Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > APEX (SUPERCASE/ALLIED) > APEX DM-387 Black Steel Micro ATX Media Center / Slim HTPC Computer Case w/ ATX12V TFX 275W Power Supply

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good for the price
Pros: 3 stars does not mean I am dis-satisfied with my purchase. You get what you pay for and we build the cheapest HTPC possible at the time using this case. This is our main home HTPC and has been for 4 years now. Getting the lid off is easy and accessing everything is easy. Everything isn't too tight of a fit. FYI you are buying a low profile case of course so be sure to buy the correct PCI cards for the job.
Cons: Air intake is such that it gets really dirty inside. One of the case fans failed. The hard drives get roasting hot and there's really no way to place it or get fans to blow on it, so I had to go ahead and remove the second hard drive and replace it with a fan that blows directly on the hard drive. The power supply failed. I purchased a replacement but made sure to purchase a different brand, the reviews on the exact replacement power supply were poor. Long story short, this power supply WILL fail, and when it does, purchase the Rosewill SL-300TFX power supply instead. When laying flat on its side you cannot open the cover to the DVD drive (nor access the power button).
Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2015 7:26:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Compucase > hec Black 0.7mm Thickness SECC (Japanese Steel Metal) ITX ITX200B Mini ITX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great choice for small HTPC
Pros: Great for small form factor HTPCs.
Contrary to some reviews, the case fan is relatively quiet when run at low speeds.
Dedicated filtered intake for the CPU.
Cons: Filter is mounted with screws on the inside of the case, meaning to clean it you have to open the case.
Power Supply uses a non-standard form factor, so replacing it will require going through the case manufacturer.
Other Thoughts: Keep in mind, this case is about the same size, if not smaller, than a cable box, and has a cooling capacity to match. You’ll have to build around the cooling limitations, meaning you aren’t going to be cooling an i7 nor an FX CPU in this case. I’m using a Pentium Dual core CPU running on a low profile cooler and it runs at 50C under load in this case.
The cooler is another thing to consider, while I haven’t tested it, I don’t believe the Intel stock cooler will fit in this case, I preemptively purchased a Zotec low profile cooler that I was sure would fit. AMD stock coolers MAY fit, depending on how big the cooler is.
I did have an issue with the power supply after about 2 months of constant use, and as stated its a non-standard form factor. However, I’m not taking off an egg due to the excellent Customer support I received and the timely RMA response and allowing me to only RMA the power supply and not the entire case.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/24/2015 2:58:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Lian-Li > LIAN LI Black Aluminum PC-Q05B Mini ITX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good HTPC chassis
Pros: Great look, High thermal conductivity, Ultra slim body, 2 ea HDD for 2.5inch. Very cheap price
Cons: No
Reviewed By:N/A,8/22/2015 7:16:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum skin reinforced plastic front panel, 0.8mm SECC body MILO Series ML03B Micro ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sweet case. Not any room for niceties.
Pros: Built an HTPC to play PC games on a new UHD Tv. Looks awesome. I put in an AMD APU (A10 7850K).

Silverstone *modular* ATX PSU has its cables smashed against the drive cage.

Essentially there is no room for a case fan of any kind, low-profile GPU or other nicety. But I wanted it small! I mean *maybe* I could fit them in but then I'd have no room for heat dispersion.

It may have been nice to make it a wee bit bigger. It was either this little guy or other cases much bigger.
Cons: I expected a case fan since I've never bought a case without one before. I'm not sure there would have been room for it anyway.

Drive casing can hold 4 2.5 inch drives. Does anyone need that in an HTPC? I would have preferred getting some breathing room in the case back instead.

There is a slot for a slim optical drive, but... not really. It would be an eight of an inch above the CPU fan and you gotta worry about heat a little bit!

The wires for the external buttons, lights, and USB were very long. Once they are stuffed in, I don't have room to stuff a couple of small fans along the side vents either. Probably. Just very small.

But so far it looks great! And it is the only case even trying to play in this form factor!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/18/2015 11:59:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Black Aluminum Panel & Steel (1.0mm SECC) HTPC 2800B ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor internal layout - Extremely noisey
Pros: Nice brush front plate. USB3 front port. Included LCD module isn't overwhelming bright. Spacious
Cons: This case has an extremely poor internal layout and is disastrous for vibrations. When the motherboard is installed it sits right against the included side case fan. So forget about having any room. The PCIe slots on a mATX motherboard don't line up correctly with the case slots so forget about using PCIe cards with this case. There is no isolation so even the quietest PSU and case fans will case annoying buzz/drone noises (Not good for a HTPC case). There is no way for this case to support a standard 120mm liquid cooler with radiator. A ton of internal space and yet because the M/B sits against the side fan you cannot attach the radiator. Possible solution is to mount the radiator fan to the outside of the case. This increases noise since the fan is intaking air and blowing it through case perforations as well as transmits more vibrations. Had to stick a needle between the front panel and the case body to elminate just 1 of the many rattles/vibrations. The 2.5" mount on the drive cage is useless since you have to mount the drive upside down and now standard right angle PSU connector will bend that way. With all that this case's cost is WAY too high. I could go on and on but you get the picture. Stay clear of this case!
Other Thoughts: While this case would be ok for a machine room, its lack of vibration isolation make it useless as a HTPC case. I can see why this case is no longer available. I only wish I would have waited a couple weeks more to buy my components so that this case would not be an option.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/16/2015 11:58:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Silver Aluminum panel & Steel HTPC 1000S Micro ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Looks Nice, from a distance
Pros: Lots of room
Attractive from a distance
Cons: DVD mounting holes dont line up with any DVDROMs I have (sony, asus, LG) They were off center by about 1/8th of an inch making it impossible to mount the drive. I had to drill new holes using a drill press.

Aluminum finish is rough to the touch, no where near the quality of the nMedia case I bough in 2007.

Other finishing touches were lacking, such as very ugly punch-out slot covers. I replaced them with slot covers from an old case that happened to fit.
Other Thoughts: This case looks nice in the cabinet, but the up close quality is very lacking. And the misplaced DVDROM mounting holes will cause you problems.

There is lots of space, although like most mediacenter style cases youll need to use low profile cards.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/11/2015 11:30:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Plastic Grandia GD09B ATX / SSI-CEB Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great option for horizontal ATX
Pros: Fits full ATX board, long video cards. Great airflow and cooling ability. Lots of drive mounting options. The instructions for working with the case are rather detailed yet easy to understand. Perfect size for an entertainment rack, though that's not what I'm using it for. Could fit at least 5 SSD's + optical in this case with a couple of double-up brackets
Cons: Front panel USB 3.0 ports weren't usable for me. It uses two cables that are too think and long for the case. The plugs on mine wouldn't fit most USB plugs that I tried, and when I did find something that fit, only one of the ports worked. My mobo has a USB 3.0 expansion card with only a single cable that I used instead. Removed the front panel connectors completely and covered with black tape.
Using an optical drive with this case meant getting a new CPU cooler, as my Silverstone AR03 cooler wouldn't fit cleanly, despite the drive being a shorty and using right angle plugs.
A couple of the drive mounting options for SSD's put them in tough spots to chain power connections with other drives, but that's part of squeezing a lot into a tight space.
The lousy front USB ports is the main reason for docking an egg.
Other Thoughts: Got this to be able to use an optical drive in a horizontal case. Not too many options that allow for a full ATX mobo and big video card. I was able to use existing components for everything except CPU cooling, which wasn't too shocking. Everything ended up being a good fit, with plenty of airflow, but it took several re-do's.
My parts:
ASRock 990fx Extreme4 mobo; AMD FX-8320 CPU; Silverstone NT01-PRO CPU cooler; 4 x 8GB GSkill RipJaws DRAM; FSP Group AURUM 92+ Series 650W PLUS PLATINUM Active PFC PSU; Sapphire Dual-X R9 280 video card; 3 x Cougar Vortex 120mm fans; 3 x SilentX 80mm fans; 3 x SSD's; LG WH10LS30 BluRay burner.
This case was actually pretty easy to work with, much like a bench case, and I had to take things apart several times in the first 2 weeks to get the CPU cooling situation settled. My video card is rather long, over 10", and it essentially divides the case in half in terms of airflow. However, even though the card has two side mounted PCI-E power connectors, I was able to plug in the PSU connectors and still close the case! I nevertheless bought a couple of 90 degree adapters for those connections, which made taking the card in & out much easier and helped cable routing. The 8 pin CPU power mobo connector was a long reach and tight squeeze with the cooler, so I had to make sure to have it plugged in early in the process. The optical drive bay sits over the 24 pin mobo connector, which makes putting a drive on the underside of the bracket tough, but at least there is plenty of clearance for the DRAM. I was a little disappointed not to be able to use my existing Silverstone AR03 92mm CPU cooler with the optical drive, but was pleasantly surprised that the NT01-Pro cooler fit my mobo perfectly and is cooling as good, if not better, than the AR03 despite the smaller fans.
If I were using this case to build a system from scratch, I'd get slim profile 120mm fans for the side intakes, and slim 80mm fans for the rear exhaust if possible. I'd also use only SSD drives and put them in a "two-fer" bracket at the front of the case. A fully modular PSU is also recommended, though I didn't have any problem with mine blocking the intake fan. Flexible sata cables, a few with right angle connections, would also be a good idea. You may end up using some molex-to-sata adapters to make things fit, like I did.
The front panel USB 3.0 cables are ridiculously long and thick. No idea why there are two cables for the single plug, and the mobo one I replaced it with only has a single cable for two ports. I use HDMI audio, so I didn't need the front audio ports. I removed that whole bracket, freeing up a lot of space inside the case at the price of occasional convenience.
Other reviewers have noted the cheap paint job on the metal top panel, aka "orange peel". That is indeed the condition of the paint on this case. I have mine on the top shelf of a ventilated closet, so the appearance isn't a big deal. It might look cheap to y
Reviewed By:N/A,8/11/2015 11:05:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > APEVIA CORP. > APEVIA Black SECC Steel / Aluminum X-MASTER-BK/500 ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Keep shopping before getting this one.
Pros: It's not broken yet, maybe.
Cons: This case design is terrible. Just leave the front and bottom off while you work on it to save yourself a lot of headaches. I wasted more time trying to figure out how to make things fit than I would normally spend putting a decent system together.
The routing of the cables through the tiny hole into 3.5" slot is just plain stupid because it makes it unusable for the most part. You can change the route put it through the "other" 3.5" slot and make it useless instead if you like but don't plan on using both 3.5" bays easily.
The power supply does not have an 8 pin ATX connector so plan on either replacing it immediately or purchasing an adapter.
Other Thoughts: I'm not returning it (at least yet) but I'm definitely not impressed and I'll spend the extra few bucks in the future vs purchase this one again. The headaches and lack of ability to upgrade due to space weren't worth the few dollars saved
Reviewed By:N/A,8/8/2015 11:27:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > APEX (SUPERCASE/ALLIED) > APEX DM-318 Black Steel Micro ATX Media Center / Slim HTPC Computer Case w/ ATX12V TFX 275W Power Supply

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not bad for the price
Pros: Its a good case for the price.
Cons: The power and reset buttons feel like they are going to brake.
Other Thoughts: Over all its a good case
Reviewed By:N/A,8/8/2015 8:50:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Black Aluminum Panel & Steel (1.0mm SECC) HTPC 2800B ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Avoid
Pros: A lot of room. Could fit a decent sized graphics card.
Cons: Came defective with a super cheap USB to mobo cable that was cut open. I looked into getting the right replacement but it's a weird design that I could only find from sketchy sites from China. The front I/O parts will be hard to find replacements for because if the design so upgrades might be hard. Just do yourself a favor and get a normal case.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/7/2015 1:17:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.