Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: Unknown. It will play DVD's and read CD's but it will not play a Blue Ray DVD. It is suppose to be a plug and play unit according to ASUS support.
Cons: Will not play Blue Ray DVD's and that was the purpose of the purchase.
Other Thoughts: I tried it with Windows Media Player and Corel WinDVD Pro 11 software. Both would not accept the Blue Ray.

ASUS tech support said to return the optical drive.

I cannot find any drivers or software that will fix the problem although it sounds like a software issue. Any suggestions?
Reviewed By:Mark,5/21/2015 8:27:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal 12X Blu-ray Combo Drive Model UH12NS29

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 CD-ROM
Pros: It is a lot faster than my one I used in my first build and not nearly as loud. No problems with it at all besides the little noise when running.
Cons: Even though it is not as loud as the one I had on my first build when it is running you can still hear it.
Other Thoughts: Hate windows 8.1 for getting to the CD-ROM Drive to run anything in it if it doesn't auto run.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/20/2015 3:53:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Disc Drive Model UH12NS30

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works But...
Pros: Unit works well. Unfortunately, when I ordered this for my "expensive system" I neglected to notice that while this is rated as a Blu-ray drive, and does write disks - it does not write Blu-ray disks. Oh, it writes ever thing else, but not Blu-Ray. Reads them, but doesn't write. I'm not sure why you would ever need this configuration - but OK. Now I need to buy another one, roughly the same price - that writes them too.
Cons: Does not WRITE Blu-Ray disks, even though if writes everything else. Difficult to tell that part without going into specifications.
Reviewed By:BobbyMac,5/19/2015 8:24:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Disc Drive Model UH12NS30

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as intended
Pros: Fast, compatible and relatively low drive noise.
Cons: Drive tray feels slightly flimsy, but it does not detract from the operation of the drive.
Other Thoughts: Worthwhile purchase for an affordable and capable Blu-Ray drive. Used every day for 8+ hours since purchase with no issues to transcode disks to home streaming setup.
Reviewed By:GreatMrE,5/18/2015 8:41:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Disc Drive Model UH12NS30

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 DOES NOT BURN BLURAY
Pros: There is nothing wrong with this device. It burns/reads DVDs, CDs, and reads BluRay. Works to specs. Nice brushed metal exterior with black finish.
Cons: I give this 5 eggs because I should have read the specs more closely. I thought I saw a BluRay burner on sale, so I bought it. This should have been more prominent, in my opinion. Again, no product defects, just disappointed.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/16/2015 8:41:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great!
Pros: This has been my optical drive since 2012. I've used it for many Blu-ray movies, downloading music to iTunes from CD's, and even writing OS ISO and music playlists onto disks. Every time I've used it, it's worked flawlessly.
Cons: Sometimes this drive randomly opens when I boot up my system, and usually refuses to stay closed until I have closed it a few times consecutively. I suspect it's faulty due to another piece of hardware in my computer, so no real complaint about this product here.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend it, built to last!
Reviewed By:iLuke182,5/10/2015 6:43:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Disc Drive Model UH12NS30

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Works, but loud
Pros: Works.
Cons: When there's a disc spinning in it, it sounds like a lawn mower.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/29/2015 9:49:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Disc Drive Model UH12NS30

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Finally got around to installing this. Got it working with Linux Mint, plays every Blu-ray I have tried so far. Not too loud as far as optical drives go. Very good price.
Cons: None yet.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/24/2015 10:11:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Software not included
Pros: hardware works as expected and does what it needs to. A good purchase for the price
Cons: software that is included does not support bluray disks. You have to find and install additional software in order to make use of watching any blu ray disks.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a decent purchase but keep in mind that you will need some software that is able to read and play the bluray.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/21/2015 12:04:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: none
Cons: it doesn't work. It worked long enough to install my OS onto the computer I was building, now for some odd reason my OS doesn't even recognize that it is even plugged in at all. any solutions?
Reviewed By:N/A,4/10/2015 1:02:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.