Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner WH16NS40

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fast
Pros: Pretty fast, has read and written everything I've tried so far. Quieter than most drives I've had, though no the quietest.
Cons: none so far
Other Thoughts: Do notice the Eject button styling when looking at the pics, just incase your using this behind a modded panel or special case that uses a lever or mechanism to push against a standard style drive eject button.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/14/2014 7:57:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner WH16NS40

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dont' Buy It!
Pros: It's quiet. Nice bezel design.
Cons: Did not come with software so Windows does not recognize blu ray discs. Defeats the purpose of owning the drive. Tried to install a game and for some reason the system recognized the game disc as a blank rewritable disc and thus will not see any data. Yes, the disc works fine in any other drive.
Other Thoughts: I'll never buy another LG product, EVER. What a waste of time and money. Sticking with ASUS from now. They've never let me down.
Reviewed By:Adler,4/14/2014 1:23:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 12X DVD-RAM 8X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner BW-12B1ST/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 So far so good
Pros: Great price for a drive. I was close to buying a DVD burner that could play blu-rays, but bought this instead when I saw the price, plus the rebate. I haven't burned any CD's DVD's or blu-rays yet, but it does a good job with Blu-ray playback, which is why I bought it. I'm using a trial version of Cyberlink Power DVD 13.
Cons: No Blu-ray playback software.
Reviewed By:Stan,4/10/2014 3:55:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > Sony Optiarc America Inc > SONY Black 6X BD-R 2X BD-RE 8X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 6X BD-ROM 4.5 Mbyte Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner BD-5730S-01

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does Great
Pros: Bought this at Newegg in 2010 what I like about it is - If I need to update it its available through SONY on the Internet.

Works great in my Toshiba Satellite M645-S4114 and my Dell Optiplex with the SATA controller.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: If you need something that can be updated if it needs it and has a SATA Connector this is one of them
Reviewed By:SLM,4/9/2014 10:55:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 14X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA BDXL Blu-ray Burner, Bare Drive, 3D Play Back (WH14NS40) - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good value
Pros: Fast read/write speeds
Simple installation
Cons: Nothing worth noting
Other Thoughts: Haven't yet used it to write, and I read from other reviews that it gets a bit loud, but it has been extremely quiet through disc installations
Reviewed By:Dan Meyer,4/9/2014 10:52:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 14X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA BDXL Blu-ray Burner, Bare Drive, 3D Play Back (WH14NS40) - OEM

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 LG
Pros: Of course the price was right, and of course NewEgg is great for getting things ship real fast. This unit does what it is advertised to do, and installation is basic.
Cons: Does not come with any BluRay movie player software, and LG has none at their web site for download. Oh well, just another buck spent on for BluRay player software (application).
Other Thoughts: Well worth the NewEgg price, and finally, blank BluRay disks are getting lower in in cost.
Reviewed By:Experience Counts,4/8/2014 1:05:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner WH16NS40

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No Support
Pros: Works while it lasts
Cons: LG refuses to supply even basic support for their product after the warranty period
Other Thoughts: I have the previous version of this product. After a couple of years, it stopped reading DVD discs. After going through their terrible support system, and sending them the same information multiple times, they refuse to support the product. It has a terrible 1-year parts and labor warranty, which apparently they also apply to all service. I have never had a company flat-out refuse technical support on the basis of a hardware warranty. This is a first.
This will be the last time I purchase any LG product for my PC, or recommend LG PC products to anyone else.
Reviewed By:Caldrumr,4/8/2014 12:09:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner WH16NS40

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 strange reviews
Pros: Burns Blu-ray
Cons: Speed for DVDr discs is slow compared to cheap dvdr only burners
Reviewed By:Chris,4/8/2014 11:13:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 14X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA BDXL Blu-ray Burner, Bare Drive, 3D Play Back (WH14NS40) - OEM

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Sorta works
Pros: Burned a BD-R, read the BD-R, and played back a burned DVD. Also allowed me to install the OS from a burned DVD. Got it on sale.
Cons: Does not read non-burned media. Commercial DVDs simply cannot be watched. Tried different DVDs, different software, and different PCs. Drive is defective, gotta return. So disappointed.
Other Thoughts: I waited too long to assemble my HTPC and confirm that this drive is a dud so I cannot RMA. Based on the other reviews, it seems like this drive is hit or miss. YMMV

Looks like I'm going to forfeit my savings from getting the drive on sale to ship it back to LG for repairs/replacement.
Reviewed By:clockboy92,4/6/2014 6:36:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner WH16NS40

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Beautifully
Pros: Works right out of the box. Easy installation, good size, and very slick looking face. Good burn speed for the price... burned a 3GB DVD in under 2 1/2 minutes.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: I also tried this out playing a Blu-Ray movie, and once I obtained the correct drivers for Media Center, it played it perfectly. Just what I hoped for. Very happy with this drive!
Reviewed By:N/A,4/6/2014 6:10:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau