Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim Portable Drive for MAC 1TB USB 3.0 STDS1000100 Silver/Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good price, solid performance, portable storage
Pros: The main benefit of this external drive is almost out-of-the-box cross compatibility for Mac users on Windows-based systems. The drive is light and durably built. Here's a quick rundown of its virtues.

+Windows support only requires a lightweight driver for HFS+ available from Seagate site. It is formatted and ready to go for Mac and is also Time Machine compatible out of the box.

+Thin and light. It fits in the palm of an adult hand and is about as light as a smartphone.

+Solid performance, but don't expect full benefit of USB 3.0. Its still a mechanical 5400rpm drive in there, so its not going to take full advantage of the USB 3.0 speeds (up to ~5Gbps or ~500MB/s). In actual testing, I was getting ~70-90MB/s sustained transfer speeds depending on the file types, which is pretty much the limit of 5400rpm drives.

+Cool to the touch after 1 hour of file transfer/backups.

+Self-powered over USB 3.0 bus. No external power sources required! USB cord is sturdy on both ends and the lead headers are solidly built.

+LED light is slim and not obnoxiously bright.

This is a solid option for mobile users who will only need ~1TB of backups. Its also a good option for people on the go who need more storage than the small amounts of SSD or NAND flash on these small tech devices.
Cons: Nothing to really take off for here, only minor complaints.

-The LED indicator is only for power, not activity.

-The housing is mostly plastic, and not as thin as the picture makes it out to be. The back is beveled and the angled picture shows none of the back portion. Look at the profile to get a better idea of actual thickness.

-If you don't need time machine support, or don't even need mac support, you can format in NTFS or exFAT (Mac + PC, no Time Machine).
Other Thoughts: Hard to believe we've gotten to 2TB capacities in these 2.5" form factor! You can store a ton of data on here, but keep in mind, it won't be fast, or instantaneous transfers.

If you still need speed, you're still better off going with an SSD or even 7200rpm drive in a USB 3.0 or eSATA caddie or drive bay. Current 7200rpm 3.5" drives will do 150MB/s sustained transfers. SSDs in eSATA or USB3.0 enclosures will do 500MB/s easy.

This is more suitable for multiple small transfers over time rather than a lot of data at once. It just lacks the performance I would want if I needed to transfer large amounts of data quickly.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/19/2015 7:31:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim Portable Drive for MAC 1TB USB 3.0 STDS1000100 Silver/Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Standard USB 3.0 External HDD
Pros: Very compact design with a nice aluminum cover on a plastic USB 3.0 hard disk enclosure.
Cons: The aluminum "half-shell" is extremely then and will become dented easily.

LED doesn't blink to show activity. It simply stays on to indicate it has power.
Other Thoughts: The only thing making this a "Mac Hard Drive" is that it's pre-formatted in HFS+ file system for use with Time Machine. If you wants both PC and Mac compatibility you must format it in exFAT, but Time Machine doesn't support exFAT. Formatting the drive requires no special software. See below:

Format on Windows:
In Windows click "Start" > Type "Disk Management" > Press "Enter" > Look for the drive at the top > Right click it > "Format" > Select "exFAT" > Click "Format"

Format for Time Machine on Mac:
Open "Mac HD" > "Applications" > "Utilities" > "Disk Utility" > Look for drive on the left > Click "Erase" > Select "Mac OS Extended (Journaled)" > Click "Erase" twice

Opening enclosure reveals HDD information:
Model: ST1000LM024
Part Number: HN-M101MBB/AV2
Revision A
F/W 2BA30002

USB 3.0 file system speed:
File Write: 64.5 MB/s
File Read: 106 MB/s

HD Tach Results:
Burst Speed: 114.0 MB/s
Average Read: 88.3 MB/s
Random Access: 17.5ms
Sequential Read: Graph curves down from 118 MB/s at beginning to 65 MB/s at the end of the platter.
Reviewed By:SpyderCanopus,1/8/2015 6:01:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 2TB USB 3.0 Backup Plus Slim Portable External Hard Drive for Mac Model STDS2000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice drive
Pros: Compact

Seems well built and sturdy

Large capacity

Fast on USB 3, OK on USB 2

Lots of backup features (Time Machine, Flicker, Facebook, portable devices)

Small while LED on top for power notification (not too bright at all for once, does not flash when accessing)
Cons: need separate driver for it to work on Windows.
Other Thoughts: The separate driver issue is not enough of a con to take an egg off for (it is a software/OS/formatting issue), but a bit of a hassle if you switch between mac and PC. I had no download/install issues with the software like another review did.
Problem I see with this is if you use a Mac at home and save files then bring it to work that only has PC; if you can't install the needed driver due to install restrictions on the work PC, you can't access the files.

If you only have PC's, then just reformat the drive and your good to go on any PC. (what I ended up doing, I don't have a Mac).

Transfered almost 1tb of files and drive was barely warm, and is inaudible from 18 inches away (and just a minimal whisper 6 inches from your ear).

I am using this for a server backup device, my old drive ran warm and made a little buzzing noise most of the time.

If your looking for a great out of the box Mac compatible drive for Time Machine plus a few extras, then this is a great drive for that. If your a Windows/Linux user that does not need the extra features, there are cheaper options out there for you.
Reviewed By:Blu,1/6/2015 11:56:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book Thunderbolt Duo w/TB Cable 8TB

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Glad I bought it 3 weeks ago!!!
Pros: massive storage, lightning fast, quiet
Cons: none except the the $350 price increase!!! I mean really???
Other Thoughts: great product so far, I use it for my iTunes library, wish I'd bought 2 when it was $549!!!1
Reviewed By:thaQuiet1,1/5/2015 7:04:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim Portable Drive for MAC 1TB USB 3.0 STDS1000100 Silver/Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great portable drive
Pros: Time machine
Mobile backup app
Multiple file sharing within wired and wireless network
Slim, lightweight and easily transportable
Cons: My only con is that in a Windows environment the software has to be downloaded before the operating system will recognize the drive, aside from that there has been no issues to report.
Other Thoughts: I held off on writing my review because I saw that it was also compatible with Windows PC. I set out to rebuild my windows desktop to test out the features and to see if it worked just as good as it did with a Mac. To my surprise it worked quite well, in fact it was actually faster when connected to my desktop computer than when it was connected to my Mac.
When initially connected to either computer it is highly reccomended to install the software in order to fully utilize the hard drive, this includes all preset backup plans and you can even create your own. I backed up my mac in almost 8 hours and my PC in 6 hours, both had the same amount of data to be saved which was roughly 400GB. I thought for sure there would be conflicting issues with having both saved to the hard drive, but at last there was none. The mac only recognized the mac files and same with the PC.
After testing I installed the app to my android phone and saved all my files via the cloud to the drive hooked up to my PC and then I conducted the same when connected to my Iphone 4S and did the same. Afterwards I went to see if I could share files between the two devices and I could, but only when I specifically chose a certain file and then accepted it on the receiving device.

Overall I am very pleased with this hard drive and am glad that it is an addition to my networking cloud that I can appreciate.
Reviewed By:TankTak,1/4/2015 8:45:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > LaCie > LACIE d2 4TB 7200 RPM 3.5" Thunderbolt 2 x 2 External Hard Drive for Mac Model 9000493U

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 LaCie d2 4TB HD Thunderbolt
Pros: Quiet and fast
Cons: I've found only pluses with this sweet hard drive!
Other Thoughts: This is an external hard drive that I can leave 'on' because it is so quiet. Of course, the Thunderbolt port allows excellent speed and it has 2 ports for daisy-chaining. Excellent hard drive.
Reviewed By:dabeenk,12/29/2014 8:27:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 2TB USB 3.0 Backup Plus Slim Portable External Hard Drive for Mac Model STDS2000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great external drive.
Pros: -2 TB Hard Drive in a nice casing
-USB 3.0 connection
-Easy to use with Macs
-Can be used with Windows with a free driver download
-Backup from social media is nice

Overall, I am very happy with this product. I have a Macbook from my office that I use on occasion, and this is great for moving files back and forth from that to my Windows desktop. Beyond that, the Macbook has a limited 128 GB SSD, and this gives me the space I need. The case has a very nice look and a sturdy feel to it.

When it was initially plugged into the Macbook I use it was very easy to install the software for it off of the hard drive itself, no need for a download or anything. Beyond that it instantly was able to be used as a time machine backup. For a Mac, this hard drive is spectacular.

I personally like the feature this drive has of being able to do a backup from social media. Its very simple to do, just a few clicks and it will back up all your photos from online onto your drive. So, if anything were to happen to the photos on your social media account, it would be nice to have a backup.
Cons: -Short cable
-Initial difficulty downloading Windows driver

The cable to connect the drive to a USB port is only about 1.5 feet long, which can be a bit short for some set ups.

When I was first attempting to use this on my Windows PC, the download link for the driver would not work. This made it so that I could not use the drive with my Windows PC. Luckily the download link was functional again the next day and since then I have not had any issues at all. This drive is great and does an excellent job with helping to manage files between Macs and PCs. This only appeared to be down that first day, see other thoughts.
Other Thoughts: My biggest complaint was something to do with a website error where I had to wait a day to get the Windows drivers. I have checked multiple times since then, just to see the reliability of it, and other than that first day, it has been available for download every single day, so I don’t think that is an issue.

The speeds on it seem great. I was able to back up 90 GB worth of data in 16 minutes, which is pretty nice.

Overall this is a great external drive and I highly recommend it. My cat agrees as well.
Reviewed By:Josh,12/22/2014 11:22:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 2TB USB 3.0 Backup Plus Slim Portable External Hard Drive for Mac Model STDS2000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent portable HDD
Pros: Seagate 2TB 3.0 slim backup plus is quite small, silent and appears to be built robust enough unless it was dropped from a long distance.

The top is brushed metal, bottom half is plastic but it still has some heft to it.

Power draw is low.

Read/Write (avg)3: 2.3W
Low Power Idle (avg): 0.7W
Standby (avg): 0.18W
Sleep (avg): 0.18W

Highlights from Seagate:

SATA Native Command Queuing feature
TuMR/PMR head with FOD technology
Load/unload head technology
ATA Security Mode feature set
ATA S.M.A.R.T. feature set
SilentSeek
NoiseGuard

This drive arrives formatted for MAC and is time machine ready.

A quick format to NTFS and the drive can easily be used with windows as well but not at the same time without HFS4WIN which has it's limitations.

Tear downs show the current drive inside as Samsung M9T, 32MB cache, 3 platter @667 running at 5400RPM.

USB data/power cord is 18 inches long, ideal for laptops which this is directed at but may be on the short side for tower PC's or if your USB front ports are higher up.

Runs fairly cool under light load but does get warm with very long transfers like any portable without airflow will, still only warm to the touch.

Seagate states 60C [140F] as the max which is doubtful to be reached.

Fast for 5400K.

CrystalDiskMark 3.0.3 X64

50MB Read/Write:
Seq: 124.3 / 146.2
512K: 61.40 / 155.10

4000MB Read/Write:
Seq: 129.1 / 129.7
512K: 35.93 / 147.30

HDTune 5.50

Minimum 54.3 MB/s
Average 92.4 MB/s
Maximum 121.5 MB/s
Latency 18.1 ms
Cons: 2 year warranty vs 3 years for WD passport slim.

Price is higher then WD for the same size but it has come down from the original MSRP.

No included carry case like WD passports. It's marketed as portable and protection while in transit would be ideal.
Other Thoughts: Seagate dashboard software included has many helpful backup features for windows but is useless for MAC, that is where time machine comes in. It can be downloaded from Seagate so not sure why they even put it on this MAC version.

The software can allow you to change sleep, adjust the LED and test the drive.

Also included it has the ability to sync photos from your Facebook and Flickr accounts.

The main portion is for PC backup in which you can choose what you want to backup instead of just the entire C drive so it gives you some choices.

Just as easy would be to use windows to create an ISO in case of disaster so you can use recovery.

Dashboard does not include any security option to protect the content of the drive against unauthorized access.

Overall a nice fast 2TB portable drive with a small and slim footprint.
Reviewed By:anon8645,12/11/2014 10:59:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate 2TB USB 3.0 Backup Plus Slim Portable External Hard Drive for Mac Model STDS2000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice Form, Fit, and Function
Pros: I've worked in the storage industry as a Software/Firmware engineer for about 12 years, there is a lot I don’t know – but I probably have a deeper knowledge than most. Time is the real judge of how good the drive is and I can only comment on how it worked now – new just out of the box. As I have seen backup drives with a warranty as short as a year, I’m more confident in this as the warranty on the STDS2000100 is three years. The reason the warranty period is important is that it is calculated on MTBF – drive manufacturers usually set the warranty period at a period where they feel confident that they will only have a statistically small number returned and it won’t impact their bottom line in a meaningful way. In short the drive will probably last well over 3 years. Most people care about the data more than the device which holds it – so something that will likely go the distance is worth more than saving a few bucks to almost anyone.

The drive seems well suited for its purpose – as solid and rugged small drive that works. I used it for it’s advertised purpose and backed up a Mac Pro. I used it on a 8 year old Intel 4 processor Mac Pro running 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard ) and an older version of Bombich Carbon Copy Cloner I backed up a 750 GB drive about half full. It backed up 383 GBs in 5 hours and 30 minutes or about 1,160 MB per minute – or about 19.3 MB per minute. As this is a mechanical drive, not an SSD, so the speed is okay for a backup drive where it’s usually not a time critical issue. Everything worked perfectly. It should also be noted that the drive is USB 3 and the Mac I used was USB 2 so even though the mechanical drive(s) themselves probably caused most of the latency – not using USB 3 contributed.

The drive came with a cable with micro B USB 3 on one side and standard USB A connector on the other side. The drive itself has only a micro USB 3 connector. The drive case is fairly sturdy and the drive feels like it could withstand some abuse – though I didn’t abuse it.

One of the main features claimed I haven’t tried so I can’t comment on but it’s worth mentioning; that the ability to backup Apple and Google devices (tablets, phones, etc.) via Wi-Fi using Seagate’s application.
Cons: I would have been really ecstatic if the drive had a 5 year warranty, but a 5 year warranty is usually only found on enterprise drives made to use in servers where high reliability (and higher cost) is the norm. I think it’s worth complaining about as the loss of data is usually catastrophic for most people and most people don’t backup a backup. Like I said earlier – at least it’s not one year warranty. I would subtract an egg for this but for the price that wouldn't be fair. Enterprise drives usually cost significantly more.

The cable was very short – probably about 1.5 feet, not enough to plug into the USB on the Mac Pro and let it sit on the top. This is such a non-issue, probably other reviewers will be complaining about it being too long. Just sayin.
Other Thoughts: As most of the backup drives I've previously used are larger form factors. The small, compact cardboard box the drive came in is perfect storage for me. I just wrote the backup date and computer on the box and threw it in a drawer – it didn't take up much spaces and I know I won’t be looking for cables when I have to back up again. Seemingly small design functions add to the value of the drive. I’m probably going to pick up another on for a Windows 7 laptop I have – so yes, I would recommend this to a friend as the 2 GB size is great for most people. Given I can run a VM on my Windows 7 PC where I run a couple versions of Linux and OSX with lots of applications - and I can do that all under 1 TB, a 2 TB backup drive gives you lots of room to expand.

Please not my rating is on the drive as I have seen and used – assuming it functions the way it does many years to come I would stand by it.. but when it fails (and everything does eventually) make a big difference in what my real rating would be – at this point I have no way of knowing that.
Reviewed By:Mandinga,12/11/2014 9:41:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives G-Force Quad 4TB USB 3.0 / IEEE 1394a / IEEE 1394b x 2 / eSATA External Hard Drive Model GF4000QU3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product
Pros: Great capacity, quiet and reliable. I formatted the drive incorrectly originally so only could use 2TB. A short Internet search later I realized my error and reformatted and have full 4TB now available. I currently have 2 drives I use one as a backup for the other.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,12/4/2014 4:57:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.