 port, and begin configuring them via the web-based interface. Within 30-45 minutes the unit would freeze up.

We suspected this could be due to an inconsistent AC power supply, or perhaps a rogue application trigging some sort of firewall auto-ban - And we attempted plugging the power to different UPS batteries, using 3 different PCs, factory default resets, firmware reloads, monitoring activity via a serial console connection.

Nothing worked, and both units kept going completely unresponsive around the 30-45 minute mark.

Even ZyXEL's own tech support was completely baffled, especially being both units were from different batches, but they barely tried to help us troubleshoot the issues. After only 8 minutes, they gave up and asked us to RMA the units.

Once the USG 100 stopped responding, it was dead in the water until you started it: No access via HTTP, SSH, Telnet or even the console.

I should add that the USG 100 has a 3-5 minute boot time, making troubleshooting a miserable experience.

We returned both USG 100 units and decided to build ourselves a Linux-based PC, at less than the cost of one USG 100, to handle our firewall / routing / security needs instead.
Other Thoughts: This could just be a fluke, but it doesn't leave a good impression of ZyXEL. I've been configuring networking equipment going on a decade, and have never had such prominent issues out-of-the-box.

The fact that ZyXEL's tech support was of little help, and spent only 8 minutes on the phone with us, was also rather unsettling.

I can't say I would ever consider another ZyXEL product in the future.
Reviewed By:KWsuther,7/24/2014 11:56:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau