Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Large Format Displays > Hewlett-Packard > HP Envy 32 QHD 2560 x 1440 32” LED Backlight LCD Monitor MHL HDMI DisplayPort w/ Beats Audio

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Excellent minus 1 issue
Pros: Excellent monitor. Worked right out of the box. I used the given HDMI cord and hooked it into my r9 290, Windows recognized the 1440p and set it as native. Tinkered with the brightness and contrast to my liking. Text is clear and the colors pop. The monitor itself is very pleasing to look at, just make sure you have a large desk. I do not use the speakers and probably never will.
Cons: I am having the same issues as a previous reviewer. Games with the arma engine like dayz standalone & arma 3, I get random vertical lines and flashes. It seems to happen every 5 or 6 minutes. Other games have zero issues. Never happened on my old monitor and didn't start till the second I plugged in the new one. I am guessing it has something to due with 1440p. Would love some assistance on this. Anyone else having this issue???
Other Thoughts: Other then my strange issue this monitor is perfect
Reviewed By:N/A,12/23/2014 9:21:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Large Format Displays > Hewlett-Packard > HP Envy 32 QHD 2560 x 1440 32” LED Backlight LCD Monitor MHL HDMI DisplayPort w/ Beats Audio

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic Monitor
Pros: This monitor has a fantastic picture at the max resolution of 2560x1440. Text is crisp and clear and high resolution pictures are just awesome. Blu-ray video seems to jump off the screen it is so realistic. There is no blurring in gaming even though the refresh rate is 60hz at 2560x1440. The colors pop off of the screen...I have absolutely NO complaints about this monitor...even the Beats Audio speakers with the passive resonators are great for monitor speakers. I have Klipsch 2.1 speakers, so I only hooked up the monitor speakers to test them out to see if the were bad or not.
Cons: It's not really a con, but make sure you have a big enough desk to put the monitor at least 3ft away...it's freakin' huge! The only "con" I can come up with is that the cables included do not include a mini displayport to displayport cable. I purchased an Accell B143B-007J UltraAV Mini DisplayPort to DisplayPort 1.2 Cable and it was SO worth the $20...make sure the one you purchase is a version 1.2.
Other Thoughts: Be aware that the hdmi on this monitor limits it to 1920x1080 resolution. At this resolution, text is slightly blurry...this is NOT the monitor's fault, it is due to the resolution. If you want a crystal-clear picture, make sure your video card has a "Displayport" output so you get the full 2560x1440 resolution. You will not be sorry...at that resolution, the picture is spectacular!
Reviewed By:Aztut,11/8/2014 12:22:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Large Format Displays > Hewlett-Packard > HP Envy 32 QHD 2560 x 1440 32” LED Backlight LCD Monitor MHL HDMI DisplayPort w/ Beats Audio

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Near perfect
Pros: This has got to be one of the best monitors I have ever owned. The box did show some shipping damage, but the contents of the monitor were secured so well there was no part damage at all. No dead pixels. Contrary to another reviewer I really like the external power brick. I have had to replace internal power supplies and it is NO easy task. Much easier to buy a new wire. Set up was a snap and I really have to mention how nice it is to not have to flip a monitor upside down to find the ports. Most monitors I have owned the wires plug in vertically, these plugged in horizontally. Windows 7 recognized the monitor right away and out of the box the display was crisp and the colors vibrant. I tested both display port setup and HDMI and both worked perfectly. I really like how you can plug in the monitor directly to the computer with a USB and how I can finally get some use out of some of the shorter USB wires in my house. Its so nice to plug my cell phone in under my monitor and have it charge while I'm on the computer. I ran the install disk and was pretty impressed with the color options and how easy it was to chose your best viewing preference. Monitor partitions are available if you need it. HD videos have never looked so good. This resolution is incredible. I am a gamer and response time has not effected visual performance at all. Tested Counter strike global offensive, Arma2, Arma3 and Insurgency.

I have never used a monitors speakers. They are horrible, silent and basically junk. HOWEVER!!! This monitor changes that all. Beats audio is amazing. I love it!! It is so nice to finally have a sound solution without the headset. The speakers on the side of the monitor are barely noticeable.
Cons: My removing an egg comes from a graphics problem I am getting playing dayz epoch. I am getting very odd random light flashes and random pixel distortion. Not really sure how to explain it. My other monitor does not have this issue, I know its not my video card, it does not effect any of my other games. I have tried different color modes and many settings changes in game and nothing has fixed it. I hope someone can confirm this or let me know if they find a fix.
Other Thoughts: The stand was a bit confusing. The quick start directions were not perfectly clear. The stand has the Hewlett Packard branding facing the back of the monitor. Seamed like it should have been on the front, but after looking at the box picture I figured it out.

I am so happy to own this monitor. Awesome!!
Reviewed By:Specter,11/4/2014 2:24:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Large Format Displays > Hewlett-Packard > HP Envy 32 QHD 2560 x 1440 32” LED Backlight LCD Monitor MHL HDMI DisplayPort w/ Beats Audio

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic monitor
Pros: My first HP display since a 15” CRT and it's safe to say technology has come a very long way.
First impressions with the ENVY 32 were excellent.

Quad HD at 2560 x 1440 resolution @60Hz
10,000,000:1 Dynamic Contrast Ratio
178 Degree horizontal and vertical viewing angles
5 Degree forward or 25 Degree backward tilt
LED backlight combined with HP's BrightView technology
Brightness: 300 cd/m2
7ms GTG response time

Fit and finish is good, the cast metal stand is solid and needed due to the sheer size and weight.
Going from a 22” to 32” is quite the visual experience.
Windows scaled up the text to be highly readable.

WVA+ panel, I knew it would look great due to owning a BenQ with the same panel.
I'll assume the + is just the newer VA generation panels with faster response time but same/better quality.
Blacks are very dark and whites are very vivid, text is crisp.

Tried both HDMI and Display port and both work perfectly as intended at native resolution.
Played a few games and watched some movies and I did not notice any lag or ghosting.
I left all setting at default and did not need to adjust any settings out of the box to have a great picture.

You do have the choice between neutral, warm, etc plus overscan and typical settings for a display of this price range in the event default is not to your visual liking.

As a 2014 model it includes Display port, HDMI, MHL plus a built in 2.0 hub with two ports, one being powered for charging.
That said older DVI is not included so if you have a older GPU you will have to buy a DVI-HDMI cable before use.

Absolutely no dead pixels!

Sound: Not a fan of Beats but I will say for dual front-firing-6 watt speakers they sound pleasant with moderate bass.
Turning up the sound of course induces distortion as one might expect.
They are adequate for movies, videos, etc but will not compete with a dedicated 7.1 150W system nor are not designed to.
Volume is on the left bottom with a solid metal wheel. It's fairly smooth but does have some lateral play.

Packaging: Very well protected with custom made sturdy foam. Unlike lower priced monitors all cables are included. High speed HDMI, Display port, MHL and 3.5mm for the speakers.

ON led is small and white, a great change of pace from super bright blue LED. Sleep is classic amber.

Absolutely no buttons on the front but on the backside right side for the settings menu, this makes the display very clean in appearance.

External power supply is a plus in case it would die it could be replaced instead of needing the send the entire display in for repairs. Power cord is also separate.

Included CD with HP MyDisplay Smart software.
This highly expands your choice with 7 presets for viewing including Standard, Custom, Text, Movie, Photo, Gaming, and HP Enhanced+.
The software also allows all adjustments through software bypassing the display buttons and remote.
Cons: Remote could probably be a better but in all honestly it might not be used that much once you set up the display to your liking unless you are going to use the speakers and sit far enough away to not be able to reach the sound wheel.
Without any type of back light it can be hard to see the buttons.
This is real nitpicking and certainly no deal breaker.

Warranty is only 1 year, for the price I'd rather see 3 years.
Other Thoughts: Back in the day speakers were detachable if you were not going to use them, in fact my old HP 15” CRT had just that.

The speakers are built to be streamlined so not possible but a nice choice if you simply will never use them, it adds 5” to the width of the display.

No height adjustment. The weight plus size this could be difficult for stability, still it would have been a nice feature if possible.

When speakers are on mute a small amber light on the left is on, it goes off when sound level is 1 or above. One might assume it would be the opposite to indicate sound is on.

If you are using a standard computer desk/cubicle chances are this monitor will simply not fit due to size so measure beforehand. 34” length x 20.5” height.

Overall a very slick mid-upper display with modern connections and features for it's reasonable price range thus great bang/buck ratio.
Reviewed By:anon8645,11/3/2014 1:34:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Large Format Displays > Hewlett-Packard > HP Envy 32 QHD 2560 x 1440 32” LED Backlight LCD Monitor MHL HDMI DisplayPort w/ Beats Audio

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The Envy 32 Is Aptly Named
Pros: I wanted to share my credentials and philosophy before starting into the review so you can understand where I’m coming from. I have been a hardware and firmware engineer for about 30 years and most recently working as a software engineer for a high end consumer audio company writing firmware (Software on the product) for a high end HDMI audio product which works with 4K monitors. I’ve seen a lot of very nice high end monitors in the last year as the group I worked in bought and tested almost all major brands and models for compatibility with the product. I am no longer with this company, I have no skin in the game and no agenda, but an industry insiders knowledge.

What is referred to as the “out of box experience” is very important to any large consumer products vendor, and in general it was very good with the Envy 32. My only disappointment was with the brick power supply that came with it – another eye sore that you have to figure out how to hide if your furniture is minimalistic.

For a quick setup I connected it to a Dell Precision M4600 i7 quad processor with an NVIDIA with 2GB. With Win7 the machine recognized the QUAD HD 2560 x 1440 resolution instantly on the DisplayPort and setup the default configuration with that – awesome – I was expecting to have to load drivers – but nope. I was really impressed with the crispness of the monitor. I found the colors very natural and unsaturated. Many of the 4K TVs I worked with seemed to have heavily saturated colors – some people like this – I prefer reality myself.

Like most people who run 2 or 4 monitors on their work machines, I break my apps up on different screens for quick reference. I run all my PCs on dual 24” or 26” monitors – they are standard HD so this is a new experience in that I realized I could do very well with just one monitor of sufficient resolution and size – two of these would be heaven – but one would be far more useful than a single HD monitor as the available space is significantly increased. The Envy 32 is far easier on my eyes than the 24” HD monitors I have, really great contract and clarity.

I went and searched the web for 4K streaming content. Netflix has 4K content that if you have sufficient bandwidth works very nicely including Breaking Bad, House of Cards, and a bunch of nature documentaries. I found the film “Samsara” was absolutely awesome to watch on this monitor – the clarity was really striking – it was totally worth watching a second time on this monitor.
I did like the decent sound from the monitor with no external speakers (wires, etc) needed. On all my current dual monitor PCs, my speakers are stuffed behind the monitors and whenever I need to plug in headphones or adjust the volume, I need to reach behind a rat’s nest of wires to get to them. Problem solved with this monitor.

The volume is both conveniently under the monitor in an easy to reach spot, and there is a headphone plug in on the side.
Cons: The brick – power supply.. Enough bricks already.. I realize they simplify compliance testing for manufactures, but for consumers they are undesirable and ugly.

The stand – simple but won’t allow you to orient the monitor vertically as many people are increasingly using monitors in this fashion. It would look a little funny anyway as the speakers would take up the bottom few inches.. but still usable if you could. There is no height adjustment either, but it seemed configured at a reasonable height for most people. There is a bracket to mount it if you find you can’t live with the existing height or orientation.
Other Thoughts: This is both a complement and an insult – this monitor has the best built in speakers I have ever heard, but I have never heard really good built in speakers. These get reasonably loud for most people, but contrary to the hype behind the name I think if you were after sound, you might be better off with a reasonably priced pair of external speakers. I will not be doing this, as the sound, though not amazing, is good enough.

It’s also worth mentioning that the maximum refresh rate is 60 Hz – as I said I was going to stay away from specs, but this one probably does matter to some gamers. First let me remind you that movies were filmed at 24 FPS, so this is slightly less than 3 times that rate, but some gamers like higher frame rates.

If you’re using this monitor as a TV that you’re back from at some distance, you’ll probably appreciate the remote control. For me it’s just another thing to misplace when you need it to be thrown into a pile with another dozen or so remotes for other devices around to never be found when needed.

I feel like I’ve picked some nits with this review, I want to stress – for me it is aptly named Envy – this monitor is impressive and a great value – unless any of the issues I mentioned are deal breakers for you, I would recommend it without hesitation. I would have given it 4.5 stars for a couple of shortfalls if I could rate in ½ eggs - but in the end it looks and performs awesomely and is affordable. HP made the right trade-offs to get it there – and that’s what it’s all about.
Reviewed By:Mandinga,11/1/2014 9:35:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Large Format Displays > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG MD32C Black 32" 8ms HDMI Large Format Display Built in TV Tuner 1920 x 1080 350 cd/m2 5000:1

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Where is the stand?
Pros: The monitor looks good, nice input selection and the screen is bright and colors are good
Cons: Why would you not include a base stand? I searched all of the packaging material because it would be ridiculous to sell a computer monitor (even one that is the size of a TV) without including a stand. Do you assume that everyone buying this monitor is going to mount it to the wall?
Other Thoughts: If you know in advance that there is not a base stand included and you have to either find your own stand if its going to sit on a desk or mount it to a wall, then this monitor is good. Every monitor and TV I have ever purchased came with a base stand (except for this one).
Reviewed By:SCOTT E.,9/26/2014 7:18:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Large Format Displays > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG ED40D 40" 8ms Large Format Monitor1920 x 1080 350 cd/m2 5000:1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 buy a wall or deskmount for this
Pros: awesome for autocad and games
Cons: does not come with a stand, u must buy some mount for it.. monitor is light around 20 lbs .. so it was easy to find a stand .. i did use 100 to 200 mm vesa adapter on my stand and it was no issue
Reviewed By:N/A,9/10/2014 10:03:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Large Format Displays > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG DB32D 32" 8ms HDMI Large Format Monitor350 cd/m2 5000:1

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 No Stand
Pros: Price. I never actually plugged this monitor in. It looks nice, and I am sure it is a great monitor if you are willing to mount it on the wall.
Cons: THIS MONITOR DOES NOT COME WITH A STAND! We bought this to place at the end of a conference table to demo our software to a client. The office space was not setup like our home offices with preinstalled A/V equipment. Bought this just for that one use. Got it out of the box and it has no stand... Who really thinks to as "does it come with a stand?" when they buy a monitor? I guess I will moving forward. Giving it the benefit of a doubt with three eggs assuming it is a great TV aside from the whole 'missing stand' thing.
Other Thoughts: I would think (and I don't buy TV's every day) when you offer up a TV or monitor, you would offer a stand as a basic feature. It would seem wall mount hardware would be the "add-on", not the standard table mount. While I am sure there are folks in the market exactly for a "stand-less" monitor, I think the description should be clear on this.
Reviewed By:Moses007,8/21/2014 2:47:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Large Format Displays > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG MD32C Black 32" 8ms HDMI Large Format Display Built in TV Tuner 1920 x 1080 350 cd/m2 5000:1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 GREAT MONITOR
Pros: Looks good and fast refresh for gaming. plus it is a TV enough said
Cons: NO STAND, These seems like they were built for wall mounted. It can sit on the desk leaning against the wall because is has a little type of stand flat on the desk.
Reviewed By:Jimbob,8/18/2014 10:16:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Large Format Displays > NEC Display Solutions > NEC Display Solutions LCD3210-BK-IT Black 31.5" 18ms Large Format Monitor 1366 x 768 500 cd/m2 600:1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Scaling Posible
Pros: Large size.
Cons: Not 1080p
Other Thoughts: In the settings you can change the horizontal resolution to 1360 to prevent the scaling issues you're talking about. You will just have three rows of dead pixels on each side. That's hardly noticeable, and you avoid all of the annoying distortion you get from the scaling/dithering.
Reviewed By:Doctorrandom,12/31/2013 3:48:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.