Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Steel ML04B Micro ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice little case
Pros: Very sturdy, Nice clean looking aluminum front face, locking mechanism on front with a key, Great size for blending in with your other home theater components.
Cons: The stated options for 3.5 and 2.5 drives I guess are correct but If you put an optical drive in the cage on top(only place it can go) and a 3.5 inch HDD on the bottom of the cage your left with just 1 other spot to either put another 3.5 or 2.5. on a platform near the main power connection on the motherboard(that was a little difficult to deal with even though I used an SSD there(very tight), I can't imagine placing a full sized HDD there.
The space between the optical drive and the power supply is like one inch at the top even though I used a smaller PSU. There is some space under the optical drive up against the HDD to stuff unused power supply cables.
Not crazy about the white lettering on the front of the case "Silverstone"
Other Thoughts: I built this HTPC for my brother and Although I listed a number of cons for the case I realize that you have to make sacrifices when going with the smaller form factor.
I just wanted to alert potential buyers to it's limitations.
I have a larger Silverstone case and It has alot more space but it verily fits into my Tv cabinet.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/16/2014 4:11:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Lian-Li > LIAN LI Black Aluminum PC-C50B Micro ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good HTPC case
Pros: - Very customizable
- Has room for smaller HS+fan designs (such as the Cooler Master GEMIN II S524)
- Has plenty of room for a larger GPU IF you remove some of the SSD/HDD/ODD cages (up to 250mm = 9.84in)
- All aluminum design keeps everything cooler (everything is aluminum)
- Plenty of ventilation and room for 5 120mm fans (2 on each side and one on top) and 1 80mm rear exhaust fan
- Having 3 USB 3.0 ports right up front is very nice along with e-SATA (very few people use this anymore since USB 3.0 came out), MS/SD card reader and HD audio port and microphone
- The case stands have rubber feet on them and the stands are extremely durable unlike the kind that break off or bend easily with other cases
- The SSD/HDD cages can be further broken down by themselves to make room for taller hardware on your motherboard (you can easily fit 2 3.5" HDDs and 1 SSD for each cage or take some screws off and make a slimmer cage to fit 1 HDD and 1 SSD or make it even slimmer and fit 1 2.5" HDD or SSD or remove it completely)
- Extremely light (all aluminum design helps considerably)
Cons: - Can get a little annoying having to take at least 6 screws off (2 thumb-screws in the rear and 4 for a HDD/SSD/ODD cage) just to get to some components on the motherboard
- maximum PSU length is 150mm (5.9in) and that is, literally, the maximum length
- Micro ATX, Mini DTX, and Mini ITX standards only (although, this is not really a con because Lian-Li makes it very clear in their specifications)
- Would be wise to pick up dust filters
- You can fit more than 1 GPU in this case but you will have a nightmare of a time getting them to fit without hitting the aluminum center structure beam (it can be removed first though but you will need it if you plan to have at least one of the cages installed)
- Just be careful with the screws so that you do not strip the threads on the aluminum (duh)

All of the cons are not worth taking an egg off
Other Thoughts: This case looks great with dark Korean furniture and matches it very well.

In my particular build, I had a Cooler Master GEMIN II S524 that, basically, wiped out the front HDD/SSD cage (so, not mounting HDD/SSD in that location). This left me with the rear cage above the PSU open. The ODD cage was needed for a Blu-ray drive (it is an HTPC case, after all).

Also, I seem to be in this habit of giving out a lot of 4 and 5 egg ratings. For those of you that challenge me on this, yes, you have a good point. However, have you stopped to consider that I do a LOT of research, calculations (can't help that I'm a mathematician), and, just, flat-out planning? That might be the reason why I don't make very many "mistake" purchases! The stuff I do buy is because I do my homework. Think before acting.
Reviewed By:math_dude,9/12/2014 3:44:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Steel Grandia Series SST-GD08B ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Very well built and plenty of room for hard drives. I have 1 ssd and 5 hdd with room for 2 to 3 more if I wanted to get creative! I had to spend a little time getting the optical drive eject button just right but it works great and I have burned about 300 movies with 0 problems. The included case fans keep everything very cool with cpu and motherboard temps hovering around 36c after watching 2 or 3 movies and I have yet to hear them! Also looks great in my entertainment center.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Build Specs - ASRock Z97 Extreme 4 LGA 1150 ATX Intel Motherboard, i3-4360 3.7 GHz cpu, stock intel cooler,128 gb Plextor ssd, 2 3tb wd hdd 2 3tb wd hdd and 1 4tb wd hdd, Silverstone strider plus st50f-p modular ps, asus bluray drive, 8gb G.Skill memory
Reviewed By:N/A,9/10/2014 8:48:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Fractal Design > Fractal Design Node 605 FD-CA-NODE-605-BL Black Aluminum/Steel ATX Media Center/HTPC case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 High quality
Pros: Very good build quality, great htpc case. Impressed with Fractal Designs.
Cons: If you are planning on shutting this in an entertainment center or having it in a nook, depending on your hardware, you may need to put a fan behind the machine to exhaust the hot air out of the "nook" or cabinet it is in. I would not fault Fractal for this though.

Also, when I was putting the machine together, one of the main board standoffs sheared right off its threads. I had to drill the threads out. Luckily I had extra standoffs.
Reviewed By:Ben,9/10/2014 4:13:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > APEVIA CORP. > APEVIA Black SECC Steel / Aluminum X-MASTER-BK/500 ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Decent case, bad dimensions
Pros: Roomy case, excellent front panel selection
Cons: This is NOT an HTPC case. It is way too big (deep, specifically). It just juts out about 3 inches on my TV stand. Maybe it works for some, but not me.
Other Thoughts: I used this case for about 2 years before scrapping my build into a server machine.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/5/2014 7:16:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Red Wood Wood/Steel HTPC 8000 ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SOLID CASE
Pros: Fair price for a wood case, Was pleased it came with USB3 port and a USB2 port on the front of the case. The case was extremely well packed, and came with no damage. The issues with the door button on the DVD player must have been fixed, as well as the door opens smoothly and closes smoothly. The case is just big enough to fit all my parts with a little room for cable management. I read the reviews for this case and was expecting some assembly issues, but they didn't happen. Seems like they fixed the issues that were brought up before. With as good a cable management as I could do the case seems to have good airflow. The stock fan seems to be doing fine running quietly.
Cons: Not any but a few suggestions. I would have liked 2 USB3 ports on the front and a 3rd USB2 port to go with the card reader. The drive bay is still attached with wood screws, would have been nicer with threaded inserts, but this case isn't meant to be taken apart often so I think it will be OK. Last nit is the depth is closer to 14 inches and not 11, 11 inches is the dimension from back to the corner where it angles out.
Other Thoughts: I am glad I bought this case as it has met my expectations, and looks good in the living room. Like others have mentioned it has a high wife approval rating.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/4/2014 2:18:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Black Aluminum / Acrylic / Steel HTPC 6000B ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very Good HTPC Case
Pros: Very roomy, heavy
Looks really nice, no one notice there is a computer

easy to work with and can fit big cards with ease
Cons: I do not like the bluray tray, took me a while to adjust my driver with the door

No front panel options, very limited. Which I was already aware of
Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2014 7:13:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Black Aluminum Panel & Steel (1.0mm SECC) HTPC 2800B ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great case
Pros: Great case ..roomy with good air flow.Like how you can add a good size graphics card without issues. Shipping was very quick.
Cons: Fans don't move much air ..recommend upgrade for improved air flow
Other Thoughts: Overall I recommend this case. It fits well in entertainment center and looks great.
Reviewed By:technut,8/25/2014 5:10:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Red Wood Wood/Steel HTPC 8000 ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Cheaply Made
Pros: Wooden Case - this is the only wooden case I could find. My sister wanted me to build her something that didn't look so black and retangular. She wanted something to sit on top of a shelf. The wood was good and think, the finish seems well done.

Lots of Room - with a Micro ATX motherboard, there is a ton of room in the case. No problem fitting 700w modular power supply.

Motherboard mounted firmly on the bottom, plenty of offset screws included.

Cable management is acceptable since there is plenty of room with modular power supply and micro atx motherboard. They include a "sticky" cable holder you put on the inside of the case and can loop them through. I expect over time this will fall off.
Cons: Cheap metal parts. Be prepared, the wood might be nice, but the metal is cheap and thin. The first thing that happened as I'm putting this together is a screw broke off in my SSD. The metal frame you put the hard drives, ssd and optical drive in, the screw holes do not line up properly.

You have to mount your 3.5" hard drive upside down. I was only able to get 2 screws in. When I went to install my SSD, the holes did not line up left to right. The screw snapped down inside the SSD drive without me putting much pressure on it at all. I was able to jimmy the drive sideways and get only 2 screws to fit in the SSD, one in front right, one in back left.

The back of the computer, you have to pull two screws out and remove a plastic piece to get a graphics card to insert. The slots on the back are the old tab style, where you use a phillips head screw driver and bend back/forth until they break loose.
Other Thoughts: I'm dreading turning this on. It only has one fan and no where for the power supply airflow to vent out of. There are small intake airports on either side of the front 5 1/4" bay.

I'm expecting the case to run hot, but hoping it won't.
Reviewed By:GR,8/22/2014 10:40:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > APEX (SUPERCASE/ALLIED) > APEX DM-318 Black Steel Micro ATX Media Center / Slim HTPC Computer Case w/ ATX12V TFX 275W Power Supply

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Solid box, construction
Pros: Usually building and seting up a pc can take almost a day. Tjis little box makes it a snap. Everything is well though and layed out.

Easy access and easy installation and removal of components make this a seldom seen jewel.
Cons: None so far 1 Year+ running
Reviewed By:drjp81,8/22/2014 7:17:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau