Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E500B/AM 2.5" 500GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Super fast SSD with amazing price
Pros: Super fast
Quiet
Cool
So far reliable
Cons: No included 2.5" to 3.5" mounting bracket
No SATA cable included
No sticker badge
Speeds a bit slower than advertised
Other Thoughts: Got this for $150 on their Eb-ay site when they ran a promotion. This SSD is blazing fast. I use it as my primary OS drive, software drive, and gaming drive. I have been using the drive in my gaming rig (see specs below) for aobut 6 months now, and has been running flawlessly. I am currently using about 60% of the storage space on the drive, which is 465GB total after NTFS formatting. Ran ASSD benchmarking to test the speeds.

Advertised:
Max Sequential Read: Up to 540 MBps
Max Sequential Write: Up to 520 MBps

ASSD Results:
Sequential Read: Up to 515 MBps
Sequential Write: Up to 496 MBps

Slower speeds than advertised, but could be due to amount of storage space I am using on the drive. Would highly recommend this drive to anyone. If you are thinking about getting one, and find it on sale, get it now.


Rig Specs:
Core i7-4790K @ 4.5GHZ
Lepa 240mm water cooler
Lepa 800W PSU
Gigabyte Z97-MX-Gaming 5 mATX mobo
Corsair Vengance Pro 16GB DDR3 2400MHz
EVGA FTW GTX980
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 5:27:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Mushkin Enhanced > Mushkin Enhanced Striker MKNSSDST240GB 2.5" 240GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Fast
Pros: Very fast ,Smooth and Great Boot times.
Cons: None................
Other Thoughts: AS always Newegg ROCKS !!!!!!!!!1
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 4:08:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Crucial > Crucial BX100 CT250BX100SSD1 2.5" 250GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SUPER FAST!!!!!
Pros: Really fast.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 3:05:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Mushkin Enhanced > Mushkin Enhanced Atlas Series MKNSSDAT120GB-DX 120GB Mini-SATA (mSATA) MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It has been a reliable drive
Pros: Good price at the time I bought it. That was 2/12/2014. Installed in an Acer v3-772G. This is it's current state as of this drive after 18 months.

Model : MKNSSDAT120GB-DX
Firmware : 507ABBF0
Disk Size : 120.0 GB (8.4/120.0/120.0/120.0)
Queue Depth : 32
# of Sectors : 234441648
Transfer Mode : SATA/600 | SATA/600
Power On Hours : 8679 hours
Power On Count : 1559 count
Host Reads : 66990 GB
Host Writes to controller : 11316 GB
Controller writes to NAND: 29123 GB
Temperature : 72 C (161 F)
Health Status : Good (96 %)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
CrystalDiskMark 3.0.4 x64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
* MB/s = 1,000,000 byte/s
Sequential Read : 433.296 MB/s
Sequential Write : 151.572 MB/s
Random Read 512KB : 364.768 MB/s
Random Write 512KB : 129.582 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 22.005 MB/s [ 5372.3 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 67.623 MB/s [ 16509.6 IOPS]
Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 122.350 MB/s [ 29870.7 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 137.288 MB/s [ 33517.5 IOPS]

Test : 500 MB [H: 76.4% (85.2/111.4 GB)] (x2)
Date : 2015/08/31 16:27:42
OS : Windows 10 [10.0 Build 10240] (x64)
Cons: It does get hot. Has not seemed to effect it. but should have a heat sink. Half egg off. Also it is not the fastest thing out there. If coming from a spinning drive it is fast and will make most happy. If you looking for top performance this is not your drive. Half egg off.
Other Thoughts: I see a lot of reviews about shot life. Would I trust this drive? I trust this drive as mush as any drive I have owned. I don't trust any of them.

**************BACKUP OFTEN !!!!!!! ***************
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 1:49:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > OCZ Storage Solutions > OCZ Trion 100 TRN100-25SAT3-960G 2.5" 960GB SATA III TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to update
Pros: Easy to install
Rock solid
Quiet
Low energy usage compared to magnetic drive.
Cons: No accessories (no caddy, no cables).
No cloning software.
Other Thoughts: I decided to upgrade to Win10 but before I did, I wanted to image my Windows 7 drive in case all went sideways. This is my work machine so I am protective. I am glad I did.

I docked the OCZ drive in Rosewill dock (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817182196) and cloned the drive using Acronis True Image (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16832200070&cm_re=acronis-_-32-200-070-_-Product). There are few things I love in this world over people but Rosewill dock and Acronis True Image are pretty high on the list.

Anyway, long story short: MSI does not support old products (MSI FX-720) so installing Win10 on this machine led to any external USB devices failing to connect. MSI washed their hands claiming the machine was too old to support and MSFT did not offer any driver help.

All was good, I was able to re-image the OCZ drive from the original drive to preserve Win 7 and continue my work. Win10 is beautiful and I will enjoy on my other machines, bu not on my bread and butter box.

As for the drive, it is quiet and fast. It is like having a brand new computer and easily worth the cost of the upgrade. My MSI is now as speedy as my MacBook Pro.

Life is short: upgrade to SSD. I am glad I did.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 12:12:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E250B/AM 2.5" 250GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Boots windows in seconds, feels like milliseconds compared to before I got this. A definite must have item. Running it with a 1TB SATA 6.0gb and finding no problems with loading times and what not. Is a definite upgrade to my new system.
Cons: This was bare bones drive and did not come with a SATA to USB cable so I found myself re-installing a fresh copy of Windows which was okay because I just bought the entire system new and decided not to clone windows from my old SATA drive. So really this wasn't a con but I felt the need to write something in this space,
Other Thoughts: Never used SSD before so I'm not going to even review if one is better then another. SSD in itself is a good choice so which ever brand you might buy you should be pretty pleased with the fast boot up times alone. The main reason I chose this particular Samsung was from the reviews and eggs it got.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 11:07:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E250B/AM 2.5" 250GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Drive!
Pros: Great drive! Using as boot drive with Windows 10. Startup is around 34 secs on average, from power up to fully ready to go.
Cons: Not issue with drive, but I had an issue using Samsung Data Migration software. After completed, swapped in this drive and received boot errors. Eventually settled on clean OS install.
Other Thoughts: This is my 2nd Samsung 850 SSD. 1 as boot drive for desktop, other is main drive for laptop. Both work great and will be my SSD choice for the future if any is needed.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 10:55:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > PNY Technologies, Inc. > PNY XLR8 PRO SSD9SC240GCDA-RB 2.5" 240GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 PNY XLR8 240
Pros: Worked great while it worked. Speeds up system.
Cons: Died after 1 1/2 years.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 10:30:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E500B/AM 2.5" 500GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great SSD, no issues.
Pros: Plugged in and formatted straight out of the box, worked like a charm. Very fast and reliable!
Cons: None!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 10:07:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE500BW 2.5" 500GB SATA III TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfectly Perfect
Pros: Fast, fast, fast. Love it.
Comes with drive copy software.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Really liked these Samsung SSDs and they came with drive copy software, which others do not. Makes it easy to swap out old drive for your new faster SSD!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/31/2015 6:54:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.