Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Black Aluminum Panel & Steel (1.0mm SECC) HTPC 2800B ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 nMediaPC HTPC 2800B ATX Media Center /HTPC Case
Pros: Fits my entertainment system being only shy of 14 inches deep.. Matches my audio/video components without looking too much like a computer. Room for all my components. Easy case mods make it a nice multimedia system.
Cons: Cable management is a nightmare with the shallow depth and drive bays taking up much of the available space.
Other Thoughts: This case is fine for my use as I only have a single full length card. Because of it's shallow depth and the location of the 3.5 inch drive bays all but one PCI-E16 slot is limited to about 9 inches in length. The first PCI-E16 slot lies between the two sets of drive bays giving you the extra room for the full length card.
Reviewed By:KeithM,4/16/2014 11:09:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Grandia Series GD05B-USB3.0 Aluminum / 0.8mm SECC micro-ATX / Mini-DTX / Mini-ITX MB, 1x5.25", 2x3.5"+1x2.5"HDD or 1x3.5"+2x2.5"HDD, 3x120mm golf bladed fan, 11" expansion card capable HTPC Case with 2X USB3.0 ports (Black)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 The least deep uATX case you can buy
Pros: I searched the whole internet for cases that would fit in my entertainment center (it's a Hemnes shelf from IKEA) with only 350 mm of depth. There are many Mini-ITX cases that would fit, but there are exactly two on the whole internet that support Micro-ATX. This is the only one that also has an optical bay.
Cons: I recommend you put this case in the center compartment in the three-shelf Hemnes. It doesn't fit behind the lip in the left and right compartments. I have mine in the left compartment, and the two case fans on the right are nearly right up to the shelf divider.

I'm not very happy with the fan arrangement of the case. There is room for extra PSU cables in this case, but if you use it you are blocking the left case fan. There isn't much airflow for the HD once that is blocked, and even this would be additionally blocked if you have a long graphics card. I'd prefer the case was taller to support some top fans - the only place there is any room in my entertainment center.

If you're using a Hemnes, you'll also want to buy right-angle cables or it won't sit flush. Note that our universe's physics does not support right-angle optical audio cables (use HDMI or analog).
Other Thoughts: The other case that I think is shallow enough to fit in a Hemnes shelf is the Rosewill Legacy U3-S, which does not have an optical bay.

Newegg, please please please let us sort by case dimensions! You have by far the best searching and purchasing experience out of all the websites I tried, but we need case measurements! I had to eyeball cases from the category to see what looks sort of shallow, and then click through to the specifications :(
Reviewed By:Mannerisky,4/15/2014 8:01:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum / Steel ML04B Micro ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great HTPC case
Pros: Very nice design. Didn't have any issues with the door magnet or spacing with DVD/Blu-ray drive and power supply. I think it's ideal for a minimal fan HTPC, which was my purpose. Amount of included screws was very welcome, far beyond what most people will need and I thought was a nice little bonus. Adjustable front LED brightness was also much appreciated. Very stiff case, feels high quality
Cons: The logo is a bit large and clashes with what is otherwise a very nice looking front panel. I understand a company wanted their logo displayed but you don't need to advertise to my empty living room.
Reviewed By:XBMC Fan,4/13/2014 8:07:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Fractal Design > Fractal Design Node 605 FD-CA-NODE-605-BL Black Aluminum/Steel ATX Media Center/HTPC case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Solid build quality, good design, tons of space, build-in fan controller.
Cons: Slim optical drive is my only issue. Fractal decided to put more emphasis on hard drives rather then optical drives. Installing optical drive was a pain, screws are tiny. Still, I knew what I was getting myself into; therefore, I am not going to downgrade this case
Other Thoughts: Make sure that your have a small (really small) Phillips screw driver if you are planning to use optical drive
Reviewed By:N/A,4/13/2014 3:45:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > APEVIA CORP. > APEVIA Black / Red SECC Steel / Aluminum X-MASTER-RD/500 ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A decent HTPC case
Pros: A nice looking case for a decent price, with power supply. I like how the DVD face plate covers the DVD logo's and gives a clean look. The dual fans in the back are quiet, I don't notice them running if I'm not listening for them.

The case is well worth the $70 I paid and works as advertised. Hard to argue with that. That and it has a nice look to it. I thought about 4 stars, but realized, for the price, it's 5 stars. If I wanted more I should pay more.
Cons: Blue LED is way to bright for an HTPC case. I, like another reviewer, ended up putting some black tape over it. I guess I could pop the front cover off and clip the wires, but black tape works also.
Other Thoughts: A good case for the money. The power supply only had 2 SATA power connections, but since I had a spare converter it wasn't a big deal. The first time you pop the front cover off it can be pretty disconcerting.
Reviewed By:icehawk55,4/9/2014 11:42:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Fractal Design > Fractal Design Node 605 FD-CA-NODE-605-BL Black Aluminum/Steel ATX Media Center/HTPC case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Node 605
Pros: The case is beautiful. The fans are extremely quite. It is very aesthetically pleasing.
Cons: The slim line drive slot/brackets are designed poorly. I put an LG Slim Line Blu-ray drive in it. It was an ordeal as I didn't realize the drive didn't come with the adapter required to power it. 3 days later I was able to finish my build. The brackets are a pain to install for someone with large hands. Once fully installed the screws that came with the brackets are too long. They block the track of the blu-ray player from closing once you have it opened. 3 Blu-Ray players later I have resolved to buy a slot load as I don't think there is a slim-line that will actually work with the given hard ware, and I the local hardware store doesn't have shorter screws for me to try.
Other Thoughts: All in all the quiet fans and the beauty of this make it worth the hassle in my opinion.
Reviewed By:DT,4/9/2014 12:09:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > Silverstone > SILVERSTONE Milo series ML05B Black Acrylic Front Panel, 0.8mm SECC body Mini-ITX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Why is a reseller trying to sell them for over double the price?
Pros: Great case... read Cons please.
I also have another review on it.
Cons: WARNING: Do NOT buy this for anything over $40!
A reseller is trying to sell this on here for over double the normal price.

Wait for NewEgg to get them in stock again.
Other Thoughts: The reseller should be ashamed, supply and demand is not that bad, you can buy them other places online for the normal NewEgg price too.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/8/2014 5:02:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > APEVIA CORP. > APEVIA Black SECC Steel / Aluminum X-MASTER-BK/500 ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good, pretty much as expected
Pros: Assembly was FAIRLY straightforward, and I didn't end up bleeding. They managed to fit a lot of fan mounts/drive drive mounts in there and you can fit a full sized power supply in (if it is a long one, put the mobo in first). Smallest ATX case I could find for the price, blends in nicely.
Cons: Face plate uses plastic snaps. If you remove it often, they WILL break. Rubber feet are adhesive type, probably will fall off eventually. Paint scuffs/scratches easily. Included fans have 4-pin molex connectors, useless to me. I didn't want to add another cable to my modular PSU, so I put different fans in.
Speaking of PSUs, the included PSU is indeed garbage. On my unit, the +12-1 voltage was 12.5v, just 0.06v away from testing bad with rounding.
The optical drive installation wasn't so easy. The instructions were a bit misleading, IIRC, the picture is wrong but the text instructions are right. You have to unscrew a couple of pins on the drive rails and put them in the #2 position I think.
Other Thoughts: The power LED is a bit bright, I might unplug it from the motherboard.
Reviewed By:osterac,4/7/2014 12:16:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > APEVIA CORP. > APEVIA Black SECC Steel / Aluminum X-MASTER-BK/500 ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 great for the money
Pros: Nice finish on the paint, very good design and layout. Supports full ATX boards
Cons: The PSU that comes with this is garbage, also the fans on the back have the cheap molex connectors on them that are hard to plug in, and one of the fans starting making a grinding noise about 1 day after my build, so I had to unplug it. The front panel for the DVD rom wouldn't work with my LG blu ray rom, but that's ok since the LG faceplate looks nice anyway.
Reviewed By:curtcold,4/7/2014 12:26:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > HTPC / Media Center Cases > NMEDIAPC > nMEDIAPC Black Steel (1.0mm SECC) HTPC 1800B Mini ITX Media Center / HTPC Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Small form factor HTPC case
Pros: Small form factor. IR receiver window. HTPC appearance vs computer case. I can use a full size BD drive vs a slim drive. Black finish inside and out. Cheaper ones are usually bare metal inside.
Cons: I haven't used it since I don't have the PSU for it yet, so I don't know. It would have been nice if it came with the IR reciever, but the price is an unbelievable bargain, so it's not a complaint. It's difficult to find an HTPC case that looks nice, but not the size of my pre-processor. The steel construction worries me because I have have cases like this that resonate noise, and that's no good for an HTPC, but I store my movies on a media server, so the only noise I may have is from the BD ROM drive. I won't know until I use it.
Other Thoughts: I was concerned with what material the face plate is, and it's acrylic, which is acceptable to me. I was hoping for aluminum, but there isn't one with all the factors I was looking for and not less than $100. I have OpenElec on an mSATA SSD, and I will use a 500GB 2.5" drive for local media. I like to use O Rings when mounting my drives to reduce vibration noise, and there are rubber grommets where the drives mount to the chassis. I think that is a well thought out design. I see reviews complaining about height and just enough clearance for the CPU cooling fan which makes me wonder if they paid attention to the case dimensions. I'm using a Zotac D2550ITXS, and there's plenty of room for it. I am satisfied with my first appearance of it while unboxing it. This is about as close to perfect for me.
Reviewed By:Jon Doe,4/4/2014 9:38:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau