Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > CPU Fans & Heatsinks > Zalman Tech Co., Ltd > ZALMAN CNPS9500A-LED 92mm 2 Ball CPU Cooler

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Zero Improvement from Stock Heatsink
Pros: Looks Cool. Solid Copper.
Cons: Being that I am not a gamer and simply have a custom build due to the inherent reliability and the fact that you can choose where to put your money (Storage/Graphics/RAM), I am running on a 3.10GHz Intel Core i5-3350P.
The stock heatsink kept my processor running at around 40°c. This ZALMAN CNPS9500A, running at full fan speed, keeps my processor running at a nice cool...........40°c.
I don’t know much about processors, but my old processor used to run at 30°c, which is why I purchased this heatsink – I thought this one may be running a little too hot.

Due to its rather irritating design, I spent about 30 minutes trying to install this heatsink. The manual seemed to contradict itself, and My ASRock Z77 Extreme4 had a heatsink that seemed to be in the way, so I spent some time with my Dremel to shave off the fins that were in the way. Shortly after, this clumsy Intel clip dealie snapped. The manual didn’t seem to mention this second, much easier to work with clip that just used screws – but I ended up using that instead. Granted, I can’t really think of a heatsink that was EASY to install. Being that I went through all that headache to get the thing in there, I'm NOT going to pull it out just to get my ~$40 back.
Other Thoughts: Again,
I don’t know much about processors – so maybe this temperature is normal. My point is that the stock (in essence, free) heatsink is doing the same job as this massive thing.

That night, I looked online to find the flow direction of the fan. Again, being that the manual contradicted itself in several places, the fan may have been pointed in what one may argue was the wrong direction. Upon attempting to remove the heatsink for realignment, the screw threads as well as the nuts became stripped.
After a quick trip to Home Depot, I replaced the inexpensive hardware with that of thicker, higher quality and I am now back online. Further, the fan is no longer running at full speed at all times and seems to have even lowered the temp modestly by 2 or 3 degrees.
Reviewed By:Christopher M.,9/23/2016 1:23:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > CPU Fans & Heatsinks > Cooler Master > Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler with 120 mm PWM Fan

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Cooling performance on a budget
Pros: Extremely impressed with the performance of this cooler compared to the price. It comes with brackets that will mount onto any 120mm fan. I put a high pressure corsair on it and have not seen the temps go above 50, even with my 1070 putting off a ton of heat.
Cons: User manual could benefit from a set of written instructions. Depending on your case there is a good chance you will need to remove the MOBO to get it installed. My case has an opening behind the processor but still required MOBO removal due to the funny little screwdriver/wrench attachment needed to torque the mounting bolts.
Other Thoughts: The end result was well worth the minor headaches of installation.
Reviewed By:Matthew S.,9/23/2016 10:50:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > CPU Fans & Heatsinks > Cooler Master > Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler with 120 mm PWM Fan

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Well Designed, Functional for i7 Extreme Cooling
Pros: - Easy to install
- Many processors supported
- Price
- Easily handles TDP of i7-3770k Extreme processor
- Silent
- Fan airflow in directional line with typical rear ATX chassis fan
- Fan can be easily replaced if it ever wears out
- Fan can be oriented to either side easily
- Instructions are simple
Cons: - Size is very tall but still fit in standard CoolerMaster HAF chassis
- Secures well to the processor socket by still can rotate slightly
- Instructions are simple
Other Thoughts: I used Arctic Silver 5 for the thermal compound and cools Extreme processor very well. Make sure your processor TDP is under the supported TDP of any heatsink/fan. Be sure you have enough clearance in your chassis.
Reviewed By:Darek R.,9/23/2016 9:40:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > CPU Fans & Heatsinks > Noctua > Noctua NH-U12S 120x120x25 ( NF-F12 PWM) SSO2-Bearing ( Self-stabilising oil-presure bearing ) CPU Cooler

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Smooth Install
Pros: New build, Corsair high rise memory no problem. Looks not that good, but works great with I7-6700k cpu, idle at 33c, load at 50c to 55c
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: none
Reviewed By:Gary P.,9/23/2016 9:20:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > CPU Fans & Heatsinks > Intel > Intel Cooling Fan/Heatsink

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome! I would definitely buy this cooler again.
Pros: -Easy to install
-Quietish
-Works great
-High quality feel
Cons: -Zero
Other Thoughts: I bought this because it seemed like a good design and, honestly, because I am lazy and the Intel coolers are very easy to get on and off. The cooper core Intel cooler that I purchased (i5, i7 cooler) wasn't cutting it during gaming- mostly because there is a max overclocked GTX 970 sitting just a few inches below it dumping tons of hot air into the case's interior. The case has two fans, but... Anyway, HWMonitor showed my CPU (Haswell 4c/4t Xeon) running in the mid-to-high 70s during gaming, which is a little high for my taste. I have yet to see anything higher than 60c with the BXTS15A. That's pretty good considering ambient temp in the case can get real close 50c.
Reviewed By:Jay T.,9/23/2016 5:49:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > CPU Fans & Heatsinks > Cooler Master > Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler with 120 mm PWM Fan

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Low temps and quiet for the performance and price
Pros: very cool and quiet during normal use and still almost silent under load. i am running at 33c with a FX8350 during this review. during gaming it does not go above 50c at stock clock.
Cons: kinda big but that's to be expected
sits right above my low profile ram would be a problem on my computer if the ram was any taller.
Other Thoughts: this would be a perfect choice to anyone wanting a quieter and cooler computer than what the stock coolers can provide with every penny
Reviewed By:Timothy I.,9/22/2016 11:47:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > CPU Fans & Heatsinks > Noctua > Noctua NH-D15 SSO2 D-Type Premium CPU Cooler, NF-A15 x 2 PWM Fans

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Cools wonderfully, and is whisper quiet.
Pros: - Even at top fan speeds, you can barely hear it.
- It seriously cools things down.
- Looks beautiful, despite the odd brown fans.
- Solid construction.
Cons: - Not a con, but just a caution. This thing is BIG. It's hard to get a sense of scale from the picture but it's seriously like half the size of my head. I didn't have any problem fitting it in my chassis, but do take heed of the documentation to ensure your RAM is not too tall.
Reviewed By:ROBERT H.,9/22/2016 10:07:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > CPU Fans & Heatsinks > Cooler Master > Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO - CPU Cooler with 120 mm PWM Fan

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great HSF, if it fits in your case.
Pros: Amazing cooling capabilities for processors that normally run hotter.
Heatsink feels cool enough to touch, even while under load.
Very quiet, even when close to maximum RPM. The only noise you can hear is just air being pushed.
Cons: Fan seemed to have events of vibrating.
Heatsink, itself, is rather tall. Ends of the copper heatpipes sticking out of the heatsink fins *may* pose a serious impediment for most ATX mid-tower cases, making shutting the side panel door unlikely.
Will not fit with RAM sticks that do not have low profile heatsinks, which will force the user to move their RAM sticks (or stick, if not using dual channel) a slot back.
Mounting solution, from the get-go, including the included instructions, are very difficult. Instructions provided by Cooler Master tend to be rather confusing, and were not very thorough enough to understand.
Other Thoughts: I bought this primarily for my brother, because he has a custom gaming computer that uses an AMD FX-8320 Black Edition (8-core) processor. The stock HSF is awfully loud when under load (whether watching videos on YouTube or playing video games, the former shouldn't be that intensive). Having this makes a night and day difference for both noise levels and heat dissipation, but I would have given this five eggs out of five if it wasn't so big. I also sincerely doubt it'll fit in my Thermaltake V41 Mid-tower case.
Reviewed By:David D.,9/22/2016 8:19:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > CPU Fans & Heatsinks > Cooler Master > Cooler Master Hyper TX3 - CPU Cooler with 3 Direct Contact Heatpipes

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent.
Pros: wonderful build quality despite low price range
came with plethora of mounting hardware for the creative or worrysome types
hardware for 2nd fan addition
Cons: It didn't reply when I asked it to be my Best Man at wedding...
Other Thoughts: Running old am3 dual core 2.7ghz stable at 3.7ghz (x.x) never has breached 44*C running prime overnight. Hit 51*C at 3.9ghz lollz... Although is a low watt cpu, and have gobs of case fans effectively purifying the living room air, I'd comfortably wager this on a much higher duty application. Used the supplied AMD lever clamp thingy with Arctic Silver 5 and achieved solid pressure contact with acceptable stability. If supplied fan ever balks, will replace with higher grade CoolerMaster fan(s) for push/pull 4ghz+ insanity. Love it
Reviewed By:Jack H.,9/22/2016 6:06:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > CPU Fans & Heatsinks > Noctua > Noctua NH-D9L 92mm SSO2 Low-profile Premium CPU Cooler, NF-A9 PWM Fans

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The Austrians don't mess around
Pros: Wow. The packaging was amazing. It came with high-quality thermal paste, all of the brackets, and nicely printed instructions. You can tell these guys know quality. Installing onto an Intel board also was pretty straightforward as long as you can take the back off your PC case
Cons: I hate the fan clip. It's clever, but somewhat flimsy. The fan spacers also were annoying
Reviewed By:Joseph P.,9/21/2016 11:59:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.