Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Black Aluminum Panel & Steel (1.0mm SECC) HTPC 7000B Micro ATX Media Center/ HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid and Surprisingly Spacious
Pros: I was hesitant to buy this as I was worried about space for hard drives. I watched the video on Newegg and decided to buy it. To my surprise there was more space then I thought there would be. I had purchased a mATX board and there is plenty of room left over. I have an SSD, and 2 3.5" hard drives, and have room for a third and fourth in the future.
Cons: Not able to put in a blu ray drive in my setup. Not really a con as I don't need one (have PS3).

Wish there were some kind of standouts for the 2.5" hard drive space on the bottom of the case under the drive bay as the SATA power connector does not fit very well. I could only install 2 of the hard drive mounting screws so the drive was not flat. Good thing it was an SSD.
Other Thoughts: I installed the SSD on the bottom of the case, a 3.5" drive under the DVD drive bay, and another inside the drive bay. I still have the space over the PSU and at the front of the case to add more drive (but the motherboard only has one SATA left).

Managing the cables wasn't too much trouble. The only problem I had was with SATA cables, with some drive upside down and across the case, I would need to buy molex to SATA and a SATA extender cable to add more drives.

I do think if you had a disk drive that the 3.5" hard drive space over the PSU would not be possible.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/30/2015 10:22:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Plastic Grandia GD09B ATX / SSI-CEB Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor Quality
Pros: Fits an ATX board.
Cons: Poor paint job, bubbles all over top panel. No thumb screws included for removable panel. One fan dust filter had loose threads, causing noise.
Other Thoughts: My first and last Silverstone product.
Reviewed By:Stef,1/29/2015 2:11:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > APEVIA CORP. > APEVIA Black / Blue SECC Steel / Aluminum X-MASTER-BL/500 ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Bad Power Supply
Pros: It's a good looking case for the money
Good size and cooling for HTPC
Cons: Bad power supply
Very bright LED's (Fixable)
The I/O shield was very difficult to install
Other Thoughts: I bought two of the same setups.. I bought these cases because it had a 500W power supply to save a few bucks. I'm personally 50/50 on good power supplies. It would not have been too big a deal except that the return shipping is $39.. Hardly worth sending it back when you can buy a new PS for about that shipped. I have always bought the case and PS separate in the past and will return to doing so after this experience.
Reviewed By:Pierre,1/26/2015 4:09:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Grandia Series GD10B Aluminum HTPC for ATX / Micro-ATX / SSI-CEB Computer Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: I have mine for over a year and fans are still quite as ever. At times I forget that it's on.
Cons: I wish the screws were of better quality.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/26/2015 8:42:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Plastic Grandia GD09B ATX / SSI-CEB Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Buy
Pros: - Good price
- Can fit most standard components and still remains in the HTPC class
- Comes with side 120mm air filters
- Good cooling (with all three fans installed) for an HTPC case
Cons: - The PCI vent on the top of the case should be larger for today's graphic cards
Reviewed By:D,1/23/2015 6:34:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Black Steel (1.0mm SECC) HTPC 1800B Mini ITX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 looks like 600 dollar AV item
Pros: low profile, Nice legs, well designed, rubber hdd mounts, optical 5.25 slot, nice power/sign, not a high-beam hdd led, USB/OD cove/flap, well designed inside and out,
Cons: not a standard PSU (i elected to use the PICO-PSU) low profile (but that is what i wanted), no USB-3.0, some vibration when DVD/BD drive spins up! (i used the rubber grommets on DVD instead of SSD as the ssd does not vibrate)
Other Thoughts: this is by far the best HTPC case for the money (if you chose to use the PICO PSU) you can fit a small Micro-ATX MOBO.
i used this case for celeron 1820T and just bought another for my I-3 2100T setup using ECS MOBO's (they have the best fan control) SSD and Samsung 2TB 2.5" drives and BD writers !

those using rosewill low profile HSF run (not quiet !!!) but dead silent with CPU's never exceeding temps of 49 deg C.

wiring management if using something other than PICO PSU's can be a pain but well worth it!!!!
Reviewed By:Palgume,1/22/2015 4:06:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Red Wood Wood/Steel HTPC 8000 ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Good
Pros: VERY FAST SHIPPING AND GOOD LOOKING CASE.
LOVE THE SIZE AND THE WAY IT WAS BUILT.
Cons: EVERYTHING JUST RIGHT
Reviewed By:N/A,1/20/2015 11:14:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Black Aluminum Panel & Steel (1.0mm SECC) HTPC 2800B ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good HTPC case
Pros: -Decent about of room for a cpu cooler. Avoid a cooler that utilizes the space about the memory slots.
-Room for a full size graphics card. And possibly enough room for an sli/crossfire setup, but you will lose 2 hdd slots after you cut the bracket.
-Wire management is not the worst. Some planning and splicing will give you enough room for adequate air flow. Remove those extra power supply rails!
-Lots of hdd space, however I'm using 1 4tb hss and 2 120gb ssds in raid with a dual 2.5 to 3.5 adapter so I only require the two hdd slots below the slim disc drive.
Cons: -Air flow is a challenge. Adding a large enough graphics card literally creates a barrier in the case. Proper placement of fans designated as inlet and exhaust can dramatically help. Also pay attention to large clusters of wires around the psu, as they will restrict air flow.
-The power button. The power button sticks when pushed in certain directions, and can cause the system to hard reset in post. Can be an issue for overclockers as a hard reset can reset your overclock settings and lead to... headaches.
-front display. More hardware must be purchased to get this to display anything other than the stock display. From what i've read, the software has a huge lack of support.
-test fitting. This is a very tight case. Test fitting and relacing components becomes a huge hassle as everything must be removed, and in a specific order.
-slim drive. I had issues aligning the slim drive, and getting it to seat flush.
Other Thoughts: Good sturdy case that will house all your HTPC needs.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/18/2015 11:39:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > In Win > In-Win K2 BASIC Thin Mini-ITX Black case with 120W power adapter, heat sink - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing Case - I bought 5 of these!
Pros: As a pc tech of 20 years, I consider the other 2 positive reviews (dated prior to mine) as accurate. So, In this review I will cover other information. For starters, this case does BEST with a Haswell Dual Pentium 3.2. The CPU is on par with a first gen i5, so do not underestimate this CPU. I say this because the heat from an i5 and i3 can be burning hot to the touch inside this case. Second, make sure you buy a sold state hard drive. Do your research and get a brand that is super fast. Also, Win 7 Pro will then boot in about 7 seconds. This case is a perfect HTPC Kodi box and I have even used it with Photoshop CS5 with no issues.
Cons: I have tried dozens of cases for mITX and Thin mini... and in my opinion this is the best case on the market. In-Win designers are genius.. but even so, they can improve the case in three ways. First, the internal USB connector to the front panel is too short. Some ECS boards will NOT reach and you will need to buy a USB extender and they are hard to find. I blame ECS for this, but whatever. Second, In-Win should include a little packet of thermal paste. As a tech, I bought a tub for $ 30 and it will last a century (not kidding.) and finally, I hope they do NOT discontinue the case (they run out constantly everywhere) and I would like them to upgrade the front USB ports so there are 4.. or at least one is USB 3. Finally, the front slot for a media reader is a total waste and should be eliminated from future models.
Other Thoughts: When buying a case that works with THIN mini ITX, In-Win got it right Other cases have good power supplies, but the power brick in those other cases are only 60 watts. This is going to be an issue with Haswell CPUs.. but NOT with this In-Win case. Ventilation can be improved with this case if they use the mini speaker ports to create instead some sort of air intake.. this would further push air out of the case and assist the internal blower. By improving the design, the case would not get so hot with the i3 and i5 Ivy Bridge and Haswell CPUs.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Robert,

Thank you very much for your valuable opinion on our K2. We will forward it to our R&D and Marketing department for improvement in the future. Thank you again and have a nice day.

Best Regards,
Customer Service
In-Win Development

Reviewed By:Robert K,1/16/2015 9:52:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SilverStone Milo Series ML07B Black Reinforced plastic outer shell, steel body Mini-ITX DTX Computer Case with PCI-E Riser

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wonderful construction
Pros: Clean design
Easily accesible space inside
Front USB ports

Looking to build a few of these HTPC's and this is the other case that I'm using. Would definitely recommend it to anyone trying to do the same. Check your size requirements as the case was a little bigger than I expected (though it still fit where I needed it)
Cons: None yet. Does require a fair bit of patience and attention to detail to install all of the components. Not sure that's a "Con" though.
Other Thoughts: Buy/Find a magnetic screwdriver with a long shaft. Two of the screws that hold the PSU enclosure in place are a bit difficult to get to and impossible to put back in if you do not have a magnetic screwdriver.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/15/2015 1:36:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.