Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > LaCie > LaCie Porsche Design P'9233 8TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive for Mac Model 9000604

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good
Pros: Quiet. relatively easy installation on my Mac. Working fine so far
Cons: The design is by no means anything to boast about, especially since it seems to have bumped the price up. Restricted cooling ports. Front, back and top are a piece channel aluminum. The other three sides are plastic. So much for "Solid aluminum casing"! I guess printing "Porsche Design" on top where it is totally obscured by the drive above it!
Other Thoughts: I've see better, more functional drive enclosures. The drive itself seems fine!
Reviewed By:Metalsmith,4/26/2015 6:31:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > G-Technology > G-Technology G-RAID mini 1TB 7200 RPM USB 3.0 / 2 x FireWire 800 Dual-Drive Storage System Model 0G02608

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dead within one hour
Pros: Usually these are reliable drives, but not this one.
Cons: I'm a cameraman and use these to dump raw footage from the camera in the field, so reliability is a must. I got this unit in and went on a shoot. I was able to transfer 1 SD card of data to the G-Raid. I ejected the drive and then at the end of the day went to transfer again and the drive wouldn't power up. I was connected to a PC via USB2. We used another computer to connect via USB3 (without using the power supply) and it worked. Then I brought it back to the office and used another G-Raid power supply and it powered but the computer wouldn't recognize the drive, although it showed up in my system tray.
Reviewed By:fazz,4/15/2015 4:08:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Edge for Mac 500GB 2.5" USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive Model WDBJBH5000ABK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 passport
Pros: your wd.passport will not show up on your computer ,you have to go to youtube, so you can see how to hook up your WD.passport.. it works
Cons: no
Reviewed By:Gil,4/14/2015 7:30:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO MiniStation Thunderbolt 1TB 2.5" USB 3.0 / Thunderbolt Portable Hard Drive Model HD-PA1.0TU3

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Unservicable
Pros: Seems to be functioning, the Thunderbolt portion, haven't tested USB
Cons: The enclosure is completely unserviceable. Think you'll replace that 1 TB drive with a nice SSD? Think again. They *glued* the two pieces of enclosure together and then used a bunch of clips inside to secure the circuit board to the top part of the enclosure. Servicing this thing makes opening an iPad look super easy.
Other Thoughts: Two stars because of complete lack of serviceability.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/6/2015 7:13:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book for Mac 3TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive Model WDBYCC0030HBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great external drive
Pros: Fast installation, fast drive data transfers at USB 3.0, nearly silent. Has a 3 year warranty.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Works with current OS X Yosemite.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/20/2015 3:43:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book for Mac 2TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive Model WDBYCC0020HBK-NESN

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works for Windows
Pros: Works for Windows and likely will work for any operating system with a quick format.
Cons: Comes with an unremovable stamp on the front that says "For Mac" on the front, can't fathom why any company would want to do that considering how much they must pay in royalties. This is easily remedied with a sharpie.
Other Thoughts: Surprisingly good buy considering it's "for mac" which usually bumps up the price of things by roughly double their value.
Reviewed By:Josh,3/20/2015 3:40:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim Portable Drive for MAC 1TB USB 3.0 STDS1000100 Silver/Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 too fragile
Pros: worked until it didnt
Cons: literally dropped 3 to 4 inches out of my hand on to my desk, and its dead. This sat on my desk since I owned it and never been moved, abused etc. Lame
Reviewed By:N/A,3/9/2015 7:13:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus for Mac 1TB USB 3.0 Mac Storage - Portable Model STBW1000900

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good USB HDD
Pros: *PC compatibility is great (driver download required), not just for Macs.
*About as small as a standard drive can be. "Pocketable"
*Pretty sexy style
*No surprises on transfer speed
*Future addon adapters to change interface
Cons: *Relativity short USB cord (18in). Also, it is USB Micro-B port in the back of the device. It is less common if you need to swap out a longer cord.
*As a Windows user I had to install the HFS+ driver (HFS4Win.exe from Seagate)
Other Thoughts: Reviewed this unit as a Windows user.
I have to say I really like this drive. It has nice simple aesthetics and is virtually silent sitting on my desk. Although is is a spinning platter HDD it is very portable and slips into my pocket. As usual though, be careful when transporting and be gentle if you must move it around while active.

As a Windows user I had to install the HFS+ drivers which required a restart. After this initial driver install it behaved like any other USB drive on Windows.

It performed well for a 5400 RPM HDD. I was easily getting near 90-100MBs mark on transferring large files over USB3 and around 25MBs over USB2.

The instructional videos included were of laughable quality. If you want to use them just listen or it will hurt your eyes. The included software was a nice touch for those that would use it to quickly upload to Facebook/Flickr and Youtube. They worked fine on my PC but is not something I would normally use.

Overall I would recommend this drive to Mac as well as PC users.
Reviewed By:ChefErik,3/5/2015 12:48:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Pro 4TB portable RAID storage with integrated Thunderbolt cable Model WDBRNB0040DBK-NESN

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Very fast - redundant disks. Easy to use. Completely bus powered, which is nice. Redundant disks allow for RAID use.

Thunderbolt cable is integral to the unit, and has a neat holder moulded into the case.
Cons: Runs fairly warm. Has a small fan to keep the unit cool that makes a bit of noise.

Unit is actually a pair of 2T disks in a RAID 0, which increases the likelyhood of a non-recoverable failure. I did not experience a failure, but I did reformat mine to a RAID 1 (for redundancy), which drops the capacity from the advertised 4T to only 2T.

Only Thunderbolt connectivity, no USB or ethernet.

The integral cable holder is a big snug, and if a problem develops with that cable there's no easy way to replace it.
Other Thoughts: Expensive for the capacity, but it's fairly speedy. I didn't run any benchmarks - it can't compare to the speed of internal SSD, but it's certainly comparable to the speed of a internal HDD. Runs a bit on the warm side, and the fan noise could drive you crazy if you kept it plugged in all the time, but makes for a nice addition if you need temporary capacity with good speed.

No other connection options limit this to Thunderbolt-equipped PCs/Macs, and it comes pre-formatted for OS X.

Marketing is a bit misleading - unit is actually dual 2T drives. It comes pre-formatted as an OS X RAID 0 array at 4T. Not entirely dishonest, but not entirely accurate either.

Overall I like the unit, it serves the function I need - temporary high speed storage. The only real complaints I have is with the integral fan noise being noticable, and my doubts about the longevity of the integral Thunderbolt cable.
Reviewed By:Brian_B,3/1/2015 7:56:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Pro 4TB portable RAID storage with integrated Thunderbolt cable Model WDBRNB0040DBK-NESN

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Excellent portable drive
Pros: Fast! Thunderbolt delivers great speed. I have mine set up as a RAID-0 for maximum throughput. All the data on the drive is from other sources, so I'm not overly concerned about losing it. If you are, you should think about RAID-1 instead.

No external power chord. Just plug in to laptop and go!

Large capacity. 4 TB is more than I dreamed I'd have so soon.
Cons: Thick. Heavy. No Thunderbolt port.

The drive is about the same length and width as a normal WD Passport drive, but twice as tall, made of metal, and quite hefty.

The lack of a Thunderbolt port means that you lose one Thunderbolt port when you plug the drive in.

The size/weight issues are minor quibbles. But the missing Thunderbolt port for daisy-chaining is why I only rate the drive at 4 / 5.
Other Thoughts: The design is quite good, with the Thunderbolt cable permanently attached to the drive, but tucking in along the groove on the edges of the drive.
Reviewed By:Reid,2/26/2015 9:49:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.