Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > LaCie > LACIE 2TB 5400 RPM 3.5" USB 3.0 Porsche Design P'9233 Desktop Drive Model 9000296

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 $175 Lemon - BUY APPLE PRODUCTS for TECH SUPPORT!
Pros: Sorry- None, my drive only worked for a few months and I'm sorry I stored anything on it.
Cons: Written by DM from Naperville

I should have known when I had problems from the get-go that this was a bad purchase.

CALLS TO TECH SUPPORT
1 week- Sent a USB cable to device
3 months- Wouldn't unmount/eject
5 months- I purchased Apple Time Machine with storage
7 months-Sent a USB cable to device (Quoted $399 for possible data extraction)
7 months, 2 weeks (10 minutes on hold)- Sent a new power supply cord
If this doesn't work- Send in for Service

Bottom Line- I don't trust this drive. They will repair or replace within the 2 year warranty period, but don't expect to be able to get your data without spending an extra $399+.

BUY APPLE DRIVE- Apple Support, Apple Service, Genius Bar Appointments
Spend the extra money. I'm out $175 and then I purchased the Apple products.
Don't make the same mistake I did!
Reviewed By:DMS,7/28/2014 1:41:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus for Mac 1TB 2.5" Thunderbolt Mac Storage Model STBW1000401

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Buyer Beware!!
Pros: Very fast transfer rates, one cable
Cons: Nearly impossible to find a drive for the adapter.
Other Thoughts: I wish I had known Seagate was going to bail on this product line. I would never have bought it! It seems like a great idea, drives that can connect via usb or Thunderbolt, at least it did when there were drives available.
Reviewed By:PackDude,7/27/2014 7:14:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > LaCie > LACIE Rugged 2TB 5400 RPM USB 3.0 / Thunderbolt Professional All-Terrain Storage Model 9000489

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great new Rugged Drive
Pros: Awesome to have the thunderbolt cable integrated
Cons: None that I cna think of other than price
Reviewed By:rob,7/20/2014 8:39:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > G-Technology > G-Technology G-DRIVE mini 1TB 7200 RPM USB 3.0 / 2 x Firewire800 High-Speed Portable Drive Model 0G02576

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A great backup drive
Pros: Bus powered
Small and quiet
Reasonably fast
Nice industrial design complements Apple products
Cons: Gets hot
Not as fast as an SSD, but for backups, you'd still want a mechanical drive for now
Other Thoughts: The latest G Drive Mini is so reliable and solid, I'm ready to part with my full size, AC powered G Drive 1TB. It's really well done. Includes a storage case.
Reviewed By:Dhalgren,7/17/2014 6:19:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book for Mac 2TB USB 3.0 External Storage Model WDBYCC0020HBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent
Pros: Bought this for my Wife's mac book pro to keep everything backed up. Had it hooked up and had the whole computer backed up in a bout 2 hours. Works great.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Great deal, works as it should.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/10/2014 5:40:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book for Mac 3TB USB 3.0 External Storage Model WDBYCC0030HBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great External Hard Drive
Pros: Reliable
I've been using this hard drive to store music, videos, and documents for a few years and it has been great. I've gone through a lot of failed hard drives and am very happy that this one has not failed.
Cons: If its been sitting for a while without being used (I haven't accessed any files for a few hours), then it take a few minutes to spin up...but that is to be expected.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/3/2014 6:13:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Edge for Mac 500GB 2.5" USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive Model WDBJBH5000ABK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 All working fine.
Pros: I just wanted all to know I purchased three of these, re-formatted from MAC to NTFS and all three are working fine, no failures, odd noises, et cetera.
.
As I only had these for a week, I can not vouch for long term usage.
.
It was at a great price, $ 29.99 each. Heavy and seemingly well constructed.
Cons: None, except I should have purchased more :-)
Other Thoughts: None.
Reviewed By:Chris.,6/26/2014 4:06:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus for Mac 2TB 3.5" USB 3.0 Mac Storage - Desktop Model STCB2000900

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 This thing is quick for a non-ssd
Pros: I transferred a file from this to the new SSD I just installed and it was moving it at over 200 MB/sec. It doesn't play around this thing has got to be 10,000 rpm or faster.
Cons: Had to fiddle with settings to get it to not sleep while doing an operation.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/24/2014 8:22:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book for Mac 2TB USB 3.0 External Storage Model WDBYCC0020HBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Plugged in My Book for Mac and iMac computer did the rest, very easy,completely satisfied so far.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Like Newegg products.
Reviewed By:Carlos,6/19/2014 12:11:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Toshiba > Toshiba Canvio Slim II for Mac 1TB 5400 RPM 2.5" USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive Model HDTD210XSMEA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 External HD Backup!
Pros: This was a gift for a MACBook Pro owner and was truly a 'Plug 'N Play' experience that could not have gone any better! This is a great choice for someone who wants a backup device that really works!
Cons: None!
Other Thoughts: Every PC or MAC external add-on device should work as easily and trouble-free as this one did right from the 'git-go'!
Reviewed By:WLDJr,6/15/2014 7:07:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau