Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO 2.5" 500GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MZ-75E500B/AM

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Upgrade
Pros: Much faster than my old Seagate HD. Windows 10 loads and is fully functional (no lag) in under 60 seconds. Straight forward installation. I had no problems getting this guy up and running. Been using for 3-4 months now and have had no issues.
Cons: Had to buy separate mounting adapter for use in 3.5" bay. Went with an ICY DOCK EZ-fit. Small quibbles.
Other Thoughts: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Coolermaster CM 690 Case (Original version)
Biostar TP45 HP Ver. 5.x Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83 GHz Processor
8GB Crucial DDR2 800 / PC2-6400 Memory (4 x 2GB)
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO CPU Cooler
GIGABYTE Radeon HD 5750 1GB 128-bit Video Card
Reviewed By:Jefferson M.,5/23/2016 4:50:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Silicon Power > Silicon Power Slim S60 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) SP120GBSS3S60S25

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failure
Pros: Fast as advertised and passed all write and read tests. Warranty and support service is good.
Cons: I am having to replace under warranty. Put in service in Nov. of 2014. The amount of read and write data is insignificant compared to most users. Not a gamer. Got it to increase boot speeds which it does do a good job, but this is what I consider a premature failure. This is the second drive that has failed. The other one is the S55 240 GB and I had to replaced it under warranty after 70 days of usage.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend. These SSD's do have a specific life span, but this is ridiculous.
Reviewed By:Clyde H.,5/23/2016 1:05:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Mushkin Enhanced > Mushkin Enhanced ECO2 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MKNSSDEC120GB

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Failed After 1 Year
Pros: Cheap price, serves well as a boot drive so long as it works.
Cons: Died after 1 year, taking some important files down with it.
Other Thoughts: Apparently the cheap SandForce controller is part of the problem. But I will be doing more research before I buy an SSD next time.
Reviewed By:Daniel S.,5/23/2016 11:49:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Crucial > Crucial MX200 2.5" 250GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) CT250MX200SSD1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 My first SSD
Pros: Brought new life to an aging laptop. Boot up time went from 2 minutes plus to less than 30 seconds! Before installing SSD it seemed that the HD light was always on - no more with this SSD.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: Best $110.00 I ever spent will probably never buy another hard drive that is not an SSD! Highly recommend this drive!
Reviewed By:B W.,5/23/2016 10:49:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > SanDisk > SanDisk Ultra II 2.5" 960GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) SDSSDHII-960G-G25

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy install and still running smoothly (purchased 11/2015)
Pros: - Installation was quick and easy.
- In six months since purchasing this 1TB SSD (960GB), files have been writing and operating smoothly and quickly.
Cons: - None so far (after 6 months of ownership)
Other Thoughts: - This SSD was on sale for $199 on Black Friday/Cyber Monday '15.
Reviewed By:Jon Z.,5/23/2016 10:32:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Mushkin Enhanced > Mushkin Enhanced ECO3 2.5" 120GB SATA III TLC MKNSSDE3120GB

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 good cheap SSD
Pros: Cheap
Fast
Small
Cons: Doesn't come with mount.
Screw holes don't line up with 3.5" drive space, so I have one screw holding it in
Other Thoughts: I got this to replace the failing boot HD in my Linux file server. Despite the other hardware being 5-6 years old the BIOS had no problem with seeing the drive and the upgrade went smoothly. Fedora 23 went on very easy as well.
Reviewed By:Raymond C.,5/23/2016 8:54:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Toshiba > Toshiba Q300 2.5" 120GB SATA III TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) HDTS712XZSTA

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Much slower than advertised
Pros: Worked out of box
Cheap at the time I bought it
Cons: Speeds much slower than advertised
Write about 450 MB/s
Read about 200 MB/s
Kind of boring looking (looks exactly like the picture)
Reviewed By:Brandon M.,5/23/2016 8:25:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Kingston Technology Corp. > Kingston SSDNow V300 Series 2.5" 60GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) SV300S37A/60G

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great boot drive
Pros: -Super fast with windows 10
-Computer boots in 8 seconds!!
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: -Would only use this as a boot drive for the OS and maybe some frequently used programs
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/23/2016 7:29:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > SanDisk > SanDisk Extreme II 2.5" 120GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) SDSSDXP-120G-G25

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Everything I Expected
Pros: I researched SSDs for weeks before taking the plunge on this one. It seems to me that longevity is an issue so we shall see if this holds up like i expect, which is that the nCache system will provide both improved performance and keeping the MLC nand from failing. I'm using this as an OS/Application drive. 111 gb formatted is enough for me. I had to install windows several times and i haven't had any issues with the drive. Gotta like a 5 year warranty on a brand new archetecture.
Cons: none so far.

When i ordered this i was under the impression from some reviews that the nCache was SLC, but apparently that is not true. I think a hybrid SLC/MLC drive would be great. Let's hope that the tweak they did to th MLC cache keeps it working long term, since i plan on leaving my page file here.
Other Thoughts: doesn't come with a converter.

I put this in an old LGA 775 box with SATA2 and it blows away my WD caviar black. SSD is still the wild west and you have to hope you don't get a bad one, but i say take the risk and go for it, and don't worry too much since by the time they fail they will probably be more affordable.

Update: almost 3 years later and still going.
Reviewed By:Nicholas A.,5/23/2016 7:19:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Corsair > Corsair Force LE 2.5" 480GB SATA III TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) CSSD-F480GBLEB

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A long way from my first Corsair Force 30GB SSD
Pros: -No-frills design & packaging
-Good value
-Although the 3-year warranty is fairly average, my previous experience with Corsair’s products tells me that it will go well past that.
Cons: Something to be aware of/Minor Con: As with many SSDs these days, there are no extras with this drive, not even a plastic shim to make it thicker if needed. This drive is 7mm thick and in the case I have mine in, it goes in a slot that was designed for a 9mm thick drive. Because some laptop mounting options depend on the thickness of the drive being a certain amount, make sure you plan ahead with this drive.
Other Thoughts: Whenever possible, I configure desktop systems that have a SSD for the system and application files and a mechanical drive (or drives in RAID) for the media files (Documents, Music, Video, Games). For that purpose, the 120GB SSD is perfect for my main systems and several of my media systems do great with a 60GB SSD for the same purpose. For my needs, a 480GB drive is best suited for a laptop and I have been extremely impressed with the write speeds on this drive. I decided to clone a comparable SanDisk SSD that I had Windows 10 Pro installed over to this drive and I am always happy when the whole clone only takes about 2 minutes from start to finish. Here are the comparisons using CrystalDiskMark:

SANDISK SDSSDXPS-480G-G25
Sequential Read (Q= 32,T= 1) : 543.197 MB/s
Sequential Write (Q= 32,T= 1) : 486.631 MB/s
Random Read 4KiB (Q= 32,T= 1) : 213.224 MB/s [ 52056.6 IOPS]
Random Write 4KiB (Q= 32,T= 1) : 170.705 MB/s [ 41676.0 IOPS]
Sequential Read (T= 1) : 495.964 MB/s
Sequential Write (T= 1) : 462.825 MB/s
Random Read 4KiB (Q= 1,T= 1) : 23.408 MB/s [ 5714.8 IOPS]
Random Write 4KiB (Q= 1,T= 1) : 41.204 MB/s [ 10059.6 IOPS]

CORSAIR FORCE LE 480GB
Sequential Read (Q= 32,T= 1) : 556.397 MB/s
Sequential Write (Q= 32,T= 1) : 447.729 MB/s
Random Read 4KiB (Q= 32,T= 1) : 197.667 MB/s [ 48258.5 IOPS]
Random Write 4KiB (Q= 32,T= 1) : 159.062 MB/s [ 38833.5 IOPS]
Sequential Read (T= 1) : 484.239 MB/s
Sequential Write (T= 1) : 461.185 MB/s
Random Read 4KiB (Q= 1,T= 1) : 24.971 MB/s [ 6096.4 IOPS]
Random Write 4KiB (Q= 1,T= 1) : 53.928 MB/s [ 13166.0 IOPS]

As you can see, the Corsair keeps up really well with the more expensive SanDisk. Of course, comparing SanDisk’s 10-year warranty to Corsair’s 3-year warranty comes into play, but I happily give this 5 eggs for the value with top-end speeds that is the Corsair Force LE 480GB.
Reviewed By:Rob H.,5/22/2016 11:12:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.