Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model UH12NS30

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 UH12NS30-OEM
Pros: it was time to upgrade, with the $15 off promo code it was a steal...plug and play, burned a DVD to test right away, as with most DVD/CD writer/players today it does makes some noise on spinup, but otherwise very quiet...
Cons: obviously none so far...
Other Thoughts: Upgraded to be able to play Blue-Ray disks and still have DVD/CD writing...hopefully it will give years of smooth operation...got the extended three year warranty, it kicks in after the one year manu warranty expires, so for $10 four years of total coverage, a very inexpensive insurance, highly recommended...
Reviewed By:baldy feathers,1/27/2015 7:15:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ASUS Blu ray Player
Pros: Works , nice and quite
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,1/23/2015 5:18:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model UH12NS30

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Easy Upgrade to my Media Server
Pros: I just added this drive to as a PCTV Gateway system that I use as a media server for my home theatre. Worked right away, recognized and played DVD and BD with no problem. Helps cut down on clutter and space usage with eliminating a free standing BD player that I was using
Cons: OEM. so no cables, documentation or anything else in the package; very bare bones.
Other Thoughts: Quick, easy install; was up and running in 15 minutes out of the box. Bought on sale at $35
Reviewed By:N/A,1/22/2015 8:08:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model UH12NS30

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Fine
Pros: -inexpensive for a Blu-ray drive
-reasonable read/write speeds
-front panel has an attractive brushed aluminum appearance
Cons: -slightly noisy when it first spins up a disc, but about normal after that
-doesn't come with a SATA cable or mounting screws, as per the OEM
Other Thoughts: This will need additional software to play Blu-ray format movies. Contrary to popular belief, however, there are some free solutions available. The issue relates to the encoding of Blu-ray format movies, so this is more of a software problem than a hardware problem, and I imagine that most drives will have this issue.

I have had Blu-ray drives in a couple computers that I own, but honestly I have rarely ever used them to play Blu-ray movies. In theory it's nice to have the option available, but in practice I would advise others to consider whether they really need it or not.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/17/2015 10:20:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model UH12NS30

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Stopped working
Pros: Easy to install, just about plug and play. Didn't need any drivers or anything to make it work.
Cons: Stopped working not even a month into ownership. The disc does not even spin. I insert a disc and the blue light in front blinks a few times and then never again. And when I open the tray, the disc is in the same spot it was when I put it in, meaning it didn't even try to read it. Not sure what happened, but it stopped working without warning. Disappointed.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/16/2015 10:24:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked - Sorta
Pros: Was a nice deal, I usually like and trust ASUS products.
Cons: It took more than 5 minutes to access any disks, and when any disk was inserted, it sounded like a wood chipper with dulled blades.
Other Thoughts: RMA'd no problem. I did replace it with another ASUS drive, just not this model. We'll see how that goes.
Reviewed By:CraxyMitch,1/12/2015 4:41:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model UH12NS30

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Drive
Pros: Lightening fast read/write.
Silky smooth playback.
Perfect color match to my Thermaltake Chaser full ATX tower.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:Xero Peace,1/10/2015 2:34:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal 12X Blu-ray Combo Drive Model UH12NS29

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 This is a blind drive.
Pros: It opens, closes and can be seen by my computer.
Cons: This can't see any discs that I put in it.
Other Thoughts: Might as well be a cup holder.
Reviewed By:Wabefuhon,1/8/2015 7:30:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG 6X BD-ROM 8X DVD-ROM 24X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-Ray Drive For Notebooks Model CT40N

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The Perfect Companion for the HEC ITX200B Case!
Pros: Perfect Fit, works as intended. No issues encountered with installation. The HEC case came with the required screws to mount it. Not as loud as I was expecting it to be; I sit about 12 feet from my TV/PC setup (or maybe I am slightly hard-of-hearing)
Cons: No issues encountered during installation
Other Thoughts: This is the perfect fit for my HTPC.

I used this in the HTC ITX200B case (http://www.neweggbusiness.com/product/product.aspx?item=9b-11-121-114), and, to my pleasant surprise, the case came with the required mini SATA power connector/SATA cable combo. No additional adapter required.
Reviewed By:RICHARD O.,1/4/2015 8:56:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 DIED IN JUST UNDER 2 YEARS
Pros: Worked great, fast and quiet.
Cons: Completely quit reading discs in just under 2 years (got it for Christmas in 2012, stopped working Christmas Eve 2014). Very frustrating that I am already having to purchase a new drive. WIll not likely buy ASUS again due to premature failure. Was only used to rip 10-20 Blu-ray disks. Warranty should be better, (or at least build-quality should be better). WOuld give 4-5 stars if it hadnt failed, or was covered by warranty.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/30/2014 10:42:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.