Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Plastic Grandia GD09B ATX / SSI-CEB Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SILVERSTONE GD09B
Pros: A beautiful case sturdy room for everything (just), a modular power supply is highly recommended
Cons: no usb 2.0 it has two 3.0 which my camera doesn't like I installed one it was my first mod
Reviewed By:shemp,4/25/2015 11:18:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Lian-Li > LIAN LI Black Aluminum PC-Q18B Mini ITX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Mini-Server case
Pros: Quality construction including rolled edges, modular design, air filter, good airflow, and plenty of drive bays.
Cons: The front USB 3.0 ports use extension cables instead of providing header plugs. It's a small matter to me, so no eggs off.
Reviewed By:AliciaBunny,4/24/2015 7:15:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Black Aluminum / Acrylic / Steel HTPC 6000B ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Beautiful case if not a little tight
Pros: Beautifully designed case with nice exterior features.

Included Front USB 3.0/2.0 and Card reader is extremely useful.

Lots of drive bays and options for routing the wires.
Cons: Quality was a little lacking on interior drive mounts.
SSD Mount gets in the way of the primary PCI-X slot on my board which required me to modify the mounting frame.
HD/DVD Mounting frame was bent out of the box with some of the welds having failed. Didn't bring my build to a halt but I had to consider it when modifying the frame.
Modern Graphics Cards will have a problem with this case.
I had to cut out half the drive bays and cut a notch into the Drive Frame to make room for my GTX980 power connectors. This resulted in my being unable to utilize the SSD Mounts.

The optional LCD doesn't have any support and so doesn't function in modern OS's. If you want to have a programmable LCD front display then you will need to consider modifying in another brand other than the recommended or going with a different case.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great case with good airflow and wire management. It is extremely unobtrusive sitting under my TV Stand.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/23/2015 8:53:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Plastic Grandia GD09B ATX / SSI-CEB Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice HTPC ATX case, with caveats
Pros: Not many ATX HTPC cases to choose from, decent cable management options, looks good in the entertainment center, good airflow
Cons: Poor paint job (orange peel, although the front panel looks fine and that's all I see), limited expansion card height, no card reader/external 3.5" bay, OOD cage awkwardly positioned over motherboard, loose front USB 3 connector
Other Thoughts: I was looking for a nice ATX HTPC case for the entertainment center. I had been using a straight-up tower, but that was bulky and ugly. This case fit nicely with the aesthetics of my receiver which it neighbors.

Ran into some issues with the build. I had a passively-cool graphics card with an offset heatsink that made it too tall to fit in this case. I swapped out with an aftermarket fanned cooler. I guess that was my fault for not checking clearances beforehand. Also, the build itself requires a bit of pre-planning, mostly due to the OOD cage covering the RAM slots and other connectors on my motherboard. I had to pull the cage out on several occasions before I got everything right. I didn't have any trouble routing wiring where I wanted to.

After getting everything set up, the main issue I keep running into is if the case gets jostled at all, the front USB 3 connector will disconnect from the mobo. Could be caused by the mobo, the connector, or both, but I didn't have this problem at all with my tower case. Also, the noise from my stock CPU cooler seems more amplified now, but aftermarket coolers are limited to the horizontal style because the OOD cage's proximity to the CPU. Haven't settled on what I want to get since the vertical coolers typically have the better reviews.

Still on the fence on whether I want to disconnect the front LEDs or not. They are exceptionally bright when watching a movie after dark.
Reviewed By:John L.,4/22/2015 1:40:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Plastic Grandia GD09B ATX / SSI-CEB Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Love the Design - One Drawback
Pros: I really love the design of this case. It packs a lot of unexpected features in, for example it has a spot designed to accommodate a 2.5" drive. I had purchased a 2.5"->3.5" adapter plate thinking I would need it for the case.

I also really like the expansion slots - there are about 6 or 7 vertical slots, and then 1 horizontal slot on top of those. The horizontal slot was perfect for an expansion USB slot cover.

It took me longer than usual to assemble the PC because I'm so accustomed to standard ATX cases. Once you're over the learning curve though, this really is a great form factor case.
Cons: The major drawback to this case is the location of the PSU. In a standard ATX case, the PSU is vertically above the motherboard. If you take a standard ATX case and lay it down horizontally, the PSU would be to the left of the motherboard (looking at the rear I/O).

This case is reversed, the PSU is on the right of the motherboard (looking at the rear I/O). This created a problem because the 20/24 pin ATX plug was BARELY long enough to reach the motherboard. Also, the 4 pin 12V ATX plug was not able to reach the motherboard - I had to cut and splice the 4 wires to add additional length.

I tried 3 different PSU's and they all had the same problem. I'm sure other motherboard designs may not have this same issue, but I hate having to cut and splice wires on any PSU.

The only other drawback is if you happen to need more than one optical drive, you are only able to have one internal optical drive. Any additional optical drives will have to be external devices.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/22/2015 12:29:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Plastic Grandia GD09B ATX / SSI-CEB Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fair case for the price
Pros: Everything fits nicely - using onboard audio and video.
Cons: Could have been a bit smaller. I feel that there were a few wasted inches int the front of the case. It would be nice if someone would make a smaller case for the ATX form factor. Could be done with a smaller PS and better placement of disk drives.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/22/2015 11:23:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Plastic Grandia GD09B ATX / SSI-CEB Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Design Only One Drawback
Pros: I am really impressed with the design of this case. There is an area designed for 2.5" drives which I didn't expect, I had purchased a 2.5"-3.5" adapter and didn't need to use it. The case provides a good amount of room, but the assembly of the computer did take me longer than usual because I am not familiar with this form factor. Once you get the hang of it, it's a really neat design!

The layout of the expansion slots is really unique. Most of the expansion slots sit vertically, but there is a single horizontal slot above these. I found this perfect for an expansion USB slot cover.
Cons: The location of the PSU in standard ATX cases is vertically above the motherboard. If you were to lay a standard ATX case horizontally on its side, this means the PSU would be to the left of the motherboard (looking from the rear I/O ports). This particular case puts the PSU on the right side of the motherboard (looking from the rear I/O ports). Because of this, the main 20/24 pin BARELY made it to the motherboard, and the 12V 4 pin connection was about 2" too short. I tried 3 different power supplies and each had the same problem. Eventually, I had to splice additional wire length to the 12V 4 pin connection in order to reach the motherboard. This may not be an issue on all motherboard designs, but mine certainly was an issue.

Also, be advised if you need multiple optical drives, the case only allows for one internal optical drive. If you need any extras, they'll have to be external.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/22/2015 6:01:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum skin reinforced plastic front panel, 0.8mm SECC body MILO Series ML03B Micro ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Overpriced
Pros: This will hold a regular-sized power supply. Low profile.
Cons: Paint chips when a screw dropped from 3" hits the top of the case. Flimsy build. The metal used feels to be several millimeters thinner than what could be considered standard. The door to the 5.25" bay is loose when installed. The ridged design of the plastic front is reminiscent of an 80s "hologram" card. A metal bar is included to assist in reinforcing the case. It stretches across the middle top. Yes, they included a metal bar because that was cheaper than using aluminum for the entire case that would have only needed to be several millimeters thicker to provide a sturdier frame.
Other Thoughts: Silverstone is overpriced and it is ridiculous to charge $65 for a case that cost a fraction of that. They chose to maximize their profit margin over quality.
Reviewed By:NotAFanofSilverstone,4/21/2015 7:00:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > APEX (SUPERCASE/ALLIED) > APEX DM-387 Black Steel Micro ATX Media Center / Slim HTPC Computer Case w/ ATX12V TFX 275W Power Supply

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 havent bought it yet building my 10 year old lil bro a pc
Pros: im building my little bro who is 10 for his birthday im making him a pc to game on is it big enough to fit one of my old gpus in it the gpu is a Asus r7 260x and is powersupply removable im only 15 but ik how to put pcs together and my way around it any recommendations for small compacts cases
Cons: .....
Reviewed By:dylanpetty54,4/18/2015 5:45:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Plastic Grandia GD09B ATX / SSI-CEB Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good looking and functional
Pros: Size, build quality/durability, internal layout, clean and simple look.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I already owned a decent HTPC case, but after a recent GPU upgrade, I needed a taller case. The GD09B popped up on sale, so I researched it and similar models and figured I'd give it a try.

From the time I opened the box, I could tell I had gotten more than I was looking for. The case was solid and well-constructed; my last case had some slight issues with screw holes being a bit off and whatnot, but this thing was well made. I had been happy with my old case, but after I unboxed this and had a look around, it put my old one to shame.

The steel body is sturdy, but not super-heavy. It's also not as long (deep) as my old case, but the position of the hard drive bracket leaves a lot of room for expansion cards. On that note, the description/specs all say that it supports an expansion card up to 12.2" long, but they don't make any mention of the height; my card is about 5.25" tall, and it fit with a good bit of room to spare up top.

There are three spots on each side big enough to mount 120mm fans, and it is designed to let you mount your power supply with the fan facing out on the side. There are also two more 80mm fan slots in the rear, so you can definitely keep your build as cool as you want. I only have two 120mm fans going right now, and it is both quiet and cool, even under relatively heavy load while gaming.

Back to the internal layout...depending on your components (and the layout of your MOBO), you should be able to put whatever graphics card you want with a ton of room to spare for a CPU cooler and to tuck away unused power cables. I am definitely not lacking for space in any way. The only thing that may be an issue is that if you have a 5.25" drive (such as a DVD burner), it would be mounted over where the CPU is typically located on the MOBO. If you have a huge CPU cooler, that may be a deal breaker.

I really like this case, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a great balance of form and function.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/14/2015 8:28:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.