Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Large Format Displays > LG Electronics > LG 34UC87M-B Black 34" 5m (GTG) LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 IPS Panel HDMI/ Thunderbolt ports DCR Mega Infinity

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 not 4 k
Pros: It looks like an awesome TV. Just to be clear i havent bought one
Cons: 4k is not blah blah x1440! thats ultra hd or something..almost to be considered 2 k.
real 4k resolution is 3840 X 2160
Id change the description before some nieve person buys one and doesnt figure out this fact until its in theyre living room and some guest makes you look like a fool as you brag a little.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/5/2015 6:28:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
0 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Large Format Displays > LG Electronics > LG 34UC97 Black 34” Ultrawide 21:9 WQHD IPS Curved Monitor LED Backlight LCD, 300 cd/m2 100,000:1, Dual HDMI / Dual ThunderBolt ports, 2xUSB 3.0 ports, Built-In Speakers

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Cool monitor!
Pros: First of all... primarily what interested me in this monitor was the real estate. I'm a programmer and having all this width is awesome for stacking side-by-side files like when your diff-ing.
The colors and contrast is exceptional.
Cons: Nothing really. I guess a draw back that is just the nature of the beast is you have to have a high end video card to support it. Also don't expect great performance from any large format monitor if your using legacy connectors.
Other Thoughts: Was a little bit pricey for a refurb. But the NewEgg return policy made it worth it. I have bought a monitor not from NewEgg once and I got stuck with a monitor with a obnoxious super bright dead pixel right in the middle of the screen, coming straight out of the box new. It was an Asus monitor and their "tech support" said that you have to have 5 dead pixels straight from the box before they would even care. A laser beam shooting out of the middle of your monitor into your eyeball is perfectly acceptable by Asus.
So I've never bought another Asus monitor (I actually outright avoid Asus monitors. I will take no name brands over Asus.) But I will never buy a monitor from some place else other than NewEgg.
With monitors and TV's, return policies and conditions means EVERYTHING.
Reviewed By:BadOPCode,4/18/2015 12:21:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Large Format Displays > DELL > Dell U3415W Black 34" Curved LED Backlight Monitor 5ms GTG HDMI IPS 300 cd/m2 DC 2,000,000:1 (1000:1) Built-in Speakers

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Better than the Samsung and LG Models
Pros: - Curve is immersive without being intrusive
- Excellent color Reproduction
- Lots of USB 3.0 USB Ports
- Overclockable to 75 hz!!
- Build Quality
- Dell Warranty and Support
- Sturdy
Cons: - A little Heavy
- Some backlight Bleed (but not as bad as LG)
Other Thoughts: I fell in love with the 21:9 aspect ratio after purchasing my first LG 34um95. I've owned several 4k monitors and, while they're great, I think the utility and experience of an ultra wide monitor is far superior to 4k.

For productivity, having the extra screen real estate is awesome - especially for content producers like myself. Editing photos and videos on an ultra wide is just worlds better than 16:9, IMO. I realize that 4k has more pixels than this monitor and that you can actually fit more content on screen with a 4k. But windows 7 and 8.1 scaling just isn't up to the task of keeping things readable at native resolution on a 4k. As a result, this monitor has more usable screen real estate than any 4k.

For gaming, I found this monitor provides a much, much more immersive experience than 16:9 or 4:9 options. I can't overstate how much more close, immediate and immersive games feel on this monitor. Also, I was able to easily overlock this monitor to 75z which is awesome. My LG ultrawides were completely incapable of overlocking at all.

Now on to the curve:
Gaming is is also the curve seems to make the most difference. When I first pulled the U3415 out of its box I was actually a little disappointed by how subtle the curve is. But once you start using the monitor, it makes a clear and easily recognizable difference. It's not virtual reality, but I really feel pulled into the world in which I'm gaming. And that's compared to a flat ultra wide (LG's 34um94). I imagine that the difference would have been even more dramatic if I had jumped to this screen from a non ultra wide.

From a productivity standpoint, I don't think that the curve makes as discernible a difference. I guess that I don't have to turn my head quite as far to see things on the extreme edges of the screen, but it's not a huge difference. If anything, I was afraid that the curve would interfere with my ability to sense a straight-line in photo editing, but that hasn't proven to be a problem.

Ultimately, this is the best monitor I've ever owned. For productivity I strongly recommend an ultra wide monitor, though the curve (and the price increase that goes along with it) may be overkill. For content consumption - specifically gaming and movies - the curve is just phenomenal, especially when added to the ultra wide aspect.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/14/2015 11:18:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Large Format Displays > Acer America > Acer B326HUL ymiidphz Black 32" 6ms WQHD Dual HDMI Widescreen LED Backlight LCD Monitor VA Panel 300 cd/m2 ACM 100,000,000:1 (3000:1), Built-in Speakers &USB Hub3.0, Height adjustable

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Gamer Review
Pros: nice big screen very clear,on 1440p i notice small things that i didnt on my 27 inch monitor. in games i see reflections and particles that my 27 inch 1080p monitor showed but the size makes a difference
Cons: these cons are from a gamers aspect. hard to see all screen realestate for fast pace "twitch" games like counterstrike. tearing more noticeable.
Other Thoughts: at the right price it's worth getting but for gaming i think i would like a 27 inch 1440p 144hz monitor and for it to be perfext i would like freesync / g-sync
Reviewed By:Jesse,4/13/2015 9:34:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Large Format Displays > DELL > Dell U3415W Black 34" Curved LED Backlight Monitor 5ms GTG HDMI IPS 300 cd/m2 DC 2,000,000:1 (1000:1) Built-in Speakers

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Productivity Booster
Pros: This has been the single biggest boost to productivity I have ever experienced.

I purchased this display to replace two dell 24" monitors connected to a Retina MacBook Pro that sat to the right of them. The dual-monitor approach was certainly an improvement over a standard 16:9 or 16:10 monitor, but the seam down the middle wasn't so great as I was always looking either left or right.

While this 21:9 monitor isn't quite as wide as two 16:9 monitors, the uninterrupted screen real estate makes it feel even wider than the dual monitors. The curve is a genuinely improved experience over flat 21:9 or dual 16:9 monitors and keep the display virtually perfectly on-axis for increased color accuracy across the panel (from the viewer's perspective) and also limits the need for your eyes to refocus when looking at different parts of the screen because it is all about the same distance away.

Also note that while there are other 21:9 monitors on the market, most of them are 1080 vertical pixel count, while this is 1440. So, for a given height, this display has a higher density and thus, cleaner looking image.
Cons: BY FAR, the worst part of this display is the speakers. They are perhaps the worst speakers I have ever heard and no amount of EQ fixes it. It is a shame because it is so simple to embed the audio into the DisplayPort or HDMI signals. Better speakers would be the most welcome improvement.

The only other item I can list as a con is the lack of Thunderbolt support. Mini-Displayport does consume a Thunderbolt port on newer Macs. For a Retina MacBook Pro, this isn't much of an issue as there are two Thunderbolt ports and there is always the option of using the rMBP's dedicated HDMI out. However, for users of a MacBook Air or Mac Mini, where there is only one TB port, this could be an issue, particularly because owners of this monitor are most likely professional users who are more likely to take advantage of TB technology. A workaround for MacBook Air and Mac Mini owners would be a Thunderbolt dock that has both a dedicated HDMI out and a Thunderbolt loop-through.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this was an excellent purchase that I don't regret in any way whatsoever. In fact, each time I sit in front of this display I am again and again reassured that it was an excellent purchase.

That said, it is a shame the internal speakers are so unbelievably terrible and are the only let down. I would even be willing to spend several hundred dollars more if there was a high quality speaker system, or even sound-bar attachment for this monitor.
Reviewed By:Mike V,4/12/2015 3:37:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Large Format Displays > LG Electronics > LG 34UM65 Black 34" 5ms(GTG) Dual HDMI 21:9 UltraWide LED Backlight LCD Monitor IPS Panel 300 cd/m2 DFC 5,000,000:1(1000:1) Built-in Speakers

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Exellent Monitor
Pros: I have owned for 4 months and I am still impressed with it. I purchased from a competitor because of store credit. Great multitask monitor. The resolution, while not as good as the 34UM95, is more than adequate for everyday tasks, gaming, and document editing. Two word documents or web pages will easily fit side by side for office productivity. Height is similar to a typical 27" monitor, and the width is about a 1/3 larger. Picture quality is outstanding. Connection inputs are also good. The lower resolution enables use with less powerful graphic cards.
Cons: Photo/graphics editing may be the only activities where the superior resolution of the 34UM95 may be a must. Height does not adjust much and my be an issue. I experienced electrical back feed to the video card with computer shut down using the HDMI cable (LED's on video card were lit up with power off). Using duel link DVI cable or Display Port cable fixes this issue.
Other Thoughts: Many reviews state that this monitor will not display at full resolution with the supplied HDMI cable. The 21:9 monitor is relatively new to the market. Older video cards may have trouble with this, particularly those built with HDMI 1.3 standards. I purchased a AMD R9 290 to drive this monitor and it set up and displayed flawlessly with HDMI.
Also, some reviewers state being able to notice the individual pixels because of the resolution. They MUST be fogging the screen with their breath! With a typical setup on a desk, your not going to notice. My monitor does not suffer the backlight bleeding that some reviews speak either. Games and movies look awesome! I get average frame rates in newer games of between 45-60 or better with all filters and eye candy turned on and maxed out. Newer titles should adjust automatically. Older ones may not support 2560 x 1080 or play with a "stretched" 1920 x 1080 resolution. Windowed mode is always an option.
This monitor is a bit pricey compared to a typical 27" dual monitor setup, but the overall experience is far better.
Reviewed By:Rick,4/4/2015 5:20:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Large Format Displays > DELL > Dell U3415W Black 34" Curved LED Backlight Monitor 5ms GTG HDMI IPS 300 cd/m2 DC 2,000,000:1 (1000:1) Built-in Speakers

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 34" curved monitor dell
Pros: very clear/ very nice software /easy to use would recommend for a 1 screen cpu
Cons: would be better if casing was smaller and didn't have such a big edge. when gaming you have one inch of black space(the case) between screens and makes it difficult to game smoothly.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/1/2015 9:45:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Large Format Displays > LG Electronics > LG 34UM65 Black 34" 5ms(GTG) Dual HDMI 21:9 UltraWide LED Backlight LCD Monitor IPS Panel 300 cd/m2 DFC 5,000,000:1(1000:1) Built-in Speakers

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Beauty
Pros: I got this monitor on sale for $550. It was a big price to pay, and I had a lot of hesitation going in. I'm a college student on a budget, but I wanted a nice monitor. Studying to work on Game Design, I wanted something to perform the following:
- Have accurate color reproduction
- Have multiple inputs (Not going into this further for obv. reasons)
- Have little to no ghosting
- Have LOTS of screen real estate.

I was going to get the 29" right as this beauty went on sale. Here it is, about 2 months later, and I do not regret splurging on this whatsoever.

For gaming, there is little to no ghosting. I play Guild Wars 2, and this monitor is an outstanding addition. It's totally immersive as it fills nearly your entire field of vision (or, at least, what you generally pay attention to. It won't fill all of your peripheral).

I then fired up Photoshop and Unity, configuring setups. I found nice setups with both... with room to spare! The 21:9 ratio, I feel, helped a lot.

The color, also, was BEAUTIFUL when the brightness was high enough. I tend to turn it down to minimum brightness when I'm just staring at a wall of text or doing school work, but when working with color or playing a game, setting the brightness to ~30-40 percent gives an amazing experience.


...Even now I'm still impressed that an IPS panel has so little ghosting.
Cons: In regards to the cons... I'd like to start by saying this line.
21:9 is NOT for everyone.
21 by 9 is NOT for everyone.
21:9 IS NOT FOR EVERYONE.

For me, it was a perfect fit. However, I'd recommend weighing your options first. Due to the nature of screen measurements, this monitor doesn't have as much vertical height as you might expect initially. Find some online calculators and find the actual width and height of the monitors you're considering. This monitor has the height of... I believe it was a 27" 16:9 monitor. Don't quote me on that, though. I didn't actually do the math for it at the time of writing to double check the validity of that statement.

Another thing to consider is the overall size. Consider your desk. Will this beast fit? It's thin, but it's still huge. The panel itself is 31.25 inches WIDE. Then add the bezel. (The height is about 13 and a half inches or so, by the way).
Other Thoughts: I almost regret not getting the 34UM95 instead, but I don't think my little GTX 660 could power that in games well enough for it to be enjoyable. If you have the graphics horsepower, save up for an extra few weeks and get the um95 instead, because you can see the pixels on this monitor if you get close enough.


Also, if you fall in love with 21:9, you'll never want to return to 16:9 or 16:10, and 4:3 will look absolutely abysmal. I don't think I can ever personally return to using 16:9 as my daily driver. The extra width is the best thing I could have asked for.
Reviewed By:Wuverul,3/27/2015 12:50:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Large Format Displays > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG U32D970Q Black 31.5" 10-bits 4K PLS Panel HDMI DisplayPort USB LED Backlight LCD Monitor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great monitor
Pros: worked perfectly out of the box; nary a dead pixel; resolution is tremendous and solid colors. a great replacement to my old 301t that finally died this year. running at windows 125% and text is super crisp. read some other reviews that it was flimsy, and this is not my sense at all. nice small frame and a solid weight on the base.
Cons: no issues at all.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/21/2015 2:15:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Large Format Displays > DELL > Dell U3415W Black 34" Curved LED Backlight Monitor 5ms GTG HDMI IPS 300 cd/m2 DC 2,000,000:1 (1000:1) Built-in Speakers

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I'm a 21:9 convert
Pros: Theater-like aspect ratio. Curved display doesn't distort the image, but rather immerses you in your content (work, play, whatever!). 4 inputs, all modern. Bonus built-in USB switch can be tied to a particular input—like a KVM for two machines. IPS panel, great color and contrast.
Cons: Backlight bleed on dark screens. It's apparent, you will notice it. Not enough of a con for me to complain. Awkward to maneuver in a tight space, so make you you have desk space.
Other Thoughts: Heavy too, not like a CRT, but my old wimpy desk was not enough for this beastly beauty. Have something sturdy to put it on. Then crank up the headphones and indulge in visual delight :)
Reviewed By:bradenbru,3/21/2015 1:57:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.