Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Black Aluminum / Acrylic / Steel HTPC 6000B ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great HTPC Case Idea, Good Implementation, So-so QC
Pros: It is hard to find an HTPC case that works perfectly for what you want because there aren't very many "horizontal" cases in circulation and everyone's needs are different. This case suited my needs very well.
- Full ATX
- Case fans are provided (and are actually quiet!)
- Optical drive bay for a blu ray drive
- Special space for an LCD display manufactured by the same company (nMEDIAPC)
Cons: This case is difficult to work with because everything has to sit PERFECTLY in order to work. For example, I have been having problems with the optical drive because there's no way to screw it into the bracket so it sits loose and if it doesn't sit PERFECTLY then the drive won't fit through the bay and retract. When it retracts it jostles the drive, knocking it out of place and preventing me from opening it again. I'm still trying to figure out a permanent solution to this. Another example is graphics card placement. The size of the case greatly restricts the size of the graphics card you can use (though there is enough room for 2, or 3 if that's your thing, as long as they're not too long) and so at this point in time I couldn't even dream of getting an NVidia 970 or 980 since there are none in production right now that fit inside the case.

A major con is the LCD panel. It will only work (without personally modifying the case) with nMEDIAPC's proprietary LCD screen, the model PRO-LCD. The thing is, they don't produce PRO-LCDs anymore. I emailed the company about this and they responded by telling me a workaround - buy a PRO-LCD-S or PRO-LCD-B. They are just PRO-LCDs mounted with screws onto brackets. I purchased a PRO-LCD-S and sure enough I was able to unmount the LCD panel from the bracket and then screw it into the case. This success aside, it would have been nice if they offered an option to include the screen with the case at added cost.
Other Thoughts: It's hard to say whether I recommend this case to others. It works for me (mostly - still working out the optical drive issue), but it won't necessarily work for you. I do think that it is one of the best, most feature-inclusive cases available in the "horizontal" variety, meaning you don't have to give up a lot of things you'd normally get in a "vertical" case. Do your research before deciding on the case you want.
Reviewed By:Stephen B.,5/4/2016 11:01:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Grandia Series GD10B Aluminum HTPC for ATX / Micro-ATX / SSI-CEB Computer Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great HTPC case
Pros: - Turned my 2009 ATX gaming PC into my new HTPC
- Can fit a Hyper TX3 cpu cooler as long as you don't install a DVD/BR drive.
Cons: - Can't fit a CM Hyper TX3 with a DVD drive installed. Had to switch to an AMD Stock cooler
Other Thoughts: Buy it!
Reviewed By:Michael B.,4/25/2016 11:09:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > APEVIA CORP. > APEVIA Black SECC Steel / Aluminum X-MASTER-BK/500 ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Gets the job done I suppose
Pros: Compact design
Solid Enough build,
Cons: Power supply was DOA
Provided standoff screws did not fit any of the screws
Other Thoughts: If you already have a power supply and spare standoffs like I do, this is one of the better slim towers I have worked with. As a PC technician I have handled more slim towers than I can count and at least this one is a pretty simple design.
Manufacturer Response:You can do an RMA through us for the power supply to get an exchange on the PSU if you are still under our warranty period. You can contact Apevia's customer service at service@apevia.com or call at (909) 718-0789. We try to reply to all calls and e-mails as soon as we can.

Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/20/2016 2:30:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > APEVIA CORP. > APEVIA Black SECC Steel / Aluminum X-MASTER-BK/500 ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Perfect Fit! But...
Pros: - Very sharp looking
- Shiny black finish
- Fits ATX and full height components!
- Tool less rails are adjustable
Cons: - Cable management is non-existent
- Blue LED on front is BRIGHT!
- Difficulty removing front panel
Other Thoughts: I expected this case to have some shortfalls purely based on what I read in the specifications. The cable management is non existent in the case. I first tore the entire case apart and made some basic changes to how it was configured. Since the M2N SLi Deluxe board I was repurposing had some requirements on where the cables needed to be, I did a few changes. First of all, I took one of the 80mm fans off and rotated it by 90 degrees so that the power cable was on the opposite side of the audio jacks on the back of the mother board. I then routed the cables under the board and had the connectors come out under the power supply. The next change I made was to remove the front panel and route the front panel cables across the front bottom edge of the plastic and come into the case to the left of the external 3.5" slot. This made it so that I could mount the 500Gb internal drive in that slot and barely make the SATA and power cables pop out before the edge of the motherboard. Finally, I placed all power cables that were not needed under the power supply, and connected the case fans under that area. This left the entire center area open for air flow. I plan to install 2 more 5Tb drives in the future in a raid 1 configuration so that all of the movies we have converted down are protected from loss in the event a drive fails.

The main cons of poor cable management and difficulty in removing the front panel are the reason for the 1 egg knock down. If there was better cable management, and maybe there was a quick release method for removing the front panel, I would give it 5 eggs without a question. Anyone who complains about the size of the case simply did not pay attention to the specifications listing. Also, the power supply is designed for an HTPC, not for a gaming system, so nobody should be complaining in that aspect. Granted, the switch is a bit inconvenient to get to, but in all honesty how often are you reaching to the back of any PC to turn off the switch in the back? I did check the switch after pulling the front panel off, and mine was already in the on position. The location of the power supply seems to be perfect, as it is away from any major components, and has a good spot to push out the hot air without affecting anything else.

I would highly recommend this case to anyone that wants to build an HTPC and use standard ATX components. I was able to take all of the components from an old tower system and place them in this case, nothing new to buy! It took a little trial and error to adjust the depth of the DVD drive so that it was lined up at the right depth for the front panel. The tool less rails provided have many adjustable locations to make this simple. I do wish that all bays were tool less installs, but in all honesty it wasn't hard to mount the hard drive once I rerouted the front panel cables.
Reviewed By:Anthony M.,4/11/2016 5:30:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Fractal Design > Fractal Design Node 605 FD-CA-NODE-605-BL Black Aluminum/Steel ATX Media Center/HTPC case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great HTPC
Pros: This case is attractive and the best quality i have ever seen in a computer case! the case is made of solid heavy steel. and it looks like a piece of stereo equipment which is what i was looking for, and it fits 120mm fans, so it can still get good airflow and yet be quiet. which is also another reason that i bought it. when listening to high end audio, you can't have your computer sounding like a vacuum cleaner. It has a fan speed controller located on the right side, when paired with a few quiet fans this case is practically silent.
Cons: The fans that come with the case are decent but could be a bit quieter, i can hear them in a quiet room. the white metal brackets that hold the hard drives in place could be a bit more sturdy. also, when using a cd/dvd rom drive you cannot fit a full atx motherboard in this case.
Other Thoughts: I have purchased other cases in the past through online retailers and sometimes when they arrive they aren't the same quality as the images lead you to believe. (cough cough Lian-Li) I found this case in a local store on display and as able to check it out. i could tell this was a much higher quality product than the other ones i saw, so i bought it right then. if i had known at the time it was available here @newegg i would of bought it here and saved some money.
I bought this to fit in my entertainment center with my stereo equipment, and it does nicely. it looks great. if i ever have a need for another one like this i won't hesitate to buy it again, this time it will be from newegg.
Reviewed By:john m.,4/9/2016 11:57:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Fractal Design > Fractal Design Node 605 FD-CA-NODE-605-BL Black Aluminum/Steel ATX Media Center/HTPC case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Top Quality
Pros: • Solid construction
• Included case fans are extremely quiet (be sure to flip the tiny switch on the side for lower RPM)
• Good use of space for components inside
Cons: • Bright light on front power switch needs to chill out
• Included screws strip easily so don't go using the same screwdriver for everything
Other Thoughts: As soon as you remove the lid on this case you know you are dealing with quality. Not a tinny twang heard, and not a weeble or a wobble as I installed components.

You'll be using this case for years given its unassuming style and rigid construction.
Reviewed By:Alistair H.,4/1/2016 6:11:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Fractal Design > Fractal Design Node 605 FD-CA-NODE-605-BL Black Aluminum/Steel ATX Media Center/HTPC case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great case for horizontal office computer
Pros: Looks great, good fit and finish on interior and exterior, decent airflow, very quiet. You can fit a micro ATX motherboard, fullsize video card, full size ATX power supply and a slim optical drive, but it will be tight. Also has nice chassis fan switch on one side that controls both fans and its pre wired.

Works better than the apevia X-master, I have 2 builds on each one.
Cons: Fairly cramped if you use any normal sized video card and the optical drive. Also the optical drive sits up about 1" off the bottom with nothing below it, so they could have just as well placed a full 5.25" slot. Fairly poor cable management, ie, there is no cable management. I used a few zipties and screw to the bottom of the case but its just a mess between the video card and power supply

If you use an optical drive you need a slimline sata to regular sata adapter for the small power connection, but most adapters are too long. you need one that has a short block with a cable attached so you can make the connection, I used this one, it worked fine.
StarTech 6-Inch Slimline SATA to SATA Female/Male Adapter with Power (SLSATAADAP6)
Other Thoughts: Some people complained about no room for a video card, and I don't know why, mine fit fine, I used a GTX 960 and it fit, a little tight, but there is still a couple of inches left between the case and card for cables.

I do wish they had given this case and extra inch or two in depth to make room for the optical drive and power supply
Reviewed By:Joshua P.,3/29/2016 10:24:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Milo series ML05B Black Acrylic Front Panel, 0.8mm SECC body Mini-ITX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Simple, good looking
Pros: - small
- pretty well made
- easy to set up
- one fan filter included
- can fit 4 x 2.5" drives
Cons: - you MUST verify the size of your cooler and make sure that it will fit within about 30mm
- 3.5" hdd almost blocks my cpu cooler
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/15/2016 4:06:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SilverStone Milo Series ML07B Black Reinforced plastic outer shell, steel body Mini-ITX DTX Computer Case with PCI-E Riser

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Compact, Great Internal Layout, All at the Right Price
Pros: In the HTPC market, there's a lot of overpriced junk. Cases which are laid out in a weird, inefficient manner, which are smaller than normal cases are mysteriously more expensive than you would think they are. As such, when I stumbled upon the ML07B, I was pleasantly surprised by the idea of a case the size of an old fashioned VCR capable of holding huge graphics cards. For 70 dollars, it's definitely a reasonable price. Some of the pros:

- The case layout is genius.
- The generic and simple style (with optional logo) means it will blend into any environment.
- Two 120mm fans for the graphics cards, and capability of using a liquid cooling system rather sweetens the deal.
- The manual includes diagrams and measurements to help you pick components.
- The ability to hold three 2.5" drives, one 3.5" drive, and a slim optical drive gives this tons of versatility.
Cons: That said, the case has trade-offs and some small faults.

- Watercooling is possible, but not practical. If you use a single 120mm radiator, you're limited to 6.25"/160mm graphics cards.
- The LEDs are too bright, this seems to be common among cases. I do precision layering of painters tape over the lights.
- You cant really put a fan in the spot over the CPU if you put a bigger heatsink.
Other Thoughts: I recommend using the manual to determine the components you can fit. It was what I used to buy my first one, and it gave me every piece of information I needed to figure it out without having it.

Measure twice, buy once.
Reviewed By:Brian V.,3/14/2016 6:29:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SilverStone Milo Series ML07B Black Reinforced plastic outer shell, steel body Mini-ITX DTX Computer Case with PCI-E Riser

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good setup but could be better
Pros: I've built about 20 of these now I think, maybe a few more or less. They are nice systems all and all and really you don't have a lot of mini ITX options that allow you to put a Titan X into. If you take your time and follow the instructions they go together pretty well.
Cons: I require these systems to have fan covers due to the environments we use them in. You are kinda stuck with Silverstone fan covers (we use the magnetic ones) which are quite expensive compared to other options on the market. You are limited on optical drives too but that's not a big deal. It would be cool if they offered a way to cover the slot. The very first one I didn't install the drive into the customer put a disc in and the system had to be dismantled to get it out.
Other Thoughts: spacing the fan openings slightly further apart would allow for snap in fan filters to be installed which are much easier to clean and a lot cheaper. 5 bucks for 2 vs 8 for magnetic ones. Not a big deal but worth mentioning.
Reviewed By:Anthony B.,3/11/2016 1:56:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.