Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Studio 500GB Portable Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 3 Years and going
Pros: -This is very durable, even after a couple drops on hard floor, it has surprisingly still functioned great.
-The firewire ports makes data transfer very very fast and convenient, great for moving and storing hundreds of GB's at once if that's what you need.
Cons: Price may be costly, but it has been worth it thus far for me..
Other Thoughts: The fact that it's mac compatible makes it very easy to transfer between mac and windows.
Reviewed By:mike,9/1/2015 8:41:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book Thunderbolt Duo w/TB Cable 8TB

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Another great product from WD. I use it on my Macbook Pro. Totally reliable and plenty fast for full HD multi-camera playback and editing with Final Cut Pro X. There's nothing to say - it just works!
Cons: Would be nice if it could be backward compatible with a USB or even Firewire output, just for compatability with other non-Thunderbold systems.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/13/2015 3:35:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book Thunderbolt Duo 4TB 3.5" Thunderbolt Dual-drive Storage System Model WDBUPB0040JSL-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Time Machine
Pros: Easy to reconfigure to RAID 1 for Time Machine
RAID 1 drives are hot swappable
Thunderbolt allows up to 5 devices to daisy chain
Fast
Good value
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: I reconfigured the Duo tp Raid 1 to use for system backups. With redundant on site backups and a cloud backup I feel my data is pretty safe. The Duo has been running iMac Time Machine backups for several weeks without a hiccup. Backups are so fast and seamless I never know they are happening unless I happen to notice the LED on the front of the Duo flickering.

Currently the Duo is daisy chained down stream from a 3TB Thunderbolt 2 drive. Both drives work flawlessly.

I'm so satisfied with this drive that I am strongly considering getting another to leave in RAID 0 for rendering video.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/3/2015 8:43:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport for Mac 2TB 2.5" USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive Model WDBKKF0020BSL-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Broken in less than 3 months
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Last 3 months, no warranty.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/3/2015 10:39:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport for Mac 500GB USB 3.0 Mac Storage Model WDBLUZ5000ASL-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed after 6 days
Pros: None
Cons: Failed after 6 days of use.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/2/2015 3:27:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book for Mac 4TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive Model WDBYCC0040HBK-NESN

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 So far, so good!
Pros: Seems to copy very quickly. Silent when not in use.
Cons: The disk is quite noticeable when reading and writing. It is virtually silent when not.
Other Thoughts: I use this as a backup drive, so it is quiet most of the time. Seems to copy very quickly, which is nice. I would recommend this drive.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/1/2015 8:57:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital My Book For Mac 1TB Desktop External Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Easy to hook up.
Cons: None that I can see so far.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 1:56:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Edge for Mac 500GB 2.5" USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive Model WDBJBH5000ABK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great!
Pros: Silent, low power, reliable (so far). The small form factor and self-powered aspects are pluses as well.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I use this drive to provide Time Machine backups for the 3 Macs in the house. Two of my Macs have USB2 ports, so these ports dominate the write speeds to the disk. Even though the TM backups took 20 or 30 min each, these were the first time backups which amounted to 60-90GB. Incremental backups will be much quicker. Pretty good drive, prefer WD over Seagate. And the price was right. :o)
Reviewed By:N/A,6/29/2015 9:31:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport for Mac 500GB USB 3.0 Mac Storage Model WDBLUZ5000ASL-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Backup drive
Pros: Small, performed for Apple, works great
Cons: None I can think of
Reviewed By:N/A,6/28/2015 2:45:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport for Mac 500 GB USB 2.0 External Hard Drive - WDBL1D5000ABK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It's cheap and it works.
Pros: I was looking for an external hard drive that I could use to back up my pc and expand my xbox capacity without spending a ton of money on them. Two of these hard drives where exactly what I needed.
Cons: It took me a while to find a couple of programs that would reformat these drives correctly because they wouldn't show up in windows 7 correctly to just reformat them from windows 7. This is not really a con because these drives are meant to be used with a mac.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/14/2015 10:06:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.