Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > ASUS > ASUS Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM SATA Blu-ray Burner BW-16D1HT

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible customer service response.
Pros: Nothing - won't answer their phone!
Cons: Nothing - won't answer their phone!
Other Thoughts: Saw so many negative reviews, I decided to call Asus to see which optical drives were certified to work with Windows-10 since none are listed as working with Windows-10, and they would never answer their support phone.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/8/2016 12:06:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Electronics 14x SATA Blu-ray Internal Rewriter without Software, Black Model WH14NS40 - OEM

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works well
Pros: - Works well
Cons: - No included software
Other Thoughts: This drive works well as a blu-ray reader and writer but you're better off buying a non-OEM player that comes with software to play your movies. This player will not be able to play blu-rays without first purchasing a third party software.
Reviewed By:Michael D.,2/8/2016 11:12:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > ASUS > ASUS Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM SATA Blu-ray Burner BW-16D1HT

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not Windows 10 compatible!
Pros: NONE, does not function.
Cons: Does not work on Windows 10.
No updates available, I built an entire Asus system all is good except this drive.
Other Thoughts: Buyer beware!!!!
Reviewed By:Jeffrey Q.,2/5/2016 5:33:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner WH16NS40

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to Install, Works Great
Pros: Product works as expected. No issues or problems
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Jonathon B.,2/4/2016 5:04:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Electronics 14x SATA Blu-ray Internal Rewriter without Software, Black Model WH14NS40 - OEM

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 WH14NS40
Pros: None.
Cons: Will not play blu-rays with Nero Platinum 2015 or Cyberlink PowerDVD 15. Updated every possible driver/bios. Will not update firmware. "CheckSum is mismatched. Drive will go to BOOT mode Please retry again." Going to be returning this drive unless LG comes up with a quick fix.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/31/2016 1:22:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > ASUS > ASUS Black 12X Blu-ray Burner SATA BW-12B1ST/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Greate Deal After Rebate
Pros: Easy Install. Read/Write both worked. As a developer, I really only needed this to handle the eventuality that a client will have data on a BD and I should be able to read it. Tested the burn by archiving some useful but not important items. Nothing Special one way or another about it.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Final price, after rebate, was $30 - about as much as I'd pay for a technology that didn't quite make it. Got a deal on some 25GB disks (from NewEgg, of course!) for the above-noted test.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/31/2016 4:56:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Electronics 14x SATA Blu-ray Internal Rewriter without Software, Black Model WH14NS40 - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 GREAT GREAT GREAT
Pros: Burns/Rips blu ray movies at great speeds.
I use dvd fab 9 and powerdvd and it works excellent
I'm able to back up my whole blu Ray collection now
Drivers were automatically detected on Windows 7
Burned A 2 hour and 10 minute in about 32 minutes
Looks great as well
1080p looks crisp as well
Cons: None I love it so far. I've only had it for about 5 days but I've got a lost of use out of it.
I guess some come DOA, but that's the only thing I've read bad about these
Also I downloaded the firmware from LG that didn't work, but as I said Windows 7 automatically installed the drivers right after I installed and turned my computer on
Other Thoughts: GREAT BUY. GOT IT ON SALE AS WELL 5 STARS
Reviewed By:Rowdy,1/29/2016 5:54:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > Pioneer > Pioneer Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 12X BD-ROM 4MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner BDR-209DBK

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Probably the best built Blue ray burner on the market.........................................
Pros: Quit operation
Burns and plays all media
Will burn CD-Rs at 4x which is great for ( Flac or wav files for audio use)
Well built
Seems to last compared to a few other BD-RE optical drives I have bought
Good customer service
Burns MKV files perfectly to Verbatim BD-REs at 2x
I would give this a solid 4 1/2 eggs and wish the review rating would change to allow 1/2 star or egg reviews.
Cons: None........................
Other Thoughts: Seems like Pioneer drives last a good long time compared to other brands I have tried. I had a LG and Lite On blue ray burner and they both croaked just after the 1 year warranty was up!

Pioneer will provide great customer service with the 1 year warranty
My first Pioneer died about 15 days before the 1 year warranty was up and they quickly replaced the drive with a brand new unit.

I have been in I.T. since 1993 and have seen it all with computer hardware.

Pioneer seems to have a above average product line compared to the other available Blue Ray burners!
Reviewed By:Steven L.,1/29/2016 1:55:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > LG Electronics > LG Electronics 14x SATA Blu-ray Internal Rewriter without Software, Black Model WH14NS40 - OEM

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works Fine
Pros: Burns discs, plays movies with proper software. Cheap
Cons: Can't flash the firmware, as has been reported below. Not an issue, always suspect windows based flashing programs.
Reviewed By:Joseph K.,1/29/2016 10:31:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Burners > Pioneer > Pioneer Black 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 5X DVD-RAM 12X BD-ROM SATA Blu-ray Burner BDR-2209

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good Specs But...
Pros: Has everything you would look for in this type of drive. Speed, compatibly, software to name a few.
Cons: This drive right out off the box will not read most of my software installation discs. Reads some but not other that read fine in other computers. Returning it and going with a different brand.
Reviewed By:Charles N.,1/28/2016 6:48:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.