Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport for Mac 500GB USB 3.0 Mac Storage Model WDBLUZ5000ASL-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 WD External HD - Mac Friendly
Pros: Light. Easy to carry. Cheap as dirt. Works perfectly with my MacBook Pro.
Cons: Can't think of any.
Reviewed By:CJ,4/13/2014 5:59:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book Studio 1TB Desktop External Hard Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 not the product specified
Pros: na
Cons: na
Other Thoughts: I ordered this drive because it has firewire connections which I need for a video project next week using a mac. the model that arrived did not have firewire ports and instead had usb 3. If they were out of stock or this was a newer model I should have been informed before shipping. I now look like I have no clue what I am doing to my companies CEO. needless to say I am not happy
Manufacturer Response:Hello, we apologize for any inconvenience. We are sorry to find out you did not receive the drive that you requested. We would like to resolve this particular issue for you directly. Please contact us at (800) 275-4932, or via our support website at: http://support.wdc.com/rs
Be sure to mention this Newegg review when you speak with our support staff, and we will get you in touch with the proper team member.

Reviewed By:N/A,4/8/2014 2:14:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Air 500GB USB 3.0 All Metal Ultra-slim External Portable Hard Drive Storage Model WDBBLW5000AAL-NESN

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice Hard Drive for Mac
Pros: Did A full backup on a Mac, It worked well and I still have room for other files
Cons: none
Reviewed By:sachimo34,4/6/2014 9:57:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > G-Technology > G-Technology G-DRIVE 4TB USB 3.0 / IEEE 1394b x 2 External Desktop Hard Drive

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great till it failed
Pros: -USB3.0 + Firewire 800
-Large Capacity
-Responsive Support
Cons: -disk5s2: I/O error.
-disk5s2: I/O error.
-disk5s2: I/O error.
-disk5s2: I/O error.
-disk5s2: I/O error.
After a month, both the original and the drive that I received after an RMA throw errors and cause Mac OS X to present the drive as read only until remounted.

Secondly, on my windows machine (when trying to troubleshoot), the drive does not present itself consistently between firewire and USB connections. Set up an NTFS partition while on USB, disconnect properly and then connect via firewire.. "Drive needs to be initialized!" The fireware update on the website was supposed to fix this, but it did not.
Other Thoughts: I suspect they got a bad batch of 4Tb hard drives going into these enclosures. Another G-Drive 1Tb that I have set up as an offsite backup has been running flawlessly.
Reviewed By:belly917,3/26/2014 12:09:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Air 1TB All Metal USB 3.0 Ultra-slim External Portable Hard Drive Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great backup drive
Pros: Bought this as a Time Machine backup drive for a new iMac and I've been totally satisfied. USB3 is just as fast as Thunderbolt in this application, and Thunderbolt drives are more expensive.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,3/23/2014 8:07:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 1TB USB 3.0 Storage for Mac & PC- Portable Model STBW1000901

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Misinformed
Pros: High speed usb3 device.
It's a Seagate!
The drive is protected within the case with a metal caddy and rubber mounts to reduce shock if dropped.
Cons: Plastic case.
USB drive adapter is separate from the drive. This would allow you to use the drive internally, since it would be easy to attach the sata connectors to the drive in the case. On the negative side, the sata connectors would probably suffer the brunt of being dropped.
Other Thoughts: USB 3.0 is not properly supported by everyone and is not Seagate's fault. I was misinformed and angry at the time I wrote the critical review. I would like to caution you to better know your requirements and what will work best for you.
Reviewed By:Mr. Batch,3/20/2014 7:52:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book for Mac 1TB 3.5" USB 2.0 Desktop External Hard Drive Model WDBAAG0010HCH

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Back it up
Pros: Easy set-up. Worked right out of the refurbished box.
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: As long as the wife remembers to plug it in she'll be in good shape.
Reviewed By:Krillion,3/17/2014 11:08:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus for Mac 2TB 3.5" USB 3.0 Mac Storage - Desktop Model STCB2000900

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not exactly plug-in-and-play
Pros: Once I got it working, it's been great, exactly what you want from a USB 3.0 portable hard drive.

Once I got it installed, the Dashboard is simple and easy to use.
Cons: Initially showed up as a device, said it was installed, but wasn't in Computer. Well ok, set options to show empty drives.

Oh? Still not there?

Well alright then, Disk Management here we go.

There it is! Wait, why doesn't it have a name? Just a blank field for a 2 TB drive.

Well, alright, I'll just rename it.

Right click on the drive, and every single option is greyed out.

Ok then... can't rename the drive to be recognized. Fun.

15 minutes of troubleshooting later, including installing the Seagate troubleshooter, Windows 7 drivers, and Dashboard (which also did not automatically install like it was supposed to), I just reformatted the drive. No more shenanigans, little drive.

Set up and named the drive through Windows, and it worked like a charm immediately.

This darn thing wasn't formatted correctly, it appears. That's a bad move, Seagate.
Other Thoughts: It's a good drive, but it's also hard to have a bad drive. Either it works or it doesn't.

I shouldn't have to reformat the darn thing to use it.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/17/2014 12:16:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 1TB USB 3.0 Storage for Mac & PC- Portable Model STBW1000901

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not plug and play for Windows
Pros: Contains standard Seagate 1TB Sata 2.5" drive.
Cons: Non-standard USB drive interface.
Non-standard USB 'B' plug end (Cord and device interface).
Might work for a MAC, but I don't have one. Drivers and reboot required for Windows.
Forget making it work for Linux, DVR and other such devices.
Cheap plastic case.
Other Thoughts: Why reinvent the wheel and make your product not suitable for all possible applications?
Reviewed By:Mr. Batch,3/6/2014 4:12:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book Studio 1TB Desktop External Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Customer Service
Pros: Action Packed Inc. has great customer service.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/5/2014 11:41:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau