Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > LaCie > LACIE 4TB 3.5" USB 3.0 Porsche Design P'9233 Desktop Drive Model 9000385

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Looks good, works great
Pros: Looks handsome. Activity light isn't too bright/distracting. Largely recyclable packaging. Fairly quiet. Works great.
Cons: Not the cheapest drive available.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/20/2014 9:33:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > LaCie > LACIE 5TB 3.5" USB 3.0 Porsche Design P'9233 Desktop DriveModel 9000479

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Lacie 5TB Porsche Desktop Drive
Pros: Solid design. Easy set-up. Allows for partition to be established so drive can be formatted to store files from both Windows and Mac operating systems. Good value for storage size.
Cons: Didn't expect the partition feature, not clearly advertised. A nice option, but I may have purchased a different size drive if I planned on partitioning. Design is nice, but doesn't remind me of a Porsche. Sharp lines not smooth.
Other Thoughts: Partition caught me by surprise, nevertheless I did establish one and am happy to be able to shuttle files between my PC and Mac.
Reviewed By:JGravy,11/18/2014 7:44:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book for Mac 3TB USB 3.0 External Storage Model WDBYCC0030HBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Easy setup. Works great
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,11/16/2014 5:22:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim Portable Drive for MAC 500GB USB 3.0 STCF500102

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Update
Pros: Update to our earlier one-star review. We believe dd *does* do a suitable low-level format; Windows 7 OS will hide a drive with a partition that has a duplicate secret Windows ID. However as only very advanced tech knowledge (beyond lots of repair shops) allowed us to make it work- in a way- with Windows, and as many hours were wasted figuring this out, I can't raise my rating above two stars. OF COURSE-- if you're buying it for a Mac it may very well be a 5 star product for you. I *do* want to emphasize this review is from a Windows user who used it with Windows. Generally I feel users who leave a too-hasty and too-low review ought to go on record with an update or correction.
Cons: Above
Reviewed By:lwm,11/4/2014 10:47:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives G-Force Quad 4TB USB 3.0 / IEEE 1394a / IEEE 1394b x 2 / eSATA External Hard Drive Model GF4000QU3

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 This device does not work
Pros: None
Cons: This device does not work, it showed up one time and than never appeared again, no matter what I did or what any of the tech support at my school did. Faulty product, do not waste your money!
Reviewed By:N/A,10/20/2014 7:18:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Pro 2TB portable RAID storage with integrated Thunderbolt cable Model WDBRMP0020DBK-NESN

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It's a drive as I expected
Pros: This is a quick drive as expected. Raid options are nice although I didn't end up changing from the settings as shipped fom the factory.
Cons: There is no thunderbolt passthrough. The connector that holds the thunderbolt connector that connects to your computer is just a holder. There is nothing connected. I was hoping (didn't expect it) it would be an active pass-thru, but it was not. This is only a con if you are low on thunderbolt ports.
Reviewed By:Tony H.,10/13/2014 5:09:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport for Mac 500GB USB 3.0 Mac Storage Model WDBLUZ5000ASL-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Would buy again
Pros: As always I never have a problem with any of my WD drives. Works out of the box with Time Machine.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,10/12/2014 7:56:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim Portable Drive for MAC 500GB USB 3.0 STCF500102

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 AN ABSOLUTE DISASTER
Pros: Sleek appearance.
Cons: This is one of those drives that may need more than a USB port to power it.

The real problem (if it's fair to call it that) is that if you want to use it with Windows, as I did, something bizarre about its construction prevents it from formatting. It may work well with Mac, but not being recognizable by a Windows computer after deleting all partitions and putting in new ones (NTFS bootable MBR drive) is inexplicable and not tolerable. Neither Windows Disk Storage snap-in, nor Easeus partition manager, nor EVEN THE POWERFUL UNIX dd COMMAND could create a recognizable disk. I even downloaded the Seagate HFS+ driver and tried working with it that way, as a Mac disk. I took the drive to a different PC and got my partition recognized by Easeus partition manager but not by Windows. Even after doing a full backup of my drive using dd, I could not get Windows to recognize it, though some other backup software I have, Casper, did-- which means it might be possible to boot it or restore from it, but my wife sure can't use a filesystem-level copy program to do, as we hoped, incremental backups.

All in all, though my needs may be unusual, this product is WORTHLESS for my purposes. I did a perfect clone with dd and Windows can't even see it.
Other Thoughts: I hate wasting four hours, failing to get a device to perform, and having to send it back. Which I plan to do.
Reviewed By:lmalinofsky,10/10/2014 6:22:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport for Mac 1TB USB 3.0 Mac Storage Model WDBLUZ0010BSL-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works
Pros: It was quick and easy to set up with my Macbook Pro. I used it once to back up my laptop when I sent it out for service.
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/30/2014 9:26:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim Portable Drive for MAC 1TB USB 3.0 STDS1000100 Silver/Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Purchased two f these. They work great with TimeMachine on a Mac,
and look cool and sleek.
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:satisfied,9/28/2014 2:39:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.