Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB Black My Passport for Mac Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBJBS0010BSL-NESN

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 not very compatible with my iMac
Pros: small, great price
Cons: VERY slow to back up using Time Machine
Reviewed By:Joseph S.,6/6/2016 3:01:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > ioSafe > ioSafe SOLO G3 4TB 3.5" USB 3.0 Mac Storage Model SK4TBMAC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very nice.
Pros: I was looking for something that was safe. One day during tax season I was worried about fires. You would ask why would that happen? 85% of my clients are firefighters and I hear the horror stories some individuals encounter. Long story short I decided to search for something to protect my lifetime of things important and small. Mind you this was a purchase just for my personal use and will be adding more for business soon. But after searching and searching iosafe kept coming up. Great product. Great support. I had questions and they were glad to help. I own a Mac at home and no issues at all (didn't expect any). But so far great product, great looking, and nice to know everything important is safe. Would recommend.
Cons: Mounting possibles
Reviewed By:Alex,5/27/2016 7:23:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 1TB Silver My Passport for Mac Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBLUZ0010BSL ( CERTIFIED REFURBISHED )

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good refurb'd drive
Pros: Drive looked like new and started great. It had a disk image with encryption software that copied to another volume. The drive reformatted easily with Disk Utility to two partitions, and I was able to make a bootable clone on one the partition. The clone was functional after booting, indicating the drive functioned like a brand new one. I plan to buy one or two more, as this drive is the cheapest 7200 rpm 1 Tb 3.0 usb drive I could find.
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:burningRiverman,5/19/2016 7:36:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 2TB Silver My Passport for Mac Portable External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBZYL0020BSL (CERTIFIED REFURBISHED)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice for the deal price!
Pros: Excellent condition. No scratches or flaws that are visible. Simply reformat to work with Windows if you don't have a Mac. Bought this on sale for less than a 2TB internal 3.5" bare drive would cost. Had it running for several weeks without issue now.
Cons: No really a con since I knew about it, but these are thicker than the standard 2.5" laptop drives. Didn't matter to me but it might to someone else.
Other Thoughts: Time will tell the tale but so far this is a great purchase.
Reviewed By:Martin P.,5/8/2016 4:26:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Slim 500GB Portable External Drive for MAC with 200GB of Cloud Storage & Mobile Device Backup USB 3.0 - STCF500102

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Very fragile
Pros: - Included software was easy to use.
- Was able to use as plug & play.
- Simple design.
Cons: - Very fragile. Dropped about 3' onto wood floor after I'd had it a month and it never worked again.
Other Thoughts: I'd never buy another Seagate product. I got the 1TB version and it worked fine when I got it. I was also happy that it did not require the included software, but worked as a plug & play device. After having it a little over a month, I dropped it about 3' onto a wood floor and it was toast. My computer would never recognize it again after that. The outside housing seemed sturdy, so I'm guessing the inside components were the problem.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/28/2016 5:19:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book Studio 4TB 3.5" USB 3.0 External Hard Drive Model WDBCPZ0040HAL-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't work for wireless Time Machine backups
Pros: I don't see any "Pros" right now.
Cons: Doesn't work for wireless Time Machine backups. Western Digital tech support's only advice was to connect the drive by USB cable to my computers, which is absolutely ludicrous. (We have several computers in our home network and Time Machine does backups hourly. Imagine having to move cables and the USB drive around from computer to computer every hour and you get the idea. Moreover prior to January 7, 2016, wireless Time Machine backups to the USB drive were working just fine.) I have had several Western Digital drives but I'm going to replace them all if WD doesn't provide a satisfactory solution to the Time Machine backup problem.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this drive or ANY WD drive right now.
Reviewed By:Paul J.,2/26/2016 10:40:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Slim for Mac 500GB 2.5" USB 3.0 Mac Storage Model STCF500400

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best Slim Backup Drive on the Market for the Price
Pros: Design – No one makes a slimmer, better looking drive.

Longevity – Though not related to the drive itself, I can say I have three of these drives and all three have always functioned perfectly.

Transfer Speeds (Read) – This is where you really notice you have a Seagate drive. 12GB file transfer rate of 59.1Mbps, which is in line with my other Seagate drives, and much faster than my other USB 2.0 backup drives. The write speed was a little disappointing, compared to my other Seagate backup drives, but better than my other backup drives. It is covered in the con section. Seagate just makes great drives.

Online Interface – It will work with YouTube and Facebook, seamlessly.

USB 3.0 Interface – It is the reason the drive is so fast. Will not buy a drive without it.

Software – Seagate Dashboard is excellent software and makes it easy to share file and pics and update. For this product, the software is slimmed down, all pun intended, as to have just the necessary features for local drive and cloud backup. As with any backup drive software, you just want it to be easy to use and if you don’t realize it is there, then it is doing its job perfectly.

Direct Power – No need for an extra power cord, which is a deal killer for me as outlets are like gold.
Cons: Drop Test – Do not drop the drive on a hard surface from more than three feet. The drive case is made to take impact to a point, but since there is no foam impact protection inside, the case will break with a fall from over three feet. $1 in ultra-thin foam would fix the issue, but when Seagate is making 500K units, that cost adds up.

Transfer speeds (Write) – Same 12GB file was used for writing. Results were slower than I expected, but still effective at 36.2Mbps. Not a deal breaker with all the other features of the drive.
Other Thoughts: Use this drive for what is was made for, a backup drive, and you will have no issues. This is not a drive for continual use 24 hours a day. You also need to remember that this is a very thin drive that can be damaged if handled carelessly. It is the perfect lightweight drive for backup of files. It is not the fastest, but those drives cost a lot more.
Reviewed By:Mr. L.,2/24/2016 4:31:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 4TB My Book for Mac Desktop External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBYCC0040HBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Product, fits the need.
Pros: Works on Snow Leopard system as was advertised. Was concerned when product arrived and Snow Leopard was not listed in the specs on the box. Plugged it in and set it up for Time Machine backup, no problems at all.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Payne P.,2/8/2016 5:58:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Passport Edge for Mac 500GB 2.5" USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive Model WDBJBH5000ABK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great! UPDATE(2016/Jan): Drive just died, click click click
Pros: Silent, low power, reliable (so far). The small form factor and self-powered aspects are pluses as well.
Cons: None.
Update(2016/Jan): I used it a few times (maybe 4) and had it unplugged sitting on my desk. I used it just now for another Time Machine backup and it started to act weird. It would unmount spontaneously. Then after unplugging and plugging back in the USB port to power cycle, it just clicks now and no longer mounts!! This is unbelievable.
Other Thoughts: I use this drive to provide Time Machine backups for the 3 Macs in the house. Two of my Macs have USB2 ports, so these ports dominate the write speeds to the disk. Even though the TM backups took 20 or 30 min each, these were the first time backups which amounted to 60-90GB. Incremental backups will be much quicker. Pretty good drive, prefer WD over Seagate. And the price was right. :o)
Update(2016/Jan) As I stated in the cons section, it started to act up when running TM. TM first calculated a backup size of 10GB, then after it auto-unmounted and plugging back in, the second time TM calculated 110GB for the backup. Strange. Then unmounted and clicking proceeded. This is the 2nd Western Digital HD that has failed on me, and I dont even use them very much. Ridiculous.
Reviewed By:Michael P.,1/6/2016 10:14:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mac Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book Studio 2TB Desktop External Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far, so good!
Pros: A beefy 2tb at a good price. I use it mostly for backup but I keep/watch movies from it too. It has performed well for over 2 years now.
Cons: I can't remember if this had pre-installed software but if so I wiped it and use it as a basic disk.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent brand and it looks great on my desk. The high-quality aluminum enclosure perfectly matches my iMac.
Reviewed By:Jason P.,12/30/2015 10:37:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.