Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > Pioneer > Pioneer Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner BDR-209DBK

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It works really well
Pros: Same as all other Blu-ray drives. Purchase for all black aesthetics.
Cons: none yet
Other Thoughts: My 2007 computer had it's own blu-ray drive when I bought it refurbished for 500 dollars on another website. It's the only part that never got upgraded until recently when it gave my computer a number of issues.
Glad for this purchase. It is awesome having a disk/dvd/blu-ray drive again.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/28/2015 3:46:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 14X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA BDXL Blu-ray Burner, Bare Drive, 3D Play Back (WH14NS40) - OEM

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Stopped Playing Blu Ray movies
Pros: It still plays DVD movies and regular CD's just fine.
Cons: Had to download software to play BluRay movies. So doing that was a pain since there is no free BluRay software out there for Windows 8.1. The movies worked great for about a month, then all of a sudden, no BluRay movies will work. Even the ones I've played before do not work. Every time I attempt to start a movie, it gives me a corruption error. Thinking this could be software related, I downloaded a new application that plays Blu Rays. It gives me the same error with multiple movies.

Stay away from this product.

I'm only giving 2 eggs because it still plays DVD movies just fine.
Other Thoughts: I would love to get a replacement or a refund, but i'm too far out for that. Oh well. I guess i'll just bite the bullet and get a new Blu Ray player.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/28/2015 9:44:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner WH16NS40

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Makes Noise Unless You Leave Disk In, Poor Read Success
Pros: Blue Ray Disk Burner
Cons: The drive has a known defect where it continues to look for a disk when none is present (OS independent). This involves a noisy mechanical movement. Only solution is to leave a disk in. Also my unit arrived unwrapped and out of the protective plastic wrap.
Other Thoughts: Still, got to admit it, I love do love me some New Egg when it comes to upgrading my PC.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/26/2015 9:15:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > Pioneer > Pioneer Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM SATA Blu-ray Burner BDR-2209

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed
Pros: Not many.
Cons: Bought this last year and 11 months later it stopped reading discs. Contacted Pioneer about replacing it under warranty and they ignored me. Submitted a ticket on it and emailed them when they didn't respond only to have them ignore the email as well. Warranty expired and still never heard from them. Will never buy another Pioneer drive again.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/25/2015 10:37:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 16x Blu-Ray BDXL SATA Internal rewriter with 3D Playback, Model BH16NS40

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Blu-Ray goodness
Pros: This drive worked right off the bat. Could read the installation disk before installing the drives. What really sold me is the fact that this drive came with software for Blu-ray playback. Installation was easy. Now I can watch all of my movies on my PC!
Cons: None that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: Nice face plate.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/25/2015 9:04:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > Pioneer > Pioneer Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM SATA Blu-ray Burner BDR-2209

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 chewbuya
Pros: This unit the 2209 sets the standard their really isn't anything else that needs to be said
It does quad layer Blu-Ray burning and reads them
This is for the most part a purchase and forget about it
It has never had a hick up
the 2209 series will go the whole distance and do the 128 gigs on one (still spendy) 128 gig disk
basically when you purchase this unit you simply have pulled out all the stops
This model was revamped from the previous design the 2208 or 208 It is quitter and more dust free as well as more reliable
Cons: don't know of any cons on this product
Other Thoughts: The 2209 is one of the smoothest DVD/CD/Blu-Ray drives I've ever used including the 2208 and 207
It just does what it is suppose to do sits installed invisible until you need it then shines through with reliability
One could always get a bad one but the reliability of this one is quite good
Reviewed By:N/A,6/19/2015 4:21:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > Pioneer > Pioneer 15X BD-R SATA Blu-ray Burner BDR-2208, Retail Kit.

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Blu-Ray Burner
Pros: Great price. Easy to install. Super quiet.
Cons: None that I know of.
Other Thoughts: I love the quality of this blu-ray burner. It's super quiet while running. No vibrations like you get with some of the lower quality burners. Easy to install.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/18/2015 5:57:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 14X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA BDXL Blu-ray Burner, Bare Drive, 3D Play Back (WH14NS40) - OEM

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Failed after two years
Pros: Fast, quiet, worked with Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows 8.1 with built-in drivers.
Cons: Failed after two years of occasional use.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/17/2015 9:40:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner WH16NS40

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Handles all of my needs.
Pros: - It's ok.
Cons: - Retrieving data from the discs is painfully slow. Coming in at 8MBs and building up to ~15MBs.

- You need to buy or find a free alternative to play blu-ray movies on it.
Other Thoughts: - I bought this to make a hard copy back-up of my entire everything on blu-ray discs.

- I know it doesn't seem like it, but I do like it. It's just nothing too spectacular.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/16/2015 11:58:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > Pioneer > Pioneer Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner BDR-209DBK

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product
Pros: Does everthing with no problems
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,6/16/2015 6:59:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.