Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Electronics 14x SATA Blu-ray Internal Rewriter without Software, Black Model WH14NS40 - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works like a charm
Pros: Does exactly as advertised.
Easy to hook up and registered with the system immediately.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: If I know I'm going to use a Blu-ray, I would go this route again. Otherwise, a typical DVD-ROM or card reader option is cheaper. I would recommend this for anyone who is sure they'll need the option.
Reviewed By:Jason G.,9/28/2016 3:30:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 6X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner WH16NS40

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 BluRay disc verification is touchy on older/slow computers.
Pros: Works with M-DISC out of the box. I haven't needed to update the firmware. I haven't burned any coasters.
Cons: I wasn't able to update the firmware from Windows. I read that you're suppose to hold the eject button while powering up the computer. Then you can update the firmware from Windows.
I haven't tried that method yet, because the drive works with everything so far.
My computer is almost too old to use this drive.
Other Thoughts: I have an older computer with an Intel dual core, running at 2.93GHz, with 4GB of RAM and Windows 7 32-bit OS. My system doesn't have the resources to properly verify 25GB burns. Everything burns correctly, but the image used to verify the burn can become corrupted before the verification process completes, causing it to fail. There is a workaround that I've found. I go to the Windows Task Manager (Ctrl+Shift+Esc) processes tab, and I change the priority of the burning software to high. Then, I don't use the computer for anything else until the disc is done. It's not a very elegant solution, but it works, and I don't need to buy a new computer to burn and verify BluRay discs. None of that is necessary to burn and verify CD's, DVD's or DVD-DL discs, my computer is fast enough for those.
Reviewed By:Travis B.,9/24/2016 3:48:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > Pioneer > Pioneer Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner BDR-209DBK

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The Best Blu-ray Burner you can Buy
Pros: Very Quiet, Very Reliable,
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: When I build my computer I purchase a Asus Blu-ray Burner, and it last less that 1 year, and then quit working on Blu-ray. I tell the people do not buy asus DVD burners or Blu-ray Burner they are not good.

The I purchase this Pioner BD Burner on 1/9/2015, and since then I been burning DVD and Blu-ray Disk very often. And today 09/21/2016, this pioneer DVD/BD burner still working like the first day I purchase, still very quiet and complete reliable. If you are looking for a good Blu-ray Burner look no further.

I recommend this product to anybody that is looking for a bulletproof Bur Ray Burner. I don't know for how long this Blu-ray burner will last, but as soon as he died, I will buy another pioneer if this one is discontinued. Is a good brand. Thanks.
Reviewed By:Jose R.,9/21/2016 7:05:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X Blu-ray Burner SATA BW-12B1ST/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 loved this till windows 10
Pros: works great if you're somehow on Windows XP, 7 or 8
Cons: does not work with Windows 10. can't believe this has been 100% deprecated so quickly!
Other Thoughts: I'll give you a deal on a solid drive for your windows xp machine
Reviewed By:Corey C.,9/20/2016 10:11:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > Pioneer > Pioneer Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner BDR-209DBK

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Drive / wish I could use 2 of them at the same time / You should read this, there is more:
Pros: It is definitely a good Blu-ray drive.
Cons: I purchased a second one of these, (Pioneer BDR-209DBK) to use in my PC with an Asus Rampage IV Extreme. After a lot of time trying to get The (Intel Rapid Storage Technology) software to run with out any errors, I finally found out that if you install 2 of these exact same model Blue-ray drives in a UEFI Windows 7 Ultimate install OS, The IRST would show (Not Running) and if opened, it would Error out and I would have to abort it. If you remove 1 Pioneer BDR-209DBK, the software would run properly. I verified this on my second Asus Rampage IV Extreme. It had 2 different Blue-ray drives installed and the IRST would run normally. I already had 1 Pioneer BDR-209DBK installed on my second PC, so I installed a know good Pioneer BDR-209DBK as the second drive and on startup, the IRST Software on this computer would stop working as well. As to why it does this, (I do not know), but I thought I would let others know about this problem. Other than this problem, the Blur-ray drive is great and I highly recommend it for any system. I just wish that I could install both of them in the same computer or figure out how to make 2 of them to work in the same computer. I hope this helps.
Reviewed By:Yance P.,9/18/2016 1:18:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > Pioneer > Pioneer Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner BDR-2209

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great but not without issues
Pros: Able to rip blu-ray twice as fast as my old Pioneer bdr-207dbk. It also seems better at handling slightly scratched disc compared to the 207dbk, which I have to say isn't very good.
Cons: this unit has an issue with Asrock X99 OC Formula motherboard. It is unable to install windows 7 or 10 OS install disc. I get an error 0xc00000e9, unexpected I/O error, faulty hardware or CD/ROM failing. Even with the latest firmware update, this particular firmware and Asrock's X99 OC Formula bios isn't compatible. It doesn't have any problems with Asrock Z97M OC Formula. Called Pioneer support, no help, clueless. I got a replacement drive to try, same exact problem. Otherwise, the drive works flawless. So what I have to do is use another ROM drive for OS install, then switch back to this one for normal use. Annoying, but not that big a deal, since I'm not installing OS often. However, I do not know if this problem is with Pioneer, or Asrock.
Reviewed By:Daniel L.,9/11/2016 12:56:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Electronics 14x SATA Blu-ray Internal Rewriter without Software, Black Model WH14NS40 - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Hundreds of burns and still working like a champ
Pros: This drive has been amazing. I've burned a large number of 25GB BD-Rs in this drive with a verification pass at the end of each burn, taking a total of 24 minutes per disc. The number of failed verification passes is in the single digits and I believe they were all discs in a single pack (so not a drive problem at all.) After using the drive like crazy for a year, I have yet to have a single problem with it.
Cons: It's a little loud, but any fast optical drive always has been and always will be. I think people who complain about the motor noise are forgetting the days of the 52X CD burner and haven't taken into account the fact that computer equipment in general has gotten extremely quiet compared to what it was like in the 2000s when DVD burners first began hitting the store shelves. This thing is quieter than any of my older high-speed drives ever were, and in exchange for the volume, it reads BD-R discs around 60MB/sec!
Other Thoughts: These drives are an excellent value. In my experience, they're rock-solid, fast, reliable, and the price is pretty nice considering how rare Blu-ray burners are in the mass market. You could buy a more expensive drive, but why would you? I don't see anything that more expensive Blu-ray burners can do that this one can't.
Reviewed By:JODY B.,9/5/2016 12:59:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Electronics 14x SATA Blu-ray Internal Rewriter without Software, Black Model WH14NS40 - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great lil player
Pros: It works flawlessly. Your choice of software to run so you don't have to pay for the crap that's usually packaged.
Cons: No software, so it won't do anything out of the box. It does say bare bones drive I think though so not a con if you know what your buying.
Other Thoughts: If you need a Blu-ray burner then this is a solid choice
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/26/2016 12:23:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 16X Blu-Ray BDXL SATA Internal rewriter with 3D Playback, Model BH16NS40

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Bought to rip
Pros: - Seemingly no riplock on BDs; rips at > 5x by end of disc.
Cons: - Rips audio discs fairly slowly in EAC accurate mode (around 6x audio speed). My older Plextor DVD drives did better here (approx. 24x) and my old standby, a SCSI Plextor CD drive, wipes the floor with it (>40x).
Other Thoughts: Haven't written any discs with it, so can't speak to that, but I bought it primarily because it didn't have riplock and it seems it does not. Knocked off an egg because it is slow in EAC. Still need to try DVDs, but assuming it'll be fine here; will update if not.
Reviewed By:Brian G.,8/25/2016 10:58:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > Pioneer > Pioneer Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner BDR-209DBK

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good
Pros: -work as it should be. and very well.
Cons: -like other, when reading, it's loud.
-no software, no worry, there are plenty out there.
Reviewed By:Weidong Z.,8/23/2016 7:21:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.