Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > VGA Cooling > ARCTIC COOLING > ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme IV Enthusiast VGA Cooler-nVidia/AMD, Triple 92mm PWM Fans, Patented Back-Side Heatsink, SLI/CrossFire

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Installed on a stock R9 290x after getting tired of the wind tunnel cooler that it comes with.

After playing Crysis 3 on High for 30 minutes, the core and vrm temps hovered around 65c, with the fans on max.

Even on max the fan is barely audible if you're playing a game or listening to music.
Cons: Took a couple hours to figure out how to install the cooler, while triple checking to make sure that everything was done right.
Other Thoughts: Use a fan control software.

During my first run with this the vrms were hitting borderline uncomfortable temperatures (107c~) as a direct result of the fans not going above 25% because the stock card doesn't bring its own fan on until its core hits a rather high temperature (which this cooler was keeping well below that, even with the fans on lowest).

Once I realized this and set up my own profile for the fans this worked absolutely flawlessly.
Reviewed By:Cell,7/8/2014 2:30:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VGA Cooling > NZXT > NZXT RL-KRG10-R1 Sleeve Kraken G10 GPU Bracket

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great cooler
Pros: Used with Thermaltake water 3.0 Pro radiator, its a good thick rad that i recommend if youre gonna overclock extremely high (ex R9 290 @1.2Ghz) Holds said clock to 89C at load
Cons: Getting the block on is kinda annoying,but not that hard, It is also notable that sometimes the paint on the kraken g10s is that the paint can mess up the screw holes to screw down your cpu(Gpu in this situation) block.
Reviewed By:Auxine,7/7/2014 11:44:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VGA Cooling > NZXT > NZXT RL-KRG10-B1 Sleeve Kraken G10 GPU Bracket

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great.. if done properly (and dangerous too)
Pros: This thing keeps your GPU cool. If you do it right, of course.

You really gotta tighten that bracket down. Make sure you can not see any gaps or openings between the waterblock and the gpu core. BUT DON'T TIGHTEN IT TOO MUCH OR YOU WILL BEND YOUR PCB. I tightened it down to a good degree and have a tiny, very slight bend. which is not good, but i'm fine with it as long as my temps are good. And they're not so bad - about 48-50 C under FULL load on a gtx 780 6gb. Bear in mind that my ambient temps are real bad (30-35 C)

And don't put too much thermal paste, a little pea sized dot is more than enough. Also don't use arctic silver or you'll blow your gpu
Cons: You really gotta do it right. took me a few tries and a few reapplications of thermal goop. Make sure that puppy is nice and tight - but not TOO tight.

And this thing is heavy when you pair it with an x40. Turns your GPU into a 3 slot card. with some added gpu sag as a bonus.

last but not least. don't plug the pump into your motherboard or you might fry it - just plug it into your power supply with a molex to 3 pin adapter. i actually fried my mobo by using the usb header on the x40. don't use it.
Other Thoughts: the manual is awful and confusing
Reviewed By:john thomas,7/4/2014 11:42:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > VGA Cooling > ARCTIC COOLING > ARCTIC Accelero Twin Turbo III VGA Cooler for nVidia & AMD, Dual 92mm PWM Fans, Patented Backside Heatsink, SLI/CrossFire

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Should be a 5 egger
Pros: I'm sure it would work well as advertised had is shipped with the parts correctly.
Cons: Major issue with their support. It's non-existent! Their warranty page leads to their home page, and after emailing (no phone numbers anywhere) support I haven't heard back after a week. I was very excited for this product, and have purchased many Arctic products in the past, however, unless this gets resolved quickly, I will never support such an unhelpful company again. Very bitter taste in my mouth.
Other Thoughts: The actual issue I have is that one of the 4 heatsync mounting screws wasn't machined properly and came without threading, honest mistake, and all I want is a new screw. I don't want to pay for shipping or have drive to the store, just ship me a new screw. unfortunately this is seemingly impossible.
Thanks for the headache.
Reviewed By:Ben,7/4/2014 9:37:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VGA Cooling > NZXT > NZXT RL-KRG10-W1 Sleeve Kraken G10 GPU Bracket

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 paint to thick
Pros: It cooled my gtx 780 ti from 80-83 C full ultra settings on my fav games bf4 bf3 farcry down to 40-43 C top using corsair h55 120mm, perfect choice i made!!
Cons: I did not give 5 eggs because: the ring where the h55 goes in has WAY WAY to much paint, i had to manually scratch the paint off with a knife, (dangerous) the teeth that lock the ring with the h55 also TO MUCH paint! I spend about an hour trying to remove some of that paint... And the instructions are lame, this is my first time liquid cooling a gpu
Other Thoughts: It is a great silent adapter and yes i am happy i do recommend,
Reviewed By:N/A,7/4/2014 9:17:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VGA Cooling > GELID Solutions Ltd. > GELID Solutions GC-VGA02-01 1 Ball, 1 Sleeve VGA Cooler

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 GELID VGA Cooler
Pros: -Great VGA cooler.
-Decently quiet even though I have it hooked directly to the video card (makes it run at 100%).
-Heat sinks galore, tedious but well worth the time.
-Runs max 74C under load (stock R9 290 tends to run up to 91C which is insane). This is in a mid-sized tower.
Cons: -Watch out for the power wiring for the fans, I had to personally adjust the power/negative wires to keep off the copper tubing, they have little slots they should be in on the sidings to the fan.

-Large. Including card, takes up about 2.5 slots so be ready for the room.

-Runs at 100% fan speed if hooked directly into your video card. If you want fan control through the computer, connect the power to your motherboard. Might need an adapter.

-A couple pieces aren't meant for the R9 290/290x, see "other thoughts."
Other Thoughts: Get these two items for smooth install for R9 290/290x:

*Cooling expansion kit meant for R9 290/290x*
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835426042

Ceramic thermal paste:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835100014

*NOTE* For the thermal paste, do NOT over apply it. The less space of heat transfer between the two contacts, the better. It should be a Very thin layer, a small amount goes quite far.

Overall, a great product. Just do your research and install it safely and correctly.
Reviewed By:Ryan,6/30/2014 6:08:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VGA Cooling > ARCTIC COOLING > ARCTIC Accelero Twin Turbo III VGA Cooler for nVidia & AMD, Dual 92mm PWM Fans, Patented Backside Heatsink, SLI/CrossFire

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great heatsink and fan.
Pros: As in the title, great heatsink and fan, I'm sure it's amazing.
Cons: Complete and utter garbage brackets, spaces, washers, screws, and over-all tightening mechanism in the design.If you can get it to set properly and actually contact your GPU thats great, enjoy quarter turning those 2mm thin screwns 2cm long waiting for them twist and snap like 2 of mine did.
Other Thoughts: I'll keep the heatsink and backplate around for a future build just so I don't lose out on the 64.99 I dropped, but I'd highly recommend NOT going for something -this- universal. It sounds great on paper but when you actually try to install it on one of the older cards it says it supports, good luck or just DON'T do it!
Reviewed By:Jam.,6/28/2014 6:21:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VGA Cooling > ARCTIC COOLING > ARCTIC Accelero Twin Turbo III VGA Cooler for nVidia & AMD, Dual 92mm PWM Fans, Patented Backside Heatsink, SLI/CrossFire

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Brrrrr chilly!
Pros: ~Sleek looking
~Shiny!
~Keeps temps low like advertised
~Quiet, very quiet.
~Easy install
Cons: Size, but knew that when I bought it.
Other Thoughts: Looks and works wonderfully! Silent but very effective! Which is a huge plus for a selling point. Nice and sturdy and the mounting bracket helps a lot. My video cards now weigh a ton! Some say the instructions are tough to interpret. They are pretty straight forward, just have to be careful. Mainly just pictures and little wording. But this VGA cooler is definitely worth the money. If you don't have the moolah for H2O cooling get these. But make sure your case and motherboard can fit these. I have a huge full size tower so no issues there. But if you are running Sli or Crossfire, make sure your MB has the ability to space your set up and be able to have a longer Sli bridge.
Reviewed By:Atrtehgeek,6/28/2014 4:32:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VGA Cooling > ARCTIC COOLING > ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme IV Enthusiast VGA Cooler-nVidia/AMD, Triple 92mm PWM Fans, Patented Back-Side Heatsink, SLI/CrossFire

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Probably best VGA cooler around
Pros: The temperatures are amazing.
Cons: Biggest con is that they removed RAM and VRM heat sinks.. like what were they thinking?

Remove that useless "back plate" and gives us back the heat sinks which actually made a difference in temperature.

People are getting amazing temperatures on the GPU all over the net but the VRM's are hitting 105-110 degrees C for some people.. Come on Arctic.. Scrap the backplates and put the heatsinks back.

I am who tested this and what were they thinking?

Was this even tested at all?

People should stick to the ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme III until they fix this. They are compatible with R9 290/X anyways.
Reviewed By:some annoyed guy,6/28/2014 2:24:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VGA Cooling > ARCTIC COOLING > ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme IV Enthusiast VGA Cooler-nVidia/AMD, Triple 92mm PWM Fans, Patented Back-Side Heatsink, SLI/CrossFire

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 COOL stuff!
Pros: - Works extremely well cooling down 290X
- Almost silent, barely any sound at all
- Great customer service, very responsive
Cons: - Bulky, need metal to get rid of the heat perhaps
Other Thoughts: Read a lot comments from both sides before ordering. Haven’t seen better alternative, stock cooler can’t cut it. Saw lots of funny comments all over though.

Followed instructions, mounted on 290X. Agreed with some, not easy one to mount, took time. But 290X demanded attention. Left room for airflow, set fans @ 100% and benchmarking 72 hours straight. Temps fell off the cliff compare to stock. Cooler didn’t budge.

Gaming heavily for last 3 weeks, two opponents on 290X but with stock dropped off in smoke, kicked some serious rearends. 290X worked great, temps under control. Again, Xtreme IV didn’t budge. Don’t mind fans @ 100%, better be careful than sorry, very quiet anyway.

Needed extra stuff during installation, lost them, my bad. Emailed Arctic and got what I asked for in days by mail. Cool service. Much better than what I can say about some others.

Rid stock cooling before taking 290X into battle. Good to go here with Xtreme IV
Reviewed By:HCGamer,6/26/2014 12:59:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau