Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Server Standard 2008 R2 SP1 64-Bit (1 - 4 CPU, 5CALs) - OEM

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Microsoft Windows Server Standard 2008 R2 SP1 64-Bit (1 - 4 CPU, 5CALs) - OEM
Pros: Easy and quick install. All the standard features were included. Excellent O/S!
Cons: The price is still way too high even when including 5 CAL's
Reviewed By:mcmamj15,6/15/2014 7:37:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials 64B 1-2CPU - OEM

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A HUGE bang for your buck.
Pros: The price to feature set of this Windows Server package is great. 25 Client licenses and all the basic features most small offices need (File & Print Sharing, Active Directory, DHCP, DNS, etc). The Included windows backup is quite good and the ability to backup workstations as a complete restorable image is wonderful.

R2 version includes hyper-v roles, and rights to run virtualized if desired. In fact, I'd say this is a good option for shops whom want to virtualize with Hyper-V server, but want good backups and gui support. I've personally had great success with Hyper-V and CentOS 6.5 VMs. An odd combo for sure, but VERY cost effective for reasons beyond the scope of this review.
Cons: At first glance the 'wizardy' setup and streamlined admin menus are off-putting for us old timers who've been working with MS server since the NT days. Expect to re-install a couple times to learn the 'correct' answers to the wizards and you'll get a system configured exactly how you want. Sometimes the wizards build a setup that cannot be changed later (IE Computer Name).
Other Thoughts: Once I got a feel for how the wizards and new interfaces work, I have to say I'm a believer. They really do save time accomplishing 90% of the repetitive setup steps with clients. I'd guess I can roll out a new client server configuration in half the time.

Basic install came to about 13 gigs. I was able to install the OS to SSD, then easily 'move' all the pre-built shared folders to larger RAID storage arrays. You can also create your own shares the same as previous versions of Windows Server.

Do your homework. Essentials comes with some heavy limitations for large/multi-site operations, but for most small offices, this is a great option. Thanks Microsoft.
Reviewed By:Good Electrons,4/27/2014 2:55:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials 64B 1-2CPU - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid OS
Pros: Perfect for home or small office usage, and IMO the price isn't terrible considering it includes CALs for 25 users/50 devices.

Really loving the centralized client backup feature. works great, and it utilizes data de-duplication to maximize storage efficiency.

My other favorite Server 2012 feature is NIC Teaming/LBFO. Super easy to set up, especially 'switch independent' mode. Basically just run thru the wizard and plug in your LAN cables.

Essentials also includes all the 'standard' features such as AD, DNS, DHCP, WSUS, etc etc.
Cons: I wish it came with 2 VM licenses
Other Thoughts: 2012 R2 Essentials license DOES include virtualization rights. You get (1) Physical and (1) Virtual instance. In this configuration, the Physical instance can ONLY run the Hyper-V role, you must remove all other roles to be in compliance.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/9/2014 7:01:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Server Standard 2008 R2 SP1 64-bit w/ 5 CALs - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 seems very solid
Pros: i haven't had any trouble with this on several servers.
Cons: backup doesn't seem to handle multiple removeable volumes
Reviewed By:N/A,4/7/2014 10:02:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials 64B 1-2CPU - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Great os for a small company. Lots of amazing features like the backup features.
Cons: The price is frigging so much!
Reviewed By:N/A,3/20/2014 7:46:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Server Standard 2012 R2 2CPU/2VM - Base License

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 R2 Duh2
Pros: this is just like windows 8 without the ambushmarketing dashboard, still have to spend hours configuring heads up
to look like ordinary Unix / xp dashboard
Cons: same old microsoft territorial dominance- can't pass go can't move unless simon sayz, have to pay money every time your processor farts, wouldn't it be nice if you could have a computer that doesn't sue you every time you earn money?
Other Thoughts: wouldn't it be nice if you could get one operating system for one computer instead of getting taxed, every time someone else logs on to it?
Reviewed By:duh,3/6/2014 1:22:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

6 out of 34 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Server 2012 R2 Essentials 64B 1-2CPU - OEM

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not sure yet
Pros: The price is right. OS install was pretty quick.
Cons: What the heck is the big idea of putting a tablet GUI on a SERVER OS?

Really MS? Give me a break.

It isn't easy to get around in, they've changed everything just enough so that you have to relearn stuff that worked in 2003 and 2008.

I will likely not be selling another server running 2012. It is a pain in the neck to work in.
Other Thoughts: Dear Microsoft,

We don't like the tile interface as the only option.

I will not sell any more MS software that doesn't have a proper desktop interface. You'll probably never notice the drop in sales, but that doesn't change the fact that even my customers that initially liked Windows 8 have sold their new PC and got me to order them refurbs with Windows 7 Pro.
Reviewed By:0ldman,2/10/2014 8:04:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

11 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Home Server 2011 64-bit - OEM

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Home Server hosted as a VM
Pros: The pros are that this works and seems to be very reliable based on the many times I've used it to move a "computer" from one piece of hardware to another for HW upgrades, restore from broken hard drive etc.

There are plenty of new ways to do backups using the same services of the OS that Home server uses. The real benefit is that it "just happens" so that your household or small office can have backups without having to worry.
Cons: If only Microsoft actually understood the consumer marketplace, but clearly they don't have any expertise or drive there any longer.
Other Thoughts: The best way to use this version of home server is to actually build a Linux box with ZFS pools for your disks. Then, install home server as a virtual machine. I like to use VirtualBox since it runs in so many different places and I can take VMs between machines that way to run it where ever I need to. With ZFS, you get zfs-scrub to maintain the integrity of your disks, as well as the ability to add more space as new "virtual drives" of what ever size you have available, instead of having to grow with the required increments of physical raid systems.

I use mirrored drives on ZFS for my critical data, and then raidz2 it its just big stuff that I really like to not have to recreate.
Reviewed By:grwww,2/5/2014 9:37:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Home Server 2011 64-bit - OEM

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Usefull yet imited
Pros: Purchased this from Newegg and have been using this server software since it came out in 2011. Works well for basic backup needs. Yet it is limited to 8GB of RAM. I just migrated to a new Intel Haswell setup with SATA 6Gbps and new Western Digital 3TB drives to match for video streaming. A nice low power setup using the Corsair CX500M power supply. Used to have an old Pentium D computer that was a power hog.
Cons: Limited to 8GB of memory. A bit slow in some circumstances. Not a full blown server. Make sure server is fully updated via Windows Update prior to backing up clients. For clients that utilize Unified BIOS you need to apply a patch then you can backup the clients.
Reviewed By:MattK,2/5/2014 8:05:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Home Server 2011 64-bit - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good for simple home server
Pros: I finally decided to upgrade over the original WHS software. Installed easily. I did install the OS on a 120 vs the recommended minimum 160 drive. Google how to there are plenty of sites to show you how. very easily done.

I know that Essentials 2012 is replacing this and WHS 2011 MS isnt continuing with the home server software, but I couldnt justify spending $400 on server software when 50 does what I need.

If still available purchase it.
Cons: Only con so far was migrating 3tb of data from the old WHS to the new. It is a PITA, as it is manual. MS doesnt provide an easy migration path or software to do so. Copy files/folder from one drive to another. You cant do on the same machine either.

WHS2011 no longer supports 'drive extender' or what ever it was called, so you will need to look into a pooling software if you arent going to run RAID. There are 2 very good products out there for this an they are very affordable.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for an inexpensive home server software and you dont want to spend a lot then I recommend WHS 2011.
Reviewed By:IndyDad,1/29/2014 5:02:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau